Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Zaid rebuts Adnan's 'sheep in wolf's clothing' jibe

Zaid rebuts Adnan's 'sheep in wolf's clothing' jibe PDF Print
Tuesday, 16 June 2009 01:44

(The Edge) - It's only been three days since he officially returned to politics but already he has come under attack by his former party and a person "I don't really know or have a relationship with", said Datuk Zaid Ibrahim.

Responding to Pahang Menteri Besar Tan Sri Adnan Yaakob's description of him as "a sheep in wolf's clothing", Zaid said he was surprised by the hatred from Adnan.

"Adnan is constantly accusing and insulting me. Some people say that he was one of the strongest proponents of my sacking from Umno," said Parti Keadilan Rakyat's latest high-profile signing.

"I've never being involved with any dodgy land or logging deals in Pahang hence I'm surprised by his attacks," Zaid wrote in his blog today.

The former minister also said that "anyone who seeks change such as eradicating corruption and curbing the abuse of powers or arguing against the Internal Security Act is seen as an Umno enemy".

Adnan, said Zaid, had also complained that he had enriched himself through his relationship with Umno and Barisan Nasional.

"When Umno leaders are upset with me they constantly raise this issue. Nevertheless, I've always maintained that I'm neither rich nor was made rich by Umno.

"But since this is a recurring accusation, I suggest that the government repeals the Official Secrets Act and declassify all information pertaining to government contracts, projects and shares given out to ministers, former ministers, chief ministers and other Umno leaders and their families," Zaid wrote.

This, he added, would offer a good opportunity to the public to decide who and how they were enriched.

The former de-facto law minister said that he was reminded of the incident when the previous prime minister Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi suggested that ministers should declare their assets. "I proposed then that the government should use a form utilised by the Australian government as it is simple and easy to fill."

However, the suggestion was shot down by senior Umno leaders, said Zaid. "Unless they are wiling to be scrutinised and judged by the public, there really is no necessity for them to attack others."

written by Highway16, June 16, 2009 02:00:39
All Ministers should declare their assets. Or should say "All politicians should declare their assets". Then again this may cause an issue - may not have any politician to run the country!
written by bexe, June 16, 2009 02:11:11
I think the disclosure of assets by all public servants should be written into law and should not be left to the discretion of the sitting PM.
I hope Zaid runs for office soon. We need people of his intellect and moral standing to lead us. I think those UMNO warlords must be shaking in their boots right now.
I pray he will have the tenacity and resolve as well.
written by RumahPanjai, June 16, 2009 02:20:01
Not daring to declare their assets goes to show they have something to hide? Where did all the million $ assets come from?
written by Bruce_Lee, June 16, 2009 03:23:54
I am really happy that you have decided to join PKR and hope Tengku Li will join also. You have courage. I think its unnecessary for you to explain or reply to this uncultured barking dog. What PR have to worry about is post GE. Barring any stupid mistake(like sudden PAS infatuation with umno) by PR, PR can win the next election.

The current regime have nothing to new to offer to Malaysian except racism. Which the Malay community doesnt subscribe to anymore. So far they have only used Polis Raja Di Malaysia and Judiciary extensively to prolong their existance. They still have not used the armed forces. Armed Forces still loyal to umno.

The main factor which got PR this far is Anwar Ibrahim. To bring DAP and PAS to the same table is an achievement. Thus, for BN they only need to knock out Anwar Ibrahim to undo PR. PR still an infant. Will the current regime walk away in a gentle manner if they were to lose in nexr GE? So much at stake for them. They wont give up 'free money' that easy.

Most of them have to flee the country or face jail term if they lose. I am talking of thousands of BN elites. What if the PRDM and Armed Forces were to run riot at the behest of umno?
Are PR prepared for such an eventuality? UMNO only have to get rid(C4) of Anwar Ibrahim to undo PR.

Please be prepared for post GE. They can be very mean. Remember what happen to Altantuya? Be more worried about post GE than winning it.

And do not forget that God is alive.
written by kurangfaham, June 16, 2009 08:37:10
Datuk Xaid, apa dah jadi debat dengan Rais anak Yatim yang diura-urakan tempoh hari. Minta Rais menerima cabaran yang dimulkan oleh Rais sendiri. Sampai bilakah dia akan berdiam diri. Saya pun tidak tahu sama Datuj takut untuk mengahadapi Rais itu.
written by truthbespoken, June 16, 2009 09:02:15
Datuk Zaid, people like UMNO Adnan are just jealous and worried about your eminent rise in Malaysian politics. They can visualise their own downfall in the near future with your political presence. These people are afraid of you because they can only see things from a Malay outlook and not from a broader Malaysian outlook. They know they are myopic.
written by fireduck, June 16, 2009 09:31:38
"Unless they are wiling to be scrutinised and judged by the public, there really is no necessity for them to attack others."

You mean 'no moral right' to attack others. No need to be so polite, Zaid. Remember, this is the same guy who has no reservations about giving his rakyat De CLAP! Crude, crass, and plain unrefined as an MB.
written by 40yom, June 16, 2009 10:22:33
Dato' Zaid,

Congratulation to you for joining PKR.You have my full support
and looking forward to see you as a outstanding leader.

written by tuahjebat, June 16, 2009 10:24:16
Adnan..ha ha..He is just like his Kampung Boss Najis. Both are from Pahang.While the rest of the Pahang folks are progressing he is still with his kampung mentality.
written by budakindia, June 16, 2009 10:56:08
Zaid, don't bother. It's not worth the effort. These are you normally slam the door against their face! Just like Nazri Aziz too. I guess age is catching up fast on these people! smilies/grin.gif
written by chin, June 16, 2009 14:35:55
I think it is the case of the thief shouting the loudest and accusing others to divert attention from the fact that he is the obvious suspect.

Or maybe Zaid has some dirt on this guy, being a lawyer and all. If so, Zaid, please share.
written by cllim123, June 16, 2009 14:42:33
This is the Adnan who was showing bad sign, striking palm on fist action, in a stadium or something. Low class moron he is. But then again this is Umno. BN seem to have these characters. There was a recent Gerakan top leader who was dam fcuikng ceehbey foul mouthed too. And used to spit when he spoke, so reporters sat furtehr away during his press conferences. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif