Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Azmin: Why spend RM1mil to hire Jean Todt and Michelle Yeoh?

Azmin: Why spend RM1mil to hire Jean Todt and Michelle Yeoh? PDF Print
Thursday, 25 June 2009 01:12

(Suara Keadilan) - MP for Gombak Azmin Ali has asked the government to explain why it spent nearly a million ringgit to hire former Ferrari Formula One owner Jean Todt and his fiance Malaysian actress Michelle Yeoh as tourism ambassadors for the country when there were already tourism offices in major European cities.

According to the PKR vice president, Todt’s annual fees amounted to RM593,400 while the couple received RM388,000 for holidays in Malaysia. Their flights alone cost up to RM360,000.

“This is only the flight costs. It does not include overseas accommodation, traveling expenses and lifestyle allowance,” Azmin later told reporters at the sidelines of Parliament.

During the sitting,  Deputy Tourism Minister Sulaiman Abdul Rahman Taib had refused to answer Azmin’s question, saying it was unrelated to the original question which was on the types of films and documentaries produced to promote tourism.

Did the gov’t offer him land? Was it for free?

Azmin also demanded to know if the government had offered land to Todt , who allegedly is building a home in Pulau Besar near Kuala Terengganu.

Todt was given approval this year to participate in the Malaysia My Second Home programme which allows him to buy property and live in Malaysia

“I have proof on the offer of land to Todt in Pulau Besar. I have documents to show that there has been communication between the ministry and Jean Todt on the matter,” said Azmin.

“But I’m not going beyond that until the ministry comes out with an open statement on the matter. Was the land given for free? They have to come clean. What is the premium paid by Jean Todt? What is the acreage given to him?”

Tourism Minister Ng Yen Yen later confirmed that Todt was appointed as tourism ambassador for a two-year period beginning May this year. According to her, Todt’s “presence in Europe will increase Malaysia visibility”.

She also claimed that the RM1 million allocated for the tenure of his appointment has yet to be spent.

“The money is not in the form of cash to him. To promote Malaysia in Europe, RM1 million is nothing,” Yen Yen said.

written by zviivz, June 25, 2009 01:22:55
"RM1 million is nothing," Yen Yen said. Yea, that's right! Ringgit is so weak that it takes so much out of the tax payers money to do simple things. No wonder tourists like Malaysia because the Ringgit is sooooo cheap.
written by supplier, June 25, 2009 02:01:49
Why not pay to Mas Selamat? cheap and effective. His involvement in ??? Shall we also pay Najjjjjib and FAtty Rosssmah for also part in introducing Malaysia to the world by buying overpriced submarines, helicopter and also indirectly help to promote Mongolia by using C4?
written by SamYap, June 25, 2009 02:03:41
Actually, what the hell does a tourism ambassador do? Singapore, whether you like it or not ( I am not fan of that island), is still a big draw for tourists. But I am sure its not because foreigners flock there to gawk at celebrities or that someone like Jet Li decided to take up a PR status there. Before Jet Li came along, there were already planeloads of tourists landing in Singapore.

What is it that we don't have which would be a big draw for tourists? What are the things we didn't do or did wrongly, to attract the tourists? The answers to those questions would be more helpful than paying even one ringgit to someone like Jean Todt.
written by marbl3s, June 25, 2009 02:12:21
Todt’s “presence in Europe will increase Malaysia visibility".

Miss Yen Yen,

You do not need his presence. Malaysia is already one of the biggest laughing stock in the world and that my dear didn't even need RM1million.
written by gwc, June 25, 2009 02:16:08
yes...i agree, 1 million is nothing if is not coming out from ur own pocket; if Ng Yen Yen you need to dig deep until ur G-string to get a million out, i not sure will u say the same?
written by MalaysianFirst, June 25, 2009 02:43:35
I'd rather give RM1.0 million to Timberlake to wear a T-shirt with the words "I Love Malaysia" in one of his concerts. Millions will see it instantly.
written by HCK23, June 25, 2009 02:56:51
Most Malaysian are jobless and YOU Yen Yen or BN you employed Todt to be our tourism ambassadors? What he knows about our country and what he knows about Islam?
written by NSTPravda, June 25, 2009 07:43:20
Azmin: Why spend RM1mil to hire Jean Todt and Michelle Yeoh?
Elementary Matson,
Todt and Yeoh are true blue absentee Malaysians who know this country through and through.... and appreciate this nation from afar. Those of us who are stuck here are probably too ugly and inferior anyway.

Way to go Tourism Malaysian for helping to sell out this country and it's stuck behing rakyat!

Rasuah sayang eh
written by NSTPravda, June 25, 2009 07:47:21
“The money is not in the form of cash to him. To promote Malaysia in Europe, RM1 million is nothing,” Yen Yen said.

Gimme dat, gimme dat....

Yen yen should give us that paltry RM1 million and we will try to make it into something....

Dollar akbar!
Rasuah sayang eh!
written by biggun129, June 25, 2009 08:22:33
I cant afford to pay my outstanding of RM 1 million to the Department of Inland Revenue, because I spend almost all the money for my three childrens to study in overseas and promote Malaysia, and now the Government is after me, my childrens, the are also promoting Malaysia in overseas, shall I paid my outstanding to Department of Inland revenu???
written by Beezee_Beezee, June 25, 2009 09:22:01
What happen to the RM800 Mil printing of Multimedia CD for Tourism Malaysia where the Minister TA said he will not protect anyone from his minitry. What happen to ACA then on the finding?
This is what you call BN Gormen is using the projects as Business and Politicised the Business.
written by budaktapah, June 25, 2009 09:48:51
pak lah raba raba...itu todt dapat duit...give and take lahhhh
written by smeagrooo, June 25, 2009 09:57:52
We dont need Todt to promote Msia. We have Najisman.
written by Midvalley, June 25, 2009 11:11:12
We do not need and we Malaysian do not welcome a jobless exf1, non Malaysian TOAD (Todt)to promote our Malaysia. To hell with him and his actress so to be wife ( I give them 2 years and they will be divorced)
written by batsman, June 25, 2009 12:52:44
Better than using C4 as payment. heeheehee
written by Lipanbara, June 25, 2009 14:47:47
HCK23 wrote:
Most Malaysian are jobless and YOU Yen Yen or BN you employed Todt to be our tourism ambassadors? What he knows about our country and what he knows about Islam?
Todt is now proclaimed as UMNO members with new name: Ibrahim Ali Todt