Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Remember ‘Yes Minister’?

Remember ‘Yes Minister’? PDF Print
Wednesday, 10 June 2009 16:00

The civil service is the enemy in the blanket. The civil service is Umno’s running dog. The civil service is a Trojan Horse. The civil service is throwing spanners into the works. The civil service is putting sand in the rice-bowl. (Need more clichés?) And Tan Sri Khalid is fiddling while Rome is burning. (Yet another cliché.)

My favourite satire back in my younger days was ‘Yes Minister’, which later went on to become ‘Yes Prime Minister’ when the actor in that series got ‘promoted’ to prime minister. Of course, next year, I am going to be 60. So when I talk about ‘my younger days’ I really mean my younger days. Those of you still wet behind the ears have probably never heard of this British TV series.

Now, why is it called a satire and not a comedy show? It is a comedy show. But satires are normally comedy shows that make fun of reality. For example, if we satire an Umno meeting, we show every ‘leader’ driving up in BMWs or Mercedes Benzes wearing bush jackets and with so much money stuffed into their bulging pockets that the surplus ‘tercicir’ as they walk into the room. (Tercicir could be read as falling out, dribbling, scattered around, etc.)

‘Yes Minister’ was a satire of the UK government at work. And it shows that the civil service runs the country and the politicians must take care of the civil service if they want to survive. It also shows the civil service as devious and manipulative while the politicians are a bit slow in the head and most times naïve.

In one dialogue, the junior civil servant asks the senior civil servant as to who runs the country if not the politicians. “Heavens no. It would be disastrous to allow the politicians to run the country. The civil service runs the country of course. But we have to make the politicians feel like they are running the country.”

That would be what I would call a satire because that is how it really works in real life and making fun of reality is what satires are all about.

I remember a certain episode that is still fresh in my mind that happened not long after April 1999 when Parti Keadilan Nasional (the forerunner to Parti Keadilan Rakyat) was formed.

Just to digress a bit. I met Anwar Ibrahim in court back in 1998 where he requested my help. Anwar wanted me in the Research & Development team, which was basically a psy-war unit. Our job was to plan how to attack Umno and Barisan Nasional and keep them constantly on the move so that they would have no time to attack the opposition since they would be too busy defending themselves.

Anyway, back to that episode I spoke about.

I was travelling through the East Coast states to assess whether the opposition could retain Kelantan and add Terengganu to the list of states under opposition control and whether we can dent Umno bad enough in Pahang, in particular in Pekan where Najib Tun Razak would be contesting.

I found Kelantan quite safe. The Kelantan state civil servants I spoke to appeared very supportive of PAS. Some of them were my old schoolmates and they had nothing but good things to say about PAS. I did not need to spend too much time in Kelantan. Even the kaki gedebeh I spoke to were supportive of Nik Aziz, the Kelantan Chief Minister.

“If even people like us support Tok Guru,” they said in Malay, “how can PAS lose?” ‘People like us’ meant thugs or gangsters who do not pray and are involved in all sorts of illegal things including murder.

In Terengganu I met with the same response. The instant I walked into the government departments the civil servants told me, “Don’t waste your time in Terengganu. Go back to KL. PAS is going to win big in Terengganu with a landslide victory.”

And the opposition did win. It won all eight Parliament seats and 28 of the 32 state seats. Not all were PAS seats though. The Parliament seat of Kemaman was won by Parti Keadilan. And Tok Guru Haji Hadi Awang graciously introduced the new Terengganu state government as the Barisan Alternatif government and not the PAS government. And he instructed that this would be how the state government would be addressed -- the BA government of Terengganu.

I thought that this was jolly nice of him. Parti Keadilan won only one Parliament seat and no state seats. Yet he still wanted the state government to be known as a BA rather than PAS government.

The opposition did not do that well in Pahang though. But at least Najib was defeated in Pekan. Najib lost by about 1,800 votes. But then, after the counting of the votes had ended, they brought in 2,000 postal votes and announced that Najib had won by 200 votes instead.

But never mind. We all know that Najib lost the election in 1999 and that means he should actually not be the Prime Minister today because he was an illegal Cabinet Minister from 1999 to 2004. And in 2003 he was appointed Deputy Prime Minister when he should not have even been a Member of Parliament.

That is why Najib was not called Wakil Rakyat but Wakil Pos. Zambry in Perak is called Wakil Mahkamah.

