Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow What are Ramli’s and Rosli’s real crime?

What are Ramli’s and Rosli’s real crime? PDF Print
Friday, 26 June 2009 17:01

Rosli, 46, a partner in Lee Hishammuddin Allen & Gledhill, was alleged to have not complied with the terms of a notice dated July 17, 2007, issued by the Prosecutor under Section 32(1)(b) of the Anti-Corruption Act 1997, to give full information relating to his assets.

The one-time Director of the CCD, Datuk Ramli Yusoff, is now on trial for the ‘crime’ of not disclosing his assets. The government is not concerned with how he acquired those assets basically because he did not acquire them illegally but in the proper manner according to the statement of accounts he submitted. So the only ‘crime’ they can pin on him is for not disclosing what he is worth.

Ramli then engaged a lawyer, Rosli Dahlan, to represent him. And Rosli submitted a stack of documents to prove that the allegation against Ramli are unfounded and that he in fact had declared all his assets as required. Therefore, there is no basis for the allegation and there is no case against Ramli.

The government responded by also arresting and charging Rosli for the crime of not declaring his assets. Why must a lawyer declare his assets? Do any of the other 25,000 Malaysian lawyers also have to declare their assets or is this only applicable to Rosli who, coincidentally, happens to be defending the head of the CCD whom the government is out to hang?

Read Part 2 of this series and as we go on with the next series we shall reveal even more damaging evidence involving those who walk in the corridors of power.

Lawyer charged with hiding information on his assets
13 October 2007

KUALA LUMPUR: Lawyer Rosli Dahlan was charged at a Sessions Court here with not disclosing all information on his assets in his sworn statement last month.

Rosli, 46, a partner in Lee Hishammuddin Allen & Gledhill, was alleged to have not complied with the terms of a notice dated July 17, 2007, issued by the Prosecutor under Section 32(1)(b) of the Anti-Corruption Act 1997, to give full information relating to his assets.

Under the notice, the date of which had been extended to Aug 16, he was required to disclose all information, written under oath.

Rosli, who is married to a lawyer and has three children, was accused of committing the offence at the Deputy Public Prosecutor’s office in the Anti-Corruption Agency’s headquarters in Putrajaya on Sept 21. He claimed trial to the charge yesterday.

If convicted, he can be sentenced up to 20 years' jail and fined a maximum of RM100,000.

ACA officer Saiful Ezral Arifin lodged a report over the matter on Oct 8.

DPP Kevin Morais urged the court to set bail at RM20,000 in one surety and for Rosli's passport to be impounded.

Pleading for lower bail, lead counsel Datuk K. Kumaraendran asked the court to consider that his client had fully co-operated with ACA.

Kumaraendran urged the court to not impound Rosli’s passport, saying that his client had to travel regularly because of his involvement in arbitration work.

He said there was no likelihood of his client absconding, noting that Rosli has a family here.

Rosli then sought permission from Judge S.M. Komathy Suppiah to address the court.

Rosli said the timing of ACA to charge him a day before Hari Raya was “calculated to humiliate him. I have suffered enough. If I go to the mosque tomorrow or if I dared to go, I will be a subject of scorn and ridicule,” he said.

He also told Komathy that he stood in dock very sad because of the manner he was “apprehended” by ACA officers.

Kumaraendran said ACA officers arrested his client at his office at 2.30pm on Thursday and that they handcuffed him tightly.

He said a senior ACA officer also threatened to punch Rosli.

DPP Kevin, however, said that there was a counter report of abusive conduct by Rosli when ACA officers approached him.

Komathy granted him bail of RM20,000 in one surety and set five days from April 21 next year for trial. He posted bail. – The Star

Malaysia Charges Top Police Official With Corruption Following Investigation
1 November 2007

KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA: One of Malaysia's top ranked police officers was arrested and charged with corruption Thursday (1 Nov) for allegedly concealing massive wealth.

Ramli Yusoff, director of the Commercial Crime Investigation Department, was charged with failing to reveal that he owned property worth about 1 million ringgit (US$300,000) and 154,000 shares of unspecified value in a manufacturing firm. It is not known how much the shares are worth.

