Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow No need to go to the ground, Sham, just talk to Sanusi

No need to go to the ground, Sham, just talk to Sanusi PDF Print
Thursday, 18 June 2009 14:15

I suggest Sham just contact Sanusi and get Tan Sri to agree to become an adviser to the government. Sanusi has been handling this problem while Sham was still not wearing any underwear, so he knows what to do.

Hisham going to the ground to look at Ah Long problems
By MAZWIN NIK ANIS, The Star

PUTRAJAYA: Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein wants to get to the root of the loan shark problem and will go to the streets on Monday in search for answers.

“I think it is time for me to go to the ground to look at this problem.

“I will visit the hotspots and find out more on this loan shark culture that so many people seem to be depending on and later become victims to.

“I want to meet whoever, be it Ah Long or victims - whoever I can catch first,” he told reporters yesterday.

The number of incidents in which defaulters were attacked and even kidnapped by loan sharks has been in the media limelight of late, and even got the attention of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, who expressed shock at the level of cruelty inflicted on defaulters.

One of the more prominent cases involved three men who were rescued by police last month after being held captive for two months by loan sharks when they failed to settle their debts.

The victims, aged 25, 34 and 49, were abducted from Segambut, Semenyih and Gombak and held in a shoplot in Seri Kembangan after failing to settle debts of between RM1,500 and RM4,000 each. They were found chained by their necks and legs, and showed signs of having been beaten by their captors.

I must say the above news report sounds good. But that is all it is meant to be, to sound good. Okay, Sham will do an impressive walkabout. Of course, the walkabout will have to be with members of the media in tow. He will then issue a ‘powerful’ statement, which will probably be given 45 seconds airtime on RTM and TV3. It might even make the front pages of the newspapers the following day. But that will be about it.

When the Kampong Medan race riots erupted back in the early 2000s, Sham also ‘went to the ground’. He visited the University Hospital and spoke to one Indian boy who had lost an arm. Some Malays had chopped off his arm with parangs. The Indian boy related how he was lying on the ground in excruciating pain while a policeman just stood at a distant watching.

The Indian boy shouted for help and the policeman walked over to him. The boy pleaded to be sent to hospital. The policeman stepped on him and said, ”Pergi mampuslah kau Keling.” He then walked away and left the Indian boy to die. He did not die though. He spent a long time in hospital recuperating from his wounds minus an arm.

Sham ‘instructed’ the Ministry officers who were with him to ‘look into the matter’. However, the matter was never looked into and no one was ever brought to book even though the Indian boy was able to identify the policeman concerned.

So much for Sham ‘going to the ground’ to investigate the Kampong Medan tragedy and the role the police played in protecting the citizens from violence and racism. Assume this latest ‘going to the ground’ expedition to be as fruitless as the one he conducted soon after the Kampong Medan race riots.

I have written about the problem of Ah Longs a month or so ago. In that piece I mentioned that about 30 years or so ago the Malay Chamber of Commerce did a study to assess the impact of Ah Longs on small-scale Malay businesses. The study was done in the small fishing town of Dungun in Terengganu.

What we found out was that nearly every Malay petty trader and fisherman in Dungun borrowed money from Ah Longs. The rate of interest they paid was 4% a day. So, for every RM1,000 they borrowed, they had to pay RM40 per day.

Every day, the Ah Longs would send ‘runners’ to collect RM40 from the petty traders and fishermen for every RM1,000 they borrowed. That’s all they had to pay, RM40 per day for every RM1,000 borrowed. The runners were not interested in collecting the principal. They just wanted the interest. The petty traders and fishermen can go on owing on the principal as long as they paid the RM40 for every RM1,000 they borrowed.

This meant the petty traders and fishermen would continue owing the Ah Longs the money they borrowed for the rest of their lives. And the Ah Longs would in turn continue collecting the interest without touching the principal for the rest of their lives. It was like making a pact with the devil. The devil owned you until the day you die and long after you have entered your grave when your family would then have to take over your debt and would have to continue servicing the interest on the never-never.

This matter was brought to the government’s attention but nothing was done about it. And that was 30 years or so ago.

Tan Sri Sanusi Junid can relate a similar story that involved him even earlier, about 40 years or so ago. At that time he was with the Chartered Bank. And the story goes as follows.

