Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow The Veil: Sarkozy is right

The Veil: Sarkozy is right PDF Print
Thursday, 25 June 2009 13:35

Written by Kazi Mahmood, WFOL.com

For once and for all, lets do the most outright thing here. Rendons a Cesar ce qui appartient a Cesar. (In english - Belongs to Ceasar what is appropriate for Ceasar). And with this I say that Sarkozy, Nicolas French President is right in his stand on the Muslim veil or Burqah and even Jubah for that matter.

He is right in when he made a speech in the French Parliament on Monday 22 June 2009 in which he reiterates that the "Islamic burka (abaya) is not welcomed in France." Note that this is not the first time a French top gun make such a statement and it is now with very little surprise that many Muslims within and outside France take such statements.

He is right because he was talking about France in the auguste French Parliament and in front of French law makers and other freedom right 'fighers' of European origin. Yes they are right fighters too.

And many Muslims are wrong in condemning Sarkozy. Not totally, absolutely wrong but they are wrong in criticizing him and accusing him of 'anti-semitism' against Islam. No one expects Sarkozy, a man from a Jewish mother, to be fair to Islam and Muslims. If someone expected this guy to be fair to Muslims on Islamic issues and to state that the abaya is to be allowed in France and on France streets, then that person would have been naive.

I admire though the Muslims who take position against people like Sarkozy when he addresses Islamic issues. For the issue of the scarf is an Islamic issue not a Muslim one alone. There is a clear distinction that is to be made between the things that are 'Islamic' and the things that are 'Muslim'. That we will explain in another posting. My dear friend and brother YB Zulkifli Nordin from the Party Keadilaan Rakyat (PKR) said he is not surprised at the statement by Sarkozy. He added that such a statement coming from 'a person the like of Sarkozy, a person who felt so proud and honored that his wife's nude photo were sold to the highest bidder; a person who was so impressed to have as a wife a women who spread her leg totally naked and splashed centrepage of nude magazine Penthouse.'

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by *********, June 25, 2009 13:50:58
This is typical of Islamists and Islam in general. Because of the violence and terror they use against civilians, they engender ignorance and Dark Age thinking over society...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by nesen, June 25, 2009 14:10:16
Looks like another emotional debate
Let us be clear though
The call was against a form of dress consdered extreme even by some muslims
Not a call to nudity
On the other hand what do you think of the Jewish dress code on Sundays?
written by Rolling Stone, June 25, 2009 14:56:04
Mr Sarkozy spoke in french, in the French Parliment on the French soil to the French people with regards to French laws...Kazi Mahmood, whats your problem with that ? The French are not forcing your wives to walk naked in the street,... Whoever not happy, can leave the country and balik kampunglah.. ( smilies/wink.gifsounds familiar..!!??) why must everything or event be associated with war ?
written by jstom98, June 25, 2009 15:39:15
Very simple. When in Rome, do as the Romans do ! After all, over here we are not allowed to wear sleeveless dress when going into a Government Department, hospital or anywhere 'official'. So whats the big deal?
written by Melly, June 25, 2009 15:41:36
YB Zul, The issue is about Islamic burka, not his wife.
written by asguard, June 25, 2009 15:51:39
Look properly at the mirror see own reflection before start condemning other people's statement....
written by jason, June 25, 2009 15:57:09
A comment about the burka and you want to declare war. You are much worse than
Bush. His country was attacked and he declared war, which is logical.
Any thing against Islam is war. Even a burka becomes a war. Please keep
this islamist jerk off MT. FANATIC MORON!!!.
written by aeromaverick, June 25, 2009 16:06:12
Sarkozy spoke in the French Parliament, on matters concerning the French people.
Why should people get agitated any where else in the world?
If there are people in France who are not happy about the ruling, then I suppose they should relocate to where it is not so discriminatory.
If they love the french life, then accept, adopt and move on!
Meanwhile, if I local politicians feel so damn incited about it, then stop buying French Products!
Like the submarines, helicopters, airplanes etc...
That way, we could atleast save some money, and girls!
I also find it very distasteful to bring out people's Mother's religion and what their wives did before or after getting married.
I mean, I know what happens in our local Karoake joints. We know the level of promiscusity in the Malaysian soceity. Why judge on another nation, religion and people, when there is enough of issues to be addressed within our own country?
written by taishan, June 25, 2009 16:35:34
Zul, that should get their attention. The French will now be quivering in their boots !
Ha....ha.... silly clown.
written by Diz, June 25, 2009 17:59:34
The headline is correct but not the gist of the article. Sarkozy is hardly an 'extremist liberal' - he's a man of the right.
written by Admiral Tojo, June 25, 2009 18:01:06
Sarkozy is right. Burga has nothing to do with ISLAM.
For more go to;
mentalbondageinthenameofgod.*********.com

Enjoy and shalom
written by C360, June 25, 2009 18:19:45
i was taught 3 related things to the issue at hand.

