Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow English and us

English and us PDF Print
Thursday, 11 June 2009 11:49

I am a third year medical student currently studying in Universiti Malaya. As we read and hear about the endless wars over the issue of the English Language and our education system, I would like to give a student's perspective on this issue.

I come from an SJK primary school, attended a government secondary school and completed the local matriculation course before entering university.

I realise that those who do prefer less English in the education system are afraid that the Malay language will suffer. However, as a student, our official language - the status or importance of Bahasa Malaysia has never been threatened. It is and will always be our national language and I am proud of that. But it is not sufficient to only learn Bahasa Malaysia and neglect the other languages. 

And English is becoming a necessity if a country would want to ride on the wave of globalisation. Taking a walk down memory lane, we have Za'ba (Tan Sri Dr. Haji Zainal Abidin bin Ahmad) that was known as the "peneroka tatabahasa Melayu" or the founder of Malay grammar. The Malay literature that he wrote is being used till this very day. His museum (Teratak Za'ba) in Bahau is a memorial of his contribution to this nation. As we look at his education background, we discover that he was the first Malay from Negeri Sembilan to complete his Senior Cambridge. The museum contains beautiful letters between him and his children, written in English, Malay and Arabic.

Tunku Abdul Rahman, in his fight for independence would not have made it had he not mastered the English Language. Ambassadors and diplomats to foreign countries have to be able to speak English in order to communicate with other nations. The tourism industry in Malaysia would collapse without the English language.

Do we consider Za'ba or Tunku less of a Malaysian, less patriotic, or less united? Surely not! They were, in fact among the many reasons that Malaysia exists today. I daresay that the English language was one of the key tools to our independence and our development right till today. To neglect the English language will only push us backward.

We must realise that Malaysia is a multi-cultural country with over a hundred ethnicities and is therefore a multi-lingual country. Trying to unite races with one language alone is like trying to fit a round peg into a square hole. It will never work. Entering first year in university, we were shocked to see students mixing according to their ethnicity; the main dividing factor being our language of communication. Only a small group of students that spoke more than one language fluently would consist of different races. We all know the importance of inter-cultural understanding in unity; but how are we going to achieve that by only learning one language?

I say all this not to bring down the Malay language but to remind us that it is our duty as a responsible Malaysian citizen to improve ourselves in every way we can - including learning the other languages. To make passing english compulsory to pass SPM; to teach science and math in english - is a first step in the right direction.

Timothy Cheng, Director of the Unity and Community Affairs Bureau

Student Representative Council 2008/2009, Universiti Malaya

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by HamChak, June 11, 2009 11:55:56
I like to Congratulate you Timothy for your clear thinking aloud.
YES, English is VERY important but does the Politicians have the
forte to do it?
written by LucidMind, June 11, 2009 12:04:13
I think that the "fear" of English is baseless and counter-productive. English is becoming the "World's SECOND language". Meaning other cultures with their own mother tongue can adopt English as their second language while not forgetting their own.

This is a trend that can be seen across the globe from India, China, Africa, Middle East, Eastern Europe, Japan and so on. In fact, there are proposals for a simplified version of English to be developed for non-native speakers so that it is easier to learn and it facilitates communication among cultures(and thus all the benefits that comes with it).

Unless Malaysia is going towards isolation, otherwise it is only wise to learn English. It is said that by the next decade, China will have the most English speaker in the world and India is known to be well versed in English. I don't see them loosing their native culture at all. Shouldn't we be humble enough to learn from those two giants?
written by wood, June 11, 2009 12:09:43
Timothy Cheng, you have done an excellent job to let us know what you think. Hopefully more of others will read it.
written by Tompios, June 11, 2009 12:14:09
"Entering first year in university, we were shocked to see students mixing according to their ethnicity; the main dividing factor being our language of communication."

English anyway cannot unite us in any local university. But, I agree with you that English is important, again VERY IMPORTANT than Arabic's accent . smilies/grin.gif

Sabah and Sarawak suppose to be an English medium states. You UMNO full of contradictions. 20 Agreements of Malaysia formation clearly stated that Sabah official language is English. You UMNO leaders have secret agendas! You afraid that English will pollute Malaysian thinking with Christianity words expression. Yes, that is what happened in Sabah. Abolishing English to Bahasa Melayu will indirectly help to scrape down Christianity's influence over Sabahans.

Tak cukupkah?

written by Msian Idol3, June 11, 2009 12:24:33
Timothy, you are going to be an excellent Dr. Where else would you acquire the latest info on medicine if not for English. Well, isn't it true that Dr's are always using english in the internet to research & reinforced their diagnostic skills worldwide. Yes, I speak more english than Bahasa & Chinese put together, but I am not less Chinese nor less Msian. If we want Msia to be in the league of a knowledge economy as well as higher standard of living, we got to be better equipped in English.
written by Oscar Winner, June 11, 2009 12:29:05
Here we go again.

