Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The Islamic concept of Hijrah

The Islamic concept of Hijrah PDF Print
Tuesday, 23 June 2009 15:16

Those who believe, and suffer exile and strive with might and main, in Allah's cause, with their goods and their persons, have the highest rank in the sight of Allah: they are the people who will achieve. - The Quran, Surah Al-Tawbah (9:20)

Every Muslim has heard of the word Hijrah. Probably many non-Muslims as well are familiar with the word. To the layman, however, Muslim and non-Muslim alike, Hijrah is the Muslim ‘new year’ and denotes the beginning of the Islamic calendar, the Hijrah calendar, just like the Gregorian calendar starts from the year Christ was born although there are some who dispute this and argue that Christ was actually born six years before ‘year zero’.

But there is more to Hijrah than just to mark the beginning of the Islamic calendar. And it is also more than just to mark Prophet Muhammad’s migration from Mekah to Medina. While Hijrah can be loosely translated to mean migration, it is not merely a physical migration or migration of the body but the migration of the mind or migration of character, values, lifestyle, and so on.

The Quran, Surah Al-Tawbah (9:20) says as follows: Those who believe, and suffer exile and strive with might and main, in Allah's cause, with their goods and their persons, have the highest rank in the sight of Allah: they are the people who will achieve.

In case you did not notice, this verse in the Quran is from Surah (chapter) Al-Tawbah. Tawbah (or taubat in Malay) means repent. In other words, migration (Hijrah) can also mean repent (Tawbah). You migrate from a life of sin to a life of piety. You give up your evil ways for a life of virtue. You end your life of transgressions for a life of submission, submitting to the code of conduct as laid down by God.

The English simply call this ‘turning over a new leaf’. If you used to be greedy, envious, full of lust, arrogant, corrupted, egoistical, stingy, uncaring, self-centred, vain, and whatnot (the seven deadly sins they talk about), you now strife to be no longer all that. Hijrah can be summed up in one word: change.

Another word for change is reform. You reform yourself. But it is very difficult to reform when society itself has not reformed. Most times you are a victim of the society you live in. How can you be opposite to what your society is?

If there is corruption all around you, you too need to go with the flow and involve yourself in corruption. For example, if you want to drive a car, you need a driving licence. And if the only way you can get a driving licence is to pay a bribe (under the table or ‘kopi money’), then you will pay a bribe. If you stand firm and uphold your principle of refusing to condone corruption by refusing to pay a bribe, then you do not get your driving licence and will have to be contented with taking a bus to go to work.

So how can you be pious or virtuous and expect to be ‘clean’ when the society you live in is not clean? Police officers face this problem. A police officer can’t refuse to isolate himself/herself from corruption. The Chinese crime syndicates put money into a ‘pool’ just like some restaurants have a tip box so that everyone in the restaurant gets to share the tips. So even clean police officers have a share of the bribe from the crime syndicate.

Of course, the police officer can refuse to take his or her share of the bribe. But then he or she would be treated with suspicion and life for him or her would be very unpleasant. The only recourse would be to accept your share and be regarded as ‘one of the boys’ rather than be treated as an outcast or leper for trying to be clean.

Peer pressure plays a big part in how you live your life. If you try to be different and refuse to participate in corruption you will find they can and will make life very difficult for you. Sometimes ‘uncooperative’ police officers are transferred out because they refuse to ‘join the gang’. So you take the money and keep your mouth shut.

So, reforms or changes can’t happen in isolation. You can’t just think of yourself and strive to be a good person if society itself is bad and the people around you will not allow you to lead the life you want to lead. You must also strive to change society.

And this is where the physical aspect of Hijrah comes into play. You try your best to change the system so that the system is conducive to those who want to lead a pious life. But if society refuses to leave you alone and ‘sucks you in’, then you migrate. You Hijrah. You abandon that society for another more conducive to the life you wish to lead.

Therefore, when we scream and shout about Reformasi or Reformation, we are actually talking about Hijrah. And Hijrah is a very crucial element of Islam. It is so crucial that the Islamic calendar is called the Hijrah calendar. And Hijrah is part and parcel of Jihad, another very important element of Islam.