1. the face veil was worn by both men and women for the function of keeping the desert dust out

2. the longer face veil that extends to cover down almost to the bossom was to shield valuables worn .. such that ancient inter-tribal raiders could not easily identify women (who were often taken) who wore valuables indicating their social heirarchy of the raided community

3. "draw your veil across thy bossom" apparently similar to 2 ... to shield from easy identification

Somewhere along the line someone made this cultural practise of necessity an Islamic one of religious justification.

And so, if the French make nudity their cultural practise (and/or eventually somehow manage to get it religiously justified) what's it to the Muslims ?

You Muslims want to come to my house to enjoy the halal part of my house (aircon, persian carpet, Islamic prints/photos, Quran/hadiths and other Islamic elements and practise available ...

.. and tell me the other separate part of my house (with pork) should live according to your religion ?

Who the hell invited you to my house in the first place ?
written by alarcarte, June 25, 2009 19:03:18
Zul giving warning to Sarkozy? Ai Yah, don't waste your time lah. The original French men might even ask the "Muslims Pentang" to go back their kampung if they don't like the French culture!! Ha ha ha Zul, jangan marah ia, joking saja-lah.
written by temenggong, June 25, 2009 20:14:14
What is it with muslims and sex?

They just can't seem to handle it. I though Carla looked great.

Let them arabs keep their camels in burqa in Saudi Arabia. Outside of that we'll give them bastards a war!

Wait a minute! We are already at war in Pakistan, Afghanistan, Iraq and soon Iran over the burqa. That is enough to teach them bastards! Losin' loonies!
written by densemy, June 25, 2009 21:27:59
Hint hint... the French legislation is about the wearing of ALL religious iconography in public

But of course muslims with their raging inferiority complexes have to assume its an insult aimed directly at them
written by hellosunshine, June 25, 2009 22:07:11
Abang Zul, you sure you can get pass a French Foreign Legionnaire ah? He'll have your balls for breakfast. Ha ha ha!!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Malaysiaputra, June 25, 2009 23:33:28
My dear friend and brother YB Zulkifli Nordin from the Party Keadilaan Rakyat (PKR) said he is not surprised at the statement by Sarkozy. He added that such a statement coming from 'a person the like of Sarkozy, a person who felt so proud and honored that his wife's nude photo were sold to the highest bidder; a person who was so impressed to have as a wife a women who spread her leg totally naked and splashed centrepage of nude magazine Penthouse.'

====

Ha, ha, and of course, dear Zulkifli Nordin, you must be keeping that copy of the penthouse magazine well hidden between your important files ?.
written by StevenO, June 25, 2009 23:45:35
Makes me suspicious that the writer may have lost his manhood or he is one of those who enjoy Sodomee! Whatsamatta with you???

If you got mad because Najis shown you naked picture of his wife, I can understand!!! But you got angry looking at naked picture of Sarkozy's wife?? Got to get your head checked!!!
written by AsamLaksa, June 26, 2009 04:21:24
Bringing the antics of Mrs Sarkozy into the argument just shows the bankrupt of ideas. I do not take Zul seriously because he is all sentiment, little or no substance. Just like Ezam-who?
written by Concerned Malaysian, June 26, 2009 10:02:56
This stupid fool is talking rubbish as usual and who is he to propogate what is right and wrong. Hello mangkuk it is in France and not in Malaysia atau arab. In arabic country you want to do anything go ahead..stop poking your nose in France as you do not want them to tell you how to to manage your country!If you do not like what they are doing to Muslims in France ask them to go back to their country of origin..Morocco, Ivory Coast, etc or why not give them citizenship better still.

I read in AP that Sarkozy has allowed the Muslims to wear burqah in open after fearing for his life due to Zul's warning...his so called cultural jihad against France and Sarkozy.....only fool in this country can think like this.
written by PASOK, June 26, 2009 10:37:20
Sarkozy is an idiot.
Make a big deal about what women wear.
Now he is no better than the Muslims.
written by Whatif, June 26, 2009 13:31:10
It is actually not about religion. It is about being visually identifiable. Other than fingerprints, people could be identified visually by the face. That is why only burqah is mentioned and not tudung.

Many years ago in my wife's university, 3 men in burqahs were caught in the ladies' washrooms. Their jangut gave them away.

There is also the danger of robbers in burqahs entering banks incognito and many other instances as mentioned by others above.

It is for practical reasons that the burqah should be banned. Men and women should be given the choice to wear anything in acordance to their culture and environment but the face should be exposed for identification purposes.

That is my personal opinion.