Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow The Poison of “Unity” Government

The Poison of “Unity” Government PDF Print
Monday, 22 June 2009 00:00

This “unity government” scheme is nothing more than a crude and greedy power-grab by the UMNO and PAS pair.  It is not to be confused with Tun Razak’s version following the May 1969 tragedy.  Then it was truly a unity initiative, with the wise Tun opening up the old Alliance coalition to all willing participants.

M. Bakri Musa

The two Malay political parties – UMNO and PAS – are battling each other to convince us that each is better than the other in advancing the “Malay agenda.”  The two are like ageing fighters stuck with their same old tired moves.  They are oblivious of the fact that we are fed up with their act; their lack of vigor and imaginative new strategies.

In a clumsy if not desperate attempt for new moves they concocted a ‘vision’ for a ‘unity’ government based on the two parties!  Left unstated is the question:  Unity for what and against whom?

I wish that they would expend their efforts on making our people competitive, and thus lifting us out of poverty.  That is the most important Malay agenda today.  Better yet, I would prefer that they just exit the ring and let others run the show for a change.

I fail to see how this ‘unity’ government would make Malays more competitive.  The track record for UMNO is for all to see.  Corruption is now rampant, as well as the erosion of the integrity of our institutions and the deepening polarization of Malaysians.  The Melayu Baru (New Malay) of UMNO has now morphed into Melayu Barua (Malay scoundrels).

As for PAS, after decades of ruling Kelantan, the young still has to leave the state to seek a better life.  The state is regularly plagued with such diseases as cholera.  Tok Guru Nik Aziz may be pious and religious, with honesty and humility thrown in massive doses, but he is completely inept in running a modern state.  Apparently his humility does not extend to his intellect for he has not seen fit to seek competent help in such ‘secular’ matters.

New Political Reality

UMNO and PAS are so used to fighting each other that they have forgotten what it is they are fighting for.  While they are busy fighting each other, the world has passed them by.  Today with the increasing plurality of the Malaysian electorate, securing the majority Malay votes would not necessary translate into political power, at least at the national level.

In a rare display of political wisdom, PAS recognized the need to reach beyond by, for example, fielding non-Malay candidates in the last election and establishing a new wing within the party for non-Muslims.  However, whatever inroads the party may have made with non-Malays have since evaporated with its ill-conceived pursuit of a “unity government” with UMNO.

UMNO, a slow learner, has yet to recognize this new political reality.  Thus it treats its non-Malay coalition partners in Barisan with undisguised contempt.  UMNO leaders are quick to brandish their kerises, preferably dripped with ketchup for dramatic effect, at the slightest provocation.

Chauvinistic appeals of Ketuanan Melayu to win Malay votes might still work, but only regionally in Kedah, Perlis, Kelantan, and Trengganu.  Unfortunately those are not exactly the economic or power centers of the nation.  In terms of population, landmass, and most importantly economic activities, the contributions of those states to the national total are at best miniscule.

The elements overrepresented in those states are poverty and the underdevelopment of the people, and the overwhelming majority of whom are, sadly, Malays.  Oh, yes, combined those four states have nearly half (four out of nine) of the sultans.  For some, that is a source of endless pride.

As for the much-vaunted Malay agenda or even Ketuanan Melayu, I am at a loss as to what exactly these Malay politicians are fighting for.  If it is for retaining the Malay language, sultans and other key elements of Malay culture, including and especially Islam, those are already enshrined in our constitution.  Even if non-Malays were to oppose that, there is not much that they could do about it.  By themselves they could never secure the necessary two-third majority needed to amend the constitution.

The only way for non-Malays, or anyone else for that matter, to do away with those constitutional provisions would be to bribe Members of Parliament (Malays and non-Malays) to amend the constitution.  Then just to be sure, also bribe the Senators and also the King and sultans so they too would agree with the changes.

The price tag would be cheap.  The late Tun Ghaffar once suggested that for a few hundred million ringgit you could buy the entire UMNO Supreme Council.  With a billion or two you could get the whole parliament and the Council of Rulers.

