Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow When a spin becomes the gospel

When a spin becomes the gospel PDF Print
Sunday, 14 June 2009 17:51

I am going to transfer ownership of Malaysia Today to a group of people and allow them to decide how the site is to be run. They will have full authority to decide on the form and function of Malaysia Today. After that Malaysia Today will be out of my hands.

There are those who accuse Malaysia Today of spinning. I suppose it all depends on your interpretation of what a spin is and whether spin means lying, distorting the truth, or spy-war. Spinning means different things to different people. I always jokingly tell people that Malaysia Today does not spin. Malaysia Today just tells our version of the truth.

After all, what is truth? Truth is different things to different people. Some say Jesus Christ was the Son of God. Others say he died on the cross. Yet others say that both these ‘truths’ are in fact false and the real truth is that Jesus was merely a Prophet and that there are 25 such Prophets mentioned by name in the Quran while there were 124,000 Prophets in all since the beginning of time. To these people, the truth is that Muhammad was the last of the Prophets but others say that this is false and that the last Prophet was actually Jesus Christ.

Is one or the other lying? Those who say that Jesus was the Son of God or that he died on the cross are lying in the eyes of those who say that Muhammad was the last Prophet. And those who swear that Muhammad was the last Prophet are also lying to those who view Jesus as the Son of God and believe that he died on the cross.

Actually, it is not about lying at all. Neither side is lying. They say what they say with full belief and commitment. They believe what they say to be the truth. And there are many amongst them who will kill or die to defend what they believe to be the truth.

Who are we to say whether the Christians are lying or whether the Muslims are the ones who are lying instead? It all depends on your belief and ultimately only God would know which side is right. Christians would certainly consider Muslims, if not lying, at the very minimum are misguided or misinformed. And the same would apply when Muslims evaluate the Christian belief, which they would consider equally misguided or misinformed.

So, just like in the example of religion, spinning would all depend on which side of the political divide you happen to stand on. One man’s spin would be another man’s gospel.

When I whack Malays and Muslims, those who hate Malays and/or Islam would cheer me on and equate me to Mandela and Gandhi both rolled into one. And there are many such people in Malaysia Today. Of course, the Malays/Muslims in turn view me as a traitor to my race and an apostate to my religion both rolled into one.

When I whack Chinese or Indians, then these same people who earlier sang my praises now consider me a sell-out, a Trojan Horse, someone who is promoting a secret Umno agenda, maybe it’s not really me writing those articles after all but someone else writing them in my name, I have changed, it must be that life in exile has made me mad, I am so grumpy nowadays, and so on and so forth.

Yes, one man’s spin is another man’s gospel. The only thing we need remember is that we can’t please everyone. When we say white those who like black will not agree. And when we say black the white supporters get upset. And when we mix black and white and come out with grey then both sides would not be happy while those who like grey will suddenly come out in support.

Even a simple thing like that can become complicating. And they purposely go looking for faults so that they can whack you. For example, the instant they can’t log in to the site they will write long essays in their blogs accusing Malaysia Today of banning readers and of censoring postings. They also list down the names of others who, according to them, have been banned as well.

Of course, when we investigate, we find it is not true. None of them were banned. But the allegation has been made and suddenly Malaysia Today is now an Umno website and the Administrators are probably Special Branch officers from Bukit Aman.

I wrote about this before but maybe it is time to repeat what I said in the past. People scream about freedom of expression. Sure, Malaysia Today is trying its best to allow that. In fact, we are not just allowing it, we are trying to promote and encourage it.

But many forget that Malaysia Today, although it can now be considered ‘public property’, still has an owner. And you are allowed in to Malaysia Today as a guest and at your request. But the owner has the final say about what goes on in his domain, which is his home.

You no doubt have a right to express yourself. But in someone’s home you must treat that right as a privilege. You can’t demand privileges to be transformed to rights just because that is how you like it.

For example, in my own home, I can smoke my cigars or pipe when I am writing. But when I am on the computer doing my work in my friend’s home I do not smoke in his/her home. Even if my friend smokes I do not automatically light up. I wait until he or she starts smoking and then I ask whether he/she minds if I too smoke. If not I walk outside and smoke in the garden or on the veranda.

Sure, smoking is my right. I do that in my own home. Why can’t I also do that in your home? Why are you denying me my right? Well, because it is not a right but a privilege.

I know what you are going to say now. You can’t compare smoking with commenting in Malaysia Today. Smoking has issues of health attached to it. Well, commenting in Malaysia Today is also about my health. I was detained under the Internal Security Act in September last year for various ‘crimes’, one of them related to comments in Malaysia Today. So, comments can also be detrimental to my health -- my mental health when I am under solitary confinement and 'tortured' with many hours of religious sermons from the JAKIM people dressed in white robes and skullcaps. And what you comment determines my mental health. So I can ban what you comment just like you can ban me smoking my cigars and pipe in your house.

Your house, your right. My house, my right. Get it?

Let’s look at another scenario. Say you are a member of Selangor Club, Lake Club, the National Press Club, or whatever. All clubs have rules such as dress code and code of conduct. They can disallow you entry into the club if you wear slippers or collarless T-shirts. If you quarrel with other members or shout four-letter words at the top of your voice they can suspend you or sack you from the club.

No doubt you are a paying member. You could even be a committee member of the club. But there are rights and there are privileges. And you do not have the right to do certain things considered in breach of the club rules or else your membership privileges will be withdrawn. In your own home you can walk around naked and curse your mother’s pussy and nobody cares.

Anyway, I am going to solve this once and for all. It is time we settled his matter because the issue appears to crop up time and again. I am going to transfer ownership of Malaysia Today to a group of people and allow them to decide how the site is to be run. They will have full authority to decide on the form and function of Malaysia Today. After that Malaysia Today will be out of my hands. Let Malaysia Today become a fully-fledged public domain run by members of the public for members of the public. I shall not interfere in the management of Malaysia Today.

I shall of course continue writing articles for my columns until such time they decide they have had enough of me and give me my walking papers. Malaysia Today will cease to be Raja Petra and Raja Petra will cease to be Malaysia Today. I will be reduced to merely a contributor or columnist of Malaysia Today and no longer its owner or manager. Then you all can do what you like.

Okay, back to the issue of spinning. Anwar Ibrahim has said that Chin Peng should be allowed to return to Malaysia. Now, the mainstream media is going to spin this issue over the next few days. But why do they not call it spinning? And why if we counter what they say it is declared spinning?

So what if Malaysia Today spins? What’s wrong with that? I make no excuses or apologies for that. When we are attacked we need to defend ourselves the best way we can. All is fair in love and war.

Take the Rosmah Perempuan Puaka series of videotapes as an example. Umno has embarked on a campaign to run down those opposed to the government by attacking their families. And the mainstream media has been instructed to portray Rosmah as a loving mother who travels all over the country giving speeches about family values and how to raise children and so on.