Jihad means struggle. It is the struggle between you and temptation. You struggle against your lust, your vanity, your greed, your arrogance, your feelings of jealously, your ego, and much more. These are all within us. We all suffer from this ‘sickness’. And we struggle to overcome them as far as possible. And when we win that Jihad, the struggle against our own heart and mind, then we will be able to migrate or Hijrah to a new level.

The life of Buddha was all about this. Maybe they do not use words like Jihad and Hijrah. But the concept remains the same whatever words you may choose to use.

So, welcome to the Reformasi Movement. No, the Reformasi Movement is not about helping Anwar Ibrahim become the Prime Minister. This is too narrow a struggle. It is a meaningless struggle. The struggle of the Reformasi Movement is to change society. Only when society changes will we be allowed to change. And only when we are allowed to change will we achieve true Jihad and proper Hijrah as stipulated by Islam. Until then, Hijrah is merely a day we wake up late because we need not go to work that day. Other than that it is an absolutely meaningless day.

Understand the meaning of Hijrah
The Brunei Times

Dr Shayuthy Abdul Manas, a lecturer of Usuludin at Unissa, said that Hijrah is all about a change from bad to good and good to better. "Hijrah is a continuous process and occur throughout our lives therefore one should not focus to improve themselves on the first day of the 1st Muharram only."

What is the Hijrah?
WiseGEEK

Hijrah means migration. The Hijrah refers specifically to Muhammad’s flight from Mecca to Medina, which occurred in 622 CE. What is rarely mentioned is that the First Hijrah was to Abyssinia (Ethopia). The Muslims who were being prosecuted in Mecca were given permission by Prophet Muhammad to migrate to Abyssinia. Those Muslims who migrated were pursued and it was asked of the Negus to force the return of the Muslims. After questioning the Muslims, the Negus gave protection to the Muslims for as long as they stayed.

History of Hijrah
IslamiCity

After Muhammad had preached publicly for more than a decade, the opposition to him reached such a high pitch that, fearful for their safety, he sent some of his adherents to Ethiopia, where the Christian ruler extended protection to them, the memory of which has been cherished by Muslims ever since. But in Mecca the persecution worsened. Muhammad's followers were harassed, abused, and even tortured. At last, therefore, Muhammad sent seventy of his followers off to the northern town of Yathrib, which was later to be renamed Medina ("The City"). Later, in the early fall of 622, he learned of a plot to murder him and, with his closest friend, Abu Bakr al-Siddiq, set off to join the emigrants.

Hijrah, the turning point in Islamic history
Ibrahim B. Syed, Ph. D., President, Islamic Research Foundation International, Inc.

Hijrah, no doubt, kindled the light of hope in the hearts of the early Muslims who set a shinning example for all Muslims, in every generation, to emulate.

Hijrah, in essence, is a process of transfer to a better situation. It is not meant to find a comfortable place where one would relax and stop endeavour (attempt). Rather, it is a search for an environment more favourable to continuous and constructive effort. Immediately after reaching Madinah, the Prophet undertook an all-embracing process to establish a faithful and strong society. This is a significant aspect and important lesson to learn from Hijrah.

Hijrah is obligatory on Muslims if they are unable to practice their religion in the country they are living in or if they are facing serious persecution and find themselves unable to overcome them.

Comments (53)Add Comment
written by ibabonma, June 23, 2009 15:38:12
Banning me with unseen hands is surely no HIJRAH!

I am back after a layoff of more than 3 weeks. Reason being my login has been manipulated by invisible hands or to be precise “someone/something has been doing something where a user will mysteriously be "banned". We are wondering if we have a security breach at MT.”

What on earth! What I have done to invoke the displeasure of those bloody ‘someone/something’ to the extent of giving them the rights to a backdoor interference of my constitutional rights to speak in a democracy or use objectionable words directed at no body in particular?