Not long after the opposition won Terengganu, Tun Dr Mahathir cancelled the oil royalty that was due to the state. This happened merely a few months after November 1999. Suddenly the state lost RM600 million a year in revenue -- what the oil royalty was then; now it is about RM1 billion a year.

It cost about RM600 million a year to run the state and the oil royalty sort of just covered that. The state government had to quickly look into a cost reduction exercise and it managed to bring its RM600 million a year cost down to just RM300 million. That was a 50% drop in expenses.

Next they needed to look into where to get RM300 million a year to pay for the cost of running the state. The new BA state government had already abolished toll charges and council taxes. This means these two revenue sources were now gone. Nevertheless, they managed to find RM300 million a year to cover the running cost of the state while the RM600 million oil royalty -- that increased to RM800 million and later to RM1 billion -- went to Umno, in particular to Idris Jusoh, the head of Umno Terengganu.

But this meant there would be no development. The RM300 million ngam-ngam paid for the running cost of the state. There would also be no outstation trips or overtime for the civil servants. The state could not afford to pay the civil servants any ‘claims’. And in the past the claims used to be higher than their salaries. In fact, the civil servants could not afford to live just on their salaries alone. They needed the extra income from their claims to survive.

So they resorted to selling cakes and cookies after office hours to supplement their income. But if everyone were to sell cakes and cookies then who is buying? It was an absolute sellers market. There were not many buyers.

I started getting feedback from Terengganu that the civil servants are not happy and that they are thinking of giving the state back to Umno. I triggered the alarm bells but my pompous asshole of a boss pooh-poohed my report. “Not only is Terengganu secure, but we shall be adding Pahang and Kedah to the list of states under opposition control,” he told me.

I disagreed and told him so. And that was not the first disagreement we had. I had earlier disagreed with how the party was handling the seat negotiations with PAS and DAP. And when he told me that Parti Keadilan would probably be ‘going solo’ in the elections and will engage BN, PAS and DAP in three- or four-corner fights, I suggested he just close down our department and we all go home. “We are wasting our time,” I told him. “We shall be defeated and not only lose the election but lose all our deposits as well.”

It came to a stage that he refused to speak to me direct and had to use a middleman to pass me messages. Immediately after the November 1999 general election he gave me 24 hours notice and told me to pack my things and get out. Wow! I had never been sacked in my life, at least not with 24 hours notice, and that hurt like mad.

Anyway, Anwar Ibrahim knew that the seat negotiation was falling apart and that the party was talking about three- and four-corner fights so he asked someone else to take over. This person knew about my quarrel with my boss and he called me over to ask me what the issue was about. I told him and also told him why I felt they were handling the seat negotiation the wrong way. This new chap managed to salvage the negotiations and the opposition went into the 1999 general election as BA although there were some isolated cases of three-corner fights when the boys on the ground disagreed with the choice of candidate.

But that is again digressing so let us get back to the story of Terengganu. The civil servants were not happy. In 1999 they gave the state to the opposition. But this has resulted in a big dent in their income. Now they are suffering, financially. In 2004 they would give the state back to Umno. And they did. The opposition was practically wiped out in the March 2004 general election.

The civil service has that power to make and break governments and there is much truth in that British TV series, ‘Yes Minister’.

Perak is another case in point. When the civil servants from the State Secretary down to the office boy work with Umno, the Pakatan Rakyat state government can easily be removed from office. They can lock up the Menteri Besar’s room and refuse to allow him to enter. They can physically carry the Speaker and throw him out of the State Assembly like a sack of potatoes. They can lock the gates to the State Secretariat building and ban the opposition state assemblypersons, even the Menteri Besar and Speaker, from getting in.

Yes, watch the satire ‘Yes Minister’ if you have not already done so. The civil service can bring down the government. And they can bring down the Selangor state government if they want to. And rest assured they are working behind the scenes to ensure that Selangor falls back into the hands of Barisan Nasional.

Give Pakatan Rakyat a chance, many argue. Give Tan Sri Khalid more time, they plead. It is not fair to expect so much in just one year when Barisan Nasional has been running this country for more than 50 years.

I have no problems with giving the opposition even ten years. After all, Barisan Nasional was given 50 years so why not the opposition be given ten years? But the problem is not me. I am only one vote. The opposition was only a one-term government in Terengganu. It appears like it is also going to be a one-term government in Selangor.

