Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow ACT 118, SECTION V, ARTICLE 11

ACT 118, SECTION V, ARTICLE 11 PDF Print
Wednesday, 24 June 2009 02:52

There is a remote possibility that what I about to write would would ever make it on Malaysia Today website.

The title may be catchy and many would have presumed that it is about Anwar or Althantuya or some laws with regards to Police brutality. I must say I am about to disappoint most readers. There is more to the problems of the people than the political issue in this country.

2. Officially in the records of the Housing Ministry about 142 housing projects are considered as abandoned. Unfortunately, the Ministry has been classifying projects with classes and sub classes that have brought the numbers down to 142 projects.

3. In reality there are more than 500 projects in Malaysia that is abandoned, delayed or problematic. The common feature in all cases is that purchasers paid their dues on time but do not get their money. The total value of these projects runs into Billions of Ringgit. The purchasers are not the source of the problem. The developer who has poor financial and project management is the root cause of the problem.

Comments (6)Add Comment
written by Spear Bing, June 24, 2009 04:15:22
No reason whatsoever for MT admin to block your article.

The issues are the concern of the rakyat. Therefore they are news-worthy and deserve the full attention of the MT bloggers and readers.

Do keep us posted.
written by krising1, June 24, 2009 06:12:03
This People First and Performance Now government should immediately send its housing official to Singapore and find out why they do not have abandoned projects. Simple. Banks never release the money to the developer for work than has been done. Developer can never run away with the investor's money and there is no incentive to do. Here developer stops work after taking more money is due. Then bank goes after the buyer to pay back the loan. Nothing happens to the architect who certifies that the work has been done when actually it is not. Buyers suffer for years without a house but paying installments. And the government acts like it is helpless.
written by drrafick, June 24, 2009 06:32:40
Dear MT

Bloggers/Readers - Help us by telling others about our problems.
written by NSTPravda, June 24, 2009 06:47:28
There is a remote possibility that what I about to write would would ever make it on Malaysia Today website.

Sooooo? What's your point?
smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by freerpk, June 24, 2009 08:51:14
They say a fool & his money are soon parted. The buyers are the ones with the money they should be saying show me the house before I buy. On the other hand if they are willing to give their money away when all they have is only a picture who is to blame. Buy a house that is already built or an old house & renovate it then what you see is what you get.
written by Beezee_Beezee, June 24, 2009 11:24:17
The other truth is that the involvement of the manucipility of every constituent under BN are also playing politic in approving the development by those contractors in which the Instituation, authority and UMNOputras are involved. Thus causing the project to stalled especially well when the bulk of the money paid up by the bank goes disappeared to all these scams.
The problem with Malaysian people they always make an effort to buy and until today it still happened. Go to SABAH and find out what I meant. I was once asked if there is any construction company in Sabah that can be hired to do construction. I told him if you have the money go out of the country to do this construction development and don;t waste your time and effort to do it if you are not willing to pay those authority....