Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow More mischief from Utusan's Awang Selamat

More mischief from Utusan's Awang Selamat PDF Print
Tuesday, 16 June 2009 02:25

Utusan's Awang Selamat in an op-ed yesterday repeated his earlier leitmotif about the Malays being betrayed, how there are traitors to the country and cautioned that if any Barisan Nasional component party [i.e. MCA] hints at wanting to leave the coalition, it should just go.

The Awang Selamat column is the editorial voice of Mingguan Malaysia, the weekend edition of the Utusan newspaper considered to be Umno's mouthpiece.

In 'Apa muslihat MCA' (What tricks are MCA up to?), Awang Selamat questioned the motive behind a just concluded online poll in MCA president Ong Tee Keat's website, which had 76% of the respondents voting that his party should leave BN.

Awang Selamat conjectured that the survey was a deceptive manoeuvre by MCA to pressure Umno but adding that such a strategy would not bear fruit as the flailing Chinese party is unable to counter the influence of DAP “which is so aggressive”.

“Even with MCA's presence, there is no assurance that BN can win Chinese hearts (in the next general election),” commented Awang Selamat who also believed that it is of no consequence to Umno if MCA intends to withdraw and nor should the former attempt to prevent its departure – “why give face”?

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by Kaneeneh, June 16, 2009 02:47:28
What are you waiting for, "Pendatang"?
Be the man and leave!!!
written by johanssm, June 16, 2009 03:09:42
Racist are more destructive than the communist.
Not here to defend the mca , as mca are parasites .
So are the gerakan,ppp, mic , miup..all parasites.
A note to PR's DAP , PKR and PAS , pls do not take in parasites .

written by SamBall, June 16, 2009 03:26:00
Be that what it may, a poll is a poll la. A journalist like Mr Selamat should respect that. Now he is querying the rationale or resuts of the poll.What a f**kwit!

As for MCA, what are you waiting for? Bodoh sangat kah? Orang cakap keluar, keluar la; otherwise why even put up the poll? and shutup sh*theads like Awang
written by Bruce_Lee, June 16, 2009 03:37:14
MCA makan taik bukan nasi. Jangan lupa dua PENGKHIANAT kaum pendatang iaitu ling liong sik dan samy vollu.
written by educationist, June 16, 2009 05:29:30
The fact that 'Utusan Melayu' is a known mouthpiece of the UMNOputras puts paid to any spin Najib may give to his 1Malaysia concept.
Will the MCA accept the challenge thrown to them by their UMNO masters?
No, they will just tug their tails behind their legs and crawl under their master's sarong!
written by mikewang, June 16, 2009 06:47:41
By attacking MCA, Awang Selamat is trying to galvanise the Chinese against UMNO and, in the process, return to the party to defend it.

I agree with the poll result.
MCA should just leave .......
written by Taiping60, June 16, 2009 07:09:02
UMNO and MCA need each other more than they realize.

I am not saying they will be successful by staying together but it will be worse if they stay apart. But their relationship in current form which is no different from the past will not help. There are more distrust and trust.

What UMNO and MCA need to do is dissolve the two parties and merge into one, this is one thing Pakatan's politicians pray it will not happen otherwise they will have a formidable opponent. Right now, UMNO and MCA are two dying parties. So it does not matter whether they stay together or stay apart they will be death by the next general election. The only hope, dissolve the two parties and merge into one single multiracial party. Of course Gerakan, MIC and PPP should do the same as they are already irrelevant now.
written by Navigator, June 16, 2009 07:11:32
The arrogance of UMNO shows itself. There is absolutely no repect for the BN components. They are only tolerated and used. MCA allows itself to be used (screwed) because of the personal interests of those in power. If MCA represents the Chinese as it claims, then UMNO is saying is your Chinese can get stuffed. When will MCA stop crawling.
written by Richfyf, June 16, 2009 07:35:39
YEAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH CHRISTMAS is near!!!!!!!!!

A GIFT TO ALL MALAYSIAN... Sorry we dont get snow falling but we sure do get to see BARISAN falling apart!!!!!
written by lamakawan, June 16, 2009 08:32:30
UTUSANs Awang Selamat is an animal. He is not a human being. He has no feelings. He cannot get along with other human beings. He must be arrested and charged for sedition. He is stirring up racial hatred among the people of democratic Malaysia.
Will someone from PR please report him and get him arrested and put behind bars before he create more racial sentiments?
written by disgruntled, June 16, 2009 08:37:59
Najib must suspend the Utusan paper before it creates trouble for its readers and the general population. The editor must be charged for sedition for inciting one party to act against another party.
written by truthbespoken, June 16, 2009 08:47:03
Mr DPM, where are you? Your recent slap on the wrist on Utusan is not working. The people there are ignoring you. Do what is right. Ask your Home Ministry to at least suspend them for a period to get your earlier advise across. Utusan people are still arrogantly creating alot of animosity amongst the races! Listen up to what Greenwald said! There is alot of truth in it!
written by kc respect, June 16, 2009 09:20:43
MCA not wanted in Pakatan Rakyat. They are merely UMNO members of a different race.
They are corrupts and semi-professional beggars. Quit BUT No Admission to PR. Rot Away !!!!!
written by devious17, June 16, 2009 09:53:17
For once I agree with this awang "tak berapa" selamat fella. Whether mca is in or not in bn they dont carry any weight nor value cause they and like the rest of the component parties under umno are mere pet poodles drooling,tail wagging,toe licking poodles.

