Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Common Sense Planning For Booms and Busts

Common Sense Planning For Booms and Busts PDF Print
Friday, 26 June 2009 14:24

Matthias Chang

This article is an edited and summarized version of my seminar paper, Common Sense Planning For Booms And Busts© which I first presented soon after the 1997 financial crisis and which I has since developed further.

The target audience for this article is the hands-on managers and policy makers who are presently confronted with the challenges of overcoming the present painful global financial tsunami.

I have deliberately omitted voluminous data and complex graphs so as to enable my readers to grasp the essence of my analysis.

You will not find this approach in leading international business schools and or management seminars / forums by leading management gurus. We say this because we have brainstormed with executives and consultants from impeccable academic and business backgrounds over the last twenty-five years, and what we found most often missing in our discussions is the application of the tool of common sense in addressing and resolving complex issues.

We have heard often enough the refrain, Come on, it cannot be that simple, there must be a catch. Another common frustration is, we have spent hundreds of man hours on this and we have covered all the angles, and we can’t see how you can get us out of this mess.

We offer no magic bullets and or have we asserted that we have all the answers. But what we do assert is that a proper mindset, one based on common sense is often more effective than complicated theories and equations. I believe that the present crisis has taught us that rocket scientists and Nobel Laureates are not infallible. In fact by ignoring common sense, they have contributed substantially to the present financial debacle!  

Comments (5)Add Comment
written by mountainking, June 26, 2009 14:53:52
then I guess common sense was not used in Perak's debacle.
written by cheemengwong, June 26, 2009 14:55:42
The poor are always caught with their pants down! The rich gets away with more government assistance and bailouts!

The poor now has to do the following 5 steps taught by Oxfart University of Hard Knocks:-

Step 1: Starve the family
Step 2: Starve the family
Step 3: Starve the family
Step 4: Starve the family more
Step 5: Wait to die slowly.

Najis everywhere, clean them please.
written by Democrats, June 26, 2009 17:44:35
They call it common sense, but however, this "sense" is not very "common" in Malaysia, especially leader of the Malaysian government.

In fact, one of the thing they have in common is the lack of it.
written by HamChak, June 26, 2009 21:43:50
Dei MaddiasDog, please la STOP your barking.
Go to your Master's Kangaroo Court to BARK, la.
Go join with your brother KoretKoretKoret and
bark at some HalfPastSix DisgustineJudge mah.
Spit on your face.
written by notsosmart, June 27, 2009 00:39:21
Was this taught in the Secondary School? Oh Boy...! I really miss out this one. But not a problem lah............it's just theoretical. I am not an economic expert but wish to clear some points.

In today globalised business world. We always go with the forcast and most of the time we miss then. Everyone tried to outsmart each other in the business world. Most of us are too concern with the financial bottom line that we actually failed to understand the real prime purpose of business. Everyone is so greedy with financial gain that some of their businesses have no benefit to humanitarian value at all, neither do they improve the quality of our life.

Matthias's Cyclic Theory could apply well to our Petronas organisation as their cycle waveform will not fall into the negative. Maybe he can give some lecture to the Petronas management and makes some small extra pocket money. But he is totally wrong when he tried to apply them to the international business unit. Not that simple, Uncle Matthias...., not so simple. Some of the top management/financial consultant or guru knew where likely is the fracture point of the graph ( I happened to read some of their reports ), but few just want to try their luck further at the expenses of their clients. It's all about GREED! Enriching their bank account at other expenses. And also the blames goes to their greedy and ignorant client who believe that the sky is the limit.

Malaysia have to be very careful with the current economic crisis. Don't be fooled by Uncle Matthias saying that our so called 5 years plan could or will be our saviour. Whether it is the current or the previous crisis. Honestly, Malaysia by herself, is not capable of getting out of this global economic mess. Frankly, we don't have the expertise here locally ( too many monetary corrupted mind ). Malaysia can only hope that the current condition would not erode further down. Till today, nobody could tell if we have hit the bottom.

However, Malaysian are fortunate that the revenue from Petronas is sustaining our economic growth for many decades, but it comes with a lot of inefficiency and corruption. The gomen must seriously stop all corruption from top down, not bottom up. Either they stop all wrong doing or the rakyat will have to replace them in the coming election. STOP WASTING THE RAKYAT MONIES!!