The colonial British secured the entire country for considerably much less, even after factoring in for inflation and devaluation (of both the sterling and ringgit).  Flattery made up for what they could not afford in gold.  The British offered fancy titles like the Knighthood of some Medieval Order to our leaders and sultans to win them over.

The corollary to my observation is that if we Malays truly wish to preserve our cherished special privileges, we better start electing honest and incorrupt leaders.  Corrupt leaders would not only sell off those special privileges, they will also sell away our country.

Unity for What and Against Whom?

Following the Barisan election rout of March 8, 2008, the fear that the coalition, specifically UMNO, would lose power at the national level was palpable.  This desperation led misguided souls in UMNO to seek those in PAS who had been longing for power.  This quest for a ‘unity government’ was nothing more than UMNO securing an insurance policy for its continuing hold on power; for PAS, it was a seductive teasing on the taste of power.

It is ironic that the pursuit of a “unity government” resulted only in sowing distrust within the existing coalitions.  In pursuing PAS, UMNO succeeded only in straining relations with its long-time Barisan partners.  PAS meanwhile managed only to poison its still frail Pakatan Rakyat coalition with PKR and DAP.  Worse, as we are now seeing, it also threatens the unity of PAS.

The proponents for this “unity government” have obviously not done their due diligence or any downstream analysis.  Those UMNO warlords would not take kindly to sharing their bounty with their new kopiah-clad upstart colleagues.  Far from ‘purifying’ UMNO, PAS would end up being just as corrupt as UMNO.

It is remarkable that both Tun Mahathir and Tok Guru Nik Aziz are against the idea.  I do not know their individual motives, but the fact they are both in rare agreement should serve as a cautionary note.

If the disintegration of UMNO and PAS were the consequence of this “unity” movement, I could not care less.  However, the initiative would poison race relations in the country on a scale comparable to the May 1969 tragedy.  Indeed the venom has already seeped out.  That should concern everyone.

This “unity government” scheme is nothing more than a crude and greedy power-grab by the UMNO and PAS pair.  It is not to be confused with Tun Razak’s version following the May 1969 tragedy.  Then it was truly a unity initiative, with the wise Tun opening up the old Alliance coalition to all willing participants.

This latest scheme is the ugliest manifestation of Malay ultra chauvinism.  It would lead not to unity but greater polarizations among Malays as well as between Malays and non-Malays, and at a time when we can least afford it.

Even if UMNO were to merge with PAS, the new coalition would still never command a two-third majority in Parliament.  At last count, even if every Member of Parliament with a Malay-sounding name were to vote in “unity,” that would still fall far short of a supra majority needed to amend the constitution.  The political calculus has changed irreversibly.

The central reality is that Malays will have to advance with and not at the expense of non-Malay Malaysians.  Likewise, non-Malays would advance along with and not at the expense of Malays.  The unity that we should all strive for must not only be among Malays but also among Malaysians.  We can begin that process not by pursuing a “unity government” but decreasing the rhetoric that polarizes our society.  Demanding that our political leaders be civil and courteous to each other would be an excellent beginning.  Oh yes, please also keep those kerises sheathed!

It amuses me that the most vigorous proponents of this “unity government” in UMNO and PAS are also the shrillest and most divisive voices before they discovered this ‘unity’ religion.

A New Direction For Malays

Instead of wasting time and effort in chasing the mirage of Malay ‘unity’ and in the process unnecessarily alienating others, Malay leaders should focus on the more difficult and critical problem of enhancing Malay competitiveness.  This problem cannot be solved simply by shouting slogans of Malay unity or Ketuanan Melayu.  Instead we need leaders who are smart, competent, diligent, and above all, not corrupt.

Look at the schools Malay children attend.  How can we expect them to learn English or science when we do not provide them with competent teachers?  Examine the institutions run predominantly by Malays, the civil service for example.  As Malays we should be ashamed of this.  We need these institutions to be effective as they are a key to making Malays competitive.