The country's third-highest ranking police officer, Ramli was also charged with breaching government employee rules by being the director of a separate company. He faces a maximum penalty of 20 years in prison if convicted.

Ramli, the country's third-highest ranking police officer, was freed on 20,000 ringgit bail (US$5,700). The trial is scheduled to start 15 Jan.

He pleaded innocent to the charges in court and claimed he was a victim of the Anti-Corruption Agency, which investigated him. He also accused the police force of failing to back him up.

Ramli, 55, had stunned the police force by holding a news conference Monday (29 Oct), when he told reporters he was being investigated for allegedly concealing assets worth 27 million ringgit (US$8.1 million).

He insisted he and other members of the department have been "mistreated by the ACA and are yet to be protected by their own force."

Ramli's lawyer, K. Kumarendran, said Ramli's 38-year career in the Royal Malaysian Police was now in jeopardy.

"The current charge has cast a shadow on his character and credibility as a respectable senior officer," the lawyer told the court.

The ACA said he is the most senior police officer ever charged with corruption in independent Malaysia's history.

The Star daily said in an editorial Thursday the case exposed an unprecedented level of enmity within Malaysia's police force.

"No one can deny the talk of disunity within the top brass of the force," the paper said. "Still, the power play is somewhat scary, if not macabre, to most Malaysians who have never witnessed such open tension within the police force."

Malaysia's more than 90,000-member police force has long suffered a reputation for bribery, inefficiency and failure to respect human rights.

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi vowed to reduce corruption after taking power in 2003, but critics say his efforts have shown scant success, with few major arrests or convictions. (By JULIA ZAPPEI/ AP)

Ramli Yusuff trial: Sisters played no role in firm, says witness
19 January 2008

KUALA LUMPUR : Although Datuk Ramli Yusuff's two sisters were the only directors of an investment holding company, its management was run by Ramli and a lawyer friend.

Former company secretary Leong Kuy Leng told the Sessions Court yesterday that Rohmah @ Hasmah and Roslina had been directors of Bonus Circle Sdn Bhd since 1999.

Leong, 52, said that although she was the company secretary for Bonus Circle from Jan 26, 1999, to July 19, 2005, she had never met the two sisters.

She said all the dealings were done through Ramli, his lawyer friend Rosli Dahlan and Ramli's personal assistant Salasiah Lope Shaari.

"Throughout my dealings with the company's documents and resolutions, the instructions were mostly given by these three," she said, adding that she was appointed by Rosli.

"I have never dealt with Rohmah or Roslina."

She said usually when she went to get instructions from Rosli in his office, Ramli would also be there.

"Sometimes Salasiah will give me instructions or instruct a policeman to take documents to my office in Menara Maybank."

Leong also said as company secretary, she had to record minutes and prepare documents for the company, including calling for its annual general meeting.

Replying to questions from DPP Zulkarnain Hassan, the witness said that a Bonus Circle resolution showed the authorised signatories for two current accounts in Hock Hua Bank and Maybank were that of the two sisters and Ramli.

She said that on March 8, 1999, the company passed a resolution to purchase two office blocks in Megan Avenue II in Jalan Yap Kwan Seng worth more than RM1.032 million.

She said the property was rented out but she did not know the income.

Leong also said that on May 24, 2000, the company passed a resolution to purchase 9,631 square feet of bungalow land in Johor Baru worth RM1.047 million.

Ramli, 55, who is now suspended, was the third highest ranking policeman in the country. He is charged with non-declaration of:

- two office lots at Megan Avenue II, Jalan Yap Kwan Seng, held by Bonus Circle where his sisters, Roslina and Rohmah @ Hasmah are directors. The two properties are worth RM1.032 million;

- owning 154,000 shares in Permaju Industries Bhd, an investment holding company with its subsidiaries involved in the manufacturing and sale of plywood; and

- owning 20,000 shares of Telekom Malaysia Bhd.

All three offences were allegedly committed at the Anti- Corruption Agency DPP's office in Putrajaya on Sept 17 last year.

