Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow The Sodomy Conspirators: Hoisted by their own petard

The Sodomy Conspirators: Hoisted by their own petard PDF Print
Friday, 19 June 2009 16:41

Eleven years later, the nation is set to witness a repeat of the gut-wrenching melodrama and tragi-comedy of yet another Anwar sodomy trial, which again is set to shake the nation and drag public confidence in our enforcement institutions to new lows.

By Kenny Gan, Suara Keadilan

1998 was tumultuous year in Malaysian politics.

In that year, Mahathir Mohamad sacked Anwar Ibrahim as Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister and dragged him to court on abuse-of-power and sodomy charges which many believe to this day to be politically motivated and his conviction to be politically influenced.

The entire mass media under the government’s control was harnessed to demonize Anwar and destroy him politically.

Despite this, a yawning chasm existed between what the government wanted the public to believe and what they actually believed.

The result was a social and political crisis that rocked the nation, split the Malays and galvanized many politically apathetic people to take an active interest in politics to try to effect a change for a better government that does not abuse all the institutions of democracy to achieve its ends.

The resulting political fallout saw PAS gaining at the expense of Umno in the 1999 general election and the creation of a new political party rooted in social justice, the effects of which still resonate today.

Indeed, the accelerated growth of PAS from a rural Malay party to a national party and the rise of PKR can be traced back to the Malay community’s repugnance at Mahathir’s cruel treatment of Anwar more than ten years ago.

History Repeats Itself

It is said that those who fail to learn from the mistakes of the past are doomed to repeat them.

Eleven years later, the nation is set to witness a repeat of the gut-wrenching melodrama and tragi-comedy of yet another Anwar sodomy trial, which again is set to shake the nation and drag public confidence in our enforcement institutions to new lows.

But the stakes are higher now as Anwar has become Opposition Leader and one who carries the hopes of millions of Malaysians for a new and better Malaysia.

The political-social environment has also changed significantly with the dissipation of Mahathir’s climate of fear and the pervasiveness of the Internet loosening the government’s stranglehold on information.

More importantly, the formation of a two party system by the enlarged and united opposition forced the ruling party to be democratically competitive.

In this new environment, it would be political suicide to try a repeat of the previous sodomy caper. However, those who have held the levers of power for too long are sometimes blinded by their arrogance besides overestimating their abilities and under-estimating the public.

The Facts of the Case

Whatever has been revealed in the public domain on sodomy II only serves to give the public the impression that this is nothing more than another politically motivated prosecution.

In the first place, the charge itself does not inspire confidence given that homosexuality is not actively prosecuted in Malaysia although outlawed in the statute books. Nobody has been prosecuted under this archaic law except for Anwar in 1998

The fact that the accuser, Saiful is a known Umno sympathizer does not help matters. His demeanour when he appeared in public smiling and waving to the press is certainly not typical of one who has been forcibly sodomized as he alleged.

Revelations that the he has met with top government officers including Datuk Seri Najib who was DPM at the time (purportedly for career guidance) and a senior police officer at the Concorde Hotel in Shah Alam before he made his accusation public have raised eyebrows and deservedly so.

There are also elements in his story which strains credibility like having been sodomized seven times before he made his poice report, waiting 3 days from the last act to do so and his insistence that he was sodomized against his will by a 61-year old man who is physically no match for him.

But the top was blown off the case by a doctor from Pusrawi Medical Centre from whom Saiful sought a medical examination. This good doctor recorded plainly that the alleged victim had never been sodomized.

Despite this, the Attorney-General saw fit to ram through a charge of consensual sodomy despite the main witness insisting to all and sundry that it had happened against his will.

Sodomy II Goes to Trial

It should be emphasized that the case must be proven beyond reasonable doubt - not in Umno’s court which is already low in public credibility - but in the court of public opinion if the ruling party does not wish to suffer a terrible backlash.

The fact is that real cases of rape or sexual abuse are notoriously difficult to prove, what more a fabricated one.

The public will not be impressed by circumstantial evidence or DNA evidence and the latter would be immediately assumed to be faked given the low credibility of the police and the fact that such chicanery has been attempted before in sodomy I.

Nothing short of a video capturing the act will be convincing enough but if such a video exists, the government would have broadcasted it on all the TV channels, uploaded it online and produced a million CDs for distribution to stop Anwar from making a comeback in Permatang Pauh.

