Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Do you really need to go to school to know right from wrong?

Do you really need to go to school to know right from wrong? PDF Print
Monday, 22 June 2009 02:36

Let me put it to you another way. If you share my views then you are learned. If you disagree with my views then you are ignorant. In short, I am learned and you will also be considered learned only if you say or write what I agree.

Political parties, civil servants the most corrupt: report
Karen Arukesamy, The Sun

PETALING JAYA (June 3, 2009) : Malaysians generally consider political parties and civil service to be the most corrupt groups, and the government's anti-corruption drive to be ineffective, the 2009 Global Corruption Barometer (GCB) report revealed.

The GCB, a global public opinion survey of 73,000 respondents from 69 countries, commissioned by Transparency International, found that political parties were perceived to be the most corrupt by 42% of respondents, while 37% picked civil service institutions.

About 12% of respondents rate the business and private sector as the third most corrupt in Malaysia.

In a survey conducted globally from October last year to February, in which Malaysia participated for the first time, 67% of respondents believe the government's efforts in fighting corruption is ineffective, leaving Malaysia way behind Indonesia where 74% of respondents said the government was effectively fighting graft.

Transparency International-Malaysia (TI-M) president Datuk Paul Low said: "The reason could be the lack of transparency and disclosures in the funding of political parties. Nobody knows how the campaigns and activities of political parties are funded, in both the Barisan Nasional and opposition parties."

"If political parties want to be perceived to be less corrupt, they should increase visibility of the sources of political funding, which may require making some changes to electoral laws," he said.

"We also need to eliminate money politics," Low said, adding that this includes crossovers between parties involving money.

He said political parties should also submit financial statements which should be made public.

Malaysia's regular spot in the Corruption Perception Index is close to five out of 10 and last year it ranked 47th out of 180 countries.

Low said TI-M, with its expertise and knowledge, was willing to work with the government to fight graft because it affects the poor the most.

The barometer showed that the poorest families continue to be punished by demands for petty bribe.

"Across the board, low income respondents were more likely to meet demands for bribes than high income respondents. Additionally, petty bribery was found to be on the rise in many regions, compounding the already difficult situation of low income households, as jobs and incomes dwindle in the economic downturn," Low said.

The report found that in Malaysia, 9% of respondents offered bribes in some form in the last 12 months.

Low said that in some countries poor citizens had to pay a bribe just to get their children into school, receive medical treatment in hospitals, or to have water services connected -- the most basic rights as citizens.

"The other area of interest is the 12% who voted the private sector. Although we are not as bad as other countries, corruption in the private sector is on the rise and must be dealt with seriously.

"It has to be tackled at the enterprise or corporate level. The CEO or board of directors will have to set the tone to fight graft. Put in place an anti-bribery policy and a whistle-blowing policy, and integrity agreements must be signed between companies and vendors."

Many of my friends are no longer my friends. I am talking about my Malay friends in particular. This is because they are very irritated and upset about my articles on Islam. They feel I have gone overboard in insulting Islam. As much as I stress, again and again, it is not Islam but Muslims, in particular Malay Muslims, that I tegur (tegur, which is a Malay word, could mean chastises, take to task, remind, etc.), they still insist it is Islam I am insulting.

Anyway, they are entitled to their opinion, as everyone is, and I can’t change their mind if they insist on taking that view. But one thing that seems to escape them is that it is the duty, that means mandatory, for all Muslims to point out the transgressions of fellow-Muslims. This is called nahi munkar in Islam. It is not optional. It is not something you can choose to do or not to do. It is something you must do.

I suppose the only way they can rebut what I write would be to accuse me of insulting Islam. Then the ‘crime’ would be transferred to me rather than them. To acknowledge that I am merely fulfilling my Islamic duty would mean they are endorsing my actions. And if they endorse my actions then they have to argue where I have erred or counter my arguments with facts. Since they are not able to do that then they accuse me of insulting Islam and leave it at that. No longer do they need to rebut what I say or engage me in any debate to prove me wrong.

One ‘traditional’ argument they use is to accuse me of being jahil (ignorant) of Islam. I should stop talking about Islam because I am not learned in matters involving Islam. I should first go learn Islam from an ulamak (learned man) before I attempt to talk about Islam. I am speaking like a five-year old child, and so on and so forth.

I have heard it all before, many times. They assume I have never studied Islam. They also assume that if I did study Islam it could not have been from an ulamak. And judging by my comments it appears like I never touched a kitab (religious book) in my life. This assumption is based on my comments and views.

How did they arrive at this conclusion without actually knowing my background? Did they grow up with me and know for a fact I never went to religious school? Or is this opinion based merely on reading what I write?

It is quite simply, really. If I say or write something that is opposite to what they believe then this means I am ignorant and never studied Islam. But if I say or write something that is exactly what they believe then I am a learned person who probably spent many years studying Islam.

In short, the yardstick they use is tied to whether my opinions are the same as theirs or opposite to theirs. If they are the same then I am learned but if they differ then I am ignorant.

These people fail to see that when they use their view of things to determine if I am learned or ignorant, and I am learned or ignorant depending on how far my views are compared to theirs, this means they are establishing themselves as the yardstick. Is this not an arrogant approach?

Let me put it to you another way. If you share my views then you are learned. If you disagree with my views then you are ignorant. In short, I am learned and you will also be considered learned only if you say or write what I agree.

This is the way these people think. And when they criticise me as being ignorant because I have different views from them, they are actually claiming that they are learned and all those who do not agree with them are therefore ignorant. These are very pompous people indeed.

Okay, let us assume for the sake of argument that I am ignorant on matters related to Islam. Let us also assume that I never went to religious class to learn about Islam and therefore know nothing about Islam. So I am an ignoramus. We shall agree on that. Then read that article by The Sun above. Do I really need to go to religious class or go learn Islam from an ulamak to be able to understand that politicians and civil servants are amongst the most corrupted people in Malaysia? Seriously, do I need to go to an Islamic university to be able to write an opinion about how bad corruption is and that not only Islam but all religions condemn corruption?

