Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Defence go on offensive as Sodomy II trial draws closer

Defence go on offensive as Sodomy II trial draws closer PDF Print
Thursday, 25 June 2009 21:34
By Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

Every day that passes brings Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim one step closer to the dock. Rather than stepping back to build his defence, the Opposition Leader has chosen to go on the offensive and raise his attacks against his prosecutors.

His lawyer Sivarasa Rasiah upped the ante today, drawing attention to the first sodomy case against the former deputy prime minister in 1998, and evoking a sense of deja vu.

Speaking to reporters in Parliament today, Sivarasa hinted at a government conspiracy against Anwar who is likely to stand trial for Sodomy II on July 8.

The Subang MP noted that Anwar had filed a police report in February accusing the police and the Attorney General of spinning lies on his arrest in 1998 for Sodomy I.

However, the police failed to act on the report, Sivarasa claimed.

Efforts to find out the progress of the investigation from the police over the past four months were met with silence, he added.

It was only three days ago that he received an update on the investigation, Sivarasa said.

He added that the reply was from the home affairs minister who said the police had referred Anwar’s Sodomy I report to the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) on February 21, a day after the report was filed, to decide on the next course of action.

Sivarasa, who is also a PKR vice-president said he is filing a report with the anti-graft body for an update and will send it in by tomorrow.

In his February police report, Anwar accused the police and the Attorney General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail of falsifying the reason for his September 1998 arrest for sodomy.

He claimed that the arresting officer, Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) Koh Hong San, had written a false record of his arrest 11 years ago, claiming he was arrested under the Internal Security Act (ISA), which allows for a detention without trial for up to two years.

The PKR adviser claimed that ACP Koh told him he was being arrested under Section 377 of the Criminal Penal Code (CPC) when he was picked up from his home on the night of September 20, 1998.

Anwar claimed the reason was to hide the bruised eye he got from the then IGP Tan Sri Rahim Noor while in police custody.

Images of Anwar’s “black eye” have been circulated globally and have come to symbolise his party’s struggle for reform.

written by malsia1206, June 25, 2009 22:39:33
I got a hunch the charge pressed against Anwar shall fizzle out in due time. Barisan is fully aware more harm shall befall on them if they proceed with the trial to its full course. Politics shall sway and the Government shall elect to yield. There is just no other option.
written by Just Gan, June 25, 2009 23:03:27
Yes, going on the offensive is the right strategy. But lodging reports to MACC and PDRM, though appropriate and should be done, will not result in anything. Has there been any earlier case where reports lodged at MACC of PDRM resulted in anything tangible? This being the reality in Malaysia where the Police, Anti-corruption Agency and Judiciary are not just tools but extensions of the UMNO/BN govt, the offensive should include other strategies. See my earlier posts below :

"Anwar, Please stop issuing such useless and menaningless threats to UMNO. Where is all the evidence against Mahathir, Najib, Daim, Rafidah, Hishamudin, Megat Junid, etc that you claimed to have? Having served as a DPM/minister for more than a decade under Mahathir, don't you have even one incriminating evidence against Mahathir or the others? All you have to do is to release the evidence to the international media and the Internet community, and it will produce the desired results. Call Al Jazeera, BBC, etc. Publish in Harakah. Keep releasing the evidence one by one every month to put the past and present UMNO thugs and crooks on the defensive. They have gone on the offensive again with a false sodomy charge. You should respond with legitimate accusations. You can't loose. You may not win in the circus called Malaysian court, but you and Pakatan will win in the court of the Rakyat. Are you going to act definitively or are you just going to go around making speeches and HOPING for the people, especially the Malays, to revolt against UMNO? It didn't happen in a big way, as in other countries, when you were humiliated and brutally beaten under Sodomy I. It won't happen now unless you give the Malays solid reason to do so. Anwar should stop with the rhetorics and act. Act sensibly."

"The Internet and mobile phones were not as well-developed in 1998, hence were not widely deployed then. Now, it is different. In fact, as seen from the 2008 GE, these powerful tools can make a big difference. Also the international media is more aware of events in Malaysia. In particular, channels such as Al Jazeera are viewed my Malays. If Anwar is hoping for a Revolusi, it will not happen. Has a Revolusi happened in Perak, even though most Malaysians are aware of what has been happening. The Revolusi will NOT happen if Anwar goes to jail for Sodomy II. If it happens, it will be put down in the harshest manner, and could even be turned into another May 13. UMNO/BN have the means not only to deal with any revolt by the people but could also unleash their ultimate weapon, racial riots, as they have many thugs from all the communities (Malays, Chinese and Indians) in their employment. And of course there is the other official thug called the Police to ensure that UMNO/BN thugs are not implicated. The wretched PDRM will haul innocent people (women and children included) as the instigators of the racial riot, rather than the victims (re: various past events). In fact Revolusi, unless truly decisive like in other countries, will work against Pakatan's plan to form the next government. Many of the Pakatan leaders will be put under ISA on the basis of the Revolusi and the Pakatan movement will die a natural death. My earlier proposal is possibly one of the few strategies still available to Anwar. There is nothing to loose. Only lots to gain. Use the international media. Use the Internet. Use SMS, Publish a series of books in Malay. Do something solid instead of HOPING that the MAJORITY of the Rakyat will rebel against UMNO/BN. Majority of the Rakyat may vote for Pakatan in an election, but Majority of Malaysians WILL NOT go to the streets to demonstrate against Anwar's Sodomy II jailing."

