Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Why BN will forever remain in power, unless it loses control of East Malaysia

Why BN will forever remain in power, unless it loses control of East Malaysia PDF Print
Monday, 22 June 2009 16:00

I would even dare bet that Pakatan Rakyat has a good chance of winning 95 seats against Barisan Nasional’s 71. This means Barisan Nasional needs to win at least 50 seats from Sabah and Sarawak to form the federal government with a minimum of 121 seats. That would give Barisan Nasional a nine-seat margin over the 112 required to form the federal government.

Umno Youth Must Ensure Sabah Remain BN's "Fixed Deposit" - Salleh

PAPAR, June 22 (Bernama)
-- Sabah Umno Youth must play a vital role in ensuring that Sabah remained Barisan Nasional's (BN) "fixed deposit" assets, said Sabah Umno deputy liaison chairman Datuk Seri Salleh Tun Said.

The state Umno Youth have a major responsibility to play in ensuring the trust of the people, especially the youth, and also to ensure that the party remained relevant.

The former Chief Minister said in any organisation, only one leader can lead and administer and not two or more, so that the organisation can be a strong team.

"In an organisation there must be a leader with caliber so as to lead Umno's struggles and strengthen the party. This is where Umno Youth can play a major role," he told reporters after closing an Umno Youth workshop in Kinarut, near here Monday.

"Sabah youths must be inspired, innovative, knowledgeable and most importantly, brave to face the challenges ahead. If we remained with the old mindset, there won't be any room to accept changes and that will be meaningless to the party's struggle."

Salleh who is also Kota Belud Umno division chief said Umno Youth must remain the pillars of the party, especially when facing uncertainty and challenges in politics and economy.

When Sabah and Sarawak teamed up with Malaya and Singapore to form Malaysia (yes, that’s right, Sabah and Sarawak did not JOIN Malaysia) it was with certain terms and conditions attached. Some may have heard of the 20-point agreement but not many may have actually read it. I suppose the same goes for the Merdeka agreement prior to independence in August 1957 or the ‘Social Contract’ that binds the very delicate fabric of Malaysian society.

This is probably the trouble with most Malaysians. They know certain words or phrases. They throw these words and phrases around. But not many know the concept behind these words or phrases. We have had the Look East Policy, the Buy British Last policy, Malaysia Incorporated, 1Malaysia, the New Economic Policy, Ketuanan Melayu, the ‘Social Contract’, and whatnot. We have all heard of them. But what do they all mean?

The 20-Point Agreement is another that many Malaysians can liberally quote but very few have actually read what it says. Even the police and Peninsular Malaysia politicians do not understand it. For example, if a Sabah politician were to say that the state should pull out of Malaysia and become the Independent Republic of Sabah, the federal leaders and the police would scream treason and rush over to Kota Kinabalu to arrest that Sabah politician under the Internal Security Act.

Is it treason? Or is it when Sabah and Sarawak teamed up with Malaya to form Malaysia it had been agreed that these two East Malaysian states could later leave the Federation of Malaysia if they find it untenable, but it must be done through a certain manner -- like holding a Referendum first and successfully getting the minimum number of votes required?

No, it is not treason. It is provided for in the agreement when Sabah and Sarawak first sat down to discuss the possibility of forming a new country called Malaysia. The only thing is it must be done according to the method agreed upon. The Chief Minister can’t wake up one morning and just announce that Sabah is no longer part of Malaysia and is now an independent republic.

But will Umno allow Sabah and Sarawak to leave Malaysia even if it is legally allowed? Would Dr Jeffrey Kitingan, again, be detained under the Internal Security Act if, again, he makes a statement saying that Sabah should leave Malaysia? The answer is ‘no’ to the first and ‘yes’ to the second. Umno will never allow Sabah and Sarawak to leave Malaysia and they will certainly detain without trial anyone who suggests so.

Why are Sabah and Sarawak so important to Malaysia, other than the fact they have plenty of oil and other natural resources which we can plunder? Well, Sabah and Sarawak must at all times hold 25% of the total number of parliament seats. Currently, out of 222 parliament seats, East Malaysia has 56 -- that is 31 from Sarawak and 25 from Sabah.

For all intents and purposes, Sabah and Sarawak hold the key to federal power and are the ‘Kingmakers’. Ever wonder why Barisan Nasional politicians regard Sabah and Sarawak as the ruling coalition’s ‘fixed deposit’? They are not ashamed of this and make no apologies for it. In fact, they brazenly say so openly.

In the last general election on 8 March 2008, the opposition -- meaning DAP here -- won just one parliament seat in Sabah and another in Sarawak. Barisan Nasional retained 54 seats in both states.

Nationwide, Barisan Nasional won 140 seats in total while the opposition won 82. But if we minus the 54 seats from East Malaysia, Barisan Nasional won only 86 seats against the opposition’s 80 (also if we minus the two DAP seats in Sabah and Sarawak). Now, however, since the Kuala Terengganu by-election, it is 85 Barisan Nasional versus 81 Pakatan Rakyat.

Can you see how crucial Sabah and Sarawak are to Barisan Nasional? In the next general election Barisan Nasional may win less seats than Pakatan Rakyat in Peninsular Malaysia. I would even dare bet that Pakatan Rakyat has a good chance of winning 95 seats against Barisan Nasional’s 71. This means Barisan Nasional needs to win at least 50 seats from Sabah and Sarawak to form the federal government with a minimum of 121 seats. That would give Barisan Nasional a nine-seat margin over the 112 required to form the federal government.

Nine seats is not a very large margin. But if Pakatan Rakyat increases its seats in Peninsular Malaysia from 81 to 95, then Barisan Nasional will need Sabah and Sarawak even more than before. However, Barisan Nasional will need to win at least 50 of the 56 seats in East Malaysia. If it wins only 40 seats instead of 50, then Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat would be locked in an ‘hung parliament’ with 111 seats each.