If you look at the UMNO leaders like Muhammad Muhammad and a host of others who are not proficient in Engllish, they will pee in their pants when you ask them to give a speech in English off the cuff. Therefore, these bunch of goons will not support English Language. They will defend BM just to show the Malays that they are patriotic and therefore must be voted into parliament to defend Ketuanan crap.

In a nutshell, it's all about greed for more power and position for themselves. They don't have the rakyat and the nation's interest at heart

written by volkswagen, June 11, 2009 12:29:45
Our main problem is that, many of our English teachers could not write and speak proper English. We have to solve this problem first. The urban schools are always being given the priority to get good English teachers, but in rural schools the English teachers are far off the standard.
written by MalaysianIAm, June 11, 2009 12:36:52
dragonheart,

France, Italy, Germany are developed countries. They can talk about national identity, like how a man who has a secure income can discuss higher level ideas like justice and equality. Same for China, the emerging economic powerhouse. Arabs are rich because of oil, so they can use the wealth of earth as leverage. India? Are you kidding me? Do you know how many Indian students there are all over the world who speak good English? As for the Thais and Indons, I have no idea how patriotic they are. But look at where Indonesia is economically. If everyone speaks Malay and only Malay I don't know what we have to leverage our position in the global marketplace. The developing nation has to learn the lingua franca; that's just the way it is. Remember zaman kegemilangan Melaka and what the lingua franca was (at least according to our sejarah books)?

And Msian Idol3, just to point something out respectfully. Rooting for English doesn't necesarily make Timothy a future excellent doctor.
written by Batangkali, June 11, 2009 12:41:35
As a Malay parent, I have send all my children to mission schools and they did not become Christian. We still speak Bahasa at home mixed with English.

All my children are overseas stuying and some working in U.S., and U.K.

I myself was educated in a English school & it did not make me any less malay, it opened my eyes to lots of injustice, corruption and bad behaviour of politicians and rulers.

The main problem English is dispense it that UMNO goons have gone round telling the Malay rakyat how bad " Orang puteh " language is, while they send their children to English schools. The politicians wants to keep the Malay rakyat under control and stay in power, utilising race, religion, malay language as a tool to keep the malay in voting for UMNO. Ketuanan Melayu, the hegemonius nature of UMNO over other are sickness of the politicians and rulers from losing powers.

Smart malays are not afraid of learning English and know UMNO goons' tactics.
written by wongnoball, June 11, 2009 12:52:57
Timothy

Well said and Welcome to the World of Submission, Politics, race, racism religion, Dhimi mind set of the UMNO Regim Ganas Kejam.

You will also note that for 51 years Malaysia lagged all the Developed Asia countries. All because we Malaysian have tolerated the EVILS of UMNO-BN. Only one solution is to Bankrupt and Obliterate UMNO-BN. Do your little bit by moving money to foreign banks, think conciously that whatever little you buy is it going to benefit this Racist UMNO regime or not!! Forget about the accomadating ideology of UNITY Crap Government, share power....Evil and Good cannot mix just as Progress and Corruption cannot be mixed. Otherwise the End result are Glaringly Obvious..... Do we see a FREE MEDIA and Freedom of Speech respected in Malaysia?? Now you know why the need of Sedition and ISA.....in fear of losing the Billions of Corrupted money!
written by Oscar Winner, June 11, 2009 13:08:04
Hi Batangkali,

Agreed. You just proved my point in my comments above. Thanks. I think all other comments are centred round what you have said, ie UMNO goons' tactics to stay in power

written by orangsabah, June 11, 2009 13:11:45
Please put politics aside.

