Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Time for Najib to come clean on Petronas, Omar Mustapha

Time for Najib to come clean on Petronas, Omar Mustapha PDF Print
Friday, 26 June 2009 17:16

Kit Siang also asked Najib to confirm if it was true he wanted to appoint a new Chief Executive Officer to replace the long-serving Hassan Merican, a blue-eyed boy of ex-PM Mahathir Mohamad.

By Wong Choon Mei, Suara Keadilan

Pakatan Rakyat leader Lim Kit Siang has asked Prime Minister Najib Razak to issue a clarification to Parliament on various issues related to national oil firm Petronas, including his insistence on appointing “defaulter Omar Mustapha” as director.

The DAP veteran also called for the urgent installation of a transparent system of accountability so that oil wealth accumulated by the firm was protected for future generations and not looted nor lost through high-level corruption.

“Recently, what is making waves in Petronas and well-informed local circles and reported internationally, though completely swept under the carpet by the local mainstream media, is the repeated attempts by Najib to force the appointment of his aide Omar Mustapha as director of Petronas,” said Kit Siang in his blog.

“Najib should explain to Parliament why he is insisting on appointing a Petronas loan defaulter as a director of Petronas, as the widespread objections to Omar’s appointment to the Petronas, now taken up by the Board, is fully justified and valid.”

Kit Siang also asked Najib to confirm if it was true he wanted to appoint a new Chief Executive Officer to replace the long-serving Hassan Merican, a blue-eyed boy of ex-PM Mahathir Mohamad.

“Earlier, the name of former Home Minister, Syed Hamid Albar had been bruited as the likely new Petronas CEO. In the last few days, another name has emerged: Mohd Bakke Salleh, the Felda Holdings group managing director, and that he is to understudy Hassan until the present Petronas CEO’s retirement next February,” said Kit Siang, who is also the Ipoh Timur MP.

“Although the final decision of the new Petronas CEO rests with the Prime Minister, MPs from both sides of the divide should be given the opportunity to give their views on the possible candidates.”

Government increasingly dependent on Petronas, but how long will the oil last

Kit Siang also expressed concern about the drop in profit reported by the oil firm on the back of lower global crude prices and higher production costs.

“Petronas plays a critical and strategic role in the public finances of the country, as Petronas paid out to the government RM74 billion in the financial year ending March 31, 2009 compared with RM61.6 billion the previous year, an increase of 20.1 per cent.

“Parliamentarians, whether Barisan Nasional or Pakatan Rakyat, must also be given regular updates of Malaysia’s only company on Fortune 500, especially as Petronas has just reported a net profit decline by 13.9 per cent,” he added.

On Thursday, Petronas had reported RM52.5 billion in net profit for the financial year ending March 31, 2009, compared with RM61 billion previously although revenue increased by 18.4 per cent to RM264.2 billion compared with RM223.1 billion the year before.

Its contributions to the government in the form of dividends, taxes and royalty had amounted to RM72.5 billion or 45 per cent of federal government revenue in the 2008 calendar year.

As such, Kit Siang said it was vital to set up a transparent system of reporting to ensure that wealth accumulated by Petronas was fully protected and accounted for to prevent funds from being siphoned out through corruption.

“This is a very high figure reflecting the government’s heavy dependence on oil revenue, a situation which may not be sustainable or ideal for a country trying to develop an economy based on knowledge and innovation.

“Petronas represents the biggest chink in the government’s armour in its claim of accountability, transparency and good governance as the national oil corporation as presently constituted is totally not accountable to Parliament! There is no annual Petronas report to Parliament.

“If Najib is sincere in his motto of “1Malaysia, People First. Performance Now”, he should present to Parliament on Monday his proposal for a new regime of Petronas accountability to Parliament.so that there is meaningful monitoring and accounting of the petro-ringgit in Parliament,” the veteran leader said.

written by Trueandfair, June 26, 2009 18:01:06
Some people may agree and some people may not - OIL IS A CURSE" FOR MALAYSIA'S DEVELOPMENT JUST LIKE ALL THE OTHER DESPOTIC OIL PRODUCING COUNTRIES WHICH NEGLECT OTHER SECTORS OF GROWTH AND DEVELOPEMNT BECAUSE OF OIL.

The faster Malaysia runs out of the stuff, the better when the Government starts being serious about growing a TRUE ROBUST MULTI-FACET ECONOMY - until then oil money will be squandered, abused, used for untold/unreported corruption and wasteful mega-projects - it is like hittinga jackpot lottery, you got so much you waste them windfall on rubbish and nonsense - but if you work for the money, i.e. true real economy growth and development, then accountability, better house-keeping and les "mishandling" of funds may happen - so far, what I see, is that apart from Norway, ALL OTHER OIL COUNTRIES ARE DESPOTIC AND STRUCTUALLY WEAK IN ECONOMICS AND HIGH IN CORRUPTION !!

Maybe, in the long term, Malaysia will be better off economically, socially, spiritually and who knows even politically without the "black gold" !!
written by Oscar Winner, June 26, 2009 18:09:15
Latest slogan:

" Want Malaysia, Want Petronas. Change people first. Perform now"

.... and make very sure that as CEO, you perform strictly according to my instructions
written by malsia1206, June 26, 2009 18:21:26
If Petronas is to held accountable to Parliament on its finacial aspects, the present Government in Malaysia would not be held by the Barisan coalition and the present PM would no longer be Najib.
written by Krepot, June 26, 2009 18:51:44
With Rosmah's nominee in place,
you can milk the cash cow!!
written by Wudan, June 26, 2009 20:03:24
“Parliamentarians, whether Barisan Nasional or Pakatan Rakyat, must also be given regular updates of Malaysia’s only company on Fortune 500, especially as Petronas has just reported a net profit decline by 13.9 per cent,” he added.