Even if they are right in that I am ignorant about Islam and do not have the qualifications to talk about Islam, you really do not need to go to school or have any qualifications to know the difference between right and wrong. Common sense is enough and that is all it takes. And surely God gave all of us brains for a reason. Even non-Muslims understand that. And you need not go to an Islamic university to understand that.

Comments (67)Add Comment
written by Awaken64, June 22, 2009 02:48:32
when their actions are right they feel the heaven open.
However when they commit immoral acts their conscious bring them to HELL.

Where to go it is their choice, we know where they are going!!!
written by Oscar Winner, June 22, 2009 03:25:30

It's true, I have asked around. There are some Malay friends who hate your guts. But it's only natural because they are UMNO supporters.

We really don't have to go to school to know right from wrong. But they think we must go to school to study distorted history, to be brainwashed, to learn to be loyal to the corrupt government and to respect monarchy, to know that they are right.

Being greatest hypopcrites on earth, they know they are wrong but they will still claim that they are right. Well, to them it's ok because like what their UMNO (not my) DPM said, they still get to go to heaven as long as they are in BN and you vote them. So it's alright not to be right. They play god. May be they think they are even more right than god.
agree 167
written by temanmu, June 22, 2009 03:42:05
Dear RPK:

Your articles should be required reading for civil servants ... translated into Bahasa Melayu (or is it Bahasa Malaysia again?)

We could help print copies to be distributed to govt depts, or even in Seri Malaysia hotels when they have seminars & retreats there!

written by Jivathma, June 22, 2009 03:45:12
Brilliant piece of response Pete. Sadly it will less likely get through into their thick iron cast brains. Religion has become too much mixed up with politics in our country and the rest of the troubled world.
written by cheehau, June 22, 2009 05:20:31
Pete, I believe you are facing such problems because Malaysians are generally guilty of hypocrisy as well. One can look no further than this news portal.

Religious issues aside, Pete, I believe most of the articles you came out with touched on common sense and the people reading it should already know it in the first place. However, most readers hail your pieces like some holy scripture, especially when it involved Pakatan Rakyat.

Anything that is associated with Barisan Nasional is perceived to be inherently dark, corrupt, and dirty. Anyone that says a good word or two for BN will be scorned my MT readers. Most MT readers are hypocrites too, in the sense that that they strongly advocate for freedom of expression, but at the same time, that same freedom does not apply to people offering views that differ from theirs.

Voltaire, a renowned French philosopher, once quoted "I may not agree with what you say, but I'll defend to death your right to say it".

Come on MT readers, I am sure you can do better than that.
written by Tompios, June 22, 2009 05:44:25

Do we need to go school to know right and wrong? The answer is Yes! We need to go to UMNO's imams and Ulamaks to know wrong when it is suppose to be right and vice versa.

The Americans used to have garage sales in front of their yards. Most of the time they will not hire garagekeepers to look after those "lelong" goods. What the owner needs is to put price level and a box for payment. People can come and buy without looking for the owner to pay---the box is ready waiting for the payment. Back in Malaysia, do not ever leave your personal goods in front of your house. Nanti kena curi! Ramai pencuri di Malaysia. Electricity cable stealer, Besi buruk stealer, peragut, perasuah dan banyak lagilah. Ironically, those caught by PDRM for curi-curi adalah orang yang waktu kecilnya pernah masuk sekolah agama.
written by educationist, June 22, 2009 06:04:28
Poor RPK he must be having a hard time with his 'Muslim' friends!
But to me they are not your real friends, then!
My apologies if I offended you, I do not mean to judge your criteria of friends. However if they cannot differentiate between your writing the facts of the situation, the truth with public face of Malay Muslims they will like to portray then I do not think they are good friends.
Even if you do not write about the evil and misdeeds of these Malay Muslims in high office does it mean that the rakyat are not aware of them?
For years before a gallant Malaysian like you dared to call those scoundrels as such publicly, we have been calling them a disgrace to their religion privately.
written by hakuna, June 22, 2009 06:18:38
RPK - your articles on ISLAM is very educational.
written by Aria, June 22, 2009 06:45:37
All religions pretty much preach the same message and that is… be good, do good. It is the fanatically religious people in any religion that always spoils it for everyone else. This is because they want to force their believes onto everyone.

BN and the cronies have another problem and that is blind greed and power craziness. BN always uses the fanatical Muslims and their cronies to support them in plundering the country. The fanatical Muslims think that BN is supporting them; so they give their blind support to BN. The rakyat who are not all blind can see the truth.
written by temenggong, June 22, 2009 07:27:24
If ever I had read anything anywhere in the world sane about the Quran, it has been here in MalaysiaToday by RPK, AdmiralTojo, MuftiMurtad and a couple of others.

Nearly all the rest are insane.
written by Nick V, June 22, 2009 07:39:23
Even my mum disagrees with my views on our religion. But jokes aside, even I can differentiate between good and bad, wrong and right.

I may not agree with all your views all the time, but I know you are trying to do the good & right thing.

And I know BN is mostly bad & wrong with its racist, religious and elitist policies, no matter how they try to cut and slice it.

It's it time that all Malaysian's continue to VOTE for a Malaysia for all Malaysians. Remember that while PAKATAN may still be a political fledgling, we need to give them our vote for them to make greater change.

With UMNO, MCA and MIC around, the alternative will always be better choice.
written by JinJangJoe, June 22, 2009 07:41:29
Dear YM, I was a ardent supporter of BN- the day I started reading MT, my trust for BN, started melting- like ice-cream in Australian summer.

TRUTH in any form is good for our spiritual-nurture. BUT 'they' think otherwise,
of you and MT readers.

Thanks for your enlightenment, good for us. How much suffering you are undergoing? your freedom, your family, your beloved Bangsar, what not?
You remind me of 'FEW GOOD MEN.....'
written by singam, June 22, 2009 07:56:03

The same God who gave mankind the Qur'an and all the other revelations previous to that also provided man with the brain and mind to be able to understand His message. Thee is no need for an intermediary to help a person read and properly understand what God has to say to mankind.

The message is simple. Submit to His Will. Uphold your commitments and perform your duties.

