Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Don’t question sovereignty of rulers, says Perak Sultan

Don’t question sovereignty of rulers, says Perak Sultan PDF Print
Thursday, 11 June 2009 15:15

(Bernama) -- The Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah, said today any move which questions the interests of the Malays and Bumiputeras in terms of scholarships and places of study not only violates the fundamental provisions in the federal and state constitutions but also questions the sovereignty of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and the Malay Rulers.

He said Clause 2 of Article 153 of the Federal Constitution provided the King with specific powers to safeguard the interests of the Malays as well as the Bumiputeras in Sabah and Sarawak in terms of scholarships and places of study.

He also said that Article 27 (b) (2) of the Perak State Constitution provided a similar responsibility to the Sultan of Perak.

"These matters enshrined in the Federal Constitution and the state constitution are agreements achieved collectively in the spirit of give and take and the spirit of understanding and respect among the leaders representing the interests of the various races at the time of negotiating the nation's independence.

"The agreements were achieved among the leaders of the various races, the British government and also the Malay Rulers," he said when opening a Discourse on Knowledge at the Perak Islamic Administration Institute, here. Also present was the Raja Muda of Perak, Raja Dr Nazrin Shah.

Sultan Azlan Shah said the leaders of the country had the political responsibility and statesmanship to respect the fundamentals which formed the pillar of sovereignty of an independent nation as well as the fundamentals which formed the root of harmonious racial relations, fundamentals which were agreed upon at the time the nation was formulating the Merdeka constitution.

He said a deviation from the original spirit would surely cause anxiety and drag the nation into a situation of uncertainty.

"At the same time, the fundamentals of the agreement should not at all be abused at the implementation stage so as to make any race feel that it has been oppressed.

"In accordance with the role of the throne as the source of justice, it is also the responsibility of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and the Rulers in every state to ensure that the legitimate interests of the other races are also safeguarded," he said.

The sultan said practices which deviated from the principles of justice should not be allowed to take place because every legitimate citizen should be accorded appropriate justice.

Comments (59)Add Comment
written by garuda, June 11, 2009 15:21:26
In short it means ststus quo, as in UMNO is right, so quotas even if Malay student gets only 2A's will be given scholarship to fulfil the quota? And non Malays account for 90% taxes paid? and ridicule the academic qualifications?

Sultan, we are ALL yr subjects arent we? so why now so "hostile" comments? Whats really the problem here? only UMNO knows
agree 285
written by joeawk, June 11, 2009 15:28:50
No one question the santity of the monarchy. However, we expect them to conduct themselves above politics.

By the same token, let it be reminded that as constitutional monarchs, they are governed by the same constitution like us all. Nowhere in the constitution, does it say that we are slaves and that we can be trampled upon.

agree 235
written by dkkl, June 11, 2009 15:29:18
what to do? This Sultan Perak is rather narrow minded and still living in the dark even the world has reached 21st century. The earth is turning from west to east.... the ONLY 'Malaysia Can' move from east to west....

Imagine having a Malay doctor with half past six to give you treatment. Better seek treatment in Singapore. At least they can be trusted. And the rest of the professional ppl will leave Malaysia for good.... Sad to say that... Perhaps, I I also should make a plan to migrate to Australia as well...
agree 182
written by NSTPravda, June 11, 2009 15:40:30
The sultan said practices which deviated from the principles of justice should not be allowed to take place because every legitimate citizen should be accorded appropriate justice.

Well said! Now walk the talk.....

