Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Clouds gather in Kelantan as Umno lodges Nik Aziz report

Clouds gather in Kelantan as Umno lodges Nik Aziz report PDF Print
Thursday, 25 June 2009 18:18

The senior-most PAS leader has been the leading critic of Umno and the main obstacle in his plot to get the party to form a Malay power pact with Umno.

Suara Keadilan

As he created chaos in Perak, Prime Minister Najib Razak is now resorting to all ways and means - particularly the unfair and the foul - to break up PAS in Kelantan, the long-held bastion of the Islamist party.

Unable to accept the rejection dealt out by the Pakatan Rakyat top leadership on Monday, when PKR, DAP and PAS had unanimously voted against forming a unity government with his Umno-BN, Najib is now targeting Nik Aziz Nik Mat.

The senior-most PAS leader has been the leading critic of Umno and the main obstacle in his plot to get the party to form a Malay power pact with Umno.

For the scandal-hit and underperforming PM, this is crucial if he is to survive not just at the federal government but also within Umno, where dissatisfaction with his weak leadership is gaining ground.

Indeed, Najib has already publicly encouraged Nasharudin Mat Isa, the PAS deputy president whom he believes is receptive to his lures, to defy Nik Aziz and stage a revolt that could split the Islamist party down the line.

Flashing the Sedition Act

On Thursday, Kelantan Umno Youth lodged a police report against Nik Aziz, who is also the Kelantan Menteri Besar for allegedly inciting hatred, anger and causing chaos amongst the people.

According Anuar Safian, the Youth chief there, Nik Aziz should be charged under the Sedition Act 1948 and the Internal Security Act 1960 for a speech he made on June 21 at Kampung Laloh, Manek Urai.

Anuar claims that the chief minister had attacked Umno by likening the party to the deviationist Ayah Pin and the Sky Kingdom cult and for branding Umno as a communist and a socialist party that was anti-Islam.

The Youth leader also said the speech was reported in an English daily, Kelantan TV and other publications.

“I want to ask Nik Aziz how many people in Umno have deviated since its involvement in politics for the past 64 years and if we were communists and did not believe in God, just look at what Umno has done for Islam and the Malays all these years,” Anuar told reporters at the Kota Baru police station.

“His attacks is beyond comprehension and it should be investigated as people might believe his words and in the end people would hate Umno that would lead to untoward incidents.”

Nik Aziz first or Anwar first

Malaysians who feared Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim might be the first casualty of Najib’s dirty-war may well wonder if they got it wrong after all.

Could it be the 78-year old Nik Aziz who will be the first top Pakatan leader to be jailed by the country’s sixth prime minister?

Anwar is already expecting a jail sentence from his sodomy trial due to begin on July 8.

Despite two medical reports - one from the government-run Hospital Kuala Lumpur - that says the complainant was not sodomised, Najib’s administration is insistent on pushing the case through.

The PKR adviser has pleaded not guilty and accused the PM of political persecution, a view shared by the U.S. State Department, which has gone on record to say it believes the charges were trumped up to dent Anwar’s credibility.

“The desperation is there. Najib can’t hide it anymore. It was a political fiasco and a terrible embarrassment to be rejceted. So he will fight on even though by doing so, he will only worsen the situation and literally bury himself in the process. But he won’t stop, just as in Perak, he won’t let go,” said a veteran political watcher.

“You can say it doesn’t make sense and you wouldn’t be wrong. But what it also signifies is that he has the intention to resort to force, to gunfire and emergency rule to stay in power. So popularity is not a necessity.”

There are others who point to the upcoming Manik Urai by-election due for polling on July 14. They believe Anuar was posturing ahead of the contest for the state seat.

