Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M:Be disciplined leaders, it will produce the desired result

Dr M:Be disciplined leaders, it will produce the desired result PDF Print
Wednesday, 24 June 2009 09:26

(Bernama) KUALA LUMPUR: A political leader needs to be disciplined and willing to set aside his personal interest in his bid to develop his country, said former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

“In thinking, you need to be quite disciplined because disciplined thinking is likely to produce the desired results,” he said in his keynote address titled “Asian Political Leader­ship: Disciplined Thinking For Change” at the 14th International Conference on Thinking (ICOT) 2009 at the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre here yesterday.

The five-day conference, which began on Monday, was attended by about 500 participants from 42 countries, including Malaysia.

Dr Mahathir said Malaysia’s ability in facing the economic crisis in 1997 was due to the disciplined thinking process conducted by the government then.

“It was able to produce a device to save the country from the economic crisis, unlike those who accepted the alternative solution offered by the world monetary fund body.”

Dr Mahathir said it was good “to be a little bit suspicious with the solution offered by others”.

He said the decisions of political leaders also played an important role, especially in determining whether the country progressed or regressed.

“A good example can be seen in the modern and very developed Japan after its political leaders decided to emulate the European countries. This also goes for China; how under Deng Xiao Ping the country had moved towards modernisation.

“Now China is the world’s major manufacturing country and it can produce almost everything. Although some say the products are of low quality, I believe they can be improved eventually,” he said.

To a question from the floor on the teaching and learning of Science and Mathematics in English, Dr Mahathir said Malaysians had to learn the language of knowledge in order to have access to the latest discoveries or theories in Science and Technology which used English as its main language.

“Although we learn best in our native languages, we cannot expect other people to continue or always be there to translate the information or findings in other languages solely for our benefit,” he said.

written by *********, June 24, 2009 09:31:32
Mahathir and the whole bunch who call themselves BN never had any credibility so what is there to talki about discipline when you are a bunch of thieves, murderers, rapists...More http://*********.********.com
written by SCM, June 24, 2009 09:50:27
Mamak Kutty,

This truly confirms that you have gone senile. YOU are the cause of all mega indiscipline, corruption and racism among our BN leaders. You are the worm that made Malaysians go against malaysians on a wide scale.

Redeem yourself before you die by admitting that you fabricated the entire shameful trial that sent Anwar Ibrahim to prison. Your understudy who plays with fat pigs and C4 now is emulating your evil ways.
written by krising1, June 24, 2009 09:55:16
It is not only political leaders. It is duty of every citizen to put his country first. Loyalty to the country does not mean loyalty to the government. Every citizen has the right to dissent. As Chandra Muzzaffar said in his letter published in the "Sun" today. Respect Dissent. Stop Violence. Great statement except that I found it revolting. Revolting because he is talking about Iran and not Malaysia. He is a citizen of this country. We have not heard him say one word against the violence practiced in this country against peaceful dissent. Is he blind to what is happening in this country or does he approve what is happening here?
written by MalaysianIAm, June 24, 2009 09:56:27
just go tell your najib la. tell us for what. i'm not the leader of this country!
written by alarcarte, June 24, 2009 10:03:30
“It was able to produce a device to save the country from the economic crisis, unlike those who accepted the alternative solution offered by the world monetary fund body.”

South Korea, Thailand and Indonesia accepted the solution offered by world monetary fund body and Malaysia did not. Has Malaysia done any better than those countries today?

The only reason Malaysia do not want to accept those solutions is the 30% equity hold by the UMNO cronies must go immediately, and it would be extremely painful to the cronies.
written by densemy, June 24, 2009 10:41:45
Kick the Asian obsession with discipline and try to be intelligent leaders instead

