Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Public fed up with Opposition MP’s antics, says Hisham

Public fed up with Opposition MP’s antics, says Hisham PDF Print
Wednesday, 17 June 2009 09:54

(The Star) KUALA LUMPUR: The rakyat is tired of seeing antics such as Monday’s fracas in Parliament, in which several Opposition MPs were ejected.

Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said the public did not want to see such antics from their elected representatives.

“They want to see us move forward and debate issues in a mature way. They don’t want to see antics that tarnish the image of this House.

“I hope contributions by the Opposition would be more meaningful and helpful to bring about changes and strengthen what needs to be done under the Prime Minister’s vision,” he told reporters in the Parliament lobby here yesterday.

Hishammuddin said if Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia had not been strict in ordering the MPs out, the whole incident would have dragged on.

He said although he had instructed police to maintain security outside the Parliament building, they could not stop Pakatan Rakyat supporters from wearing the headbands.

“Otherwise, we would be accused of abuse of power,” he said, adding that the police were ready to help with Parliament security upon request from the Speaker.

Several backbenchers took the opportunity to raise the matter in the House with both Pulai MP Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed and Sri Gading MP Mohamad Aziz accusing the Opposition of having “tarnished the image of the country” in their supplementary questions to Deputy Foreign Minister A. Kohilan Pillay.

In his reply, Kohilan said he agreed and was saddened by the fracas.

written by pinsysu, June 17, 2009 09:57:49
the rakyats are fed up with the BN gomen and will eject them come GE13!
written by msiaman, June 17, 2009 10:02:27
If rakyat is indeed fed up with Opposition, just call snap election to end the confusion and deadlock!
written by RumahPanjai, June 17, 2009 10:03:07
Its call freedom of expression! Loud and clear. It was peaceful until BN MPs turn it into a circus. So don't blame the opposition. Maybe BN MPs should revisit their oath and uphold the constitution.
written by InEffective, June 17, 2009 10:13:32

Yo politician,

You don't have the rights to conclude what my views on the opposition are - just speak for yourself.

Stop your assertions as though its social proof.
written by Trueandfair, June 17, 2009 10:14:13
Hisham is RIGHT - True and fair thinking HONEST Rakyat is SICK OF THE OPPOSITION IN Kelantan, Penang, Kedah, Selangor and most of all in "Perak" where the Opposition (BN) STAGED AN UNHOLY COUP !! Hisham, you are RIGHT, I AM BLOODY SICK OF YOU AND BN OPPOSITION _ May YOu Lose ALL ELECTIONS from Now On and BE THE OPPOSITION !!! smilies/grin.gif
written by Urangsabah, June 17, 2009 10:16:09
Quoting the Krismuddin

He said although he had instructed police to maintain security outside the Parliament building, they could not stop Pakatan Rakyat supporters from wearing the headbands.

“Otherwise, we would be accused of abuse of power,” he said, adding that the police were ready to help with Parliament security upon request from the Speaker.

Maybe Krismuddin want to explain....

'Police nothing but a big bully'
... explain why the 100 police reports made by Umno Youth against Karpal Singh did ... members holding demonstrations without any permits, barging into the august Parliament to manhandle

YouTube - Perak Speaker Sivakumar Dragged Out by Police and ...
May 7, 2009 ... Police Entered the Perak State Legislative Assembly and Forcefully Removed Speaker Sivakumar from his Chair and Dragged out of the Hall.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=sSgt-3uZeBg •

On the folowing quote

The rakyat is tired of seeing antics such as Monday’s fracas in Parliament, in which several Opposition MPs were ejected.

Woh Krimuddin, bubar DUN Perak lah........apa mau takut......
written by PRman, June 17, 2009 10:50:16
He really got it all wrong! Rakyat is sick of BN, UMNO, MCA, MIC MUCH MORE THAN Opposition. Get the facts right, pls!
written by malgal, June 17, 2009 11:34:18
bigtime fedup with corruption, injustice,pretenses, lying, gerrymandering.
don't put words in our mouths hisham.
written by wood, June 17, 2009 11:55:38
Hishammuddin, let me tell you there are rakyat who do not agree with what you have said. Likewise there are some who are also fed up with the antics of the BN MP's !!!
written by Sagaladoola, June 17, 2009 11:57:08
Keris Man ... what are you talking about? Luckily, antics such raising and kissing a keris was not done.

Debate about PKFZ if you dare.

I am tired of waiting and dying to hear the DEBATE .. like you said it.
written by Jit Dharma, June 17, 2009 12:06:45
Running dog Star, is full of biased reporting without any attempt
to verify this moron's statements. Did you check with the public,
particularly the public in Perak? Of course not. That's why I say,
bloody running dog Star!!!!
written by carribeanking7, June 17, 2009 12:07:13
Please define "The Public" dear home minister, are you speaking in general terms or just BN supporters ?
What you speak of is hardly tarnishing our country's image compared to:-

Tajudin called Kulasegaran “keling’’ and “bloody bastard”,. Several minutes later, he also labeled PKR’s Azmin Ali as a “biol” (dumb).