Then they play up stories about Anwar Ibrahim buggering every handsome young man within three feet of him, about Elizabeth Wong being a porn star, about the son of Raja Petra being a gang leader and hired killer. They have even set up special websites about my family and me. My daughter is portrayed as a Bohsia (slut) and my wife as a closet Christian. They say she still goes to church and that I also have converted to Christianity and follow her to church. They even say that my wife ‘entertains’ other men in our home when I am ‘away’ in Kamunting.

I suppose the Special Branch had been monitoring my house when I was in Kamunting and when Bernard (Zorro) slept at my house they jumped at the opportunity to expose this ‘sex scandal’ involving my wife. And when Bernard came to Kamunting the next day to see me and joked that since I am inside he is now dating my wife, the hidden microphones in Kamunting picked that up as well. Then, when I was released, Azmi Sharom, during a candlelight vigil in Petaling Jaya, said in front of 200-300 people, “Welcome home Pete. Unfortunately, now that you are home, I won’t be able to spend time with your wife any longer.” Invariably, the Special Branch records all speeches made at the candlelight vigils in Petaling Jaya and this is even more ammunition to use against me.

Anyway, the bottom line is, I am not in public office and if they want to use all this ‘material’ to run down my family it does not perturb me one bit. I am not saying that two wrongs make a right. But when they expand the boundaries of what is kosher, and when families now become fair game, then they should not grumble when I also play by the rules that they have established. I can be as dirty as they are. In fact, I can be even dirtier.

Now they are going to attack Anwar for his statement on Chin Peng. He is going to be painted as a traitor to the Malay race. They are even going to get the armed forces people to make statements condemning Anwar. Their objective is to attempt to turn the Malays against Anwar, in particular the Malays in the opposition -- the Umno Malays will not support Anwar anyway even if he makes a statement saying that he will defend the New Economic Policy till the last drop of his blood.

So, in short, what will Umno and the mainstream media do? They will spin. And how, therefore, do we fight back? Well, we also need to spin. A spin versus a spin. Do we have any other options? What alternatives are there open to us?

We must note that the Emergency was from 1948 to 1960. An estimated 5,000 people died, half of them armed forces personnel. But not all were Malays. Many were Mat Sallehs from UK, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, etc. There were Ghurkhas who died as well.

Because of this Chin Peng can’t be allowed to return to Malaysia and Anwar Ibrahim is a traitor to the Malay race for suggesting he be allowed to return. And the other traitor who wants Chin Peng to be allowed to return is Zaid Ibrahim who yesterday joined PKR. But Chin Peng was not the only CPM leader. There were many others in the CPM hierarchy, Malays included. And they were allowed to return. And they too carried arms and shot people and killed Malaysians. Why were they allowed to return when they are as guilty as Chin Peng?

This is how we need to counter-spin in reply to the Anwar and Zaid are traitors to the Malay race argument.

What about the Indonesia-Malaysia Confrontation from 1963 to 1966? Many Malaysians as well as Mat Sallehs were also killed in this Konfrontasi with Indonesia. But the government has never raised this issue to remind Malaysians how dangerous and cruel the Indonesians were.

Indonesia wanted to bring about the destruction of Malaysia. They said so openly. They sent their military into our territory to kill many of our soldiers. Aren’t the Malays and military personnel upset about this as well? How do they propose we punish Indonesia the way we are punishing the CPM?

If you want to spin, then do it intelligently. And if you want to spin then expect us to counter-spin. And when we use the same tactics you use to attack us to attack you in return, do not cry foul. You established the rules. We are just playing by your rules. And when you spin that our family members are hired killers and sluts then expect us to hit you back with similar responses.

For years we have had to endure personal attacks. Even as far back as 1999 they were spinning stories about Nurul Izzah and the ‘affair’ she was having with Ezam Mohd Nor, the then PKR youth leader. Now that Ezam has joined Umno and is travelling the country to attack Anwar they have, of course, stopped this spin. If not we would still be hearing about the so-called sex scandal between Nurul Izzah and Ezam.

I repeat, I am not saying two wrongs make a right. But in a war we use the best weapon we can get our hands on. And we have to defend ourselves the best way we can when under attack. And sometimes the best form of defence is to attack. So expect us to attack whenever we can. And what is considered a spin to one person could be viewed as the gospel to another.

Comments (86)Add Comment
written by pokokmangga, June 14, 2009 18:10:30
Interesting, I must say. Who would you chose? What criterias have been set up to choose these people to take over MT? Dont you think is rather dangerous?
written by bknight, June 14, 2009 18:19:34
pete, i can understand the need to provide check and balances to MT so that some unhappy people will not view as if you are dictating what and what not be posted in comments and in your article.

if that is the way to go, i fully support. however i hope you will keep writing and posting here with your articles and information as MT has been the source of information that we can use and analyse by our very own brains. however the bad side of having MT being managed by others, you and many of us will loose the one and only medium where we can get informations and analyse it ourselves.

by transferring the management and ownership to others, you might open up the possibility of MT being infiltrated and turn it into a real spin doctor website.

and i hope you have weight these possibilities before you really go ahead with your decisions.

after all, the mature readers will always know how to distinguish what is right and what is wrong.How you run MT is your right from the beginning.

Pete, i hope you will not transfer the management of MT to others.
agree 172
written by NSTPravda, June 14, 2009 18:20:11
Spin baby spin....
Viva spinolah!

Meanwhile back at the Putra Jaya...
Duit lah tuanku!
Dollar akbar!
Rasuah sayang eh!
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by educationist, June 14, 2009 18:22:16
Hmm.. spin or gospel?
I don't know but I just hope that after Mtoday's ownership is transferred it will continue to provide the rakyat information denied to us by the UMNOputra's stranglehold of the MSM.
Well, all the best to you, our dear RPK!
May you continue to elude the UMNOputras, may you and your family be well and happy[as much as current circumstances allow for]
written by superbabah, June 14, 2009 18:22:28
Dearest Yang Mulia RPK....
I won't stop you,
and I won't encourage you,
But I will support whatever your decision is.

For Me...LAWAN TETAP LAWAN!

written by mikewang, June 14, 2009 18:34:49
Lee Kuan Yew, quoting Oliver Wendell Holmes, often said "your right to swing your fist ends where my nose begins."

Surely he got one very big nose. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Oscar Winner, June 14, 2009 18:42:47
Just some MT readers who failed to login due to minor technical hiccups. RPK is synonomous with MT. They can't be separated. MT will lose its soul. Pls hang in there, dear Pete. The fight for justice cannot be compromised by just these hiccups. I hate your idea of transferring ownership of MT. I support your ownership and am proud of it
written by Oscar Winner, June 14, 2009 18:44:26
sorry...typo.. synonymous
written by malsia1206, June 14, 2009 18:49:07
Ownership of MT transferred to a 'group of people' who shall decide how this site is to be run in form and function. Just pray none comprising this 'group of people' would take up an offer of RM25million and jump ship. If MT changes form and function to depart fundamentally from its present identity, it may be no better than the NST, Star and Utusan Malaysia. And that, naturally, would be suicidal.
written by SBennit, June 14, 2009 18:56:32
Ha, Ha , Ha....

Its easy to stir things up with RPK.

Now, I'll just remain above the fray and see how things turn out. Just like Marina Mahathir in her blog ....... when she's caught with her pants down.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

p/s boy, i miss butoh, qua vadis, cowboy kampung, lt adnan, bumi non-malay.

written by Ranulaw, June 14, 2009 18:58:19
Truth & belief.
In my opinion, there's a difference between truth & what ppl believe to be the truth as in the examples of Jesus & Muhammad given by RPK.
Truth is fact, it can't change. For example, "tennis is played on grass in Wimbleton".
It is different from "I believe tennis is played on concrete in Wimbleton". On the other hand, another may believe tennis is played on clay in Wimbleton.

I remember a wise man once said, " I will never die for what I believe because I may be wrong." Unfortunately many don't believe in that & many do die for what they believe for example, in the wars between Muslims & Christians.

I agree with RPK that we have to counter spin with spin but in saying that spin need not be a lie. That is why I did not agree with the apology RPK gave to Rusdi. He did not tell a lie (at least I believe he told the truth) so why should he apologise? He merely highlighted to us more "truths" which will enlighten us more to this person so that we can a much bigger picture.

As for MT, I think it's now even bigger than RPK alone so he's probably wise to have other ppl help him manage it. However, I would urge RPK not to give these ppl a free hand without consulting u on issues first. Surely RPK's experience & conscience is the very soul of MT. Of course, there's the other angle on sabotage. In short, RPK, get help to manage MT but pls also keep it close to u because u put the "life" into the site & differentiate it from other news sites. It is still a long road ahead.
written by apasalahku, June 14, 2009 19:00:41
hey RPK
looks like the the Rosmah videos is gnawing something in you. Getting old?
written by uxzee, June 14, 2009 19:13:41
Though it is sad to learn that you are transfering ownership of Malaysia Today, I believe it is the right thing to do under current situation and for the long term. It is good and comforting to know that you will still maintain your columns in MT.

We are part of MT and still need your ideas, views, drive, creativity, stories, bashing and above all - your spins.

written by malgal, June 14, 2009 19:14:40
RPK must've mulled about his trial period idea well enough to let it happen. I think it's a good move to let other people come under the hammer for a change and he gets his usual columns for letting rip.
written by hiiijack, June 14, 2009 19:15:54
To me and majority of Malaysian, MT is RPK and RPK is MT.Long live RPK and God bless and protect my dear RPK and family.
written by renoir, June 14, 2009 19:16:11

I wonder, other than Cruz, if all the other readers REALLY said they suspected they were being banned. For my part, I never said that. Readers can see my reply in http://mt.m2day.org/2008/conte...teComment.

Like some readers here, I do think your ownership gives M-T the credibility that made this website so popular. For myself, I'll continue to participate here to the best of my ability, but because months ago I'd promised some friends to start a more analytical website (in terms of political praxis), I'll probably reduce my postings in the future. Readers can contact me through: Renoirrr@ yahoo.com.

written by fromamovingtrain, June 14, 2009 19:21:58
I've always respected your home, rpk. If you transfer ownership of this home to others, i shall respect the new owner as well.

As the best coaches say, attack is the best form of defends. Keep hitting and running. Attack!
written by tumbledore, June 14, 2009 19:23:41
I sincerely hope you'd rethink your decision.
you are the anchor man and without you the readers
would migrate to other sites.

It's a lose to all of us. nevertheless my respect
for you and for what you have done remains.

I also believe you have good reasons to do so.

thank you
written by cheemengwong, June 14, 2009 19:27:11
I watched the movie the Contender and like to share...scripts from movie..

Napoleon once said, when asked to explain the lack of great statesmen in the world...

that, "to get power...you need to display absolute pettiness.To exercise power, you need to show true greatness." Such pettiness and such greatness are rarely found in one person.

How's that for us all to reflect...

To spin or not... I would but we should show that truth is greater than fiction.

Najis is everywhere.. be careful..
written by willove, June 14, 2009 19:29:27
Pete, I love your house, I visit it everyday. Please do not rent it to others.
If you want to outsources cleaners to tidy it up, fine. But please don't change the setting and warmth of it.
I'll keep dropping by as long as you still have a big say in how this house is run.
Please keep it as it is. We Malaysians need this home to come home to eveyday.
written by budakindia, June 14, 2009 19:35:20
Hi Pete, glad you're well. We can always shoot the spin down! I think we've been successful in that. Pete, do what you do best. Let us do what we do best. Shoot down the spin BN been creating. Just feed us on the latest intel, we'll do the rest. I'm sure they're sweating now.
written by lamakawan, June 14, 2009 19:36:02
Pete, do not pass this website to other people whom you can't trust. They would probably turn the spinning into a spinning top. They would make a fool of themselves and write all sorts of rubbish that has no intellectual or civic values.
Then this site which is now recognised as the mouthpiece of the rakyat will disappear into oblivion!! And , believe me, it will take years to set up another reputable site as MalaysiaToday. By that time, democracy in Malaysia would be dead!!
written by Mirage, June 14, 2009 19:37:39

Your brand of story writing gives a factual twist to the otherwise simple view of a problem. I akin this to how the Malays use to view a situation ie when the BN Govt would use the Ketuanan Melayu and all hell breaks loose if there was disrespect to the Malays and their culture. With the Malay majority, the simple minded BN believed that if they could control the Malays they dont need the other races until now that the Malay votes have split and learned Malays are no longer ignorant and use their head more than their heart.

You should continue to write and continue with the objective of Malaysia Today simply becoz ppl should not react to what you write but to use what you write to better understand a situation. We are now in a globalized world and you cant run away from information that is everywhere except to say what you are going to do with your info or is that info what you believed.
written by cheemengwong, June 14, 2009 19:41:25
When we were born, we are glorious in the eyes of our parents and GOD. Through time we are polluted and began to live and practice lies. With a very poor government we began to indulge in corruption, nepotism and trying to get rich without working hard.

God does not want us to be dammed... he wants us to be glorious in his eyes. It does not matter if we are Muslims, Christians, Buddhists or any other believer.

Daily we need to be transformed into the glorious nature. Glory does not allow us to live in lies and half truths. For 50 years Malaysians are led to believe that there are 1st class bumis and others second class.