The civil service helped bring down the Pakatan Rakyat government in Perak. Say what you like: the two PKR Wakil Rakyat crossed over, Hee crossed over, and whatnot. But if the civil service had not locked the doors on Pakatan Rakyat and opened the back door for Barisan Nasional to walk in they could not have brought the state government down.

The same thing is happening in Selangor. The civil service is the enemy in the blanket. The civil service is Umno’s running dog. The civil service is a Trojan Horse. The civil service is throwing spanners into the works. The civil service is putting sand in the rice-bowl. (Need more clichés?) And Tan Sri Khalid is fiddling while Rome is burning. (Yet another cliché.)

Unless Tan Sri Khalid wakes up and realises that he is being surrounded by wolves in sheep’s clothing, expect Selangor to go back to Barisan Nasional in the not too distant future.

Comments (59)Add Comment
written by JinJangJoe, June 10, 2009 16:23:38
Yes YM RPK, Sigh! Why politicians never listen to the truth, even if is, for their own good? It look as the though the devil's 52 year old 'grip' will continue to haunt the rakyaats. GOD SAVE OUR KING AND NATION.
written by educationist, June 10, 2009 16:25:53
Well, let it not be said that PKR Selangor has not been warned!
agree 119
written by sydput, June 10, 2009 16:29:00
I've told many times before that anwar is useless. Good to know that rpk agreed with me on this.
UMNO guys sits in PKNS and its subsidiaries as that is the business arm of selangor state.
disagree 17
written by malaysianohope, June 10, 2009 16:30:51
So if Khalid is incompetent then AI should do the right thing but perhaps Selangor may not be the same as Terengganu since it is financially stronger & more diversified than the turtle state.
written by Clive, June 10, 2009 16:48:21
It's actually happened in Kelantan when Tok Guru Nik Aziz take over Kelantan. However, the mind set from Kelantan and Selangor are different, and the difference are Selangor Trojan Horse as compared to the previous worms in Kelantan. Hello, Mr. Khalid are you still fall into the honeymoon period???? Wake up.
written by Littlebird, June 10, 2009 16:50:14
Quote"..I triggered the alarm bells but my pompous ******* of a boss pooh-poohed my report" and "And when he told me that Parti Keadilan would probably be ‘going solo’ in the elections and will engage BN, PAS and DAP in three- or four-corner fights, I suggested he just close down our department and we all go home. “We are wasting our time,” I told him. “We shall be defeated and not only lose the election but lose all our deposits as well.”

If your boss was DSAI, I am really worried if PR is going to survive for long. But if my memory serves me well Marina Yusoff was your boss too during that time. I may be wrong.
written by wongnoball, June 10, 2009 16:54:39
How to Call By Election when your nephew is sick in USA.....kononya....so which Royalty is in charge in KL so that similar Crap like Perak can be avoided.

Dissolve ADUN SELANGOR....continue the momentum of BLACK ANGER.....>Don't let the richest state go back to UMNO-BN Regim......Not easy sometimes to tell an Ex-CEO they were wrong and weak!!
written by Arowana, June 10, 2009 16:55:46
Dissolve the state assembly and return to the polls.

This will be a new benchmark to gauge the people's desire to choose BN or Pakatan Rakyat once and for all.

Khir Toyo and Hassan Ali is capable of anything unthinkable.

Let us decide once and for all through the ballot box.
written by imanj, June 10, 2009 16:59:00

I'm not as old as you,but i have watched the show growing up..And yes you are right,it's the people who play an important role in the running of the country.

It's all about the votes and then ensuring the needs after the election.the latter part of it would be beyond our control if the ones we elect play actor and do nothing..

So now would the ones we elect,eg Pakatan Rakyat and defacto leader DSAI present themselves with a clean sheet to meet [not just shake hands,make speeches,wave in ceramahs in a general sense] with any individual of plain thinking to accept our views and ideas..I'm quite sure it's done,but is it enough? As in the states held by Pakatan Rakyat,why not blurt out the truth and face head on with discrepancies/problems/obstacles and obstructions??

Why not each Malaysian who would like to help Pakatan Rakyat contribute to state funds each month,so that state govenment can get little things going? Why not state government were applicable like even for Education come to a compromise and firm decision on what would be the best system.If just that state has what the citizens need and if parents votes are higher for a more intergrated,user friendly,high standard,forward with English Language equally important,providing better teachers etc,I'm sure implementation would not be hindered.