Not very good for political stability is it?

Comments (76)Add Comment
written by ChandraJ, June 22, 2009 16:11:43
Sabah and Sarawak as BN's Fixed Deposit?
Surely BN is aware that even major banks in the US would have gone bust save for the bail-outs. Now, what if the FD in East Malaysia goes bust in GE13?
agree 137
written by Ken Liew, June 22, 2009 16:14:58
You will see How many SEAT will appear in Saban/Sarawak...... Cos this is the only they will get stand a chance of winning Next GE~!

And We will once again see, HOW DIRTY THEY WILL.... and HOW SPR standing with BN morons.
written by Oscar Winner, June 22, 2009 16:17:40
My East-Malaysian brothers and sisters,

I heard that both your leaders are sick. The white-haired one looks frail and cadaverous, while the other one has tumour. They have amassed enough wealth to last their next 5 generations or more.

It's time we wrapped up this chapter. Kick them out in the next GE. Embrace change for the sake of our progeny. High time you woke up!!
agree 257
written by justice, June 22, 2009 16:20:40
Dear Sabahans and Sarawakians, PLEASE WAKE UP and VOTE OUT UMNO-BN once and forever!!

agree 245
written by panca, June 22, 2009 16:28:10
I don't mind travelling and love visiting another country.

Dr. Jeffrey and Mr SKY, can I come to your countries now to see the 'Rainforests' that has been gang-raped over the half a century?

The poor babi-hutans and many other animals too were also deprived off because of these rapists go scot free!

Did you guys vote them to rape you?

written by vaistlin, June 22, 2009 16:29:06
Sabah has their 20 points agreement while Sarawak has 18. Unsurprisingly, nobody of concern have publicize it, so I don't blame the people for not knowing. Somebody 'forgot' to mention them in the history books.

I've found the one for Sabah in Wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/20-point_agreement_(Sabah) but I've yet to find the ones for Sarawak. I'm the process of searching the 18 Points Agreement for Sarawak and at the current status, still unable to find it.

I'm a sarawakian and being unable to find and read the Sarawakian Agreement is a shame.

If anyone knew them or knows where to find it, I'll appreciate it if you can share.
written by hiiijack, June 22, 2009 16:29:48
Yes,you're 100% corect.Is scary rigth,I really hope and pray hard that this won't happen in the next GE but the power of 'all rakyat prayers'will change it otherwise.Remember bro. keep praying.
written by Urangsabah, June 22, 2009 16:59:08
As for Sabah, if the geniune Sabahan, definitely UMNOed BN would be out.....but with the project IC Mahathir, I would see it very difficult to unseat UMNO in Sabah.

So PR, maybe it time to pick up on this issue, as Najip, though Head the committee of PTIs in Sabah..........nothing is happening
written by SimpleSoul, June 22, 2009 16:59:13
No East malaysian will never vote for Pakatan... they are just scared.. they might be 'bomoh ed'. Call themeselves head hunters konon. Just to put a X on the ballot paper also takut. Keep losing out, with the land, logs and oil being syphoned away by crooks. And sabah will remain poor. I hear stories at mothers in sabah feed thier new born with condensed milk(susu pekat manis) and sometimes water. guess where there money is all going...when will East Malaysians will ever dare wake up.
written by Running Sardines, June 22, 2009 17:01:23
My friend, it was told they play dirty in the GE over there. The PTIs are given MyKads to vote while the orang kampung were 'transferred' to vote in another village, which few will make the trip. And don't forget the amazing number of postal votes for the soldiers and police that are from West Malaysia but stationed in East Malaysia. Just look at the number of opposition votes in East Malaysia especially in urban areas and you see the same pattern as in West Malaysia. For those at rural areas, even David Copperfield will be amazed at the magic the BeEnd used ... so please don't blame blindly on the East Malaysian for the result of the last GE.
written by Loh, June 22, 2009 17:08:53
Sabah should go back to history and join Brunei for Malay unity. It would solve its poverty poblems with people enjoying Brunei's standard of living and her strong currency.
written by Melly, June 22, 2009 17:26:31
Sabahans did it once under PBS, they can do it again. What is needed is good leadership, organisation and tell Sabahans how to solve the Project IC's, fair sharing of wealth, economic well being, uplifting of poverty, freedom of religion, mutual respect/partnership,but, it has to be put into place,like NOW, and BN will be Humpty Dumpty.
written by sara, June 22, 2009 17:28:03
Can any one publish :
1.20-point agreement
2.The Merdeka agreement prior to independence in August 1957 or the ‘Social Contract’
3.Our Sacred constitution of Malaysia prior to 1957 or the original constitution during independent.
Thank You.
written by Richfyf, June 22, 2009 17:28:58
Well Pete Now that you have made it clear to BN, I am sure with the election comission will announce new palimentary seats for sabah and sarawak to 80 seat each before the next GE.

Darn Pete why did you let the cat out of the bag,

Cheers and God Speed RPK
written by mick_err_stan, June 22, 2009 17:36:00
There are many Malaysian who complaint about the government but are not registered voters. They will make loud comments but lack the will to make a difference. They do not commit themselves whole heatedly to seek change and to exercise they voting right to choose a better government.