These are half truths... do we want to carry on? The whole world is changing and those countries which do not change becames backwash of the world.

There is najis everywhere, but careful not to believe, and swim in najis.
written by doggone, June 14, 2009 19:48:17
I don't like the idea but there might be other reasons we are not privy to but I'lI respect your decision. It's like Kak Ros offering you Nasi minus the Kangkang if you know what I mean. The charm of the owner is lost. Hey, you just said it. We don't fight kangkang with kangkong. We whoop it with Nasi Kingkong !
written by Saint, June 14, 2009 19:52:00
Dear RPK, you may change the ownership as it is your discretion, but then it will become their discretion if they (are forced) to sell it to UMNO. So think twice. Damaging is easy, creating is difficult. You should know better.
written by imanj, June 14, 2009 20:01:22
Dear Raja Petra Kamaruddin,

Sir,who have taken the trouble to explain,give examples and scenarios.May i say for all that's worth,you are what you are and at this point must realise that you render thoughts and information to the human kind.It's not just Malaysians that walk this earth but people everywhere in this world who seem like brick walls at times.

This is simply ignorant,pretentious arrogant behaviour on the part of many.And you Sir need not explain or even express your disatisfaction further.Some of what you explained in terms of the simple rule of courtesy is what I too have commented,but it's the more hype kind of comments that get the large number of thumbs up.But then again it's how it is.Many ask for everything and give little or nothing in return.Not even appreciation.

I suppose the readers are just people who have had enough and most of the escalating horrible issues in this Country at some pointthe issue itself is deserving of unpleasant respond.But of course Malaysia Today was your home and some have put their feet up on your desk and sort of become to relaxed for your comfort.

I would apologise for anything said in any of my comments that is forward, irrelevant or not your 'pick of the day'.

If Malaysia Today goes to someone else then I too will make my exit.This blog to many was but for a purpose.The readers know what it means and what your presence meant.Hope you consider,good luck and just let us know when is the take-over or I guess we would be informed by the new owners..

written by imanj, June 14, 2009 20:03:30
I meant to say in my last sentence..'Hope you reconsider...

written by Ramesh, June 14, 2009 20:06:36
RPK, I read and always wait for your artical rather than reading others. So it does not really matter who controls it as long as you still keep writing your thoughts. If shit happens and you dont like the way MT is run, hey you can create another website. RPK, frustrations are normal in life and more so when you/we are trying to introduce freedom of expression. "give me the right to disagree" shoud me the theme. Whe everyone agrees to what you write than what's the diffenrace between human and cows....janganlah bagitu..."had a bad hair day, abang?". Ramesh
written by SiHangChai, June 14, 2009 20:14:41
RPK, I congratulate you that you are turning for some bloggers to run on your site. Now, that any posting in MT will come from bloggers, let see what the govt will do including arresting those UMNO cyber shitheads who regularly posted hatred comments in MT.
written by truthbespoken, June 14, 2009 20:16:04
It sounds like a fair number of people are getting tired. Whoever owns MT, my earnest hope is that the strong oppositionist political momentum created in MT will continue to grow at least until after the next GE.

RPK have come far educating and leading the people. I hope he will remain the strong glue that gives Malaysians the hope for change for the better.
written by Alice, June 14, 2009 20:28:58
Hi RPK ,
Hope everything is good and fine with you,Marina and your kids. You sound so sick and tired of everything. I think the both of you should go away for a while and do some soul searching. Forget about MT and the Malaysian politics.Refresh your souls and take a good rest. Don't write anymore articles for a while. Take a real break.Don't transfer the ownership just yet. smilies/wink.gif
written by Conan Chung, June 14, 2009 20:33:05

Have you ever heard of the phrase, "To kill a beast, one must become a beast" or "Evil is cunning so for good to triumph, they must be even more cunning." I agree with everything you say and you have been a personal aspiration and idol to me; not because i'm gay or you're very attractive but its your ideals and personal moral that deserves admiration.

However, that admiration is also a privilege and its only given when you are acting as a champion of fairness and justice; promising to commit yourself to changing the nation that is Malaysia for the betterment of all people...that includes Malay, Chinese, Indian, Kadazan, Mongolian and whoever living in this tiny country.

Indeed many people in MT does not always agree with you. Many of them have taken sides so to them, they only see pro-gov or anti-gov. They couldn't see beyond taking sides, colors of the skin and religion; to many people, black is black and white is white. Few understood the existance of yin and yang and that there is always some "white" in "black" and vice versa. Because of that, many mistook your intentions when you "change sides" with what you write.

The world is never perfect to begin with, as long as you can live with yourself, do whatever is necessary to "win". It is my desire to see your ideals for the nation become a reality. Cheers!
written by bknight, June 14, 2009 20:43:31
pete,

i think the writings is on the wall, with the support i see here. i think you should reconsider your decisions. i dont think it will do more good if you ever transfer the ownership of MT to some group of people.

please pete. i urge you to reconsider.
written by singam, June 14, 2009 20:46:31
Pete, it looks like a lot of people did not pay attention to the fact that, while you were incarcerated, MT continued to run. Also, I vaguely remember reading about the improved MT being set up in such a way that personal liability is minimised for all parties concerned.

This suggests to me that you already have a team helping you to run MT. Nothing wrong with that, since you continue to be the one defining direction.

But if you were to step back and become a mere contributor, the nature of MT will change. Its soul would be lost. It will simply be a matter of time before the changes become evident.

Of course this is your call and I will respect your decision. If you feel that the cause is best served by your stepping back, who am I to say no? But let that be the reason for your decision, not a grumpy response to some pained egos.

Peace.
written by Conan Chung, June 14, 2009 20:49:31
Dear Lampard,

About your comment, how is MT equivalent to a hotel? If you stay in a hotel, you have to pay for the room and services you asked. Did you pay anything to read the articles posted here? Did you make regular donations to make sure the site is functional?

And about the part where you are free to comment anything you want, that does not include calling someone else a bloody liar, trojan horse, royalist, mad, and whatever profanity you can think of. I bet no one dares walk up to the receptionist of a hotel; throw wads of bills at her and ask her to blow you there and then would you? Also call her bitch while your at it. In moments, you'll be hauled to the front door and that is even you are Robert Kuok of Berjaya Group. But i saw some MT readers do it because they think they are "invisible" behind the keyboard. Yes, because no one really knows who you really are, you act braver than you usually are in real life. Even i'm brave enough to blast your comment because you can't see me. In real life, i would have shoved aside your stupid comment.

One last thing, say what you want, but make sure you are ready to take responsibility for it. And while you can state your thoughts and beliefs; try to leave out the name calling and cussing because it gets into people's nerves, right ass****?
written by pengembara, June 14, 2009 20:54:43
Pete

this is one tune which i hold dear for almost half century .. enjoy ...