Duitlah tuanku!
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif
agree 183
written by ylcc, June 11, 2009 15:43:58
"cause anxiety and drag the nation into a situation of uncertainty"
Ehmm ... your royal highness, with due respect, I think the line should be Perak is in a situation of uncertainty.
written by truthbespoken, June 11, 2009 15:55:20
We have a Sultan here who have turned hardliner! What say you?
agree 150
written by Maggie, June 11, 2009 16:07:55
All businessmen and professianal etc should have learnt by now how to do their tax planning, which is to minimise taxes payable. No point arguing on these issues as it will never comes to a meritocrasy conclusion. If a learned person can have such view, why future does the poor but smart non Malay students have? I am sure Spore would be more than happy to welcome them with scholarships.
Many years back, a group donated more than RM200M to a charity in Sabah to build a hospital for the poors instead of paying them as taxes.This got IRD very angry as donation then was tax deductible but now they limit it to 10% and & 7% of net taxes for comapanies and individuals respectively. This is a sample of tax planning you can do to help the non-privileged poors.
written by jchew, June 11, 2009 16:12:12
Say what he likes but the reality is if UMNO wants to clip Royals' wings again, they can. Power is under the UMNO, not Royals.
written by SimpleSoul, June 11, 2009 16:15:32
Bumiputeras in Sabah and Sarawak? Can i see the bumiputera from east m speak out here...
written by miwaki, June 11, 2009 16:18:52
How come after so many years of safe-guarding the interests of Malays and bumiputras in Sabah and Sarawak,these people are still considered under priviledged ? Does it means that UMNO/BN is not working hard enough to provide opportunities to these people or because these people refuse to accept goodies from our UMNO/BN government ?

It is amazing after so many years of safe-guarding and preferential treatment,these people are still being left behind in social standing.Something must be terribly wrong with the system or else this phenomenal wouldn't be happening.

Maybe we should change the government as the current one has proven again and again that it is incapable of uplifting the economic status of the malays and bumiputars in Sabah and Sarawak.The rakyat are fed up with excuses of the government as incompetent,corrupted and arrogant government can never be able to improve themselves,lest trying to help its citizens.
written by Counterpointer, June 11, 2009 16:19:36
DAULAT TUA...YAWN....Zzzzz.

agree 148
written by Hakim Joe, June 11, 2009 16:22:31
Look who's talking!
Next thing you know the other mouthpiece will be reiterating the same words.
Tiaulat Tuanku!

written by Ironman2, June 11, 2009 16:22:59
Many things are better let unsaid.
I felt that he is crying loud to every other races that they can only be treated equally only if Malaysia becomes republic.
Now we are sure that the royalties have to go before equality can be achieved. The oppositions have one more task to do if they take on power.
I hope much more effective than what DR.M have done.
written by jason, June 11, 2009 16:32:49
When a policy is out dated, what do you do with it? You change it, stupid!!. Just because you are allowed some previleges, doesn't mean you can keep it forever. You have to see things in the present tense. If leaders are afraid to implement changes
all non bumi will forever be enslave by Bumiputra. In this sense all Black American
will still be slave until today. Bloody idiot!.
written by educationist, June 11, 2009 16:34:49
"..said today any move which questions the interests of the Malays and Bumiputeras in terms of scholarships and places of study not only violates the fundamental provisions in the federal and state constitutions,but also questions the sovereignty of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and the Malay Rulers" - so looks like the iSA will be invoked soon!
I, for the life of me, can't see his reasoning , but of course I'm not supposed to.
He was the ex LP that threw an entire state into political impasse by his own special reasoning.
Where were the safeguards by the sultans and the Agong when the JPA scholarships were almost the exclusive ownership of one race?
written by Malaysian Heart, June 11, 2009 16:41:28
In the words of Patricia Roberts-Miller(http://www.drw.utexas.edu/roberts-miller/):

For democracy to work, people have to talk. For it to work well, we need to talk well. Or, in other words, a basic principle of democracy is that the ability of the general public to make appropriate decisions depends to a large degree on the quality of public discourse. The more that the public has the ability to argue together about issues of common concern, the more that the polis approaches the goal that political theorists have called "deliberative democracy." James Bohman has defined this goal: "In democratic deliberation, citizens address one another with their public reasons in the give and take of free and open dialogue." The goal of this discourse is not simply to impose one's will on others, nor to induce them (through bargaining or threats) to support one's policies, but to engage in a discourse "in which citizens and their representatives, going beyond mere self-interest and limited points of view, reflect on the general interest or on their common good."