The list is endless.  What is limited, and severely so, is the willingness to acknowledge, let alone solve them.  I have yet to hear something sensible from either PAS or UMNO leaders.  So far PAS wants Malays not to learn English and to ban Sisters in Islam.  Well, that is an advancement of sorts; at least they are not harping on hudud.  As for UMNO leaders, they cannot even decide whether to continue teaching science and mathematics in English.

Malay leaders should not be deluding the masses with half-baked ideas of “Malay unity.”  These leaders succeed only in deluding themselves.

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by verifunny, June 21, 2009 23:57:48
The conclusion is the leaders sucks!!!

Personal interests is more important than the people who voted them into power.

Vote them down in the Next GE!!!

No more Umnono or BeEnd!!!

Let in new blood and get better results rather than to wait and see the country crashes.
written by BUTEK, June 22, 2009 00:06:20
Haji budu haji hadi buduh may forgiven UMNO for their bloody sins but the true muslim will never.....

REMEMBER... UMNO LEADERS ARE the dog of christian law FOREVER...
written by verifunny, June 22, 2009 00:07:36
In addition, the economic crisis still looks bad for the world.

I guess it is more sensible to focus on affected general public.

Makes more long-term and short-term plans/policies to improve the current situation.
written by Oscar Winner, June 22, 2009 00:44:36
Great article, Bakri. Hope Tok Guru have a read. Tok Guru said he was ready to forgive UMNO if it apologised. I do hope he can see UMNO's sole purpose of working with Pas, which is so obvious. If UMNO apologises and Tok Guru forgives, then they hug and make up, I think I will lose whatever faith and trust I have for Tok Guru and PAS. Well, this is also one of the aims of what the evil UMNO wants to achieve - to turn away PAS supporters. Tok Guru, if that happens, I feel sorry for you and Islam.
written by Hakim Joe, June 22, 2009 00:52:47
Bakri,

1) I would not put the word "wise" and "Tun Abdul Razak" in the same sentence - kinda misleading, right?
2) Of course it will be more competitive. Instead of one Malay political party grabbing all the money, now we have two.
3) One thing I do agree with you...I too couldn't care less if UMNO & PAS were to disintegrate if such unity talks becomes fruition.

written by Thian, June 22, 2009 00:56:07

M. Bakri Musa truly an aware Malaysian.

Now, expose the truth and we will see what kind of people, they really are.

If only more of our Malaysian brothers and sisters can shed their mentality of fear and greed; cultivate values that are more real and with more awareness; then these same leaders will be always caught with their pants down and $$$ stuff up their ass... the scoundrels that they are.

Thank you, sir, for an excellent astute deduction as usual...

written by Bruce_Lee, June 22, 2009 01:40:22
So this is what 1Malaysia means, 1Melayu? Go ahead and do it. It will make the Chinese and Indian even smarter more resolute. We will bribe our way out. You may enjoy the immediate result of NEP. We will ensure long term viability with hard work.
Increase the quota to 60%, 30% is very low. Why hesitate? you are the majority.

-You have filled all the Government Departments with 95% or more with Malays.
-80% of the banking industry owned by Malays.
-80% of plantation sectors owned by Malays.
-All Government construction projects belongs exclusively to UMNO.
-Willing to profit from petrol sales when the people are suffering from economic crisis. It use to be subsidised until recently.

Are the Malay people still feel threatened by these 'kaum pendatang'?
Go ahead PAS, please join UMNO. It needs your help to make all Malays into 'golongan bangsawan'. As for the 'kaum pendatang' we are simple hardworking folks. We dont need 'free money' or subsidies. Please help UMNO to maintain 'Ketuanan Melayu'. It is ok for 'kaum pendatang' to live without Disneyland, Mercedes, shopping in Paris London Sydney, polo, golf. We have nothing to loose anymore. All had been sold(pawned) to mahathir by the greatest TRAITORS of 'kaum pendatang' samy vollu and ling liong sik. And mahathir still not satisfied.

Thus, PAS please dont worry about 'kaum pendatang'. Go ahead and help UMNO. It really needs your help.