When push comes to shove, they will eschew that which is complex, contradictory or confusing. Instead most will surrender their right to vote with reasoning that votes are rigged, so what's the point. The point is you can make a difference. You can influence your family & friends by telling the them the injustice and the corruptions, where billions of Rakyat money have been siphoned and unaccounted for. Your vote is the essential first step to right the injustice and to stop the corruptions. Please exercise your right and vote for a better future for all Malaysian comes GE13.
written by Kathy, June 22, 2009 17:51:32
Maybe a PAS/UMNO unity govt. would do the trick. There are already rumblings in Sarawak, from George Chan of SUPP no less, that they are opposed to a race-based, or worse religion-based, government. What about the other component parties of BN in West Malaysia? I wonder what they are thinking. Has anyone heard any rumblings?
written by slash n burn, June 22, 2009 17:52:16
You are right RPK.
Joining Malaya is the greatest blunder of all. Sultan Brunei is the smartest here, otherwise he will end up under Rosmah's butt too. Sabah & Sarawak do not need racist Malaya to develope but the other around is true. Natural resources plundered to feed the lazy UMNO and the 9 fat free riders which explains why the high rate of poverty especially in Sabah. Not to mention pendatang mamak Mahatahi dishing ICs to terrorist. Why voting for BN is mind-boggling.
written by educationist, June 22, 2009 17:53:20
If that be the case, one must ask what the BN is doing right in Sabah and Sarawak.
If the PR can't penetrate these 2 states come the next general elections, well, we who harbour hopes for a more civil, fair, just and democractic society will just have to wait some more!!
written by wass, June 22, 2009 17:53:41
Dear PKR,
Honour the 20-point Agreement when Malaya, Singapore, Sabah and Sarawak together formed Malaysia. Ignore the 20 points: then the result will be known.
written by malsia1206, June 22, 2009 18:05:45
This boils down essentially to a matter on race (again). In Sarawak, the last GE results showed the Chinese in the urban areas had turned to the Opposition in a big way. But the Malays and the Ibans are still supporting PPB and SPDP and their race-dominated parties. In Sabah, the influx of foreigners having Malaysian citizenship had tipped the scale for UMNO. Dirty game, dirty votes. Sabah and Sarawak are slow to awaken. And they are equally responsible for bringing this Nation down with their continued support for Barisan. When will they ever learn?
written by rizzku, June 22, 2009 18:27:58
BN most potent enemy now is the educated and self sufficient people. Until we have more people like that in Sabah and Sarawak, BN will rule. I guess, we can safely say that most people there are STUPID AND DEPENDENT.
written by hiro, June 22, 2009 18:50:49
The prospects of a hung parliament is very very real. Pakatan must do all to reach the people of Sabah and Sarawak. If neither newspapers nor internet can help, perhaps other means of reaching out may be necessary. Perhaps communal satelite television, or a quasi-pyramid marketing scheme, should be considered.
written by Urangsabah, June 22, 2009 18:53:32
Friend, U r totally wrong, in 1985, despite Mamakthir Famous Quote " I will Swim or Sink With Berjaya" PBS swept BN out of Power But what happen after Sabah Suffered at the Hands UMNOed Mamathir. In 1990, again PBS side with Tengku, but Semangat lost.again Sabahan Suffered.Today we are still suffering.No one help us.To Maintained Power, Project IC Mamaktir came to.If need be Sabahan can rise but with Project IC, from a population 600k in 1970, in about 39 years 2009 the population of Sabah stand at 3.4 million. If 2 miilion vote for UMNOed BN, and the 1.8 million are scatter all over the place, till kingdom come, UMNO will be in power.Hope PR would be able to right the wrong done to Sabah.
Read this [url= Sabah]http://www.dailyexpress.com.my/news.cfm?NewsID=43757]Sabah Population
written by No nonsense, June 22, 2009 19:01:38
We in west malaysia has woke -up in 2008 but it seem that the Sabahans and Sarawakians are still dreaming. It is high time to wake up and see what the Bn gorv., is doing . Once you see the picture you will not want Bn anymore. Dont let them do what they did to us in west malaysia. It will be too late if you brothers and sisters dont act from now. East malaysians will be raped and robbed before you know it. Stop dreaming that it will not happen to you people cause it will be very very late. Save your States and vote Bn out. Giving one or two ministers post to you guys you feel damn happy about it. Bn is giving you guys some sweetener but will stuck a bitter gall down your throat once they get what they want. Want justice? Join PR.
written by rizzku, June 22, 2009 19:11:56
Yah.. yah.. preach on guys. Most of the comments seem like 'screaming' to the Sabahan and Sarawakian. Dont you know that the Sabahan & Sarawakian 'reader' of MT are already in PR. Those people who do not have electricity, do not understand english (and forget about computer and internet) who need your screaming. They hear nothing from you .....
written by C360, June 22, 2009 19:31:03
There will not be a hung parliament when the time comes ... it is already over for Umno/BN in Peninsular, over-optimistic? ... and only one state in East Malaysia needs to be LIBERATED ...
written by *********, June 22, 2009 19:37:23
Time for Kadazandusuns and Dayaks to wake up. Now they can't even call God Allah. Kick BN out before you lose your kland, your culture, your faith and your identity to BN/Umno...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by ganbing, June 22, 2009 19:38:57
You think the native parties in East Malaysia love Umno's overbearing dominance? They have no firm loyalties to BN unlike the subservient Peninsula parties like MCA, MIC, Gerakan and PPP.

Expect some political realignment of whole parties unless BN wins an overwhelming majority of seats. PBS is a likely one. It has been cheated, abused and forced to join BN.

It didn't happen in 2008 because:
1) 58 seats difference between BN and PR is too great.
2) The results took everybody by surprise.
3) PR wasn't form until weeks after the election.
4) By then politicians were already comfortable in their govt positions.

MCA, MIC, Gerakan & PPP will sink or swim with BN. They have such a slave mentality that they can't imagine a life without their master.
written by roggon, June 22, 2009 20:06:36
Sabah is umno's fd. That's right and it will probably stay like that for a very long time unless we can get rid of the illegal fillipinos and bugis whom are the real kingmaker. majority kdm and chinese didnot vote for BN except for some stupid district like penampang, keningau and tambunan.And those illegals' children are now enjoying school facilities, university placements and ptptn facilities courtesy of sabah govt. What we should do is send these illegal morons to their hometowns and if they ever return,,just sink their boats!!! simple...
written by MalayMail, June 22, 2009 20:15:54
Dato Harris sold the whole Labuan island to FT under BN, wonder when Sabahan is going to wake up?
Don't ever give the politician to much power for them to decide whatever they want without consider the voters rights!
written by lynn, June 22, 2009 20:22:34
Giving ICs or MyKad to all these foreigners was a very serious act of treason.