Instead of encouraging such democratic discourse, HRH's speech seeks to stifle it. I wonder if those words are truly his, or as is sometimes the case in constitutional monarchies, the words of his Chief Minister & Government. We should determine this before assigning sole responsibility to HRH.
written by chronos, June 11, 2009 16:48:37
What else does the Rulers and Umno wants? You guys have taken money, land, titles, peoples' wife, property, equity, shares, posts and positions, university places, Corporate shareholdings, authority, and dignity. But,if you want my soul, I'll see you in HELL..........................................................
written by mypanida, June 11, 2009 16:56:35
He can go to hell and he is almost there !!!!
written by SocratesI, June 11, 2009 17:09:45

Loosely translated, this white haired syaitan talks a lot, but says nothing ! Sovereignty of the Rulers ?? Does he know who agreed to have Rulers in the 1st place ?? The Rakyat !! If the Rulers do not behave as expected of them, justly and in the SOLE interest of the Rakyat, does he think that the Rakyat will not REVIEW their position and roles in Malaysian society ?? It is always allowed for in Parliament with enough majority to enact new Laws and even through a referendum, come out with a new Constitution, so I would advice this silver haired gentleman to do his job without fear or favour, or face the consequences of his actions, whatever they may be. Or if he doesn't live long enough to see it, then his son surely will.

written by Kuku Burung, June 11, 2009 17:14:26
Brilliant! Well said! Cerdik! Pandai! Very wise! .... no I am not talking about you lah, dear sultan. smilies/grin.gif
written by tuahjebat, June 11, 2009 17:35:12
With all respect.....you will not have to go thru this HELL if you would have agreed to dissolved the Perak assembly and let the rakyat decide whom they want as their representative. Now you want to berak also no time man.!
written by AlwaysFair, June 11, 2009 17:38:11
(A)The Sultan of Perak... said today any move which questions the interests of the Malays and Bumiputeras in terms of scholarships and places of study not only violates the fundamental provisions in the ...but also questions the sovereignty of the ...Rulers.

(B)The sultan said practices which deviated from the principles of justice should not be allowed to take place because every legitimate citizen should be accorded appropriate justice.

I think you might be contradicting yourself. How?
Assuming there is 2 applicant for scholarship/study and one is Ahmad and one is Ah Kow. Both of them are equally meritorious. Everything being equal, to award Ahmad over Ah Kow based on skin-color would have been discriminating against Ah Kow.If another candidate Muthu is better than both of them don't you think Muthu will feel even more grieved? Afterall he is the best.

So in order to promote (A) safeguard the bumi interests you are promoting racism and injustice which contradict (B) where all should be fairly treated.

This is because racism and discrimination don't know where to draw the line and will become arbitrary and subject to abuses by people overzealous to implement it.
Another question is how about a convert to Muslim who will be regarded as bumi as a result his status is higher other non-malays? Have his merit increased in conversion?

We are not questioning the constitutional but the unfair and unjust implementation of it that sparked the public outcry from some whose rights you said should also be protected in (B)

Anyway the SPIRIT of the constitution was to improve the economic condition of the mostly poor malays back then and these laws are not meant to slavish but introduced for common good, and should be reviewed as and when required.

Or do you mean to say the royalty is above the law? That means a royalty who breaks the law eg. the Domestic Law by abusing his wife should not be prosecuted because he is a royalty? smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Loh, June 11, 2009 17:43:23
///He said Clause 2 of Article 153 of the Federal Constitution provided the King with specific powers to safeguard the interests of the Malays as well as the Bumiputeras in Sabah and Sarawak in terms of scholarships and places of study.

He also said that Article 27 (b) (2) of the Perak State Constitution provided a similar responsibility to the Sultan of Perak.

"These matters enshrined in the Federal Constitution and the state constitution are agreements achieved collectively in the spirit of give and take and the spirit of understanding and respect among the leaders representing the interests of the various races at the time of negotiating the nation's independence.

"The agreements were achieved among the leaders of the various races, the British government and also the Malay Rulers," he said when opening a Discourse on Knowledge at the Perak Islamic Administration Institute, here. Also present was the Raja Muda of Perak, Raja Dr Nazrin Shah.///

What was left unsaid was the article was to be reviewed after 15 years, in 1972. UMNO chose to remove the provision for a review, so the article 153 as it stands does not have the collective agreement of the forefathers.

