Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow I’m disappointed in you, Anwar

I’m disappointed in you, Anwar PDF Print
Monday, 15 June 2009 16:44

At this point you may be asking what is the point of this long grandfather’s story? The point is this. The Malay traitors from Negeri Sembilan helped the Imperialist Dutch to kill a Malay warrior, Raja Haji, my forefather. So I am very sensitive about this just like some Malays are sensitive about Chin Peng.

Anwar’s stand on Chin Peng regrettable, says Hisham

KUALA LUMPUR: Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was not considering the people’s sensitivities and feelings when he said that Chin Peng – the former secretary-general of the Communist Party of Malaya (CPM) – be allowed to return to the country.

Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein said Anwar’s statement on the matter was regrettable because it was as though he wanted to forget both the history and the suffering and sacrifices of those who had died at the hands of the communist insurgents.

“The issue has been debated in the media and various quarters have given their views on the matter, while rejecting any effort to bring back Chin Peng,” he said in a press statement here yesterday.

Hishammuddin said allowing Chin Peng to return would only deepen the hurt of the people, especially the children and grandchildren of those who had fought to defeat the communist insurgency.

“Anwar should realise that his stance on the issue does not only cause uneasiness but also anger to various quarters,” he added.

On Saturday, Anwar said Chin Peng should be allowed to return to Malaysia to spend the rest of his twilight years, adding that this was also because the Malaysian and Chinese governments had long made peace with one another. — Bernama

I have no choice but to admit that this time I agree with what the son of Malaysia’s Third Prime Minister has to say. Anwar Ibrahim just does not understand the issue of sensitivities of children and grandchildren. And Hishammuddin has very aptly reminded us that we should at all times be sensitive to the feelings of children and grandchildren of those brutally killed in the past.

The problem is, Anwar may have gone to university but he did not major in history. If he did then he would have taken note of history before proposing anything as sensitive as calling for Chin Peng to be allowed back into the country. And to suggest that the government is denying permission for Chin Peng to return because he is Chinese while the others -- meaning Malay Communist leaders -- have been allowed to return -- and therefore this smacks of racism -- is not a valid argument. Read what the Menteri Besar of Pahang said about this issue.

"It’s different for Shamsiah Fakeh and Rashid Maidin, who were allowed to return as they were used by him.”

So there you have it, Anwar. Chin Peng was the user while Shamsiah Fakeh and Rashid Maidin were the usees. We can’t blame the usees as in most cases the usees allowed themselves to be used because the user tricked them into being used.

Okay, if you don’t know what I mean, let’s look at another scenario as a case in point.

The two police officers on trial for the murder of Altantuya is one such case in point. They are also usees. The two police officers were used to get rid of someone who was irritating certain people. So the usees are not to be blamed. We have to punish the user. But in the case of the murder of Altantuya we really don’t know who the user is and the High Court has ruled that Razak Baginda is not the user. And the Attorney-General, in all his wisdom, agrees with the court and that is why he has decided not to appeal Razak’s acquittal and for no other reason other than that.

If Anwar continues like this he would soon enough start losing credibility. Okay, maybe he is trying to ‘play politics’. But he should not allow politics to override other considerations such as the feelings and sensitivities of children and grandchildren. After all, are not children and grandchildren future voters? Are we trying to drive away these children and grandchildren into the waiting arms of Barisan Nasional?

I am a very sensitive person. In fact, I am very emotional and sentimental. I cry when I watch sad movies. Probably many already know that just by the manner in which I write and you may even regard that as something negative about me -- and probably not the only thing negative about me as far as you are concerned.

Of course, many women say that being emotional and sentimental makes me a good lover. But I would not like to elaborate on that matter lest you think I am trying to ‘market’ myself to the women or that I am blowing my own trumpet. It is better other people blow (I mean my trumpet) rather than I blow my own trumpet.

Anyway, back to the sensitive part. Many, Anwar included, do not understand matters related to sensitivities of children and grandchildren. Take me as one example. Being a self-confessed emotional and sentimental person, and being a child and grandchild myself (although I will be pushing 60 next year), I too am very sensitive about certain issues.

Let me elaborate on that lest you do not catch my drift. One of my forefathers, Raja Haji, was brutally murdered by the Dutch, who were then the rulers of Melaka. In case you do not know your history (as most Malaysians don’t), Raja Haji was nicknamed Raja Api (the Fire Prince) by the Dutch. And the reason is as follows:

The Dutch were the superpower in this region at that time. Even the English, French, Portuguese, Spanish, and all those other European superpowers could not defeat the Dutch. But Raja Haji and his band of Bugis pirates were able to defeat the Dutch.

Raja Haji laid siege to Melaka until the Dutch ran out of food and water. The Dutch then called for a peace treaty to be signed and agreed that all the ships that passed through the Straits of Melaka, and which the Dutch plundered, they would share the spoils 50:50 with the Bugis.

So it was a great Ali-Baba arrangement. And Raja Haji was probably the first to introduce this concept of Ali-Baba long before the launching of the New Economic Policy by Tun Razak in 1971. The Dutch did all the work of plundering any ship that passed through the Straits of Melaka and the Bugis got 50% of whatever was plundered without lifting a finger.

Then, one day, the Dutch decided to keep everything for themselves and not share anything with the Bugis. When Raja Haji found out that the Dutch had plundered an English ship rich with opium on the way from Hongkong to India, he got angry and, again, attacked the Dutch in Melaka.

Again, Melaka came under siege and it looked like this time Raja Haji was going to wipe out the Dutch once and for all. This time: no treaty. This time: Dutchman go home! (That’s where the Vietnamese for the ‘Yankee Go Home’ slogan from. It was the Bugis who first started it.)

The Dutch were desperate. They could fight the French, the English, the Portuguese, the Spanish, but the Bugis were just too fierce and not easy to defeat. The Dutch then enlisted the help of the Negeri Sembilan Malays, the Minangkabau people. And while the Bugis engaged the Dutch from the front, the Negeri Sembilan people attacked the Bugis from the back.

Now, we must understand, it is easy to face an enemy from the front. But when someone takes you from behind it is not so easy to defend yourself. And the Bugis were defeated and Raja Haji was killed.

The Dutch, however, refused to hand over Raja Haji’s body. They took his body onto the ship called The Dolphin with a view to bring the body home -- maybe they wanted to embalm it and put it in a museum or something like that.

But the ship was never able to leave port. That same night, The Dolphin mysteriously exploded killing everyone on board. The ship just sank in a ball of fire but Raja Haji’s body was untouched. The Dutch were so scared they handed Raja Haji’s body back to the Bugis and from that day on renamed him Raja Api.

At this point you may be asking what is the point of this long grandfather’s story? The point is this. The Malay traitors from Negeri Sembilan helped the Imperialist Dutch to kill a Malay warrior, Raja Haji, my forefather. So I am very sensitive about this just like some Malays are sensitive about Chin Peng.

Now do you know why I so bitterly oppose Khairy Jamaluddin and Rosmah Mansor, both Malays from Negeri Sembilan? And now do you know why I am very sensitive about them becoming our leaders? And, also, now do you know why I will leave no stone unturned in ensuring that they will never become leaders of this country? It’s that old sensitive thingy, old chap. I have a murder to avenge, the murder of Raja Haji and thousands of Bugis, more people killed than the 5,000 that Chin Peng and the CPM ever killed.

I hope this piece of mine about the sensitivities of children and grandchildren explain matters and puts everything in its proper perspective. And I urge Anwar to understand why the sensitivities of children and grandchildren are very important. Before you propose anything make sure you look into this angle first and do not propose anything that will rub the sensitivities of children and grandchildren the wrong way.

Comments (211)Add Comment
written by Navigator, June 15, 2009 16:56:07
The Japanese not only killed many people in the region in the Second War, they also robbed them of their gold and other riches. Why is it that Mahathir had this "Look East" policy when the forefathers of many Malaysians were massacred, and women were raped by them? Why do we have this bias towards Japanese who had committed atrocities to us.
disagree 17
agree 816
written by Urangsabah, June 15, 2009 17:00:44

Aiyo so flowery oh the Ingeris, if SPM sudent sit sure fail one, lucky Krismuddin no Education Minister now becomeing like Syed Botak oready..............talk no need brain one.
agree 244
written by Knight, June 15, 2009 17:01:08

The point is that the Msian government signed a Peace Agreement with the CPM and one of the conditions is that they be allowed to return to Malaysia. All Anwar said was, and I quote Bernama ""We have allowed it (the return of some of the former CPM leaders) before. What's the difference between Chin Peng and Musa in terms of leadership of the party? We signed the peace agreement together. I don't want to see a situation where it is alright for a Malay communist but not for a Chinese communist. That I cannot accept"

Anwar's second (and lesser) point was to allow Chin Peng to return on humanitarian grounds.

What is clear to me is that Anwar is saying, "hey, we signed an agreement with these fellas, and lets jolly well honour it." To me, there is nothing wrong with what Anwar said. We have to honour what we have agreed.

By the way, RPK, if you can get hold of a copy of the Peace Agreement, I will be grateful if you could post a copy here or give us the link. I can't find it in the internet. Then we can read for ourselves what the government agreed with CPM.
agree 777
written by madfive, June 15, 2009 17:06:13
after listening to anwar's reasons, i think we should allow chin peng to return.we have forgiven china and rashid. why not chin peng.it is because he is a chinese. i was a soldier myself fm 75 to 95.unless you want to ' berdendam sampai mati'
agree 568
written by Taiping60, June 15, 2009 17:06:22
Why practise double standard?

So the government is suddenly so sensitive about the children and grand children feeling about Chin Peng when the same BN government could not care less with the children and grand children feeling when they implement the look east policy. There were also many Malaysians who were killed by the Japanese during their occupancy in Malaysia. Why the son of third prime minister did not say anything. Why those who make an issue about concerning about our feeling did not do anything. My uncle was killed by Japanese during the war, but I do not hold any ill feeling toward the Japanese. There are many reasons which I am sure all politicians are well aware.

The truth is these politicians do not give a shit of our feeling.
The truth is the history is there for us to learn and not to harp on.
The truth is all Malaysians want to move on and are not interested to have Chin Peng or the Japanese occupancy be used by politicians for their own interest.

Common all Malaysians including the son of our third prime minister and also Raja Petra. Grow up and move on.

Allow Chin Peng to come back as he is harmless now. Allow Japanese to visit us as they are not the same as their ancestors. Time is different. This is the time unite and not divide.

If Anwar support Chin Peng due to the same reason I mentioned, then I welcome Anwar position. But if Anwar did that purely to gain popularity among the chinese then I said this is wrong and stop it.

agree 517
written by Richfyf, June 15, 2009 17:10:02
Pete sorry if what I say might be sensitive to your feelings. I dont intend to offend you. But what you are saying is that You are a decendent of BUGIS pitares...

Phew now I know why you write the way you write. So if what you say is the truth that makes you a "pendatang" as well. Is that the reason why you take offence when True Blue malay call others pendatang. If I am mistaken then I would appologise now becasue sometimes I dont know when you are serious or when you are being sacasrtic.

Enjoy reading your article though.

God Speed RPK
agree 208
written by ksmaniam, June 15, 2009 17:11:07
I believe that we Malaysians are a god fearing people and it is one of our rukun negara. If so, does not all religions professes to the belief that we ought to forgive and forget. If so, why can't we allow him to return and allow him to see what he has or has not done. And allow every one who has something to say to him good or bad to vent their anger or if allowed to "maaf" him for all the dosa's. Is this possible? Are Malaysians religious enough and man enough to do that? Forget about the few politicians creating the ruckus. What do the rakyaat think. Let us have a poll on this, perhaps.
My 2 cents worth
My 2 cents worth.
written by Braino, June 15, 2009 17:11:09
To err is human but to forgive is divine. We forgave the Japanese, now we have good relations with China (communist China), we trade with the Dutch and we drink "Dutch Lady's" milk...we drive Japanese cars...we use Chinese products. Even the Japanese forgave the Americans...we just have to move on!

History has a way of keeping us from moving forward if we continue to hold on to the bitterness. History also can teach us never to repeat the same mistakes.

We can choose to be entrapped in the past or choose to free ourselves from the past and to learn from it. The choice is ours..
agree 362
written by AlwaysFair, June 15, 2009 17:16:46

I do understand your sentiments. Maybe Anwar don't touch on this issue anymore and unnecesarily stir up the waters, he can always allow CP back later when PR form the govt.

Maybe Anwar should just concentrate on more important issues at hand and not add to any more confusion and controversies and give more fodder to the foes to more light fires and fan more flames ie. MODERATION AND COMPROMISE on this issue for now.