Why are you umno malays keeping quiet abt it? It is treason, you idiots.

Scream, umno youth! Shout, protest, display banners. Why you think the Indons consider you flers abang adik? They don't. In fact, some Indons had said in private, Indonesia would attack Malaysia someday and take over this country. Come on, morons, scream treason!!!!!!!!!!!
written by Tompios, June 22, 2009 20:28:09
Hey!! you west Malaysians, do not be so ignorant about Sabah. Sabah in day dreaming? Palui! Where were you guys when Sabah suffered alone to fight UMNO and Barisan National? You west Malaysians just a baby that born yesterday. Sick!!
written by Urangsabah, June 22, 2009 20:31:55
Buss kau ni babal bah, kamiurang suda bangun 1985, kau masi mimpi.Kamiurang Sabah kana tindas, Urang masam kau NO Nonsense sakap sia tau.Loosely translate, We in sabah Woke in 1985, when we threw Mamakthir Berjaya.what did Sabah get, we got bombed, we got PTI Malaysianised & Bumiutraised by UMNO.

So No Nonsense do la patronised us Sabahan,when you don't even know where Limbang is?Would it be better if you help us like making better infrastructure like schools, hospital, roads, power supplies and getting rid of the Malaysianised & Bumiputranised PTIs.In short we want the same thing kick UMNO & all UMNOed Allies out.
written by MalayMail, June 22, 2009 20:39:07
Say whatever you like bottomline is most of the voters are very angry because the whole country can be control by barely 3 persons under BN!

1. PM (Not me, I can swear on quran!)
2. IGP (PR? Tangkap saja!)
3. AG (BN? Case Close)

So... The CHANGE surely come!
written by sorosapril, June 22, 2009 21:00:49
come next election, BN will still win the parliament seats, all they have to do is increase the numbers of seats in Sabah and Sarawak and keep the status quo in Peninsular knowing very well they will lose badly in Peninsular Malaysia.

Next, bring in a lot of Philipino and Indonesias and give them the ICs required and allow them to vote.

It will be interesting to do an analysis and find out for the last 10 years, how many voters of certain races have increased.

it used to be 1/3 each for Sabah for kadazan, chinese and muslim, nowadays, the combination of kadazan and chinese seats will not be able to outnumber the so called muslims seat.
written by bujangsenang, June 22, 2009 21:22:13
Don't blame east malaysia. The rural folks don't give a damn who runs the country. Even if Obama becomes PM does not matter. The folks still hunt and plant for a living. They will not suddenly have high rise condo if PR becomes government. Election time is just a bonus.

How then to win over the east?

PR wins by more than 56 in the west. Then you'll see the prince charmings turn katak. That's the only hope I looking forward to. Don't count on the east malaysian rural folks.

But then if a 20 years old opposition MP can turn katak, there would be a whole new species of katak in Malaysia if PR were to win by slightly more than 56 in west malaysia.

That my friends is how the east is won. Get your butts off that chair and start working for a 56 seat majority in West Malaysia.
written by jonestation, June 22, 2009 22:04:10
Some of my friends never registered as voter.
A few of my friends who work as public servant, dare not registered themselve as voter, they scared the rulling party will trace them back and there goes their carer or promotion in future, so they said the secure way is not to register at all.
I consider this dudes are out of my friend list, i can't force them to register as voter but i can definately choose not to mix around ignorant people who didn't even give a sh*t about their responsible as citizen.

Most likely, the "IC" for Indonesian and Philipinos are already in process by now, It would be too late for them to "generate" the IC when the GE is near. Pakatan Rakyat, you got to work your ass out in East Malaysia. We are living the history!

written by mikewang, June 22, 2009 22:25:29
What is a United MalaysNational Organisation doing in Sabah?
The Muruts and Bajaus are not Malays.
In ethnicity, they have more in common with the Filipinos than Malays.

They will wake up, one day.
written by Taiping60, June 22, 2009 22:39:13
I am not worry. By next general election, the reform fever will reach Sabah and Sarawak. In fact, for this last GE, it only reach all the nothern state and Selangor. Pahang, Trengganu. Malacca and Negri Sembilan were partially affected and Johore almost not affected at all and so were Sabah and Sawarak.

However, by next GE all Malaysians will be ready for the reform and change in the government. Believe me, the sabahans and sarawakians are with Malaysians in Peninsular Malaysia. They were victims too. They were equally frustrated with corruption and racism.

written by Taiping60, June 22, 2009 22:48:26
Sabahfan,

I totally agree with you. That was the reason I keep reminding all Malaysians not just complain about BN but make sure all turn out in full force to change the government. It is a shame that we keep complaining about how bad BN was but keep returning to power in every general election.

Sabahan and Kelantanese are the brave one. We in peninsular failed them. We must not fail again. Together, all Malaysians regardless of race and religion, should and must vote out BN in the next general election. This is the only way to get rid of all those corrupted, inefficient and racism politicians and administrators.

So friends from Kelantan and Sabah, sorry for not doing our part. We will not fail you this time. So we urge, Sarawakians and every one in Peninsular Malaysia to come out to vote for change and vote for reform in the next general election.
written by GoMalaysian.********.Com, June 22, 2009 23:27:18
Yes, to control Malaysia, Pakatan Rakyat should win most of the Sabah and Sarawak seat!

the 1st step is they must cooperate but not like last time, they against each other in some seat!

