Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow How race and religion are part of the Malaysian political scene

How race and religion are part of the Malaysian political scene PDF Print
Thursday, 25 June 2009 17:34

How can we talk about politics without touching on the matter of race and religion when everything about Malaysian politics involves race and religion? In fact, not only when it comes to politics, almost everything in Malaysia is about race and religion.

Police report against Nik Aziz for 'inciting hatred'
The Star, 25 June 2009

The Kelantan Umno Youth has lodged a police report against Kelantan Mentri Besar Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat for allegedly inciting hatred, anger and possibly causing chaos among the people of Kelantan.

State Youth chief Anuar Safian, who lodged the police report at the Kota Baru police station at 10.30am Thursday added that the police report was lodged to enable the authorities to investigate Nik Abdul Aziz’s speech made on June 21 at Kampung Laloh, Manek Urai at a gathering.

He said Nik Abdul Aziz, who is also PAS spiritual leader, should be investigated under the Sedition Act 1948 and the Internal Security Act 1960 for allegedly inciting chaos and eliciting racial disputes and understanding.

He added that his speech was beyond the scope of a regular ceramah when he attacked Umno by likening the party similar to that of Ayah Pin and the Sky Kingdom and branded Umno as a communist and a socialist party that was anti-Islam.

In his report, he said the spiritual leader’s speech was reported in an English daily and Kelantan TV and many other publications that commented on Nik Abdul Aziz’s speech.

“I want to ask Nik Abdul Aziz how many people had Umno deviated since its involvement in politics for the past 64 years and if we were communists and did not believe in God, just look at what Umno had done for Islam and the Malays all these years.

“His attacks is beyond comprehension and it should be investigated as people might believe his words and in the end people would hate Umno that would lead to untoward incidents,” he told reporters infront of the Kota Baru police station after lodging the police report.

Peguam perempuan Melayu kena main dengan Keling2 di Bar Council

Lima peguam Melayu yang terdiri dari perempuan Melayu telah ditahan oleh polis kerena konon mahu mempertahankan perkumpulan yang untuk menentang kerajaan Melayu UMNO.

Semanngat kekelingan yang ditunjukan oleh peguam perempuan Melayu ini dalam memperjuang kumpulan haram yang anti Sultan Perak sangat menghairankan.

Mereka memperjuangkan Wong Chin Huat yang menghina Sulan Perak kerana menjalan tugasnya melantik UMNO sebagai kerajaan majoriti di Perak.

Kelima perempuan Melayu ini telah diperalat oleh Keling Bar council untuk menjadi heroin terhadap polis Malaysia dan Kerajaan UMNO. Yang masuk jail mereka bukan Ragunath. Kenapa jadi baruah Ragunath dan Wong Chin Huat?

Keling2 di Bar Council ini menyorok dibelakang perempuan Melayu ini dan ramai peguam Melayu yang tak sedar diri mereka dipermainkan oleh Keling2 di Bar Council.

Keadilan adalah budaya Melayu amnya dan tidak perlu Keling2 di Bar Council mengajar polis atau IGP dan Kerajaan Melayu.

Jika adapun tindakan polis di raja Malaysia adalah untuk mempertahankan kedaulatan raja2 Melayu. Kenapa mesti perempuan peguam Melayu ini menentang raja2 Melayu dan menjadi heroin kepada mereka yang mahu mencerca Sultan Perak?

Kenapakah peguam keling satu dan Cina langsung tak ada tidak terlibat dalam 5 peguam ini?

The lawyers , Fadiah Nadwa Fikri, Ravinder Singh Dhalliwal, Syuhaini Safwan, Murni Hidayah and Puspawati Rosman mengikut NST mahu memperjuangkan mereka yang menentang Sultan Perak. Walaupun mereka tidak kenal siapa yang mahu mereka perjuangkan mereka sanggup jadi pak turut Keling Bar Council dan mengaku peguam mereka.

Ramai peguam perempuan Melayu dan peguam lelaki di STAR yang mempromosikan agenda keling di Bar Council dan menidakkan hak orang Melayu sebagai tuanpunya Persekutuan Tanah Melayu. Mereka benci kepada hipokrasi PAS tapi lupa kemajuan Melayu adalah kerana dasar liberal UMNO dan kesultanan Melayu bukan PAS.

wallahuallam bisawab

Penulis adalah ahli pejuang hak dan kerajaan Melayu sedunia

The first item above is The Star news report about a police report made against the Kelantan Menteri Besar, Nik Aziz. The second is an e-mail a Malay lawyer friend sent to me. Understandably, my friend was most upset about the matter and he requested me to address the issue.

Now, read this against the backdrop of the statement by the Prime Minister, Najib Tun Razak, that it is un-Islamic for PAS to reject the Umno call to sit down to discuss ‘Malay unity’ and what do you see?

I know. Many can’t see things in its proper perspective unless it is laid out like a story in a kindergarten book. Even then, after I write a long-winded cheong hei article, readers still miss the point and make comments totally unrelated to the issue.

Some readers have asked me to stop writing about Islam. Others condemn the racist tendencies of many Malaysians. Yet others feel that religion should be kept out of politics and that political parties should not be race-based. Some even call for the banning of race-based political parties.