I know Federal Government has the last say,but doesn't Fedreal Government hold back when it's not their state of affairs..So why doesn't opposition do what they please for the people in the mean time.If they tell me not to send my kid to school,until they give us the best,i would do as they say...

Correct me if i'm wrong or not well informed..thanks

ps..keep us around a little longer,just to commentators with such robust adrenaline flow,where the sacarsm,insults,foul language,their mannerisms maybe crude but it's the same when another does it with just a wicked smirk or smile..

written by Raja Petra, June 10, 2009 17:03:41
Dear Littlebird, no my boss was not DSAI. It was Haji. In fact, when DSAI asked Haji to appoint me Haji objected to it because, according to Haji, I have been very critical of DSAI. But still DSAI wanted me in spite of my criticism of him.
written by batsman, June 10, 2009 17:04:51
There is a difference even between Yes minister and Yes, Prime Minister. In the earlier series, the junior minster was almost always given the runaround by the experienced civil servant. In the later series, the junior minister (now prime minister) had his revenge and was more than able to control a very experienced civil servant.

PR must be given the chance to govern the nation. After it has gained experienced, its role must be to free the press and remove intimidation and bullying of the civil service.

The PR's role after it comes to govt. is to neutralise the civil service and hopefully turn it into a competent and professional one.
written by nafis, June 10, 2009 17:05:21
Salam Pete

so, it all boils down to "money". Civil servants could bring down the gomen of the day once they realise their wallet is shrinking. And amno realises this and plays it to the hilt.

maybe that's why Kelantan holds out much longer than any other states because money is not all that importante to them, just "ala kadar"....maybe they can get by considering the daily expenses is not that too high, as compared with Ganu when the people of Ganu were flushed with oil money?

I wish PR could pay more attention to your warnings, Pete. You've seen all the warning signs, and if PR is not taking Perak as an example, I could kiss Selangor PR gomen sooner than later.....

[just when i'm thinking of applying the rm 1000 for my son's college funds]

btw, "Yes Minister" was aired when i was in my late teens, but i enjoyed "Mind Your Language" more, it was hilarious smilies/grin.gif "thousand apologies"... smilies/grin.gif
written by AlwaysFair, June 10, 2009 17:06:26
WATCH OUT Khalid.
Better organize a team to look into sabotages and stop them. RPK sounds very alarmed so PKR have to be vigilent. Sack those culprits or demote them ASAP. DANGER AHEAD!!!!

(No wonder got so nuch problems latest the award of Alam Flora contracts....Hmmmm!!)

Thank you RPK for being an alert SENTINEL to sound the alarm!!
written by ibabonma, June 10, 2009 17:07:16
Ampang is one place where the corrupt government servants with Umno link rule!

When the officers are with PR representatives they will condemn Umno and vice versa. The reason is as simple as ABC. These government servants are the corrupt ones and prefer to sleep in the same bed with UMNO, the LANUN/pirate.

They deliberately implement enforcement policies with the view to hurting PR, directly or indirectly. Worst still, they are receiving instructions from their Umno masters.

I trust nobody, not only the Council President but also that of Tan Sri Sidek, Ketuya Setiausaha Negara on any matters involving Umno/BN.

So MB Khalid Ibrahim, take care!

written by CitizenBodohland, June 10, 2009 17:07:30
A new true people's party will do well in the next GE because by that time, people will be so disgusted with BN and PR.
written by Littlebird, June 10, 2009 17:13:50
Thanks for the clarifying, Pete. Now, who is the Haji would taught PKR can do it solo? Hopefully, he is still not up there calling the shots.
written by miwaki, June 10, 2009 17:25:05
Yes,civil service can destroy this country if they want to because they are actually manage this country,not the politicians.The politicians are managing the civil service whereas the civil service is managing the country.

Can you understand now why Malaysia is so terrible ? The cities are dirty,the residential areas are stink and filthy,the "longkang" are clogged,the thieves are having a field days,the police sometimes can be gangsters and vice versa.All these are sign that the civil service are running the country whereas the politicians are enjoying themselves in SPAs,massage parlours and girl friends' house.
written by malayoscontrachavez, June 10, 2009 17:31:14
Let the current ruling Selangor government be forewarned.