Happy Hiding RPK!!!
Your opinions are very valued because they are honest though sometimes bias.
written by Ashleigh, June 15, 2009 17:17:11
I'm kinda disappointed to read this piece from RPK... Chin Peng is just an old man asking to return to die in his homeland and I can't understand how that touches the sensitivity of some people. All those who call for the Government to grant him the return said is to grant it on humanitarian ground... it's not like asking Malaysian to forgive him for what he's done or honour him as a warrior who fought against Japanese... Why do we have to keep looking back, why can't we just progress and move forward?

The last part of the article is even more saddening to swallow... that RPK despises KJ and Rosmah not for what they have done wrong to the people/nation but for a murder avenge... I sure hope it is just one mischievous joke from RPK... smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
disagree 19
agree 283
written by joeawk, June 15, 2009 17:18:07
I do not know and I don't agree with the user and usee thing. they are all one and cannot be isolated or differentiated between user and usee.

I would still allow Chin Peng back simpkly because he was a malaysian and we all know that.

I am not going to argue with anyone but merely on the fact that he was a malaysian.

agree 181
written by lennonist, June 15, 2009 17:18:29

I do not agree with you. Bygones should be bygones or else you will find out that you would need a bigger case to carry all the baggage with you. My grandmother and grandaunt were horribly tortured by the Japs during WWII and I do not need to tell you how heartless that bunch of people can be. But, when all's said and done, the past is the past and we have to forgive at some point. Things change, people change too, and you have to adapt to the changes.

Do we still harbor hatred towards the Japanese? Hell no. In fact, we welcome them with open arms to our MM2H programme. Have we forgotten about their cruel acts? Hell no. But what is done is done and times are different. That's called progress. I hope you learn to accept that in the case of your forefather the great Raja Api as well. My grandmother wasn't as great, she was just a peasant but she understands the difference between then and now.
agree 271
written by Admiral Tojo, June 15, 2009 17:20:31
Yes Pete, do not get angry but get even, even if it takes several generations. Now waiting anxiously for more videos from the PUAKA series.

written by son of soil, June 15, 2009 17:21:36
What is "Chin Peng " all about in Malaysian politics.

Chin Peng = Tool made use by UMNO government to make our Malay brothers hate Chinese brothers...simple as that.
agree 274
written by cheekymate, June 15, 2009 17:23:11
My grandmother who was only twenty four years old witnessed her husband of only thirty years old mauled into the truck during the Japanese occupation. She ran after him but had to stop when the Japanese soldiers threatened to shoot her after they rape her, they said. That was the last she saw of him.
She received news that my grandfather was given the full Japanese torture treatment as he was suspected of leading an underground movement against the Japs.
I shall not elaborate the inhumane methods of torture.
We have all put the past behind us and have now learnt never to repeat bad history.
All of us have erred at one time or another. Don't we all deserve second chances?
Or should we carry our hatred to the grave?
agree 275
written by imanj, June 15, 2009 17:25:08
The whole thing is the indepth to understand history right from the start of this matter to the issue of it today,including the argument on the matter by all parties.

I've read what Raja Petra wrote and also what Knight pointed out.Many who know it from scratch would have made their mind up,others who know it from learning up the history to todays'news would be sitting on the fence.But the bulk of people especially the younger generation,who are not truly well-versed with any of this would have by now,be made to think,whoever supports the return of Chin Peng is a traitor.Right now even if DSAI has the angles to his argument covered,he would seem as a traitor,insensitive even barbaric to the Malays and the generations of Malays that were apart of it.

Pete's examples are just like the soldiers just do as their told,it's the Leaders that pay for the crime in a war.

This isn't the time for a shadowed image to befall Pakatan Rakyat.You must realise many Malaysians ignorantly follow anything literally and blindly,be it the truth or not and would ignore any facts that support an issue.

written by hckit, June 15, 2009 17:25:51
If Chin Peng were gone to China to join his china ex-soldiers friends for property development business 20 years ago, Najib could have invited Chin Peng to invest in Iskandar Development
agree 213
written by wongnoball, June 15, 2009 17:26:53

The opium was not from Hong Kong to India. It should be the opposite way lah. Anyway my grand father was killed by opium at his young age, thanks to the blessing of the Great Britain Empire. A lot of my relative were also killed by the Imperial Japanese Army, but a lot of them still fancy the Japanese products or join venture with Japanese ........
written by Bruce_Lee, June 15, 2009 17:31:31
RPK's mind had been infiltrated by BN!

fa! fa! fa!
agree 119
written by Knight, June 15, 2009 17:35:18
Dear Imanj,

Thanks for reading my comments. To me, this is a very straightforward case. If the Malaysian government had signed a peace treaty agreeing to allow ex-CPM members to return, then lets honour that agreement now. There is nothing to talk about whether people are sensitive or not if Chin Peng returns. If this sensitivity was a big deal prior to the signing of the peace treaty, then carve it out before we signed or if Chin Peng cannot agree to that, then don't sign. Now that we have signed this peace treaty, we can't bully Chin Peng and tell him "Sorry dude, you can't come back 'cos people will be sensitive. Remember all those soldiers you killed? Their families hate you." A deal is a deal, what more by a sovereign nation signing on a willing basis at arms' length.

Again, RPK if you can get hold of a copy of the Peace Treaty, maybe you can let us have a copy for us to read. Chin Peng's lawyer (I can't remember who now) should have a copy, and your lawyer should have access to him.

agree 114
written by Wolzard, June 15, 2009 17:45:33
It’s that old sensitive thingy, old chap. I have a murder to avenge, the murder of Raja Haji and thousands of Bugis, more people killed than the 5,000 that Chin Peng and the CPM ever killed.

Frankly speaking Raja Petra, THAT is the MOST absurd, warped & screwed-up excuse that I've EVER heard in my life!
Dude, you didn't even exist on this face of earth at that time! The past is the past! Whatever happened back then...there is nothing you can do about it! So why do you want to carry this burden of the past? Just let it go & let bygones be bygones!
Do you honestly really think that revenge is going to solve your problem? Ok, let's just say you got what you wanted. What, you think case closed ah? What about the loved ones of the person that you got your revenge on? What makes you think that they would not come after you? If they fail to get you, they will go after your family! Sounds ridiculous but that is the fact!

I'm just expressing my opinions. I respect your views BUT I just don't agree with them! That's it & May God Bless You Always!
agree 190
written by drrafick, June 15, 2009 17:48:59
Dear all
You can find the link to the 1989 agreement at the following site
http://rights2write.*********.com/2009/06/10/chin-peng-pkm-and-the-new-communism/

It is at the bottom of the article where there is a link.
Also see youtube video (especially part 2)
written by Ranulaw, June 15, 2009 17:50:59
Communists: Blame Chin Peng
WW2: Blame Japanese
Raja Api: Blame Negri Sembilan

May 13: Blame ???

A wise man once said if we go eye for eye, tooth for tooth, eventually we'll all be blind & unable to eat much.

However, I do understand that some ppl can never let go of the past anger & hatred. For these ppl I sincerely wish them well but also hope they will ask themselves, in these short years we all have in existence, "Is it really worth our while to live our present and future holding on to the heavy baggage of the past?"

If we are to make peace with others, don't u think we should first make peace with our inner selves?

Ooommmmmmmm..............
written by Raja Petra, June 15, 2009 17:51:41
Going by the responses/comments above, maybe it is time for people like Azmi Sharom to conduct a study on the danger of teaching English in Bahasa Malaysia. We end up with a lack of comprehension problem. I shudder to think that these are the people who support the opposition.
disagree 25
written by HeeHaw, June 15, 2009 17:56:04
ROTFLMAO. Well written, RPK.

One master article. So many things revealed about the readership too.
disagree 30
written by Raja Petra, June 15, 2009 18:00:28
Dear HeeHaw, yes, maybe we should ask all those who want to register to comment in MT to take a simple IQ test first and if they don't pass the test then we don't register them. This will help protect Malaysia's image. If not those foreigners who read MT would get the impression that there is something terribly wrong with our education system - which there is actually.
disagree 21
written by lampard, June 15, 2009 18:04:19
Dear Raja,
Why blame the Minangkabaus? Why get pissed off with Rosmah and Khairy because they are from Negeri Sembilan? Aren't they the descendents of usees of the users from Ducth! Like the Shamsiah Fakeh and Rashid Maidin of PKM[ b]Usees and user Chin Peng?
written by educationist, June 15, 2009 18:06:42
I am lost, too but I sense there's something else written between the lines.
If not, I choose to disagree.
DSAI ,perhaps, maybe out to score political points but I believe he's doing more for the cause of Malaysians, to encourage us to put the past behind us and go forward.
written by ylcc, June 15, 2009 18:06:54
The last time I wrote something similar about my grandfather being killed by the Malay security forces, and created a similar scenario whereby I could react the same as these anti-Chin Peng people, I was told that my story made no sense - and that my argument was stupid!
written by carribeanking7, June 15, 2009 18:06:57
A piece par excellence , irony, parody and juxtaposition all rolled into one.
I think Anwar will get the drift........but.........
I won't be surprised if the clueless Utusan were to print a caption "RPK tegur Anwar mempelawa Chin Peng"
Also some may yet again say your site has been infiltrated by SB.
As for crying at sad movies I am sure you remember this Sue Thomson piece http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JARtYlFiCs0
I on the other hand cry when I watch RTM 1. Did I tell you that you are mischievous ?

written by Tompios, June 15, 2009 18:10:07
First, what is your final point here dear RPK? Allowing grudge for today and to the future? Second, Chin Peng most probably the user and the others were usees but wait Malay has taught us "Buang yang keruh ambil yang jernih" and why we cannot apply this proverb to deal Chin Peng's story? Furthermore, if I am not mistaken, Chin Peng once asking for an apology to the victims' families. Am I right? Thirdly, let Chin Peng come back to Malaysia and ask UMNO's Police to torture him as what as they did to Kugan. UMNO is really expert to hide any misconduct done by their tools.

written by hiiijack, June 15, 2009 18:13:18
Please correct me if i'm wrong, I don't think this article is for DSAI, rigth? I think RPK is hitting Mr.HOME MINISTER of bolih land.- KUMAN DI SEBERANG LAUT NAMPAK TAPI GAJAH DI DEPAN MATA,BUAT-BUAT TAK NAMPAK.
IF I'm wrong please forgive me.
written by fireduck, June 15, 2009 18:15:04
Aiyoh, you guys ah, too serious lah. Pete's tongue is poking right through his cheek and you guys can't see it. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by johnT, June 15, 2009 18:17:37
Mahathir can forget & forgive Tengku Razaleigh & Datuk Pairin. Hadi Awang can forget memali insiden and going to merge PAS with UMNO. Whats wrong to forgive and forget Chin Peng? Why we take all the bad memory while forget that Chin Peng also fight the Japanese during world war 2? If Chin Peng is not a chinese I will still forgive him. He is 85, Another few years he is only a history and no more exist on the earth maybe.
written by guns head, June 15, 2009 18:18:00
for first time i DISAGREE with pete
i support anwar for his remarks

sentiments should not bring into matters like this.

now think about this

Kugan the guy died in lokap
must be done tortured by one race and killed this Kugan of another race
so will the family of kugan be angry and revenge on the other race?

this is the most ugly and stupid article by pete

i am sorry pete

i got terrified

i still sokong anwars's remarks

anyway, friends

i love rpk

out of 100 articles only one i disagree

friends and rpk

please be here in MT

i need MT

MT is my place everyday
written by hellosunshine, June 15, 2009 18:19:17
RPK, your forefather , Raja Haji, was the boogeyman aka bugisman (check out Wikipedia on boogeyman origin) to the Dutch and now you are the boogeyman to BN although I must say I think you would have boogied the nights away in your hey days. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by DontPlayGod, June 15, 2009 18:20:40
In the same vein, too, then the Chinese should hate the Japanese for what the Japanese did to the Chinese in China. The Chinese should also hate the British for humiliating the Chinese in their own homeland, and for selling opium to the Chinese and making the Chinese addicted to opium.

But now China is Japan's biggest trading partner and the British are also investing heavily in China, and Chineses students are studying in Britain in droves. The Chinese were targeted by the Japanese invaders during Japan's invasion of Malaya during the second world war, so perhaps, MCA and Gerakan should bring up to BN to ban the Japanese from investing, trading, and staying in Malaysia.
written by miwaki, June 15, 2009 18:26:43
Yes,we must remember the atrocities of the communists that killed our fore-fathers and fore-mothers.With the same reasoning,we must also remember the atrocities of the police force during May 13 in 1969,there were cruel than the communists as civillians were without arms but they were treated as CPM.