There is already too much discipline and repression in Malaysia and it stifles every aspect of this country that a liberal government and its liberal people should be promoting
written by PASOK, June 24, 2009 10:46:26
Malaysia Today, forever carrying Mahathir's words as if they are the Golden Truth. I want to know - how much is Mahathir paying you guys to print his every sneeze and fart.
written by Beezee_Beezee, June 24, 2009 11:34:04
PASOK you are right.. We do not have time for TDM and he does not carry any values.He could have done is years ago and see the result. Instead he planted the rotten seeds that resulted the cornis deases of BN especially UMNO and UMNOputras. Truly we should penalised those who missed-used of the Public FUND to do this is to Kick the BN gormen out forever and we set up more meaningful gormen of the people and put justics to prospectives... Hidup Rakyat Malaysia Hidup PekatanRakyat Insyallah.......
written by jayenjr, June 24, 2009 12:06:58
"DR M:BE DISCIPLINED LEADERS,IT WILL PRODUCE THE DESIRED RESULT"
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Yeah, we heard that in "Kepimpinan Melalui Teladan".

Your "teladan" was more like "tahi-laden" during your years on the throne.
written by Everbright, June 24, 2009 12:31:26
Dear utulganal, whoever you are? No need to trouble Admin. MT readers need a place to voice our feelings and reveal truths. najib is najis because he talks shit, walks shit and corrupts like shit. I bet pink lips even smell like shit if you go near enough especially when the topic change to poor Aminah. TDM is Mamak Kutty because he tries to be more malay than a genuine malay but in fact is the biggest evil comspirator against what is good for our Nation. He corrupted all the Yes-men judges and brought in institutionalised corruption the likes of you will never know. The scandals he pepartrated for this Nations' generations is already written in history. Pak Lah is bodowi because he was the stupidest PM ever in our history. He slept right through his time and what did he achieved? Nothing. Without MT contributors as they are, MT will just be another sanitised blog out there, boring like najis.
written by Oscar Winner, June 24, 2009 12:33:05
Dear TDM,

If they were disciplined,

-they would be wiped out in the last GE. Surely this wasn't the desired result,
-Perak MB would still be Nizar,
-Atlantuya would still be alive

Ai ya...it's endless. Malas to write over and over again

written by asguard, June 24, 2009 12:49:26
Speaking of leadership.... i don't there is one in malaysia all i see is that more scattered leadership here and there....
written by harmanamri, June 24, 2009 13:31:20
You are tall and handsome. Your wife is short and fat and totally obnoxious. How to discipline your dick? So, your undisciplined dick gets you into trouble..because it keeps wanting to go into places where it shouldn't go..in Port Dickson, Paris, Mongolia, wherever..
written by Sagaladoola, June 24, 2009 13:33:43
Dear alarcarte,

Taking the 30% thing apart, Indonesia and South Korea are not fairing as good as you thought they are. Perhaps you should read the Shock Doctrine by Naomi Klein. Fetch it from major book outlets in Malaysia'.

written by SCM, June 24, 2009 16:47:04
Malaysian7,

This is the only language that a racist pig understands. This Mamak created a super race now referred to as the UMNOputras. I am totally against this race, its creator and its followers. Go around and look at the Malays in the villages. Go take a look at the Chinese hawkers. Go take a look at the Indian plantation workers. This mamak has sidelined all of them and spent billions of our money building orgasmic structures to satisfy his ego. What about the billions wasted on numerous scandals, including Perwaja Steel, the numerous bailouts, PKFZ, etc, etc.

For all he has done, I cannot refer to him as Tun as I truly feel he doesn't live up to that title. But mamak Kutty....yes, he fits that bill.
written by Loh, June 24, 2009 21:42:19
///“Although we learn best in our native languages, we cannot expect other people to continue or always be there to translate the information or findings in other languages solely for our benefit,” he said.///--TDM

Students in primary schools do not reach the standards to require translation of new findings in other languages. Students don't even require translated new findings in high schools. They might need them in universities. Thus, learning of the subject in Engish can begin in high schools, as the people are appealing for a change in the policy.

The issue is not the use of English for teaching, the issue is the timing of using English.
written by MSIABOLEH, June 24, 2009 23:54:13
Discipline? For 22 years your are in power, did you ever emphasised on discipline? If you did then you wouldn't need NEP, do you? Cakap Tak Serupa Bikin.
written by MSIABOLEH, June 24, 2009 23:57:25
utuhganal, you are such a high class horse.