The danger with ritual worship is that people who religiously perform such worship can easily reach the false conclusion that they have performed their duties properly and completely. This is why there are no instructions or provisions for ritual worship in the Qur'an. God, in His wisdom, knew the danger of such instructions. So He kept His instructions simple - oppose evil, uphold righteousness.

But man, in his cleverness, developed a system of rituals, of dress style, of power structure... and then declared that those well versed in such stuff were wise and should be listened to. Worse, they declared that any who did not follow such teaching should be punished, although there is no provision for such punishment in God's Instruction To Man.

Those who, for whatever reason, have suspended their reasoning faculties and blindly subscribe to such teaching, will not listen. But then, neither will God listen to them. But there are those who can see that all is not right, who feel unease about the way things are being done. These are the people you need to reach. These are the people who need to wake up from their intoxication and return to the path God has prescribed.

Among those who deny you and decry your words, there may be some whom God may one day find worthy and part the veil before their eyes. It is for Him to decide. As for the rest, they deserve nothing from you. Leave them to God's judgement.

Wassalaam.
written by Kampong, June 22, 2009 08:26:32
Do not question the position of the, uhm, civil servants. Do not insult us. We had a social contract everyone agreed upon that we took a cut on everything in your life. smilies/tongue.gif We have lived harmoniously all these years, keep giving me your rasuah.
written by freerpk, June 22, 2009 08:30:03
Sorry dear RPK, it is not being learned or ignorant. Is is about power over people. If they keep you ignorant then they will have power over you forever. They say "knowledge is power". Learned people are not afraid of disagreements because that is what sharpens the mind.
written by yeechut, June 22, 2009 08:45:57
Common sense is not as common as you think. The human brain is highly impressionable, and there is a mechanism in place that keeps us confined within a system of thought or mode of perception.

I have written about it here http://humblevoice.********.co...brain.html

The key is about building a culture that is right to begin with. Our current culture is so full of rubbish that we really need a new beginning. We need a new type of leader – morally enlightened, incorruptible - people like you. This has got to be the ultimate purpose of People’s Power.
written by yeechut, June 22, 2009 08:52:05
I like to add that our brain mechanism keeps us stuck in a system of beliefs, mode of behavior as well. But while human being can be mislead easily, we can also be lead to a right way of living just as easily.

This is our saving grace. A new culture that is based on the right principles has to happen now.
written by arazak, June 22, 2009 09:17:41

Those people working as civil servants in government offices and those politicians mainly in the ruling coalition that governs the nation are Muslims. They pray 5 times a day and go to Makkah for Haj and Umrah frequently. Yet, I believe many Malaysians are not surprised if the Transparency International found that they are the most corrupt people. They may be wearing a songkok or a tudung for that matter, but when it comes to bribery they have no qualms indulging into it. And of course when you “tegur” them, they say you are attacking Islam.

It seems too that those people who are the loudest saying you are attacking Islam when you “tegur” them are those from the various religious departments. Other than going around town to confiscate T-shirts from Central Market traders, and snatching the dead from mortuaries what have those from the religious departments done to combat “rasuah”?. . . Nothing, they have done nothing at all. Maybe, sooner or later there will be a “fatwa” that “rasuah” is “harus”!
written by sorosapril, June 22, 2009 09:20:45
Many of my friends are no longer my friends. I am talking about my Malay friends in particular. This is because they are very irritated and upset about my articles on Islam. They feel I have gone overboard in insulting Islam. As much as I stress, again and again, it is not Islam but Muslims, in particular Malay Muslims, that I tegur (tegur, which is a Malay word, could mean chastises, take to task, remind, etc.), they still insist it is Islam I am insulting.

Well RPK, muslims are the confused people, they could not differentiate between Islamic religion and the followers of the religions, they like to mix up the two, and i don't blame them, because Malaysia government has been preaching this for so many years, islam=muslim and so on,

I always say there is either something wrong with the religion called ISLAM or something is damn wrong with the one preaching the religion. those in power has always played the religion issue for their own gain and it has reached such a state that the damage is very difficult to reverse, not in a generation or two.

unless there is some drastic event happening, otherwise forever we will be having people mixing the two issues together and always play the religion card.

the problem has reached a stage whereby religion and race are mixed up, typical of BN/UMNO people way of protecting their fragile power.
written by hellosunshine, June 22, 2009 09:25:44
'How did they arrive at this conclusion without actually knowing my background?'

RPK, in Bodohland, it's all about packaging really. You've got to replace your beret with a white skull cap or turban and you should start wearing robes too. One plus point, you've already got a beard but you have to let it grow longer and untrimmed. The wilder the better. Can't say much about your hair tho'. smilies/wink.gif
written by Urangsabah, June 22, 2009 09:31:26
We in UMNO and all our UMNOed allies, Political parties, Polis, Judiciary. do go for small fries.ours is $12.5 billion.straight make it big.We are not corrputed, you ask Mad Said Of Karabau MACC, NFA if UMNO and its UMNOed Allies.Rakyat Money is UMNO Money and UMNO Money belong to a handful fellas only.not all in UMNO
written by sydput, June 22, 2009 09:53:44
Don't worry pete!
Even Abraham had problems with his parents when he refused to worship the sun, but instead submit to the Creator of the sun.
Looking at the present situation, I doubt very much if Mohamed ended up victorious against the pagan arabs. Mohamed was against any form of pagan ritual. What we see in Mecca today, I believe, is the largest pagan ritual in the world. Imagine seeing arabs kissing a piece of black stone, thinking that his sins will be removed by doing such an act.
written by Susanna, June 22, 2009 10:01:02
The predictable Zulkifli is one such example. He considers Only he is the one true defender of God. Only he is the one most righteous. All others including Muslims are not up to his standard and are infidels if they do not conform to his beliefs. keekekeeeek.. But in our eyes, instead of he bringing people closer to his beliefs or wssn't it supposed to be Allah's teachings? he is literary chasing the lights out of anyone who is even slightly interested in Islam!
written by Pakyeh, June 22, 2009 10:10:32
Yo Muslims !!! You will be supprised that Allah disapprove of the Commercial Ulamas. The proof is in the Quran.

Read more "Pimpinan Ulama : Tiada Instutusi Ulama dalam Islam." at...