Those who have the power can say anything, and those who has not the power has no use saying anything.

written by Sinewy, June 11, 2009 17:56:44
Can the oppressed and suppressed called on the responsible citizens of this country to pool whatever resources available to ensure that those who are deserving by merits but are deprived in terms of scholarships and education opportunities can have the means to progress.
written by SamYap, June 11, 2009 18:10:38
Not sure about you guys/gals, but I am very curious what RPK has to say about this statement.

My opinion is that the bluebloods are being made used by UMNO.

UMNO knows that everyone and anybody's son can whack them but if a blueblood says something like this, most people, even the most liberal of the Malays would shy away from criticising the bluebloods, otherwise....its derhaka!

Nice move by UMNO. Very dirty but a good move on the Malaysia's political chess board.
written by chiongguo, June 11, 2009 18:11:13
The constitution call for a reasonable quota be set for places in public tertiary education institution, scholarship, licenses and civil service. What many of us asked is that this "reasonable quota" be set so that all of us know the rule of the game. If the quota is not set then what we have is a civil service that is mostly from one particular race. Government linked companies are actually not part of the provision of this constitution and yet the hiring of people in such companies are also race-based. Would not this be over stretching the provision of the constitution ?

The very same article also forbade the setting of quota in business that will impede its development and yet NEP's implementation demanded such quota be set. As this article came under the responsibility of the sultan would it not be good in the name of justice and fairness that a word or two be given to the government of the day ?

written by Tompios, June 11, 2009 18:14:56
written by SimpleSoul, June 11, 2009 16:15:32
Bumiputeras in Sabah and Sarawak? Can i see the bumiputera from east m speak out here..
written by AlwaysFair, June 11, 2009 18:17:21
The current system based on other than merit alone can be unfair and prone to corruption and manipulation. How so?

Assuming I am the president of the Scholarship Committee (Of course a
Malay) and my "son" was one of the interviewees. He got 6As and a non-malay got 10 A's. Of course I can grant her the scholarship and easily justify it based on race.

That is why when the standards or criteria are colour-based and arbitrary there will definitely be plenty of room for corruption.
written by future, June 11, 2009 18:24:50
The non-malays says we lucky and on the other side they tell you the previlliged
Bumiputera rights.These days everybody is using the Malay either to promote or protect their political and personal interests.
Saya pun orang Melayu and what so special about it.My daughter did not get any scholarship even for her post graduate studies and for a sturdy loan you have to begged for it.
Enough is enough and stops all these craps.
written by eagle22, June 11, 2009 18:32:34
Sam Yap... U see... now RPK sudah merajuk !!!! Bro RPK... just give your

comments lah .... comeon lah ... dont lah be like this !!! ...
written by Shimshon, June 11, 2009 18:35:46

Without the nonMalay-nonMuslims, where would the socalled Malays(since most are Indons, inclgd. PM Najib the Bugis) be?

We pay more taxes, have much higher productivity -- and are "Goose that Lay the Golden Eggs!"

And what do we nonMalay-nonMuslim get in return??

More death threats ("Remember May 13? We'll kill you!") and "Tak suka M'sia keluar M'sia! Balik China! Balik India!"

The Dasar Ekonomi Baru is a 20-yr thing (1971-91) -- and is no more "baru" today. It was to bring up, advance the Melayus who're considered backward, and disadvantaged compared to the other races.

Of course, AT THE EXPENSE OF OTHER RACES! ...which was OK if this racist, apartheid policy had ended in 1991! But no!! It's a N.E.P., Never Ending Policy - of other races "laying the golden eggs", and the Melayu "kebas, rampas" everything! of "Lembu Punya Susu Sapi Dapat Nama", as Master-Slave thing forever!

The more the country progresses, the more the Malays see that the other races are stealing, ripping off the Malays of their rights and wealths.

Commonsense would make one note, that if the nonMalays were the poorer, backwards, would the Malays come up with a NEP/DEB to assist, provide for the nonMalays?? - A huge no!

The qualifications to enter universities, institutes of higher learning have been lowered and lowered to admit, accomodate more and more Melayus through the decades!! The nonMalays on the otherhand, have to pass the standard or high level of qualifications - and even that, he/she may not be easily accepted into the U.