Rosli, 46, was charged at the Sessions Court on Oct 12 last year with failing to declare his assets in connection with Ramli's case.

Rosli's trial is fixed from April 21 to 25.

Leong said that on July 7, 1999, the company also passed a resolution to obtain a RM500,000 overdraft and a RM200,000 fixed-loan facility to purchase the Megan Avenue II property.

"The two sisters along with Ramli stood as guarantors."

Questioned further by Zulkarnain, the witness agreed that although six AGMs were held, the sisters did not turn up for any of them but she was instructed by Ramli and Rosli to prepare their minutes and the resolutions as if they had been present.

Another witness, Zamiah Abdul, 42, a former commissioner for oaths attached to the Anti-Narcotics Division in Bukit Aman, said that she was instructed by Salasiah to go to Ramli's office on Jan 25, 1997.

"I was told to bring my rubber stamp as Ramli wanted me to certify several documents," she said.

"I went to Ramli's office and certified the form of transfer of securities of Bonus Circle and a statutory declaration of the two sisters being appointed as directors."

Zamiah said the sisters signed the two documents and she (Zamiah) was asked to certify the documents.

"I acted on instructions by Ramli as he was my superior."

Judge Datin Zabariah Mohd Yusoff fixed Feb 5 for mention to set further hearing dates. – The New Straits Times

written by Pakyeh, June 26, 2009 19:53:28
I say man. This is another hoodwink project by UMNO/BN. The real corrupt people are not persecuted but the wistle blowers and good guys are persecuted with anti corruption, sodomy, ISA,Sedition Act etc.
You remember the 18 Metri corruption cases, which Pak Lah went and ular it to 18 divisions or 18 hantus???

Read more "UMNO/BN = Satan?" at ...

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by Kaneeneh, June 26, 2009 20:16:55
Polis don't know where you are, and you keep showing up here. Grrrrghh......
written by asguard, June 26, 2009 20:46:44
UMNO is ten worse than any party on earth....1corrupted ideas, manipulation, deceiving!
written by mypanida, June 26, 2009 20:57:29
What are Ramli’s and Rosli’s real crime?

Their crimes were that they are not in cahoot with the ruling class.

Sesiapa yang enggan bersubahat dengan mereka akan di aniaya, tak kira pangkat ataupun bangsa.
written by KotaDamansara73, June 26, 2009 21:06:30
UMNO is telling their own Malays that they should not question the UMNO MAlay power. UMNO Malay power is the dominant force in Malaysia. You will face the consequences like Anwar and etc. if you dare go against the MALAY POWER.

If the first place, how do you change the Malay mindset so that, they don't listen blindly to the politicians and the Ulama. The insecurity of the Malay community at large will continue to gather more support for UMNO and the corrupt police force.

When they look around and they find that they can't compete in many sectors and economic field of the society, they will return back to communal politics, which is what happen to the PAS's Ulama. PAS's conservative ulama and the UMNO warlords are afraid of globalization. They know if they open up, they won't be able to compete in any field of the society. They know that that the Malay's eyes will open and realise that UMNO has making fools out of the Malays.

UMNO will continue to blind the Malays by monopolizing the political powers. UMNO warlords want the pie by themselves and fooling the Malays into believing that they are going to benefit from them. Basically, with the police force, UMNO warlords are the only legalize gangster in the country.

UMNO warlords control the guns and they will not let go their power easily. Democracy in Malaysia is just a show. Come next GE, and you will see how dirty and manipulative they will be to win the next GE at all cost. Who wants to lose Petronas (RM52billion) to anybody, let alone to a opposition party.

Asking UMNO to play fair is like expecting a pig to fly one day. UMNO will continue to feudalise and communalise the malay mindset. IN this scenario, the Malay community will be the biggest loser, as they can't compete confidently in the globalize world. They look around, and they see that they are losing to other more advance race of Asia. ANd they are trapping themselves back into their own caves. UMNO is helping to do that. UMNO is afraid of a liberalise Malay mindset which can one day dislodge them from power.