You make enemies with your own civil service employees; you won’t last long in Selangor.
written by Knight, June 10, 2009 17:32:14
MB Khalid should be smarter than James Hacker (I hope).

written by sorosapril, June 10, 2009 17:42:49
yes, RPK you are right, civil servants are the one who are calling the shot, politicians come and go, if the government of the day need to get things done, they need to look at the face of the civil servants and the problem is in Malaysia, majority of the government offices are infected with ???????? better don't say it.

the MB of Selangor is ex-UMNO, what good can he bring to Selangor, I don't understand why he is selected as MB, is it just because he was the CEO of the Guthrie or what?

written by Knight, June 10, 2009 17:54:09
Yes Prime Minister. For Old Times' Sake. Sorry for long post.
Sir Humphrey: "Bernard, Ministers should never know more than they need to know. Then they can't tell anyone. Like secret agents, they could be captured and tortured."
Bernard: "You mean by terrorists?"
Sir Humphrey: "By the BBC, Bernard."
=============================================
Jim Hacker: "Ministers are not experts. They are chosen expressly because they know nothing."
Sir Wally McFarlane: "You admit that?"
Jim Hacker: "Nothing about technical details."
Joan Littler: "What I insist on knowing is what is the actual difference between dioxin and metadioxin."
Sir Humphrey: "Well, that's quite simple. Metadioxin is an inert compound of dioxin."
Jim Hacker: "I think I follow that, Humphrey, but could you explain it a little more clearly?"
Sir Humphrey: "In what sense, Minister?"
Joan Littler: "What does inert mean?"
Sir Humphrey: "It means it is not......ert."
Jim Hacker: "But you see, it's the public will. This is a democracy, and the people don't like it."
Sir Humphrey: "The people are ignorant and misguided."
Jim Hacker: "Humphrey, it was the people who elected me."
Jim Hacker: "How come the Times knows the wording of the Henderson report before I do."
Bernard Woolley: "There has been a leak, Minister."
Jim Hacker: "I know that! This is marked Confidential, I mean I only got a draft report last night."
Bernard Woolley: "At least it was not labeled Restricted."
Jim Hacker: "Why do you say that?"
Bernard Woolley: "Restricted means it was in the papers yesterday. Confidential means it won't be in the papers until today."
Jim Hacker: "Suppose he [Professor Henderson] produces one of these cautious wait-and-see reports?"
Sir Humphrey: "Well in that case we don't publish it, we use the American report instead."
Jim Hacker: "Oh fine. You mean we suppress it?"
Sir Humphrey: "Certainly not, we just don't publish it."
Jim Hacker: "What's the difference?"
Sir Humphrey: "Oh Minister, all the difference in the world. Suppression is the instrument of totalitarian dictatorship, we don't talk of that sort of thing in a free country. We simply take a democratic decision not to publish it."
written by temenggong, June 10, 2009 17:59:03
Now you're talking!

If Khalid does not remove the top 20 Selangor civil servants, and all the 100 odd directors in the SEDC companies, and replace the mwith Pakatan friendly staff, Selangor is going to fall. The other major issue is the residual temple demolition issue which has not been resolved across the board. He can resolve this with a stroke of a pen!

Either Khalid effects the changes, or he moves to Parliament and we have a new MB.
written by quietguy, June 10, 2009 18:03:23
The problem is Tan Sri Khalid is still thinking like a CEO. In a company, everyone obeys the CEO to the letter because the CEO has the ultimate power to fire any employee. So the CEO just gives orders and can be assured that it will be carried out. The thing is, the civil service is not like a company. The MB cannot fire a civil servant. On the contrary, there is the danger that civil servants can conspire to remove the MB like in Perak. TS Khalid needs to have a mindset change to ensure PR's survival in Selangor.
written by ksmaniam, June 10, 2009 18:04:18
Nafis I agree with you that at the end of the day, it's the money.
From what i digress, whoever stops the civil servants and the other government servants from earning their ill gotten gains, they will wipe out that party. If that is so, our enemy is corruption. We must pressure this government further to fight corruption. The evil which breeds evil, otherwise the idea of democracy and PR as an opposition will merely be a prop up show which will fall everytime the civil service sneezes.
my 2 cents worth.
written by hellosunshine, June 10, 2009 18:24:03
Ministers come, ministers go but the civil servants will stay, come hell or high water. And that is the crux of the problem with PR in the 5 states and in the future after GE13, the whole pro-BN bureaucracy will go crazy. Mark my words. smilies/tongue.gif
written by *********, June 10, 2009 18:54:54
Add the Police, the MACC and State Secretaries to this list of Umno Trojan Horses...More http://*********.********.com
written by MNor, June 10, 2009 19:19:03
Am with you dear RPK. If Tan Sri Khalid does not take heed in RPKs, Selangor is DOOM for sure to PR. As it is now, we have seen the negative things PR has done in Selangor. Mesjid AJKs appointment has been met with almost 100% disagreement, what next!!! I quote the late Tungku Abdul Rahman's reply to a media when UMNO was dissolved in court "WAIT AND SEE"
written by mob1900, June 10, 2009 19:30:15

