Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow True Faerie Tale

True Faerie Tale PDF Print
Wednesday, 24 June 2009 10:33

By Hakim Joe

Once upon a time, in a Muslim country far, far away there live a group of people who were victimized by their own government even though they were born and bred there just like the majority of the residents who resided there. Hell, just about everybody there were treated in the same shitty way, albeit to a different degree, except those in their immediate circle. 

Since the allegations of voting fraud, the precedent government still desperately held on to power abetted by the Ruler in a general election that was manipulated thoroughly by the Elections Commission. To add salt to injury, after losing the general elections the losers, some brave enough to voice out their dissatisfaction, were subjected to constant harassment and persecution from the authorities. No, you cannot do this … and neither can you do that. Peaceful gatherings were termed as demonstration against the government and this was a definite no-no. Go directly to jail, do not pass GO and do not collect $200. The “Get-out-of-jail-free” card does not apply here either. 

Even the civil enforcement agency was roped in to arrest anyone brave enough to show up at these gatherings ... er … demonstrations, and the riot police (in full military gear) was close at hand to deal with the peaceful and unarmed supporters of the opposition. When these people were forcibly apprehended and presented at court, the prosecutor general was there personally to “serve the full course” to those who dare to even think of defying the government. Even the judiciary were in the act and the legislators were not that far behind.  

Why go through all that trouble to keep a corrupt government in office? Do these people think that they will be empowered all the time? What about their children? Can they inherit these inherent powers from their parents? The answer is no but yet they do not recognize the fact that they remain the people on the frontlines whilst the corrupt government is way, way at the rear.  

The answer to the question (of why) is Money and Power. Oil revenue alone is propping up the economy of the country and where there are megabucks involved, quite a lot tend to spill into the undeclared Swiss bank accounts of those who are at hand (at the rear) – it depends on just how hard they are nudging the barrel, even when everybody is looking. Those manning the frontlines will of course be given crumbs to encourage them to be the protectors of their paymasters. 

And then there are the past misdeeds and illegal acts that requires concealment and what better way than to become, once again, the government of the country? And since everyone who is anyone is in it together, from the politicians to the judges and from the chiefs of the enforcement agencies to the chiefs of the civil services, it does not take a rocket scientist to work out that power and control must be sustained, both to safeguard their illegal (past, present and future) actions and to plunder more. 

Criticisms from the entire world seem to slide off the hardened skin of those involved. What the local media are prohibited from reporting, the blogsphere and international media seemingly covered but yet these news failed to dislodge a government hell bent on retaining power by all possible means. The rampant corruption within the ranks ensures that they are in it together – sink or swim together. 

Malaysia? No … you misunderstood my writings.

I am talking about Iran and the recent elections where every trick in the book was used to ensure that the government of President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad remained in power. The supposedly “impartial” Ayatollah Ali Khamenei even broke the Iranian law which stated that he, as the “Ruler” of the country can only declare the winner, three days after the elections (not before), when he unreservedly endorsed Ahmadinejad’s government on the day after the elections. When the losing candidate (Mirhossein Mousavi) protested the results, the head of parliament's judiciary committee, Ali Shahrokhi, reportedly said that Mousavi should be prosecuted for it. The hardline Revolutionary Guards even went as far as saying that they will “crush any rioters opposing the re-election of President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.” Not a very nice thing to say and not a very nice thing to do considering the fact that over 70 are killed already. We are not talking about war here with the many casualties, merely a nation of people having a general election. 

Seriously fellas, did you really think that I was alluding to the conditions here in Malaysia?

written by Conan Chung, June 24, 2009 10:47:38
Not definitely not talking about Malaysia over here...We're all peaceful and happy in BolehLand... everyone gets enough to eat, its safe to walk the streets at night so i can go for a jog, and the police are all nice and friendly here. After all we're Bolehland, of course everything is prim and proper..

Now would you excuse me, i'm going back to my bed now... it seems i've been developing a habit of dream walking due to stress of not able to find a job to feed my 2 children and wife.
written by Spear Bing, June 24, 2009 11:23:11
Get the latest copy of Newsweek June 29, 2009 on the cover story on the latest Iranian Election - Theocracy and its Discontents - the Shape of a New Iran written by Fareed Zakaria.

It's not surprising that the Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei plays his balancing role in colluding with President Ahmadinejad who " sits like a mouse in front of him and kisses his feet", to quote the article by the popular journalist Fareed Zakaria of Newsweek.
written by JinJangJoe, June 24, 2009 11:28:32
Haloo, Hakim Joe, I know, I know what you did last summer... smilies/grin.gif, trying to kill two birds with one stone- hah. Thanks anyway. We got your message.
written by Watchdog, June 24, 2009 11:37:28
Yes this is not Malaysia where it is a land of milk and honey and you only get milked for money smilies/angry.gif
written by bikerzon, June 24, 2009 11:43:36
wow... i really thought i was malaysia, coz i know in Iran the Revolutionary Guard have to act against protestors that are carrying weapon, but here our beautiful vigiler carrying candles have to be put in jail without prosecution before things gets out of hand.
written by InEffective, June 24, 2009 12:04:02
clever piece of writing - well done.

Sometime i do wonder the following about people regarding coercion, filth, and evil:

a) what facts and understandings do people apply to make their choices and judgment ?