The old man turned off the radio
Said, "Where did all of the old songs go
Kids sure play funny music these days
They play it in the strangest ways"
Said, "it looks to me like they've all gone wild
It was peaceful back when I was a child"
Well, man, could it be that the girls and boys
Are trying to be heard above your noise?
And the lonely voice of youth cries "What is truth?"

A little boy of three sittin' on the floor
Looks up and says, "Daddy, what is war?"
"son, that's when people fight and die"
The little boy of three says "Daddy, why?"
A young man of seventeen in Sunday school
Being taught the golden rule
And by the time another year has gone around
It may be his turn to lay his life down
Can you blame the voice of youth for asking
"What is truth?"

A young man sittin' on the witness stand
The man with the book says "Raise your hand"
"Repeat after me, I solemnly swear"
The man looked down at his long hair
And although the young man solemnly swore
Nobody seems to hear anymore
And it didn't really matter if the truth was there
It was the cut of his clothes and the length of his hair
And the lonely voice of youth cries
"What is truth?"

The young girl dancing to the latest beat
Has found new ways to move her feet
The young man speaking in the city square
Is trying to tell somebody that he cares
Yeah, the ones that you're calling wild
Are going to be the leaders in a little while
This old world's wakin' to a new born day
And I solemnly swear that it'll be their way
You better help the voice of youth find
"What is truth/"
written by Aria, June 14, 2009 20:58:34
Malaysia Today has its own character and personality. If you leave Raja Petra I am not sure if Malaysia Today will ever be the same. Malaysia Today has a many thousands of loyal supporters and it is all because of you Raja Petra. I personally am very worried as to what will happen to Malaysia Today and its loyal supporters if you left others to run Malaysia Today. The BN people must be rejoicing today.
written by lampard, June 14, 2009 21:04:18
Dear Conan,
Hold your horses, your comments is indeed intimidating, aggressive and bullying. FYI, every hits in mt.mt2day.org, RPK gets paid. And he deserves it. So, everyone that comes in to read or write, RPK gets $$$! No one here ask RPK to a blow job or shove him from the back? You are missing your canon conan and barking on the obvious wrong tree!

By the way Berjaya Group is Tan Sri Vincent Tan and not Robert Kuok! Get your facts right before barking!
written by Raja Petra, June 14, 2009 21:22:58
Aiyah, you guys complain that MT is not professional enough. But when I want to get a professional team to take over you also complain. Buat apa bergaduh? Sometimes you forget we are all on the same side and are seeking the same thing - changes, reforms and a better country. It is just that each of us have different ways of doing things. Even in the military they have many different units. Air force, navy, infantry, paratroopers, commandos, artillery, tank units, etc. Hell, they even have assassination squads.
written by lampard, June 14, 2009 21:24:40
If we are not allowed to voice our opinion, then what difference are mt.m2day.org and UMNO? UMNO thinks we are all PENDATANG and we are in UMNO's house (Malaysia) and must follow his rules or off you go to Kamunting. This, we need to understand DEMOCRACY at its best!

Get it Conan? Chung?
written by Raja Petra, June 14, 2009 21:31:07
Dear lampard, first go find out what OPINION means. Once you have discovered the true meaning of the word, next go find out how to voice an opinion. Then, go to Pasar Road (if you are Malay) and shout, "Cina babi, pergi balek ke Cinalah", or go to Kampong Baru near the arch in front of the 3-line HQ (if you are Chinese) and shout "Melayu baruah bodoh". Then when the crowd surrounds you just explain that you are voicing your opinion.
written by lampard, June 14, 2009 21:37:45
Dear Raja Petra,

I dont go around jeering or yelling Babi or Baruah. It is barbaric where only Conan the Barbarian would suggest! I am just talking about matter of opinion! I am sure, with man of your calibre and experience, understand my humble opinion!
written by teo siew chin, June 14, 2009 21:44:05
WHAT? after being thru thick and thin....YM RPK wants to give up MT? no way la! even when offered gazillion RM, he refuse to give it up...why now?
just cos a few whiners complain? puhleeees
written by TwilightYears, June 14, 2009 21:47:39
I would support you for your decision, for I know that you would have looked at all angles before deciding this line of action. But there is this lingering doubt whether without you at the helm of Malaysia Today, would it exudes the special characteristics that are You? You have lived Malaysia Today for years, and with you severing the umbilical cord, the very existence of Malaysia Today would have lost its meaning.

Spinning is an art which the Chinese excelled for centuries. The Chinese glorified the "master" spinners in many of its novels written hundred of years ago. Even the most honourable Pao Kung (the black faced Judge) would use "spinning" to get to the truth.

Best wishes to you, and we shall continue to look forward to many stimulating articles from you in you column.
written by lampard, June 14, 2009 21:47:51
Raja did not say he is quiting neither did he say anything about giving up, he is just letting a team to do some window dressing in mt.m2day! He is still the core and I am glad to know that! You just can't have 6 million dollar man without Steve Austin and Incredible Hulk without Lou Ferrigno aint it! Mate?
written by Wakeupmsia, June 14, 2009 22:08:58
Dear Raja Petra Kamaruddin,

Many equates RPK=MT, MT=RPK. I do too. You are always a fighter and a WINNER! I don't think it's a good idea to transfer MT to a group of people to manage it. No, don't get me wrong - I trust your sense of judgement and also trust those capable people who may be selected. BUT the point is : Why do you want to do so, to suit those who complains and what not? Remember, Raja Petra, YOU ARE ALWAYS A WINNER.
Would you just re-consider.
written by gas, June 14, 2009 22:18:22
Oyster, you are welcome to leave M2Day and read MSM. We don't need people like you. The way you said it, you don't know what "Truth" is all about. Eventhough RPK used the word "Spin", the word "Spin" is more truths than so-called spin.

Dear RPK, if you hand over Malays Today to the group of people to run it, I am afraid that they will sell it to UMNO in millions if not billions. You know that Malaysia Today is so powerful a web and I personally believe anyone would want to own it. I tell you, I will leave Malaysia Today if you hand over. Those spoil brats are thinking that they are so great. If they are so great then pull the readers to their blogs. I have been reading many blogs, only a handful of them worth reading. If you create another blog, I will follow you. I read Malaysia Today because of you that provided with all kind of ideas that I could pick up. I beg you not to hand over, unless you are going to put up another blog. Please consider seriously not to give the home that I have been comfortably visited all the while. Thank you.
written by Tompios, June 14, 2009 22:28:36
What are you trying to tell me? 30 years fighting for Malaysia then finally you are telling me that I am stupid? Yes, I agree that I am quite stupid but that is the reason why you should kicking and alive for 888 years more.