It is because, I promoted for the world to hear the actual words spoken to me by an unfortunate woman, “Dia yang gilakan bini orang, dia kata kita pula ada penyakit gila babi.” (He was crazy of somebody’s wife; he accused me of having epilepsy instead). This was in respect of the M20 million matrimonial suits by a princess (now divorced) against a C4 specialist, a najis VVIP. (Regrettable indeed, of the entire notary, a shafted mamak lawyer, a hind fuc’*ker, was engaged by the Plaintiff but now he is a hench-man, running dog of the then ‘defendant’)

Or, is it because I and my family, even my youngest daughter, have been spiting at our TV for years whenever the image of the then Umno President (Mamak Kutty) was being shown on the screen but finally, after calling him names and spitting the entire decade, I now am addressing him more decently i.e. DR M? (Thanks to RPK for the transformation)

Or, is it because I have been too free in my usage of words, the likes of Umno celaka, the killer dog Najis, ‘dah ambil laki orang, macam tu la’ or ‘Nak ambil laki orang, bomoh, nak jadi PM pun main bomoh..”?

I have been vocal, yes, otherwise who will listen? But, who is to be blamed if not Umno haramjad*h for having robbed the ordinary Malays of their opportunities and messing up the Malays and my Malaysia for the last 52 years?

written by deathorses, June 23, 2009 15:41:26
i wonder whether this is the time of jahiliah or hijrah
written by eeyaw, June 23, 2009 15:45:31
G'Day!
A timely exile from tyranny to Down Under and the TRUTH sets us free!
written by Raja Petra, June 23, 2009 15:51:12
Dear ibabonma, those who can't differentiate between RIGHTS and PRIVILEGES should not be allowed the privilege to comment in Malaysia Today. You of course have the RIGHT to your views. But as for you being allowed to espouse those views in Malaysia Today, this is a PRIVILEGE.

Do you remember signing the 'agreement' before you were allowed commenting privileges? Many seem to forget that they were allowed privileges to comment with certain terms and conditions attached. You need not have accepted them. But once you do then you are bound by them. This fact seems to escape you.

By the way, your 'views' do not really add value to the discussion. Your comments are called maki-hamun. This is akin to cursing. You can curse if you want. That is your right. But it is also our right to refuse you the privilege to curse in Malaysia Today. After all, we are paying for the bandwidth and your comments cost us money. So they that pay the bill can make the decision.

Life sucks. But that is how it goes. The paymaster is always the boss. What more can I say?
agree 129
written by Oscar Winner, June 23, 2009 15:53:43
UMNO bigots want the whole Malaysia to reform and hijrah to their system under the 1Malaysia concept. Nice try. I will not be their partner in crime to humanity
written by san amin, June 23, 2009 15:59:42
Sorry Pete, I thought MASEHI is the gregorian calendar.
written by slash n burn, June 23, 2009 16:04:21
I know a pendatang hijrah from Kerala to Malaya years ago, he is known as the Evil Mahatahi who ruled the new found land like the Mahafiraun. Since then no sign of the senile devil going to hijrah again.
written by ibabonma, June 23, 2009 16:14:19
Yeah! Yeah Dear RPK, you are right there and it cost money for my cursing space but, it is an investment for more and more visitors are visiting us here; at times to go over our unpleasant comments. Anyway, for the last 52 years I cannot find any space for a public discourse. Only after 52 years I found one and suddenly, I become yet again an ‘angry-young-man' after a long frustration embarking on a political ‘HIJRAH’.
written by Joe, June 23, 2009 16:49:49
Good article.

Being non-muslim, I hv learnt quite a bit on Hijrah, thanks to your article.

Hopefully those who read this article will also identify with the strenghts of Islam, and the weaknesses of Muslims (Malays or otherwise), differntiate the two, not blame the former for the failures of the latter.

Being Hindu I can relate to the Hijrah concept. If the objective of the article was to educate me on Hijrah, in its true form(s) and to relate that my daily life should be guided by the concepts of Hijrah, then I beleive it has achieved its objective.

There are some, as I have read, who try to turn the website around and push their personal agenda. This cant be helped as there are many who have brought 3rd world mentality in cyber world. Evidence? Just refer to some of the comments.

Tho I'm not Muslim, I think I walk the same path guided by similar concepts propounded by Hijrah, as do other "true" muslims.