Malaysia under UMNO/BN creats hatred among its citizens in order to cling on power.These people are going to hell when they die regardless of whatever religion they embrace.
written by jjireh99, June 15, 2009 18:27:53
i was just told by my ipoh-mali friend yesterday over lunch that the actual reason why communist existed in malaya is :-

1. chin peng was somewhat alligned to the communist of cina at that time
2. chin peng wanted to oppose the gomen of malaya, then or is it the british ruling malaya, then?
3. our malay gomen then made a pact with chin peng or vice-versa that if the communist joined forces with the the gomen to rid the EVIL JAPS in malaya, then
4. after defeating and driving the EVIL JAPS out of malaya with the help of the communist, the malay gomen went back on their promise, renegeded
5. hence the communist were driven out or hunted by the malay gomen and drove them into the jungles.

So, which is which? My friend's father and another friend's brother were also communist before. They are now living like ordinary citizens in this country.

So, as a chinese, I say let chin peng come HOME AND LIVE HIS REMAINING YEARS! Well, non of my relatives or loved ones were killed by the communist, so I really don't feel anything about it!
written by bikerzon, June 15, 2009 18:31:03
The two police officers on trial for the murder of Altantuya is one such case in point. They are also usees.

Useless...
written by jjireh99, June 15, 2009 18:32:58
error,

3. our malay gomen then made a pact with chin peng or vice-versa that if the communist joined forces with the gomen to rid the EVIL JAPS in malaya, then they will allow the communist people to rule malaya with the gomen of which we know it never happened as in point no. 4
written by Knight, June 15, 2009 18:33:44
Dear RPK, I get the point about you trying to be sarcastic in this article. The focus should be on whether Malaysia should honour her agreements with others and not whether it is right or wrong or ridiculous (as you were trying to illustrate in your article) to pass down hatred and vengeance in generations to come.

Dear Drrafick, thanks for the heads-up and link to the site. I am too old to ****** all these =)

I have reproduced the relevant extracts of the Peace Treaty below for your attention (sorry for long post).

Administrative Arrangment Between The Government Of Malaysia And The Communist Party Of Malaya Pursuant To The Agreement To Terminate Hostilities

2.2 Nominal List

The CPM shall furnish the Malaysian authorities with a nominal list containing personal particulars of its members and members of its disbanded armed units, who decide to take up residence in MALAYSIA, for purposes of verification by the Malaysian authorities. The list of such members shall be given to the Malaysian authorities as soon as possible, and in any case not later than one year from the date of the signing of the Agreement.

…..

ITEM 5 - RESIDENCE IN MALAYSIA

5.1 Members of the CPM and members of its disbanded armed units shall be allowed to take up residence in MALAYSIA if they so desire, after they have stayed in the pre-designated places in THAILAND for a minimum period of six months.

5.3 Those who seek to settle down in MALAYSIA must notify the Malaysian authorities of their intention to do so not later than one year from the date of the signing of the Agreement.

5.6 Those who are allowed to settle down in MALAYSIA shall be given identification papers upon their entry into MALAYSIA before they proceed to their respective places of residence of their choice.

6.3 Citizenship And NRICs

6.3.4 Those who are of Malaysian origin and who joined the CPM and its armed units before the implementation of the National Registration, shall be issued with RED NRICs should they be allowed to settle down in MALAYSIA. They can subsequently apply for citizenship in accordance with the laws in MALAYSIA.

* Signing the Administrative Arrangement Between The Government Of Malaysia And The Communist Party Of Malaya Pursuant To The Agreement To Terminate Hostilities for and on behalf of the Communist Party of Malaya were (a) Ong Boon Hua @ Chin Peng as Secretary-General and (b) Rashid Maidin as Central Committee Member.
written by carribeanking7, June 15, 2009 18:36:31
Forget my comments above on Utusan and RTM1, satire seems to be lost on the masses.

written by bikerzon, June 15, 2009 18:36:44
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA... this is so funny....
think i need to introduce pete for a standup comedian show i'm gonna do...
written by slimbrowser, June 15, 2009 18:38:16
I may be wrong but RPK's article here is more satirical. We have to read between the lines to understand what he meant.

What he meant is that we are all equally guilty of the death caused by CPM. The same as the Altantuya case where the two police are accessories to murder. But the one giving out the command is spared. It's a case of double standard.

This article is less about Anwar actually. It's written to get our attention. But the gist of the matter is all about meting our punishment to whomever it is due, and not only Chin Peng but the rest of the communist members as well.
written by slimbrowser, June 15, 2009 18:39:08
If that is we are truly sincere to do so.
written by johnT, June 15, 2009 18:40:26
Anwar in the early 1980 is the leader I most hated. He is the most rasict leader in UMNO. Because of his racist he become the number 2 leader in UMNO just in a very short time.
But God is great and truly. God have open Anwar eyes and choose him to lead all Malaysian nomatter Malay or Chinese & Indian. The most racist Anwar have been choosen by God to become an unracist leader. Can't you all see?

Now Anwar is my favorites leader. I have forgive & forget all the racist issue he done in the past because the old Anwar have die and today Anwar is a new Anwar choosen by God.

If I can forgive Anwar why can't Anwar represent the Rakyat to forgive Chin Peng?
written by malgal, June 15, 2009 18:40:38
way to go pet! now in this 3 cornered ring, its clear who kena tripped, bound and hopefully gagged.
usual cheong hei but got the drift - hehehe.
written by guns head, June 15, 2009 18:44:39
guys, check out the advertisement on right hand side
sea pearl villa and resort
in phuket
dem syok man
very nice
written by wahyu9, June 15, 2009 18:53:04
Should I laugh at the article or should I cry at the comments (the majority of them anyway.) If RPK is to commit harakiri at the way we comment, I can't really blame him.
written by Loh, June 15, 2009 18:58:28
///Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein said Anwar’s statement on the matter was regrettable because it was as though he wanted to forget both the history and the suffering and sacrifices of those who had died at the hands of the communist insurgents.///

We learn from history so that we do not repeat mistakes. We do not learn from history so that hatred gets enlarged with more offspring and descendents coming by the year. If the grandchildren of those who perished in the war during the Japanese occupation can be ignored when the government became friendly with Japanese, why should the feeling of grandchildren of those who died at the hands of the communists not be ignored too? Further why should the caused of sufferings be counted against Chin Peng but not also counted against his comrades who were allowed to return to Malaysia?

If the Second World War preceded the communist insurrection and was too long in the past, May 13 was much recent compared to communist insurrection. Was it the intention of the government to keep the feelings of those families who suffered during May 13 alive and hateful of the perpetrators, or was it the intention of the government to wish that they forget the ill feelings and look towards the future. It is now established by the statement by Tan Sri Abdullah Ahmad that had Harun been told by Tun Razak half an hour earlier to stop what Harun planned, and to have dispersed the crowds, there would be no May 13. So May 13 was perpetrated by UMNO leaders and would the government want those families who lost lives during the May 13 to retain hatred for UMNO? Of course, when UMNO did not welcome to be hated, by they did not forget to instil fear among the non-Malays for a repeat of May 13.

RPK was speaking tongue in cheek when he singled out Khairy Jamaluddin and Rosmah Mansor as the two to be his object of revenge for the death of Raja Api. I don’t think he was being sarcastic in saying that he agreed with Kerisman minister.
written by teo siew chin, June 15, 2009 19:12:00
aiyo YM RPK - how can you blame the people who cannot understand your tongue-in-cheek articles!
they are the victims of the system lah.
it is even possible if you try to-your-face words, they still aint gonna understand also cos helloooooo...they no speake de inglish!
try campuring the words in different languages, sms-speak, pictures, watever colloquil slangs, mungkin your message will then reach the target audience. or not. smilies/grin.gif
but take it easy dude - u r pushing 60! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif
and i aint gonna blow your
trumpet!
written by HEADACHE, June 15, 2009 19:21:18
I can imagine RPK's frustration about the way the majority of us understand this article. Please read the article again and see whether the comprehension remains the same. Yes, PLEASE READ AGAIN...

It is such a good article yet it is so misunderstood.

Well, I am sure that DSAI will be very happy with this article.
written by OVERLORD, June 15, 2009 19:26:37
Haha..Pete...like your tongue in cheek comment.....Anwar and the rest of us will get your drift..hopefully.....
written by galadriel, June 15, 2009 19:27:54
ROFLMAO! Why la u all so literal? I can't believe just how many people don't get what RPK is trying to say here. Duh!

Think with your head la...be rational.
written by Forex, June 15, 2009 19:28:28
For the 1st time ever i DISAGREE with RPK.

We must honor our AGREEMENT, which in malaysia, anything can be ignore if u are UMNO BN

For example, the formation of Malaysia, formed by Sabah with 20 points agreement were never been honor by BN UMNO Government.
written by galadriel, June 15, 2009 19:32:29
Oh...btw, Hishamuddin Rais uses this style as well, if you guys bother to read his lampoon. It's in BM, but I suppose all of you must have passed your Bahasa Melayu, without which you won't get SPM cert.

English was not compulsory u see, and the result we can see here. smilies/grin.gif
written by truthbespoken, June 15, 2009 19:33:01
Pete's recent articles and subject headings are getting more and more complicated, perhaps getting more satirical in nature, so much so, it has noticeably become much of a blurry guessing game for many. Sigh, when can we ever catch up with this unique man? But still, something need to be said of the Chin Peng issue.

I am not sure how this will fit in, but I feel that this 'user' and 'usee' thing by the Pahang MB is hogwash and a wishy-washy reason for running away from the truth. People’s instincts cannot be brushed off easily! And the truth is that this UMNO government, which the MB is part of, is an insincere one, excellent at distorting and dishonoring old peace treaties and agreements. UMNO’s excuses to not to allow Chin Peng to return are just lousy excuses.

The dishonored treaty is just one example. Look at the number on times they have changed the Constitution to marginalized the others. UMNO will never be able to see things in the right perspective and adopt the Malaysian approach consistently for the good of all. UMNO has failed Malaysians for too long. It has to go, the sooner the better!

written by mikewang, June 15, 2009 19:40:16
I beg to differ, Pete.

If you understand history, you'll notice all CPM leaders and members were usees.
The User was the Communist Party of China.

However, we are in business with them today !
written by Aria, June 15, 2009 19:44:07
It is hard to accept anyone that killed family members, but what happen in the past is in the past and we must be mature and think logically. Thinking with you heart and emotions is not always right.
If the Peace Agreement signed with the CPM had conditions that allowed communist party members to return to Malaysia then they should be allowed to return. Chin Peng was a murderer of many Malaysians and he is still alive because of the agreement. I am not happy about Chin Peng trying to return, but the words of the agreement must be honoured. If there is no such agreement Chin Peng should stay out and Malaysia must move on. Why should we show sympathy to a mass murdered? There is no excuse for killing innocent people, even for democracy, communism , religion or anything else. Japanese generals that ordered the killing of Malaysians during WW2 should not be allowed to come to Malaysia, but their children may.
written by benny loh, June 15, 2009 19:44:23
IF YOU'RE COMING HOME LIKE YOUR LETTER SAYS...
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...-home.html
written by Democrats, June 15, 2009 19:49:59
Alamak....these MT readers sometimes surprise me with their bland understanding and hidden messages...

you can smell the sarcasm of Pete a mile away in this article.

The very essence of the article is telling us that when people use donkey story to justify why Chin Peng cannot come back, it is absurd. That is why RPK uses wierd story of Raja Haji to prove his point. Many are finding it so stupid why RPK is still vengeful over the incidents of the bugis, the real meaning of it is trying to tell us why are the malays so vengeful in chin Peng's return. He meant them no harm personally, just a hyped up sentiment created by MSM and UMNO....
written by pokokmangga, June 15, 2009 19:50:26
There is saying that we need to let go to move on!

What the UMNOPUTRAS are doing is still harping on this race issue just like the Holocaust. Let go. Its like the Nanking Massacre, which is many many hundreds of thousands more.
written by kayjaman, June 15, 2009 19:51:58
the ones who signed the agreement are responsible , they should not have agreed to let him back and now retracting on an agreement is the worst part,The CPM was banned by the British, made an illegal organization , only then did they resort to violence, before that the CPM participated in the Malayan elections
written by talk2stop, June 15, 2009 19:53:36
RPK
What I think, your forefather was killed in action. Who killed him is not important to me. I don't know the full story. I am sure you don't know the full story because you were not born then. The Malays may bring their version. It will become a never ending story. I would out it to rest and move forward.
Yesterday is past
Tomorrow is future
Today is called present and that's what you get. So enjoy it.
written by pelukis, June 15, 2009 19:58:02
IS IT TRUE THAT MALAYSIA TODAY IS BEEN BOUGHT OVER BY SOMEONE...CLOSE TO GOVERNMENT (BN-UMNO)? Just received an sms and email from buddy that i know at world future -wfol.tv. HOPEFULLY IT'S NOT TRUE..RUMORS
written by malaysianohope, June 15, 2009 20:04:19
G'day Peter,
You now write like an Aussie with a twang so much so that these people are twisting their head 180 degrees wondering what the hell you are saying.
The moral of this article is "Forgive & Forget"!
written by fan73, June 15, 2009 20:04:40
Dear bro RPK,

I can relate this article with story of the boy who cross the jembatan...