You cannot please everyone but you can cease many people to support the corrupt leaders in BN's parties.
To Pakyeh,
You never understand what RPK trying to tell us.
written by AlwaysFair, June 14, 2009 22:45:49

Don't worry what you like to write or "spin." Let your enemies label them as they like but it is the SOURCE that is most important.

Anything you write we believe and respect because it comes from a "GOOD" man so is anything your enemies write which however good we don't believe and consider a spin.

If the source is the spring we know it is good and pure and will drink from it.
If the source is a "corrupt" well however they filter the water it is rejected.

May God watch over you and your family.
Best regards.
written by fromamovingtrain, June 14, 2009 22:47:47
Typical of some (breed of) people. You hit this site, you know the host gets paid for it, and that is the ticket you need to say and insinuate what you like. Yup, it's about bloody 'you-owe-me-a-living'. That qualifies this site to be a hotel. 'I pay money, I can dirty the carpet, I can stain the sheets, I can piss in the corners.

The host suggests that you find out in earnest what opinion means and how to offer one, you spew rubbish like every time someone hits this site, the host gets paid.

It's all about demanding rights by paying for it. Typical.
written by chiongguo, June 14, 2009 22:50:03
A wise man once said :

"A falsehood is a falsehood even if 10,000 people believed in it.
A truth is a truth even if no one believed in it."

Truth and falsehood are not dependent on our perception which is faulty. What we perceived as truth is nothing more than a conditioned reality. If we perceive something to be true but we say something contrary to it then that is a lie. What we perceived as true may not be correct and even when we say the truth it may turned out to look like a lie.

For me what is important is that we speak our truth and we should be mindful always that this truth may be wrong. There is then space and the capacity to grow.

A wise man again once said that if very bad people say that you are bad then you should rejoice because more than likely you are not bad.

Spinning is like one of the 6 blindmen trying to convince the other 5 what an elephant is. What we believe is no longer important. What we want others to believe in is more so.

Politics is dirty and BN's play both in the open and in underhanded manner has become a class of its own. Dirty is no longer adequate to describe it anymore.

Should MT play the game that BN is playing or should it set its own rule to play by ? When you can't or won't play their game then play a different game - change the rule, create your own music and dance to your own rhythm and beat. Oyster comment above was right.

Instead of trying to make others believe in the elephant that we created in our deep recesses of our troubled psyche why not just report on what we sincerely and honestly believe the elephant is and allowed as many people to report on what they believe the elephant is. In this way everyone gets a better view of what the elephant is. Spinning gets its energy from our engagement with it. If we don't engage it it will die of its own accord. The righteous view will always prevail but it has a time-table of its own. Righteousness has an energy that very few manipulators understand or even discern.

I think also MT, having such a huge draw to so many people, also has a role to educate the readers. Many readers needed to be able to distinguish, if not suspend judgement, between what is good from bad, what is right from wrong. Many also needed to learn to step back to get the bigger picture. Stepping back always give us better and clarer perspective.

What was the initial reason MT was set up ? I think the answer to this question will determine what you should do next. All these accusations etc. are secondary. Speak your truth gently. Do not be afraid of engagement when you do but be afraid when there is no engagement. When that day arrived you should step aside...you have become a god and it is unhealthy.

written by choong, June 14, 2009 22:50:51

A bit of diverting from the main topic.

Contrary to many asian companies and businesses, it is interesting to note that you are willing to relinquish control over a popular website to a group of "professionals" while you are still alive.

Then again, MT is only relevant to me so long as you are around. To be honest, most of the time I am looking for articles written by you rather than the other writers who are posting their writings here. It is something about you that appeals to a reader like me.

Anyway, I like your spin and who says only the orthodox rules the floor?
written by Daryl, June 14, 2009 23:11:06
Dear Lampard

What is it so hard to accept if indeed RPK getting paid for doing a service to Malaysia's future? There are the Federal Government of Malaysia that not only ask for humongous commision for job they are suppose to do. Than turn around use the civil service, PDRM and judges to get their way and stay in power by opressing the rakyat. I guess that is more noble than getting some money to try to drive for a better future for Malaysia. Maybe you think I am dreaming as well. Don't argue and make comments just because you disagree with their views...

You are just another typical UMNO or MCA or MIC goons.
written by apa jadi, June 14, 2009 23:11:29
well, well, well....just a few spats between RPK, Cruz and littlebird, and RPK gives up the whole blog to a group? Come on lah! RPK has been planning this all these while lah! Otherwise, how did he run this weblog all these while? This is a management strategy to free oneself of the mundane routine and concentrate on other key issues. Nothing wrong. The only difference I observe is that he is a wee bit touchy nowadays.

Cruz has also apologized for jumping the gun. No point bickering over some petty issue.

I would not say it good or bad being run by a group. It has its merits and demerits, depending on the group's decision. Just let it run and see how it turns out. The daily hit rate will be the indicator. Good luck!
written by Taiping60, June 14, 2009 23:30:16
Most Malaysians are not dumb anymore. Spin whatever they like, it does not matter anymore.

e.g. if UMNO is right and Chin Peng is not allow to come back since CPM killed many Malaysians. Based on that, we should not allow Japanese back also not mentioned buying their products. Japanese too killed many Malaysians during second world war. Why UMNO through Tun Mahathir promote Look East or Look Japan. DOes that made him a traitor.

So bullshit UMNO. bullshit BN. Malaysians learn to forgive and forget. Yes, what the Japanese did were cruel. But those were many years ago and the current generation was not even born yet. Likewise Chin Peng fighting for different cause then which no longer relevant. Learn to forgive and forget, it makes you a better person rather then puppets following your leaders order eventhough it is a STUPID idea.
written by Ramesh, June 14, 2009 23:37:18
You see RPK, now we have people talking on behalf of you...hahaha. I think now you can even stand for election and win too. That's yuor power and I think its time you let someone else run MT and you concentrate writing your thoughts. Interesting turn of events, right?
written by AsamLaksa, June 14, 2009 23:53:41
I posted at Cruz's site asking him to check again if he is really banned. If there really is a ban, I would leave MT as well on principle because I join MT mainly due to the lax moderation.

I have had difficulties in logging into MT to post before (excluding times when the comments section were disabled). One episode lasted a whole day whole I keep seeing others able to post. What I always did was chill out, don't let it bother me and try again later. Never once have I jumped the gun that I was banned even though I got involved in some rather 'interesting' discussion and got annoyed when I could not reply.

I understand what RPK says about your house your right. This is common courtesy and understanding. Many breach this understanding and it has caused many problems especially among families and friends in real life. Even my father had to smoke outside.

And what is this bull from Lampard??? Fool! Does MT sell itself as a service provider for your personal enjoyment? If you paid a plumber to fix your pipes and made abusive comments towards the plumber, don't be surprised if the plumber leaves flicks you the finger no matter how much you pay. A hotel's business is to provide comfort and enjoyment thus they do their hardest to please you because it's their business to do so. MT is not a hotel or pleasure provider. Even if MT or RPK gets paid, they do not owe you anything. You can complain if you like but you have no rights over MT.