Sanusi had tendered his resignation and his Mat Salleh boss called him and asked what it would take to get him to withdraw his resignation and stay with the bank. Sanusi replied that if they gave him a few million Ringgit (equivalent to hundreds of millions today) to lend to the Kedah farmers under a special loan scheme then he would probably stay with the bank.

What Sanusi had discovered was that nearly every Kedah farmer owed money to the Ah Longs and were paying an exorbitant rate of interest just like what the petty traders and fishermen in Dungun were subjected to. The interest came to about 100% per year, which is still comparatively lower than the Dungun rate of interest, which was more than 100% per month.

The Chartered Bank agreed and Sanusi arranged for his officers to go down to the padi fields on motorcycles to look for farmers to lend money to. Eventually, they managed to disburse the money to all the farmers and free them from the clutches of the Ah Long.

Sanusi did not make press statements saying that he was ‘going to the ground’. He just got the bank to agree to give him a few million Ringgit and then he sent his officers into the padi fields to search for farmers in debt. They then gave the farmers loans so that the Ah Longs could be paid off in full and the farmers could be free of the blood-sucking rate or interest.

I suggest Sham just contact Sanusi and get Tan Sri to agree to become an adviser to the government. Sanusi has been handling this problem while Sham was still not wearing any underwear, so he knows what to do. Then set aside RM500 million or so under a special loan scheme to help fishermen, farmers and petty traders escape from their debts. Just go buy off their debts from the Ah Longs.

Even if the government has to finally write-off some of this debt it would still be worth it. If we can spend RM300 million a year on the Terengganu Monsoon Cup and a further hundreds of millions on F1 racing, bicycle races, Merdeka Day celebrations, Prophet Muhammad’s birthday celebrations, and whatnot, what is wrong with writing off RM100 million a year on a more worthy cause?

Prophet Muhammad never asked us to celebrate his birthday. I am sure if we cancel Prophet Muhammad’s birthday celebrations and instead use the money to help fishermen, farmers and petty traders the Prophet would find that more pleasing. And if we also cancel the Merdeka Day celebrations and all those other extravaganzas which cost a lot of money but do not improve our lives one bit that would augur well for the country as well.

I am not a genius. But does it really take a genius to think of all these simple things? Stop the wastage. Just use the limited money we have for the right things. And, as I said, if you don’t know what to do then give Sanusi a ring and ask him what to do. You will be surprised to discover that there are a lot of good ideas in the head of that Tan Sri.

Oh, by the way, if you really want to go to the ground, then investigate the role the police are playing in not only giving the Ah Longs protection but in many cases acting as their runners as well.

P.S. Before you comment please note that this piece is not about Kampong Medan or race riots but about Ah Longs.

Comments (67)Add Comment
written by Frankfurtguy, June 18, 2009 14:28:05
Improve the country economy
Improve the efficiency of the government agencies
Get rid of the corruptions
Bring down the price of food
Bring down the income tax

then more money will flow down to rakyat
rakyat will not need Ah Long then
no demand....thus no supply

Sham.....don't waste your time pretending you are caring by going to the "ground" when you don't even know how ordinary rakyat suffer now!
agree 210
written by defendermalaysia, June 18, 2009 14:32:21
These Ah Longs are protected by politicians and the corrupt police force. Even if you report to police about being harrass by Ah Longs, police are closing a blind eye to these operation.Everday you see those innocent victims who do not even take any loan from Ah Long but are being harrass by Ah Long because their relative are the one who owe Ah Longs. Those innocent victims even report to police like being harrass from unknown Ah Longs, but police close a blind eye to these reports.
why don't we enect laws like in Spore whereby Ah Longs or his runners are caught and charge under harrassment arrest. Here in Malaysia, Ah Longs and police are closing a eye on each other because Ah Longs pay some protection money to these corrupt police officier. It is a matter of willing to combat this Ah Long problem but in Malaysia how can we combat these problem because the enforcement authority are working hand in hand with each other.
agree 176
written by hiiijack, June 18, 2009 14:36:29
I love it ,the last sentence is the best part of the story,hahaha.stay safe and god bless you and family.
written by Jun Jan, June 18, 2009 14:37:13
Cancel the Prophet Muhammad's birthday celeration?! are you out of your mind??? what's next, cancel the Agong and Sultan's birthday celebration?? cancel the Merdeka Day celebration??

come to think of it...heck, why not? we are in recession, no?
agree 202
written by Democrats, June 18, 2009 14:39:40
I agree to your solution to some extent pete, but what is to stop these borrowers from borrowing again from the ahlong after their debt was cleared by special government fund? Then the whole problem would again repeat itself like a vicious cycle. Any ideas?

written by tlnrs, June 18, 2009 14:40:23
Ladies & Gentlement,

I am proud to present you the "Pelakon Lelaki Terbaik Tahun 2009" kepada ....