Just to digress a bit, whenever I am asked about my solution on how to end racism in Malaysia, I respond by saying that we should ban and make illegal same-race marriages. Malays should not be allowed to marry Malays, Chinese marry Chinese, and so on. You are only allowed mixed-race or inter-race marriages.

This can never happen of course and I am only joking. Probably 99% of Malaysians would marry someone from their own race. Does this mean 99% of Malaysians are racists? I would not go so far as to put it that way but maybe we could safely classify them as ‘soft’ racists -- as opposed to ‘hard’ racists like the Ketuanan Melayu gang.

How can we talk about politics without touching on the matter of race and religion when everything about Malaysian politics involves race and religion? In fact, not only when it comes to politics, almost everything in Malaysia is about race and religion.

Yes, we seek social and economic reforms. But none of this will happen until there is a political will to introduce these reforms. So we also need political reforms. But when politics is centred on race and religion then we need reforms in these areas as well. So there is no way you can avoid talking about race and religion before we can see political reforms, which in turn will bring about the social and economic reforms that we clamour for.

Can you now see the vicious cycle? And can you also now see why I hammer the race and religion issues like there is no tomorrow? Race, religion, politics and economics come as a package. One can’t change without the other also changing. To attack one you have to attack all. Only then will we be able to see total reforms in Malaysia.

Comments (49)Add Comment
written by lampard, June 25, 2009 17:51:59
What to do Unker Pete, when ruling leaders speak of racism & religion, the dumdfounded people follow suit!! It is indeed a vicious cycle!
written by mulut murai, June 25, 2009 17:52:22
You are right Pete,

As things stand, 3 things that Malayians cannot discussed with in the open just yet, no matter how educational the discussion is.
Race, religion and politics.

When making conversations, Malaysians tend to stay away from talking about these 3 things,even with your own kins, otherwise you will lose friends and relatives.

"I am not agreeable with you, but I respect your views" is a concept still alien to a large number of Malaysians. We need time and strong political willpower to unlearn what has been indoctrinated by the BN scaremongering tactics over the last 50 years. However, positive signs are there that we are finally waking up from this this BN-induced coma.
written by batsman, June 25, 2009 17:53:06
Actually I think UMNO is trying to soft pedal on the race issue. The 1 Malaysia concept requires this. Also since Obama got elected, race issues seem to be a bit embarassing. Also, MCA, MIC etc, look like they cannot rile up race issues too much after the 12 GE.

However, issues of religion have not taken a back seat in spite of Obama saying that the US extends a hand of friendship to Muslims. This is because vestiges of US anti-Islam propaganda is still strong. Too many people who suck up to the US cannot let go of their education by the US mass media machinery.

Further, Obama himself seems to be contradictory in his messages. while he says he wants to be friends with Muslims, he has suppressed photos of torture in Abu Ghraib. The photos include scenes of rape of Iraqi men and women. No US soldier has been accused and tried based on this evidence. By suppressing these photos, Obama is essentially saying that justice for people of coloured skins is not as important as the lives of US soldiers, which he claims will be endangered if these photos are released. This is an old story. During WW2 the atomic bombs were dropped on Japanese cities to save the lives of US soldiers. This means that Japanese civilians in the hundreds of thousands are not worth the life of a single US soldier.

It is not only in Malaysia that race and religion is part and parcel of politics. These issues are also part and parcel of world politics in spite of the liberals trying to to ignore them and pretend they do not exist.
disagree 19
written by lampard, June 25, 2009 17:58:53
Thank you Batsman for telling... So what's next? Accept racism and religion as it is? Forget politics?

Final analysis, follow Chinese motto? "Just work and earn a living and fug racism, religion and politics? What say you?
written by lampard, June 25, 2009 18:02:13
Dear Raja,
You have put out so many articles and posts about race, religion and politics, I have always wonder what's your solution (opinion-solving) on these issues and what would you offer to make Malaysia a better place?
written by Raja Petra, June 25, 2009 18:08:57
Dear lampard, I suppose one way would be to NOT support candidates and political parties that stand on racial or religious platforms to prove to them that race and religion are no longer relevant to most Malaysians. Next, boycott candidates who demand that an Indian must contest in any Indian area, Malays in a Malay area, etc.

The question would be, are we the voters ready to do this in the interest of political reforms? Most times the voters are also a party to this problem and we would not support a Chinese who contests in a 98% Malay majority seat in Kelantan or a Malay who contests in a Chinese majority seat such as Kepong and whatnot.
written by hellosunshine, June 25, 2009 18:09:15
The DAP want equality based on meritocracy, the umnoputras want ketuanan Melayu and carte blanche plundering, Pas wants ketuanan Islam and the running dogs in BN want a piece of the pie crumb. As long as these politicians keep on wanting to defend their territories and not come up with compromised solutions, the people are farked good and proper. When will Malaysians and their politicians grow up??? Another 52 years? God help us! smilies/tongue.gif
written by Jivathma, June 25, 2009 18:29:17
As long as this mentality is present then we will always remain in the shit hole that we are now.