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by quietguy, June 22, 2009 10:19:01
It does not help when some people use RPK's article as a springboard to insult Islam in total. Like sydput up there. BTW, with regards to kissing the black stone, Muslims do not believe it will remove our sins.

Narrated by 'Abis bin Rabia, "Umar came near the Black Stone and kissed it and said 'No doubt, I know that you are a stone and can neither benefit anyone nor harm anyone. Had I not seen Allah's Apostle kissing you I would not have kissed you.'" - from Sahih Muslim, Volume 2, Book 26, Number 667.
written by Wisdom above, June 22, 2009 10:31:28
You are very brave to tell the TRUTH. I respect and cherished your zeal and honesty

"But one thing that seems to escape them is that it is the duty, that means mandatory, for all Muslims to point out the transgressions of fellow-Muslims. This is called nahi munkar in Islam. It is not optional. It is not something you can choose to do or not to do. It is something you must do."

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.
written by singam, June 22, 2009 10:41:16
Dear quietguy,

While it is accepted that idolatry is forbidden in Islam, your quotation from Sahih Muslim can be seen as a compelling argument. The kissing of the stone is not in substitution of worship but an outpouring of human emotion.

Allow me to share with you the perspective from Hinduism, believed by many Muslims to be the ultimate in idolatry...

"If you see the stone, you cannot see God; if you see God, you cannot see the stone."

Spoken by the devotee immersed in God-adoration... "Knowing You to be Omnipresent, I see You anywhere and everywhere, whether my eyes are open or closed. When I garland or kiss the image or icon, it is not that I believe these objects will bring me salvation. It is because my heart overflows and I want express my joy and my devotion to You, my Lord."

Such is the nature of Bhakthi - devotion to God. It is not an attribute of any religion. It is an attribute of human nature.
written by Conan Chung, June 22, 2009 10:46:14
Hey Pete,

Sometimes i wonder why you still bother to talk to your Malay friends. Is it because you can't abandon them as a lost cause and is still trying to "educate" them? Well its good you have such spirit and tenacity in educating the "ignorant" but sometimes you must know some people do not want to be educated! Even when you have the heart and patience for make these people they are "comfortable" with their level of intelligence and understanding so whatever extra you try to put in their minds is useless.

Ok, let me relate what a friend told me; Jews are purportedly the smartest people in the world (that's why most of their people are rich and highly-educated), followed by the Chinese / Japanese / Koreans (people coming from that part of the globe. The "least brightest people" comes from the islands (micronesia, polynesia, and probably means people from that region). OK, long story short, Malays since they are of similar origins with those micronesians are stupid and aren't as bright as the other races - how many Malay professionals that gain international recognition is there in the world? Most of them are only good in their country and can't survive internationally.

I know it might sound racist and pompous of me to declare all Malays are stupid but heck that's reality. Most Malay boys standard in university is so low that it upon graduation they are no better than finishing high school. Only some of the Malay girls are top-achievers. Even the newspaper acknowledge that girls make up most of university entrees. So you see, some people you really can't teach. And i think its not because they are stupid but their reluctance to think and use their brains. Its this type of mentality that is in the minds of many Malay boys and the cause of this is that they believe there is always a place of employment - civil service. Why sprain your brain so hard when you can get rich going into politics and getting projects? Heck, those other smartass can't even dream of getting filthy rich like they can in BN. So in a sense, they are smart - in a bodoh-sombong-lazy kinda way.

Just admit it, anything that attacks their personal weakness, they will use reasons such as "sensitive issues" and "religion" to shield themselves. If i'm questioning a certain Malay's personal integrity, it is automatically said that i'm insulting Islam. It has nothing to do with Islam but they immediately drag religion into the fight so I have myself facing not that Malay but the entire world's Muslim believers. Its a few billion against one and then i'll have to back down or risk having being stoned to death.

When you are a non-believer questioning the actions of some Islamic country, then you are an enemy of Islam. It doesn't matter whether the action in question is un-Islamic, many will say that since you are a non-believer, you are not qualified to say anything. And since you said something, then you are insulting the religion and in the name of religion, they can cut my head off and post the home-made video online for all to see. Should you are a Muslim but criticize those with powers on Islamic Issues, then you too are a betrayer of the faith. When that happens, you better find a sampan to drift your sorry ass to Australia or risk being thrown in jail for a good part of your life.
written by Frankfurtguy, June 22, 2009 11:10:25

TWO things in my mind:
(1)this article is talking about perception of 73,000 respondents
yes
PERCEPTION
it is all about perception. Your friends perception is not as far-sighted as you

(2)Your thinking and philosophy are far more ahead of these people that's why they cannot catch up with you, they cannot even comprehend what's in your mind we had seen many of these incidences in the past, eg. all the prophets, einstein, Thomas Edison etc One day, in maybe 50-100 years to come, people will realise what you've posted in your website are TRUE!
written by Zym Zym, June 22, 2009 11:26:22
Let me go one step further; we don't even need religion to know what's right from wrong.
written by densemy, June 22, 2009 11:36:36
I have the overwhelming feeling that Muslim parents far too readily sacrifice their children to the ulama for their moral and ethical education..

Top that off with the zealous desire of the education department to take over the teaching of morals and civics

And you are left with the situation where there is no contact between a family's moral and ethical principles and those of the child itself

Morals is not an examinable subject, its something you learn through contact with moral people. If your father is prone to domestic violence, sexism and bribery he will be your role model and what you learn in the class room will have no relevance at all

Is it any wonder that this country is so devoid of the basic moral and ethical principles that lead to a civilised society
written by panca, June 22, 2009 11:57:08
Bro Pete,

Yes commonsense is lacking in people. Commonsense give rise to Wisdom. That means Basic Wisdom is all that is "MISSING".

Just as the phrase of 'Nahi Munkar' that is simple words yet profound has not been a prioritised 'essence' of followers' practice and is all 'conveniently' ignored!

This why they choose to be ignorant and continue to fake themselves, warp ideas, play politics of race and religion. What is unity then if it is not SINCERE?
written by Fauzi, June 22, 2009 11:58:15
Dear singam,

You are right (in my opinion!).. "devotion to God" is part of human nature, what we Muslims would term "fitrah" (Am I giving away that I'm Malay-Muslim since I'm bandying about arabic terms?).