TQ sir!

written by cruzeiro, June 15, 2009 20:15:59
ROTFLMAO!!!
Ditto TSC!!
Why lah Pete - people no read Engrand meh?
written by Naksam, June 15, 2009 20:20:44
This subject is being 'over-killed', pardon my P8 English. But reading your article is like breathing in a fresh ocean, or mountain air. Thank you for giving me, at least, such a beautiful perception on the subject.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

Cheers.
written by deekay, June 15, 2009 20:21:16
Hahaha......i really can't believe my eyes. Some of the commentators were so serious in replying to the satirical piece by Pete. ROTFLMAO!!
written by Wakeupmsia, June 15, 2009 20:40:01
The children and grand children of today are more intelligent to judge events of the past. It is UMNO that brainwash these kids. So, don't be disappointed with DSAI. He spoke with a clear conscience and fairness. BLAME UMNO (KERISMUDIN, SAMSENG ADNAN, ETC).

Last but not least, I understand your comments 'cos ' I read between the lines.

Between the lines means : "Aiyoh, Anwar, it's political suicide. But DSAI is right to say it. Sorry, Pete, I disagree with you time.
written by lampard, June 15, 2009 20:55:51
What an awakening! After all the usee, user...!!! I am a latecomer! Watch too much of this Jin Shamsudin "Bukit Kepong" movie and became stupid!!!

Catch your drift now, Mr Van Diesel!
written by Nice n Simple, June 15, 2009 20:59:22
SERIOUSLY...., YOU GUYS BETTER GO LEARN HOW TO DO MORE THAN JUST 'READ'.

From many of the above comments, if I were RPK, I'd be really disappointed. No wonder English must be made compulsory to pass SPM. If you are not sure what you read, please dont reply.
written by Toyolbuster, June 15, 2009 21:05:26
I am a very sensitive person too damn it. Though I have forgiven those malays who collaborated with the Japanese soldiers during WW2 who tortured and massacred many of my chinese forefathers, but I will never forgive those bastard japanese and I am sure my children would never forgive them too. But this batard Kutty fler forced us malaysians to look east, specifically at the japs arse holes. Do you expect me to forgive him too.
written by Proarte, June 15, 2009 21:06:18
Dear Raja Petra, without wishing to gratuitously hurt your sensitive soul, have you ever considered that perhaps Chin Peng was also a 'usee'. He was not a free agent one could argue; he had financial, logistic, and moral support from the Communist party of China and was just another Rashid Mydin.

Anyway, don't peace treaties count for anything and the terms therein? Does your personal sensitivity override legal obligations and your honour? Is your sensitivity selective? Are you a selfish person? I like to think you are not Raja Petra.

You seem to give the impression that your Bugis ancestors have an Allah given right to rape, steal and murder.Your Bugis pirate ancestors did not seem to have any sensitivity for the owners of ships they plundered and the innocent people they murdered.

I hope you are different Raja Petra, that your sensitive soul sheds a few tears for all those innocent people murdered and the plunder of illegitimate riches by your forefathers. You Bugis ancestors uncannily remind me of our UMNO leaders. smilies/grin.gif
written by Larry Jay, June 15, 2009 21:08:31

I have 2 of my uncles who were killed during the communist insurgency and I totaly disagree with you on this for many debatable reasons.
written by Nick V, June 15, 2009 21:21:48
Title - Attention grabber
Intro - Recap on issue
Body - Pure sarcasm
Closing- Pure wit

Result - 85% did not get it / 15% did

Now we all know the result of not teaching Maths & Science in English ... (BTW, that's sarcasm again) smilies/wink.gif
written by lampard, June 15, 2009 21:23:22
And WOW! I see so many gifted, talented, remarkable aptitude, supreme geniuses because THEY READ IN BETWEEN THE LINES!

Duh...Anyway, I am in support of Anwar Ibrahim's statement though I think it is unwise to stir that kind of shit but then again, Malay votes are split into 3 factions but Chinese votes are collectively with you! I think you did the right thing! Smart!
written by C360, June 15, 2009 21:28:40
written by Nice n Simple, June 15, 2009 20:59:22
SERIOUSLY...., YOU GUYS BETTER GO LEARN HOW TO DO MORE THAN JUST 'READ'.

I have to agree and MORE THAN JUST WRITE (sorry RPK)... and for those who are still unaware ... "communism has been dead for almost 30 years" as a colleague of mine put it in a general perspective ...

We trade with the UK (and other EU countries), Indonesia, Japan and China ... all historical aggressors (or abetted aggressors) against our nation at one point or other ... dotted with historical betrayals by locals ... usees can be forgiven ? users not ?
written by AsamLaksa, June 15, 2009 21:28:43
Hahahahahaha! I was scrolling down to see how many commentators it takes to realise what this article is about. First prize to HeeHaw. However a consolation is that no one blasted Anwar for his stand. The big give away is the warped logic of user and usee.
written by Democrats, June 15, 2009 21:28:55
Dear MSIABOLEH,

You have every right to call a spade a spade. you also have every right to whack (not physically ok?) RPK on this article if you disagree with him or cannot agree with his style of writing. You may also choose not to read pete's article if they are degrading to you, too confusing to you, or that you are tired and bored with his antic. FREEDOM OF CHOICE.

I'm just saying that we should see things in a broader perspective, and not taking meaning just as it is read.

Cheers!
written by hamid, June 15, 2009 21:38:52
So say good buy to your Amar Maaruf Nahi Mungkar
written by shiokguy, June 15, 2009 21:51:11
One short and many Long one

Dear Pete, I tot you have started to write short and bull eyes article from now on. I was getting bored and looking and reading your past Long Winded article..

Then again, here come one Long Winded article that I like.. Keep them coming!

BTW pete, I want to whack SYABAS recently but my blog are not as popular as yours. Recently they supplies Milo or Kopi O to my house instead of clean clean water..

http://3.bp.********.com/_qROn...G0355A.jpg

and this is RAIN WATER from Poluted KL's Sky!

OMG SYABAS, http://shiokguy.********.com/2...yabas.html Please Please help to WHACK them...

Water and Air are fundamental right and need of the people.

written by foresight, June 15, 2009 21:55:15
Oh dear! The standard of English among Malaysians have deteriorated so much! I think most MT readers will fail the MCE/GCE 'O' level English of the 60's and 70's not to mention the GP paper of HSC/GCE 'A' level.
written by No nonsense, June 15, 2009 21:56:22

I just dont understand what are all the fuss about chin Peng and Minangkabau . Why all the attention on such irrelevant subject? We should concentrate on PR unity instead. Why waste time? Work for the future not the past. Lets put an end to the subject and move on brothers. No use telling who is right or wrong. All rubbish. Strengten PR man that is the way.
written by sydput, June 15, 2009 22:00:28
Let us thank God that chin peng never had the chance to rule malaya. But when peace was declared, then peace treaty must prevail.
malaysia has the tendency to abide with contracts signed with local conglomerates, but never honour treaties signed with non-malaysians. The ASEAN free trade agreement was never honoured by malaysia, putting back the concept by one decade already. Otherwise, we should be paying up to 50% less for hondas and toyotas assembled in thailand/indonesia and the phillipines.
same with CPM. once you sign a peace treaty, you must honour it.

The dutch probably screwed the women of negeri sembiland and they liked it so much, they sent their husband to back stab the bugis. The dutch probably promised the stupid negeri women a share of the pirate bounty, just like they promised the bugis. But, like malaysia, they probably never honoured their deal with foreigners. We must not be like the dutch.
written by ABU SAYAB, June 15, 2009 22:11:33
I do not understand why so many people are so caught up with Chin Peng's issue.
Who cares if he is allowed can come back or not. Can't Anwar see that UMNO purrposely want to politicise it. This time DAP is smart enough for not responding or else UMNO,Pewaris,Awang Selamat and gang will stage demo calling for Ketuanan Melayu.
written by LLtwigs, June 15, 2009 22:12:01
I am really smiling here. The article was perhaps your best yet, but as one other commentator did, I scrolled down the comments to see how long it would take for someone to 'get it'. I was seriously shaking my head by the time I got to "Going by the responses/comments above, maybe it is time for people like Azmi Sharom to conduct a study on the danger of teaching English in Bahasa Malaysia. We end up with a lack of comprehension problem. I shudder to think that these are the people who support the opposition." - RPK
My sentiments exactly.
Let’s look on the bright side though - I agree with written by AsamLaksa, June 15, 2009 21:28:43
Hahahahahaha! I was scrolling down to see how many commentators it takes to realise what this article is about. First prize to HeeHaw. However a consolation is that no one blasted Anwar for his stand. The big give away is the warped logic of user and usee.

Looking forward to more of the same. :-)
written by Kuku Burung, June 15, 2009 22:13:32
Looking at the comments here, I can classify them into 3 groups:
1. Those who genuinely believe what RPK wrote and took the brick as brick;
2. Those who aggressively disagree with him and suspected that RPK has sold his soul to SB;
3. Those who think they are smarter then the rest by saying that they can read between the lines.

But to me (don't know which group I belong), I would rather think that this article is to point us to the power of perception that RPK often spoke about. Once the people form a perception, be it negative or positive or sensitive, it is hard to change them. Politic is an art (or science) of perception manipulation. So if UMNO/BN can twist the issue into a communist issue, so as to scare the Malays (and some Chinese) into believing that only UMNO/BN can protect them, and hence divert attention away from dismal economy and stinking power grab in Perak, they have achieve a huge success. So if DS Anwar can convince the Malaysians that we are not living in the past but our common enemy is UMNO/BN and not Chin Peng, we have been awaken to a new era of New Malaysia.

So take the pick.
written by C360, June 15, 2009 22:15:41
RPK may hv written some aspects of Negeri Sembilan .. and some of you may take exception to "some" women of Negeri Sembilan .. but kindly refrain from stereotyping "women of negeri sembilan" ..

I have a friend in a "Kg Melayu" designated for "yang miskin" in Negeri Sembilan ... and she works hard to care for her ageing mother, who happens to make the best rendang and lemang I have come across ... not exceeding that of the Istana Seri Menanti of course ... which i had the God given opportunity to dine in ..

And for those who do not know ... Negeri Sembilan IMPORTS coconuts ... and makes good use of it to do something better ...
written by Daryl, June 15, 2009 22:33:09
Even Islam I believe believe in forgiveness. That goes to basically every religion of the world. If we are to use history to do anything we might as well just sit and home and do nothing.

UMNO is trying to play this race card for so long and they still think it will work. For heaven sack this is an 80 plus old man who probably doesn't have a long life to live. If you hate him so much than say so like what RPK says don't try to divide us again because it is not working.
written by shiokguy, June 15, 2009 22:45:41
Why I request RPK to WHACK SYABAS?

You see, in this article it is not about Anwar, Chin Peng or Raja Api. It is about who should be responsible for the murder of "You know who but cannot mentioned"

In a way, RPK is whacking someone else instead on Anwar or Chin Peng!
Well done RPK, please help me to Whack SYABAS..

written by aliseman, June 15, 2009 23:08:59
OMG ! I cannot believe that most MT readers do not realize that this is a satire by RPK.Guys......surely you know RPK....you have read so many of his writings. Some even commented that they thought this piece is not written by RPK. Tsk...tsk...tsk.

A masterpiece by RPK. Love it.

written by aliseman, June 15, 2009 23:14:19
I studied maths and science in BM in school and all the way during my University days. I think I have no problem understanding what RPK is trying to tell the readers. My spouse on the other hand was taught maths and science in English in school and Uni and yet could not get the real message in RPK's writing. Ironic???

written by renoir, June 15, 2009 23:25:40
RPK: this is easily one of the best, if not the best, articles you've ever written in M-T. Humor is best served deadpanned, and sustained humor is always most difficult to achieve. You remind me of a cyberfriend who could be just as skillful when he wanted to, a Malaysiakini writer who named himself after the great Muslim hero Harun al-Rashid. He passed away soon after I received his last email (to me), stating that he was visiting Australia. I miss him much.