I strongly suggest that you place this article permanently on the home page without it getting lost in the archives. Ignorance is our worst enemy and knowledge is the only weapon.
written by densemy, June 25, 2009 18:55:30
Well, most other countries can do it. The way Malaysians go on you would think this was the only multicultural-religion obsessed country on the planet

I suspect the problem arises because certain politicians are more interested in staying in power than governing the country... that's if they do have the ability to govern for the best intersts of Malaysia and Malaysians

written by Loh, June 25, 2009 18:58:30
The problem of race in Malaysia is that it is politicised. As a member of "Malay', one gets the special treatment under the constitution, and the largesse of NEP which is not under the constitution. Besides, as Malay, one get special treatment in terms of promotion, and even the purchase of houses, in addition to making investment in special unit trusts which had the advantage of getting shares at special discount. The fact that these advantages are available to members of the 'institution' Malay points to the classification that Malay is a political set up. It is not a race, since race has to depend on blood line.

If the Cabinet ministers are lined up, their skin colour would span the colour spectrum of different tones from white to black. Even the Prime Ministers are only half Malays, with some legitimately called Malays based on the Muslim's way of classifying children of mixed marriages by the race of the father. Tunku has a Thai mother but still a Malay, Razak is bugis, a cross between Arab and Chinese as so is not Malay, Hussein has Turkish blood from the grandmother, still Malay, Mammak TDM had Indian father, is not Malay, AAB had half-Chinese mother, still Malay, Najib like his father, a Bugis. Of the six prime ministers, three of them are not Malays.

Melayu Tulen accepts NEWMalays because they give them political power. NEWMalays have actually outnumbered Melayu Tulen. Melayu Tulen and NEWMalays are now called Malays, and so the term race has lost its meaning as a classification of race based on bloodline, which is the only criterion for calling person to belong to any particular race. If Malays as we see them in the Cabinet can agree to share power, and gang against others including Anwar Ibrahim to the extent of bullying him by framing him up as involving in sodomy, it is clear that the feeling of race, or the bondage of race among those who call themselves Malays are outstripped by the bondage with personal gains. Hence, race is not a sensitive issue. It is the protection the members imposed on a political institution known as "Malay' which is sensitive, and the members of the institution would protect it as if it is their personal bank account.

As for the question of religion, the Malays depend on it as a qualification to be admitted to the institution 'Malay'. They would protect the religion as though it is the wall protecting their institution.

In the past when Kelantanese were known to treasure spiritual life over monetary wealth, and they demonstrated their love for the religion. Religion, Christian or Buddhism is too big for human to defend. People who consider themselves heroes of the religion are simply audacious. But opportunists leave no stone unturned to show that they are champions of the institution 'Malay'. Thus, they consider protecting the wall of the institution "Malay' equates them to Malay heroes. They have to show that they would willingly give their lives to defend the religion, to gain political advancement in the institution this life, and to heaven in the life after.

Malaysian politics is controlled by the institution "Malay", hence every member of the institution would preserve it at all cost. It is not the issue of race or religion, it is the politics, when race and religion is the vehicle to achieve the objective.

Are Malaysians racist? They are not, in terms of bondage of bloodline, but yes, in terms of political interests.
written by malsia1206, June 25, 2009 19:00:54
This has been the trademmark of Barisan politics for many decades. And this is exactly the same reason why the political landscape has changed since March 2008. Malaysians voters, irrespective of race and religion, are beginning to reject this trademark because it has shown a propensity to disunite rather than preserving harmonious relationship. And remember Malaysia is all not about the shin colour, religion or anyone else exclusively. Many have always believed there is a place under the Malaysian sun for everyone. Until Barisan comes along and destroy that dream and belief.
written by ultraman_dyna, June 25, 2009 19:23:31
Hi friends,

How and why do we need to change the politics, race and religion run in Malaysia? What’s wrong with having separate lives from each other since kindergarten? We send our kids to the best available & affordable school. They go into separate university. They work in different areas of economy. Chinese work in fancy banks, finance house, MNC and manufacturing plants. Malays work in government departments and branches and Oil & Gas companies. Indians work in firms, hospitals, estates and lock up (punching bag). Peninsular Malaysians can’t work in East Malaysia. You actually need a permit to work in restricted industries. The non Muslims dislike living in a Muslim majority area because they hate the sound of the blaring azan at 5.30am everyday without miss. On the other hand, Muslims hate area full of dogs, dog’s mess and loud barking. Dog’s habit is to pee at parked cars and everything to mark their area irritates many (read majority) people. How many owners clean up the turd/berak by the roadside? If it’s to be acceptable can someone try taking a shit in front of dog owner’s house. Even in UK & Ireland the housing associations are pushing for law to make it compulsory for dog owners to clean up after the dog’s mess. But in Malaysia it suddenly becomes a race/religion issue. Weird I’d say.
The best way to avoid conflict is to not to meet each other. It works relatively so far. Why change? Try something new? Bored with old lifestyle? Does the benefit outweigh the effort? I say Malaysians need time to adjust for the better. My opinion is one generation. That’s about 60-70 years. There is a generation gap between the old and the young. The old are trying to instil racism and hatred due to their mistrust and ill feeling towards each other. The young clamour for change but not sure what, when, where, how and who to change. There is no just society in the world ever, ever, ever, ever. I say at least we try and emulate the best of each developed, developing and undeveloped countries has to offer. Bak pepatah “ambil yang jernih, buang yang keruh baru teguh peribadi”.
written by Oscar Winner, June 25, 2009 19:59:27
I remember these words in a so-called patriotic song: "UNTUK AGAMA, BANGSA DAN NEGARA". I am not sure if it's still being played over radio or TV. Is it any wonder why religion and race are part of politics when these words are drummed into seemingly only one particular community for the benefit of one particular political party to achieve its political agenda?? Like many have pointed out, 1Malaysia is a joke. It indeed is when they are dead serious about malay unity first and Islam first. And they think it's Islamic to unite amongst themselves without having to unite also with them other races who are living in the same land. Apparently their political survival is of utmost importance, but not equality for other races. Hello, bigots, heaven can't wait for you. You may go there first
written by KotaDamansara73, June 25, 2009 20:20:05
We are addressing the wrong issue here. The main idea here is that who controls the gun, will control the country social and political structure.

