Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Why speaking Inggeris like that one?

Why speaking Inggeris like that one? PDF Print
Wednesday, 24 June 2009 02:45

But now only they know that kah? Now only we know it is important? Last time when ask us to do all in Melayu language why never say? But never mind. Now government want to make correct. Now maybe SPM also must pass English.

By MOHSIN ABDULLAH/MySinchew

I STARTED schooling in 1962 when as a Malay kid, you either go to a Malay school or an English one. My parents decided the latter. I thank them for that. I thank also the authorites for allowing such a situation. I am not claiming my English is impeccable as the result of my English education. In fact it's far from perfect. But at least I do not write like this one lah below. Thank God.

Now everyday I read the Inggeris papers to improve my Inggeris. Sorry. English. I also say sorry to you all because my English not so good. Broken. But when my school time, they all say we must speak and learn with the Malay language. Easy lah for me. My mother tongue what. Now everybody say Inggeris very important. Alamak always like that. English not the Inggeris. Sorry again. I read the paper now, the very the many people say why English is very the important one, English also can help breach or bridge (so confuse. Susah lah this English language) international barrier. Got the people who say even China banking on English.

But now only they know that kah? Now only we know it is important? Last time when ask us to do all in Melayu language why never say? But never mind. Now government want to make correct. Now maybe SPM also must pass English. I support the government. That why I agrees with the Pemuda UMNO who say retired teacher who good in English must take back. Also teacher from Britain, England, New Zealand and Australia, (I always confuse with Austria. Mat Salleh country also make confuse). Brings them here to teaching our school childrens.

I supports but must slow slow also. If do now, fast fast student mati. Cikgu also trouble. Many teacher also cannot speak the English also. So I think maybe can start with standard one students next year. Tahun satu. Then when they go year two can speak English already. So to makes them must pass the English in SPM ok. Fair what. They got time already. Maybe start from the kindergarten is also good.

For the rest student what to do. Like me lah. Just try the best to learns the English. Read the English paper everyday. Read the Star, the Sun, the NST. Got one more. The Malay Mail (again I confuse, mail and male). Anyway we must talk talk in the English with the people when we go walk walk, eat eat in town. Don't shy shy one. People laughing never mind.

But I also wants to laughing when I read one news in the newspaper. I read the Star.I write again what I read in the Star baru baru ini.

It is like this. I copy straight from the Star paper.

"In Muar, Johor Menteri Besar Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman said the state government supported the call for English to be made a compulsory pass subject for the SPM.

"He said although the state had protested against the teaching of Science and Mathmatics in English, the subject was important for Malaysians to master."

So if the Inggeris, sorry, English subject is important for Malaysians to master, why protest? That why I laughing. 

(MOHSIN ABDULLAH is Editor-in-chief, News and Current Affairs, ntv7 & 8TV)

written by Richfyf, June 24, 2009 03:15:05
Wah you so very lucky get to study the Maths and Science in Inggeris. I got no chance but want to be clever in IT so no choice lah. I kena use the Kamus for translation.

But sometime I think the Inggeris language not so good lah or is it my Kamus not correct.

When I go learning the komputer I also dont why the call the barang keras and barang lembik. Also got batang gembira ( joy stick). So very bad this language when I see all the barang keras ( hard ware) got put sedia untuk cucuk dan main. ( ready for plug and play.

Maybe better we just learn computer in arabic no??
written by Semut Jantan, June 24, 2009 03:20:57
Don't have to look too far; look down south and learn one or two things. People in Malaysia just know how to shoot at each other base on religion, race and whatnot. BN is the crust of these 'shootings'.