Also agree with you on your earlier post that someone who performs rituals may end up thinking "OK that's all that is required - I'm saved!" In other words - just doing the outward form of a ritual.

But in Islam, there's also something called tasawwuf, which is science of the inner reality (haqiqah). It is part and parcel of Islam, as Nik Aziz himself said - "Ia satu juzuk, daripada juzuk-juzuk agama Islam yg tidak boleh dipisah-pisahkan" or sthg like that - search it, it's in Youtube!

For example, in the prayers (the solat), we have the outward "fiqh" (essentially "rules") - which relates to the rules of the actual bodily and "liturgical" rituals AND the inward "fiqh" - which deals with presence of heart, humility, awe, understanding, etc. Both inward and outward have to be there! A prayer performed while thinking about your bank account - how can that be accepted? All this is in Islam.

So if you imply that men "in their cleverness" developed this whole thing out of a kind of deception, I have to disagree. The reason why we have all this ritual and rules (in Islam) is because we are following what the Prophet (pbuh)has instructed us to do. And God commanded us to follow him (the Messenger pbuh). So in the Qur'an, God commands us to establish the prayer, but the Prophet said "pray as you see me pray".

It is not ignorance that compels me to "blindly" subscribe to "such teaching", but knowledge and reason itself. I know because I've had my share of "doubt", but with knowledge the rationale of it all became quite apparent.

The Prophet also said that one of the signs of the end of times is the marvelling of every opinionated person with their own opinions! So, Wallahu'alam!
written by Rhan, June 22, 2009 12:14:53
Petra,

I wholly agree with the comment and view that you know nothing about Islam. If you do, how come the whole article is without much Arabic word? Base on the latest fashionable assessment and trend, you must at least cover your article with 30 percents Arabic word. Don’t you know legal profession must put in some Latin words, Mathematics and Science must be in English and etc, hence religion should be the same.

You are so out la.
written by fendyoasis, June 22, 2009 12:42:49
U see, not all of them I agree, and not all I disagree...but then ur articles on Islam ( or malay muslims as u put it) in the majority were insulting and the 'closet racist' really had a field day with ur articles.

I dont agree with the ulamak always as well mind you, my Islamic knowledge is less than them of course, but i do disagree with them, with justified reasons.

*****For all the xamples below, we will put the debate on the reason why I agree and disagree as a diffrent issue*****

I remembered U sarcastically condemned Nik Aziz for wanting to implement the praying 5 times a day rule, Im Ok with Nik Aziz on this and disagree with you.

but i dont agree with Nik Aziz always, I dont agree him inviting Mawi to Kelantan and dont agree with him putting Ibrahim Ali as a candidate for PAS.

I disagree wuth U condemning Zulkifli Nordin on the storming the forum issue, but I dont agree with Zulkifli Nordin wanting to ban Allah to be used by non muslims. (well muslims out there, I have a reason to think this and Tok Guru Nik Aziz agrees with me if Im not mistaken)

I still remember the days when guitar music was totally forbidden by majority of Islamic clerics in Malaysia and i disagree with it totally, then yo and behold Cat Stevens are now singing again.

It is things like that Pete. I agree and disagree when I know I have reasons for doing so and of course when I think I am right ( I can be wrong, but then prove it to me that I am wrong)
written by SimpleSoul, June 22, 2009 13:56:46

Maybe its an idea that you translate your articles in BM and have an article with 2 languages. This will have people who do not posses a good command of English to read and understand your articles well. This will help youths who have a serious problem in English to understand and compare with other websites too. Anyway just a suggestion only.

written by mamak, June 22, 2009 14:04:42
Some articles about wahabi :

http://lenggangkangkung-my.********.com/2009/06/wahabi.html
written by Admiral Tojo, June 22, 2009 14:22:18
written by temenggong, June 22, 2009 07:27:24
>>>If ever I had read anything anywhere in the world sane about the Quran, it has been here in MalaysiaToday by RPK, admiralTojo, MuftiMurtad and a couple of others.

Nearly all the rest are insane.

I am indeed honored by the above comment. Temenggong, we have done and continues to learn, from any books, may it be on faiths, science and any other pertinent subject matter. We have studied the Quran (not blindly recite) and our thesis are presented for ALL to debate, comment, accept, reject at mentalbondageinthenameofgod.*********.com. I have abstained thus far from using more direct language to describe these Malays, who wants to be more Arabs than even the Arabs, who recite blindly, who allows form 3 dropouts (Most ustazzs and Mullahs) to govern and shackle their minds. This I have done out of respect for the MT blog owner and not wanting for RPK to get into further trouble for what I post. These Malays are so confused that what is right is wrong and what is wrong is kosher for them. They, of course think that they have an escape clause for their misdeeds, that they can blame their Mullah, that they can go to Mecca and GOD will erase their accounts of misdeeds. That is why corruption, thievery and gangsterism is OK for them but seeing a woman's leg is a no no. To break this mental bondage, we have to address the core issue. The core issue is that, what they claim is Islam, is not, for it is what I call the Arab Religion. ISLAM is NOT a religion but a way of life, devoid of any ritual, dogmas and Arabism has no relevance at all in ISLAM as per Quran.

I, like RPK, have lost a lot of religious Malay friends but in turn have made so many friends across the racial divide, that are righteous and generally good people. These are the type of people that our country Malaysia needs and not those hypocrites with fancy garment and goatee who are only interested in STEALING the people's money.

These thieves know that their days are numbered as more and more people are given the right information, through the digital media. The people can decide what is right and wrong by using simple COMMON SENSE. Unfortunately, common sense is not so common, in our judiciary, police, UMNO and its goons. I will abstain from mentioning the Monarchy.

What choice do we have besides moaning and bitching from our chair? Going to the streets is one. The other is to keep on educating the people on the abuses, corruption and thievery that is predominant under the current Government, get as many new voters through the registration exercises conducted by various groups and exercise the power of the vote come next GE.