Decades of ripping off, shortchanging us nonMalays! And and at the same time - we must "menabur jasa" to this (stupid/damn) "Malaysia Melayu Punya" country!

The original "Ketuanan Melayu" was never been questioned. But this is a case of Malays being parasites and freeloaders. Parasites live, survive by sucking of what's rightfully others! This is acting like the Malay-Muslim own the nonMalay-nonMuslims and their productivity!

When Dr M said, that the Malays pay 90% of the taxes - he of course meant also the nonMalays' highprodutivity, selfreliance, etc - as the Malays too pay their taxes. -- But the Malays since the NEP started till now, trillions of ringgit spent on them, MOSTLY OFF RECORD, including the money coming out in their ASB, ASN, loans taken don't have to be paid, or the govt pays for them, etc - and of course, mini or megaproject here and there - with and most of the money goes into certain individuals or companies' pockets!

As I mentioned a 2-3 before(since '0smilies/cool.gif, I'm no more patriotic!

You disowned me! You see the Chinese, Indians, etc you say, "Bangsa Asing" - and when you see the Indons you say, "Bangsa Serumpun". So - F**k you, Malay-Malaysia!

By the way, Azlan Shah. The terms 'raja, sultan' is Indian. So are the terms, 'Malai, Malaya'. The Indian contribution to Southeast Asia goes back 1500 yrs.

You stupid Malay sultans claim that you're the decendants of the greatgranddaughter, or greatgreatgranddaughter of Alexander the Great - and thus you're the decendands of Alexander the Great himself. But you *******s don't mention the Indian side of this lineage, just the Alexander the Great part!
So much hatred for the Indians!
written by Sutha, June 11, 2009 18:49:27
Rulers : Don't question our Sovereignty,
Umno : ......our Supremacy,
Crooks : ......the NEP,
Judisi : ......our judgements,
Polisi : ......our brutality,
MCA : ......our accounts,
MIC : ......our Maika AGM,
Gerakan: ......our senator post,
PPP : ......our two heads,
SoilLeg: ......whichever head,
MusaAmn: ......my $400 Million,
Rosie : ......$54o million,
Najis : ......Altantuya

written by SamYap, June 11, 2009 19:01:48

Goodnight and sleep well. smilies/wink.gif

written by rimaukl, June 11, 2009 19:05:52
Principles of justice? What principle?
It's really sad to see a figure head bend over and go with the flow of the current instead of standing up against what is wrong.
What's the point of giving scholarships and places to study when the foundation was not even done properly?
WHY, WHY, WHY are WE STILL FIGHTING FOR PLACES TO STUDY??? Philippines have a few hundred universities. How many have we? There's more than 30 in Manila alone!
written by Nice n Simple, June 11, 2009 19:23:44
We live in the 21st Century, not the 18th. There is no such thing as Malay Rights in any dictionary. It's either Right, Wrong or Maybe. There is a thing called Human Rights though, and fundamentally, it's a right of Equality and NOT Privilege.

So to those of you who don't seem to comprehend this, please re-enrol into school, preferably an English speaking one because the vocabulary is wider and therefore able to allow deeper penetration of the true meaning of certain words that may seem ambiguous when spoken in Malay.
written by Flex65, June 11, 2009 20:07:31
Yes........... even the Sultan is admitting that the Malays and Bumiputera are inferior to Non Bumi. I am proud to be a Chinese living in Malaysian because even the Sultan admitted that the Bumis cannot survive without help. It has been more than 50 years and the bumis still needs help. Wonder when they will grow up. To those new generation Malays and Bumis who are not afraid to treat everyone as equal please forgive me for having such view. If anyone to be blamed please look at the Sultan's comment.
written by hiro, June 11, 2009 20:31:38
As usual, it's likenot saying anything at all. BN will take the speech and blame Pakatan for questioning the rulers and Pakatan will turn it back on BN for abusing implementation of rights.