"KerisShameMudin"....

Hey...tepuklah tangan sikit...Bukannya mudah ini.....
agree 131
written by fireduck, June 18, 2009 14:41:47
Pete is in pretty good mood today. Calling him Sham instead of Hiss, not much sarcasm, just straight advice. Ah, Pete finally had a good rest. smilies/cheesy.gif

Hisham by making that 'going to the ground' statement simply implies that the police is useless. The IGP, the OCPDs, etc are clueless on this Ah Long menace? So clueless until the Home Minister has to turun padang? Then fire them all. As the Minister, he should be intimately briefed on all that is related to the issue including who, what, where and how all the Ah Longs operate. In the end, this declaration to go to the ground is all for show only.

And I agree with Pete that the govt should allocate some money to set up a fund just to help the people who are the prime targets of these heartless ah longs, i.e the poor. If Grameen Bank can be created by one visionary man and his micro-credit idea, I don't see why we cannot use the same idea with the full backing of the govt's resources.

written by by2020, June 18, 2009 14:47:52
Just appoint RPK as advisor and you got even more good ideas, Sham!
written by shamadz72, June 18, 2009 14:48:05
Sounds to me more like he is going to ask his portion of share from IGP, in order to close 1 eye smilies/smiley.gif

written by joeawk, June 18, 2009 14:48:21
hahaha, people who knows that what hunger is even though they fast every Ramadan. hahaha, The home minister is a joke. Need to go for a walk about hoping to know about Ah long and his gang.

It is a dark business and p[rotected by dark forces within your ministry. WEe heard so much but never has there been any prosecution, very interesting, isn't it?

Ask Michael Chong, the no.1 Ah Long sympathiser. He helped victims but Ah Long continue to grow rich.
written by malgal, June 18, 2009 14:50:42
Sham sham, shame to waste your half day walkabout. we know its a media showhorse stunt. so do the right thing, read rpk's for ideas. and don't forget to wear underwear.
written by cabearth, June 18, 2009 14:55:03
Agreed. In fact i will go one step more. We can also cancel Nuzul Quran celebrations, musabaqah, Maulid etc and use the money to pay off debts of lower income people.

We must also get baitulmal to use zakat money to free low income people from the clutches of debt. Because that is one of the asnaf.

Islam has taught us that paying debt is more important than going to hajj. In fact, you're not obliged to go to Haj is u have debts.
written by Loh, June 18, 2009 15:02:48
///Oh, by the way, if you really want to go to the ground, then investigate the role the police are playing in not only giving the Ah Longs protection but in many cases acting as their runners as well. ///-- RPK

If the police did not know about the abduction of victims of loan sharks, how would they know of other crimes. But the police must have better information, or else they were not fit to be in their employ. Why then could the abduction crimes take place?

Were there spinoff from loan-shark business for the police? Would the policw be happy to work themselves out of the business? Can the Kerisman make them work, after having derailed the establishment of IPCMC? Soon Kerisman would be one of them, to make sure that the order on ISA would be carried out. We are in for interesting time, now that Kerisman is going to ask police to sort out conflict of interest. But could it be that the loan sharks would learn how to make the crimes publicity-resistent after professional coaching, like beat them but show no sign, kill them but do not allow dead bodies to appear.

written by teo siew chin, June 18, 2009 15:06:03
Tan Sri Sanusi Junid - an unsung hero!
"The better part of valor is discretion."

Where have all the good men gone?
written by arazak, June 18, 2009 15:08:46

That was what “the banker of the poor” Muhammad Yunus did. And for that, this pioneer of “micro credit” won the Nobel Peace prize. I guess our UMNO goons do not have their hearts to the rakyaat like what Muhammad Yunus have. Their hearts are with the RM that would be lining their pockets.