Tan Sri Khalid, don't be like NERO Burning Rom!
written by othman hitam, June 10, 2009 19:37:17
Many of my friends and I in PKR have sounded the alarm nut no one listens. Its good that you bring it up. Hope he'll listen this time
written by cruzeiro, June 10, 2009 19:50:46
And Tok Guru Haji Hadi Awang graciously introduced the new Terengganu state government as the Barisan Alternatif government and not the PAS government.
I thought that this was jolly nice of him.

Yeah ... I'm sure kids thought the same when Jack the Ripper handed them lollipops!!
============================================
I started getting feedback from Terengganu that the civil servants are not happy and that they are thinking of giving the state back to Umno. I triggered the alarm bells but my pompous ******* of a boss pooh-poohed my report.

Excuse me Pete - you lost me here. You mean that Anwar is to blame for that rat called Hadi's incompetence?
How is it that the loss of Terengganu becomes your ex-boss's headache when he had only one miserable seat, and it was Hadi's govt that ruled?

First you bang Anwar, then you bang Khalid, while your guru Hadi is blameless. Like as if they don't know how Umno has subverted the civil service since Mahathir's time! Duhh!!
What's with this sudden warpath you take Pete? A little too much of "mamak teh tarik" perhaps - it can sometimes fuddle, muddle & eff-up your thinking, y'know.
Oh yes, I forgot - Mahathir said Malaysians will be stupid while hiding the fact that they were forced to be stupid since his time in office .....

written by cruzeiro, June 10, 2009 20:17:09
Ok - I just read your reply to Littlebird.
So this boss of yours was "Haji", and not DSAI. Could it have been this "Haji Unity Hadi" by any chance?
written by Littlebird, June 10, 2009 20:43:52
Well cruzeiro, it certainly looks like him, sounds like him but only Pete knows if its him.
written by lynn, June 10, 2009 20:49:11
And that is why the civil service is predominantly Malay. Practically every senior head of department, ministry and so on is a Malay. And some a$$hole(s) said the Malays are losing political power just because PR won 5 states? Those a$$holes shld be shot in the head with a single bullet each. Fast & effective. I mean the bullets, not the civil servants' work attitude and performance. Needless to say, that is why civil servants all come with iron rice-bowl mentality. They don't have to perform and they are adequately or overly rewarded. They get 5-day week and still don't have to be productive - where else in this unfair world can these people get away with this decade after decade? Only in Bodohland.
written by lynn, June 10, 2009 20:58:29
And, that's is right, RPK, that is why Bodohland has 1.3 million civil servants. Most of which are not properly trained to do that respective jobs. What little they can do, they give us dirty looks, hostile stares or that look of hatred when serving us non-Malays.

Try and watch those bastards in immigration - watch how efficiency and speedy they work when handing back passports to Indonesians. But when it came to returning passports (with visas approved) to Indian from India, Japanese from Japan, Americans from USA, my gawd, look at their fcuk faces - the faces were so sour, the service so reluctant. And to top it all, there was this poor guy from India, he said, he had been waiting to collect his passport since 9am. I looked at my watch, it was fast approaching 4pm.

This is Malaysia, where they discriminate against us all, just because we are non-Malay or non-Muslim. But it is alright. I will always help poor Malays when the opportunity arises. I will not hesitate for one second to help an accident victim on the road even if he is a Malay. Why? Because... some day, when I need help, I hope others will help me regardless of my skin color.
written by talk2stop, June 10, 2009 21:19:11
Malaysian civil servants do not know what is the different between a political party in power and the goverment. In a democratic system you serve the goverment.
How many of us here understand that?
written by apa jadi, June 10, 2009 21:29:56
I was in UK when I watched the "Yes, minister" comedy. I forgot all about it, not to mention catching phrases like some of you do.