Then, they should show to the Rakyat of East Malaysia that they are ready to form a government!
written by miwaki, June 22, 2009 23:39:36
People in Sabah and Sarawak should take this opportunity to get rid of UMNO/BN so that their lives would be better after the fall of UMNO/BN in Malaysia.Sabah and Sarawak have been marginalized for too long,they have oil and we in Peninsular only have 'fish and mango" to content with.

Your future is in your hands and if you people do not treasure it,then you are to be blame for your own suffering.Don't procastinate,just do it !
written by Tompios, June 23, 2009 01:16:56
Goodbites, don't be so ignorant! "No internet connection in East Malaysia"? Where you get this stupid skunk? Please, visit Sabah or Sarawak and you can find that almost everywhere people using broadband or wireless internet connection. You are the one need to be updated! Baru lahirkah, boy?
written by gundohing, June 23, 2009 06:09:21
Unfortunately many Sabahans are stupid not understanding the implications.

Come next elections, RM50.00 pocket money and a bit of glamour - chance to be photographed shaking hands with the BN YB's is all it takes to swing the votes!

To them progress means everybody in the kampong can own a Kancil - never mind if they have to take up 10-year loan to cover up the gross over-pricing.

A Sabahan.
written by Perak Boy, June 23, 2009 06:55:48
Oh come on my friends, let's not blaming the East Malaysians. They have done it before under PBS.

To me, Pakatan Rakyat need to build better party infrastructure over there and they will respond accordingly. Let us do our part first and see how they respond.

written by Perak Boy, June 23, 2009 07:01:07
To Taiping60, June 22, 2009 22:48:26

Dear friend, I like your spirit. That's the way to go!
written by freerpk, June 23, 2009 08:21:47
I guess if the Rakyat continues to be treated badly then one day they will wake up from their slumber. It took the rakyat of Peninsular Malaya 50 years to wake up so if we use that as a yard stick...you can guess how long more for the East Malaysians to wake up?????
written by TWOG, June 23, 2009 08:54:09
The 20-Point Agreement is another that many Malaysians can liberally quote but very few have actually read what it says. Even the police and Peninsular Malaysia politicians do not understand it. For example, if a Sabah politician were to say that the state should pull out of Malaysia and become the Independent Republic of Sabah, the federal leaders and the police would scream treason and rush over to Kota Kinabalu to arrest that Sabah politician under the Internal Security Act.

The 20-point agreement is quite clear on this. Point 7 says:
Point 7: Right of Secession
There should be no right to secede from the Federation

RPK - is there other side agreements where a referendum is provided for?

The agreement

Point 1: Religion

While there was no objection to Islam being the national religion of Malaysia there should be no State religion in North Borneo, and the provisions relating to Islam in the present Constitution of Malaya should not apply to North Borneo

Point 2: Language

* a. Malay should be the national language of the Federation
* b. English should continue to be used for a period of 10 years after Malaysia Day
* c. English should be an official language of North Borneo for all purposes, State or Federal, without limitation of time.

Point 3: Constitution

Whilst accepting that the present Constitution of the Federation of Malaya should form the basis of the Constitution of Malaysia, the Constitution of Malaysia should be a completely new document drafted and agreed in the light of a free association of states and should not be a series of amendments to a Constitution drafted and agreed by different states in totally different circumstances. A new Constitution for North Borneo (Sabah) was of course essential.

Point 4: Head of Federation

The Head of State in North Borneo should not be eligible for election as Head of the Federation

Point 5: Name of Federation

“Malaysia” but not “Melayu Raya”

Point 6: Immigration

Control over immigration into any part of Malaysia from outside should rest with the Central Government but entry into North Borneo should also require the approval of the State Government. The Federal Government should not be able to veto the entry of persons into North Borneo for State Government purposes except on strictly security grounds. North Borneo should have unfettered control over the movements of persons other than those in Federal Government employ from other parts of Malaysia into North Borneo.

Point 7: Right of Secession

There should be no right to secede from the Federation

Point 8: Borneanisation

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/20-point_agreement_(Sabah)#Point_7:_Right_of_Secession
written by Forex, June 23, 2009 10:35:24
During the 2008 G Election, the opposition in Sabah was fighting to each other. At least, 5-7 DUN for opposition if they Fight 1 vs 1 with BN.

Hopefully in the next Gelection, Sabahan will be more open to new government and stop thinking BN is the only Best Government.
written by tino_chan1988, June 23, 2009 10:38:18
While I agree that the stronghold of BN rule in Sarawak remains strong, I like to put things straight into perspective on how the East was won - Generally, the BN-led coalition large majority win is only because of their dirty under-arm and monetary tactics, and not because of merit.

written by SotPlug, June 23, 2009 11:11:31
I came from Sarawak (but been living in Selangor since 96).

My point of view from my memory, Sarawakians were brainwashed, fear injected and just living our own peaceful life. Rich or poor, the gap is not as big as in Klang Valley. You don't see speeding wailing siren escorts cutting through jams like hot knife through butter while you wait on the roadside thinking about the toll you just paid. Even highway tolls were non existence in those days. The racial harmony there is actually much much better than in Klang Valley. So actually we don't see a need to change because we were all ill-informed.

"You want to continue your peaceful life? then vote for BN." The only time I felt the federal government is not good is when one teacher suggested that our state were being robbed of our oil money.