I nearly fall off my chair when I read your suggestion to Krismuddin;

“Then set aside RM500 million or so under a special loan scheme to help fishermen, farmers and petty traders escape from their debts. Just go buy off their debts from the Ah Longs.” . . , Wishful thinking, Pete!

Imagine the same amount of RM which you have suggested above that was stolen from us in the form of “commission”. How this money could help the poor fisherman and farmers in this country through “micro credit”. Imagine how this money could be used by the thousands unemployed graduates to kick start small businesses. Do you think the UMNO goons in the government are charitable enough to give RM500 million for “micro credit” to the poor?. . ., no way! They had rather pocket this money than give it to the poor. . ., that’s the UMNO culture. Instead of giving money to the people, they only knew of stealing money from the people!

Oh by the way, if Krismuddin wish to see an Ah Long in JB, I suggest he see the “kepala” Ah Long like Tengku and BK Tan. Don’t see the small fry Ah Longs, but see the “capo da tutti capi”. Than he will have a clearer picture of who is actually running this country!
written by hellosunshine, June 18, 2009 15:17:50
Aiyoyo... it does not need a genius to figure out how to nab these Ah Longs. All it takes for a hardworking and honest cop to do is to call up the phone numbers plastered all over town, make an appointment, take a loan from them and then catch them redhanded when the transaction is done.
written by hellosunshine, June 18, 2009 15:20:24
BTW, whatever happened to banks like Bank Pertanian, Bank Buruh etc? Whatever happened to the mountains of debts owed to these banks? smilies/tongue.gif
written by malsia1206, June 18, 2009 15:21:37
No.1 - it's not the Government's moneys. It's the taxpayer's moneys.
No.2 - this Government does not know what is the right thing
No.3 - this Government always deny there's any wastage
No.4 - there's no moneys left after Barisan had spent in PKFZ
No.5 - the 'alongs' have their vested interests with the Police
No.6 - Menteris talk good. E.g. did the previous Home Menteri say the reporter was arrested and detained under the ISA for her own protection?
written by non conformist, June 18, 2009 15:28:50
Hisham is just
a BIG SHAM
through and through.

Why go to the ground? What stupid fuss!
Why such a stupid show and sandiwara?

Just sack the PIG (Pooh Infantile Guy!
And appoint someone who ABHORS evils and LOVES righteousness.
written by ScooL, June 18, 2009 15:34:09
how hard will it be to locate Ah Long ? is just depend they doing it or protecting it ....
To GOV : at least million ah long number can be found on the street, they did better marketing then anyone ...
written by Durnfordi, June 18, 2009 15:39:08
Go to hell Kerismuddin! You are just another idiot who is just setting his eyes on being the PM since your father was a PM once ago! Don't freaking tell us you care for the rakyat. You only care as to whether you can sit on the PM throne! Walkabout to find the root cause of the Ah Long problem? Yeah! And I'm the King of England! Moron!
written by Kathy, June 18, 2009 15:40:45
I suggest that the government grant RPK amnesty, wipe out all charges against him and appoint him adviser on issues involving Ah Longs and gangsters, the curse of society. smilies/grin.gif
written by utuhganal, June 18, 2009 15:41:48
But then, RPK, Sanusi Junid is a rare species. Brilliant.

Remember many of his ideas...young coconuts, all the "ULAMS" and many other neglected kampung products became instant hits. Even his jokes during the UMNO general assembly were really first class. And don't forget, he never kissed the KRIS.

Don't insult Sanusi by asking the joker to see him because Hisham will not be able to implement Sanusi's ideas. BN of yesteryears is totally different from today.
written by shamadz72, June 18, 2009 15:47:54
If we abolish Najib's stupid pet project on national service, we can easily have rm600 million ringgit every year which we can use for this purposes.
written by DezMalaysia, June 18, 2009 15:52:21
Hisham can also seek advice from Datuk Michael Chong too ! Then Sham can learn how a real Ah Long disguise as a saviour to runaway prostitute & debtors !
written by Fairminded, June 18, 2009 16:03:44
2020? My foot! Dr. marmite had really screwed up the country by his ketuanan melayu and NEP. Let's faced it. Malaysia today is like HongKong in the 1950's, and Malaya and singapore in the 1960s. So how can we have the 2020 vision of achieving developed status? During this periond of notoriety, HongKong, Malaya and Singapore were ran by triads in cohorts with corrupted police and politicians. How can Singapore and Honkong cleaned up their act and moved on and way ahead of Malaysia? The simple reason is that their police force is not racist like Malaysia's where a race dominate and also corrupted politicians used the police force as their secret police to harass opposition politicians. So in order to buy their loyalty they keep the police force corrupted and allow them to do anything they like as long as they help them to keep their power. It is time to change it in the next GE.
written by densemy, June 18, 2009 16:08:42

