Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow That’s the way to solve the problem, mate

That’s the way to solve the problem, mate PDF Print
Friday, 26 June 2009 16:30

Information, Communication and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim yesterday suggested that all media return to using the terminology swine flu instead of Influenza A (H1N1). It is easier for radio and TV announcers to say selsema babi (swine flu) than H1N1 in Bahasa Malaysia.

WHAT THE WORLD WORRIES ABOUT

H1N1 out of control
Attempts to contain the virus is impossible: expert

ATLANTA: Health officials estimate that as many as 1 million Americans now have H1N1 flu. Lyn Finelli, a flu surveillance official with the Centres for Disease Control and Prevention, voiced the estimate at a vaccine advisory meeting yesterday in Atlanta.

The estimate is based on mathematical modeling. Nearly 28,000 US cases have been reported to the CDC, accounting for roughly half the world’s cases. The US count includes 3,065 hospitalisations and 127 deaths. An estimated 15 million to 60 million Americans catch seasonal flu each year.

The percentage of cases hospitalised has been growing, but that may be due to closer scrutiny of very sick patients. It takes about three days from the onset of symptoms to hospitalisation, Finelli said, and the average hospital stay has been three days.

Other health problems have been a factor in most cases: About one in three of the hospitalised cases had asthma, 16 per cent diabetes, 12 per cent have immune system problems and 11 per cent chronic heart disease. The numbers again highlight how the young seem to be particularly at risk of catching the new virus.

But data also show that the flu has been more dangerous to adults who catch it. The average age of swine flu patients is 12, the average age for hospitalised patients is 20, and for people who died, it was 37. Meanwhile in London, it has been reported that parts of Britain now have so many cases of H1N1 flu that it cannot be contained, it was revealed yesterday.

In the worst hit areas, antiviral treatment will only be given to people with symptoms, and schools will no longer be closed. Speaking yesterday, Andy Burnham, the Health Secretary, and Sir Liam Donaldson, the Chief Medical Officer, said that there were hotspots where swabbing and lab confirmations of the virus were now putting an unjustifiable strain on time and resources.

These areas, including the West Midlands and London, are now moving from the containment phase, which is led by the Health Protection Agency, to outbreak management, led by the strategic health authorities and local health trusts. Burnham said that, as of yesterday morning, there were 3,597 lab-confirmed cases of H1N1 flu in the UK.

“Majority of these cases have shown only mild symptoms, though some cases have been more serious,” he said. “Our approach has focused on containing the spread and working with the local NHS to identify cases and isolate them as quickly as possible and treat them with antivirals and treat those around them and offer prophylactic treatment to those around them.

“This is very resource-intensive, but it has been highly successful.” He added that, while containment had worked well, the Department of Health had never been under any illusions that it could prevent the spread indefinitely. — Agencies

HOW MALAYSIA SOLVES THE PROBLEM

Back to swine flu

Information, Communication and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim yesterday suggested that all media return to using the terminology swine flu instead of Influenza A (H1N1).

He said this was to ensure that the people realised the danger of the disease and to get the message across to them more accurately.

It is also easier for radio and TV announcers to say selsema babi (swine flu) than H1N1 in Bahasa Malaysia. – Bernama

That is how Malaysia will solve the H1N1 problem. We shall give it a new name that is easier for Malay newsreaders to pronounce. So, instead of calling it H1N1, we shall call it selsema babi.

H1N1 is a mouthful to pronounce in Malay. H-one-N-one is four syllables in English. But if in Malay, which would be H-satu-N-satu, it would be six syllables.  Selsema babi is only five syllables.

“Hold on,” you might say. “If we are talking about just one extra syllable, then why is it a problem so say H-satu-N-satu as opposed to selsema babi?” Ah, but there is another reason for calling it selsema babi and not H1N1. This is, as the minister said, “To ensure that the people realise the danger of the disease and to get the message across to them more accurately.”

It seems if it is called H1N1, then people would relax and not consider it that serious a danger. But if the word ‘babi’ is attached to the disease, then people will realise that it is a very serious thing indeed.