Umno has decided to take part after Najib was panned for cowardice in skipping last month’s Penanti by-election. The party is due to name its candidate on Sunday, while PAS will be making its announcement on June 26.

written by Braino, June 25, 2009 18:20:46
Cat chasing after the mouse! The game has just began!
written by batsman, June 25, 2009 18:24:35
The name for racist socialists is national socialism.
written by Dominic, June 25, 2009 18:33:24
I cant imagine what would happened if the spritual leader`s supporters turn on the heat and start defending their leader ! I urged UMNO youth to stop worsening the already tense atmosphere from getting out of hand !
written by Mirage, June 25, 2009 19:12:56
We will have to see who gets to Malays first. Either the Malays figure out what is right or they get emotional with Malay unity and Ketuanan Melayu.
written by Liberian, June 25, 2009 19:39:33
UMNO is a Saitan. When they openly and daily use Seditious speech no one can report and even they report no action from the Police. Good try to arrest the Tok Guru in Kelantan and see what happen!
written by Kathy, June 25, 2009 19:58:01
Amidst all this can Anwar expect a fair trial? smilies/angry.gif
written by shamadz72, June 25, 2009 19:58:05
If I am responsible for a murder, I will be as desperate as Najib too. Knowing very well that losing the throne to the PR is equivalent to a death sentence (literally speaking)!

written by raven1958, June 25, 2009 20:14:46
Is Najib pushing for civil war....
written by lynn, June 25, 2009 20:44:34
If anything bad happens to Tok Guru Nik Aziz, I am going to scream & curse that bloody mamak bastard from Kerala for 100 days. He kept pushing Bodowi in public & putting pressure for Mr Sleepy Head to step down. I would prefer Bad-awi stayed on - Najib shld think twice b4 taking it out on TG Nik Aziz. Please show some respect for TG Nik Aziz - his hands are sparkling clean. His conscience is clearer than the water you drink!
written by SamSan, June 25, 2009 20:56:18
Trying to persecute or jail our beloved ulama Tok Guru Nik Aziz is as good as trying to wage a war against our holy Prophet Muhammad on whose footsteps Tok Guru treads. Once that happens, just like what happened during Nabi Muhammad's time, good will triumph over evil and the true might of Islam will be unsheathed on the corrupt and bankrupt AMENO / BN regime.
written by singam, June 25, 2009 22:28:23
Good. Let Najib attack Tok Guru. Kelantan will be his Waterloo!
written by Taiping60, June 25, 2009 22:36:47
Malaysians of all races respect and love Tok Nik Aziz.

He is honest, dedicated, incorruptable and have demonstrated strong leadership.

UMNO and Police, you let him alone. He has done nothing wrong besides the good things for Kelantan and the country. Otherwise Kelantanese would not have voting him as MB for so many years.

Syabas Dato Nik Aziz. You are never alone. Malaysians are with you.
written by No nonsense, June 25, 2009 22:52:26
Anyone that touches Tok Guru will face the fury of The Almighty God. What has he done so far for Kelantan none in Amno can come close. He cares for the people not himself and he believes in the truth. Only Saytan will say that he is not a religious man. Tell me who in Amno can do what he has done. NIL. Please do not play with fire cause you will be burn to ashes. Have some respect for him even you dont have any respect for yourself. Tok Guru we still salute you.
written by Fat Zorro, June 25, 2009 23:22:45
UMNO is truly desperate. There will be a mass revolt by the malsians irrespective of race and religion if UMNO dare touch even a strand of hair on Nik Aziz. I just dont understand how brainless these UMNO guys are, attacking Nik Aziz. This man Nik Aziz is the one sane voice of reasoning and sanity I have been hearing since the 8th March elections. I dont think the majority of Malaysians will be able to contain their anger on any attempt to harm or arrest Nik Aziz. Try doing that and UMNO will truly see the wrath of the people. Hey maybe UMNO should try it and lose all their seats in Parliament faster.
written by budakindia, June 26, 2009 00:25:07
Isn't UMNO is Nazi? Yeah make a police report on that too. You want us to list down the similarities? Come on! Make us list down the similarities. Including the keris brandishing act in Nazism. smilies/grin.gif I haven't start with Apartheid which has the same similarities of your NEP too.
written by R020998, June 26, 2009 01:07:53
If they take Tuan Guru Nik Aziz and put him in ISA, then will only the real REVOLUTION against BN will start. BN will be buried forever. Mark my word.
written by mowadoha, June 26, 2009 01:19:00
written by roadbarra, June 26, 2009 03:33:53
Whatever BN say and do it's okay, when the Opposition decided to have a dinner they show their police might. This is not going to help with BN's image. In fact BN is making it worse for themselves with the police being a liability.
written by Sabahan abroad., June 26, 2009 06:58:51
LONG LIVE TOK GURU!!!
Who instigated the umno youths to make police report???
Tok Guru,you are not alone,most good thinking Malaysians are behind you.
written by Fairminded, June 26, 2009 08:35:44
I am not a muslim but I have great respect for Tok Guru. At least there is someone who try his best to be a good muslim and true to his principles without selling out to BN $ politics. He represents the common denominators of what all religions preaches.
written by singam, June 26, 2009 08:57:03
Some call him Tok Guru while others call him Tuan Guru. It seems to me that Tuan Guru is more respectful while Tok Guru is more endearing.