But now that news and information is easily available through the Internet, hopefully these mindsets will change. Let them know there are websites like MalaysiaKini and Malaysia-Today. Let them know what they are losing out because of the government. Have more articles on the corruptions and the wrong-doings of their states. Articles that touch on their everyday lives. No use telling them issues like Johor gangsters. At least not at this stage. Because East Malaysians actually doesn't really care much about what is happening in West Malaysia. It just seems 'too far' and 'nothing to do with me'.
written by SotPlug, June 23, 2009 11:12:39
Wonder why "r o a d s i d e" is censored...
written by Farmer, June 23, 2009 11:58:07
Sabah and Sarawak people should know that their states are rich in natural resources such as oil and others. Why they need to share it with peninsula? What is the development in Sabah and Sarawak for since forming Malaysia? Who gave the idea of joining peninsula? Who support it...the people??
written by concernedinmalaysia, June 23, 2009 13:47:24
Doesn't this mismatch of voter ratios scream of vote tampering? Surely Malaysians are Malaysians, and an appropriate ration of people would vote similarly across the nation. I personally think that the only reason BN calls East Malaysia it's fixed deposit is because they can put more money over there knowing that the return they will get is those 54 or so seats.

After all isn't a fixed deposit about return on investment?

East Malaysia NEEDS to be investigated for vote fraud. We all know there is more than one tyrant over there.
written by aryn, June 23, 2009 15:37:58
The big problem is that the EC on BN's order, created more Malay constituencies after 1994.

The reason? To thwart any attempt by local Sabahan Malaysians to overthrow Umno/BN from power. Those Malay seats are created not for local Malays but for illegal Muslim immigrants from Mindanao to vote for Umno/BN because Umno know very well that local Sabahans regardless of race, are independent thinking people who will not hesitate to vote them out if they don't perform.

Alas, there are too many illegal immigrants registered under the Project IC enough to give BN/Umno wins in many malay majority seats.

Over three decades Sabahans including our leaders have warned and protested about this but the Umno/BN leaders ignore the cries because it's the only way they could hang on to power.

Still, if the opposition can come up with strong leaderships and sincerely want to settle Sabah's many social, economic and security problems they might win more than half the 25 parliamentary seats.

Remember that Sabahans have been played out too often but we are all for change. After all, we've voted the BN out in five state elections and three parliamentary elections long before you in peninsular malaysia wake up from your political slumber.
written by asguard, June 23, 2009 15:51:40
Its time for them wake up after 52 year still sleep on lumber BN dream bed!
written by DontPlayGod, June 23, 2009 18:16:44
I just hope that our brothers and sisters in Sabah are now more educated and worldly-wise from when I was there 19 years ago. I was there for 9 years. In the 60's through the 80's, the kampong folks in the remote areas of Sabah were simple kampong folks, and most of them had no or very little education. In fact, most of them were asked to convert to Islam so that they can be given land and other benefits. This they did, under the then USNO and later Berjaya. They were given lands in the jungles and hills for their mass conversion. And they voted en-bloc for USNO and BERJAYA then, but they got a bit smarter when they started to abandon BERJAYA and voted for PBS.

But there were too many insincere politicians and crooks in the political parties in Sabah. Politicians are easily bought, and as a result Sabah will remain as the backwaters of Malaysia for a long time, until some enlightened and sincere politicians come to the fore.

Maybe Azmin Ali can enlist me to go there to help wake up the people there.
written by sueteh, June 23, 2009 18:20:45
my late grandfather, was an colonel army (he had passed away 30 yrs ago..huh, that long) with the Malay regiment. He once said to us that there will come a time that the Malays will rise up against one another. So what do we see here? Anwar Ibrahim versus Najib kan? Racism, of course lah. i live in kawasan PAS for till now and had never once i vote for BN, you fellas at west msia only 2008 baru bangun tido! tak ke bengang.

now east malaysian, masing masing jaga periuk nasi. BN pays say $10 per vote kat tempat tempat kampung terpencil, you fellas kebas duit BN then you vote Pakatan lah kan? Such disloyality huh?

So all this talk..how are you suppose to revoke the IC problem in Sabah? Any takers? IF you seriously want to do this, you may have to bear unrest there. IC is a legitimate and BN will legitimate it. Ibans, Bidayuhs, Kenyahs, Orang Ulus, Kelabits, Kayans what are they going to do? They know the masalah but what are they going to do? Or keep hoping in BN..itu Pak Uban Putih dah blah ke? Sekarang Awang Tak Ke Tengah kan? SO what are you going to do Sarawakians Sabahans? You prepared to go through the fights like west malaysia.

Susah, susah..REVOLT for independence from Malaysia la. I sokong. Kan senang, now you have autopilot how to run the state kan?
written by sueteh, June 23, 2009 18:37:26
Sabahans & Sarawakians, IF YOU are serious ABOUT INDEPENDENCE atau KICK OUT UMNO, you must be prepared to shed some blood la. Jangan omong omong kosong je. Cakap saja then tutup computer tido balik. Buat apa?

The rural folks..it is the job or those relatives/sedara in urban areas to spread the news since no internet access. i thought at kelabit highland ada net access, betul ka?

basic infrastructure, tnb, water, all gomen contract lah. unless you privatised it. do you know that mont kiara area in kl, dia orang ada privatised itu traffic light tau?!!!!!!!!!

Abang Anwar, kau buat apa tu? Wan Azizah, what the hell are you doing kak? Hari hari gua tengok Mak Eton Rosmah masuk kat tv..bertambah MONTEL and BULAT.
written by gorshan, June 23, 2009 19:16:17
negeri Sabah dan Sarawak buminya kaya raya. cuma kesian pemimpin pemimpin nya otak miskin dan tidak dapat pandang lebih jauh dari kocek sendiri. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Sabahfan, June 23, 2009 20:18:50
BARISAN NAJIS AND UMNO REGIME WILL KEEP WINNING THE ELECTION BECAUSE THE SUPER ADMIN KEEP DELETING MY POST...

why, afraid to face the truth or the facts of history???

How many times do i have to repeat that MELAYU MUDAH LUPA...

WE SABAHANS GOT RID OF BN TWICE, AND BOTH WE SUFFERRED WITHOUT ANY SUPPORT FROM YOU PEOPLE FROM SEMENANJUNG WHO ARE NOW CALLING US STUPID FOR LETTING BN WIN...

