Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M wants Najib to use 'crooked bridge' as bargaining chip

Dr M wants Najib to use 'crooked bridge' as bargaining chip PDF Print
Friday, 26 June 2009 22:32

By Leslie Lau, The Malaysian Insider

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has stepped up his campaign to revive the idea of a crooked bridge to replace the Johore Causeway connecting Malaysia with Singapore, by calling on the government to once again use it as leverage in resolving outstanding bilateral issues with the republic.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak has come under considerable pressure since he proposed a third bridge to connect the two countries earlier this month, instead of reviving Dr Mahathir’s scenic bridge proposal to replace the Malaysian portion of the Causeway.

But a number of Umno politicians have already objected to the third bridge, especially since it is likely that Singapore would want Johor to lift its ban on the sale of sand to the republic before agreeing to it.

Last week the Johore Sultan also rejected the third bridge proposal.

Writing in his blog today, Dr Mahathir said that since Singapore would only agree to a straight bridge to replace the Causeway if the ban on selling sand was lifted and that considering Johoreans were against the sale, the government’s only option was to build the crooked bridge.

“This is the sovereign right of an independent nation,” said Dr Mahathir.

The crooked bridge was the brainchild of Dr Mahathir before he left office in 2003.

His administration had decided to unilaterally build a crooked bridge and demolish the Malaysian portion of the Causeway.

But in 2006 his successor Tun Abdullah Badawi’s government decided to scrap the plan, leading to the souring of ties between the two men.

Dr Mahathir began an intense political campaign against Tun Abdullah and eventually left Umno last year, returning to the party only recently when Najib took office.

But Najib is now beginning to come under pressure from Dr Mahathir even though the latter has not openly criticised the current administration yet.

The former PM continued to single out Abdullah for blame in his blog entry today.

“Tun Abdullah decided not only to not build the bridge but to stop negotiating over all the other issues,” he wrote.

Dr Mahathir cited the package of outstanding bilateral issues, including Singapore’s refusal to release CPF contributions to Malaysians, the railway land issue and the low rate in which the island republic pays for water from Malaysia.

“All these issues are in Singapore’s favour and not negotiating better terms because the Johore people refuse to sell sand is like cutting one’s nose to spite one’s face.

“We are the losers. I think it is a very stupid way of punishing Singapore.”

Last week, Najib said no firm decision had been made yet on whether to go ahead with the proposed third bridge.

written by Duke, June 26, 2009 22:45:53
Najis, here comes the kaka demolition derby gunning for your balls.you better send in the Fat Mama to neutralize
written by sydput, June 26, 2009 23:15:10
Why not destroy our part of the causeway? All motor vehicles will be forced to use the second link. The CIQ can be converted into a tax free shopping haven, with ferry connecting to the singapore part of the demolished causeway.
railway and water use underground tunnel to connect to present singapore rail and water pipe connection.
written by MalayMail, June 26, 2009 23:15:21
see Dr M more powerful ofr the so called 1st lady?
written by talk2stop, June 26, 2009 23:31:33
If Singaporeans are not interested with the bridge than Malaysia should just don't give a damn. The more Malaysia jump up & down the more Singapore going to ignore the issue. Most Singaporeans will build anything that benefit Singapore while Malaysia will build anything to benefit a few Malaysians.
written by alpha100, June 26, 2009 23:52:52
Here he goes again! Only solution is to have his son be PM! Then he stop rumbling! smilies/grin.gif
written by HamChak, June 27, 2009 00:07:56
Dei LoonyToon, even IF the Crooked Bridge project goes ahead,
I don't think you will live to see it completed, la. You are
too near already, mah. Too bad, lor.
written by Fuminari, June 27, 2009 01:14:01
sebelum mahatahi mampus,puaka ini memang nak nampak satu bridge yang crooked,it is the devil's dream!!
written by Just Gan, June 27, 2009 06:25:19
Mahathir is arguing that Malaysia can do what she likes to the part of the Causeway that belongs to her. Yet, Mahathir DID NOT (DARE) TO DO ANYTHING to the Causeway when he was in power. He had plenty of time, from the break in talks with Singapore over the bridge issue till his so-called retirement, to build the Crooked Bridge or whatever he wanted to do to Malaysia’s part of the Causeway. Yet, all Mahathir did was talk and criticize Singapore. No action, just hot air, but just before retiring, he launches the Billion Ringgit Crooked Bridge to replace Malaysia’s half of the Causeway. Which responsible leader would start a controversial mega- project and leave it to his successor to complete? Mahathir did. Why? Because he knows that the project would have serious implications and would bring Malaysia in direct confrontation with Singapore, and he (Mahathir) didn’t want to face all these. In his usual style of pretence, he launched the Crooked Bridge to deceive the people that he was strong and dared to go against Singapore. The Coward Mahathir started the project just before retiring and left the problems, issues, controversies to be handled by Badawi, someone who was not Mahathir’s choice for PM, someone who has never been known for clear thinking and decisive action. For whatever real reason best known to the dumb Badawi (“dumb” is used here to refer to the fact that the ex-PM doesn’t say a word on anything, including responding to insults piled upon him in the past and present) decided to cancel the Crooked Bridge, and incurred the wrath and scorn of the Coward Mahathir. From the way he responded to Badawi's cancellation of the crooked bridge, that bridge was very very close to his heart. Yet, Mahathir did not complete the construction of the "crooked bridge" before stepping down. Why? Because he is a Coward who wanted Badawi to do the controversial and problematic task for him, and if he failed, Mahathir could criticize him.