I worry, though, that some Malaysians may start to protest if we call it selsema babi instead of H1N1. You see, some time ago, someone, somewhere decided that the word babi should no longer be used and instead it should be replaced with the word khinzir. So, will we now have to, again, change it from selsema babi to selsema khinzir to ensure that we are ‘politically correct’?

Phew, am I glad I am not a cabinet minister. Can you just see the dilemma ministers have to face in combating problems such as contagious diseases? They spend weeks of their time and have to engage in a series of meetings just to figure out what names these diseases should be called so that they can eradicate all these life-threatening diseases by giving it the proper name.

Actually, if you were to just sit down and mull over all the problems afflicting our country, with a level head, you can actually figure out all the solutions to these problems. Take, for example, the problem of loan sharks or ah longs. To those new to Malaysia, the problem of loan sharks is a 100-year old problem, long before Merdeka (independence) in 1957.

Actually, this entire thing started back in the early 1900s when the Indians and Chinese first came to this country to work the estates and tin mines. The non-whites had problems getting credit and the moneylenders from their own community played the role of banker for the small man who was not credit-worthy in the eyes of the bankers.

It was a good thing really. There were no credit cards or finance companies then. Therefore, the only way you could get a loan would be to borrow from the moneylenders. Now, there are so many credit card companies and they stop you on the streets or in shopping centres to offer you a credit card. And if you already own a credit card it is even easier to get another one. So you can actually end up owning a string of credit cards that allow you a credit line of RM5,000 each.

I have actually seen tables set up outside the banks and they would ambush you as you walk in or out of the bank to get you to sign up for a credit card. Imagine if you own ten credit cards. You could spend up to RM50,000 in one go.

Of course, this would mean on your meagre salary of RM2,000 or so it would take you decades to pay off this RM50,000 debt. But there is a solution open to you. You can then borrow RM20,000 from the ah long to pay off some of your credit card debt and then pay the ah long an exorbitant rate of interest that would eventually kill you (sometimes literally as well).

So how will the government solve this problem? Will they ban ah longs and arrest the syndicate bosses and put them behind bars? They tried this two years ago and the head of the CCD ended up getting arrested and was charged with ‘abuse of power’. So don’t try to touch the loan shark syndicate bosses unless you want to go to jail.

Okay, next solution. Will they tighten the rules on credit cards so that people who can’t afford to go into debt will be spared the agony of being swamped with debt? Of course not! That will hurt the industry. They will have to look at another solution without hurting the credit card or loan shark industry.

Anyway, the minister has gone down to the ground and after his short walkabout on a street in Kuala Lumpur he has decided to eradicate the illegal loan shark menace by making them all legal.

That’s right. Malaysia will eradicate the illegal loan shark menace by registering all loan sharks, thereby legalising them (just like how prostitutes are registered in some countries to make them legal ‘sex workers’ and in one swoop prostitution is eradicated).

Soon there will no longer be any illegal loan sharks in Malaysia. There will only be legal loan sharks. And if we can get the religious authorities to slaughter pigs according to the proper Islamic method then pork, ham and bacon will also no longer be haram. I bet the minister never thought of this one yet.

Comments (74)Add Comment
written by Kathy, June 26, 2009 16:43:17
If the TV announcers have problems pronouncing an extra syllable then they must have a speech impediment in which they shouldn't have been employed in the first place. smilies/grin.gif
agree 265
written by Frankfurtguy, June 26, 2009 16:43:58
These are typical "kampung hero"
They think they know the best,
no need to consult respective experts

Once you are at the top,
your thinking is always right
How could Malaysia progress with these kind of mentality...sigh..
agree 204
written by malgal, June 26, 2009 16:44:31
semantics if one clever trick ya?
i guess ah long means one thing, legal ah long can be bank, cannot call indian moneylender chettiar, also they cannot be
mistaken for ah long, must find correct names - then never mind the intent, the right name wins the deal. cheers rpk and may the summer grasslands be kind to you near the sino russian border.
written by picadilly, June 26, 2009 16:48:42
RPK I also read this article in Malay and i think metro or watan paper and the commentory included a lecturer who said

H1N1 is pronounced in english during the news and its rojak language!
so the people must be given pure Malay words. Not H satu N satu but Selsema Babi..