If the prosecution has any real proof, they could have obtained a conviction from any judge - even from the fair-minded Justice Komathy Suppiah in the Sessions Court under which the case was originally heard - instead of fighting tooth and nail to transfer it to the High Court as if their whole case depends on the judge who hears it.

Attack and Defense

What are Anwar’s chances of escaping a conviction? Apparently not good if the court proceedings of sodomy I are any guideline.

The public release by Anwar’s lawyers of Hospital KL’s report that the accuser has no evidence of being sodomized, which corroborates the Pusrawi Medical Centre’s report, will not necessarily stop them. It did not matter in sodomy I.

The definition of a kangaroo court is a judicial proceeding that violates established legal procedures, the rights of the defendant are disregarded and his defence is restricted.

Relevant evidence and witnesses are not allowed to be called, cross examination of witnesses controlled and irregularities ignored so as to render a fair trial impossible.

In the 1998 Anwar trial, judge Augustine Paul disallowed the defence of political conspiracy, allowed the case to proceed without medical evidence that the accuser had been sodomized.

Augustine also allowed the charges to be changed midway, disallowed the defense’s attempt to introduce key evidence and witnesses as irrelevant, allowed faked DNA evidence to be expunged instead of throwing out the case out.  This man even jailed one of the defence lawyers for contempt for bringing to the court’s attention fabricated evidence.

I leave it to readers to judge if the above fulfils the definition of a kangaroo court.

But in this present case, there is an anomaly in the charge which can be exploited by the defence team.

Anwar was charged for consensual sodomy under Section 377B of the Penal Code although his accuser has insisted publicly that he was forcibly sodomized and even swore to it in a mosque.

Naturally, the prosecution wants to spare themselves the inconvenience of proving how a frail elderly man with a bad back can force himself on a strapping youth physically bigger and stronger than him. Hence, the charge under Section 377B.

But you cannot have a charge for consensual sodomy and the main witness insisting that he was forcibly raped. So either the charge must be amended to Section 377C for forced sodomy or Saiful must declare in court that sodomy was consensual. If the charge and the accuser’s testimony cannot be reconciled then it must be thrown out.

As Saiful has sworn in a mosque that he was forcibly sodomized – a very serious action to Muslims indeed – and BN has made political capital of this at the Permatang Pauh by-election, the political fallout will be explosive to the Malay Muslim mind.

So the prosecution faces a terrible dilemma, to try to prove the impossible or to engender a punishing political backlash which Umno may never recover in the staunchly religious Malay heartlands.

Such a dilemma would never have occurred if the charge had been based on a true event instead of a fabricated one.

Aftermath

In the 1999 general election, the fallout from the Anwar case caused Umno’s Malay support to shrink to 49% from their normal baseline of 55%.

BN was only saved by the non-Malays who swung to Umno on the back of PAS’ foolish proclamation to create an Islamic state which all but scuppered the nascent Barisan Alternatif coalition.

Given that the majority of non-Malays have swung back to Pakatan Rakyat on the expectation of more equitable racial treatment, such help from them to compensate another Malay swing out from Umno is unlikely.

If the level of Malay support for Umno drops below 50% in the current political scenario, BN is likely to be wiped out in the Peninsula and even a clean sweep of East Malaysia cannot save them.

The political masters may have though that putting Anwar away will solve their problems but it could hasten their demise.

The opposition coalition has grown beyond Anwar and no longer requires his personal participation to stay together.

A conviction of Anwar seen as unfair and a political hatchet job will energize the opposition and create so much public sympathy and disgust that PR will ride the wave to victory in the next general election.

The perpetrators are tampering with powerful forces beyond their control. If they have nothing on Anwar it is best to swallow their pride and just drop the charges.

written by Ken Liew, June 19, 2009 16:56:34
1 question.... Where is Saifool now???

