Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Anwar: Ready to be jailed

Anwar: Ready to be jailed PDF Print
Thursday, 25 June 2009 18:40

MALAYSIAN opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim said on Thursday he is prepared to be jailed for sodomy in a trial next month, but warned his conviction could unleash a groundswell of public support to rout the government in the next elections.

Mr Anwar denies the charge and said he does not expect a fair trial.

It's the second time in his political career that he has been charged with sodomy. Both cases have been politically motivated to stop him from challenging the people in power, he said. But just like the first case, 'there will be a huge outcry here and internationally', Mr Anwar told The Associated Press.

'The worst-case scenario for me personally would be great for the opposition and the worst-case scenario for the government' in the next elections in 2013, he said.

Mr Anwar, 61, was charged last August with sodomising a 23-year-old male former aide, Mr Saiful Bukhari Azlan. Sodomy, a crime in this Muslim-majority country, is punishable by up to 20 years in jail even if it is consensual.

The trial starts July 8 and is seen as a test of credibility for Malaysia's judiciary, which has been tainted by allegations that many judges are corrupt and easily influenced by the government. The trial will also reflect on new Prime Minister Najib Razak's promises to create a more open and free society.

'My chances, given a free fair trial, are 100 per cent, but under the current circumstances the chances go down fast,' Mr Anwar said.

'Nobody likes to go to jail, but I will do it if forced to ... and hopefully (come) out like a hero.' He said a government hospital's July 13 medical report of a rectal examination of Mr Saiful found no evidence of anal penetration.

He also claimed that his defence team has evidence to show that he was framed and that Mr Saiful has become exceedingly wealthy in recent months. He implied Mr Saiful was bribed by the government.

The government denies it is persecuting Mr Anwar, and says it has nothing to do with what it describes as a personal case between two individuals. -- AP

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by concernedinmalaysia, June 25, 2009 18:45:01
I would be interested to know what examples of Saiful's new found wealth are obviously visible. Anyone? Pictures? Got new Merc or BMW?
written by educationist, June 25, 2009 18:50:48
And so, looks like history repeats itself!
But will the UMNOputras get away with it again?
Given their strangle hold on all security apparatus of the country, it does looks like they will be able to crush any show of support for Anwar, if he's jailed.
So, the rakyat will again have to bide their time.
Hopefully, the next general elections the rakyat will finally boot these UMNOputras from the corridors of power!
And, Anwar?
Let's hope he's be out to lead a triumphant birth or a more just, fair and democractic society.
written by Mirage, June 25, 2009 19:10:00
They will keep him busy till GE13.....followed by sued just like Singapore opposition Jeyaratnam.
written by kooler, June 25, 2009 19:12:34
This time Anwar will be found guilty of immaculate insertion.
written by mypanida, June 25, 2009 19:13:44
Expect REFORMASI 09' and this time we are better prepared.
written by Liberian, June 25, 2009 19:33:31
At his age is Anwar sexually functioning? And to sodomise, Anwar need a strong erection! I won't be surprise with our courts, even pigs can fly!
written by mountainking, June 25, 2009 19:46:38
i wonder Malaysians would rise up by then with a big demonstration to overthrow the government or not?

REFORMASI REFORMASI REFORMASI
written by Just Gan, June 25, 2009 19:52:09
Anwar,
Please stop issuing such useless and menaningless threats to UMNO. Where is all the evidence against Mahathir, Najib, Daim, Rafidah, Hishamudin, Megat Junid, etc that you claimed to have? Having served as a DPM/minister for more than a decade under Mahathir, don't you have even one incriminating evidence against Mahathir or the others? All you have to do is to release the evidence to the international media and the Internet community, and it will produce the desired results. Call Al Jazeera, BBC, etc. Publish in Harakah. Keep releasing the evidence one by one every month to put the past and present UMNO thugs and crooks on the defence. They have gone on the offensive again with a false sodomy charge. You should respond with legitimate accusations. You can't loose. You may not win in the circus called Malaysian court, but you and Pakatan will win in the court of the Rakyat. Are you going to act defintively or are you just going to go round making speeches and HOPING for the people, especially the Malays, to revolt against UMNO? It didn't happen in a big way as, in other countries, when you were humiliated and brutally beaten under the earlier sodomy charge. It won't happen now unless you give the Malays solid reason to do so. Stop with the rhetorics and act. Act sensibly.
disagree 38
written by zanie, June 25, 2009 20:05:28
Evidence? Anwar has mounts of evidence against those ministers! Rafidah approved hugh amount of shares to her son-in-law during one of a perculiar meeting, it was stated in the minute, Anwar 's lawyers had evidence to prove that the trivoli villa wasn't being built yet during the said sodomy of Azizan's case but they amended the dates three times to implicate him! Anwar accused that the very IGP himself beat him to a pulp, it was proven but what did the IGP receive? Barely a month in jail!