As long as UMNO control the gun through championing the Malay race, they will continue to control the gun. Because that is what the Malay has. They have nothing else. They are not competetive in many sectors and field of economics and techonology. They are insecure and having very low self-esteem.

Umtil today, UMNO, the leader of the Malays, can't and unable to build a strong Malay race that base on knowledge and humanity. Malay race is very backward and none of the dominant Malay party such as UMNO or PAS are able to uplift Malay self-esteem and competetiveness.

If only, they can uplift them, then the Malays will not be feeling so insecure and agitated everytime we mention globalization. Malays very well know, that they can't compete with the world. The Malays just can't do it. Adding to that, is the baggage of backward culture and protocols that is a huge hindrance to their progress. The religion protocol is getting more conservative and inhibit human talents and ingenuity.

80% of the Malay race do not want to move forward. They do not want to join the world in moving forward. They are very happy with their condition now. 20% of the liberal Malays can't do much to change the Malay mindset.

I would advise most Chinese to migrate or get rich and move your business overseas. We know that the Malay goverment is going round forcefully buying up good Chinese business. THE UMNO MALAYS ARE AFRAID OF GLOBALIZATION. Same as the Iranian goverment.

UMNO MALAYS can't see beyond the horizon of community and ethnic. The Malay race will be doomed to be the most unprogressive race in Asia.
written by AsamLaksa, June 25, 2009 20:51:03
Politics is always entwined with race and religion because politics is about people. People care for race and religion. Unless the people care not about race and religion would politics be clear of race and religion.

What many people get upset about on the constant comments on race and religion is because they feel there is nothing anybody can do about it so let's stop messing about with it and get on with business. I think this view misses the point. Sorting out race and religion issues is integral for lasting progress. Sweeping them under the carpet risks further division as parties suspect each other due to the lack of openness and discourse. There are 2 ways to go about it. Direct method includes reforms on discriminatory practices. Indirect method includes allowing more freedoms for people to mingle and develop.

My point being that race and religion issues can be dealt with if there is a sincere concerted movement. Take for example PR's 2008 election performance almost wiped racial politics off the face of Malaysian politics. Gone is the oft repeated threat of May 13. What it needs is a finishing move to get rid of the ultra-racist lobby hiding within BN.

In a way I applaud RPK's constant banging on race and religion though I do not read all of them because after a while it becomes like a broken record. I get it already. But for the benefit of those who has not gotten it yet or those with their heads in the sand, I keep my peace.

By the way, Batsman, what is it to you if Obama reveals everything that really happened at Abu Ghraib? It's a political decision. I am not defending the move but I must add that any such move have to be dealt with at the right time with the right way. Or else it may derail Obama's stated efforts for reconciliation. It's not strictly between the US and the detainees where you could offer apologies and compensation, as like it or not, others will use such revelations for other less welcomed use. Bottom line is that you and I do not have to deal with the fallout, Obama does and for something he did not have control over. He may be the lesser man to not do it now but you never know if he would be the greater for it if he do it later. Just ask yourself what would you do in such a situation?
written by truthbespoken, June 25, 2009 21:02:55
Since there are no clear strategic solutions on the above topic for now, I would just say we stay the course. Wherever and whenever possible, continue with the good job in making all the bloody citizens’ noises we have been making to build up a stronger opposition political momentum amongst the masses until the next elections. The fire in us and the herd mentality must remain strong for this to happen! Then vote all the raced-based parties under BN out!