Thats all we want to know.

written by TheWhisperer, June 19, 2009 17:07:47
Don't forget the swearing on the Quran. That shows how much regard they had for Islam.

written by loosecannon, June 19, 2009 17:10:38
Because of the persecution of Anwar under Mahathir, he has lost much of the respect that he gained during his early days as the PM. Till today, many blamed him for much of the malaise that's we're suffering from. Apparently Najib is too blind to see that.
written by sydput, June 19, 2009 17:27:23
Maybe anwar has a small puny dick. That will explain why there was no evidence of penetration.
The three stooges of augustine paul, Ghani patail and IGP musa are experts in sodomy. I wonder if they have any practical training on the subject.
written by Nunudada, June 19, 2009 17:35:15
Lets stop referring to our courts as Kangaroo Courts.As this is Malaysia we must have our own stuff to be proud of.Kangaroo lends images of Australia,but then they have a world class judiciary.Hence,this word application just isn't fair in the Malaysian context.
So,lets refer to these courts,as most are over here as DURIAN COURTS.Now this is an appropriate terminology.Why? Because Durian comes from the word Duri or thorn.Hence,the meaning is more accurate because you get "thorned"either way.
written by pokokmangga, June 19, 2009 18:02:17
I think this time the UMNOPUTRAS are in deep shit. They will face the wrath of the people if DSAI is found guity or if the charge is dropped.

I think this time they have dug a deep enough hole to bury themselves till kingom comes. The only way out now is the UNITY government with PAS to shore up the Malay Muslim support.

Either way, BN is no DN (the end).
written by G kembong, June 19, 2009 18:11:15
Interesting read here http://selvarajasomiah.*******...in-prison/
written by Proarte, June 19, 2009 18:25:15
Has anyone reflected how the colonial sodomy laws could protect 'public morality' as if the State could regulate an individuals sexual behaviour in the privacy of their own bedroom. That such a ridiculous law should be maintained in our statute books says more about our moral cowardice in dealing with an issue whcih has nothing to do with morality per se. How someone chooses to pleasure himself or herself is not a moral issue but instead is an individual or instinctive choice.

The countries which oppose sodomy officially are often guilty of having populations which practise sodomy widely. Homosexual sodomy between boys and young men in Saudi Arabia is often the 1st sexual experience they encounter prior to marriage. This is due to the fact that Saudi society practises strict segregation of sexes, notwithstanding the religious laws against sodomy which can result in beheading. Often this law is abused to frame enemies or to make examples of gay people as a means of reiforcing the States 'Islamic credentials'.

In a recent book publised in the Emirates, the author Lootah says "In Saudi Arabia and other countries where the genders are rigorously separated, many men have their first sexual experiences with other men, which affects their attitudes toward sex in marriage, Ms. Lootah said. “Many men who had anal sex with men before marriage want the same thing with their wives, because they don’t know anything else,” Ms. Lootah said. “This is one reason we need sex education in our schools.”

Isn't it ironic that a colonial relic law in Malaysia such as the sodomy law which was purportedly meant protect 'public morality' has been used in Malaysia to destroy a career and to persecute a political rival and in the process has compromised the judicial system, the police, the medical profession, the media and paradoxcially 'outraged the modesty' of the hapless public. They were given a daily diet of pornography by the media in graphic descriptions of the sexual activity of the protagonists in the Anwar sham trials. The public is now braced for a repeat performance of this vile charade when Anwar faces another sodomy trial in the near future.

The sodomy laws have done so much damage to Malaysia. One of the first things Pakatan should do when it comes to power is to repeal the archaic laws on sodomy and oral sex between consenting adults, not only on the grounds that it is illogical and against human rights, but that it almost impossible to prove and convict fairly. It is also clearly open to abuse.
written by Fuminari, June 19, 2009 18:29:40
is this the only way for najis,umno be end to compete with anwar,pakatan rakyat??then it shows how low can umno be;would there be a future for the rakyat living in a healthy democracy??a future for a proper rule of law???a future for governmental transparency n a future for good governance???
can any one recall any of the other present leaders around the world that hav to go to the extent of swearing with his hand on the holy book in order to prove his innocence????as far as i can recall,it is NONE!but it has happened in malaysia,malaysian oh malaysian,do u know where are we now???????
written by onnetline, June 19, 2009 18:41:55
Corrupted and racist UMNOs leaders and ex-leader loves the SODOMY game of sticking it up on people's back unjustly! !
written by NSTPravda, June 19, 2009 19:36:06
The perpetrators are tampering with powerful forces beyond their control. If they have nothing on Anwar it is best to swallow their pride and just drop the charges.