I do not really care if MT is spinning. Everyone does it. What I am more concerned about is whether I can see behind the spin, not whether I should tell others to stop it. Spin all you like because there's only so much you can spin that once you cross the line into diatribe, it becomes counter-productive. For example this Chin Peng business, the more UMNO and Utusan spin it, the more inconsistencies will appear.
written by Fuminari, June 15, 2009 00:28:11
an eye for an eye,that's it.
since when u don't find umno hitting below the belt??these goons jus can't play any game without it fixed up!!!n that's then only umno thieves n bandits;fcuk them!!!
written by imanj, June 15, 2009 00:35:47
Replying Conan Chung,comment made 14 June,2009 20:56:10 to imanj..

Dear Conan Chung,

Do me and many a favour,read a comment well and read between the lines.Your observation of me being obssesed that Pete to be owner of MT,just shows how you use the 'invinsible theory' before your laptop.

You think when someone prefers to have their Boss remain in office,who they think better suited,you term that an obsession? I like the word 'Obsession' in a parfum,but not when it's termed on me.

Come on,as much as I would like,to tell you a thing or two,I won't cause the blog,like the hotel,even airline or any open to public services do have boundaries.A little class wouldn't hurt right? While I have sometimes said people do have a way with words and feelings for this Country's problems,my opinion of that is,there are issues that was deserving of the responses.

I wouldn't like to dictate to someone who prefers to vent his feelings with free flow sarcarsm or unpleasant terms.Why dictate to an adult? Let him/her have their way if they must and it helps them for that moment.Onlookers like me will breeze through it without reaction.

But the entry to Raja Petra was from me to him and you my dear Conan Chung,was not apart of my comment.It would be Pete to judge my entry.But if you want to enlighten me of any better thoughts on this article,I would lend you a ear.I have read your entries and chose to understand your outlook of this article. Whether i agree or not isn't important,cause this is about Pete...

written by cruzeiro, June 15, 2009 00:56:59
AsamLaksa,
I did as you suggested and did receive an email from admin saying that it was a technical glitch......
What RPK says here is true. There is nothing wrong in telling another version of truth as one sees it. In a way, we are all "guilty of spin" to varying degrees - depending on the perception of the reader.
Whatever said and done, MT/RPK deserves our support for all that it/he has done to transform our society.
Let us all contribute constructively to the discussion and debate on MT, so as to keep the spirit of open discourse alive.
Thanks, mate.
written by Admiral Tojo, June 15, 2009 01:42:28
Keep on spinning Pete, cannot wait for more videos on the Puaka series. In the meantime, do what you think is right as we are behind you all the way.

written by AsamLaksa, June 15, 2009 05:01:21
Cruz, you're welcome though no thanks needed. It's my pleasure to read sound ideas, arguments, differing opinions and to discuss issues. There is not many places where I can do such. Just keep cool, bro.
written by renoir, June 15, 2009 07:17:34
Great to see you back, Cruz. Long ago we'd some interesting participants, including people like Quo Vadis, Anti-hypocrisy, and someone called Rahim, if I remember rightly, and it's a pity they're not here today. So I think M-T could ill-afford to miss articulate people like you. I think FFT must be busy nowadays for I seldom see his - hahaha! - inflammatory but nevertheless thought-provoking postings. And AssamLaksa as everyone knows is another unique fella. As readers here have noted, differing opinions are what made this site interesting, and hopefully educational as well. Have a great day, all.

Time for me to rest smilies/smiley.gif
written by Rhan, June 15, 2009 08:35:06
A suggestion to the new team, I think to publish writing from bloggers to help promote their blog, translation from Tamil/Chinese news for readers who can’t understand the language, and letter from whoever plus article from the few guest writers especially RPK will be good enough. It is not necessary for MT to include news from Star, Harakah, NST, Malaysia Insider, TST and etc when most of the readers could access this website easily. Unless if it is kind of “breaking news” but you can’t beat Malaysiakini on this right?

MT should move back to it very original form where we could read the best article and best comment from the best writers and best commenters.
written by Susanna, June 15, 2009 10:10:54
Whatever people may hold as truths, the respect for each other's beliefs must be there. Unless those truths are twisted for ulterior motives. As in the case of BN, every spin is to distort and to create lies which seemingly appear to be truths. That's the worst kind of people, Gods of all religions despise because it provokes people to hate and even kill. Selling or giving away MT to others is your right Pete. But because there are so few good men around, please be mindful not to sell it to people of ulterior motives. Can imagine how priceless this MT is to the hands of BN which they can once and for all control and stop all revelations of truths out of their lies. Please check and ensure that these are people who desire to carry on your aspiration for Malaysia and to fight for justice for Malaysians as what this platform was designed for. May God save us all from the corrupt and unjust.
written by ksmaniam, June 15, 2009 10:14:50
We knew you are human, even though we called you a saint. When I read the article above, it clearly indicates that you are human, with all the frailities and strengths. I suppose it is safe to say that the MT visitors do have frailities too. Perhaps, one should note that when dealing with people of a variety of background,we would and should expect all kinds or rojak response the good and the bad ones.
I think the idea behind public domain, is to expect anything and not only somethng. It is perhaps for us to decide what we like and what we don't like, and ambil yang jernih and buang yang keruh and allow everyone to have his say. The idea of allowing professionals to run is fine. Is it necesary? Would it at the end of the day drown out the actual intentin of MT? Censorship is fine too, but the degree of censorship would sometimes drown out the main material.
To decide and equate MT as a house seems to me not RPK material. It is your right to say it is your house. The problem is I always regarded MT as the people's "Parliament" and that we were invited by RPK to this august house to state our views. I hope i did not downgrade your perception of MT by that statement. It is still yours RPK, do whatever you want. We have lost a lot in Malaysia, in my perhaps twilight years I am noting everything I lost, I saw a ray of hope, it is slowly dwindling. Perhaps it is my luck. God Bless You and your family.
My 2 cents worth.
written by JJFoo, June 15, 2009 10:23:21
Hi RPK,

Do what needs to be done. Just don’t throw in the towel. Pressure is mounting on you internally and externally, road ahead will be tougher. The people need a selfless soul as you, to lead them in this quest to a better nation, successful or not is less relevant, a good fight more important, the people will eventually understand you noble intention. For every citizen you awaken is a victory in itself.

Take not too seriously the criticisms thrown at you, as you said before “everybody has an *******”, one time or another we take turn to be an “*******”, nothing new. You can't please everyone.