Can't the Sultan say it straight? Who's the criticism targeted at?
written by Fairminded, June 11, 2009 21:25:41
Yes, non Malays should stop questioning the rights of Malays, Bumis, Royalty etc but on the other hand we should also pay less taxes. Afterall, if the non Malays cannot have a fair share of the scholarships or university places then why should we pay taxes to support them. Minorities cannot support forever the majority. The Bumis should start paying more taxes so that we can save some money to send our children overseas to study or pay their fees in local universities. If the government dont look after us as citizens we will have to save enough to look after ourselves. Malays cannot have it both ways.
written by sara, June 11, 2009 21:45:40
Am I hearing, somebody is pissing in his sarung???????
What are you without the chinese income tax.For those who knows how to membanting tulang, they don't care about this article and that.But those had enjoyed living with other peoples money .......................
written by ganbing, June 11, 2009 21:51:21
After what happened in Perak, talking about justice for all and other high sounding phrases just doesn't resonate anymore.
written by Alice, June 11, 2009 21:56:23
God put us on earth to do what is right and we will all, one day be answerable to God.
God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can and
Wisdom to know the difference.

**And God please take care of RPK and family
written by Daryl, June 11, 2009 22:07:52
Dear Sultan of Perak
Thank you for putting the burden of the Constitution on our head. As much as I agreed that it is true but if you are well read Sultan you would know to sponsor a third class Malaysian student when you can sponsor a first class student is not the right thing to do. Is it better for our country and future. Are in this for the country or just 60% rakyat of the country? I respect you as a Sultan but now I know what is your view on the 40% of the rakyat even though it is done in the respect to the Constitution.
Constitution is something written by men and that is why they allow it to be changed with 2/3 majority. I love Malaysia but everyday its government and royalties give me another reason why I should stop caring.

Thank you
written by RFernandez, June 11, 2009 22:33:54
"The sultan said practices which deviated from the principles of justice should not be allowed to take place because every legitimate citizen should be accorded appropriate justice."

Who are the "legitimate citizens" of Malaysia mentioned above? Are the non-Malays non-Muslims born here also the legitimate citizens of Malaysia? UMNO/BN has certainly not been doing what the Sultan just mentioned.
written by JohnQ, June 11, 2009 22:47:47
Some bastards with Parkinson disease will say the same thing!

TUALA... tung ku ku chiau !

written by Semut Jantan, June 11, 2009 22:51:40
THE WHITE HAIRED DUDE STILL DOESN'T GET IT.

SIGH........
written by Guess, June 11, 2009 23:07:15
What the shame......
Those not Malay with Malaysia IC not your Rakyat, those ppl paid you TAX every year not your Rakyat, those ppl fight together against Japanese not your Rakyat?? This is totally biasing...and politics.

Are we iban, india, chinese and all other the Malays MUST stand one side?? or one way to do is print this "Don’t question sovereignty of rulers for Malay/Bumiputera" in tax book for all level education in Malaysia (front page, better). Everyday student's for those non-Malay, Non-Bumiputera and those ppl has been CUT (don't think yourself as Malay, you are not Malay ok) read one time bfr and after school start from as young as possible. will it be better?? Don't need to every times remind us.. Agree??
written by bexe, June 11, 2009 23:32:26
Last week he said he won't comment on political issues so why is he making political speeches?
written by Ulan Benson, June 11, 2009 23:33:55
Before you start talking...ask yourself, who pays for your food, your kids education, your big big mansions, your luxury cars, your holidays, your wives etc.

The Raykat has to work their butt off to pay all your expensive bills!.
Be grateful to those who feed you. smilies/cool.gif
written by Ron, June 11, 2009 23:46:31
Is this speech written again by umno ?
written by fireduck, June 11, 2009 23:52:16

Practices which deviated from the principles of justice ..... uh huh, whatever you say. Your sense of justice and the rakyat's, are in different dimensions, I guess. Somehow, I can't seem to align yours and our sense of justice, so they have to be on totally different planes.