Kudaos to you RPK for a well written article.

written by Wisdom above, June 23, 2009 16:51:32
Your words 'sing' deeply into the Hearts and Bones of those who persecuted you.
Yet you are at Peace with yourself.
I respect your zeal to put things right.

"If you try to be different and refuse to participate in corruption you will find they can and will make life very difficult for you. Sometimes ‘uncooperative’ police officers are transferred out because they refuse to ‘join the gang’."

I can only do what some said is silly and stupid.
Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.
written by mypanida, June 23, 2009 17:09:18
I bet that the route of hijrah is being tolled as well and OSA'd.
written by michael, June 23, 2009 17:43:45
Interesting that you associate Jihad and Hijrah to Buddha's teaching. Sounds like Jihad which you translate to "struggle" is "suffering" in Buddhist terms. Buddha recognise that most human beings think that they are their mind, meaning their ego. In truth we are not our mind, but when we think we are, then Hello Suffering or Struggle (Jihad) as explained by RPK.

When you become fully aware that you are consciousness and are not your mind/ego, then you are "enlightened" - and so have fully "migrated" or "reformed" (Hijrah).

RPK, you must be an Enlightened Soul.

Cheers!
Michael
written by Tompios, June 23, 2009 17:47:17
Hijrah is also searching of self-fikrah in a new putrajaya.
written by arazak, June 23, 2009 17:58:52
Dear MT Readers,

If you want to know. . ., the true meaning of “Hijrah” for the UMNO/BN regime is; “last year plunder RM3.0 billion of the peoples’ money, this year RM12.5 billion, next year RM30 billion. . ., and so on”!

Their prophets are such persons as President Marcos, Robert Mugabe and Bernie Madoff! I think most of you would agree with this?
written by bambolero, June 23, 2009 18:00:13
The problem with the non muslim is that they do not want to read the quran. They believe that quran is related to Melayu. That's where they are wrong. Islam is unversal just read the english translation like any other story book at least for a start by Maulana Eusoff Ali.You can get it at any bookstore,Surprisingly chinese Singaporeans they read and they understand Americans read President Obama read and presidents before him read and they apply some of the contents to their people and country. I am not asking you to convert to Islam just read.
written by apa jadi, June 23, 2009 19:34:42
written by Raja Petra, June 23, 2009 15:51:12
....By the way, your 'views' do not really add value to the discussion. Your comments are called maki-hamun.....Life sucks. But that is how it goes. The paymaster is always the boss. What more can I say?

Have I missed something again?? Who owns MT now?

I read ibabonma's comments before. I think he is a reasonable guy. Why all these banning nowadays??
written by Dreamlander, June 23, 2009 20:06:27
Dear MT Readers,
Where in Malaysia can we find a conducive or sterile place to start practising Hijrah / Jihad / Reformasi?
Now that RPK has performed his own Hijrah, where can we go to in Malaysia if we opt to stay put but wish to change?
written by *********, June 23, 2009 20:41:19
Demonstrations against the Iranian regime was carried out by Iranians in cities around the World. Unfortunately, the Evil BN/Umno regime of Najib Razak called in Malaysia's own Baseeji, the Royal Malaysian Police, to tear gas Iranian students who were peacefully demonstrating. This just goes to show that there's nothing separating the despotic regimes in power in Tehran and Kuala Lumpur. It appears that the BN/Umno regime approves the brutality inflicted by Mullahs in Iran on her citizens. It appears that Malaysians especially the Evil BN/Umno regime go into denial whenever Muslims kill Muslims. Where is Khairy Jamaluddin and his thugs from Umno Youth? Where is PEWARIS, PERKASA, and ABIM? Why is the Evil BN/Umno regime not condemning the carnage in Iran. If it was a non Muslim regime doing this to Muslims, you can bet your top Dollar KJ and his gang of Thugs will be on the Streets screaming for blood. What a bunch of hypocrites...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by Rock, June 23, 2009 21:52:15
To hijrah should be our (muslims) objective if it refers to paradigm shift, improving bad to good then to a better situation. Like a normal task or operation, it needs a lot of preparation. It may take years to do it. Be it mental, spiritual, material or physical, it requires patience and determination to develop. But not many of us realize that hijrah is planned and deliberate, not a rash move based on a short-changed in life! It sounds like a defeatist whereas hijrah is meant for the subsequent winner - in military term hijrah can be connoted as tactical redeployment.. smilies/wink.gif
written by singam, June 23, 2009 22:04:09

You have answered a question that I asked on another thread - "If a person prays sincerely and is filled with the spirit of God, then how can he turn around and tolerate mungkar in his presence?"