Once the opening for real change is created, we demand that the new government immediately do away with the registration of race and religion in ALL forms and ID cards for starters! …ENTER MALAYSIAN!... Ideally, thenceforth, we can have a real Malaysian beginning………. haha, wishful thinking? But…...it’s a hope I have in a political environment without immediate solutions. So, Let’s Work On It and Hope On!
written by Aria, June 25, 2009 21:10:17
Malaysia needs a government that is transparent, open, fair and mature. In order for this to happen we need to have politicians that are mature, clever, smart, fair and not greedy. By making sure that our politicians have a PHD,professorship or qualification that shows that he or she is an intellectual, Malaysia will have a smart mature government. More then 50% of Malaysia's politicians have qualifications that are not even suitable for a managers job. Why are such low down dum people running this country? When voting we should choose the best man/woman for the job.
written by Just Gan, June 25, 2009 21:51:01
You are against racism and religous fundamentalism. Yet, you support the number 1 racist, Mahathir, who created the foundation for racism in the country and who continues to set new definitions and limits for racism and fundamentalism in Malaysia. It is puzzling why you, an upright individual, is a strong supporter of the hardcore racist Mahathir.
written by Taiping60, June 25, 2009 22:14:36
Malaysians can make all the noise we want. But at the end of the day, we have to power to decide. Many want other to do their job for them. They vote status quo and they hope others will vote for change. As a result of this, in spite of BN doing things which are rediculous, Malaysians still return BN as federal government.

Yes BN are general racist. UMNO is a racial party and so is MCA, MIC and many racial party in East Malaysia. Gerakan, DAP, PPP and PAS are very much racial party altough their party preach multi racial. Malaysians don't like racial disharmony, don't like corruption and don't like incompetency, but we return majority of them to the Parliament and State Assemblies every election.
written by AlwaysFair, June 25, 2009 22:39:04
"""But when politics is centred on race and religion then we need reforms in these areas as well.""""

My opinion is that politics are only centred on religion or race or even sexual orientation (sodomy) whenever it is expedient to be used as a political tool to divide and conquer as a strategy to defeat your foes.

The race politics are always played up by political parties and major differences never originate from the people itself, as most of us have learnt tolerance and mutual respect in this multi-raced society.

This is because race and religion are most easily distinguishable and easy to be played up. What about the situation in Irag I wonder? Even all are muslims, they also divide based on sunni or shitte (not sure) so people just love to be divisive and fight among each other.

I think most forget that religion and race is just the outer shell and the most important is a just society and respect for all irrespective of origins.

If we have to reform all at one go it will be too much to take on . In this country I think if we vote for a party that is people oriented it would solve most of the problems which arose mainly from the regime's policies.

written by AlwaysFair, June 25, 2009 22:46:05
I think most forget that religion and race is just the outer shell and the most important is a just society and respect for all irrespective of origins.

That means even if a party is not religious based like DAP if the ideologies and policies pursued by them are consistently just and fair to all irrespective of race or origin then it is good governance.

We also have to treat aliens fairly and not abuse them too, whatever their race or religion. So if we go further what about widows or orphans?
All human beings should be fairly treated starting with the government policies.
written by Junglefever, June 25, 2009 22:53:49
Dear RPK
totally agree with you. Unfortunately, what should be the strength of our country has been used to divide and create distrust amongst us. I grew up, like most of us, with friends of all races. We would point out our differences, without any malice, have a good laugh and carry on. What bound us together was far stronger than the differences that separated us. Our strength also came from our diversity. I still boast to my friends here that in Malaysia we celebrate every major religious festival by visiting each others homes. That is so different from North America, where you lose your own culture and eventually get assimilated into the local culture. In Malaysia, at one time, we learnt each others culture, respected it and refrained from criticizing the shortcomings, instead trying to assimilate some of the positive values of the other culture into our practices. Unfortunately, all this has been eroded by chauvinistic policies of certain groups who have used the opportunity to further no one but themselves.
written by shiokguy, June 25, 2009 22:54:39
My Religion

Dear Pete, for me I belief in my own type of religion http://shiokguy.********.com/2...igion.html and I think other religion fit perfectly into my model. Just that we see and belief it differently

For me, I only have political issue to settle. Race? I always refer to myself as Malaysian, for your information, my grandma (Mujan Wan) my mother's mum is Kayan, orang ulu of Sarawak.
written by chiongguo, June 25, 2009 23:08:23
Bangsa Malaysia, 1 Malaysia and any manner of synthesis of disparate groups is really an exercise in futility. There is without a doubt commonality but a correlation of factors won't create an abstraction that will be emotionally acceptable to all.

What really binds us is our shared humanity and destiny. We emphasise so little on human values and promote so much groupie values and narrow agenda that we seldom could see beyond all these selfish interests to see the harm that is created.

Religion is important. So is our race. All these gave us an anchor and a sense of belonging. But this has to be seen within the context of our shared humanity. Without our humanity race and religion would be devoid of a soul. It is dead. And all dead matter putrifies. What we are witnessing today in malaysian society is the putrefaction that had been going on for so many years now. BN politicians believe that by spraying perfume(sloganeering and pandering to our base emotions) onto such putrefaction the rakyat would not smell the stench.

Shared humanity and destiny are not a synthesis or correlation of disparate parts but a fundamental element of our existence. If we can't see this or do enough to promote these values there is very little hope.

Anwar's placing of our humanity at the core of his economic and social development resonated clearly, I believe, with many who had been seeking a way forward. I believe he deserved a chance.

written by Daryl, June 25, 2009 23:10:34
As long as our politician thinks that race and religion is important or can be use to stay in power we will never get away from it. It is up to rakyat to teach these politicians a lesson so that they know they cannot use these methods and stay on serving rakyat in order to stay in power.