Some thoughts on the comments here:

The MCP was formed in 1930, long before China's Long March which was actually a retreat from the superior firepower of the Kuomintang. So it was a local development, and when the Emergency began in 1948, Mao's forces were still struggling for survival: the Chinese Communist Party had hoped that the US would keep the promise (given by Marshall) not to interfere in the Chinese Civil War. This promise was broken as the American military ferried Chiang's troops and war material all over China to fight against the CCP, including the Northeast. So the world was surprised when the Communists won in late 1949 despite their military disadvantage. American Secretary of State Dean Achesen was probably right when he claimed that the Communists' "victory" was due more to the fact that the Chinese people were fed up with Chiang, than to the military exploits of the CCP (though the CCP did perform very well in their battles).

In short, the timeline, and the terrible situation of the Chinese Communists in the years leading to 1948, suggests that they played no role at all in the formation and struggle of the Malayan Communist Party. Now, AFTER the Korean War and up to the 1960s, it's more than likely that China did help all it could to sustain the MCP. This shouldn't be surprising, as the West had fought against China in the Korean War and had formed SEATO to encircle China. Because British troops didn't leave this region till the 1970s, it was natural for China to seek all ways to fight against what they saw was another outpost of the Imperialist nations. To expect China to do less would be naive, more so when Tan Siew Sin attended an anti-Communist conference in Taipei and announced this country's confrontational stance towards the Communist State. It was left to the much-maligned Tun Razak that finally gave this country its present neutral position. In short, though it sounds illogical to bar Chin Peng from returning to his hometown while maintaining cordial relations with China, there're other reasons for UMNO/BN to do so. And probably the most important is that, given the experience of being ostracized soon after May 13th, UMNO understandably wouldn't give up its China card in its dealings with the West.

Korea, both north and south, probably harbor more anti-Japanese feelings than any other Asian people. It wasn't too long ago that a Korean minister called the Japanese "animals" and Korean opposition towards Japanese Ministers visiting the Yakashuni Shrine were often more shrilled than Beijing. Yet many young Koreans continue to study in Japan, and indeed much of their industrial technology were licensed from the Japanese. The Japanese themselves, though cruel, had suffered not merely from the two atomic bombs, but also from Allied firebombing of Tokyo and other cities. Since most Japanese houses were made of wood and paper, we can imagine that their sufferings must've been much worse than the citizens of Dresden.

So M-T readers are right: let bygones be bygones and UMNO should stop making Chin Peng a racial issue. UMNO's reasons for barring Chin Peng are not convincing to most Malaysians, and overall I think it was political mistake: few Malays are impressed and MANY non-Malays are alienated. The only good thing to have come out of all this could be that M-T readers are able to get a taste of the real RPK who reveals himself as a very good humor writer with a strong sense of the comedic.

written by sambal muncha, June 15, 2009 23:33:50
Hi RPK the Great!

This wicked 'grandfather' of story of yours wreaks of irony and mockery. Doublespeak at its ^%$#@ best, Malaysian style! smilies/wink.gif
written by Aramsawafer, June 15, 2009 23:49:11
Dear RPK, this is where I beg to differ with your articles.

The examples which you expounded using the 2 policemen may be hilarious and a tongue in a cheek comments but the analogy of the Negeri Sembilan traitors, although, is sad event for the descendent of Raja Haji, it does not, and should not be a reason for hatred to transcended across generations. The user / usee reasoning do not hold water.

To say that Shamsiah Fakeh and Rashid Maidin were used by Chin Peng is absurd. In politic, everyone is using every others and vice versa. On the same grain, we can also say UMNO is using MCA/MIC/Gerakan and MCA/MIC/Gerakan are also using UMNO for their own game and own gain. On the opposition front, we may also say that the PKR is using DAP and DAP is using PAS and PAS is using PKR and so on. But eventually, all must come to an end where they either mutually gained or share the same woe or scratch each other’s back.

Is Chin Peng a Hitler to be hated the way the Jews hated Hitler. The maxim, which we human kind should hold dearly are to forgive. To forgive is a virtue. Yes, you may forgive but you need not forget. You need not forget because you do not want a repeat of bad history. One day, things will come to past.

It was the politic of the cold war struggle which the communist fought the capitalist. Are we all not being used by the superpowers fighting their proxy wars? Now that peace has come and the man is already old. Why is it that we have to ostracise him to such an extent that he cannot even come home and smell the air he once smelled before he left to go into the jungle.

When the Japanese left in defeat after the 2nd world war in Malaya, I was told that some of my uncles were killed by the Malays just because they were Chinese. Did my other uncles and my modern day generation siblings hold this hatred just because someone of other race killed my uncles? Not at all, in fact we intermingled and we were all close friends and school/class mates until the political system torn us asunder.

Well, dare I not say that Chin Peng is now a pawn being made use of by the UMNO political gambit/ploy to stir our racial impasse? I agree with DSAI's one statement and that is "let this guy lives his days" where he once live and grew up.
written by Fat Zorro, June 15, 2009 23:50:34
Some of you guys just dont get what RPK is trying to convey. You guys kins off of switch off and just select the parts about Chin Peng cannot come back and Anwar is a disappointment for being insensitive. RPK is being sarcastic.
written by imanj, June 16, 2009 00:15:46
This will be a 2 part comment..Re your comment June 15 2009,17:51:41, that states the above comments have a comprehansion problem.WEll it would include mine.

I beg to differ,the comments in general before and after yours have much to offer.Pete you can't possibly think the manner in the responses/comments are due to no understanding of your article?! This is after all M'sia,people speak their mind and somtines divert,but it may not be lack in comprehension.

Sorry if I seem defensive,but as far as this article is concerned,it's like someone has to choose a response best suited to just show support of the more popular parties with the issue of it.Do you think they actually give a damn for the victims and the generations after or for the readers remarks on this blog?.
I do not think my comment lacked comprehension,but if I could be so bold while I support DSAI and his party,it looks like power to gain confidennce in every Chinese in M'sian,around the region and the attention of MCA and Chinese politicians under Barisan rule.

If we symphatise when criminals or alledged criminals die in detention,there would be such a thing for remembering History to preserve the very good essence of it,learn from it and help better today's world and not live by it's wrongdoings to bear revenge,closing our minds to reform..
written by gas, June 16, 2009 00:17:13
My goodness! I thought there are many intellectual people reading this web. I am gravely wrong. I see majority of you are barking at wrong tree. You are all emotional lots until you are blinded to the meaning of what the article is trying to convey. Please read properly and read with peace of mind, then you will understand what RPK is driving at. Most of you have mis comprehended the article and hit wwildly at wrong targets. It is shameful to say the least that Hishamuddin made such a remark against Anwar. If I were the Home Minister, I would rather shut my mouth than to make such flimsy statement. Sigh!
written by deathorses, June 16, 2009 00:20:08
i agree with anwar... sorry pete for this one.
written by mowadoha, June 16, 2009 00:20:55
Do you agree?

written by fireduck, June 16, 2009 00:27:58
Sigh! I hope the readers realize by now that this article by Pete has nothing to do with Raja Haji, the Dutch, the Malays of Negri Sembilan, Anwar or even Chin Peng. Maybe Pete has even made up some of those 'history', but those are nothing but red herrings anyway.

It is a back-handed slap for that Home Minister, Hishamuddin!
written by imanj, June 16, 2009 00:34:11
contd....

Chin Peng isn't the one war criminal seeking acceptance.He is a treath in or out,will cause apprehension and worry or then again it's Malaysia my second home.
The ones who decide who make a name for themselves leaving us with nothing to say at the end of the day.Some criminals/crime lovers don't need acceptance for many already contribute to their sucess,for example,to Germany's economy by buying BMW where the owners a secretive Quandt Dynasty,which controls large swathes of German industry.The Quandts had started out as cloth merchants in Brandenburg,making uniforms for German soldiers during World War 1 and later expanded into armaments business,using slave labour to make weapons for Hitler's war efforts..

It surely is a matter of opinion and conscious,where those who hate the Jews,still contribute to their riches..M'sians are no different,they complain and yet somehow support many known to be criminals.Indirect negligence everywhere.

Sorry Pete,it's not so much comprehension,it's more popularity thing with the readers.Some with good responses get the least attention.It's the hail RPK type comments that get top ratings,not that i'm against it.Some have guts,some are moderate writers,while others follow.

As for foreigners,this time,it didn't matter what they think of our comprehension.They don't seem to mind doing business with the ever so lacking English Language comprehension in the Malaysian society....

written by dashuwang, June 16, 2009 00:45:47
I'll never side the "Bugis" or "Minangkabaus" in the past history both ethnics are my ancestors enemies. I dont care about how much hatred my grandfather feel during his time against the Bugis and Minangkabaus. These two ethnics are my fellow friends forever and I dont care about the past.. If you care nostalgia of past the hatred will never end. I hope RPK the "Bugis" is not racist against the "Minangkabaus" neither Apanama Negeris the "Minagkabaus" not racist against the "Bugis" .
- cucu Awang Semeling aka Dashuwang anak Kedah

P/S As for me I dont mind Chin Peng return home. If he Chin Peng want me to be his godson I accept.
written by orangsabah, June 16, 2009 01:03:22
Hmmmphh. . .
Most of the readers kept on commenting the same thing whilts it's been said that
"what-you-read-is-not-what-you-get".
Plus,it shows that most of the "readers/commentators" don't even read the previous comments.
How can this be la. . .
If this is the majority readers of Malaysia-Today, OH NO!
written by Oscar Winner, June 16, 2009 01:26:46

I can understand why you hate KJ and Fat Mama. I believe you also hate the Dutch because had your forefather killed. On the same note, you would hate anything by KJ or Fat Mama, as you would anything Dutch . May I ask then, have you, Marina and your kids ever had any Dutchlady milk or milk power or drinks before?? Did your kids grow up drinking Duchlady milk or milk powder?? I hope not
written by Oscar Winner, June 16, 2009 01:28:31
correction.....should read "because THEY had your forefather killed"
written by Super Admin, June 16, 2009 01:32:27
THIS IS TO INFORM YOU THAT RAJA PETRA WILL NOT BE ABLE TO REPLY TO THE ABOVE RESPONSES FOR AT LEAST ONE WEEK. HE IS NOW RECUPERATING IN HOSPITAL AFTER A FAILED SUICIDE ATTEMPT BROUGHT ON BY READING THE COMMENTS IN THIS ARTICLE.

SUPER ADMIN
written by Oscar Winner, June 16, 2009 02:09:56
I read many comments above hitting at MT readers who failed to see the sarcasm, red herring, satire, etc in this article. I admit that I'm a simpleton and not as smart as you guys. I find it pretty straight forward. Will fireduck, fat zorro, aliseman and the likes pls tell us what message RPK is trying to convey??

You know something, sarcasm can be misconstrued? I tell you, I'm very sure there are hell lot of people now who think RPK is whacking DSAI and are happy about it. I'm not surprised if RPK whacks DSAI, which he did say he would if DSAI did something wrong.

Pls dear Pete, not all people understand sarcasm. Don't believe me?? Try write an article entitled "I SUPPORT BN" and then go bla bla bla in your article which is supposedly sarcasm. You know what? They will pick up the title and the next day you see headline RPK SAYS "I SUPPORT BN" in all MSM toilet papers
written by Oscar Winner, June 16, 2009 02:28:53
Super Admin,

Ah... this I can tell it's sarcasm and amusing, too.

Ah...I'm not a simpleton after all (sarcasm)
written by mowadoha, June 16, 2009 02:55:45

Take rest for as long as you wish and refrain from reading the comments in this article if you value your health. Take it easy my man!!

written by MalayMail, June 16, 2009 02:58:30
Chin Peng was the user while Shamsiah Fakeh and Rashid Maidin were the usees
I like the way you link up the user and usees with the murder of Altantuya's case!
It's a perfect example!
written by penang53, June 16, 2009 03:17:37
RPK - you are one funny chap. thanks for putting everything in proper perspective.
but i guess you did not go back far enough. you need to go back to Cain & Abel. That's how all this started smilies/wink.gif
written by apasalahku, June 16, 2009 03:49:54
Looks like the Minangkabau helped rid the world one nasty pirate.

hey RPK, history belongs to the victor, old man
written by Daryl, June 16, 2009 04:04:50
Dear RPK
Hopefully you will recover soon smilies/smiley.gif. Must be the Education system they don't teach grammar but functional English that is why so many just don't get it.
written by Loh, June 16, 2009 04:19:16
///I have no choice but to admit that this time I agree with what the son of Malaysia’s Third Prime Minister has to say.///--RPK

RPK has specially mentioned the qualification of Kerisman as the son of Hussein Onn when he said for once he agreed with him. RPK broke from his record of agreeing with Kerisman that some people didn't bother to finish reading the article. Was RPK trying to hint by reminding us of the famous family background of the person who was unfortunately not fit to carry on with the family tradition? Indeed, Kerisman had a more famous grandfather whom Kerisman said he was out of touch with reality, being centuries too advanced for his time.
written by jchew, June 16, 2009 05:48:14
To MT and RPK,
By reading the above article and the comments form readers, it proves one thing that the readers the rakyat of Malaysia are not blind followers even though they have in the past supported RPK. This means that Rakyat are mature enough to know what is right or wrong! Malaysia has got future with the rakyat who know how to select a good government in the future! Bravo!
written by HEADACHE, June 16, 2009 07:02:53
Dear Oscar Winner,

I guess even if RPK had really committed suicide, many of us may still be in the dark about the sarcasm or about “the read-between-the-lines” of this RPK article,

When RPK agreed with Bernama on the remark by Krismudin, he got us all shocked yet curious, so we excitedly read his explanations. That is his style.