God do wake up sometimes!
When he wakes up then 'WELCOME TO REPUBLIC OF MALAYSIA!' (ROM)
written by hakuna, June 22, 2009 01:41:58
A well written piece M.Bakri but I have to differ in my opinion about the "wise Tun Abdul Razak" and will tag along with Hakim Joe here.

One wonders when will all these idiots wake up from their slumberland and realise that it should be unity of ALL MALAYSIANS that one should look into. PAS too seems to have betrayed the non-Malays who voted for it.Guess some will never learn when selfishness and ulterior motive are their paramount thoughts.
written by Msian Idol3, June 22, 2009 03:22:22
Sooooo clear cut that UMNO is in serious spin downwards. Thus the need to come up with the slogan "Malay Unity". Malays are leaving UMNO because it is corrupted, arrogant, few rich malays & cronies keep on benefitting from lucrative contracts, liars as leaders who use religion & skin colour, commiting all kinds of crimes & covering them up etc. NOW do malays wants to bed down with such CROOKS in disguise?

Come up with solid leaders first who dare to make changes for the good of the nation. Simple things the present crop of leaders are unable to do is to tackle crime & coruption in the police force. As far as my malay bro in-law thinks it is just another hype out call by UMNO to hoodwink all malays. Are malays that naive, UMNO thinks a large proportion will deliver support for this rallying call to make them look better for they have been battered and they know they can go under come GE13. UMNO already put PAS into such bad light about malay unity and it better wake up to stick to its ideals of great governance of transperencies otherwise it be a case of Big Fish chomping ikan bilis. Nik Aziz is right -- UMNO is devil in disguise. It had over 50 years to make things work, could UMNO make things work in just a year or a few short years with this crop of corrupt gold digging leaders who are all multi millionaires??
written by antares, June 22, 2009 05:19:49
Well said M. Bakri Musa, I have no doubt of your sincerity, and so is the article posted by Khoo Kay Peng – Unity talk a diversion.

Since you brought up the issues of the betterment of the Malays, if I may say so, for the decades after independence what has umeno done all this while in promoting the advancement of the Malay economic agenda? To date has umeno best effort managed to promote and achieve the expected target of Malay NEP quota?

And I’ll be dammed for supporting PAS, if as you mention it that “PAS is in the same disposition as umeno that they are oblivious of the fact that we are fed up with their act; their lack of vigor and imaginative new strategies”. It is umeno that concocted a ‘vision’ for a ‘unity’ government based on the two parties! Not PAS as a party – only psychotic nasa and gang that are smitten by the ketuanan melayu agenda. May be you have missed Tok Guru’s comments and statements concerning nasa and gang pro umeno unity talk. To date PAS as a party has made its firm standing on this issue.

Unity for what and against whom? It is fair to say that you should pose this question to umeno elite. PAS wil be dammed like umeno by BR partners if its agenda is just for the betterment of the Malays only.

You mentioned that “Tok Guru Nik Aziz he is completely inept in running a modern state, and apparently his humility does not extend to his intellect for he has not seen fit to seek competent help in such ‘secular’ matters.” I wish that you reserve this comment to yourself; one appearance doesn’t reflect the true wisdom and intellectual capability. Because psychotic nasa and gang dancing to the umeno psycho trance music is not a conclusive factor to say that there are no professionals and intellects behind the PAS drive or synergy in BR political agendas.

Sorry again to say that I personally don’t think that you are fair to Kelantanese, inspite of what preceived my obsevation shows that Kelantanese people are more business minded than other Malays. Further if one wish to talk about Kelantan state then one must realise that Kelantan state as always at the mercy of umeno/BN regime political game?

Right now this umeno unity tale is no issue. The issue is what has the BN regime addressing the prevailing political and economic issues; the agendas for the ballgame are in BN court. Aren’t BN still the government of the day? What we all can see is that umeno is busy with their “fire fighting”. In my conclusion, one thing I agree with you though, the elite corrupt numbskull umeno Malays, will always indirectly corrupt and suppress the progressive, intelligent, sincere and decent hardworking Malay.
written by Loh, June 22, 2009 05:41:44
///The corollary to my observation is that if we Malays truly wish to preserve our cherished special privileges, we better start electing honest and incorrupt leaders. Corrupt leaders would not only sell off those special privileges, they will also sell away our country///--Musa.