... am Amin to that!
written by ylcc, June 19, 2009 20:52:01
"The entire mass media under the government’s control was harnessed to demonize Anwar and destroy him politically. Despite this, a yawning chasm existed between what the government wanted the public to believe and what they actually believed."

Most Malaysians at that time actually believed that Anwar was guilty. They were also supporting Tun M. I was working in Singapore then. Being in a neutral territory, I observed two significant issues: 1) Tun M constantly picking up fights with Singapore 2) sodomy charges being drummed against Anwar. Each time I came back to Malaysia, I could still remember the fights I had with my non-Malay friends and in-laws (they were professionals!). They even gave me lucid accounts of Anwar to back their claims! Their dislike of Singaporeans was intense. I remembered being with my dad at a Malaysian hospital. Next to him was another patient being looked after by his wife. She was reading the UM. Suddenly, she exclaimed "ini sial Singapura, selalu mau cari gadoh" (excuse me for my BM)! This is my personal experience. The papers in Singapore at that time hardly mentioned any problems with Malaysia. They have always maintained a policy of diplomacy. Singaporeans went on with their lives not bothering, and no one has ever told me he/she dislike Malaysians. International media were saying that Anwar's case was all drummed-up.

I can sincerely tell you now that the very same people who had heated arguments with me during that time have now changed their tune. They believe that Anwar is innocent. I am gleefully looking at them, and they sheepishly tell me that Tun M was the cause of it, and the government is realy "s***".

written by educationist, June 19, 2009 20:55:08
The conspirators have no pride, they have arrogance of power.
They are in the same league as the military dictators of Burma.
They believe that with their stranglehold on the judiciary, prosecution and security apparatus of the country, Anwar shall be convicted!
I can only hope this time round enough of a stink will be raised by civil society to ensure that if those immoral criminals go ahead with their deed, the stench shall dogged them till they are booted from office!!
written by binkah1, June 19, 2009 21:10:25
Time for our police to act and hailed saiful for questioning. If indeed what the specialists written finding is true, then i see no reason why saiful is left off that hook. Justice must be administered fairly.
written by AlwaysFair, June 19, 2009 21:25:06
Well if the govt dare to do such stupid thing like incarceration of Anwar for sodomy every Malaysian and the whole world will be disgusted. In the first place why place so much importance on sodomy when only one man (Saifool)'s is affected esp. when it was suggested to be consensual, when FRAUDs like PKFZ are of mammoth proportions and the plundering affects the daily lives of 27m malaysians.

However you look at this case the evidences declare Anwar is "INNOCENT."
If you imprison Anwar you will have to answer to every malaysian as well as the whole world for your EVIL and UNJUST acts and may elevate Anwar to be a political icon like Aung Sang Syuki and yourself descend into "pariah," nation league.

Long Live Anwar!!
written by StevenO, June 19, 2009 21:35:51
Whether he admit or not is immaterial(we all know the truth!).

Hate his pookymak face, hate everything he stand for. Makes me wanna puke every time I see him in the media or where ever!! Get out of my face...fcuk off!!

I will do my part to make sure that you will be known as the shortest serving Crime Minister of Malaysia!

Hopefully then, we will see to it that you get a fair trial for your corrupted behaviour and also your major contribution to the Altantuya case!!
written by san amin, June 19, 2009 22:54:32
ITS EITHER THE BN SPINDOCTORS ARE STUPID OR THEY WERE ACTUALLY BEING PLAYED. STILL CANT FIGURE OUT WHO SETUP WHO.
written by adan, June 20, 2009 11:11:35
JUST DROP THE CHARGES... and save whatever dignity and intergrity that is still left in the judiciary and law enforcement agencies.
... Do not let the international community hold the great people of MALAYSAIA in contempt and ridicule .. as coming from an 'uncivilised nation with no respect for the rule of law'... FABRICATION OF EVIDENCE AND SUPPRESSION OF EVIDENCE SEEM TO BE THE LAW AND ORDER OF THE DAY.
written by InEffective, June 20, 2009 12:05:03

Politicians, lawyers, judges, and law-enforcment, dragging the entire 27 mill peoples of malaysia into their filthy and evil minds.