This person Hishamuddin is completely out of his depth

This sort of behaviour is what you would expect from someone promoted WAY BEYOND his ability to cope. He hasnt a clue what he should be doing but MUST be seen to be doing something...no matter how irrelevant

Reminds me of Khir Toyo and his spying on his skiving-off Malay employees
written by Counterpointer, June 18, 2009 16:12:52
“I want to meet whoever, be it Ah Long or victims - whoever I can catch first,”

written by densemy, June 18, 2009 16:14:44
Of course it would be ridiculous of me to ask "WHY do Ah Longs thrive in this country when they dont elsewhere?"

Has it got something to do with an inadequate... dare I say corrupt, police force?
Has it got something to do with a too rigid banking system?
Has it got something to do with the failure of the education system and parents to educate children in the management of their finance?
Has it got something to do with the mistrust that is so widespread in Malaysian Society?
written by Ben Nordin, June 18, 2009 16:23:27
Hey non conformist!
Brings a new meaning to the phrase,"It's a SHAM!" LOL! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by aeromaverick, June 18, 2009 16:28:04

How can you suggest something like that? It surely will take away the livelihood of the Ah Longs, and their protectors ofcourse!
Even if the govt does an emergency disbursement of RM 500 million, to buy the freedom of the working men and women on the ground, how are we going to address the issue of the "protectors" pockets.
I think we must try and increase the basic salary of PDRM entry level constables along with their level of education requirement.
That still leaves open the issue of the bigots and chauvinists in the Forces....
written by ROBERTNGTG, June 18, 2009 16:31:07
Oh, by the way, if you really want to go to the ground, then investigate the role the police are playing in not only giving the Ah Longs protection but in many cases acting as their runners as well

WOW. BY NOW THE MUSANG AH LONG MUST HV GIVEN THEM THE INSTRUCTION TO WEAR TIES
AND SERVE DRINKS TO ALL WHO WANT TO BORROW FROM AH LONGS. AND THE TV AD : KAMI BUKAN AH LONG; KAMI CUMA MAHU TOLONG IS ALL CRAB AND SPIN EH.... THEY SHOULD NOW SAY THE POLICE AND AH LONG ARE ABANG AND ADEK.
written by antisupp, June 18, 2009 16:33:01
What a Shammy PR exercise to be a hypocrite and blasphemous liar that he is unaware what is going on in the Triad-PDRM symbiotic relationship.

I say he is not unanswerable to anyone now (a member in Corridor of Power) but his Judgement Day will come for this trangressions.
written by miwaki, June 18, 2009 16:43:09
We know Sham's capability and competency,so we will not be too concerned about his statement with regards to Ah Long.We will be happy if he could make our police man behave like a police man.

Ah Long is BK Tan and Musa Hasan's business,just stay away.
written by Mahyuddin Mahzan, June 18, 2009 16:49:49
Before I could finish reading the first sentence, my thot was 'what about the police, why don't he talk to the police first before going to the "ground" talking to Ah Long or the victims'

They are the number one Ah Long, as if Hishamudin didn't know about this.

And, I do agree with Pete on wasting the Rakyat money on all kind of celebration.