A language is not something that needs to be politicized.
Why are we debating if a certain language is good for you and the other is not good.
Be it English, Bahasa Melayu, Bahasa Cina, Bahasa India etc; we all learn it to be more educated.
So why the big fuss about which language is to be learned?
written by quietguy, June 11, 2009 13:16:41
I agree that good command of English is important. However, I don't agree in teaching of Maths and Science in English. I simply do not see the correlation and I do not believe putting the cart before the horse will improve the overall educational standard of our students.
written by budakindia, June 11, 2009 13:21:02
We can't stop people from being stupid right? Why bother commenting on a bunch
of stupid people who can't read, write and speak proper English? And we are expecting liberalism in education! Hahahaha! Dream on! I was just wondering why they are hell bent on the communists when they are worst than them. smilies/angry.gif What a BS country!
written by wali10, June 11, 2009 13:30:14
The arab world ia speaking english besides arabic, but we are neglecting english. India and Pakistan 's atandard of english is admirable and the language is widespread in thier countries. Hongkong, Philipines, China - all gave 'AYE' to english. Singapore and Brunei also gave an 'AYE'. Majority of world leaders speak english/french. And so are the african countries. YES, Malaysia needs not only english but QUEENS ENQLISH as a medium to stand proud in this globalised era!
written by KM Wong, June 11, 2009 14:10:34
Dragonheart
Reading your post in English just shows the root of the problem. You cannot write English to save your life. If you want to live in your hole, just do it and let others who want to progress do so. Maybe you can later crawl out of your hole and live in the trees as your measure of progress.
written by SSC, June 11, 2009 14:49:55
I must say that you write well. Expressing your views on the English agenda is important to make others realize the importance of it. However, i do hope you focus on the bigger issue in University Malaya Medical Faculty which is RACISM!
written by Ben Nordin, June 11, 2009 15:31:32
Well said. smilies/smiley.gif
written by renoir, June 11, 2009 15:39:55
quietguy wrote:
>I agree that good command of English is important. However, I don't agree in teaching of Maths and Science in English. I simply do not see the correlation and I do not believe putting the cart before the horse will improve the overall educational standard of our students.]]

Exactly! You learn English by having English lessons, not by teaching maths and science in the English language. This relates to - in learning theory - as the specificity of skills.
written by Tongkat Pak Ali, June 11, 2009 16:36:43
The major problem with the teaching of English Languages or Science and Mathematics in English is not only caused by the Teachers them selves of whom is not fluent enough or not mastering the languages by heart and mind…… but………The Malaysian English Syllabus itself is so unfriendly and uneasy to master by the young school children and what more the toddlers………..Most of the excellence student who master the English Languages well starts from their own parent initiatives at home…………I have seen how a couple of school teacher (my wife brother in-laws) only allowed their children to speak English languages in their house……. And they only allowed their children to speak their own languages (Orang Ulu) during the Christmas Celebration at their Grandparents longhouses………I have seen also how my Malay Perak Colleague’s wife keep on scolding their children at home whenever their offspring’s speak Bahasa among themselves…………But when you come to a family of fishermen or farmers in the rural areas…….Who they themselves don’t understand much about English even though they got “SRP” or third grade “SPM” ……..Do you expect them to enrolled their children for English Tuition Classes in the Town since their earned of living is barely enough to feed all of their family???........I dare to challenge anyone to come to Sarawak Rural School and give me data and numbers where more than 5% of their student can Score 5 ‘A’ (including English, Science and Mathematics) especially in Iban, Penan and Orang Ulu Areas………and I dare for them to come to Sabah Rural Areas (especially Kadazan Dusun areas) and find the School that can score above 5% Grade 5 ‘A’ passes in PMR…….Do you believe if I told you that I have learned my English Languages by reading Comics (Superman, Batman, X-men, Hulk, etc)in my Primary One to Primary Three time’s and then advanced to Novels like The Famous Five (by Enid Blyton and etc) in My Primary Five Upwards?……Since most of my younger days I stayed in the Army Quarters…..So don’t expect to meet a friends of yours (Malay, Indian, Iban, Bidayuh, Chinese)who can speak English during your playtime……..And I was lucky because during that time, the English Comics is not that expensive as it is now……Even “MAD” magazine is so expensive nowadays that I cant buy it on a regular basis…….So…….To All Malaysian Great Leaders in the West Malaysia………..Please….Please…..Please…..Look and care after all these poor and common people who vote for you in the rural areas (Sabah & Sarawak) since most of the town areas (West Malaysia) decides not to select you and your comrades at all……Otherwise third children will vote against you since they cant found any good jobs since Bahasa Malaysia becomes a compulsory subjects……Or Am I am Wrong???............Then tell me and give me proof……….Thank you!!!
written by renoir, June 11, 2009 17:15:19
Typo here:
>This relates to - in learning theory - as the specificity of skills.]

Should delete "as":
>This relates to - in learning theory - the specificity of skills.]

Of course, while more English classes is the key, we still need qualified teachers and that's the achilles heel in the whole system. BN has sunk our educational levels to such an extent that it would take decades to see real improvements.
written by sarawakian, June 11, 2009 21:49:59
Indonesia has a population of over 200 million i believe. China already has billions and India is heading towards that mark as well.

they don't NEED to trade with other countries if they don't want to. they have enough internal consumption to swallow up what they can produce.

we in Malaysia have only some 27 million people. if we don't go internationally or attract foreigners here, we're screwed.

written by timothy cheng, June 12, 2009 01:29:27
Wah lau. So many comments.
Sorry cannot reply all. Here goes.