Now we are all drenched in the anal-fixation of our governing politicians.
(no amount of showers will cleanse us anymore)
written by siburpat, June 20, 2009 13:07:14
smilies/smiley.gifThe only reasonable solution to whether ever we complain about to-day if the Malays are brave enough to realize that they are the masters and not the political parties which always claim to be the guardian of the race or religion or both. If the race and religion can survive under the British, why not any other parties duly registered in Malaysia? The only thing is to make sure that your Malay leader is neither arrogant, womanizer or extremist - should be well educated too so that he can make good decisions affecting the economy especially.

It is up to the Malays to change. The Chinese and Indians already change.

PR must also change and be serious about working together and stop attacking one another.

BN has to change if PR can pose more threats. However they don't need to change if they can entice PAS to abandon PR.
written by gas, June 21, 2009 01:56:55
Let me relate my experience with a homo in 1977 when I was in the college. Mind you, I am a handicapped person whom was tricked by a Filiphino Professor in languages. He obtained permission from the Principal of the college to take me out for dinner and then stay for one night with him at his flat in UM. At first I was not suspicious of anything. We went to dinner and he told me that he was married but left his wife and children in Philippines. After dinner, he took me to his flat and he turned the aircon very cold. He made hot milo for me to drink. He said, "enjoy your millo while I am ironing my clothes." He also said you can take off your clothes and feel at home on your underware. At that time, I was suspicious when he said, "I love to see your mascular body." I am only five feet and two inches. I was truly muscular because I was taking body building in the college. That guy was I think 1 or 2 inches taller than me but he was very skinny. It suddenly struck me not to drink the milo. I quietly went to the toilet and poured the milo in the toilet bowl. After he finished ironing, he started to strip me but I prevented him from doing so. He said, "darling, I love you and let us have fun tonight." I said, you must be out of your mind. I told him not to do anything foolish to me, but then, he started to grab me and hug me very strongly. Being body builder I was definitely stronger than him. I grabbed him and threw him on the floor and kicked him hard on his legs. I thought of finishing him that night by strangling him and left him alone. The aircon was very cold and I could not stand it and so I went to bathroom and locked myself inside. The bathroom was very spacious and therefore was able to do exercise to warm up myself. He was quiet the whole night and I stayed in the bathroom the whole night until 6.30 am. At that time, I took my cane and quietly got out of the bathroom and went out of the flat hoping to meet someone to help me. While I was waiting for the lift, he came and said, "let me send you to the college." I said, "no, I will find my way." When the lift opened, he followed me and there were other people in the lift. I said, "excuse me gentlemen, I am frighten of this guy because he wanted to do something to me the whole night and I was unable to sleep." I said, "please follow me in his car because he is sending me to the college." Luckily, the 2 gentlemen followed me in his car. After that, I never met the guy again. The reason I relate my story is that I think in Saiful case, he is tall and strong, it was impossible for Anwar to do anything to Saiful because is small sized and also so much older. It was definitely Saiful was making up the story because of greed and circummed to conspiracy. Thank you.
written by Fairminded, June 21, 2009 09:55:51
I suggest that the UMNOPUTERAS should learn from one of great prime minister of Canada - Pierre Eliot Trudeau - that a government had no right to be in the citizens' bedrooms. They should worry about greater issues then what the citizens do in the privacy of their bedrooms. Malaysia is not immune to the present economical crisis of the world. The rest of the world leaders are spending restless nights figuring out how to overcome it and our great bolehland leaders are figuring out how to nail Anwar on sodomy charges. We must be the laughing stock of the world.
written by Kathy, June 21, 2009 17:31:20
Only one word can describe the behaviour of the powers that be in this case : DESPERATE.
written by takbolehtahan, June 22, 2009 11:29:49
Oh yes, they are desperate, adn very desperate. The more they want to indict DSAI the more it shows that DSAI is innocent. Even an idiot can see this. It goes to show how low & stupid the PM is to the world. But he doesn't care becos he has amassed a lot of stolen money from the rakyat and could, possibly, be the richest thief of Bolehland.

Now if he could swallow the petard himself, he might regain his honour.

As far as TDM is concerned, he has lost all respect from people around the world. The man who was once the most respected politician in Asia, has probably earned the title of the greatest scum of the earth. He is truly the reincarnation of Hitler and Satan in one!