Do the special privileges refer to Article 153 or NEP? Article 153 was include in the constitution to help Malays attain level playing field in 15 years, and as the late Tun Dr Ismail said he was pleasantly surprised that the leaders of MIC and MCA accepted that article willingly, and he said that Malays would willing forgo that Article out of pride when they no longer required it. So Tun Ismail did not cherish the so-called special privileges, but took it out of humility. Tun Dr Ismail would not consider NEP a special privilege, but he could not stop Tun Razak pretending that Article 153 did not do enough for Malays after 12 years in operation.

The value Musa placed on the ‘special privileges’ is unsettling since he knows the history, and he is a well educated doctor living abroad for a long time. The ordinary Malays under the perennial influence of UMNO leaders believe that they had the ‘special privileges’ because their ancestors came from geographical areas nearer than those of the Chinese and the Indians, and are thus closer to be the native so that they became bumiputras. With those special position, they want special rights, and TDM considers that the Chinese and Indians are to be blamed for not following his example to become NEWMalay, and thus deserve discrimination.

/// The“unity government” scheme is nothing more than a crude and greedy power-grab by the UMNO and PAS pair. It is not to be confused with Tun Razak’s version following the May 1969 tragedy. Then it was truly a unity initiative, with the wise Tun opening up the old Alliance coalition to all willing participants.///--Musa

Tun Razak did not open Alliance coalition to willing participants. Some opposition parties joined under compulsion, possibly to prevent UMNO organizing another ethnic cleansing. Tun Razak wanted 2/3 majority to amend the constitution, including the amendment which removed the provision which called for a review of Article 153 after 15 years, in 1972. Tun Razak threatened that if the amendment could not take place, he would continue to rule through national operation council, and the parliament would not be convened. The opposition parties were blackmailed into joining the government, and it was not a unity initiative. NEP policy initiated by Tun Razak was even worse. It institutionalised discriminatory policies against non-Malays. The racist policy offered TDM the excuse to remove the practice of public tender for government projects and purchases. That started legalised corruption in the country.

written by kenny, June 22, 2009 06:18:10
'Unity government' or 'Malay unity' are just excuses and smokescreens. Apart from trying to divide Pakatan Rakyat, it's also about Umno wanting absolute power and the regaining of 2/3 majority to further rape and deface the Federal Constitution - to alter and push through new laws to cripple the opposition and the rakyat.

Coming back to the proposed 'unity':

1) We know that the raison d'etre of PAS is religion and, lately, with a good mixture of more progressive professionals. The dangerous faction is led by Hadi Awang and Nasharudin. Hadi's previous stints as opposition leader and MB of Tengganu were unimpressive, to say the least. And Nasharudin couldn't even win himself a seat in Hadi's Trengganu the previous time and had to do it in Nik Aziz's stronghold of Kelantan. Perhaps, they also see their future in PAS being threatened by the likes of Husam Musa and Nizar.

2) Umno also claims to champion the same religion; but, it destroys temples, it snatches corpses, it destroys all the important government institutions, it destroyed our sound education system, it practically made the rakyat's 800 billion Petronas money disappear, its police force is lawless - in short, it practises everything except religion.

If these power-crazy and incompetent people succeed in forming this UMNO-PAS 'unity government', PAS, with its many upright and religious members unlikely to follow suit, would have a higher chance of disintegrating than Umno. This trap of sleeping with the devil will only cause to further divide the country, prolonging and worsening the people's misery bringing the country nearer into the abyss.

To stop Hadi and Nasha's on-off temptations with the devil from causing further divisions in PAS and Pakatan, Tok Guru Nik Aziz needs to do something decisive, even to the extent of purging these undesirables and gang from PAS if possible. So long as TGNA and faction still have PAS, those out of it are not likely to survive the next election.