The likes of Tajudin Rahman and before him, Datuk Badruddin Amiruddin, Bung Mokhtar Radin and Mohd Said Yusof have shamed the House with outrageous remarks with the conviction that they will be untouched by any sanction or rebuke.
On the other hand opposition MP's are rebuked and sent out of the August House in some cases without rhyme and reason.

I can site tons of such incidents-rude , crude obnoxious and even sexist remarks, in fact many can be found in the Parliament's hansard and in Amir Muhammad's Malaysian Politicians say the the darndest things -series.
The fracas would not happen if the speaker was impartial and allowed legitimate dissent.
This stems from the fact that BN is ill prepared to deal with such a large opposition presence in parliament, all this while BN could just shout down
a dozen or so opposition MP's, now there are over 80 so BN is in siege mode.
So please spare us the public is "fed up" talk Mr.Home Minister, don't forget that the larger than ever opposition presence is
because THE RAKYAT IS FED UP WITH BN AND PUT THEM THERE.

written by Just Gan, June 17, 2009 12:22:29
Hishamduin,

Why don't you prove that the Rakyat are fed up with the Opposition? If you are truly convinced, why don't you ask your UMNO/BN to dissolve the Perak Assembly and hold fresh elections? UMNO/BN can prove beyond any doubt that the Rakyat are with them. If what you say is true, the Perakian, being fed up with the Opposition, would vote against them, and UMNO/BN can rule Perak legitimately .

Better still, why not bring forward the GE for the whole country. If the rakyat are fed up with the Opposition, they will reject Pakatan and give UMNO/BN a huge mandate and give them the 2/3 majority.

Are you bold enough to stand by your statements? Is your UMNO bold enough to show that the people are with them? Alas, you and UMNO/BN are nothing but cowards who can only utter lies and rubbish. As for you, you have repeatedly proven that you are a stuid coward when you pulled out the keris and threatened the Chinese in UMNO Youth assemblies. If you are a man, try pulling out the keris and threaten us when meeting us. You are a not only a coward but a lier and a total disgrace. You have disgraced the noble family you come from.
written by mypanida, June 17, 2009 12:26:54
I am also from the public and I am really fed up with you, Hisapputing !!!
written by hiiijack, June 17, 2009 13:20:33
Hei Krismudin, the other way round lah. MANGKOK AYUN.
written by myke, June 17, 2009 13:57:37
Fed up with BN and you puting..!!!!
written by mikewang, June 17, 2009 14:19:13
I am a member of the public and I am not fed up.
In fact, I want to encourage and thank PR for keeping up the pressure to dissolve DUN Perak.
written by my oumrie, June 17, 2009 15:40:04
YOU ARE RIGHT, KRISSY, I'M FED UP. Fed Up of bee End gomen; Fed Up of pro-gomen police; Fed Up of pro-gomen judiciary; Fed Up of deaths in police lock-ups; Fed Up of pro-gomen MACC; Fed Up of pro-gomen EC; Fed Up of pro-gomen AG's office; Fed Up of pro-gomen Speaker & deputy Speakers; Fed Up of pro-gomen spin doctors; Fed Up of ISA; Fed Up of corruption & lies from "Muslims" in the ruling executive etc. etc. etc. YOU ARE RIGHT, KRISSY, I'M FED UP AND I'M NOT ALONE!!!
written by dumbfounded, June 17, 2009 16:04:49
Hmm.. the person in charge of the team that is silencing the public claims that the public is fed up. How did you arrive at that conclusion, Hisham, dear?
written by ROBERTNGTG, June 17, 2009 22:21:12
The rakyat is tired of seeing antics such as Monday’s fracas in Parliament, in which several Opposition MPs were ejected.

Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said the public did not want to see such antics from their elected representatives.

“They want to see us move forward and debate issues in a mature way. They don’t want to see antics that tarnish the image of this House.

KERISM, PLS STOP TALKING ON BEHALF OF THE RAKYAT. I AM A RAKYAT AND WANT TO SEE MORE AND MORE OF THE OPPOSITION ANTICS. SO THE F*CKING HSE IS NOT TARNISHED WHEN U MFKRS DRAGGED THE DEMOCRATICALLY ELECTED SPEAKER OUT OF THE ASSEMBLY?? WTF ARE U TALKING? JUST TAKE THE KERIS AND SHAFT IT DOWN YR THROAT STRAIT TO YR NUTS OK.