I guess its important that language be unadulterated than having Babi is Malay, which might make Liw Tiong Lai hopping M,ad
written by dassky2000, June 26, 2009 16:50:56
Oh blyme, we have ham and bacon for breakfast, pork sweet n sour for lunch and bak kut teh halal for dinner. joining me anyone. Hehehehehehehe a good one for today.
written by volkswagen, June 26, 2009 16:51:53
So which is which?. Minister of Health prefers to calls it H1N1, but Minister of Information wants to call it Selsema Babi. If they cannot decide, they should raise this matter in next week cabinet meeting.
written by Kamikaze, June 26, 2009 16:59:16

How can he twist the fact like that? Mind you, he is our minister, lawyer by profession, a PhD holder. Don't you think it is even more dangerous having such person being our Information Minister?

Don't you think "Datuk Seri Utama Dr. Rais Yatim" is even much more difficult to state? What shall we call him then?

http://ooibenghooi.********.co...ister.html
agree 225
written by fireduck, June 26, 2009 17:02:30
I'm starting to think that perhaps Rais Yatim purchased his doctorate rather than earned it. He seems to be making so many ridiculously stupid statements and pronouncements that it is no longer funny. His IQ is definitely in question.

So, I supposed he can now confidently inform WHO that Malaysia is now free from the H1N1 virus. We don not have any cases of H1N1 flu, we just have swine flu. And WHO only proclaimed a H1N1 pandemic, but not swine flu, so we are a-okay! Stupid minister!
agree 214
written by dzcorleone, June 26, 2009 17:07:54
Pete, perhaps we could get the religious authorities to brew beer, say some jampi serapah, then you & me could enjoy a cold halal one together...
written by Urangsabah, June 26, 2009 17:10:31
Rais rais, this is UMNOed....bigot in everyway........brain do where he put......very thing must hv some kind of bigotory connotation.....

Well this is the a person with a Doctorate in Law thinking.....
written by Justice Bao, June 26, 2009 17:10:56
To Kamikaze,

Just call him DSU DR.PIG
written by michael, June 26, 2009 17:14:49
How true. Our Cabinet Ministers are just not up to the mark, easily swayed away from the issue at hand. And at the end, nothing really gets done. All talk, talk, and talk.

Let me pose this question. Thousands of Malaysian workers are crossing to Singapore everyday and Singapore is classified as an "affected country". So what's the policy on this?

Singapore is managing their influx of H1Ni the best the can, but to no avail. By a week or at most two, H1N1 will be out of control (with at least 10% community spread) in this crowded city state. What is Malaysia planning to do then? Have they even thought of this problem or are they still arguing what to call this virus.

Luckily for us, the H1N1 strain outside of Mexico isn't life threatening yet (except for some). But come the second wave with its mutated form, we will be in real trouble. And guess what, our Cabinet Ministers are still worried about what to call the first strain H1N1.

Like that, really MATILAH all of us.
written by SamSan, June 26, 2009 17:24:59
This is the same dumb minister who screwed up Pulau Batu Burok arbitration so much so that Malaysia and Johor in particular lost our sovereignity. Then this piece of crap comment comes out from the same moronic minister's mouth (a totally absurd and stupid view which average Malaysian will find difficult to swallow) that we gained two protuding outcrops while we lost the entire EEZ around Pulau Batu Putih which is very sizeable area of shallow seas which Singapore can now start their reclamation work. How much longer can we MKalaysians stand for all these imbeciles running our beloved country to the drain. Now Singapore is trying to canvass for the billions of cubic metre of sand to start their land reclamation work around the massive shallow EEZ that now belongs to them according to the law of the Seas. As Che Det has sensed, so senior politicians are already eyeing the massive monetary gain from the sale of sand at the expense of the people of Johore's integrity.
written by Democrats, June 26, 2009 17:26:46
The fact of legalizing the ahlong business means more money to be made from the industry. No longer just taking bribes from the ah long, politicians now have a new way of tapping into the industry.

(1) Licensing - you can guess how much money can be made from each license - the license will effectively be a "get of of jail free" card for the ahlongs. RM5000 per license? License will be issued to Umno warlords to rent to ah longs like taxi permits.

(2) Some dumb course will be set up, course conducted by some school/institution own by umno warlord.

(3) Some new commission/body to regulate the money lending business will be form headed by some UMNO warlord with high perks and salary. His enforcement officers will hatch a new "commission scheme" where these license owner pay a royalty fee to them to "leave them alone" or "close one eye" in their activities.

Its great isn't it? You can almost see it coming.
written by Jefus, June 26, 2009 17:33:25
Nomenclature debate

H1N1 influenza virus
Some authorities object to calling the flu outbreak "swine flu". U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack expressed concerns that this would lead to the misconception that pork is unsafe for consumption.[138] The CDC began referring to it as "Novel influenza A (H1N1)".[139] In the Netherlands, it was originally called "pig flu", then called "Mexican flu" by the national health institute and in the media. South Korea and Israel briefly considered calling it the "Mexican virus".[140] Later, the South Korean press used "SI", short for "swine influenza". Taiwan suggested the names "H1N1 flu" or "new flu", which most local media now use.[141]

taken from herehttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2009_flu_pandemic

There is a WHO understanding. If u want to abide by international standards.
written by Sinewy, June 26, 2009 17:38:06
"He said this was to ensure that the people realised the danger of the disease and to get the message across to them more accurately."
Is this minister trying very hard to make a mockery of himself? I used to think of him in high regard but his ways of foolish and misinformed conduct lately has shown that he is a very confused person and as arrogant as those political warlords in the ruling party. Please don't keep on making malaysia as a laughing stock in the world with such brainless idea for heaven sake...How can a name which seems to be convenient to him can be said to be accurate? don't the nme need to be scientifically and medically accurate? So in this bolehland, anything goes as long as the Mr. Knowall politician says it.
written by Abdul Haq, June 26, 2009 17:39:58
Heard that a Singapore Malay minister said that H1N1, because it originated from swine, stands for H1= Haram No.1 and N1= Najis N1...

See the kampong mentality is not only found in Malaysia... but also in cosmopolitan Singapore!!
written by hiro, June 26, 2009 17:42:08
Rais is truly brilliant. By saying that people need to be more alert to the dangers of H1N1 and therefore calling it pig flu, he's justapositioning danger with pig (which is consumed not by Malay/Muslim). I say there's a tinge of racist slur in that, wouldn't you guys agree?
agree 126
written by Lim Lim, June 26, 2009 18:06:28
this racist slur proves that rais yatim is more dangerous than the H1N1 or pig flu as he prefers!!!
it again proves that to the point n ways showing their evil intent n how umno standard operandi expressing their racist stand n do u believe that it is good for malaysia???i guess not!
written by panca, June 26, 2009 18:12:53
Since the virus has already mutated and not from BABI anymore, that's why it is now named H1N1 worldwide but alas..buat apa susah susah?! For Malaysia Boleh's convenience sake, just simply replace the number '1' with letter 'I' lor, so that it can be easily pronounced and quick response even when it becomes a two-syllable word lah.

H1N1 becomes HINI as in SINI. See my point, so easy....Then it goes like Disini tiada HINI walaupun disana disayki ada HINI. Kami harap penduduk disini bertolak ansur, jangan HINA penduduk yang dijangkiti HINI.

Now easy does it, Newsreaders!

