Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow “One million gets you nothing nowadays”

“One million gets you nothing nowadays” PDF Print
Thursday, 25 June 2009 14:03

This is reported in the NST today:

She said since Todt, who was appointed last month, was serving and promoting the country on a voluntary basis, it was only fair that the government covered his expenses.

“Just because he is volunteering his services, you cannot expect him to pay out of his own pocket.

“This budget is not for his personal use, it is for the expenses incurred when he meets top people from television and the media.

“Besides, RM1 million in Europe gets you nothing nowadays,” she said at the Parliament lobby.

The ’she’ refered to is a minister in charge of Tourism.

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by justice, June 25, 2009 14:13:10
RM1 million is nothing compared to RM12.5 billion of the PKFZ scandal!!!

RM12.5 billion = 12.5 x 1000 x RM1 million

written by pinsysu, June 25, 2009 14:59:07
she's benchmarking that with wat a lot of BN cronies are sucking from taxpayers' coffers.
written by jayenjr, June 25, 2009 15:15:07
Besides, RM1 million in Europe gets you nothing nowadays,” she said at the Parliament lobby.
----------------------------------------------------------

Tell that to the people above, you bit%$. They are Malaysians
agree 119
written by Urangsabah, June 25, 2009 15:20:19
I wonder, how many of the 29 million Malaysian willl ever get to see RM1.0 million in their life time.

Its different if you get sponsorship from say the $12.5 billion PKFZ.
written by smeagrooo, June 25, 2009 15:53:54
Najisman can do it for free. smilies/grin.gif
written by mick_err_stan, June 25, 2009 15:56:43
Some Politician like to kiss white ass and shit-on Malaysian. Bigots of the highest degree !!!!!!!
written by HamChak, June 25, 2009 16:02:49
Aiyoo, this MatSalleh, after given him the permit to stay
He wants our local woman.
Now he wants 1 million.
Apa macham ini, lor?
written by gondrong, June 25, 2009 16:06:23
'She' is a 'puaka' women from hell...damn you... smilies/angry.gif
written by NSTPravda, June 25, 2009 16:09:04
“Besides, RM1 million in Europe gets you nothing nowadays,” she said at the Parliament lobby.

Never a truer word uttered.... with RM20million, you get a bunch of perak frogs.
With RM5 billion you get development in PKFPZ.
Honorary probably use RM1 million for his toilet paper... printed with UMNO/MCA colors, of course.

Duitlah tuanku!
Dollar akbar!
Eu ro in the head!!!
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by gondrong, June 25, 2009 16:10:54

1 million, still a lot we can do with this amount of money!
written by gondrong, June 25, 2009 16:11:37

1 million, still a lot we can do with this amount of money!
written by Bosan, June 25, 2009 16:27:03
Maybe she means rm 1 million can't even buy a ferrari car and think that we're all nuts still driving a proton or perodua.
written by Bigjoe99, June 25, 2009 16:42:06
Seriously, you have to wonder if the lady knows what the hell she is talking about, giving away RM1million allocation for 'expenses'. Like many said, I don't see Jean Todt filing out claim forms....
written by Arubin, June 25, 2009 16:43:58
Exactly what is he doing to help promote Malaysia? I can just picture it:

"Come to Malaysia, where the government is stupid enough to cover all your expenses and even offer you free land. All you need to do is pretend like you're helping to promote the country..."
written by Mr Bean, June 25, 2009 17:10:04
If Mr Shortie and wife are sincerely want to help Malaysia, they would do it for free. Mr Shortie Todt is filty rich and travels all over the world throughout the year.
written by Counterpointer, June 25, 2009 17:23:33
[url=http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/9484/poorman.jpg]http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/9484/poorman.jpg
written by Counterpointer, June 25, 2009 17:24:11
written by by2020, June 25, 2009 17:24:28
When I was young, Five Cent is so big for me. It bought something, and it was what I have for one day...

Then now, five cent is not much value for me, because I have one hundred ringgit a day..., so I would not bother to pick up five cent if it drops down...,

But a thousand ringgit certainly meant a lot to me. It takes quite some effort, and sweat to earn it... It means even more to me couple of thousand, tens of thousand, certainly one million...,

But certainly one million means not much to someone.., if she has already multi-million in her bank account.., or possibly even billions she save.