I guess small-scale corruption could qualify as small-scale mungkar. And the poor honest policeman has no choice but to accept the wang haram from the bribe pool if he wants to keep his job and not be ostracised. Of course, after he gets the money, he could give it away to charity and his conscience would be clear. But that also calls for moral strength. Nevertheless, we should not simply whack him for being weak.

Now, if he (or any other civil servant) were actively involved in doing bad things like corrupting the Judiciary or killing innocent translators, we have the duty to whack him (and the others). But if he is just being weak, I suppose we should forgive him.

The problem is that such weakness tends to take over the person and the extent of his tolerating wrongdoings can gradually grow, even to the point where we could say he is actively doing bad things. So up to which point should we feel sorry for him and when do we start to whack him? I suppose each person has to determine his own tolerance limit.

BTW I like your explanation of hijrah. I like even better your quoting the Buddha as an example. I believe all religions, no matter how different they appear to be, actually converge as one gets closer to God. Some people may take offense at this statement. Hopefully they will grow in their own religion and reach the stage when they can appreciate the truth of it.

Peace.

written by deathorses, June 23, 2009 22:53:54
no hell below us above us its only sky...john lennon
written by Tompios, June 23, 2009 22:58:19
written by bambolero, June 23, 2009 18:00:13
"The problem with the non muslim is that they do not want to read the quran."
Dear Bambolero,
You are totally wrong. Non Muslim read quran more than Muslim. They do not care spending money subscribe Quran translation from Lahore, Pakistan. Why you think many Non-Moslems here in M2T are very knowledgeable the content passage of Quranic Kalimahs? The fact is, Muslims are the one do not want to read other religion books especially the Bible. Why? They think that the Bible is a corrupted books. In addition to that, Non-Moslems will get more exposure about Islam faith during primary and secondary school in Malaysia. Check the SPM results, who get the highest score for pengetahuan agama Islam's subjects? You will get surprised!!

written by Daryl, June 23, 2009 23:42:54
First time I ever come across bribery was when I went for my drivers license. I was asked if I want a guarantee pass but refuse it and have to sit for it twice. I know a lot of people think it is harmless but that is where all these started and now is a mess. My believe as a Christian stopped me from offering bribes or to give in into giving one. If we all practive that I bet my money our civil servants will think twice but sad to say our society always want to get thing fast through bribery. Off course the civil servants action push people to do that as well.
written by Admiral Tojo, June 24, 2009 00:20:21
Our Government, Judiciary, police should HIJRAH from being corrupt, bigoted, racist and plundering to that of an equitable, transparent and trustworthy one. HIJRAH now, I challenge you Najib.

written by chiongguo, June 24, 2009 00:31:52
Before Buddha gained enlightenment he was protected by his father. His whole life was filled with gratifying his senses and his father made sure that he will never see old age, sickness, sufferings and death. And yet fate had it that he did saw all these and was very much disturbed by it. This was the start of his hijrah. And his trying to find the answers to the myriad questions that plagued him daily was a struggle, an inner jihad that gave birth to an inner longing to find the truth - the truth that will enable him to break free from this endless cycle of sufferings.

His journey took him 6 years and even after struggling with all his desires he finally managed to survive on one grain of rice a day. His ascetic practice was so severe that all sense desires were absent and yet he could not find this illusive happiness. Just as he was about to have his last breath sujata gave him some milk and he was partially revived. He came to an insight that living a life filled with sense gratification did not bring about happiness and neither did a life of ascetism whereby all sense desires were destroyed. The answer did not lie with the senses.