Anwar has evidence, but to no use in this kangaroo court. The lawyers can produce to the whole world to see but does that stop him being sent to jail? I doubt so. So what's our move? I think being push to the wall yet again, the people should retaliate for him. We just can't afford to lose a patriot.
written by justice6, June 25, 2009 20:38:13
soon TFK(hit aeroplane) will be a crime too in Malaysia.. or is it already?
written by Dominic, June 25, 2009 20:40:03
My reckoning is it would be a grave mistake if Annuar end up in jail without a fair trial. Given the 1Malaysia concept that Najis is trying to change the people`s thinking,jailing of Annuar is going to be counter-productive. His other better bet is to spilt PAS`s supporters which is easier to handle and looks clean compared to taking on Annuar !
written by Just Gan, June 25, 2009 20:43:29
Zanie, I agree with you all the evidence in the world has no relevance to the circus called the Malaysian Court. That is why Anwar needs to go on the offensive.

The Internet and mobile phones were not as well-developed in 1998, hence were not widely deployed then. Now, it is different. In fact, as seen from the 2008 GE, these powerful tools can make a big difference. Also the international media is more aware of events in Malaysia. In particular, channels such as Al Jazeera are viewed my Malays. If Anwar is hoping for a Revolusi, it will not happen. Has a Revolusi happened in Perak, even though most Malaysians are aware of what has been happening. The Revolusi will NOT happen if Anwar goes to jail for Sodomy II. If it happens, it will be put down in the harshest manner, and could even be turned into another May 13. UMNO/BN have the means not only to deal with any revolt by the people but could also unleash their ultimate weapon, racial riots, as they have many thugs from all the communities (Malays, Chinese and Indians) in their employment. And of course there is the other official thug called the Police to ensure that UMNO/BN thugs are not implicated. The wretched PDRM will haul innocent people (women and children included) as the instigators of the racial riot, rather than the victims (re: various past events). In fact Revolusi, unless truly decisive like in other countries, will work against Pakatan's plan to form the next government. Many of the Pakatan leaders will be put under ISA on the basis of the Revolusi and the Pakatan movement will die a natural death. My earlier proposal is possibly one of the few strategies still available to Anwar. There is nothing to loose. Only lots to gain. Use the international media. Use the Internet. Use SMS, Publish a series of books in Malay. Do something solid instead of HOPING that the MAJORITY of the Rakyat will rebel against UMNO/BN. Majority of the Rakyat may vote for Pakatan in an election, but Majority of Malaysians WILL NOT go to the streets to demonstrate against Anwar's Sodomy II jailing.
written by shamadz72, June 25, 2009 20:43:40
I wondered whether Untie Pat has also managed to become extremely wealth too recently?

written by shamadz72, June 25, 2009 20:47:44
JustGan,

If Anwar release all the document pertaining to the corruption allegation on some BN leaders, it will make it much more easier for BN government to put Anwar behind bars legitimately via OSA (Official Secrecy Act). I know every judge think OSA is evil, but as long as it is a law, they don't have any choice but to upheld it.

written by toroono78, June 25, 2009 20:55:22
If the government of BARISAN NAJIS sends DSAI to jail again on these stupid charges knowing very well about the three medical reports then they are going to create a situation just like in SOMALIA.TOTAL LAWLESSNESS.SHAME ON YOU BARISAN NAJIS!!!!!!!!
written by InEffective, June 25, 2009 20:56:45

buggering judges will write buggered judgments because they fear they will be buggered by our buggering-fixated politicians.

