Goats and Mutton PDF Print
Thursday, 11 June 2009 18:53

Exactly why should Indians in this country be pegged under a common political label? Are we all goats, simply to be herded around based on the label branded on us?

By G. Krishnan (Imagine....)

I’ve never been a fan of the mainstream media and I suspect a vast number of you also cannot stand the pathetic propaganda that gets repeatedly published in these government mouthpieces. Let me be clear: Like so many of you, I’ve also given up taking seriously what passes for so-called news and commentary in these publications. Of course I still enjoy the occasional entertainment I derive from skimming the pedestrian commentaries by some of the conveniently hand-picked columnists.

As a case in point, some days back I came across another pathetic article supposedly lamenting the lack of ‘unity’ among Indians in Malaysia. How ironic, given all the hoopla we’ve had in recent days regarding the subject of ‘unity’ involving PAS and Umno. At any rate, back to the Indians for now. Among other things, the writer made a big fuss about how Indian ‘disunity’ seemed manifest by the proliferation of Indian-based political parties.

Now here is a perfect example of how the absurd communalism rot has become second-nature to even the educated and literate among us. If only we could see that it’s not the apparent disunity that presumably holds Indians from advancing, it’s the racism so pervasive in our social policies. If only these people could recognize that the presence of multiple Indian-based political parties is not even remotely relevant to the source of the problem of lack of Indian progress in the country.

Don’t get me wrong; if I had my way, I’d just as well see all these race-based parties disappear in a heart-beat, as I’m convinced that the main source of our stagnation as a nation is the persistence of these race-based parties, which only affirm the absurd racist system we have become so comfortable with. In the case of the Indians, it matters little whether Indians are eight or eighty percent of the population and whether they have two or twelve political parties representing them.

Read more at: IMAGINE...

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by cheemengwong, June 11, 2009 19:30:57
Indians are fine when all in the same group are equally poor. The situation becomes different when there is disparity in the group. The syndrome that potentially happens all the time is the "crap syndrome". The poor will try to pull down the more sucessful down again.

This has been happening around everywhere lah.
written by choong, June 11, 2009 20:56:20
cheemengwong,

it is "crab basket syndrome" la. anyway, they call it "tall poppy syndrome" in the land of down under.

written by Fairminded, June 11, 2009 20:57:42
Fully agree with the author that unfortunately everything in Malaysia boils down to race but frankly speaking, after reading through the whole three paragraphs I was not able to follow the rambling. Perhaps my command of the English language had deserted me in my old age smilies/grin.gif
written by tumbledore, June 11, 2009 22:31:07
dear fairminded,
it is indeed only ramblings
they are not supposed to be coherent!

there is no malay, chinese or indian problem
but we have a massive problem with racism!

written by Ulan Benson, June 11, 2009 23:39:51
Malaysia will bloom into a powerful nation when MCA, MIC, Um-No, Hindraf, PPP etc and all race parties have been dissolved.

BNs has ruled for 50 years using race based party and today, all of us are in deep -shit...OUT with BNs. enough of this BNs shits!

Give me PAS/PKR/DAP anytime. At least, for a change. smilies/cool.gif
written by pokokmangga, June 12, 2009 02:31:01
I find this article rather pointless. In Malaysia, the only issue that is at the heart of everyday topic is fcuking RACE, RACE, RACE and more RACE. Even ths stupid learned X Lord Justice WAS harping on RACE.

STUPID, STUPID, STUPID, STUPID, STUPID.
smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by Sutha, June 12, 2009 17:16:47
Cheemengwong,

What syndrome do you call these.....

1) Tan Khoon Swan - Neo Yee Pan clash, Ling Liong Sik - Lim Ah Lek clash, Ling Liong Sik - Ong Tee Keat clash, Ong Tee keat - Chua Soi lek clash? History books talk of Ghee Hin - Hai San clash. Swines Farm Syndrome?

2) When a swine has a road side argument with a non-swine, another swine will come over to join and fight for the swine, without even knowing what was the issue at all. Swine Brotherhood syndrome?

3) Vegetable/fish/chicken/etc sold at the market bears two prices.... one price for a swine and a higher one for non-swine. Swineconomics Syndrome?

Common lah, don't just stop with your toilet roll stage. Wash your butts first before commenting on other butts.