(do they use their biases of self-interest only, or do they also use verifiable observable and measurable evidence, results, actions and outcomes)

b) what primary character or trait of people compels them to accept and conform to coercion filth and evil ?
(perhaps mindless allegiance and obedience to authority - religious, ruler, politician, power)

c) And more importantly what force prevents people from initiating change from coercion,filth and evil ?
(perhaps cowardice, it hurts too much inside to accept accountability and ownership, fear - physical harm, financial harm etc)

Looks like Iran's people are questioning their quality--of-life, wonder how many Malaysian's are questioning their QOL (and identifying the root cause)
written by Flex65, June 24, 2009 12:15:46
Not talking about Malaysia. In Malaysia our government is very thoughtful of it's people. If your live in danger it will send you to jail so that those threatening you cannot get to you. If you delete records to protect yourselves the police will not investigate. If you instruct someone to murder your enemy and they are caught they police will just investigate to find you. They will just convict the murderer.

Where in the world can you find the Deputy Prime Minister meeting a dropout to discuss scholarships? Where in the world the Prime Minister wants to appoint you as a director to the most profitable organization in the country even you have proven yourselves not trustworthy?

Where in the world you can find a government that is interested in your wardrobe? With so much pampering I believe one day the government will ask for handicap if our sportsmen and sportswomen were to enter any competition. For example in football the opposing team must give handicap of 3 goals if not we will not participate.
written by densemy, June 24, 2009 12:18:54
I guess they are all reading the same text book
written by sampalee, June 24, 2009 12:33:48
No one can avoid the common[similar]outcome of defying the teaching of the kithab,The disasters to come will be a repeat of former acts of God.Mankind no matter how advance will self destruct without the wisdom of the kithab.So say All religions.
written by apa jadi, June 24, 2009 14:05:18
May 13 1969, Razak and cohort annexed the power from Tunku.
Feb 11, 1979, Reza Shah was overthrown by Ayotollah Khomeni.

The difference between the two was, Tunku was a soft guy while Reza Shah was a dictator (with US behind).

40 and 50 years later, we see those who grabbed the power has become so powerful that they are heading for their own destruction. Morale of the faerie tale is that even faeries are not spared when power get into them.
written by Hakim Joe, June 24, 2009 14:39:07
Fairminded,

Don't be so straight lah...read between the lines!

BTW, I have been following Iranian news since Khamenei came into power and that's quite a few years ago. I do not quote Western news sources...I read Al Jazeera or is that too westernized for you as well?

One last thing, you Iranian or what?

written by bodohland_citizen, June 24, 2009 17:07:24
Betul betul serupa macam Malaysia ooi ! PM tersayang Malaysia dan crew members bila mau pergi lawatan sambil belajar ke Iran ? smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Fairminded, June 25, 2009 09:11:00
I was blocked from commenting on the "Responding to "fairminded"". I must first appologize for such a caustic comment without elaborating why I said so. It is generally accepted that the "conservatives" imposed a unfairly elected president but how do we know that the "reformist" is not the puppet of USA? Remember that USA had 2 good reasons to destabilize Iran - Oil and Israel's fear of the atomic/nuclear bomb programme (if it is true). I dont and the only news I read is from the western press, so siding one side is not fair and dangerous. However, if you have direct knowledge of the matter, it is fine. The other reason is that we should not quote the case of Iran as if it is fine with Malaysia just because other countries are "corrupted, despotic etc" to our judgment because every nation had its own historical and cultural baggage. As for human rights international etc, they are all in cohort with the world powers be. When did the amnesty international, human rights international etc fought for freedom and democracy etc in countries like Saudi, Jordan etc? Is democracy and human rights not important to the citizens there? As a digression, Al queda started in Saudi to fight the powers be. History had shown that outside interference in any coutry is a disaster, like Iraq - is the people any better now than under the dictator? Is Afganistan any better? Vietnam too is a case and so is the division of Korea. If they were to be let alone to sort it out, true there might be a government not pallatable to the west but they have their way. A very personal experience I had confirmed my believes that outside interference is not good for a country because those who interfere does not live in the country to understand it other than from the vested interests of the press. The example is China. I only read about the Tianan Men incidence from the press and initially I am dead against the government of China but after I have lived and worked in China for the past 11 years that I realize the general population actually do not support the students. They generally fear that it will be another cultural revolution. They sneered at me when I mentioned more than 2 million people demonstrated by saying that they do not represent the 1.2 billion Chinese - very small minority but looks big on TV screen. If they wanted to throw out the communist they can do so like they threw out the Kuomintang. I know I will be quickly condemned by the "liberal press" as a commie sympathizer to be put under the ISA just as Edgar Snow when he wrote that there is basically nothing wrong with the communist government in China for China. If the west would have sent in armies and the embargo and isolation of China will be successful, China will have been broken up into 5 countries and the people will be no peace for the people. Each country had its own form of working governments. USA form of democracy will never work in China. The past 20 years of exponential growth of China's economy testifies to that. People are well fed. Their freedom is defined by freedom from hunger, war and freedom from sleeping in the streets. If we were strictly to enforce the liberal democracies of the west in developing countries we should invade or condem Singapore too, Thailand next etc. I hope that we should have a Malaysian solution and not quote any other countries to justify our failings and we have to stop depending on the Amnesty international, Human rights international etc to further our course. Thanks for your permission and patience to allow me to clarify my stand.
written by Fairminded, June 25, 2009 09:16:31
Just one more question for Mr. Harkim Joe. Why is the Amnesty International and Human Rights International etc so mum about the treatment of Palestinians and rah rah about Iran?