Then when he talked by users and usees (first time I am seeing usees though), he brought up the case of Mongolian woman whom I shall not name. Comparing the usees, which obviously are the UTK guys, with Shamsiah Fakeh and Rashid Maidin, RPK was saying that we had caught the wrong person. Then the argument that we should forgive the usees do not hold water anymore.

RPK’s description about Raja Api was to give another example. Although the hatred of Negri Sembilan was just a coincidence, and it was a brilliant writing to connect this feeling to Rosmah and KJ.

Please read again, and again, until you see the “meaning-between-the-lines”.
written by Running Sardines, June 16, 2009 08:12:54
Going by the responses/comments above, maybe it is time for people like Azmi Sharom to conduct a study on the danger of teaching English in Bahasa Malaysia. We end up with a lack of comprehension problem. I shudder to think that these are the people who support the opposition.

Probably we are like those students in Mind Your Language ... we take the meanings literally and not between lines !!! I say this is a good article from YM RPK to catch our attention. Mmmm ... am I a user or a usee ?
written by guns head, June 16, 2009 08:23:23

Yesterday i post one comment which i disagree with you in this article.
last night at home while eating carrot cake , i thinking so long why did rpk wrote this article.
Then I got it,
I compare to his recent "spin" article and the "upset with comments and wanna leave MT".

I got it
rpk actually spin this article .
i got it
rpk made this article in a way that he try to commit himself as going wrong and wanna see reactions. THis time he actually counter spinned. RPK sees the broad and massive Malaysians but I am so narrow minded.

So this means rpk well planned. HE IS SUPER GENIUS.

oh rpk

oh pete

i am so terribiliy sorry for my comment above.

now i seek apology from u

please , i beg u, forgive me
i repent

rpk is always correct.

i must change my corrupted and polluted mindset

rpk , i bow down to u

i humbly seek forgiveness from God for putting others to shame.
written by lobster, June 16, 2009 08:38:42
RPK, too bad so many have misunderstood your article. You are funny.
written by talk2stop, June 16, 2009 08:48:40
I think we have a fallout here. Holes are everywhere and plugging them will be difficult. The end is near and clear.
written by TruthSayer, June 16, 2009 08:48:53
THIS IS TO INFORM YOU THAT RAJA PETRA WILL NOT BE ABLE TO REPLY TO THE ABOVE RESPONSES FOR AT LEAST ONE WEEK. HE IS NOW RECUPERATING IN HOSPITAL AFTER A FAILED SUICIDE ATTEMPT BROUGHT ON BY READING THE COMMENTS IN THIS ARTICLE.

SUPER ADMIN

This takes the cake.
Mensa's statistics was right after all,
only 2% of the population can understand what Pete was really saying.
written by born2reign, June 16, 2009 08:50:05
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!
1ST Observation: 90% of MT readers have poor comprehension of English.

2ND Observation: UMNO govt loves Malay traitors (usees) because they can be recycled and also be discarded upon end of useful life. Usees are followers, they are in abundance but cannot act without a leader (user).

3RD Observation: UMNO govt hates foreign invaders (users) because they are the brains behind every policy, and are the true leaders (ie can generate followers). Why do you think that DrM does not want to meet MM Lee KY? Lee is a unity leader while DrM is a racist-divide-and-rule leader.

Like the Illuminati, DrM prefers to rule under chaos, by keeping his people fighting each other, poor by inflation, fighting to keep their measly jobs and measly pay, at the same time blaming the productive people for the woes of the poor.

That's why RPK said he opposes Khairy and Rosmah, for they are the users.

But by denying Chin Peng entry, Najis is symbolically denying Chinese communist entry into Malaysia. And that is soooooo stupid, because in the end if Malaysia intend to eat a share of the commodities and consumption pie, UMNO better be nice to the Chinese and Indians.

Street strategists seem to have a near-perfect record on commodities. That near-perfect record of getting it wrong is due to a failure to understand that the epicenter for commodity consumption, at the margin, over the next 10-20 years is China. Urbanization in China is about 40%, which about matches that of the U.S. in 1900. As urbanization continues to increase in China, consumption of all commodities, and in particular Agri-Foods, will strain the world’s ability to produce commodities of many types.

Chinese consumption of Agri-Foods has changed the entire dynamics of the global Agri-Food situation....Higher demand meeting a somewhat inelastic supply curve means higher prices. Chinese consumption of soybeans, for example, will leave the bins quite bare before the next North American crop is harvested in the Fall. Ending stocks for the old crop, that already harvested, will fall to a 30 year low. More than that, the characteristics of that remaining old crop are less desirable. The “good” soybeans have already been sold. As that chart shows, listening to the Street on Agri-Food commodities has been a complete mistake. A basket of Agri-Food commodities has been outperforming the U.S. stock market for some time.

The media continues to ply us with reports on Chinese exports, as if that was the meaningful measure of the China of tomorrow. The domestic economy of China is being converted into a massive consumption machine. In the 2006-2010 time period, global coarse grain production will have expanded by 96 million tons, per the USDA. Chinese consumption in that same period will have expanded by 19 million tons. At the margin, and that is what is important, China will have consumed 20% of the increase in global coarse grain production! ~ http://www.financialsense.com/.../0615.html
written by born2reign, June 16, 2009 08:55:59
Correction:
But by denying Chin Peng entry, Najis is symbolically denying Chinese communist market and money entry into Malaysia. Communist money is still money. Communist purchase is still a purchase. Why not ban Japanese and Dutch and Englishmen from entering Malaysia?
written by imanj, June 16, 2009 09:23:05
Dear RPK,SuperAdmin,

First it was surely a long grandfather's story to tell.! And if you had to commit suicide over the readers incompetent comprehension of the English Language due to the stupidness of some in which results you writing this article in the first place,then that I would not comprehend.

Like i said Pete,you have many comments here who Hail you,making others feel like toilet paper (a phrase so commonly used by the readers).

So what is the point of this article,did the smart ones get it already?? Pete if any anti RPK read your article the first thing there would say is....RPK sudah bertaubat...mati-mati pun ingat sejarah...

Oh yes,I just wonder if anyone is gonna read between the lines in this comment I'm posting now and give me their Watson Theory..

written by ROBERTNGTG, June 16, 2009 09:26:47
I’m disappointed in you, Anwar

RPK, WE HV THE HIGHEST AND MOST REVERED RESPECT FOR YOU BUT IN THIS,
WE TOO ARE DISAPPOINTED WITH U. U HV TAUGHT US TO VIEW THINGS FROM VARIOUS
PERSPECTIVES AND DARING TO VOICE OUT WHICH I NOW DO SO NOT OUT OF
ENVY, HATRED OR BIAS BUT JUST WONDERING IF YOU ARE NOW WRITING UNDER
ANY DURESS OR PRESSURE. PLS TAKE CARE.
written by lord, June 16, 2009 09:30:04

I just going to bookmark this article just as an evidence (to show people in other forum) how stupid and humorless Malaysia Today commentators/opposition supporters are. Don't nobody tell them shit. this joke fest must continue.
written by guns head, June 16, 2009 09:41:32
are u under duress ?
written by HEADACHE, June 16, 2009 09:42:27
Dear imanj, while I do not really understand you nor your comments, I feel that there is no need for you to be too cocky in writing your comments. While RPK's article is directed to the "other" people, your sarcasm is aimed at friends of MT.

This article has been a masterpiece, and such a pleasure to read. But with such comments and misunderstandings from readers, I am afraid the RPK will refrain from writing this way again.

My only advice is to read again with an open mind.
written by teo siew chin, June 16, 2009 09:44:53
HAHAHAHHAHAHHAHA...this is a first !
YM RPK tries to kill himself over our comments!
pls lah ! you mean the commenters can do what the gomen has failed its darndest to do? smilies/grin.gif
geeeez....our love for YM RPK kills!
this dude is sooooo drama-queen he should be on stage.
oops....he is. smilies/wink.gif
written by dumbfounded, June 16, 2009 09:53:06
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

People! RPK was being sarcastic. His problem with Rosmah and KJ isn't because they are from N9. This "long grandfather’s story" was just to tell Hishammuddin that his argument for not letting Chin Peng back into Malaysia is as ridiculous as RPK hating people from N9 because they were the traitors that helped the Dutch killed Raja Api some generations ago.

For once I can't decide if the RPK's article was funnier or if the comments are funnier. Who am I kidding? smilies/cheesy.gif The comments are WAY funnier!
written by guruyahya, June 16, 2009 09:56:27
NUKE NEGERI SEMBILAN!!

smilies/wink.gif
written by Oyster, June 16, 2009 10:00:48
Dear RPK, Looks like you have exposed the sadest truth about M2Day readers .... that more than half of them didn't Pass Form 5, and that most of the others who did still can't understand what you are writng about. Even more frightening is the possibility that BN supporters never make it pass form 3.
Looks like you are casting pearls before swine.
Not really sure whether to laugh or cry.
written by Rozlan, June 16, 2009 10:12:37
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif Just a few days ago I was in a heated debate about Chin Peng with some ex servicemen.They were angry with Chin Peng.I asked they why? As usual they said Chin Peng is malays murderers.I asked them did they had read Dr Cheah Boon Kheng's book "Red Star Over Malaya".In there Dr Cheah had stated that those responsible attacking malay villages were the chinese gangsters and had nothing to do with CPM.

Still I cannot convinced them.UMNO had succeeded capitalising the issue.I mean older generation.But how far it had influences post independence generation? My observation concluded they dont truly care.IN face they want to know more about it in a fairer way?

So UMNo in a way had failed to gain more votes in the coming GE..smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by soulsberry, June 16, 2009 10:21:32
what! can't people see RPK was being sarcastic here!?

i thought the article was fabulous, but the comments here are even better! smilies/smiley.gif
written by imanj, June 16, 2009 10:31:08
Dear HEADACHE,

If you don't understand me or my comments,I don't see how you could write me.
It looks like you too don't know to read between the lines.I don't see the point you are making,certainly I have not been cocky with the Readers.Some of them have taken jabs at others which have been unecessary and have not seen you come to anyone's rescue.

If you had read my earlier comments,probably you would understand my entry this morning.Cos I wrote basing on The article,RPK's initially comment of no comprehension and that of the readers comments.So while some don't get the indepth of many issues,we are here to learn.There are some who think to help,while others remain in their usual sacarsm.Which way do you go?

With what you have said in your comment to me,that RPK would refrain from writing if readers continue with such comments,which you includes mine,you then my friend have proven me right.Hail RPK and you are his friend??? Don't say nothing or else he runs??

You read and you have an open mine.RPK,you know what about the comprehension part.

written by Conan Chung, June 16, 2009 10:32:48
I am Disappointed in You PETE!

Lolx. Nice ring to it. Yup, u got me there for a minute. But after re-analyzing it, i found it smacks of word-play. If i hadn't been reading your articles for a year now, i would definitely take it at face value. But seeing how "absurd" you reason things, i think its either you've been having constipation for so long that your gut is full of crap OR you're using some high-class reverse-psychology thingy.

NICE JOB and PEOPLE OUT THERE DON'T ALWAYS SEE THINGS AT FACE VALUE ONLY.
written by imanj, June 16, 2009 10:35:06
The last sentence should read...

'You read and you have an open mind..RPK,you know what,you are right abot the comprehension part...

Just to apologise,for grammar and in a rush to post comments,leaves me making mistakes.

As for othe readers,if at all you think I have offended anyone,I would apologise.
written by HEADACHE, June 16, 2009 11:04:30
Dear imanj,

I take it that you have read RPK's article again, and that his message has remained the same. I suppose I have to accept that people may have a different perception of the content.