Malaysia - truly buggered up...
written by Limau, June 25, 2009 20:56:53
If this time around our dearest DSAI is jailed be will bring down the goverment by force, don't forget that people's power is much greater than everything.
written by Fuminari, June 25, 2009 21:15:46
""government hospital's July 13 medical report of a rectal examination of Mr Saiful found no evidence of anal penetration.""
well,most probably najis,musa n gani patahi are going in with the next game plan,...since there's no trace of insertion,saifool would testify that anwar did lick his ******* ,tongue fcuked him by force...then DNA test of the newly passed DNA act would show that traces of anwar saliva did exist in saifool's as.shole as per the so called PDRm gathered specimen..n those corrupted or political hamkarchan judges would quickly hammer the nails in no time!!!
jus wait n see...lah!!!!
written by onnetline, June 25, 2009 21:18:13
Agustine Balls, the ' back hole ' crooked judge of Mamaktahi of Kedah ! !
written by Just Gan, June 25, 2009 21:24:05
Shamadz72 - Why should Anwar be the one to release the evidence? Some unknown individual, such as you or me, can release it. Take Pete for example. He has released substantial evidence against Badawi, including copies of govt. papers and minutes. Pete has no official access to these and can, at best, be charged for publishing something not acceptable to the govt. or individual - not for violating OSA. Pete has been used by someone powerful to release incriminating evidence against Badawi and even Najib.

Others, unknown, can release OSA-related evidence. Where the evidence does not violate OSA, Anwar can release them. Surely, not all the evidence that Anwar has are OSA-related?
written by mypanida, June 25, 2009 21:41:20
written by concernedinmalaysia, June 25, 2009 18:45:01

I would be interested to know what examples of Saiful's new found wealth are obviously visible. Anyone? Pictures? Got new Merc or BMW?

He got a new arseh*le, goldplated, no less....
written by overseaMas, June 25, 2009 22:01:25
A well known joke made in Malaysia by UMNO to the world.
written by AlwaysFair, June 25, 2009 22:59:20
It is very obvious Anwar was framed and that he is INNOCENT!!

All Malaysians who are not blinded by corruption and the whole world can see this clearly. If Anwar is jailed the country would surely descend into "pariah" country status. Shame on the govt!! Only know how to keep practising all the bad inventions of Mamaktir.

Long live Anwar!!
Long live Pakatan Rakyat!
written by mansel, June 25, 2009 23:30:43
anwar, we are with you, the 1st wave is not so strong, but the 2nd wave will be tsunami in the next general election! REFORMASI!
written by lynn, June 25, 2009 23:48:29
Anwar,

Keep fighting. We are with you 100%! We know the charges were framed!
Everyone knows you were fixed; everyone knows who killed Altantuya too.
written by Perak Boy, June 25, 2009 23:51:21
I see it, UMNO is digging it's own grave much earlier.

Sodo-mee, sodo-mee, sodo-mee ... dah tak ada modal lain.
UMNO ingat orang melayu sebodoh itu ke???

written by lynn, June 25, 2009 23:59:58
You all see the pattern: all planned out.

First the corrupt bastards criminally took over government of Perak via bribery & fear of charge on corruption; then they nail the leader of PR, ie. Anwar, with a fictitious charge of sodomy. And finally, our most loved TG Nik Aziz, umno youth leader kurang ajar filed police report again TG! Of all people in Bodohland, my gawd.

The corrupt govt will try to bring down Pakatan Rakyat long before GE13. Pls standby, observe, they may try to bring down Penang by fixing fictitious charges against LGE. After they can fix judgments, they can do anything. Anything at all. All these, many profused thanks to the mamak from Kerala. He screwed this country really well. He actually did a great job.
written by lynn, June 26, 2009 00:02:33
Pakatan Rakyat must sweep two-thirds of the parlimentary seats come GE13.