MalaysianIAm: Precisely! What good is a lousy doctor with great english. =P

The rest: (yes I am tired of replying one by one already. =P)
Let's not get too worked up about it.
It is true that putting the horse in front of the cart would not work. Teaching science and math in english/making english a compulsory pass for SPM will not really help students if they do not WANT to learn the language. But at least they have that exposure.

Also let's not comment on other people's grammar/vocabulary/command of english over here. Everyone's learning. =)

Finally:
We can argue about english, UMNO, politics and what not the the cows come home. (with the donkeys and kangaroos) And nothing gets done, except maybe increased electricity and internet bills. =P

Let's just fulfill our responsibility of voicing out (as the government is open to public feedback) and leave the decision to those up there. And ACCEPT it, whatever it may be. =P..Whatever the outcome, we are Malaysians, and will always be Malaysians. And every Malaysian has a responsibility to serve the country. However horrible it may seem to that Malaysian. (or you can choose to migrate. which I don't totally agree with. =P)

I'm sure our patriotism and love for our nation extends far beyond the english language, goons (which is not a very nice word =P), political party or whatever. Right? =)

Negaraku
Tanah tumpahnya darahku.

Timothy.
written by timothy cheng, June 12, 2009 11:31:18
apasalahku: sponsored by taxpayers money hmm. firstly are you sure it's 70%? and not 80%? =P. And secondly ALL the local university courses are sponsored by taxpayers money. Thirdly, egoistic? True, I do have a problem with that sometimes. =) Fourth, it's the responsibility of all Malaysians to voice out. And not remain silent. Who said anything about politics? I never mentioned politics (or brought up goons and the lot) I am merely responding to the government's call for public response. =)

Rhan: I will try to reply whoever I can lor. =P
Me? I speak the three languages, Malay, Mandarin and English. Of course at different levels of fluency. I am saying language is the main dividing factor simply because it IS. Come to any local university, or observe a bit and you will realise what I mean. I see the reluctance of the Chinese to mix with the Malays because they can't speak Malay well; the Malays don't mix with the Chinese because some Chinese have the "courtesy" to babble away in Mandarin in front of them...and so on. My Malay friends who speak all three languages well have no problem mixing around.
Multi-lingualism, my friend. Multi-lingualism.
True, maybe I don't have a brain (the next time I do an MRI I'll check)...but I can still think somehow. =)
written by renoir, June 12, 2009 14:00:45
>It is true that putting the horse in front of the cart would not work. Teaching science and math in english/making english a compulsory pass for SPM will not really help students if they do not WANT to learn the language. But at least they have that exposure.]]

"Having that exposure" is a rather poor excuse for bad policies. In the first instance - teaching maths and science in English as currently practised - isn't educationally sound. Making English a compulsory pass for SPM, however, WOULD motivate a significant number of students, as it affects their future.

>Also let's not comment on other people's grammar/vocabulary/command of english over here. Everyone's learning]]

No, it's ok to comment, but not to belittle writers like you. That's why I refrain from noting the many grammatical errors in your article. Readers should remember, however, that in most respectable American colleges, more than three such errors would fetch an "F" in freshman English).

written by timothy cheng, June 13, 2009 00:19:04
Hmm. True. The compulsory pass thingy makes more sense than the science and math in english. But going back and forth from BM-BI-BM will only waste time and money.

Yeah but a few comments ago there was some belittling going around I think. =P
grammatical errors? yeah..true. It was early morning..left it for the editors to do it. Precisely why I'm not doing freshman english in an American college. Your corrections are very much welcome though. =)
written by Fart Fart Wah, June 13, 2009 01:38:44
If you politicise Education you get dumbos and idiots ( meaning politicians who are pea-brained) They formulate laws following the herd instinct and to get the majority support to stay in power.

Our politicians and civil servants do not think as said by someone.." do not think what your country can do for you but what you can do for your country""

In Malaysia bolehland...it is what I can put into my pocket first...

And as a result we have a long line of politicians who change the education policies like a woman menstruating every month...and we end up with our children carrying bags that even the Arabian Camels would not want to carry.

and we have gurubesars--who no speak English..and can carry 4 million AU dollars our of the country..

and we have politicians wives, sisters and brothers who suddenly become book publishers and push all kinds of books into schools which end of the year remains untouched that will make it to the libarary for referencing.

and we have professors in MU who dish our PHD's by suddenly becoming proficientin English and when approached to explain it...say you tahu sudah lah..

and they make unwritten laws that the chancellors or vice or departments heads must be Malays who hardly know where angkor wat is and when asked..are blur and claim that MU is an apex U..and they ask Angkor Wat??? No I do not drink angkor beer lah...it is haram..

and it bolehland they make a circle and rediscuss this issue on English..on an on an on and on and on and on and on again

Only in bolehland can this happen..