But I do not accept that I hail or "bodek" RPK. In fact, I do not normally contribute to the comments. And I mentioned that I was afraid that RPK will refrain from writing "this way" again. You have conveniently left out "this way" in your post, and that makes a lot of difference to the sentence.

All said, I know you meant well. Cheers!
written by Susanna, June 16, 2009 11:15:36
I think you missed the point about forgiveness. Is Chin Peng repentant? Has he paid the price for his misdeeds? The fact that he requested to return and face his enemies is one way to know that he knows his wrongs and sins. If he can make it up I am sure he will try do so. Coming to see his father's grave, not a sign of making up? If anyone is religious and having faith in God, one should be forgiving when the person is repentant. Maybe Chin Peng will share about his terrible deeds and how wrong and sorry he was and be a lesson to future 'terrorists'?
written by dkkl, June 16, 2009 11:27:36
Hi Pete,

Russian Communism has fallen, China communist also open up its economy to the world and slowly transit to non communism. Even Cambodian & Vietnamese vietcong is no longer existed. They are history. And what history is all about? To learn the past so that we can correct mistake for the better future. Not for revenge... and that's for sure... Even during the crusade war, the knights who massacre the muslim in holy land that was captured by Sultan Saladin was treated generously... so cant the government act like the Wise Saladin? Chin Peng is just an individual not an army... for god sake. He should be allowed to return...
written by imanj, June 16, 2009 11:33:01
Dear HEADACHE,

If it means anything,let me explain.I didn't read the article again before replying to your comment.It make look like I have literally taken into context before commenting,but it's not.My first comment and then 2 after,does not have me making any conclusion,except being quite nuetral.I am quite nuetral on many political issues,at times is I have not had the opportunity to be furnish with all the details.But I will speak my mind and help when it's about the well-being of citizens,which isn't always having to do with the political situation in the country or around the world.

At the same time I have just few precious minutes to write a comment,which more often then not doesn't get posted in time before I get logged out.To top that I have my little girl around me while I'm at the laptop,making me rush with embarassing grammar,tense or spelling mistakes.

After sending I do re-read my entry and try to correct or just leave it to readers to understand what i meant to say.I knew you would say I left out "this way". Yes I left that out unintentionally and yes I do not think that with readers comments,RPK would refrain from writing this way.He has been writing this way most of the time and readers have been on a rollercoaster with their comments as well.

I was disapointed you think me cocky and like i have replied Conan Chung I not obsesses either.At some point I do wish to say something back like some of the gusty readers and get into to back and forth replies,but I don't have that precious time to spare.

I'm simply a down to earth person,just liking MT for it's natural way.Have said it before,if there was immunity,I'm sure there would be better responses to state facts and better acceptance when it's unpleasant.We can't have everything and there is no guarantees that all readers are heading the same way or a friend.If I had lashed out is not to readers but the stupidity begins with the enemy that causes issues that come about..

Thanks anyway and I still stick on what I've said and do think I will get to the point eventually,cos I know RPK will lashed back..

Have a good day...
written by Rundukon, June 16, 2009 11:35:08
The Bugis and the Minangkabaus had a history of 'revenge' between them. Its not a suprise they went to each other throats. As far as the Minangkabaus were concerned the 2 were not traitors but heroes.

As far as Chin Peng is concerned, he is a hero to some Malaysians but an enemy to others. The issue is as to whether he love Malaysia. If he does then he deserved to come back to Malaysia.

We must not forget that history has it the 'royals' were no angels. They raped and kidnapped other people wives and daughters.
written by Rundukon, June 16, 2009 11:36:44
p/s in the old days, the 'royals' were no better than gangsters and Ahlongs. In fact they were worst.
written by crayon, June 16, 2009 11:40:38
actuallly i doubt ChinPeng would bother returning to this...god forsaken country smilies/grin.gif
written by fromamovingtrain, June 16, 2009 11:41:29
So all you man u fans of (former idol) cristiano ronaldo: you should have reviled the guy all along and put a price on his head. his forefathers came and killed hundreds of thousands of malaccans (read: malaysians) and ended the sultanate, thus starting 500 years of colonial rule followed by their puppet- proxies, a nightmare we have not woken up from up to this day.

Looks like your joke's wasted in here, RPK. Better continue with the hit-and-run.
written by densemy, June 16, 2009 11:48:52
This Chin Peng issue is just ANOTHER red herring designed to detract attention from the REAL issues bugging Malaysia

Forget all your sensitivities and get your heads out of the past. Its time for Malaysians to be planning the future because its obvious your government is incapable of thinking ahead
written by imanj, June 16, 2009 11:49:00
An anyway Headache I'm not the only one who still 'hasn't got the point yet'.There are still comments coming in with their opinions to directly reply the article head on.

And I still see many readers who vote the more hyped and hail RPK comments.I don't mean it the way it's said but it is obvious on many other articles.I a MT/RPK fan too,just that I think readers should also commend other readers for good opinions, it would help many out there to rate our mind and needs.There are many comments that are deserving of top votes,but it's pass on by.So don't now think I'm looking for votes,cos I'm not..

Thanks for listening HEADACHE..
written by Mirage, June 16, 2009 11:54:21
I dont agree with many things that Anwar is doing recently but the recent article on Chin Peng is debateble. For a start I think Navigator has a point there and this is the same on the article abt Najib visiting China which is equivalent to overlooking the fact of Communism that was practice there and the view on Chin Peng. Are we are against Communism in Malaysia only becoz a lot of ppl suffered but not communism in general practice. We overlook the Japanese invasion and torture of the Chinese and others. Now is this becoz the Chinese are minority?? What abt our sensitivity.
I believe while RPK has put a lot of spin to many articles written and given us the inside to decide, this article is more emotional and one sided. In that I mean if we are against torture ans auffering why stop at Chin Peng, why not China for Communism practice and why not Japanese for their torture of the Chinese??
written by Conan Chung, June 16, 2009 11:55:32
A little comment on how the comments are filled with people who have different interpretations of the article above:

First of, not all are familiar with you personally (includes me). A lot of people have been around for only awhile so they don't really know "how" you do things.

Secondly, there is no other cues that people can get from you other than your article... When you are joking in front of your friends, they can easily tell by your facial expression and character; less can be said for those who hardly know you and can't see your face when you write it.

So Pete, for the sake of those humourless, serious readers out there, you might have to think twice on how you "construct" your message. I won't be surprise if one mainstream paper decides to run an article on your article saying that you are also voicing against Anwar's comment. Doesn't matter what you really meant, they will spin it to work for them; after all didn't you say they are spinner-extraordinaire.
written by Wisdom above, June 16, 2009 12:02:10
It is hard to digest RPK last para.
" Before you propose anything make sure you look into this angle first and do not propose anything that will rub the sensitivities of children and grandchildren the wrong way."

It is extremely risky to overplay "reversed thinking" to garner support.

And I urge Anwar to grap & memorise what RPK said here.
written by Oscar Winner, June 16, 2009 12:09:09
Dear HEADACHE,

First and foremost, I hate headaches. So fcuk you HEADACHES. Oops....don't get me wrong. I really mean I hate headaches, and stomachaches as well. Not you that I hate, HEADACHE.

Thanks for your response. You see, I have no problem comprehending the Krismuddin part, the users and usees part, the Dutch and Bugis part, the KJ and Fat MAMA part. No prpoblem. I think RPK was giving anologies. I think many commentators DO know that. NO NEED TO READ BETWEEN THE LINES. VERY STRAIGHT FORWARD.

But sorry....I don't see any anology, sarcasm, satire, red herring in the title of this article and the last part about Anwar. I am still waiting for fat zorro, fireduck, aliseman and the likes, ie those who think there is a message RPK is trying to convey, to clear my doubts. If not, I will concur with all those who conclude that RPK is really whacking Anwar.

FYI, anologies aren't sarcasm/satire/red herring
written by Arowana, June 16, 2009 12:35:30
Bro Pete,

I understand the moral of the story. Well written and self explained.

Gua caya sama lu. Cheers
written by Ironside, June 16, 2009 12:52:54
Good one,RPK but I think it's too complicated an article for the 'Lost Generation'to understand.
written by apa jadi, June 16, 2009 13:19:19
written by teo siew chin, June 16, 2009 09:44:53
HAHAHAHHAHAHHAHA...this is a first !.....

Agree with u TSC. Life is dull without fun of getting the minds twisted sometimes. Just sit back any enjoy the comments.
written by mykantree, June 16, 2009 13:49:27
I think most of you have been had (fooled) by RPK's view on this matter. I do not for a minute think he meant what he seems to mean.Sarcasm of the highest order from RPK!

Other than that.

Unless and until the government is able to prove otherwise, it has reneged on its agreement with the CPM; and therefore brought dishonor and disgrace to all right thinking Malaysian by preventing CP from returning to his homeland.I dismiss all the reasons used to prevent his return as no more than hogwash and nothing but excuses.Prove that allowing him to return is not part of the agreement and he shall never return!
written by Aria, June 16, 2009 13:56:48
PKR must have a good constitution that will meet the requirements of all its parties. I have not seen this constitution yet and I am not sure if anyone else has? They must have a constitution that will show transparency as to how the government is working, honesty, morals, fairness to all race and religions, education polices etc. PKR must work towards their parties constitution, if they try to emulate BN they will fail miserably.
IF PRK had a clear and defined constitution they could have easily handle a situation like Chin Peng. The rakyat must see consistency in decisions and direction of the party. Anwar cannot do things just to please one race or religion. He must follow the party guidelines if PKR has any!!
written by HEADACHE, June 16, 2009 14:00:07
Dear Oscar Winner,

First of all, fcuk you too. Well, I do not normally greet people this way. The Oscar Winner of this greeting goes to you.

I really salute you, and not in a sarcastic manner. Because I cannot see how you understand everything, yet you cannot see the message! Maybe you should also be the Oscar Winner for this award.

Not so bad after all - you get 2 awards today!!
written by elmo world, June 16, 2009 14:05:07
guns head,

you are real joker!

cheers.............

lets move on, dont let the accestors' history to make us hate, they are no longer in this world; but to learn frm their history.........the most important is our new generations live in peace and not let "selfish politician" distroy our future..............

yes, justice! No corruption! leanr English!!!!!!!!!!!!!

written by keep it raw, June 16, 2009 14:18:06
Sir RPK, I disagree with you for the first time.
written by imanj, June 16, 2009 14:26:08
If there is anyone interested to read my comment below..

Oscar Winner June 16,2009 12:09:09
Conan Chung June 16,2009 11:55:32
Crayon June 16,2009 11:36:44
Rundukon June 16,2009 11:35:08

Just to point out that these are some comments I do agree with that has me saying the same but in my version.What Conan Chung said in his last paragraph is part of my first comment which is way on the top of the entries,The other 2 came after my reply and Oscar Winner later.

So I just would like to say,which I don't think anyone would care at this point, some readers just think to single out a comment just cos.My argument with RPK on comprehension,lead HEADACHE to say I'm cocky.I reply with the normal courtesy and yet there is one who disagreed.! Gosh someone disagreed to my explaination which was more of a personal account??
Will I choose to ignore? Yes I would,only because I know I get the point finally. Where RPK has furnished an article for a comment,it would seem pointless to say anything or even let someone say 'You still don't get the point already'

If ignorance is brushed off without anyone to help another understand,it would be the selected few on this blog that would get all the attention and no sarcasm or disagree there.

written by Oscar Winner, June 16, 2009 14:39:31
"First and foremost, I hate headaches. So fcuk you HEADACHES. Oops....don't get me wrong. I really mean I hate headaches, and stomachaches as well. Not you that I hate, HEADACHE. "

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear HEADACHE,

Sorry if you got offended. But pls read between the lines to differentiate between headaches, HEADACHES and HEADACHE, the last being your pseudonym. I really wasn't greeting you the way you perceived it to be. I already reminded you not to get me wrong.

My apologies if u were offended. Let's move on. Cheers

written by HEADACHE, June 16, 2009 14:50:37
Dear Oscar Winner,

I was offended, just as simple as that. I responded in kind, so we are kind of even. And I gave you 2 awards, so I now have to take them back.

Let's hope that RPK recovers soon enough from his failed suicide attempt.
Cheers!
written by Oscar Winner, June 16, 2009 15:25:29
Dear HEADACHE,

Yes, do take them back. I don't deserve them because firstly I never greeted you the way you read it. I can understand now why people get all worked up if they don't read between the lines. What you thought was greeting was actually my statement to describe how I really hate headaches, not HEADACHE. Secondly, I'm a simpleton who fails to sense sarcasm, red herring or satire in the article and therefore definitely doesn't deserve an award.