And they still call the shots. Irony.
written by amoker, June 24, 2009 04:34:07
Its a joke that our english standard is so low and the stupid education minister ask people to do phone in voting to make decision
written by nocrid, June 24, 2009 04:47:07
Why have to learn inggeris from the mainstream newspaper. Read Malaysia Today also can learn Inggeris mah...At least you read the thing nearer to the truth and not reading spins from farktard BNs. What use good Inggeris if mind corrupted and cultivated into stupids by those farktard
written by varvoom, June 24, 2009 06:30:47
I think it’s good to have maglish as the identifier of how Malaysian arrange English language in their own syntax, wouldn’t be Malaysian wan if we start rabbiting in Jamaican creoles English man. Try listening to a Scot mouthing English or a Japanese san...have fun...language is just a tool to communicate.
written by NSTPravda, June 24, 2009 06:50:49
Why speaking Inggeris like that one?
Beg pardon? U cuba make fun of us ah!
No good one... our Inggeris is just wat it shuld be..
Dollar akbar!
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Krepot, June 24, 2009 07:05:03
Computer Studies in Bahasa Malaysia, is a farking joke! Really!!
When are they going to wake up?!
written by OVERLORD, June 24, 2009 08:15:03
Haiyah...our "england is vely powderful one"......
written by arazak, June 24, 2009 08:15:15
What can you say of a country where an ex-Menteri Besar said in an Australian court that; "me no speekee Inggeris"!

Anyway, a friend of mine who was a lecturer in a local university teaching 2nd year Economic students related this true story. This lecturer was so fed up of always fixing grammatical errors in essay questions instead of actually grading the contents of the exam scripts. One day he poised this question to them; "how many of you have read Charles Dicken's "A tale of two cities?". There was no response. He tried again, "how many of you have read Thomas Hardy's "Far from the madding crowd?". Still no response. Undaunted, he tried again, "how many of you have read, Herman Melville's "Moby Dick?" He saw two hands shot up from the crowd in the lecture hall. Unfortunately, the two hands belong to the international students coming from some African countries! Not Malaysians!

It is not only teachers (which sometimes are hopeless), but parents too should inculcate reading habits for their children!

Note: There are other alternatives to NST , the Malay Mail and the Star. Buy for your children classic books like those above or you can ask them to read on the internet, for example go to; http://www.pagebypagebooks.com/

Good luck!
written by mikewang, June 24, 2009 08:52:37
Received this joke from a stranger.

========================

Why Malaysian Government insists on using English for math and science?

This is because the whole world uses the language as an information and/or technology language.. How dangerous it will be if we try to use Bahasa, especially in school. See example below:-

Hardware = barangkeras

Software = baranglembut

Joystick = batang gembira

Plug and Play = cucuk dan main

Port = lubang

Server = pelayan

Client = pelanggan

Try to translate this:

ENGLISH:

That server gives a plug and play service to the client using either hardware or software joystick. The joystick goes into the port of the client.

Now in BAHASA:

Pelayan itu memberi pelanggannya layanan cucuk dan main dengan menggunakan batang gembira jenis keras atau lembut. Batang gembira itu akan dimasukkan ke dalam lubang pelanggan.

Now you know...WHY... smilies/cheesy.gif
written by asguard, June 24, 2009 09:16:03
Now a days... malaysian intend to speak more rojakkan english! A mixture of malay/english together or some chinese pronunciation that is not correct eg... what will be known wat!, sometime becomes sametime... see what i mean... just check the sms from friends sms to you! Get a clear picture!
written by adan, June 24, 2009 09:53:29
I no no risau speking ingerlish. I no takut ingerish grandma. I speking what i suka. orang tak fham bukan me ploblem.Try cara I .Sure you also can speking many many ingerlish. Malaysia boleh .We can can also.
written by miwaki, June 24, 2009 13:30:52
Last time I say you say I no say,English is the very susah becuase I say it only when English teacher say to me.Now even our ministers say like me since they also learn English in Math and Science,not learning Math and Science in English.

All this problems because Mahathir the idiot turn the teaching from English to malay during the 70s.That's why most lawyers in our country talk English like me.They alway say I say but they no say.
written by elmo world, June 24, 2009 13:49:43
Deas Mohsin,

You are so lucky as English schools were available during your time......

I am younger generation.. and i hate that as I had to go Malay school, and i was so sad as other that my English teacher (indians) & older teachers could speak English, the rest.... hardly could speak a sentence.........

English dictionary was my g00d friend, i slept with the dictionary by my bedside, i struggled to learn by reading English paper, watching english movies during dinner, before going for tuition....... I only g0t credit 6 for my SPM result which caused me getting Grade 2 instead of Grade 1... but , who cares.... They translated most English in Malay, even Science an important subject has to spell them in Malay style, but sound alike.. so ridiculous!!!!!!!