So do not be surprised when she say so..., what is one million if she got many time more in a stroke of a pen..?
written by C360, June 25, 2009 18:01:10
And umno/bn wants us to believe Chin Peng and his gang of 8,000 or so fellas ... stood up some 40,000 british/commonwealth troops, 70,000 police and 250,000 irregulars ...

are TRAITORS !?

supported by a 50-year old Major's comments .. hmmm, 50 years .. i wonder whether we were still fighting the CPM then .. but then stories will be stories from umno/bn ..
written by allmenarebrothers, June 25, 2009 18:11:33
Aiyah What has he gotta ofer to deserve RM1 million as reimbursement.
Look at his face! A toad looks better & more presentable. At least a toad could croak!
Even a lump of human excrement is more utilitarian. It serves to fertilise our fields. It make things grow.
written by Susanna, June 25, 2009 18:17:04
Aiyoyo... are we stupid or what. Give him Datukship title and still pay him to promote for us!! Like that one, aren't we suckers?
written by onnetline, June 25, 2009 18:21:32
We have a stupid blabbering Malaysian woman for a Minister !
written by KKchan, June 25, 2009 19:08:08
The arrogance of the woman! So typical of someone who must have millions upon millions. Wasn't she the one who said all Chinese girls visiting Malaysia are little dragon ladies? She should resign.
written by allmenarebrothers, June 25, 2009 19:32:11
Cheek of that woman to say that "One million ringgit gets you nothing nowadays"!
Well she must live up to her name as she has got Yen in her name.
She was named Yen Yen for a purpose. She is obsessed with Yen yesterday, today & tomorrow. When she dies she still has Yen with her!
written by chelly, June 25, 2009 19:42:34
i am sad that a government minister can utter such a sentence during times like this when the economy is down and many people are losing their jobs, a million!!! even a thousand for a guy who is laid off is big money,does she understand the the job she has taken that is of a politician(it means to serve the people).In all honesty i am quite sure mr todt has no interest to promote malaysia,the tourism ministry from the former minister to the present have always bungled in their attempt to promote malaysia,maybe the PM should just dissolve the ministry or at least revamp the whole tourism ministry,giving the budget to some GLC, i am sure they will do a better job.
goodness what can 1 million get you in europe , how can someone actually say that and to be reported in NST, i guess its the god honest truth.
written by rams609, June 25, 2009 21:50:45
HOW INSENSITIVE AN AN IRRESPONSIBLE MINISTER. IF I WERE THE PRIME MINISTER, SHE'S FIRED EFFECTIVE NOW!!!!!

GO TO THE KAMPONGS AND SEE FOR YOURSELF, STUPID URBANITE!!!

AND RIGHT AFTER THAT, PLEASE GO TO HELL!!!

written by rams609, June 25, 2009 21:52:46
apologies for some typo errors above:

HOW INSENSITIVE AND AN IRRESPONSIBLE MINISTER... IF I WERE THE PRIME MINISTER, SHE'S FIRED EFFECTIVE NOW!!!!!

GO TO THE KAMPONGS AND SEE FOR YOURSELF, STUPID URBANITE!!!

AND RIGHT AFTER THAT, PLEASE GO TO HELL!!!
written by Taiping60, June 25, 2009 22:32:14
Fully agreed with the author of this article.

If we continue to have this mentality, Malaysia will continue to waste money.

It does not mean that some people have wasted our RM12.5 billion in PKFZ, it is okay to waste another million ringgit.

It does not mean that some people have wasted RM500 million paying local consulting firm for the submarine deal, it is okay to waste another RM1 million.

It does not mean that some people have wasted millions sending a space traveller in Russian rocket, it is okay to waste another RM 1 million.

No we can. RM1 million maybe nothing to Jean Todt or NG Yen Yen but it is a huge some of money which can be used to do plenty of good for Malaysians.

Like giving scholarship to those deserving Malaysians who are too poor to study.
Like giving to charity organisation for them to fund help many people in Malaysia.
Like building some low cost houses for those who cannot afford to own a home.
Like giving our foods those victims of disasters.
Like buying medications for those who need it.

Please, spend wisely on our tax payer money. Do not simply waste them. We cannot afford wastage as we do not have plenty to do so.
written by Junglefever, June 25, 2009 22:45:36
No point promoting a country that is riddled with corruption and non independent judiciary. No businessperson worth his salt would want to invest his money here if there is no assurance that he can take appropriate action if there is any foul play. You can pay millions to some one to promote the country, they will promote it but there will not be any fruitful results. I still harbour some hope of getting my friends to invest in property in Malaysia but the recent happenings have not helped at all and I have had a tough time trying to defend Malaysia.
written by Namolos, June 26, 2009 00:23:33
MCA really shot both its own feet and mouth this time with this Politically Arrogrant Chinese women minister comments.

Its way over her high horse arrogrance of an over staying welcome Politican who cant see her own Almighty snobbishness
written by budakindia, June 26, 2009 00:48:45
Oh sure! BN gets you nothing nowadays! Vote for the Opposition instead! Yeah I heard it clearly! smilies/wink.gif What a c*nt! smilies/grin.gif
written by mowadoha, June 26, 2009 03:26:52
written by Xerxes, June 26, 2009 12:57:12
The next time she and the MCA goes election campaigning, this statement must be plastered all over the various constituencies.
written by Long Man, June 26, 2009 13:14:17
with rm 1m in uk todt can buy:

2 units of brand new MERCEDES-BENZ S CLASS AMG SALOON

or

3 units of brand new BMW 7 SERIES SALOON

of course with the cost of duties and AP would cost more than rm 2m in Malaysia

how come this stupid minister said "one million gets you nothing nowadays"?
just give that 1mil to us... we'll show how's the 1mil worth...

stupid running dog....