For example, South Carolina's governor confessed to cheated on his wife. Lets guess what he is going to do next. My bet is either he is going to quit or slowly slip away from the political scene. Now look at the political scene in Malaysia and how many can you point out that should no longer in power. Is a shame that we RAKYAT didn't demand more out of our politicians and allow they to throw Islam or any type of religion on us.
written by budakindia, June 26, 2009 00:28:33
Mass brainwashing scheme conducted by the early colonialists still being practiced by UMNO. Still the same old thinking back then. So should history lessons be boring, do a site visit to Malaysia. We are living proofs that "colonialists" are very much alive. smilies/grin.gif
written by SamYap, June 26, 2009 00:47:23
Sex and marriage were (and still is in some societies) commonly used to further the political ambitions of many past and present politicians. However, the most powerful weapons a politician can have in his arsenal are race and religion.

We have seen how race was used by Hitler. The art of using race was in fact epitomized by the so called northern Aryans who invaded the Indian sub-continent and introduced the concept of caste, which essentially separates the people of the Indian sub-continent by their race. Religion was also introduced as a factor to divide the racial groups by the Brahmin caste and others. Religion was also used effectively by both Christians and Muslims throughout history. And the legacy of that struggle is still with us today.

Race and religion is so much a part of our human psyche, its almost impossible to eradicate it. Our country is almost equally divided by race: Malays and Non-Malays, and to exaggerate the difference even more - the same divide is also on religion, Muslims (Malays) and Non-Muslims (non-Malays).

Given that kind of scenario, I am very tempted to believe that its Malaysia which is a blessed land and not Jerusalem, because somehow all of us managed to survive the ordeals of UMNO's race bashing for the past 40 odd years without a serious outbreak of civil strife, such as in Bosnia.

Race and religion will always figure largely in our political landscape, unless RPK's theory of racial harmony recipe happens (Same race marriages are outlawed), which of course is wishful thinking.

As I said earlier, we (the rakyat) had somehow managed to get through all that racial and religious shit for forty plus years, we should be able to tell our politicians to leave these two bogeymen (race and religion) out of their arsenal. How do we do it?

No permanent solution at all, thats the truth. The only thing we can do is to keep bashing racists and religious bigots. So we had better keep mt.m2day.org going or else we'd lose something which helps us to make sense of what's going on (not always but better than nothing).

[Some people will suggest that parliament pass an Act on Race and Sex Equality. My friend, the United Kingdom had that sort of law for years, but till I see a British born Indian or Pakistani or Kenyan become some sort of minister, I'd say that its all just eyewash.]
written by taishan, June 26, 2009 03:54:26
One would have thought meritocracy would be the simple answer.
It emphasizes individual talent and ability, de-emphasizes race & religion.
Most western countries are much more racially mixed (compared to Malaysia)
yet little in the way of continual racial tension and strife.
And any official bias on account of race or religion is a punishable offense.
written by Mama Juwie, June 26, 2009 04:55:32
Melayu sepatutnya beradab, bukannya biadap.
Melayu sepatutnya lembut, bukannya lembab.
Melayu sepatutnya peramah, bukannya pemarah.
Melayu sepatutnya baik, bukannya taik!
written by educationist, June 26, 2009 05:12:20
What about the American model?
I'm speaking as a layman based on what I know of the American system.
As I understand it, America takes in immigrants from all over the world and they have to assimilate to the way of life there.
But we still American Chinese, Hispaniacs etc.
With the right policies based on justice and fairness in Malaysia, I believe the sense of alienation and unhappiness among the rakyat involved will be reduced.
This, I believed will go a long way for the Bangsa Malaysia concept.
written by Chokma, June 26, 2009 08:28:44
We have observed for the pass 50 years that the wrongs UMNO did were legal and right while the rights opposition parties did were deemed illegal and wrong. This is nothing but "my fairness is more that your fairness, my rights is more that your rights" cases. Perhaps it's time to stop arguing on races and start talking fairness among humanity. This is a subject that UMNO can't understand. Just look at how Najib talks about 1Malaysia yet pushing for 1Melayu.
written by slash n burn, June 26, 2009 08:31:37
Mama Juwie, awak 100% betul.
Tapi problem is 'Melayu' from Kerala, Pakistan, Yaman, Arab, Indon & negara2 yang sewaktu dengannya adalah serupa setan!
written by Flex65, June 26, 2009 08:40:27
written by educationist, June 26, 2009 05:12:20
What about the American model?
I'm speaking as a layman based on what I know of the American system.
As I understand it, America takes in immigrants from all over the world and they have to assimilate to the way of life there.
But we still American Chinese, Hispaniacs etc.
With the right policies based on justice and fairness in Malaysia, I believe the sense of alienation and unhappiness among the rakyat involved will be reduced.
This, I believed will go a long way for the Bangsa Malaysia concept.