I remember I was thumbed down for commenting bad on Tan Sri Khalid a few months after he became the MB. Now, we see the worms sprawling out of Selangor administration.

Yes I agree with you that people getting too big headed after they get into power. THEY STOPPED LISTENING or they listen to tunes that pleases! That's the whole problem to the downfall of any government.

Like what you mentioned in the BN disease, I have not seen any change in the local municipals routine since PR took over, other than the Rm20 water freebie. It really worries me how they can bring about changes to the local municipals to effectively show the people it is the work of PR. Otherwise, they are just waiting for the political opponents to expose their wrong doings, then only scuttle to extinguish the fire. So, buck up PR, don't be a fire fighter.

On second thought, RPK, it may be a good idea that you started lighting fire at their butts to get them moving. Maybe we should light more fire to get their butts hot in order to help them morph from BN to true PR (don't forget many PKR were ex BN). It is also time to weed out those who cannot stand the heat at their butts.

Hahaha....Cruz, good thing you brought out how Hadi "lost" Terengganu to BN. It actually slipped my mind. Now, he is talking about UNITY. Hehehe....I see a mole surfacing.
written by Khan, June 10, 2009 21:36:04
RPK...a precious and timely reminder...I have been reminding Selangor Govt that they need to take heed of the hard lessons learnt from Perak...When PR captured Perak, they failed to make the necessary changes at the top perak civil service and see what happened..It was the UMNO appointed Perak secretary who was instrumental in shutting the door close for the legitimate PR MB...But I see in Selangor, PR is not learning the lesson...They still maintain a number of UMNO appointed directors and officials in various Selangor State owned companies...How the hell they can reform these institutions if they continue to maintain the same crooks who siphoned off millions when UMNO was in Power...???Please Khalid..take note ...start acting now and remove all the tainted once and for all!!!
written by defendermalaysia, June 10, 2009 22:01:36
The whole stupid things inside PKR is this is a party with no displine.Their own party is without displine and how can they run a country next time?
written by mowadoha, June 10, 2009 23:59:50
written by raven1958, June 11, 2009 00:17:01
Khalid does not possess the ruthlessness of LGE to hold on to Selangor. He thinks that if he kicks out the top civil servants he will have a revolt on his hands. He is of course dead wrong.

If he doesn’t move swiftly, the PR govt in Selangor is a goner. Going by the many events in Selangor, especially the Klang Sentral Bus Station issue...many in Selangor will tell you that this MB is not in control. His fear is the fear of loosing...but he doesn’t realise that he has already lost. Perhaps being both ADUN and MP has made him defocused. Being Chief Minister of the richest state, logic dictates that his ADUN post far outstrips in importance compared to that of his MP’s position. He placates, cajoles and compromises thinking that he has an eternity to achieve his goals. But time with its Trojan Horses will assure that PR’s Selangor run will be short. PR's young new MB must:

1. Immediately replace all Directors of state owned corporations including UNISEL with powerful, loyal PR candidates. Forget about professionalism now. It can always come later when the PR has attained stability and learns to be more careful and trusting. At this point in time, control needs to make way for false meritocracy.

2. Replace every top civil service post with that of candidates loyal to the PR's cause. Right from YDPs to ADOs must be PR loyalists. If it means paying off the contracts of previous civil service directors, so be it. Selangor is rich. It should use some of this money to get rid of these Trojan horses if it is to survive this term.

3. It has to invest in a dedicated investment arm probably headed by Khalid to roll in the money. Khalid is suited for this role. Not the MB's post.

4. The person who has the ruthlessness to achieve these changes is probably Teng Chang Kim...but this may not be politically correct at this time. The person who can do a worse job then Khalid now is Hassan Ali. DSAI needs to look for this tough guy from within to replace Khalid fast before Selangor slips off. His lieutenant Azmin may be the right person but even this needs to be screened thoroughly for the PR does not have luxury of making a second mistake.

5. And how would you know that the PR has the right guy up there. That happens when changes really happen fast in schools, roads, hospitals, land matters, anything that has to do with the daily lives of people. But most importantly businesses. Buisness must be easy to do. The economy must move up…

6. The easy excuse a lame duck MB usually gives is “FUNDS ARE CONTROLLED BY FEDERAL". This crap excuse is the general excuse for mental laziness, lack of creativity and initiative. If need be, please send the prospective MB for a short course to Hong Kong.