And the slightest move a Minister make, there will definately be somekind of ceremony, red carpet la, light refreshment la. All this has to stop. It's a bloody waste of money.

written by verifunny, June 18, 2009 17:03:19
Kerishammudin knows what's going on. Why don't he first replace the IGP and those under him first? A minister is going to personally look into the matter. It's showing how incompetent the polis are. No point of wayanging. Another lousy script. Once many heads start to roll, we shall not beg the polis to do their job. Anyway, Malaysia got plenty of talents. No worries
written by ultraman_dyna, June 18, 2009 18:34:42
Salam Pakcik Pet,

Im happy to see you post the BBC's article in MT.
Now all can see what's the main problem with Kongsi/Thugs running riot in my hometown and Malaysia at large..
My place got a triple wammy since the thugs consist of PDRM,Kongsi & 3 line 777 & clan.
Once a Malay chap was shot point blank at the kedai makan..
Passerby receive threats of being beaten into vege just for looking..shit its not like u get 2 c movie scences from godfather on daily basis..bam bam terbalik dead..
Gangsters running around with cangkul, sticks, parang & whatnot.
I can't imagine the bugger who got CANGKUL..Sadis sadis..
I wrote to Dr M asking for help a while back..
I said the police are helping these rascals..
I had to drop my intention to join the force and moved abroad because my family was against it since they know a lot of harm will be directed to the family instead of the officer in charge.
A lot of good officers live in fear until they can't stand it and request for a transfer..
One of the bad apples openly said oficers in his balai received money in envelopes at the end of the month stuck into their clock card slot.
Gaji dalam sikit je RM3000 tapi gaji bersih RM7000..
But to this date I received no reply from Dr M.
Maybe he did not received the msg since Im a commoner and tons of letter are sent to him or like normal better things to do..
I hope u will keep on posting and writing on Crooks in uniform and plain old taiko..
Maybe someone with cahones will come forward and send all this clown to the gallows..
I pity the farmers and personally vouch ur story since my best fren's mom also use along services but she said the along is a nice along not like the common thug..ha2..
written by Joe, June 18, 2009 18:40:27
Pete! You're cracking me up man! LMAO!

"P.S. Before you comment please note that this piece is not about Kampong Medan or race riots but about Ah Longs."

You mean you have to direct us on WHAT the article was about, other than just writing it?

written by Horizonline, June 18, 2009 18:50:25
other while back they said they will hunt down the along... now what result? still nothing!
written by ABU SAYAB, June 18, 2009 18:57:44
written by DezMalaysia, June 18, 2009 15:52:21
Hisham can also seek advice from Datuk Michael Chong too ! Then Sham can learn how a real Ah Long disguise as a saviour to runaway prostitute & debtors !

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Besides the "Anjing-UMNO" ... don't forget some politicians and Ministers especially from the Malaysian Conman Association are also involved in this trade.
Wasn't OKT was also in the Home Ministry..? Johorean should know beter.

written by Ocassey, June 18, 2009 18:58:04
Dear Pete, you are giving these official and illegal hoods ideas ! Now they are going to register with I.O.Us. "small time borrowers" by the thousands who will "make" loans from these hooded sindicates as a scam to then make Sham keep his words. (Actually no RM passed from AhLongs to the micro borrowers but then arrangements will be made to the said scheme as suggested to buy back those I.O.Us. from the AhLongs .... Wah !!! CHIAK BOH LIAU ....Those hoods will laughing all the way to the banks , including Sham !
written by advocatusdiaboli, June 18, 2009 19:11:16
Go to the ground my ass lah! RPK your little 2 liners about the Kampung Medan is shocking indeed. I know..i know..this is about Ah Longs. These Ah Long menace is really going out of control. Come to Cheras area and see how they stick and put their name cards all over the place, even on road name signe, one way signs and anything and everything. They have no fear whatsoever at all. Even the policemen who hang around here at the warongs in the mornings do not stop them at all. Useless PDRM. The only way to stop this menace is for people to take law into their own hands is it? Ther is no help at all from the authorities. Now Hisapputing is talking cock. Stupid *******. My wife and I had personal experience in trying to help an unfortunate soul who got into trouble with the Ah Longs coz of poverty. It is not easy dealing with these blood suckers and they are not scared of anything. Fortunately we succeeded in paying off these bastards and saved the unfortunate family (Sanusi Junid method used). There are many more unfortunate families caught in the clutches of these Ah Longs. They usually target the small petty traders and factory workers in our area as there are many low cost flats there. Someone has to do something.
written by GobloGadhero, June 18, 2009 19:43:32
I met Sanusi 15 years ago when he came to my university campus to give a talk. He can also speak Tamil!