Which would be the proper way to address him?
written by ROBERTNGTG, June 26, 2009 09:41:59
According Anuar Safian, the Youth chief there, Nik Aziz should be charged under the Sedition Act 1948 and the Internal Security Act 1960 for a speech he made on June 21 at Kampung Laloh, Manek Urai

BLOOD SUCKING LEECHES AND SCUMS OF THE EARTH, MIGHT AS WELL PUT ALL THE OPPOSITION MPS UNDER ISA LAH. WHAT A BUNCH OF HIPPOCRITES AND LOSERS.
written by Apache3, June 26, 2009 10:19:47
Anuar Safian did you make any police reports when your ARMNO chiefs were uttering statements which were more SEDITIOUS. Typical Hypocrite and a Slimeball.
written by a_bad, June 26, 2009 11:32:19
teori umno kalau bina masjid dan lain-lain yang bersangkutan dengan islam maka mereka akan dikira sebagai mempertahankan islam. mereka lupa atau tidak tahu yang di amerika, kerajaan mereka juga mendirikan masjid untuk orang2 islam dan imamnya dibayar elaun yang jauh lebih tinggi daripada apa dibayar kepada imam2 masjid di malaysia. ini tidak menjadikan kerajaan amerika sebagai mempertahankan islam kerana mereka seperti kerajaan umno juga tidak menghayati islam itu sendiri. disebabkan dengan itulah pemimpin2 umno terjebak dengan benda2 yang dilarang di dalam islam seperti rasuah dan sebagainya.
written by macakmy, June 26, 2009 11:34:08
Dear singam,

To me, Tok Guru is much closer and personal while Tuan Guru is official sounding. But, both are better than Dato' or Dato' Seri... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by fearless mike, June 26, 2009 13:00:16
En.Anuar Safian, kalau nak publisiti, pergilah buat gotong royong atau kerja-kerja amal bersama gurka-gurka UMNO cawangan/bahagian kamu. Sekurang-kurangnya ini akan memberi manfaat kepada pemastautin tempatan.
YAB MB Kelantan Tok Guru merupakan seorang pemimpin tulen yang dihormati lagi disayangi oleh seluruh rakyat negara kita dan juga diluar negara yang percaya kepada kebenaran dan kesaksamaan.
Janganlah bandingkan YAB TG Dato Nik Aziz kepada sesiapa, lebih-lebih lagi dengan manusia seperti kamu, kerana Tok Guru berada disuatu tempat yang tinggi yang bukan mudah dikecapi oleh kamu. Belajarlah untuk menghormati ulamak dan orang yang lebih tua dan berpengalaman daripada kamu.
Bagi saya, dengan izin 'Tok Guru is God given to Malaysians'. Adalah jarang sekali untuk mendapat seorang pemimpin yang jujur, amanah, prihatin, penyayang, telus dan berani. "Long live Tok Guru for the beloved people of Malaysia".
Waasalaam.
written by Bandit, June 26, 2009 13:48:53
I will see which bastard PDRM dog will even dare touch Tok Guru. Being a non muslim and having high respect for Tok Guru who not only practice a true way of worshipping God by himself projecting and living a humble simple life, I would challenge any person who confess to practice PURE islsm to dare touch him. Tok Guru has hit bastard UMNO Fkers where it hurts most and now will use the PDRM dogs and Souless Judges to accomplish their ever eroding morality. I will only laugh.... smilies/grin.gif