Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr Mahathir: Seek all views

Dr Mahathir: Seek all views PDF Print
Saturday, 20 June 2009 10:23

(The Star) - Umno should seek views from party members as well as those from Barisan Nasional’s component parties at the grassroots level before proceeding with the idea of a proposed unity government, former prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed said.

“We don’t even know the opinion of our own Umno members.

“Are we going to leave out our peers in Barisan to form a 100% bumiputra government? If we go ahead and do that, we are going to have a racial confrontation and that’s not healthy for the country.”

He also said that the idea for unity talks was an important issue that should be made clear to everyone involved.

“We’re not sure if they only want Pakatan Rakyat and Barisan to come together or if it’s only between PAS and Barisan. Since we are not clear about this, how are we to make a decision?” he said after launching Syed Akbar Ali’s new book Things in Common yesterday.

Asked for his personal opinion, the former premier said a unity government was not a good idea.

“I think the country doesn’t want a 100% bumiputra government.

“We’ve always had a division of authority with Barisan’s component parties. Why must we abandon them just for the sake of forming a government that spells racism? It (unity government) will only burden the rakyat,” he said.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by wongnoball, June 20, 2009 10:46:51
A great wolf in sheep's clothing.
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by rocky, June 20, 2009 12:59:32
well good advice but looks who is talking. Other BN party should just leave and join PAS and PR. solves all the racist problem in the country. not to mention corruption, power abuse, crime rate etc etc
written by onnetline, June 20, 2009 13:11:30
When did this loud mouth ex-dictator ever seek anybody's views of what's right and proper ?

Shut the fcuk up, please !
written by onnetline, June 20, 2009 13:12:58
Bloody hypocrite ............. this MaMaktahi ! !
written by HamChak, June 20, 2009 14:51:22
Let me tell you ALL.
As long as this PARIAH's ideas are not included in the TALK,
MOST of the issues can be solved. If Pariah gets involved
then the WHOLE matter will be a FAILURE, la.
Aiyaa, Pariah, why don't you just go to sleep, zzzzzzzzz.
written by khalnayak, June 20, 2009 17:09:00
Waahh HamChak,whats up with you today.Calling Tamils thamby and Mamaks pariah?
Wah liao,what high pedigree race are you from by the way?
written by asguard, June 21, 2009 15:10:06
What nonsense! The talk is death end... no point to bring up the subject... only waiting to thrash the Barang Naik in coming elections in near future time1
written by PASOK, June 21, 2009 21:44:51
Malaysia Today still obsessed with Mahathir.