What do you think of this quick pronunciation and easy to read word, HINI, Mr Rais? Please give HINI a thought.
written by SamBall, June 26, 2009 18:16:24
Me thinks selsema babi is to discourage any Muslims who might be tempted to eat the delicious ham that the kafirs seem to be enjoying

.. or is it possible that mr yatim dreamt about a flying pig..

hey this is bolehland, right..everything is possible here one...
written by SamBall, June 26, 2009 18:18:02
...I heard that eating pork will not spread pig flu, so there you go, still in bolehland..
written by lskong, June 26, 2009 18:23:54
rais is a genius!
he just found the problem to all the malices in malaysia...

want to stop corruption? stop calling it bribe, or kopi-o, or anything nice like. call it babi, duit babi, babi money. that should let those who take bribe know it is a serious concern.

want to discourage people from going to haram places like pubs, disco, massage joints, etc. make it mandatory to put the word babi in front of all the shop names, and hang photos of babi all over the shop. that should fix our haram drinking-minum babi, proximity problems-sentuh babi.

the possibilities are endless! absolutely genius!!
written by johntyc, June 26, 2009 18:25:31
Hey Rais, why you always busy about the wrong things? You are so gila attention lah!
written by albertan98, June 26, 2009 19:09:19
Well, what just happened is that we have been umnoed again. New word for the Malaysian dictionary - umnoed - given a spin with a straight face.
written by HJ Angus, June 26, 2009 19:33:34
Why should anyone be surprised at this mentally challenged Minister?
Methinks his Ministry should be renamed the Ministry of Ignorance!
http://malaysiawatch4.********...y-off.html
written by miwaki, June 26, 2009 19:49:18
To most of non-malay news readers,especially Chinese news reader,the word selsema is rather difficult to pronounce though the word "babi" is definitely easy for them because we all love "babi".

Selsema babi though will carry a some weight to associate its seriousness of the disease but I believe if we modify the term a little,then it will be more perfect.How about "selsema babi hutan "or "selsema babi liar"
written by mansel, June 26, 2009 19:55:42
do they have like exams for ministers before they are awarded/given these posts ?
let me summarize what the exam would look like.. that is if they DO have exams..

1. Who is your GOD ?
2. Who is your 2nd GOD ?
3. Who is your 3rd GOD ?

Answer :
1. Money
2. Money
3. Money

Son, you have forgotten your real GOD long time ago.. You are so low that anything lower than you would look like your old dangling sack of crumpled airbubbles in your pants..
written by myke, June 26, 2009 19:59:08
written by Pakyeh, June 26, 2009 19:33:16

I blame this desease on the pig eaters. They should have listened to God in the Quran telling them not to eat pigs.
How about "preventive action" hah??? No more rearing and eating pigs!!!Come on!!! wake up!!! you pig eaters!!!

May Allah protect the non pig eaters !!! Amen !!! Pig eaters must pay for the sin of eating pigs. Or is it the revenge of the pigs???

----------------------------------------------------
Rais and you lebih kurang saja la.
Awak makan ayam tak? Bird flu is much more deadlier, do you think it's to punish you bcos you eat chicken.? Blame it on you.??
And SARS is much more dangerous so extinct the carrier.??

Otak kat lutut ke pakyeh?
written by Orang Muda, June 26, 2009 20:06:32
"But if the word ‘babi’ is attached to the disease, then people will realise that it is a very serious thing indeed."

According to this logic, if you add the word "babi", it increases the level of seriousness and danger.

Now you can understand why some people call Anwar "BABI" (Breder Anwar Bin Ibrahim) This shows that he is extremely dangerous and how much they are afraid of him...
written by Orang Muda, June 26, 2009 20:13:08
Just call it "Loan Pig" or Ah "Bi" then suddenly no Malay would borrow money from them already. Problems solved over night...

smilies/wink.gif
written by alarcarte, June 26, 2009 20:38:28
written by Pakyeh, June 26, 2009 19:33:16
I blame this desease on the pig eaters....

Pakyeh, Allah won't protect the Muslims for sure, Muslims or non Muslims will get sesama BABI if they come into contact with an infected person, like one commentator said, the virus has mutated and is now spread from human to human.

Unless Allah blessed the Muslims with special genes that can "TAHAN BABI SESAMA"
No way Malaysia can avoid being affected even if the BABI are totally ban in this country!!