Since the “Lingam Enquiry” (during which Mahathir suddenly lost his memory), Mahathir’s memory has come back and he is now able to recall full facts, even minute details, and is now actively arguing and making all kinds of statements, some truly stupid and ridiculous, through his website. His latest posting is that Malaysia has every right to do what she likes to the part of the Causeway belonging to her. That kind of argument on the Internet is for people like you and me, people who can only express opinions and argument but who are not in a position to do anything. Mahathir was the Prime Minister for 22 YEARS and DIDN'T DO ANYTHING about the Causeway. Why is he resorting to the same vehicle (the Internet) that we, the powerless, deploy. Because, Mahathir is a COWARD when it comes to Singapore. He has never dared to do anything drastic in controversial Malaysia-Singapore issues when he was in power because he knows that Lee Kwan Yew will defeat him in any showdown. For example, Mahathir kept talking so much about the low price of water supplied to Singapore, and yet he did not dare to turn off the tap. When he was the PM, didn’t Mahathir know that Malaysia was an independent country and could have done what it liked in its territory? If he had known this, why didn't Mahathir demolish Malaysia’s half of the Causeway, instead of harping on Malaysia’s Independence NOW? Mahathir is nothing but an unadulterated coward who talks a lot but has never dared to face Lee Kwan Yew in controversial issues involving both countries. Now, the coward is using the Internet to pretend that he is brave to challenge Singapore.

Mahathir - Stop all this bragging and meaningless arguments on the Internet and act. After all, your choice Najib is the PM, another choice Muhiyideen is the DPM, and other choices are in the Cabinet including your son, Mukriz.. That effectively makes you the PM behind the scene. Get the current cabinet to build the crooked bridge, or better still break down Malaysia's half of the Causeway (that would truly be a symbolic heritage from you to reflect Malaysia’s relationship with Singapore as determined by you ). According to you, Malaysia can do so. If you can't do this, shut up because the more you talk or blog on this issue, the more you confirm that you are nothing but a COWARD when it comes to Singapore.
written by densemy, June 27, 2009 09:49:31
"The crooked bridge was the brainchild of Dr Mahathir before he left office in 2003."

Then you can add the CB to all those other brilliantly successful brainchildren of the great (mis)leader Mahathir

Does this man's ego have no limits??
written by SiHangChai, June 27, 2009 10:17:13
sick ex-PM should be kicked out from all GLC positions. He has a problem with Singapore and shouldn't take the rakyat and our money to revenge on Singapore. We want Singapore to be our brothers and sisters. Mahathri, I strongly urge you to go back to your Pulau Langkawi island and turns it into Fantasy Island and start dreaming!!
written by Barking out loud, June 27, 2009 10:30:04
In Malaysia whatever Mahathir wants Mahathir gets. This has been happening since the 1960's.

What more does the Malaysian Rakyat owe to this Cry Baby? Can we just tell this spoil brat to shut up and grow up. It is time for him to just retire gracefully and let the Rakyat remember him with a little bit of dignity before he is cast away in shame.
written by SimpleSoul, June 27, 2009 11:24:32
Bapa Ke 4, I suggest you keep quiet and fade into quietness before untie ros.. contact Guruji to bless you. Your giving them unwanted stress... muhahahaha
written by Malaysiaputra, June 27, 2009 12:23:10
Wah , if Mahathir have a long life, Mukhriz will be the PM of Malaysia lah!. He will insist on that too I believe.