After nursing to health by sujata Buddha took the vow that he will not rise from his meditation until he found the answer to his quest. This was the final jihad battle he had vowed to fight. When he was about to succeed mara and his minions came out to subvert his path but he defeated all of them. Right before his mind's eyes he saw countless lives, countless jihad and hijrah and in early dawn he had a liberating insight and was filled with divine bliss. He had reached mecca.

The answer he found was the middle way. It is not satisfying or denying the senses(which included the intellect) but have space in one's heart for both. The mutual arising of happiness and sufferings self-annihilate when there exist within the space in our heart. If we exclude one and preferred the other we set ourselves up for sufferings that will inevitably follow.

written by tenang, June 24, 2009 00:53:19
The life of Buddha was all about this. Maybe they do not use words like Jihad and Hijrah. But the concept remains the same whatever words you may choose to use.

In Buddhism, a frequently used phrase is "crossing the river to the other side", which has the closest meaning to "Hijrah". In one of the most revered Buddishm scripture called Heart Sutra, there is a mantra at the end calling for such transformation:

"Gate! Gate! Pramita Gate!",

which is translated as "Go! Go! Go cross the river to the other side".

Having say that, there are experience shared by all human beings about the place of politic and religion. That experience is crystalized by the concept of "separation of states and churches", where the "churches" could be understood as any religion institutions. That separation, or wall, is the best safeguard of freedom of religion/faith among common people. The separation is the best safeguard because the politicians are kept at bay from monopolizing faith/religion by that wall, and every politician is required to show his real nature and character through his/her action and words without quoting from any scriptures. That is the "wall" that keeps the sanity between political establishment and personal religion/faith.

Political leaders are already very powerful with their control on state institutions, we must not allow them to have also monopolized religion matters. I do admire and appreciate your above article as far as its spiritual aspect of it. Knowing MT being a political activist site, I just feel the need to affirm our commitment to keep politicians outside the realm of religion institutions and its in-depth discussion.

written by onnyap, June 24, 2009 01:28:44
We have "born again Christian" for a Christian who has repented.
I have never come across the labeling "born again Muslim".
Is it Muslims have never commit any sins or no one has repented yet?
written by Raja Petra, June 24, 2009 02:05:50
Dear apa jadi, to answer your question, for sure it is not you.
written by macakmy, June 24, 2009 02:11:43
"If you try to be different and refuse to participate in corruption you will find they can and will make life very difficult for you. Sometimes ‘uncooperative’ police officers are transferred out because they refuse to ‘join the gang’."

How true... But, not only in the police force. Another way out is to resign. That was my Hijrah. I do miss my paycheck and the security it brought me but my conscience and integrity is much dearer to me... Hopefully a new government will ensure that others will not have to make that choice.
written by Rhan, June 24, 2009 08:02:56

Not sure if yours writing is a response to Lance Wong’s letter. I did write something but didn’t post it as I recall LChuah comment on not to belittle anyone (with decent intention?) and anyway, I do not have the astute skill to put forward my thought as what you did. Glad you write in a simple form that most people could easily digest.

There are probably 80% of Malaysian don’t directly taking or giving bribe and persist the same stand all his life, the problem is he might be one who never bother to vote or don’t even register as voter.

Looking forward that there are more and more people who understand that change on oneself might not be a good and only solution, we must identify what to change and how to change it, and when. 2014?
written by mamak, June 24, 2009 10:07:20
The struggle of the Reformasi Movement is also to CHANGE our way of life.
Change from BAD to GOOD.
written by confuseus, June 24, 2009 10:20:59
Please visit the new Corporate Activist at
www.masliberators2009.********.com/
because it starts from your pocket and leads all the way to Putrajaya.
Time for us to put economy above politics and stop the annual RM20 billions leakages.

TQ.
written by confuseus, June 24, 2009 10:23:55
http://masliberators2009.********.com/

eh, leads pun kena censored ka ?
written by Conan Chung, June 24, 2009 10:31:02
I've recently seen a movie called "I corrupt all cops". Its a story about 1960-70s in Hong Kong where the police was corrupt as well. Scenes include gangsters killing people in the streets while cops where bribed to look the other way; protection money was paid to gangsters and police by petty street vendors and big businesses alike; people were randomly "picked off" the street as scapegoat for crimes they never commit; detainees beaten to hell by police to force a confession; and one of the top police commissioner is also the gangster lord.