I wonder what umno is going to do with this lunatic awang tarak selamat charactor.......probably confer him with a cheap datuk I guess smilies/cheesy.gif
written by sydput, June 16, 2009 09:55:06
UMNO does not need enemies! They have utusan and awang selamat to dig their graves. Seem to me those guys from utusan are more influential than UMNO leaders.
written by tuahjebat, June 16, 2009 10:03:46
Awang...awang...tidak lama lagi kau tidak selamat. You should change your name to Selamat Jalan. Your days are numbered should you keep writing these racist column. BANG.BANG. smilies/tongue.gif
written by Dominic, June 16, 2009 10:11:39
Oh I loved that ! MCA,what are you waiting for ? Give it a shot and see if Awang the `unselamat` is still around in Utusan. Surely Najis cannot afford to see that happen ! Be man enough to come out of BN and even if you dont join PR,thats fine. Let UMNO struggle it out themselves.
written by budakindia, June 16, 2009 10:20:00
I bet he still lives in caves! smilies/grin.gif How about making enemies with the US? smilies/grin.gif Do like North Korea! smilies/grin.gif
written by zachary, June 16, 2009 10:24:57
Any man with an iota of self respect, would not place himself in a position to be treated like a dog. In the past, MCA had made a difference in the national government and all respect and gratitude must be given to the great MCA leaders of the past. They, together with the founding fathers of our nation had truly served the nation.
The present MCA is an awful and pathetic representation, which is why so many Malaysians of Chinese descent hold such distaste for this political party that in their eyes, is nothing but a running dog! If MCA is respected at all within BN (read UMNO), there will not be an utusan, let alone some character like awang apa nama dia.
Truth is, MCA (as are all the other component parties within BN) never did voice out nor made a stand against the injustice and the travesties of justice. Hence, our nation is what it is today, tottering and tettering at the brink of becoming another Zimbabwe.
Instead of being a pillar of our nation building, it has become a crutch for propping up self interests.
written by Democrats, June 16, 2009 10:33:38
Aiya MCA, just leave BN and become independents in support of PR. That will corrode the number of MPs of BN down by another 12 or so. Gerakan can also leave so another 2 more down.

UMNO and Awang selamat clearly doesn't want you. If UMNO still wanted you, they would have stop the edition or article from circulation.
written by Jan, June 16, 2009 10:53:31
Utusan is a known mouthpiece of UMNO. Effectively Utusan, I mean UMNO is hinting to MCA to fark off if it wanted to. I wonder how much more dignity MCA got to lose before it wakes up. How much more bullying and crawling is Ong going to take before doing something about it. The Chinese no longer support MCA like they used to and it will be stupid of MCA if they still don't know.
written by Jan, June 16, 2009 11:01:31
It's funny come to think of it. All this hype about 1Malaysia but at the back we have this mouthpiece of UMNO driving away all the non malays from supporting BN. Najib has to decide if he still wants non malay support, if he does then do something about Awang Selamat and his Utusan. If not just say so and ask MCA, MIC and Gerakan to fark off.
written by Sutha, June 16, 2009 12:25:05
Leave the sickman Awang Selamat alone..... He's real sick.....probably suffering from a hereditory disease.
written by joeawk, June 16, 2009 12:25:07
Chinese won't support MCA. Whether MCA stays or leaves BN, we do not care. We want a change in the federal goernment. We have to get rid of corruption, we want the corrupt to be jaioled. We want no discrimination. We want a de-UM NOised civil service. We want the crooked judges to be sacked and we want an independent judiciary. We wantn the lapdog AG to be sacked along with the samseng IGP.

Malaysia cannot go on like thgis, we must change and that change must come from the top. It is now or never. We want change.
written by Ben Nordin, June 16, 2009 13:04:23
Dear MCA members. Your leader labelled your opinions as "Academic". His Master's media has now labelled your organization as "Irrelevant". Why oh why are you still members of MCA? Except for the "Ballkiss" members from you, the rest should quit and join PR now.
written by Thundercat Pink, June 16, 2009 13:56:51
The MCA dogs has no ball to offend their master. Stop playing mind games. The dogs will never regain supports from the Chinese. So do yourself a favor and dissolve the stupid party. Maybe the next generation of people will forget how useless you are and how obedient you are to your master.
written by chin, June 16, 2009 14:23:11
Hey, this Awang Jerk is actually doing the Chinese a favour.

UMNO should kick MCA and Gerakan out of the party. I mean what do you expect from a bunch of corrupt businessmen raised on UMNO corruption.

With a consolidated political will, I am sure some smart Malay dominated party will see the great opportunity presented by this consolidated Chinese voting block.

Hey, it is still a democracy (somewhat) after all, even if this Awang Jerk seems to knows nothing about it.
written by Heaven8402, June 16, 2009 15:43:10
Come to think of it, if MCA or Gerakan were to join PR, I shall think thrice whether I'm casting my vote anymore!
written by gorshan, June 16, 2009 19:55:50
can someone post a picture of awang selamat?

that way maybe if i see him on the street i will buy him a cuppa,chit chat with him.maybe he is the way he is now because he only mix with his own race.maybe if someone not of his race befriend him,wish him and family well,talks to him,then perhaps he will get to see Chinese and Indian Malaysian in a positive light.sometime nice friendly gestures,simple thing as a wave or a smile can change even the most hardlined person smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Urangsabah, June 16, 2009 21:44:48
A Money Safe - make sure you hang a notice at your gate - NON MALAY ARE NOT INVITED TO MY HOME.

Take your children out of school, otherwise they would be contaminated by the Non Malays...

Carry on you racialist chant.........UMNO loves you....