I think TDM holds the key to unit all Malaysian. If only he would reveal how an Indian can change to a Malay? The Chinese can do the same and all of us will become one race, you can call it Malay or Malaysian, all will become bumiputera and share the same special treatment. If only TDM can share his 'secret', we will have peace in Malaysia. I am sure TDM did not share the 'secret' among the BN people because Samy Velu is still an Indian, he did not 'changed'.

For the sake of Malaysia, I hope SIR RPK would forward my request to TDM or make this request 'BIG' so that it will catch his (TDM) attention. We live in a place called 'Bolehland' maybe one day all will become bumiputera.
written by batsman, June 26, 2009 08:42:30
Hi lampard - Sorry if my comment forced you to draw the conclusion that you did. It seems to me that you are the type of character that wants a solution together with information. Good for you. This is what most top business executives demand from their inferiors.

Fortunately, business problems are not as loooong lasting as social problems. If I knew the solution to social problems, I would probably be in a much better position than the toppest of top business executives.

Since I am still a lowly commentator on MT, I guess You can assume I have no solutions - only a big mouth. heeheehee
written by batsman, June 26, 2009 08:48:26
Asamalaksa = Obama comes clean. This proves to all Muslims he is genuine. This is the best start to reduction of all problems between US and Muslims. Isn't this obvious?

Are you still debating the thousand and one ways to dispose of a piece of meat? Intellectuals! What a waste of time!
written by asguard, June 26, 2009 09:17:59
There is no 1malaysia concept more to racist policy adopted by UMNO and implanted for pasts 52 years! That's is their mentality thinking style... a leopard would not change the pots!
written by latihanQ, June 26, 2009 09:37:02
Malaysia being Malaysia, only one man decides the course of the conversation and that person is the prime minister. Whether we like it or not, he dictates the essence of the dialogue. Let us pray he cares for the nation as much as we hope he does. Otherwise, we know where we are heading and the fall may be disastrous.
written by Surrhead, June 26, 2009 10:01:38
pete, what's your lawyer friend's name? does he have his own law firm?
written by Sphinx, June 26, 2009 10:24:13
Well....the word keling is so old fashioned and outdated la.....why dont use the word like nigga.....we say kigga....sound more hip hop.

Oh ya...by the way...its the same keling that melayu umno have been using to fix judges.....its the same keling that was used as a judge in DSAI sodomy 1 case...its the same keling who made a U turn in the SD against the current PM....when the keling do the things u want...then they are good...but when they dont they are kelings.....what a mockery.

But then, pete...i give a 100% support for the ban and illegal for same race marriages. smilies/smiley.gif
written by yellowwoman, June 26, 2009 10:37:16
Because all Malaysians are born into a race/religion, there is nothing we can do about this. Everyone would want his/her race/religion (hence language spoken) to be the main criteria to define his or her political/social/economical/intellectual life.

So how? Meritocracy then is the way to go because meritocracy celebrates each individual's strength, talent, and more importantly, effort and diligence.

Politics based on meritocracy will then make sure we choose the best routes (including the language to instruct our children for the future) to realise each and every Malaysian's potential to be the best that he/she can be.

Secondarily, everyone should be free to lead the life he wants if it doesn't in any way harm the next person. Politically, we should have a scenario where we can thrive in diversity, since we will be primarily united in meritocracy which in turn will drive culture of excellence - for everyone as well as for the country.
written by Aizad 234, June 26, 2009 10:38:39
hahaha.. UMNO buat repot polis terhadap Tok Guru.. tp berani gari ke tangan Tok Guru?.. x berani punyelah.. death sentence to UMNO jikalau berani. Buat repot pasal keluar di paper shj.

"Religion is an insult to human intelligent" - Voltaire. Entahlah........betul ke RPK?
written by Umar Rentaka, June 26, 2009 11:05:07
"Probably 99% of Malaysians would marry someone from their own race. "

Most Malaysians would marry other races la RPK. Only problem is religion where you're forced to convert because you want to marry the cun Malay.
written by Abajawi, June 26, 2009 11:15:16
As long as people send their kids to their own vernacular language schools (Chinese, Tamil, etc) and not to one single type of school like in the USA, UK, Australia, Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, Egypt, and the list goes on … and people insist on labelling themselves on the basis of race (Chinese, Malays, Tamil, Kadazan, Malayalam, Tegelu and the list goes on…) the question of race will forever be here. Race always precedes nationality (the Malaysian nationality) in Malaysia. Do our people(s) want “separateness” forever?

Don’t Malaysians want to have a common language to converse (other than English, and the ‘vernacular’ languages)? And shouldn’t language be the national language – the language of Parliament and the State Assemblies?

Why can’t Malaysians speak good Bahasa Malaysia, like US citizens, UK citizens, Philippine citizens, Thai citizens, etc. etc. speak their respective national languages? Why, after 52 years of Independence many people (including the Malays themselves) still do not have a good command of BM? Lest I’ll be accused of carelessness and over-generalization, I must note that a few MCA and opposition MP’s speak very good BM with no ‘Petaling Street’ or ‘Little India’ accents.
written by Conan Chung @ PoN, June 26, 2009 11:35:03
Hey, I like the new layout of the comment section where people can change their names. Now I hope i'm insulated from the ISA. smilies/tongue.gif

Pete, either you have been getting lazy or you realize there is a need to change the way you present your ideas. From "cheong hei" articles, now its direct and straight to the point articles that people has less chance of misinterpreting or give-up reading half way. (Actually I prefer the more "cheong hei" added with a little humour).