It seems the movie is all about how evil triumphs while the good and innocent suffer at the hands of those in power, with little hope for rebound. But then the gangster lord went of and tick off a big-shot official from England and soon formed the ICAC... Independent Commission Against Corruption. Although the ICAC when formed faced a lot of threats and assaults (including assassination) by the corrupt cops; in the end, they managed to "persuade a confession" from the ring leaders.

Well, i'm not here to write a movie review but i wanted to say from what i know, any 'changes' to current system must come from "an equally powerful external entity".

Change will not come from within our current establishment. The current police force, the government civil servants, the politicians, the crime-lords, the judges, the big-shot businessmens (gov. contracts) are all interconnected in perpetuating the culture of corruption, big-spending on white buffaloes, incompetency, crime and whatnot. Even if half the police force is "good", they are most probably helpless when it comes to a "coup de tat" of the current establishment. They might not "actively" participate in abetting crime but you can't expect help from them; after all they have a rice bowl to protect. To me, the only way out from the "current Malaysia" is to establish an entity powerful enough to bring about reforms throughout the country. Can you expect UMNO to bring about such change? Do you think they will wake up one day and declare, "Ok, I'm gonna stop my corrupt ways and 'Hijrah' to a better person so i'm gonna give back these hundreds of millions i took from my "unhealthy" ways to the people." You would had a better chance of striking a RM20 million lottery.

As far as i see it, the only hope we got is in Pakatan Rakyat. It might not be what we really want but its all we got so far. Beggars can't be choosers right?
But i foresee a dramatic change in how this country is run after a new gov. is formed. There will be a lot of blood-spilling and pain caused but its all for the better good. Short pain now better than long excruciating pain in the future.
After PR, they will be a rise of even more political parties and that my friend is where we'll find our savior. But lets concentrate on getting PR on track and making sure they don't "convert" into another BN.
written by Fairminded, June 24, 2009 11:27:52
Dear Bamolero. I had to disagree with you that non Muslims do not want to read or understand Islam. I have had no problem walking into a church, Hindu temple, Sikh temple, Buddist temple, taoist temple etc and talk to the care takers there be it priest, nuns, monks etc as long as I follow their rules - like taking off shoes etc, but whenever I tried to go into a mosque I will be stopped because I am a kafir and cannot be allowed to enter. How can you propagate the wisdom of Islam if your place of whorship? The moment I ask a question about the koran the mullah will be hysterical and instead of trying to explain to me will jump on me for insulting Islam. It takes two to tango. I suggest that the muslims themselves should be more open and to project an image of love and tolerance for non believers like other religion and I am sure non muslims will love to learn more about Islam.
written by Fairminded, June 24, 2009 11:29:58
Sorry for a ta typo error - the sentence should be ending as "---if your place of whorship is not open to those who do not understand Islam and wish to learn more?"
written by densemy, June 24, 2009 11:35:19
I just love the way you muslims can procrastinate ad infinitum over some abstract arabic term when in the long run all the decisions you reach are either obligatory mandatory or compulsory

The end result is a huge amount of mindless waffle on the interpretation/translation of certain words meanwhile you all go ahead and ignore the real issues. Burying your head in the sand is an english term. What's the arabic for that???

The Malaysia you see falling apart around you is the Malaysia created to a large degree by muslims and their adherence or non-adherence to the principles of Islam