AS Mahathir has said it before. Do not teach them so much, otherwise, they will be smart and go against you. It has always been these selfish interest of UMNO warlords to keep the Malay community ignorant and backwards.

But time is running out on these UMNO warlords and when most of the malays has open their eyes, they realise they have been put in a trap by these bumiputra quotas.
written by shiokguy, June 26, 2009 21:12:39
Integrity Commission

The PM was talking about the Integrity commission http://shiokguy.********.com/2...akyat.html] recently to make the police force more accountable to the people and country. If all the commission is reporting to the executive then what is the point? We will always have the same problem that we have here. I mean the end result.
written by hellosunshine, June 26, 2009 21:53:17
Wow! Ramli's only #3 and he has amassed such a big fortune. Imagine what #2 and #1 are worth. Anybody care to hazard a guess? Malaysia memang boleh bodoh! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by sydput, June 26, 2009 23:28:54
datuk ramli should have hired RPk instead of Rosli
written by charcoy feng, June 27, 2009 00:54:30
people still don't get it....... shut the comment box down if u feel like it. How idiotic can some people be? i share your passion.
written by Dr.bern, June 27, 2009 01:34:29
I am sorry to say that this country bocomes crazy.In Islam , if a good person is been accused of wrong doing whereas a bad person is seen to be a good person then the hereafter(Kiamat)is nearer. This is because of UMNO's manipulations.Therfore we have to stop this wrongdoings, so that we can live in a harmony conutry.let me tell you what, these bastard people think they will never die and there is no judgement after death.
written by educationist, June 27, 2009 06:09:06
It is meant as a lesson to all who do not want to play ball with the UMNOputras, to be read as inclusive of those in the security branches, prosecution, judiciary and civil service.
You do not do as ordered you will be made to pay, be ruined financially and be jailed.
Even any lawyer who dared to defend you shall be persecuted.
Well, I certainly hope thet won't get away with this.
written by SimpleSoul, June 27, 2009 11:46:02
I did rememeber datuk rosli press conference... he cleary booted out ppl from Malaysiakini and Malaysiatodayl. Now RPK is helping him out in a way that is
written by Khan, June 27, 2009 15:21:34
Simplesoul...This appears more a fight between the two sections of the corrupt regime of this country. Dont start showing your fingers at RPK yet. Please have some patience until RPK reveal in full as to what is going on! It is always good when our enemies fight among themselves...
written by mountainking, June 29, 2009 16:32:45
all I can say is that the policemen allows it to happen themselves. So, the very system they are supporting is now going against them.

well, the police want to be corrupted and they are willing to work with UMNO govt to do what they want. when they are not obedient anymore, they will eliminate you.

A good system in place from the beginning will mitigate (not 100% full proof) most of these nonsense.

oh, sounds like Matrix or terminator? one day, UMNO and other BN component leaders will be destroyed by this system that they have implemented.
written by born2reign, July 02, 2009 10:01:30
written by Kotadamansara73, June 26, 2009 21:06:30

UMNO is telling their own Malays that they should not question the UMNO MAlay power. UMNO Malay power is the dominant force in Malaysia. You will face the consequences like Anwar and etc. if you dare go against the MALAY POWER.

If the first place, how do you change the Malay mindset so that, they don't listen blindly to the politicians and the Ulama. The insecurity of the Malay community at large will continue to gather more support for UMNO and the corrupt police force.

When they look around and they find that they can't compete in many sectors and economic field of the society, they will return back to communal politics, which is what happen to the PAS's Ulama. PAS's conservative ulama and the UMNO warlords are afraid of globalization. They know if they open up, they won't be able to compete in any field of the society. They know that that the Malay's eyes will open and realise that UMNO has making fools out of the Malays.

There are leaders who want POWER over their people
There are leaders who EMPOWER their people

The next time you vote PAS/DAP/BN/Hindraf, just look at the leader. Don't be fooled by the religion of the politician, we all know that many are wolves in sheep's clothing.

Teaching Math and English empower the people.
NEP allows BN to power over the rural Malays.