Recently, I was reliably informed that UMNO is preparing for the next GE not to happen, by manouvering to declare emergency rule, if they are certain of obliteration this coming GE. They are capable of doing this ultimate mischief. If this happens, then there is no more choice for the people but going to the streets. Are you prepared for this? If not, get prepared. I know I am.

written by Dreamlander, June 22, 2009 14:23:18
Who hold most of the posts in the MY political parties and the civil service?Maybe those whose Islamic viewpoints are opposite to RPK's should learn how to "******". They will then discover who is "righteous" and who "blasphemous" Anyway, "common" sense is a RARE commodity nowadays.
written by singam, June 22, 2009 14:25:37
Dear Fauzi, why would you think I implied deceit? Innocence, surely. Ignorance, perhaps? After all, it is only human to want to emulate and imitate Rasul who was chosen by Allah. And if the prayer ritual helps in the spiritual elevation, that is a good thing.

I do not know the Arabic words, but I suppose they must mean something like the internal fullness one feels when the spirit is elevated in prayer. After all, many of the postures are like yoga asanas, and these, done properly, can raise the kundalini energy, thereby making the prayer even more intense.

Of course, carrying out the ritual while thinking about other things is just hypocrisy. Let's just leave that alone. I want to focus on the more fundamental matter that RPK has raised - amar maruf, nahi mungkar.

What is the good of all that prayer ritual if a simple and direct commandment is not obeyed? If the prayer has indeed filled one with the spirit of God, can one then turn around and tolerate mungkar in one's presence? Should one not, at the very least, walk away from such?

IMHO ritual was not included in Qur'an because ritual is dangerous. It may begin innocently but can end up as a trap. It is easy to cover oneself in a blanket of ritual and refuse to see the evil that going on around one. But when one holds fast to basic principles and direct instructions, there is no such security blanket.

This is the simple message that has to go out to all who would listen.
written by Admiral Tojo, June 22, 2009 14:45:41
Dear Quietguy and Fauzi,
go read (not blindly recite) the Quran and this time do it very very carefully. Only then, hopefully one day you will be liberated from your shackles, put there by your disbelieving Mullah. What you quote are nothing more than Arab folklores.

ISLAM is;
. being kind to your parents
. not cheating
. not stealing
. being equitable when you trade
. not being corrupted
. not killing each other
. looking after this Earth and its resources.
. not being a racist and bigot. Ya ayuhan nas - oh mankind
. and many more such advises as in Quran

Now tell me, do you need a religion to tell you all this. If you do, then you are lacking in common sense. It is as simple as that and the Quran (The one not already corrupted by the Arabs) says this. No stones or icons necessary.

written by truthbespoken, June 22, 2009 14:48:55
Bro Pete,

Due to your forthrightness in expressing your views on muslim issues, it is expected you will lose some of your Muslims friends. Those friends of yours have just chosen to remain ‘blocked-heads’, that’s all, you can afford to lose them! After all, haha, you have, for different reasons, already lost many along the way! But don’t fret, the good people of Malaysia will always be with you! Haha.

I believe your friends are behaving in such a way as they had find it difficult to exercise their commonsense to question certain issues like individuals, thinkers and doers normally do. They have been too indoctrinated from young. They dare not question what could even be easily questioned. Up to now, many have not, some cannot and others will never be able to crawl out of this 'tunnel-thinking' situation. It’s a real sticky problem for others! More friends will be lost! Haha!
written by Oscar Winner, June 22, 2009 15:02:09
written by admiral Tojo, June 22, 2009 14:45:41

ISLAM is;
. being kind to your parents
. not cheating
. not stealing
. being equitable when you trade
. not being corrupted
. not killing each other
. looking after this Earth and its resources.
. not being a racist and bigot. Ya ayuhan nas - oh mankind
. and many more such advises as in Quran
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have to agree with RPK that UMNO bigots are not true muslims. They don't heed the advices in Quran
written by tripledotimages, June 22, 2009 15:04:04
i think the key is to apply religion to oneself , but if it comes to apply oneself to a religion , then it'll become risky in submitting to being unnecessarily gullible .
written by wes wong, June 22, 2009 15:20:12
You should see what they teach in the Morals class in school!!!!! Utter rubbish. To know the definition of some words instantly makes me moral!!!
written by aeromaverick, June 22, 2009 15:23:13

Nice article. About the friends being no longer friends, I belief its got nothing to do with religion or race.
Its got to do with Compartmentalised Seige Mentality.
I belief the government has been doing this for years for efficient "Divide & Rule" policy.
I also belief all races are victims, as well as, perpetuators in this act.
written by Admiral Tojo, June 22, 2009 15:31:32
By the way, GOD spoke to me again and HE said,
"Wa aqeemu solla wa attu zakka is And uphold your commitments (promises) and keep it (your promises) pure" and it is NOT "perform your ritual prayers and pay your religious tax".

For those who wants to be more Arabs than the Arabs, go figure this one out.

written by apa jadi, June 22, 2009 16:13:52
written by locomotive, June 21, 2009 02:06:23
The more u write about Islam the more stupid u look to me. i cant believe the 60's years old guy like you dont even know how to think. ..... you are just like 5 year old boy to me - my advise is please REad or ****** more about Islam

Hahaha.... I think RPK is taking umbridge at this one.

My advise is, RPK Sir, next time you put a picture of yourself with a white kopiah and white jubah on this blog and write about religion. You will appear holier than thou, to those who do not have a dense beard as you have. You too will appear more like a messiah, that nobody dares to challenge your opinion. To school or not to school, we will be humbled by your holy man look....hehehe.
written by AsamLaksa, June 22, 2009 16:24:55
It's a common human fault, lacking objectivity. It gets worse when others are doing it as well thus changing a wrong into a not so wrong or acceptable. Majority can't turn black into white.
written by temenggong, June 22, 2009 16:32:36
AdmiralTojo,

You are welcome. Yes, the arab wannabes have to be liberated. smilies/wink.gif

Yes I can see that umno is giving a last shot with this unity govt, failing which they will try and postpone the next GE. We'll take it as it comes.
written by hiiijack, June 22, 2009 16:54:08

written by panca, June 22, 2009 11:57:08
Bro Pete,

Yes commonsense is lacking in people. Commonsense give rise to Wisdom. That means Basic Wisdom is all that is "MISSING".