WELL HERE ARE THE FACTS....

In the last elections, we fought BN as voters, they won because....

1. the PILAK and INDUN votes helped them a lot through project IC, it is like 50% votes coming from the HANTUS and pilaks..

2. Still lots of cheating from the EC.. representatives of opposition parties not allowed inside counting centers..

3. POSTAL votes from the POLICE and ARMY changed the figures from a losing BN to a winnig BN..

4. Lastly, MR BELL BOTTOM AKA Joseph Corrupt was already declared null and void, but suddenly and appeal, before no appeal allowed but now BN changed the law, after appeal thru a BN appointed Judge, suddenly JOSEPH CORRUPT BOLEH MENANG TANPA BERTANDING...

so I asked you here.... DID THE VOTERS VOTED FOR KURUP OR the judges and the courts did????

5. AT THE petagas state constituency.. THE BARISAN CANDIDATE by the name of Dr Khoo Kiok Hai... lost, but because both DAP and PKR candidates were greedy, both stood at the same constituency thus splitting the opposition vote. So one of this candidate must be a stooge of BN or both the candidates for DAP and PKR should be SHOT for not coorporating. There combined votes tally was nearly double that obtained by BN khoo tiau Hai...

SO NOW I ASKED YOU SEMENANJUNG PEOPLE, DID SABAHAN VOTED FOR BN HERE OR WAS IT THE GREED OF DAP AND PKR CANDIDATES OR WAS IT THE CHEAT OF UMNO PLANTING THESE TWO CANDIDATES TO SPLIT THE VOTE?

PLEASE SUPER ADMIN.... READ THIS POSTING INSTEAD OF DELETING IT..!!!

ARE YOU PEOPLE AFRAID OF THE TRUTH ALSO?

MY CAPS LOCK IS ALWAY STUCK BECAUSE YOU PEOPLE KEEP INSULTING THE INTELLIGENCES OF US SABAHANS..

ONCE YOU STOP INSULTING US, THEN MY CAPS LOCK WILL GO BACK TO NORMAL..!!!!!
written by Aria, June 23, 2009 20:40:31
BN has set things up very nicely for itself and it is going to be a very big struggle to topple BN. The Rakyat should not let this fact put them down. We must try to get as many people as we can onto PKR side and make sure that everyone turns up to vote.
written by johnT, June 23, 2009 22:31:23
BN=UMNO. UMNO will not exist when Chinese community in Malaysia geting smaller and smaller. Because a lot of chinese have migrate and a lot of chinese today only have 1 or 2 child. When Chinese become a very small community UMNO have no reason or excuse to gain the Malay support anymore or use Chinese as a kambing hitam. Therefore UMNO or BN will Be End.
written by lakian, June 23, 2009 23:14:17
No.From my point of view,East Malaysian had waken up during last GE.As we can see the PR candidates actually should win at least 80% of all the candidates who had stood in the GE.Unfortunately ,these candidates lost due PR not in one line.The only problem is the old rural folks,luckily as i can tell u this old folks held only minority.During last GE,PR stood only in town area but not to rural.So we can't tell if the rural folks are not supporting PR.Transportation inconvenience let bn got chance to play dirty.
written by BUTEK, June 23, 2009 23:58:37
KITA BOLEH MENANG KALAU ENJIN PROPAGANDA DAPAT DIGERAKKAN DARI SEKARANG!!!!

TAWARKAN MEREKA HARGA BARANG RUNCIT DAN MAKANAN AKAN DIJUAL PADA HARGA YG SAMA DNGN SEMENANJUNG...

HARGA MINYAK DI PENDALAMAN DIBERIKAN SUBSIDI SUPAYA LEBIH MURAH DARI HARGA SEKARANG...

SETIAP PENDUDUK RUMAH PANJANG AKAN DIBERIKAN TANAH 10 EKAR ATAU HEKTAR SETIAP SEORANG (GUNA SISTEM FELDA)

RM 50,OOO SETIAP TAHUN UNTUK SETIAP RUMAH PANJANG BAGI AKTIVITI KEMASYARAKATAN...

SEMUA INI DITANGGUNG DARI WANG ROYALTI DAN HARTA YG DIRAMPAS DARI KELUARGA MAT TAIK DAN KRONI...

ADE BRANI KE PKR???????
written by SamYap, June 24, 2009 02:01:11
Why specualte on whether Pakatan will win seats in Sabah and Sarawak, when its unlikely to get even the 95 seats in Peninsula. The talk of the town now is the betrayal of non-muslims (non-Malays) voters by PAS's top two leaders.

The only way to regain the initiative is for PAS to show its political will by booting out Nasharrudin and Hadi. But thats unlikely to happen, so we will see what will happen.

Btw, if the scenario of 95 Pakatan vs 71 BN happens, we will hear the UNITY talks again, then what?
written by Aizad 234, June 24, 2009 09:51:40
di Sabah dan Serawak... tiada akses Internet ka? kalo tiada, satu lagi projek kerajaan Barisan Nasional.
written by DontPlayGod, June 24, 2009 10:46:28
PAS very often forgets that they won in the election because of Pakatan and the mood of the people for change, not because people accept their Islamization policies. So what PAS does is that the moment they come into power, they assume that people want Islamic policies to be implemented, and this will be the downfall of Pakatan Rakyat.

I have all along subscribed to the idea that DAP, PKR, PR, Parti Socialis, and other parties in Sabah and Sarawak should form the Pakatan Rakyat, leaving PAS to unite with UMNO. PAS, as I see it, and from all indications, will never give up its policies to introduce and fight for an Islamic state, and this is something the non-Muslims cannot and will not accept.
written by Wisdom above, June 24, 2009 11:25:55
BN will fade away like an old soldier.