And your royal Highness' words seem to ring out loud and clear,.... as if in a huge empty hall or container... you know the sound? Hollow! It will continue to sound hollow when you can make speeches like these, yet not able give your subjects, the rakyat, a proper explanation for your decision regarding the change of MB. A simple explanation from your perspective could have and would have avoided the 'burning' of Perak's constitutional integrity. I'm not even asking for the dissolution of the state assembly, but just an explanation from your royal Highness, which till today could not be made known. So, like you said, every legitimate citizen should be accorded appropriate justice, and in this case, being properly informed and explained to, is the appropriate justice which we rakyat are seeking.
written by Richfyf, June 11, 2009 23:55:27
If we cant beat them lets join them.All non muslim na dnon malay should just convert to muslim and delcare our business bankrupt. That way we are all equal as the bumiputra.

If all non bumiputra are not making profit in business in this country then we all are equal and we dont have to question each others right...

Just wonder how the leaders and rulers gonna get their allowance ...
written by gorshan, June 11, 2009 23:58:43
i think besides the Raja-Raja and the Maharajahs(UMNO), all other Malaysian wants to see changes to the so called social contract status quo. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by bugisman, June 12, 2009 00:16:07
in thailand we have the king visit the slumps and areas when disasters happened...

in malaysia we have 9 kings 1 king of the kings and plus 3 more governors... have we ever heard any of them visited the victims or whenever disasters strikes??

when that happens... we shall start to clean our ear wax to fit one or two words into our head...till then...the ears are only for beyonce knowles "halo"...
written by Kampong, June 12, 2009 00:59:05
In accordance with the role of the throne as the source of justice, it is also the responsibility of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and the Rulers in every state to ensure that the legitimate interests of the other races are also safeguarded," he said.

The sultan said practices which deviated from the principles of justice should not be allowed to take place because every legitimate citizen should be accorded appropriate justice

Tuanku, the majority Malays and the other races feel they have been cheated their legitimate government by the BN. So when are your highness going to disolve the assembly? Bikin tak macam cakap.
written by donplay, June 12, 2009 03:37:27
Dear HRH

No one is questioning the rights of the Malays or the sultans or the Agung.

But if the Minister announced in Parliament that the ratio of scholarships awarded would be 55%:45% and the Civil Servants at the PSD highjacked the system and awarded 80%:20%, the whole nation has the right to demand and explanation. Either the Minister has to go or the Civil Servants!!

This has nothing do with Malay rights, the Sultans or the Agung, but about who sets policies and who is employed to execute those policies without question and playing politics or being racist!!

written by Mark C, June 12, 2009 09:30:07
This has got to be the biggest joke, whichever way anyone wants to look at it, be it a layman, be it racist 'Dacings' politican, be it royalty; awarding scholarships to unqualified and undeserving students only perpetuates the problem, not solve it.

Investing in education or K economy is the first step towards a mature and developed society. Having a bigger proportion of bumis of melayu origin doesn't do jack shiet for the country let alone the race. In fact it is detrimental in the long run, producing substandard, pampered and uncompetitive so called 'graduates' that any industry will shun and then what? Raise taxes to feed them via more employment in the already bloated civil service?

This is not called helping, this is call cursing them. It's well known that to help a person, it's never good to supply him with fish, it's prudent and makes more sense to teach him how to fish.

Affirmative action is the road map to disaster, not progress.
written by zviivz, June 12, 2009 16:25:32
I only have one thing to say - he's seriously out of touch! Affirmative action for the majority will make everyone look stupid. Are you so crippled that you need to be fed? Go back home and play hockey la ...
written by Sutha, June 12, 2009 18:34:24
Go ahead.... Go ahead and give 100% scholarships, university and public college seats, citizenship, employment opportunities, business licenses, APs, tenders and contracts, subsidies, royalties, Amanah Saham investment opportunities etc to the Malays.

It is unquestionable special privilege as stated in the constitution. And as rulers, you got to protect these interests 100%. Forget about the natives in Sabah & Sarawak. Just take care of the Malays, there. Otherwise, your god may m=not forgive you.

But when you need taxes to fund these, don't forget to ask us, ya? After all, we are suckers, aren't we? We can even pay for you to golf around, kill caddy, rape and cut teenager's chest with razor, and even pay for your sex rendevous in spain, can't we?

By the way, "Raja" is not halal enough. Change it to "Khalifa" as appropriate, when you can.

Have a great time, ok? Yeah, that is my middle finger! We love you.