100% corect,my dear RPK those are 'KATAK BAWAH TEMPURONG'few freinds may leave you but look at your self today,you have millions new freind with you.I see 'god' in you,may the allmigthy god bless and guide you and family.
written by talk2stop, June 22, 2009 17:08:41
I think the Malays are confused between Muslims and Islam.
written by C360, June 22, 2009 18:48:17
The Malays generally cannot tell the difference between culture and religion ... it is one and the same in the Malay mind ... no point wasting one's breath on the idiosyncracies manifesting in theri everyday life ...
written by Ranulaw, June 22, 2009 18:58:31
Had my fair share of encounters with "religious" friends.
In the end it still boils down to exactly what how u ended the article:

"Common sense is enough and that is all it takes."

Unfortunately I've also found that common sense is not very common nowadays too.
written by densemy, June 22, 2009 19:00:24
Conan Chung

Let me pose another explanation to your theory as to why some races are more 'intelligent' than others

Firstly, let me state that there is so little genetic difference between races that there is little chance of your friend explaining away variations in intelligence on the basis of genotype. There is more genetic variation WITHIN a race than BETWEEN races.

Add to that the fact that just about everyone who ever sailed up the Straits of Melaka has a go at breeding with the local Malays and you have a very hybrid population that has only recently expanded in size. Hybridisation primarily affects those human characteristics for which there is little scope for selection... reproductive performance, intelligence etc

So the major differences you see between races are primarily environmental differences. Skin colour and facial features are MINOR differences and have no bearing nor any correlation with intelligence.

So take the Jews and the Chinese.... what do they have in common?? Early childhood idolatry, obsessively protectionist parents who suppress the instinctive curiosity of children as part of their overprotective philosophies. And massive paranoia... with the Jews imposed by their 'enemies' and with the chinese, self imposed.

The end result is generation after generation of children with little innovative skills, little imagination and the only outlet left for their energies is an obsession with money making, which will give them an excuse for being so boring and measure of their success in the world. You could hardly say that some of the tactics used by Jews and Chinese in their pursuit of wealth are indicators of them being the smartest people on earth. At least not if you take my definition of 'smart'

With the Austronesians of the Malay Peninsular you have one overriding force in their development... Islam. Early childhood indoctrination into Islam requires first that the child be destabilised and rendered insecure so that they will be easy prey for the fantasy tales of Islam. Add to that a goodly dose of fear to ensure they absorb the lessons pumped into them by constant repetition. An prohibition to questioning anything plus the demand that they accept the most simplistic answer to any questions they might dare ask. Anyway why ask questions when Islam has all the answers set out for you and in fact your whole life is going to be dictated by Allah and his support team

The end result.. unthinking, disorganised individuals incapable of doing anything for themselves because Islam has all the answers. Unthinking means they have no common sense, disorganised means they cannot plan into the future nor can they organise their own time and lack of discipline means they have no idea of what they want or where they are going

To cover for all these inadequecies Islam empowers its followers with an impenetrable belief in their own importance and their superiority over all other beings on the planet
written by carribeanking7, June 22, 2009 19:17:13
No Pete one need not go to school, and yes when they cannot caunter your arguments with facts , I've seen some UMNO sites just lashing out by calling you "gemuk" or "botak" thats their argument, or maybe Syed Hamid Albar looks like Julio Iglesias to them, then I stumbled upon this group This is a hate RPK group some 75 members inactive since May '09 only 3 board discussion, there is no admin left http://www.facebook.com/group....6283540063

The elements you speak of are present, go ahead laugh yourself silly reading some of the wall post , including one email forward purportedly written by an unnamed ex-pkr member, they take an unauthenticatedemail forward as gospel but on the other hand question your SD.

I have crossed swords with some of its members at link above in other forums and have found them to be the most brain dead people I have come across.

I too welcome dissenting views, but like you say, if someone disagree's I have a right to reply, but these twits do not know the difference between rebutting an opinion with facts and personal attacks.What is amazing is these people actually think they have a point.

written by johnT, June 22, 2009 21:18:17
All I know my Children need to go to School to get a degree. Soo they can find a job in overseas and leave Malaysia. I can't do it but I hope my children will able to leave a place that I see is apartied
written by miwaki, June 23, 2009 00:03:50
I'm not a muslim and also not a christian but I do know what is right and what is wrong.I do not have to attend school in order to differentiate between right and wrong as I have a brain inside my head and not attach to my knee.

Keep plundering the wealth of this nation and you will end up in hell for a couple of million years before you are born as something you detest most irregardless of your religion.
written by chiongguo, June 23, 2009 00:43:41
Since we are on the subject of religion and religious teaching I believe it is instructive to look at another religious beliefs and practices that I am familiar with.

In buddhism there is a distinction between book knowledge and insights. Book knowledge is dead but a teacher or anyone for that matter with insights can shed light onto the scriptures. Knowing all the scriptures in the world doesn't really do any good for anyone except increase the likelihood of been puffed up with pride. All scriptures needed insights of a living person in order for it to become relevant and alife. This was best illustrated by one of Buddha's closest disciple, Ananda. Ananda was older than Buddha and had agreed to serve buddha and to follow him everywhere he went. Everywhere meant really just that. Even when buddha slept ananda would sleep there as well. Ananda was blessed with perfect memory and he could recite verbatim everything Buddha had said. And yet in all those 40 odd years of following Buddha and knowing every word of every scripture Ananda could not gain enlightenment. He could regurgitate perfectly what Buddha said but he could not draw out the marrow and the life of Buddha's teachings even if his life depended on it. After Buddha died Ananda gained liberation(enlightenment) and all it took was a singular insight. All his learning was the impediment to him gaining insights and liberation. I would hazard a guess that all the learning of a lot of muslims draw them further and further away from God.

Your insights into the teachings of Islam is far deeper and wider than any muslim I had spoken with and this you can't pick up by sitting in a classroom. I used to teach in a school with uztaz from both BN and PAS and often had discussions with a number of them(3 in particular). The one that demonstrated the most insight into islam was a lowly lab-tech.