BN will definitely loses control of East Malaysia .

WIND of CHANGE has not stop yet !

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.
written by beijing, June 24, 2009 18:27:31
Point 1: Religion

While there is no objection to Islam being the national religion of Malaysia, there should be no state religion in Sarawak and the provisions relating to Islam in the present constitution of Malaya should not apply to Sarawak.

The state BN governments took upon themselves to pursue an Islamisation programme without sensitivity to the spirit of the agreement with regards to Christianity and other religions. It comes to a point that the Islamisation initiative gives the impression that Islam is the official religion of Sarawak.

This is getting the attention of non- Muslim bumiputera who observe the unequal approach in emphasising the role of Islam in a state where Islam is not the state religion.

As Islam is not the state religion, why do those in power insist that the governor of Sarawak must be a Muslim? It need not be.

Point 2: Language

a. Malay should be the national language of the federation

b. English should continue to be used for a period of 10 years after Malaysia Day

c. English should be an official language of Sarawak for all purposes, state or federal, without limitation of time.

However, federal officers based in Sarawak insist that all communication to their offices must be made using Bahasa Malaysia.

The education department insists that all students must pass the Bahasa Malaysia subject in the SPM examination in order to qualify for tertiary education.

All these are in order in Malaya, but for Sarawak, the department should be sensitive to the 20-point agreement. The zeal for national integration must be there but it must be implemented with due respect to the agreement.

Point 6: Immigration

Control over immigration into any part of Malaysia from outside should rest with the central government but entry into Sarawak should also require the approval of the state government. The federal fovernment should not be able to veto the entry of persons into Sarawak for state government purposes except on strictly security grounds.

Sarawak should have unfettered control over the movements of persons other than those in federal government employ from other parts of Malaysia into Sarawak.

Point 11: Tariffs and finance

Sarawak should retain control of its own finances and tariffs and should have the right to work up its own taxation and to raise loans on its own credit.

Point 12: Special position of indigenous races

In principle, the indigenous races of Sarawak should enjoy special rights analogous to those enjoyed by the Malays in Malaya, but the present Malays' formula in this regard is not necessarily applicable in Sarawak.

Many West Malaysian thought that the Dayaks from Sarawak are not bumiputera. They would always raise an issue if a non-Muslim bumiputera from Sarawak bought property from under the bumi quota.

The banks are no better. That shows part of the content of a certain subject taught in school is misleading or missed out on purpose by the course designer.

Point 15: Education

The existing education system of Sarawak should be maintained and for this reason, it should be under state control. But the budget for education is controlled by the federal government. In the Ninth Malaysia Plan, a total of RM3 billion has been allocated to upgrade and build new schools.

Even the contracts to carry out school building repairs and construction are controlled by the federal government. Headmasters in mission schools are replaced by Muslim headmasters in some instances. This should not happen in Sarawak.

Point 17: Representation in Parliament

This should take into account not only the population of Sarawak but also of its size and potential.

Sarawak delivered 30 parliament seats to the BN and in spite of this, the response to Sarawak’s request for more ministerial position fells onto the deaf ears of the prime minister.

In response, the federal government granted RM1 billion for Sarawak’s development to be managed by the PM’s Department.

Was this RM1 billion allocation given in the spirit of actually helping or it just a corrupt way of ‘buying’ the people’s support? BN is very good at vote-buying.

Point 20: Land, forests, local government, etc.

The provisions in the federal constitution in respect of the powers of the National Land Council should not apply to Sarawak. Likewise, the National Council for Local Government.

written by zandi, June 25, 2009 17:16:04
As long as UMNO controls the Election Commission, the Registration Dept, the postal votes, the police, the electoral rolls, MyKad & PTIs, the voting process etc etc., and as long as there are Sabahans (aka the existing UMNO members in Sabah) who are willing to sell their souls for money and power, then, sadly, Sabah will forever remain BN's Fixed Deposit. How can the few opposing voices in Sabah fight the might of the Federal Govt and BN and all its money?! That is the REALITY in East Msia.
written by carlitos, June 27, 2009 09:48:12
Every time we have this discussion, Sabah and Sarawakian always get slammed for being dumb and blind.

Dear West Malaysian, how many times did Sabahan kicked out BN? We tied ourselves to semangat 46 and what do we get? We got burned by the stupid and blind Peninsular Malaysian who continue to vote for BN. Now you guys finally open your eyes. Too late...

We are still paying the cost of aligning to Semangat 46, no thanks to the an additional 1 million illegal immigrants now given MyKad so that BN can forever keep Sabahan out.

Kadazan/Dusun/Murut/Bajau combined last time to make up about 70% of the population, now the majority comes from Bugis and Suluk thank you very much to Barisan Najis and the Peninsular Malaysians who worked at the National Registration.

If it is up to Sabahan, we would have long ago voted to get out of Malaysia. Until today majority of the head of Federal departments in Sabah are still Peninsular Malaysian. We are a jajahan of Malaya.

You can bet your back side that Sabah at least will forever be in BN hand, the 1 million additional voters will ensure that.
written by carribeanking7, June 27, 2009 14:41:24
Quote-
For all intents and purposes, Sabah and Sarawak hold the key to federal power and are the ‘Kingmakers’. Ever wonder why Barisan Nasional politicians regard Sabah and Sarawak as the ruling coalition’s ‘fixed deposit’? They are not ashamed of this and make no apologies for it. In fact, they brazenly say so openly.

Its quite insulting to refer to them as fixed deposits, GE 13 campaign should stress the boorish FD statement.It seems more realistic to make a clean sweep in Sabah and a partial sweep in BN.
In my humble opinion Anwar should stop trying to push PKR agenda there, it wont work just as UMNO will never make inroads there. DSAI is better of working with East Malaysian opposition parties, by admitting them into Pakatan.