Having said that, the most crucial is not to let BN regain the 2/3 majority now and forever.
written by macho, June 22, 2009 07:35:01
Well said. But to alot of people this is stating the obvious. There is never any long term solutions to our country problems. Only knee jerk reactions. As long as the leaders are jerks then there will be no progress. As long as we keep electing this jerks then we only have ourself to blame for all our problems. In summary people who wants changes must be educated to register to votes. Otherwise do not expect anything from the present government.
written by kooler, June 22, 2009 07:54:54
Well analysed. But the political agenda of Malay Unity is an euphemism for suppression, indefinitely, of others' rights. It is the hatred of other races that is the driving force behind these Unity talks.
written by sonofmalaysia, June 22, 2009 08:22:41
These PAS and UMNO Malay are medieval people in modern time. Tragic for Malay to have have them as leaders !! Because of their medieval mentality, Malay is not plugged into the world and will be left further and further behind !!
written by Running Sardines, June 22, 2009 09:43:24
It is really confusing to hear this unity talk ... again and again !!! United against what ? For a person in a street like me, I only want those in power to do their job competently, without corruption or favouritism or abuse of power.

If this unity government can bring back the petrol price to RM1.10 per litre or 1USD = RM2.52 or nasi ayam to RM3 per plate etc., I am all out for it. But I sensed it is more like them IamNo and Lulus parties dividing the loot they 'rob' from the common citizens like me. Anymore space travel for us Malaysians ? Or trip to Mt. Everest ? Or to North Pole ? Some more tallest building in the world in Malaysia ? Or maybe a nuclear plant now in Malaysia although the risk is far too big for us to handle. Or maybe coal mining in Maliau Basin of Sabah although it is a fact that this place is the oldest rain forest in the world (we use the latest coal mining technology ... environmental friendly)

http://www.forest.sabah.gov.my...iau_fr.htm

Bottom line, rakyat derita when the people in power are not wise
written by Rozlan, June 22, 2009 09:52:29
In a rare display of political wisdom, PAS recognized the need to reach beyond by, for example, fielding non-Malay candidates in the last election and establishing a new wing within the party for non-Muslims. However, whatever inroads the party may have made with non-Malays have since evaporated with its ill-conceived pursuit of a “unity government” with UMNO.

Non malay support to PAS still not evaporated yet but if PAS leaders are not carefull everything will go back to square one.PAS should forget about UMNo.Let it die a natural dead.Malaysia does not need BN racist anymore

Any attempt to work together with UMNo will bring curse to it.While some PAS leaders are keen to unite with UMNo,most PAS supporters did not.So PAS will be divided and lost its influence for good
written by InEffective, June 22, 2009 09:54:57

unity-by-race will only divide (and help politicians maintain leverage over the rakyat)

Unity-by-Values is better and more helpful for the Malays, Chinese, Indians.
(will result in progress and better quality-of-life of the people, if politicians with the right morality, ethics, values, and beliefs and committment come to power)

Which type of unity will deliver a better quality-of-life for your children ?
written by Fairminded, June 22, 2009 10:50:30
Bukri Musa had hit the mail on the head. The non Malays had never questioned the constitution enshrined Malay royalty, culture etc. "The central reality is that Malays will have to advance with and not at the expense of non-Malay Malaysians. Likewise, non-Malays would advance along with and not at the expense of Malays " is exactly what non Malay Malaysians believe in. Unfortunately everything not working for the Malays are blamed on the non Malays. The best way to propagate the Malay culture is for the Malays to show what they can do with all the NEP privileges for the last 50 years like straightening out the civil service.
written by yellowwoman, June 22, 2009 10:52:05
Dear M Bakri Musa,
I always enjoy your articles, including this one, for what you say makes perfect sense. The sad part is, everyone knows this except those for whom you write the article for. Why? Because they refuse to understand it.

Sadly, UMNO has created a Malay race that does not want to compete with others, they want a country/universities/working environment, that only consists of Malays. They don't want to work very hard for most things. They don't want to berdikari and instead want to berdiri atas kaki orang lain.