"Why should Anwar be the one to release the evidence? Some unknown individual, such as you or me, can release it. Take Pete for example. He has released substantial evidence against Badawi, including copies of govt. papers and minutes. Pete has no official access to these and can, at best, be charged for publishing something not acceptable to the govt. or individual - not for violating OSA. Pete has been used by someone powerful to release incriminating evidence against Badawi and even Najib. Others, unknown, can release OSA-related evidence. Where the evidence does not violate OSA, Anwar can release them. Surely, not all the evidence that Anwar has are OSA-related?"
written by Fuminari, June 25, 2009 23:53:03
""government hospital's July 13 medical report of a rectal examination of Mr Saiful found no evidence of anal penetration.""
well,most probably najis,musa , gani patahi n their goons are going in with the next game plan,...since there's no trace of insertion,saifool would testify that anwar did lick his a2shole ,tongue fcuked him by force...then DNA test of the newly passed DNA act would show that traces of anwar saliva did exist in saifool's as.shole as per the so called PDRm gathered specimen..n those corrupted or political hamkarchan judges would quickly hammer the nails in no time!!!
written by budakindia, June 26, 2009 00:15:52
Good! I have only one phrase! "Jadilah Pak Kaduk, menang bersorak kampung tergadai!" We wasted so much resources just to put one man behind bars over ridiculous charge. Yeah go right ahead! smilies/grin.gif
written by Mama Juwie, June 26, 2009 05:00:59
Anwar, you better watch you back! (Pun intended)
written by educationist, June 26, 2009 05:21:20
So, apparently the MACC has been sitting on Anwar's report since Feb. 22nd.
Any surprise?
This report is against the AG & IGP!
If the MACC is truly independent, it will work doubly hard one way or the other!!
If they are guilty as Anwar charges, they have no right to be sitting there.
If not, they must be cleared.
For how else can the rakyat have faith in our police force and prosecution services if the top two officers are so tainted.
Now, that the MACC is pushed, we'll know the results soon and I believe the rakyat knows what the result will be as we know on which side the MACC stands in terms of justice!!!
written by adan, June 26, 2009 06:48:59
Yes. When one is dealing with the ruthless,the best defence is pesistent attack.
written by NSTPravda, June 26, 2009 07:24:10
Aiyah! Why not just surrender and die?
Look, they have the best justice $$ can buy
They also have the likes of Augustine
And all the might of the UMNO machine
Never under-estimate the power of skullduggery
To resist these is to court further misery
Unless you wanna end up like what's her name
You had better play their dirty little game
All you have time for till next Monday
!!! Is to do things that makes you semua-nya OK!

Meanwhile, it is, as usual, rasuah sayang eh
Duit-lah tuanku, dollar akbar are the only ways.

smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by *********, June 26, 2009 08:15:20
It appears that the Malaysian regime will use the brutal Iranian method of suppressing any demonstration should the People take to the streets to protest the trumped up charges of sodomy on Opposition Leader Y.B. Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim. We could very well see the seeds of Revolution in Malaysia should the BN/Umno regime underestimate the Rakyat's will...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by zanie, June 26, 2009 08:45:53
Can't blame him, he learnt from past experience. How ironic..najib with so much evidence pointing at him implicating him of the Altantuya murder, with credible, reliable eye witnesses such as Bala and his colleague, went untouchable.

Anwar with almost nothing to nail him, three doctors have confirmed Saiful ******* is virgin with no bruise of whatsoever, has been found to live in RM1.5 million apartment despite being a U dropout, is still being haunted.

Believe me, DSAI verdict is already in the book. Whatever he and his lawyers are going to present is not relevant. He's going to be in jail one way or another. What we must do is be alert, we must come to our senses at all times that this regime has gone too far and need to be removed. How? Through the ballot box..because I'm pretty sure the people are reluctant to go running storm the bastille like in the 90's. If some would do they would only be consisted of Malays coz chinese are coward, they guard their business more than the well being of the country. Pete said so! smilies/grin.gif