On Thursday, Petronas had reported RM52.5 billion in net profit for the financial year ending March 31, 2009, compared with RM61 billion previously although revenue increased by 18.4 per cent to RM264.2 billion compared with RM223.1 billion the year before.
---------------------------------------------------

Petronas revenue increased by RM42.6 bil or 18.4% i.e from RM223.1 bil (0smilies/cool.gif to RM264.2 bil (09).

However, net profit has dropped by RM8.2bil or 13.9% i.e. from RM61 (0smilies/cool.gif bil to RM52.5bil (09)

The profit is arrived at after deducting:

1)Royalty to Federal Government
2)Dividends
3)Taxes
4)Export Duties
5)Royalty to State Governments

The biggest increase in the component payments is Dividend. Dividend payment has increased by RM6.0bil or 25% i.e. from RM24.0bil (0smilies/cool.gif to RM30.0bil (09)

High cost is not the main culprit for Petronas announcing a drop in yearly profit. Know what I mean?
written by Ravee, June 26, 2009 20:18:56
It seems that the little birds have been talking all sorts of stories. Sometime in mid 1998, there were some interesting discussions in somebody's father's house in Washington together with a deceased Tan Sri and a former ambassador about the poor Anwar fellow. Next thing somebody's father started the story of a NY taxi driver who was sodomised by Anwar. Then miraculously, somebody's father was employed by the deceased Tan Sri and somebody became a big shot in some lighted company after which mega losses were registered. All of a sudden, somebody's father went into hiding in Kiwiland and somebody decided to ride high with a Mongolian bomber. Somebody's partner died when a big slab fell on him and somebody became a bigger shot. This somebody's CV originally stated that he wanted to become future PM of Malaysia. This somebody is not Khairy but a chinaman. Go figure. OK, put me under ISA.
written by mypanida, June 26, 2009 21:02:02
Omar Ong is supposed to go into Petronas as Najib's personal banker, or in this case janitor, just to sapu everything that is there.
written by cantona7, June 26, 2009 22:40:57
Delegates' explation to their master.

Petroass: Sorry bos, we had to do this to ensure our pockets are deep n secured. Cari makan ma... Don't worry, we are just giving u a 'tentative charge' rejection. All is well after you agree to our terms n conditions.

Bos: How dare you impersonate me?! U think this is funny, embarrassing me big time? I guess you haven't been introduced to my cfour heaven? Would u like me to do the honour?

Petroass: (Trembling in fear...) Sorry, sorry Bos... no, no.. we just want an assurance our piece of the gas cake is in the bank only. You see we have to please another bos which is also ur partner ma...

Bos: (Relaxed) Oh ya... i almost forgot about him, i was too engrossed with OneM'sia that I'm beginning to eat, sleep n shit the concept. Ok, make sure he's happy n my boy up there.

Petroass: The other bos n we thank you, bos. You're most kind.
written by Mama Juwie, June 26, 2009 23:28:02
Please Mr Lim Kit Siang, I really have to differ with your proposal in letting the Parliament to decide on who should be the CEO of Petronas. If you are really sincere in keeping Petronas free from politics, then why are you giving the Parliament, which has majority BN MPs, plus a hardcore pro-BN Speaker, the right to voice out who should be the CEO of Petronas? This is not standard practice in any Global Fortune 500 company. Imagine if Pakatan Rakyat takes over the Federal Government, are you then going to change the CEO? Your proposal is the EXACT thing that should not be done because it politicizes Petronas.

As far as I know, Petronas is a really good company where BN-supporting and Pro-Oppositions employees can genuinely work hand in hand to achieve success for Malaysia as a whole. Petronas is the actually the epitome of 1Malaysia long before Najib joins politics. If you introduce this new element of interference, you will divide the Petronas staffs into two factions, just like our Parliament.
written by ceong2000, June 27, 2009 07:26:58
Najib is telling Mahathir who is BOSS and let see what the responded from his former boss.Look like the war is about to begin.Will the former boss take a slap on the face?.
written by freerpk, June 27, 2009 08:52:58
Correct, correct, correct... you cannot have more revenue & less profit unless the money is going somewhere else or you are getting less efficient...so what is it????
written by Just Gan, June 27, 2009 22:36:54
Najib,
If you gurantee to open up the Petronas books (past and present) for the Rakyat's eyes, we are prepared to back your candidate. If we back you, no one, not even the powerful and corrupt adviser, can prevent it from happening. Are you ready to take up this challenge?
written by Bigjoe99, June 28, 2009 09:23:50
I personally have met all the candidates and also have known Mr. Hassan Merican for a while. The biggest issue with all this is none of the candidate measures up to Mr. Merican. Merican may not have been perfect but he tried to do a professional job as best he could and unlike many in his position did not take advantage of his position for personal gains although it was easy to do. He was also a skilled professional that stood out among his peers and generation.

If you go through the list, either they fall short on personal character or they fall short on skills. How can they NOT replace Hassan Merican with someone better. He may have been pretty decent but the next guy should be better than HIM. It should not be that hard. It would have been better to bring in Wahid from Maybank or Idris Jala from MAS. This list of candidate is at best highly dissapointing...