Anyway, you still can get mad cow desease by eating cow meat, bird flu by handling chickens, now who do u want to blame? The non Muslims?

It is a known fact that as men are edging into the animals territory due to clearing of lands that humans are coming closer to the animals and thus some unknown animals virus may jump to human host and infect the humans with devastating effects, don't blame the non Muslims for this!

written by Semut Jantan, June 26, 2009 20:48:42
I have a legalised name for Ah Long, 'Ali Loan'.

It will be easier for the TV/ Radio announcer to pronounce, beside having an Islamic flavour on it. It must be really legal. Ala BN gomen.
written by Mirage, June 26, 2009 21:19:27
Just call it HINI ......In English "Hai Nee" in Malay "Hee Nee" Otherwise Selsema Babi sound like the flu that pigs get.....
written by KotaDamansara73, June 26, 2009 21:20:29
Maybe they should also legalize beating up people for no reason. That should make the country more competetive.
written by Malaysiaputra, June 26, 2009 21:47:20
Ai ya !, no syiok calling it H1N1 lah, must have the word babi then it is nicer to pronounce .
written by MalayMail, June 26, 2009 22:27:42
1. He should resign as a Information Minister for giving out false and inacurate information, we are ashamed to have a Minister like him!
2. The 'Bak Kut Teh' hawkers & pork sellers should gether together and DAP lawyers will help them to sue him for the wrong information which affecting their business.
3. Someone must complaint to WHO on the information.
written by mikewang, June 26, 2009 22:36:38
Wah ... now H1N1 is going to sound like a haram disease to Malaysians.
written by choong, June 26, 2009 22:47:13
hahaha...

RPK, you are a real joker... had a good laugh. really love the last part on slaughtering pigs in a halal fashion.

hahahaha....

yup, only in bolehland where the govt knows best and the rakyat dying like flies...
written by Bigdawg, June 26, 2009 23:00:23
Aiyo lah! But we all enjoy " babi-something".

Like, we love Babi-Q, and your Babi-qued satay, also your Babi-qued chicken wings.
Are these all haram then?

Little girls love Babi Dolls.

Hurrah for the word Babi! 4.5 billion people of the world's 6 billion eat Babi.
Top cuisines the world over include Babi.

Why not taste Babi ? It makes heaven on earth...no need to C4 anybody.
written by mowadoha, June 26, 2009 23:04:27
written by sydput, June 26, 2009 23:34:20
seems to me that rais yatim, rosmah and Kj all hail from negri sembilan. is seems Nipah virus had some effect on negeri people, making them sick, dumb and immoral.
written by Bigdawg, June 26, 2009 23:50:03
For thousands of years, man has eaten Babi.
Man ate Babi sausages and shit on the moon. Man eats Babi and shit in the ISS space station.
Man eats Babi and go thousands of kilometers, and will eat Babi tomorrow.

Why will today be last day to eat Babi. Man, get the Babi out of the mind and into the tummy.

Hmmmh! Smell the aroma floating by from the Babi Q pit..yummy yum yum.
written by Chrisho, June 27, 2009 00:01:44
Sorry, this must be the most stupideeeeest excuse to change a perception/word/sentence. Since the minister feels that the people might not take H1N1 so seriously if reported on the media. It is either the presenter is not saying it right or we the people are not hearing is right, so why don't we call it " Selsema PDRM " or something similar or " Selsema RPK " Then everyone will be dead serious!!

Chrisho
written by Orang Muda, June 27, 2009 00:09:15
"He also said Malaysia must comply with the directive of WHO because if it were to use another term, it would mean that other countries too could use different terms and that could lead to chaos in controlling the spread of this pandemic." said the Health ministry today

They said that the Singaporeans are afraid of 5 things-

1. Afraid of "losing" (Kia Su)
2. Afraid of "Ghost" (Kia gui)
3. Afraid of "dying" (Kia si)
4. Afraid of their "wife" (Kia bor)
5. Afraid of the "government" (Kia zheng Hu)

so, to fight H1N1, imagine if they start to use terms like "Lose flu", "Ghost flu", "Dead flu", "wife flu" and "the government flu" so that people are aware of its danger and seriousness.