We need to amend some laws, we need to make serious reform come into fruition. Otherwise, another 5 or 10 years under bn rule, this country is permanently gone to hell like zimbabwe or nigeria.
written by magickriver, June 26, 2009 00:11:49
The AP report says: The trial starts July 8 and is seen as a test of credibility for Malaysia's judiciary, which has been tainted by allegations that many judges are corrupt and easily influenced by the government.

"A test of credibility..." how many "tests of credibility" before the Malaysian Judiciary flunks out completely? Anwar's 1999 trial was described as "a test of credibility" for the Malaysian justice system. So was the long-drawn soporific Altantuya murder trial. Most recently, a 5-member federal court reversed a courageous high court judge's decision naming Nizar Jamaluddin as the legitimate mentri besar of Perak...

As far as I'm concerned the Malaysian Judiciary has REPEATEDLY FAILED almost every test of credibility it has had to face since May 1988 when Mahathir sacked Lord President Tun Salleh Abas and plunged a poisoned dagger of corrupt cynicism into the heart of justice, truth and freedom in Malaysia.

For the record, so has the Anti-Corruption Agency (which, under Ahmad Said Hamdan, has been openly used by Umno mafia chiefs as a weapon against their political rivals and anyone else who threatens the status quo)... and, of course, the PDRM which has miserably failed every test since the days of Hanif Omar...
written by jasonsel, June 26, 2009 01:59:34
Irrelevant ...irrelevant .....insufficient evidence....official secrets act..ISA....and you still want evidence after that .....

Just Gan .....you"re either very gullible and just lack any form of intelligence....

PPL like you are just sad.......
written by Fairminded, June 26, 2009 08:14:57
I am not a lawyer so can the author or anyone out there please enlightened me. If Anwar (the accused) is found guilty on consensual sodomy and sentenced to 20 years, will the same sentence me metted out to the sodomized? After all it is consensual so the chap might be enjoying it too. When I was young in the 1950s there are many circuses in Malaya. Afer independence they slowly die off. Now I know the reason. The Malaysian courts had taken over their businesses.
written by ROBERTNGTG, June 26, 2009 09:52:51
MALAYSIAN opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim said on Thursday he is prepared to be jailed for sodomy in a trial next month, but warned his conviction could unleash a groundswell of public support to rout the government in the next elections.

Mr Anwar denies the charge and said he does not expect a fair trial.
He also claimed that his defence team has evidence to show that he was framed and that Mr Saiful has become exceedingly wealthy in recent months. He implied Mr Saiful was bribed by the government

THE PEOPLE'S NEXT TSUNAMI COME GE 13 WILL BURY AMENO/BEEND FOR GOOD AND THAT'S A
PROMISE.
AS FOR THE SHITFUL, BET U MUST BE DRIVING AROUND CHOW KIT WITH YR FLASHY CAR LOOKING FOR SOME MACHO MALE EH?? CARE TO TELL US THE FULL PACKAGE OF NAJIS'S SCHOLARSHIP OFFER?? WE KNOW U GOT A MASTER'S DEGREE IN SODOMEE, LIFETIME FREE RIDE ON THE ARMY'S NURI, ANNUAL UNDERWORLD TOUR OF LANGKAWI IN THE SCORPENE, UNREVEALED RM MILLIONS, WHAT ELSE??

written by Jit Dharma, June 26, 2009 13:03:50
Yes, if UMNO and bloody Patail and the Rock-head of Gibraltar
Augustine King Kangaroo Paul make a martyr of DSAI they
will pay a heavy price. Go on and do it you bloody morons!!!
written by ATSaari, June 26, 2009 16:47:16
YB Anwar,
The Honorable Nelson Mandela spent years in prison, for justice and freedom. It is sad that you may have to emulate Mandela in order to achieve freedom and justice for Malaysia. One have to do what he or she is destined and fated to do and you have now able replacement in Zaid Ibrahim who will bring the fight for freedom and justice to a more greater height.