... and still you will debate endlessly and fill the pages of MT with your mindless waffle
written by Aria, June 24, 2009 13:59:53
Yes, RPK you a right as usual, corruption is very bad in Malaysia, but we all know that. Corruption is destroying the wealth of Malaysia, but we all know that. Suppressing the people under the disguise of race and/or religion is stagnating the country, we all know that. Until the formation of PKR we did not have a good enough opposition that could be trusted to take over BN to run the country. Finally, there seems to be a party (PKR) that is better than BN, that the Rakyat is beginning/trying to trust. PKR is definitely not the best, but it is better than BN. The Rakyat of Malaysia that have been corrupted by BN will not change and they will keep voting BN. We have to find the undecided voters and the people who believe that ‘all politicians are corrupt’, so no point voting and make them vote for PKR. After PKR wins the next elections, the following election the Rakyat will choose the next best party and that may even be BN. The fear of change within the Rakyat of Malaysia is very strong and they may just be happy with BN not having 2/3 majority again in the next elections. The uncorrupted Rakyat who see that change is the only way forward must try to convert all those fence sitters, undecided, the too busy people who cannot find the time to vote. We have to educate them just like how RPK is trying to educate us how important change is to Malaysia. The only problem is that the MT readers need not be converted, as we all in majority of cases agree with RPK. What must we do to help Malaysia make that change? How can we help? There are people who are trying to attract attention to the problems of BN by demonstrating, but are there more things we can do. We can learn from what is happening in Iran today. The internet and mobile phone technology and demonstrations cannot make a change to the country unless the majority of the Rakyat really want that change.
written by Alice, June 24, 2009 14:29:53
Hiii RPK ,glad to hear from you. May God's blessings be upon you for all your sacrifice. True followers normally face a lot of hardship but live very meaningful lives. I am sure you are living a difficult yet rich,fruitful life. Take care
written by kukamelon, June 24, 2009 15:52:30
About bribery, I too am finding it difficult due to our Malaysian culture. Being a born again Christian, Bible says it's wrong to give bribes. But if I don't give, I definately won't get the business. I have lost many business opportunities because I had refused to give bribes.
And those who are giving bribes are staying in big houses and driving expensive cars... But I am still driving an average car and staying in a terrace house...
written by bambolero, June 24, 2009 22:34:56
Dear Tomplos, I fully agree with you that it is the attitude and personality of some muslim which gives non muslim a very bad impression of the religion that they practice. But Islam is a very beautiful religion, in fact in all religion they have good people and bad people.Like when I went to Bali I was asking the tour guide why is that they cover the trunk of the tree with a sarong checked in black and white and the significant for that. He told me that first the Balinese people respect nature and regarding the sarong checked black and white he says black and white meaning good and bad black meaning no good and white meaning good its balance and not all people good and not all people bad.
written by bambolero, June 24, 2009 23:10:55
Dear Fairminded, my above statement is also a respond to your comment. Cheers !!
written by bambolero, June 24, 2009 23:18:55
Dear Gargamel, my above statement is also a rspond to your comment. Cheers !!
written by Fairminded, June 25, 2009 13:19:41
Dear Bombolero, I fully agree with you that there are good and bad practitioners in any religion. As a muslim perhaps you can enlightened me whether a non muslim like me can enter the mosque? I am interested to find out more (comparative religion is my interest) but I was told by my muslim friends or guardians of mosques at the gates that only I convert then I will be allowed. Otherwise no way. Is it true? Any muslim friends out there can enlightened me on this point?
written by bambolero, June 25, 2009 13:43:29
Dear Fairminded, Islam is a beautiful religion it is the people that make it difficult. During the time of the Prophet Muhammad a group of Christian traders who asked permission from the prophet to sleep in the mosque, the prophet Muhammad may the peace of Allah and Blessing upon him invited them into the mosque for a number of days before they continue with their journey.Any body can pay a visit at any Mosque it is sometimes fanatics that make it difficult.Most muslims are friendly if you visit places like Morocco, Eqypt Libya and many more countries.
written by steviewonger, June 25, 2009 13:55:46
Dear Pete, there is a statement from a lecturer fom Unissa said that hijrah is changing from bad to good and good to better.
But does it also plays a roll in the other way round i.e. good to bad and bad to worst, just like what's happening in our present gomen.
These politicians(paid by taxpayers) are using our hard earned money for their own gains. This is an absurb and needs to be eradicated.
I just hope the word HIJRAH would sets everybody mentality and physically into changes from bad to good, good to better and lastly better to best where MALAYSIA can and will become one nation, one race.
written by Gargamel, June 25, 2009 16:20:57
Bambolero, I agree. Malay Muslims are much more fanatic than Muslims elsewhere. Salah siapa?