WHO would have a lot of headache then... smilies/grin.gif
written by budakindia, June 27, 2009 00:21:27
In other parts of the world, people are worried contracting it but here in Malaysia we are worried with the word usage? Gimme a break man. smilies/angry.gif
written by non conformist, June 27, 2009 01:25:24
Just a 'brilliant' plot to destroy the pig industry!
written by Bigdawg, June 27, 2009 02:00:05
In Japan, most student hostels have dry toilets.

One time, a group of students from Malaysia were housed in a block together with the locals.
One day, the house warden came up to the leader of the Malaysian student group and gruffly
spoke out his grieve and huff.

He almost shouted " Why do you guys wash your shit all over the toilet floor ? We now have loose
blobs of shit all over, and the shitty water is sipping down the hallway ! Have you never heard
of toilet tissue?"

The Malaysian students solved their toilet problem by taking buckets of water into the toilet
cubicles; and did not bother to clean up the scattered yellow mess.
written by sambal muncha, June 27, 2009 02:18:12
Selsema "babi" might confuse listeners for the police.
written by edwardh, June 27, 2009 04:50:48
It is easier to call him Si Yatim than Information, Communication and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim
written by edwardh, June 27, 2009 05:10:41
do they have like exams for ministers before they are awarded/given these posts ?
let me summarize what the exam would look like.. that is if they DO have exams..

1. Who is your GOD ?
2. Who is your 2nd GOD ?
3. Who is your 3rd GOD ?

Answer :
1. Saya SOKONG
2. Saya tetap SOKONG
3. Sorry, what was the question? Saya SOKONG terus!
written by Oyster, June 27, 2009 09:21:45
I totally appreciate the Minister of Information,Communications And Malaysian Culture's idea to solve the problem. If a word is too difficult to say then just call it something else."Kementerian Penerangan, Komunikasi Dan Kebudayaan Malaysia" could be shortened to 'Mind Control' or Ministry of Nonsense.The title of Minister of Information, Communications and Malaysian Culture could likewise be shortened to 'Shit for Brains'. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by mikefonz, June 27, 2009 09:54:13
Rais should learn more of Bahasa Malaysia and English.
Pig/swine can be called KHINZIR in BM rite?
Why our Minister wanna use the word BABI ?
Why wanna change the name H1N1
Don't need to pronounce it as H satu N satu.
The whole world pronouces it as H one N one.
Maybe they want to use the word 'Babi' to belittle it.
Sad to know our Info Minister is such a DUMMY.
written by aliseman, June 27, 2009 10:26:43
Acoording to the logic of Rais Yatim, the word BABI should be used to instill fear of the disease among the people.
Then the information ministry should also start using the terminology HUTANG BABI in place of hutang AH LONG to emphasize the danger of borrowing money from illegal loan shark?
written by Oyster, June 27, 2009 10:28:18
"SWINE FLU "is such an old hat name anyway. HOG FEVER is a bit more original or why not go for something a bit more creative like PORKULENZA or HAMALARIA?
Rais, I think you need to go a bit further 'out of the box' babe.
written by eeyaw, June 27, 2009 11:48:41
Imbecile Minister getting more weird!

If change to Swine Flu what if a Muslim gets the flu? Does it means he has to flush his body since swine in haram?
Perhaps should call it Umno Flu, only 3 syllabes.
written by lawa88, June 27, 2009 12:13:23
hello 'Lies Yatim' ramai kawan-kawan saya bilang babi panggang memang sedap. Dengan tak sengaja saya tercuba waktu melancung di Jakarta. Alahai dah musafir lah. Ternyata sedap. Sekarang sering cuba kalau musafir. Sekurang-kurangnya tak begitu haram kala banding dengan tindakan Umno rompak harta kekayaan Rakyat Malaysia. Nak pakai nama Selsema Babi, saya tak kesah. Dengar bunyi perkataan itu pun teringat betapa sedap rasanya... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Naksam, June 27, 2009 12:32:01
BTW, at yesterday's Friday Prayers, one of the topics of the sermon was SELSEMA BABI. The khatib read a prepared sermon which suggested that if During the Bird Flue we can kill the birds, and during the Foot and Mouth Disease we cull the cows, why shouldn't the government do the same .. .. it does not spell the word Babi though.