Luckily my aunts sent me to college where i was able to learn more as all subjects were in English, ofcourse i sufferred at the begining...
Complicated = complikasi???? stupid!

I hate the govt for putting themselves before us. at the end we the people suffer . the big ones.. they all are english educated abroad....what they care...... their childre? they have money, they can send the kids to overseas....

We are the victims....
written by apa jadi, June 24, 2009 13:53:19
I have enough of all these English rhetoric already lah! It was a problem created by UMNO under the guise of promoting BM after 1969. 40 years later, we see the fractures of the damage done. Yet we are still arguing how to mend the cracks. Worse of all Maha-tail threw a big spanner into the cracks. People are now crackling or cracking up over these cracks.

Change or no change -- get the butts moving.
written by NEP, June 24, 2009 14:18:52
I agree English should be used in teaching Maths and Sciences but some of the vocabulary can be translated into mother language at the same time to make student easily understand. English in comparison to Malay language, however, is much more important nowadays. Here in oversea, perhaps I only use Malay language once in 6 month or 1 year. Mandarin is even more useful because people here start learning Mandarin.
written by gorshan, June 24, 2009 18:25:42
aiyah....why u all problem one?

you like english you go english school go join private sector
you like speak melayu one you go melayu school join govt office

is called democracy what.

but you say you Malaysian no speaking/read Malay you bungkus your bag you go balik tongsan/india loh. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by imanj, June 25, 2009 00:01:15
To all politicians,lawmakers,ministers in the education ministry,people who are of the malay race,

The issue of speaking in the English Language has been mutilated from the government of Tun Dr Mahathir till date as it was for the sake of the Malay race.The impression was,never to allow the non-malays to continue excelling in their academics,while allowing the Malay race to meet up to better results.The need to lower standards,the irrelevant subject context,the inefficieny from teachers was and is to cater for the Malay race.

But the children of these politicians and the rich were and continue to be spared the horrors of the local Malaysian Education and the learning process from inefficient teachers that graduate from local teachers training.

Just one question to any Malay,do you actually understand the mutilated Bahasa Malaysia that is being taught? Are you saying it's okay to borrow from the English Language,just with spelling changes to accomadate for words and terms that are non-existant in the Malay Language and replace others Malay words that are authentic just to glamourise Bahasa Malaysia? At the same time the English Language is insulted and deemed unimportant and there you are using English words to make your Malay sentences,while half the time the translations are in error and mor often them not ridiculous???

Look many,many non-malays have step aside for malay children across the country for your development.Many non-malay students parents pay taxes that benefit malay children.So while we have to pay much to educate our children as it's our responsibility and the need of any child,why don't the Malays be kind enough to not further ruin the development of any child.The need to educate in an international language like the English Language is not a sin..!!

written by zviivz, June 25, 2009 01:49:14
Like some of the readers out here, I had the opportunity to leave the country to further my studies. It was hard for the first 6 months because I had to translate things that were taught to me in BM for years. I'm thankful that my tertiary education and postgraduate studies were conducted in Inggeris. My degrees are widely accepted as well. Looking back, I swore I'll never allow my children to go through this kind of education system. It's pathetic.
written by MalaysianFirst, June 25, 2009 02:26:47
Arfter reeding ter articul and all your cormens, I have nut ding more to at.
Why our garvermen continew to tink that BM is helpfull to our economee reely bits me. Reely sat....

written by Cobweb76, June 25, 2009 06:46:09
Who decides what language I speak? First, its the person who raise me. An Iranian lady told me a story about her 3 year old daughter whom she thought had a speech impediment. She later learned from her close Malay friend that her daughter was speaking Malay because she was spending so much time with the Malay family and playing with their Malay speaking children. This is a true story happened in the UK.

So who will decide what language I will speak? Like I said, first, the people who raise me, then when I am old enough, I shall decide for myself. Human beings are capable of speaking and understanding more than one language. We can even learn to sign language even when we can hear. We learn a new language when we feel that there is a need to do it, and found the will to do it. Unfortunately, it is not as easy to learn a new language when you are older compared to a child. But it is not impossible it just takes time and effort. So decide what language you want to be a able to communicate in and start learning! And guess what? you can speak more than one tougue. smilies/wink.gif