Yes, a man of heart he is. A very humble person who stayed until everyone had a chance to shake his hands.
written by malgal, June 18, 2009 19:56:36
ayo this is so funny. sham decides to walk the streets to do his one shot duty. ah longs all come out of the woodwork wearing name tag Ah Long Am I. they buy each other kopi, talk about life and the kl haze, sham points out the error of their ways. they hang their head in shame promising to turn over a new leaf. sham says to tv camera: mission accomplished. entire nation rises to their feet, confer upon titles and rewards. ah longs rehabilitated. all become special branch. employment rate increase. all well in bolehland.
written by Mirage, June 18, 2009 19:57:13
You cant get Sham to think. He has been with the BN goverment for Donkey years and have been practising corruption, nepotism, cronysm and you name it he has done it. TheMar8 election statrled them a bit and we should continue to engage a more policy base and execution merits in their KPI which involves the citizens on a frequent basis. Otherwise they will "shiok sendiri" and tell you they have done all those where the results will never be seen.

written by foresight, June 18, 2009 20:07:12
Why not take a trip down to Singapore and see how they handle the Ah Long problems. But of course, everything there is squeaky clean.
written by seethinkact, June 18, 2009 20:25:10

Its business as usual. When a politician has lost support, go to the ground, put on bestest smile, drag the media along, say something necessary, then go home.

Never change do they?...Seems to be in-thing these days..
written by aplus, June 18, 2009 20:28:17
Don't hope that this spineless dungu is capable of doing anything. Time has already proven that he is useless. His talk about doing something is just that.. bollocks. Simply, he's a nincompoop.
written by lynn, June 18, 2009 21:00:50
Hey Pete,

Sanusi has left us to sell "salted eggs", isn't it?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If u look around, everywhere except Putrajaya & Jln U-Thant, are Ah Long stickers, millions of ugly papers stuck everywhere for more than a decade.

How come? Umno, you buggers blind or what? U run this country, don't you? eh, Dr Mahathir, you were in power for 22 years. Open your eyes - do u see the littering & the ugliness, untidyness around us? Why is the bn govt STILL KEEPING QUIET to this fcuking day? Why? Why? Why? Why? Why? Why?

I tell you why. Because the Ah Longs are mega-rich, mega-powerful, super-powerfully-linked. You can never remove them. You can never get rid of them. Never. Not until you can remove every piece of debris from our sea waters, will you be rid of this menace.

shamadz72, the bloody national service is a huge fcuking waste of public funds. It boggles my mind why there are so many morons-cum-bn voters-cum parents who support this nonsense. It's all bloody nonsense & bloody disgusting waste of money. I would prefer, every year the govt distribute this RM500 millions cash to the poor regardless their skin colour or religion. But of course I am just talking shIT, certain persons are enriching themselves endlessly with this so-called national service and we have a few million morons still casting votes for bn. Die, all you braindead useless eaters!
written by Aming, June 18, 2009 21:30:50
Another Malaysian (or Guinness) Record that this brilliant minister can get to the very bottom of the Ah Long problem by a mere (30 minutes?) walk in the company of TV/MSM reporters?
Big deal!
written by madfive, June 18, 2009 21:36:04
celebrations must not be discontinued.otherwise how civil servants, politicians and cronies could swindle taxpayers monies. lousy nasi bungkus for ten ringgit. imagine 10k participants attending 10 days rehearsal and actual day
written by Admiral Tojo, June 18, 2009 21:37:18
As I said, how come so many MORONS in the Cabinet????

written by Conan Chung, June 18, 2009 21:55:38
Pete, do you really think they care about those poor rural folks enslaving themselves to "alongs" and would come to their rescue? IF they really want to help, they would have done it 40 years ago.

Lets just face it; you enter politics for 2 things: MONEY and POWER. And helping the poor without any publicity does not give any of the above, in fact you lose money. If politicians can get publicity without spending money, then all the better. It shows how skilled the politician is. So of course for many brilliant Malaysian politicians, they would be following Sham's footsteps in going for a brisk walk around town. There's nothing to lose!