You give-up, BN won, that, the nation can’t afford.

written by bikerzon, June 15, 2009 10:52:37

Please continue your struggle with MT. Without MT we the rakyat will just lost. MT is like the beacon, a lighthouse in the dark sea, guiding the rakyat ships to the truth.

Just because some of the closet BN/UMNO bloggers complaining about MT, it doesn't mean any greater harm than criticizing the wrong doing of those in corridor of power.

Please stay on. You yourself have been very vocal in not letting out hopes of keep pushing for the truth, justice and freedom.

My support for both you and Malaysia Today.
written by cruzeiro, June 15, 2009 10:57:40
aru has left a new comment on your post "Running with the wind.....":

Hi Cruz,

I have been following MT just quite recently...but being unable to register...I am afraid I can only view and have my share as a guest. However, even a humbled guest still has his own thoughts and mind, so if it is not too much of a trouble, could you kindly help me post my following comment in MT? Would appreciate if you could help me get my thoughts through. Bless you.

-----------------------------------
Friedrich Nietzsche once wrote - "a man who fights monsters must be careful that he does not become a monster himself"

We must beware while of fighting injustice, tyranny and oppression. Wars fought has never on one side. With both end seeking their own justice, noone can define what is wrong from what is right. For what is right, anyway?

A fair society understands the compromise and acceptance by others. We need that. Every right demanded is a compromise from others to be accepted. And every right granted is testament to that understanding by that community.

We can twist, spin and turn. But in the end, the need of others we all must learn. Myself, I am a bystander, a product of our country & society. My only hope for our beloved country is that one day, we will be able to see the demand fairness and equality is not seen as a threat to the privilege of others; but as a call for empathy from people whose heart are not empty.
written by guns head, June 15, 2009 11:21:49
best man rpk,

please continue writing

we need U
written by JJFoo, June 15, 2009 12:57:06
Hi RPK,

Do what needs to be done. Just don’t throw in the towel. Pressure is mounting on you internally and externally, road ahead will be tougher. The people need a selfless soul as you, to lead them in this quest to a better nation, successful or not is less relevant than good fight. The people will eventually understand you noble intention and be in debt to you. For every citizen you awaken is a victory in itself.

Take not too seriously the criticisms thrown at you, as you said before “everybody has an axxhole”, one time or another we take turn to be “an axxhole”, nothing new. You can’t please everyone and not everyone can please you.

You give-up, BN won, that, the nation can’t afford.
written by malaysianohope, June 15, 2009 13:33:45
Greetings Pete,
Sounds like you lose some fire in you. If it was somebody else would have given up the fight long ago. You don't have to justify why you posted personal details of Dolly. She should know better that since she's like to glow in the public eyes then everything about her is game. No need to tell us why you go low. Knowing her the best defence is to meet her at same level as in 'The Art of War' by Sun Tzu.
Btw if you stop posting articles you won't see me in MT again.
My regards to Marina & Children.
written by Running Sardines, June 15, 2009 14:04:59
Dear Pete

The truth will sets us free ... if not now, it will be one day. There are people who don't like the truth to be told i.e. Chin Peng return to Malaysia. The same thing about the so many 'news' we heard i.e. Lingam video, C4 story etc. MT needs you, YM RPK, to show the truth to the Malaysians who still care. I believe this is one of your purpose in life. As for those jokers who are resorting to name callings and what not, I hope they will think rationally instead. (Fight for the common good and not be divisive among ourselves.)

Regards to you and your family.
written by lampard, June 15, 2009 14:10:35
The Malaysian public generally need education! They read to the point they want to read and believe what they want to believe and spin to the point of running off topic.

I do not support the present BN government simply because of racial inequality and excessive corruption and I stay precise to my opinion NOT becasue RPK said so or anyone else. I liberalised my thinking and voice my point of views. Isn't this part and parcel of living in a democratic society?
written by Conan Chung, June 15, 2009 15:47:11
Dear imanj,

About your reply to my comment, i'm sorry to say i have no idea what it is you're trying to say. So just forget it; it seems we live on diff. worlds. No hard feelings.
written by lampard, June 15, 2009 17:33:43
And what is this bull from Lampard??? Fool! Does MT sell itself as a service provider for your personal enjoyment? If you paid a plumber to fix your pipes and made abusive comments towards the plumber, don't be surprised if the plumber leaves flicks you the finger no matter how much you pay. A hotel's business is to provide comfort and enjoyment thus they do their hardest to please you because it's their business to do so. MT is not a hotel or pleasure provider. Even if MT or RPK gets paid, they do not owe you anything. You can complain if you like but you have no rights over MT.

Dear Asam Laksa,
You comment is impertinent. You are obviously way way way off topic. Never once I mentioned it is for my self enjoyment, like you, I am only putting up my point of view. Are you saying that Malaysian Today comments must all in support of Raja Petra becasue this is his blog or forum? Than what difference are you from the fools of MIC, MCA and Gerakan?

And can you name one, just one word that I uttered that is abusive to RPK?

"A 'No' uttered from the deepest conviction is better than a 'Yes' merely uttered to please, or worse, to avoid trouble. "
written by sara, June 15, 2009 20:50:51
"maybe it’s not really me writing those articles after all but someone else writing them in my name"
I don't know if you hinted me with those phrases but let me be clear about what I wrote.I said the messages sound the same but the writing or to make clearier the style of writing is different.I hope you got the point.Even if I hit you, that's bcoz I care about Malaysia and Humanity.I just don't want you to become another figure like The M lady.I thought we can call a spade a spade in MT.If you think it is wrong to call a spade a spade, pls say so, then we will stop airing our view in MT.
written by Steven Ong, June 15, 2009 23:11:56
As the well known saying goes: politics is a dirty business, then one shouldn't be surprised that spinning is just one of its tools. But I disagreed that one should also do to our enemy what our enemy do to us. Didn't our scriptures remind us : to do unto others what we like others to do unto us? Can we deviate from the truth just for our cause? And what is truth - absolute truth?If there is only one absolute truth, then the rest are all lies.

If we deny the good fruits of a truth, then we are just lying to ourselves,and nobody else. So let them who chose to deny the truth be, but do not stop others from seeking the truth. There must be freedom to choose what one wants to belief. There must be freedom of faith and free to asociate as one think is the truth.To deny others would be the most heinous crime a man could do to others. That is to imprison a brother for wearing a white cap that he believes can cure him of his sickness.
written by bebas2lawat, June 16, 2009 16:16:55
it is with mixed emotions that i pen these few words. Sadly what RPk has written only reflects our maturity or immaturity to have civilised discoursewithout resorting to the gutter. I hope that with the change of ownership the discourse will be more mature. Sometimes we deserve the kind of laws or politicians we have. If we cannot discourse without resorting to the gutter and name calling and stinging attacks on family then i think we deserve the laws that limit our freedom's. Because there is no such thing as absolute freedom smilies/cry.gif