One of my buddhist teachers said that a piece of paper does not validate our insights but our insights and skills validate the paper - if we have one.

Islam in malaysia is very ritual based. Many thought that by following the prescribed rituals they will probably gained acceptance into paradise. But in the buku angel it was stated that few will actually get there.

I met a muslim today with all the appropriate head gear to show religiosity at puspakom where I took my car for inspection. Yet with all these external trappings of a religious person and showing he had gone to mecca he went and maligned and spread fitnah about me to the makan store, the puspakom and to a friend. He brought along his friends of course. And the strange thing is that I don't even know him or had any nasty encounter with him and yet he saw it fit to spread fear, hatred and contempt.

written by SamBall, June 23, 2009 02:05:57
One does not need to go to school to know right from wrong, but one needs to be educated; in life and for life.

There are many uneducated or ignorant people; that pretty normal and ripe for politicians to play their games. Thankfully there are also enlightened ones, who can accept criticism, critical thinking, give and take.

cheers, shalom, masalama
written by Rhan, June 23, 2009 08:52:42
Conan Chung

You are not racist, you are only an idiot who ride on a high horse without knowledge of your own history and what the cultural colonization from your West master did on your silly brain. Your inane utterance lacking sensibilities and ignore the sosio-economy development of third world country. My advice is please trash yours writing into densemy toilet bowl since both of you share one.

An author says intellectual words from certain part of world were cheap, they could murmur out many sentences to fill up a full page when they don’t even seem to have a thought. You and densemy comment here appears to substantiate such claim.

To revive your mind, you may start reading Kama Sutra and practice the stunt with densemy, this is one of the best way to stimulate the brain cell of a pseudo-intellectual.

Don’t tell me you are a Chinese, I feel pretty shame if you are one.
written by Everbright, June 23, 2009 10:38:43
It doesn't take much to understand that in Malaysia, the institutions in the Civil Service, Government, Judiciary, Police are all corrupted beyond redemption. The moral failure is entirely due to our corrupted leaders. All they breed in UMNO, MCA, MIC are crooked towkays, scumbag agents, money bags warlords, morally deficient civil servants. There is no more hope. There is no meritocracy and all they promote are their own sycopants and ball-lickers. M'sia may have one more chance and that is to be seen at the coming GE13.
written by best4rakyat, June 23, 2009 12:32:36
Do you really need to go to school to know right from wrong?
Not really! But young malaysian believe in what as a good deed and example to be fair as well as do it right by so-called leaders and civil service like police!
Instead of unfair treatment or abuse by force for even a simple gathering by its people with leader.
What about wearing of "black T-shirts" on coming 27th to welcome this uniquely funny "political party" big welcoming function for new PM? PM is a PM for every malaysian and so even PR have right to call upon his rakyat to line up along both side of the road on coming 27th to welcome him,right? No need of permit I guess so and PR leadership should take this chance to prove something is wrong in practice by certain parties. Other wise just a motion to call upon the IGP to be answerable in Parliament! We tend to forget that we have constitution and parliament is a place to justify an act!
written by Steven Ong, June 23, 2009 13:22:50
Common sense is enough and that is all it takes. And surely God gave all of us brains for a reason. Even non-Muslims understand that. And you need not go to an Islamic university to understand that.

I would like to add,: our conscience will know what is right and what is wrong. Malay Muslims are a simple and ignorant lot, deceiving themselves by believing totally on the ulamas and ustaz. They should go and read more from books and the internet. They should start to ask just about anything, nothing is taboo in this world. Then only they can progress and advance. The Malay Muslim are now educated and should question very statements and ideologies, -yes even the prophet Mohammad and Allah. Allah is most merciful and loving. If one is sincere in the heart, Allah understand and will bless you instead.
written by Conan Chung, June 23, 2009 14:04:15
Now so far i haven't seen any cyber trolls, but i've definitely seen one today by the name of Rhan. First of, i am not a racist. According to wikipedia, cut and past for your reference.

"Racism is the belief that race is the primary determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race.[1] In the case of institutional racism, certain racial groups may be denied rights or benefits, or get preferential treatment"

Sounds familiar? That's right, our own government is practicing racism and yet put up a farce of unity through slogans like 1Malaysia and rukun negara and whatnot. So which do you prefer: closet-racist or racist-deceptionist? Anyways, did you really took the time to understand what i said. I'm not saying Chinese are superior to Malays; that is the common belief by many who wants to explain differences between people - genetics. But did I say I believe that bull crap. I said it is because our own government's special treatment towards one race has made it uncompetitive and backwards as compared to the other unprivileged. Its all the result of growing up in an environment that doesn't push towards development of the entire race but only selective few (UMNOPUTRAS).

Same goes for densemy, he or she is saying the same thing that the environment (our countries culture towards corruption and etc) that made the Malays who they are today.

So instead of blasting us right off the bat, take time to understand what we're saying. Sheesh, no wonder Pete says a lot can read but comprehension is zero. And if you still disagree with what we're saying, then enlighten us with your superior mind. Don't just tell us to go back to our Western Masters or what not. Or maybe in you already made up your mind that we are 2nd rate people with insignificant thoughts and no amount of trouble could save us. Maybe your brain is only good for 1st class people like yourself and the rest of us can never compare to you. Now who's got the superiority-complex?

Also, i dun really mind practising Kama Sutra with densemy if its a "She". Give me your phone no. and i'll arrange a meeting. Btw, why are u ashamed that i'm Chinese. I never look down on people based on their race but it seems you are. Maybe you're pushing too hard to not appear as a racist that you became a reverse-racist. If you don't know the meaning, wikipedia racist.
written by Conan Chung, June 23, 2009 14:07:55
Btw, Rhan r u MCA?

If you are it explains everything!
written by Oscar Winner, June 23, 2009 14:46:18
Hi Conan Chung,

I have an encounter with Rhan some time ago. He chooses to comment on others' comments, instead of commenting on the main article. It's his right, of course. We are all faceless, and we don't know the tone used since the words are not spoken. Thus, it can lead to misunderstandings, sometimes.

But you guys pls stay cool. Cheers