Finally about "Alongs". You can't get rid of them, not without an efficient micro-loan facility just like they have in India to help the poor. (read abt it but forgot the name, not going to sprain my brain for it). They will always be poor people because other people aren't bothered about improving other peoples lives. Maybe if the government is really hoping to regain public support, they will probably throw in several million, but thats all you could hope for.
written by SiHangChai, June 18, 2009 22:52:19
Ai yah, just tell Sham to pull out his 6" keris & poke and bathe them.
written by Rock, June 18, 2009 23:23:00
Seriously, what kindda loans that the bank gave to the farmers? a soft loan or a kindda hand-outs?
written by EYFF, June 18, 2009 23:41:39
Surprise, surprise! RPK
Guess how the 4% is divided?
Collectors/tugs = 1%
Protectors/police = 1%
Patron/politician = 1%
Moneylender/banker = 1%

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by justice6, June 18, 2009 23:47:45
Sham is going to the ground to find out WHY THE PEOPLE DON'T PAY BACK TO AH LONG...
written by schizonoid, June 19, 2009 00:02:02
But the biggest Ah Long is the BN govt. by taxing anything u touch.
written by Daryl, June 19, 2009 00:45:42
I am glad there is some in UMNO who care about rakyat. However, UMNO is too deep into this and you cannot have ACTIVE thief to catch a thief. You can have a former thief to teach you how to catch a thief but never trust them to do the job alone.
written by mowadoha, June 19, 2009 01:08:06
written by sydput, June 19, 2009 09:26:07
Hishamuddin is not capable of slving anything.
Sanusi sometimes act like a mad man. Must be one of those guys who fringes between a genius and a nutcase.
written by Taiping60, June 19, 2009 09:44:03
Before we got carried away, we must first established the problem. Why is it this fishermen and farmers are out of money most of the time? If you start taking public money and distribute to these people, it will never end. Next there will be another sector asking for money. The key is to teach them how to fish and not give them fish. Not everyone deserve to be helped in the first place.

I believe the government established Bank Pertanian for a reason. This bank is suppose to help to develop the argriculture sector. Who are they helping actually? I hope the money don't go to the wrong hand again. The fact that there are still so many farmers and fishermen borrowing money from Ah Long goes to show the government effort failed. Bank Pertanian failed.

Find out the reason why these farmers and fishermen are borrowing money from Ah Long. Examine the objective for establishing Bank Pertanian and did we meet the objective? Does the government need to review the objective. I believe if the government is sincere to help the farmers and fishermen, it should not take a lot of trouble to achieve it. Help them to be successful but not give them money to spend. If you do the latter then you are spoiling them and they will suffer in the long run.
written by Steven Ong, June 19, 2009 13:16:44
By the large numbers of stickers and banners every where in towns and cities, just about any flat surfaces, it shows that either the authorities in-charge and the police are blind or they are helpless -useless,so to say.

By now Sham should have heard and knew just about anything that is to know about the problems and Ah Long. What further going to the ground you need to do? No need to 'wayang-wayang' ,as this cant solve the problems. Just enforce the laws, the town councils by-laws and the monetary laws of this nation will do just fine. The word is ENFORCE and not play-play as like PCK.

Yes, RPK was right, why spend so much on this and that celebrations, when the monies can be well spend on elevating the poor. Actually by giving to the needy is a celebration more worthy than to boast about oneself's wealth. Imagine the joys of the people as compare to the happiness of a few rich misers. Are hearing the voice of Allah? ( I am referring to the Allah who created everything. )
written by Steven Ong, June 19, 2009 13:24:36
One thing the government is good at is to bully / fine the poor,( because the poor cannot retaliate like the A Long and big shots ?) as the new fine to be imposed on those whose houses are breeding grounds for aedes mosquitoes. Where else do one find mosquitoes larvae? Of cause its the poor mostly. Do one find mosquito larvae in a rich man's house?
written by macho, June 19, 2009 14:35:40
If all the ministers actually take a genuine concern on the welfare of Malaysian then we would not be in his predicament today. What predicament? All the crap we have to endure daily from police abuse, corruption, high cost of living, ah longs, toll roads etc etc etc
written by nero287, June 21, 2009 15:39:44
Hi Guys,

I think many of you had lampooned poor Sham. He actually means business. You see once the media highlights the problem, the Ah Longs will know that the government is serious in tackling the problem. The police will realise that the minister is going to get tough. So the Ah Longs will send an intermediary to our good minister to "jadi kawan". It will be a million dollar handshake which our good minister will find difficult to refuse. They may throw in some runners to be arrested so that it will look good in the media. Sham turns out to be a hero, albeit a few million richer. The IGP looks good. Everyone, but the victims are happy. That is what I mean when I say the minister means business.