Have a nice day, in all sincerity. Cheers
written by kevinD, June 16, 2009 15:38:39
I THINK YOU ARE OVER REACTING RPK. ALL THIS HAPPENED A LONG TIME AGO.I DONT SEE ANY PROTEST WHEN THE JAPS OR BRITS COME TO MALAYSIA. ALSO SO MUCH HATE FOR THE JEWS. WHAT DID THE JEWS DO TO THE MALAYS ? OR MAY BE ITS A MUSLIM BROTHERHOOD THING , A NON MUSLIM WOULDNT UNDERSTAND !! I M WITH YOU ON MANY ISSUES BUT NOT THIS ONE.
written by renoir, June 16, 2009 15:54:38
Wow. Just saw the comments here and I detected some anguish from a few readers. Don't. Except for a small group (and I even think some in this group have DELIBERATELY missed the point of the article which basically parodies the logic of the powers-that-be), most do understand the tone and intention of RPK. Don't let anyone put you down: reader response theory entails wide interpretations of any text, to the extent that sometimes not only the text but the author disappears from the text as well. The responses, therefore, represent not only a wide range in opinions, concerns, and interpretations of readers, but also the intrinsic dialogical possibilities of any given text. Remember BOTH the producers of the texts AND their readers will understand and react uniquely to any message, if there's a message at all. Lastly, whether RPK is the real author or not isn't important: the work is most humorous and it compares well with the best ever published on this website. Now does it mean everyone must see it as some of us (I especially) do? No! For each possesses different education/cultural experiences and therefore responds from that baggage. So don't worry, smile, and have a good day, all.

written by DOITNOW, June 16, 2009 16:12:41
the Government is playing politics, in this case I would say clearly racial politics, what with Utusan's slant on this issue. The basic principle is both Government and the MCP signed an agreement, and this should be honored. There is no need for other rhetoric or arguments. If the Government has no intention to honor the agreement, or to selectively honor, then this is the cause of the problem. if otherwise, we wont have this issue to grapple with, and to be used to disunite the Malaysians
written by Super Admin, June 16, 2009 16:28:15
RAJA PETRA WILL NOT BE ABLE TO RESPOND TO ALL THE COMMENTS ABOVE. HE HAS GONE ON A PILGRIMAGE TO SEEK GOD'S GUIDANCE ON HOW TO HELP MALAYSIANS.

ADMINISTRATOR
written by HEADACHE, June 16, 2009 16:31:01
Dear Oscar Winner,

Actually there are so many things which are not right and giving me headaches. We are all Malaysians, and we are all trying to be good ones. But the BN makes it damn difficult to be a good Malaysian. The BN politicians are asking people to sue them because the know that the court is on their side. The corrupted judges are giving more powers to the EC because while the Speaker may not be from BN, the EC are taking BN's side. And there are so many other headaches.

It is so sad. But for now, life goes on..
written by aryn, June 16, 2009 16:40:33
The Sandakan Death March was but one of the many atrocities of the Japanese who killed thousands of allied soldiers and local Sabahans.

Years later, after the war, the Japs came back and mined copper in Mamut, Ranau. They made a fortune and left behind a legacy - environmental disaster that wiped out thousands acres of padi fields and clean rivers turned arsenic. Not to mention health hazard for the locals. Come to Ranau and see for yourself.

Yet, the Malaysian BN govt forgive the Japs and even allow them to plunder our riches...pergg...! And you complain about Chin Peng?
written by teo siew chin, June 16, 2009 16:55:27
aw geee...Renoir as always is ever so kind and compassionate to the commenters and also true in his analysis of the commenters' responses.

as for YM RPK - gosh it must be serious for him to progress from a hospital bed to a pilgrimage! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
you'd think after all these years, he should already know the 'calibre' of his commenters..... oh well..... the cranky-ness of being 60? smilies/tongue.gif
giving up on us dude? hehehehehe
written by imanj, June 16, 2009 17:19:18
Entry by SuperAdmin 16 June,2009,16:28:15

In all sense that seem better than the suicide attempt..It sure made me laugh and I'm sure RPK is toying with everyone.You looking for the right guys to gain membership to your next blogsite??

However pushy,boisterous,upstart,pathetic,witty,hillarous,rude, uncensored,
or concerning the readers get,it sure is worth it.Pete whether anyone comprehends or even if this isn't worth MT time,you must agree that if everyone knew to do it like you and think like you,there wouldn't be a need for any of this.

Well,its my Dad's death anniversary today.It's sad cos when he was alive,he wasn't allowed to attend my wedding and when he died 9 months after,I wasn't allowed to attend his funeral.He didn't get to see my baby born.But although I'm a muslim convert,I still have prayers said for him at a Hindu temple and food for the poor each year on this day.That's all I could do for my Dad,while I light a candle for him,I know the glow from the candle flame brings me peace.
written by renoir, June 16, 2009 17:29:10
Hahaha! Dear Teo, I HAVE thought of giving some classes on textual criticism, and might still do it sometime after September (if I don't take up an attractive offer overseas). But really, in their own ways, readers are more intelligent that they're sometimes assumed to be. True, not all are fluent in English, but I've been impressed by even those with a rudimentary knowledge of the language. On the other hand, even writers who'd written for national dailies have much to learn (I know this first hand from my colleagues at a mainstream press), so really there isn't much for anyone to boast about. Cheers.
written by malaysianohope, June 16, 2009 17:29:12
Ya Right Super Admin, Raja Petra has gone on a pilgrimage with his laptop la. You see he can't live without us likewise we can't live without him. His constant ketot ketot us is like an aprodiciac as in marijuana to an addict. Tell him that.
written by renoir, June 16, 2009 17:38:50
>readers are more intelligent that they're sometimes assumed to be]

Typo. Should be:
"readers are more intelligent THAN they're sometimes assumed to be."

Readers interested in study of literary texts can try googling on reader response theory and other theories. For the more advanced, try Derrida and Foucault. Go slow and don't worry if their essays seemed dense (they often are, hahaha!). Reflect on their ideas and get the gist of their message. Good luck.
written by renoir, June 16, 2009 17:38:50
>readers are more intelligent that they're sometimes assumed to be]

Typo. Should be:
"readers are more intelligent THAN they're sometimes assumed to be."

Readers interested in study of literary texts can try googling on reader response theory and other theories. For the more advanced, try Derrida and Foucault. Go slow and don't worry if their essays seemed dense (they often are, hahaha!). Reflect on their ideas and get the gist of their message. Good luck.
written by bakas, June 16, 2009 19:23:16
WAHAHAHAHAHAHA...Pete, I can't stop laughing when I read your article and also the comments posted here. All of them, well, OK most of them ACTUALLY read it literally, word for word... smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

My goodness...and the suicide and pilgrimage is absolutely hilarious!!!..This is perhaps the BEST article you have ever written. I can imagine most MT reader here read your articles with their Oxford dictionaries by their side. Chinese, Malay, Indian, even some Sabahans and Sarawakians (that's Iban, Kadazan dan lain2 for you..) can be put into the same category. Read but don't understand...just follow all the people's comments...blah,blah,blah...Anwar is good, RPK you're wrong, you're a kettle calling the pot black....wahahaha...!!!!

Oh by the way, since you're on a pilgrimage to seek Divine help to help all Malaysians, I want to suggest one thing and that is to retain this comment section. Don't bar us, just let this part be. At least you know whether Malaysians brains are getting wiser by the day, or getting smaller compared to the size of their balls...Since most Malaysians are one and the same, we can formulate one strategy to help everyone...hehehe...I know, I know, your blood pressure will rise and you might try the odd pills this time, but surely it's worth a shot, ain't it?

Gosh...thanks for making my day...take care, man! Hahahaha...CSLWROTF smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by teo siew chin, June 16, 2009 19:23:55
Dear Renoir

and why do you NOT take up the attractive offer overseas?
just dont forget us MT-ers when you are across the oceans and post your most appreciated comments from wherever you are! All the best to you! smilies/smiley.gif
written by renoir, June 16, 2009 20:47:48
Well, Teo, health is one thing, and my own writings - still incomplete - another. But if I do go, be assured that at least some of you kind folks here would be informed. And yes, so long as M-T remains open-minded, I'll be here.

Take care.
written by kawaputra, June 16, 2009 22:18:05
To those who still cant understand the RPK's sarcasm, dumbfounded has explained it clearly (dumbfounded, June 16, 2009 09:53:06 ) I also took a while to get it. smilies/tongue.gif

I think the message is if Umno wants to ban MCP because they killed some Malaysians, why dont they also ban Japanese (ww2), Indonesians (konfrontasi), British (colonial period) and other foreigners who had killed our ppl before?
written by BUTEK, June 16, 2009 23:38:45
Tengku kudin, daeng ibrahim adalah dua barua bugis yg sanggup mencium tapak kaki penjajah kristian demi kuasa dan kekayaan...

dan jangan luper pada pembunuh sultan melaka terakhir sultan mahmud mangkat dijulang,iaitu Megat sri rama juga adalah keturunan BUgis....

kalau keturunan kamu barua tak salah kamu mengakuinya dan memperbaiki darjat keluarga kamu untuk menjadi BUGIS yg lebih baik dan terhormat...
written by BUTEK, June 16, 2009 23:51:42
kalau Bugis begitu bagus dan handal berperang kenapa tengku kudin sanggup merayu penjajah kristian Inggeris datang ke Selangor???? dan kenapa Daeng ibrahim sanggup menjadi pencacai Inggeris dan menggulingkan raja terdahulu yg juga berketurunan BUGIS..

Ingat Raja Petra, Barua tetap barua dan disisi islam orang2 yg sanggup menjadi baruapenjajah kristian tempatnya adalah bersama-sama Firaun di neraka...

cina, india, melayu tidak ada bezanya disisi ALLAH melainkan orang2yg beriman yg meletak islam ditempat paling tinggi lebih tingi dari keagungan bangsa....

Aku juga seorang bugis dan kalau datukku atau moyangku seorang barua dan masih hidup takkan aku teragak untuk menegurnya walaupun terpaksa menggadai nyawa... yg benar tetap benar dan yg salah tetap salah...
written by Raja Petra, June 17, 2009 00:05:54
Dear BUTEK, go get professional help before it is too late.
written by Raja Petra, June 17, 2009 00:06:51
Dear Mirage, I think the mess in your head is worse.
written by soulsberry, June 17, 2009 00:25:53
oh my god! even the alternative mandarin news portal misunderstood this article too!

http://therocknews.com/dama/local/4520.html
written by minds, June 17, 2009 02:49:01
It’s different for Shamsiah Fakeh and Rashid Maidin, who were allowed to return as they were used by him.”SO (CHILDISH)

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

SORRY PETE,
WHAT DSAI SAID IS CORRECT CORRECT CORRECT
written by minds, June 17, 2009 03:09:13
I think all off you should read the book "THE MEMOIRS OF RASHID MAIDIN"
written by Mirage, June 17, 2009 10:56:11

I am dissapointed with the response but nevertheless. The critism I had was on the article but in your response it was personal. Anyway thk you for your responding the very least the readers know where we stand in our sharing.
written by fuziahfisal, June 17, 2009 11:43:22
i pity all the readers for misunderstood what RPK is trying to tell us. But I pity RPK the most, your article is hilarious and funny and sarcastic.But nobody understood it.What RPK is trying to say, If H1 "Home Minister said Anwar’s statement on the matter was regrettable because it was as though he wanted to forget both the history and the suffering and sacrifices of those who had died at the hands of the communist insurgents" so can he said the same thing with his forefathers. so indirectly HI looked so stupid and dense compared to cool DSAI.

Afterall his uncle and cousin even hugged with the communist in China, so what if allowing the old man come to Malaysia, nobody will catch any swine flu.
So readers out there think out the box and read between the lines, plz. By the way why the govt revert back to selsema babi no more H1N1 flu !!??
written by XYZ, June 17, 2009 11:58:37

Since the Dutch assasinated yr forefather..why don't we boycott the Dutch then ?? Don't do business with them ! Don't let the Dutch into this country ! The Japs had murdered a lot of people in this country as well in the past...why we still let them in and do business with them as well as import their products ?

DOUBLE STANDARDS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by fireduck, June 17, 2009 16:39:47
209 plus this one = 210 comments and counting. This is actually quite fun to revisit. Pete, you should not let this article slide off the main page. Let it remain for a while and we may break all records.

And the comments are still coming in from all angles/sides. Cool! I'm neutral. Just enjoying and having a good read. Party on, dudes! smilies/cheesy.gif