I agree that economics, religion, race and politics is all part and pieces to the puzzle and its useless trying to change one while ignoring the others. But trying to attack all of them at once will immediately put us at a disadvantage - we lack the resources and willpower to make drastic changes. For example, I keep saying I want to learn Chinese and Japanese, learn to ride a bike, read tons of books, start a blog, play less computer games, concentrate on work and building social networks. Assuming I made these resolutions at the beginning of the year, I realize I have accomplished little of what I "promised" myself. Its because my energy and drive is not concentrated and I ended up "consumed" by my own habits and preference. (oh ****, I made myself feeling down talking about this.)

So I realize, its important to make small steps; small changes in my life if I am to accomplish what I want. Instead of learning Japanese and Chinese simultaneously, I should start by learning some Chinese characters everyday (I know... i'm a half-banana.) Then i could do something interesting to keep me motivated in learning Chinese like singing Chinese songs at karaokes. These small steps will come a long way in letting me learn what i wanted but lack in drive.

The same goes for M'sians. We are all discontented with how thing the country is run, but all we do is that about it at MT and channel our frustrations on other bloggers / readers. Instead of fighting against each other, why not find and discuss ways; creative ways that attract people to participate in change?

I took note on Pete's solution to ban same race marriages; instead of banning, why not promote inter-race marriages? Show the people the benefits of inter-race marriage; i.e: better-looking off-springs, dual-culture exposure, etc. Hell, if i were in charge of the government, I would have advertisements and social messages directed at "persuading" people to change their perception. I would even give some economic "incentives" to promote it. The point is, always take small steps when aiming for a goal; its much easier than full-throttle push only to end up burn out.

The way i see things, to end the vicious cycle of politics-race-religion-economic, we must attack the weakest link of them. And the last election has proved that change can come through politics; to form a new federal government.

We as electors actually has the biggest power of all; we can determine who our leaders are. We can literally grab political parties by the balls and say, "Makkal Shakti". Whoever can give us an independent judiciary, an efficient and 'less-corrupt' police force, and fully-independent anti-corruption agency will have our vote. If your ideals are the same as the incumbent, then sorry and you can go to hell.

Yet, many like Pete said choose to stay home and not vote. Million other eligible voters don't even bother to register. With such half-hearted efforts to change, no wonder BN is coming back to power. BN understands M'sia is actually a "divided" country and that there's no hero to lead the hapless peasants - so with their band of 40 thieves they can still rob and plunder the country... until Ali Baba comes along.

In conjunction with MJ's departure, I hope you would listen to one of his songs... i heard it in the radio today and it had a verse that sounded like this:- "Look your self in the mirror, and start by changing the person looking back at you." (or something like that)... sorry not a super MJ fan so don't know all his songs.
written by johnT, June 26, 2009 22:05:53
VERY VERY SIMPLE MAH, IF YOU ARE MUSLIM GO TO MASJID, IF YOU ARE HINDU OR BUDDIST GO TO TEMPLE, IF YOU ARE CHRISTIAN GO TO CHURCH LAR. ALL RELIGION TEACH US TO LOVE ONE ANOTHER AND AVOID CRIME, CORUPTION AND MANY MANY BAD THING.
WHY TODAY GOVERMENT GIVE SO MANY PROBLEM WHEN HINDU WANT TO BUILD A TEMPLE? WHY MAKE IT A ISSUE WHEN CHRISTIAN WANT TO BUILT A BIG CHURCH? EVERYONE HAVE THIER OWN RIGHT TO BELIEVE WHAT THEY BELIEVE.
ABOUT SULTAN I MUST ADMIT THAT SULTAN IS KING FOR ALL RAKYAT NOTMATTER FROM MUSLIM OR NON MUSLIM. SULTAN MUST PLAY A FAIR ROLE TO INVOLVE IN THIS MATTER WITHOUT PILIH BULU BECAUSE SULTAN IS ALSO THE UMBRELLA FOR THE NON MUSLIM RAKYAT.
written by Fart Fart Wah, June 27, 2009 12:36:31
wallahuallam bisawab

Penulis adalah ahli pejuang hak dan kerajaan Melayu sedunia

Dear RPK/

Notice how this MUNAFIQUE ENDS with the usual blobla blo bla ..in inthe name of Allah..and he can end up calling names in the name of Allah and discriminating malay women..

and he is supposed to be a learned lawyer...

any Indian who goes to him for his services is a gonna.

as usual it is a sad sad sad sad bigot .....but one of the few so called educated malay bigot........

written by MalayMail, June 27, 2009 17:54:32
Faces without Races = 1Malaysia
written by Aria, June 30, 2009 13:06:38
Malaysia is now around the 60th riches country in the world. If Malaysia is divided by race it will soon become more then 100th riches country in the world. A united Malaysia is strong and a divided Malaysia is finished. smilies/cool.gif