At first, the Malays don't want to compete with others,
Now, 50 years later, they realise they cannot compete even if they want to.
So how? So UMNO cannot even make a decent decision on any policy, eg teaching of Sc and Maths in English. It is now "damned if we do it, damned if we don't"
It is now, "die if we go with meritorcracy, also die if we don't".
It is now, "lose out if it is the best person for every job, and lose out if we don't".

Why? M Bakri Musa, you know why. The Malays need leaders like you. It is your duty to lead them. Be the kind of leader you champion for, to lead the Malays. It is now or never. The Malays need the non-Malays, and the non-Malays need the Malays. The sooner we realise this, the sooner we can heal and move on.
written by KweN, June 22, 2009 11:21:03
if 1malaysia can be achieved, meaning UNITY CAN BE ACHIEVED IN MALAYSIA
earth will have no more discrimination, war, poverty, hunger so on and so forth
written by KweN, June 22, 2009 11:21:34
meaning if* UNITY
written by emcube, June 22, 2009 11:22:04
Oscar Winner,
Tok Guru may forgive if UMNO apologises (a mark of a noble person), but i dont think he will forget. He did mention that its not easy to forget and what's the use of learning history if we just simply forget. He has his point there and i believe he is still against a unity governmet of UMNO and PAS.
Let us give them some time to resolve the PAS internal issue on for and against unity government. Its UMNO's strategy to disintegrate PR.
written by Wisdom above, June 22, 2009 11:39:51
Did the PAS president got elected as a MP at all ?
written by densemy, June 22, 2009 11:48:24
Advocates of Unity Government in Malaysia have only one thought in mind... the strength of their own power base and its potential to generate money for them.

Unity Government will not confer any benefits on Malaysians
written by uxzee, June 22, 2009 13:11:41
This is a great article Bakri Musa. I hope many Malaysians, Malays and non Malays read this.
We all know what is the purpose of UMNO in calling for this unity government. This is the call of a desperate drowning man. But the stand of PAS in this is shocking and has revealed the human weakness in them. A consolation though is that many in PAS do not agree to this unity government call.
written by hellosunshine, June 22, 2009 13:31:06
'Look at the schools Malay children attend.'

The crux of the problem lies squarely on the shoulders of the past and present powers that be. All those racist and religious rhetoric and crap are used to cover up their evil agenda of keeping the majority Malay race under their thumb by giving the majority Malays easy passage to universities thru poor education and easy passing marks thus basically making them dependent on these evil bastards who will feed them bits and crumbs from their overflowing tables.
We are really glad that there are now more and more outstanding and bright Malays like Bakri Musa, RPK, Dr Azly etc who are exposing these selfish and evil bastards. Keep up the good work for the nation. smilies/wink.gif
written by emcube, June 22, 2009 13:59:32

Dear Dr M Bakri,

---

......."As for PAS, after decades of ruling Kelantan, the young still has to leave the state to seek a better life. The state is regularly plagued with such diseases as cholera. Tok Guru Nik Aziz may be pious and religious, with honesty and humility thrown in massive doses, but he is completely inept in running a modern state. Apparently his humility does not extend to his intellect for he has not seen fit to seek competent help in such ‘secular’ matters."

---

I agree with most of the contents of this article axcept for the statements above. TGNA and his excos has done a lot of progress (spiritually and worldly) for Kelantan despite the restrictions/sabotage from the federal government. The actions of the federal government were actually against the spirit of federalism.

Thanks.

~emcube

written by Loh, June 22, 2009 14:26:39
///The central reality is that Malays will have to advance with and not at the expense of non-Malay Malaysians. Likewise, non-Malays would advance along with and not at the expense of Malays. The unity that we should all strive for must not only be among Malays but also among Malaysians. ///Bakri Musa

If the government would only treat the citizens as individual who are free to pursue their dreams and development for their own happiness without arbitrarily compiling artificial assessment of the collective advancement by race, the question of one community advances at the expense of another does not arise. It makes no sense to add the wealth of TDM with a Malay engineer, and to say that the average wealth has arisen for two Malays. It makes no sense to average the wealth of Robert Kok and Ling Liong Sik and to claim that Chinese are rich, since there are a lot of poor Chinese around. Nevertheless, it makes sense to uplift the living standards of the poor so that they do not have to suffer when resources for living are not so short that some social transfer could not take place. That satisfies the sense of commiseration for humans of the developed society. For that purpose, assistance should always be based on needs rather than on other birth related characteristics or religion of the beneficiaries.