How do we overcome this kind of silly mistakes made by people who are supposed to be providing us 'accurate' information?
written by garf, June 27, 2009 12:36:30
"Rais Yatim insists that RTM use the term swine flu no matter what. It's not elephant flu or anything else he says - BERNAMA". This Rais is becoming a joke the size of a swine's butt!
written by OpenFire, June 27, 2009 13:07:43
H1N1 = Selsema Babi
Phd. = Permanent head damage
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by lampard, June 27, 2009 13:19:01
can we start creating more jobs? Who cares if it is called Swine, hog, pig, boar, babi, khir errr khinzir, H satu N satu, Ah long, Tai yee loong, loan shark...! Guys I need a credit line with low interest rates and I need more vaccines!
written by mykantree, June 27, 2009 14:04:21
I just love the way RPK put things into "perspective".Yah, change the way you call it, and magically the problems disappear!.The standard procedure of how Malaysians tend to solve their problems.Another one that the PDRM tried to solve is to call accidents "Road Crashes" instead. That should make Malaysians become better drivers, and magically accidents will no longer happen on our roads.Hilarious, we Malaysians.
written by Aria, June 27, 2009 14:53:01
Virus cannot be controlled 100%. By having better hygiene in Malaysia the number of people effected can be reduced. The government should have a better strategy the just changing the name to Selsema Babi. Has the government got enough flu vaccination in the country in case of an epidermic?
written by C360, June 27, 2009 17:11:42
ini lah nak timbulkan issu perkauman secara sampingan ...
written by righttruthspeaks, June 27, 2009 18:57:02
Call it PIG FLU.
Pig has only three letters, but swine got five.

Once you get it, you become a pig - easier to call instead of "swine flu patient"

Moreover, pigs are well known around the world, by all peoples of all religions.
People love pigs.

I hope Rais Yatim gets pig flu soon.
written by rams609, June 27, 2009 21:50:48
OINK OINK! Much easier to say.....
written by Vera, June 28, 2009 08:40:18
Rais Yatim had an arrogant disposition when he delivered his piece on TV3. So this smart alect by a mere snap of his fingers had discovered an immediate cure for H1N1 by conveniently calling it Selsema Babi!
He is not up to mark and talks with his foot in his mouth! Another Syed Hamid Albar in the making!
written by fromamovingtrain, June 28, 2009 18:11:24
It's selsema, babi!
written by Running Sardines, June 29, 2009 09:21:08
This this the very typical of our BeEnd Government. While other nations are thinking of new ways to minimize the spread of H1N1, we have these jokers wasting precious time in tackling this issue. We have more than 124 cases of H1N1 without any death as at this time of posting. And to me, the inevitable will happen, that is the virus will continue to spread wide and far inside Malaysia. Better concentrate in disseminating the danger of this H1N1 to the public especially to the rural people (i.e. the symptoms, proper hygienes etc. and also supply of dust mask to schools but then will there be any abuse? Nanti one dust mask that cost only RM1 will be charged RM3!!!) and not waste time in changing its correct name, as this H1N1 is NOT AT all related to pigs. And if conincidentally there is an outbreak of flu in a pig farms (not necessarily in Malaysia) and can be contagious to humans, what shall we call it then ? Selsema Babi Part 2 ?
written by ROBERTNGTG, June 30, 2009 10:03:53
That is how Malaysia will solve the H1N1 problem. We shall give it a new name that is easier for Malay newsreaders to pronounce. So, instead of calling it H1N1, we shall call it selsema babi.

HEY, ITS A GOMEN CONSPIRACY TO PREVENT THE CHINESE FROM EVERY ENJOYING BAKUT TEH AGAIN. OTHERWISE, WHAT IS THE MOTIVE??