It is because of the racist motivation that the government highlight the need for special treatment for any race, and it has later developed into a convenient means to create vote banks to hoodwink the citizens that the government pursue parliamentary democracy. Having been ensured that they would return to power despite publicity of their known blatant practices of corruption, as reflected by money politics within party election, UMNOputras would not change. The so-called unity talk has the agenda to ensure a larger majority in parliament and state legislative assemblies in the name of race and politicians. Polarisation in Bolehland is entering a new era.

The so-called special privileges for one race give the government the pretext to monitor and to prevent non-Malays advancing at the expense of Malays, as the original Article 153 had hoped to bring them up to enter free competition with others in 15 years, by 1972. But that has been hijacked for assurance of life tenure for UMNO politicians. Some 52 years after independence Malay politician who served previously as prime minister still quotes examples of Malay drivers for Chinese employers as proof that Malays still need NEP. How untenable is the argument. But does the government care?
written by Chokma, June 23, 2009 08:47:50
Still onto 1Malaysia/1Melayu? All that the leaders in the country think about is MyPocket only. 1Malaysia and 1Melayu are nothing more than just a tool to lure the ignorants to fulfill the dreams of the crooks. The economy is down, the crime rate is up, corruption is rampant, all these are not important.

Wake up folks. Only endanger species need protection! My fellow kawan Melayu, you are not endanger species in Malaysia. You are led to think this way so that the blood suckers can reap you and me off.

To the blood sucker and power hunger leaders:
Please remember that the country that you are destroying today is the country your children are living in tomorrow too.

To Rakyat Malaysia:
Please take a closer look at where the children of these leaders go. Are they here to stay or they are preparing mansions elsewhere? Why do you entrust your future to leaders who build their private mansions elsewhere? They are likely to cabut with the wealth of OUR country to foreign land.

Stop fighting for ketuanan/1Melayu but start working on true 1Malaysia. The first and most important step is to bring down corruption.
written by malgal, June 23, 2009 09:41:59
If only our leaders could think this clearly!!
Instead they grab whatever straws they find and wield them as if our lives depended on them.
The only resultant effect of the `unity govt' is the welding of the feeblest species in the hope that this might wing them out
of the mess that all can see but they are blind to.
Perhaps they need each other as they both spiral out of control. At least on the downward descent, they can hasten the speed together.
written by HJ Angus, June 25, 2009 15:46:04
The Emperor wears no clothes but he is also deaf to the wishes of the Perak citizens. I think most Malaysians too are not buying into the 1Malaysia hooha.
One thing our PMs are good for : coming up with catchy slogans and the respective spin.
http://malaysiawatch4.********...unity.html
written by DontPlayGod, June 26, 2009 10:52:18
UMNO politicians keeps on harping on Malay unity, defending Malay rights, ketuanan Melayu, NEP, and even Islam, etc. I just wonder why is it that the Malays are so gullible to believe UMNNO's ulterior motives? What is there for the Malays to defend? The constitution has clearly spelt out their rights, including that of their sultans and religion. The armed forces are nearly 100% Malay, the Government service is nearly staffed by 100% earthprince people, the police department is also nearly staffed by 100% earthprince people. So what the f**k are UMNO politicians talking about? What threats are they talking about? Even the judiciary is under their control. If anything, it is the non-Malays who have now been pushed into a corner and threatened by UMNO politicians wielding krises that need to be defended. The non-Malays have almost all their rights to higher education reduced drastically, sholarships have to be begged, and only a small percentage awarded to non-Malays, government projects almost always given out to Malay companies, billions of ringgit of them yearly, licences for petrol stations, transport companies given out to only Malay companies. The list can go on for many pages.

I just wish the Malay leaders, especially those in UMNO, will stop harping on Malay rights and the need to defend them. It is getting more bosan by the day.