Forget about Federal. If you have the rakyat with you ...you can achieve anything. The PR had the rakyat with them...they will loose more of them by GE13 as a result of these civil service parasites if they dont clean up the civil service fast.

The PR need to get their act together in the next two months. All these young cheekus holding candles, etc is OK for a while….but the real test is in delivering jobs, security, schooling, social benefits, healthcare, etc…..Yes it’s tough…no one said it’s going to be easy. But succeeding means the end of the BN.

Failure at the moment may mean you will never get another chance. DSAI, LKS and that half Trojan Horse Hadi need to wake up…..the PR is in danger of being a flash in the pan….they will soon be out on the streets begging like Nizar, Ngeh and Nga…..a sorry and tragic sight…..but they too were forewarned….
written by Raja Petra, June 11, 2009 00:33:25
cruzeiro, boy, do you have problems. Maybe you should seek professional help for whatever ails you. It could be contagious.
written by Raja Petra, June 11, 2009 00:36:37
Littlebird, I would have told you who that Haji is if you had not mocked me. Now you will have to go on assuming like you first assumed quite wrongly that my boss was DSAI. By the way, how old are you? And is you 'bird' really that little?
written by Hakim Joe, June 11, 2009 00:45:24
Walan! Lambasting DSAI and nobody whacked you...
But of course your name is RPK.
If I were to criticize some DAP State Rep I'd have been called a traitor
Of course my name is not RPK...

written by Hakim Joe, June 11, 2009 00:49:40
Hey cruzeiro, where are your friends Elijah Kok and cllim123?

written by Heaven8402, June 11, 2009 01:15:43
You need to be the political adviser if DSAI happens to be our next Prime Minister. We hope by then Malaysia would be a nice place to stay.
written by Raja Petra, June 11, 2009 01:43:36
Dear Hakim Joe, hmmm....maybe you can point out where I whacked DSAI. I can't appear to find that part.
written by Wudan, June 11, 2009 03:01:40
Oh Yes, 'Yes Minister please! Allow Sir Humprey to explain what a 'A Clear Conscience' is here :http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jNKjShmHw7s&feature=related
written by Littlebird, June 11, 2009 08:34:40
Hi Pete, I wasn't mocking you but said it in a jest when I was replying cruzerio but I am out of line there. Apologies. Tuan Haji is not involved here and nothing you have written implicated him and moreover he was your teacher whom you have a lot of respect. Apologies, once again. Just little bit of lingam effect.

p.s. Why the curiosity of someone's bird? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ROBERTNGTG, June 11, 2009 09:06:16
That is why Najib was not called Wakil Rakyat but Wakil Pos. Zambry in Perak is called Wakil Mahkamah.

The same thing is happening in Selangor. The civil service is the enemy in the blanket. The civil service is Umno’s running dog. The civil service is a Trojan Horse. The civil service is throwing spanners into the works. The civil service is putting sand in the rice-bowl. (Need more clichés?) And Tan Sri Khalid is fiddling while Rome is burning. (Yet another cliché.)

DSAI, TAN SRI KHALID, IF U CAN READ THIS ARTICLE, DO SOMETHING NOW OR SEE SELANGOR FALL TO AMENO AGAIN.
RPK, THE HEADING OF THIS ARTICLE SHOULD HV A MORE SERIOUS TONE LIKE:
WAKE UP, PAKATAN MORONS!!
HADI IS NOW THINKING OF SLEEPING WITH THE PIT VIPERS IN AMENO, DSAI IS HAVING A BLOATED EGO, DAP IS SHOOTING BLANKS IN PUBLIC. WHERE DO U BLOKES STAND UP AGAINST THE MIGHT OF BEEND/AMENO. SEE HOW THEIR MSM NETWORK HIGHLIGHT CORRUPTION IN FRONT PAGES ON MEAGER RM 2,000 CLAIMS WHILST MEGA BILLIONS ARE SIPHONED BY THEIR CRONIES AND CROOKS UNNOTICED AND UNREPORTED???
written by mikewang, June 11, 2009 09:30:21
Maybe Lee Kuan Yew can teach those PR politicians a thing or two about hostile civil servants.

Go read his book "The Singapore Story", about how he changed the character of the then armed forces in Singapore who was under Malaysian command.
The compulsory national service basically saved Singapore from Malaysia.
written by ibabonma, June 11, 2009 09:40:08
written by lynn, June 10, 2009 20:49:11
And that is why the civil service is predominantly Malay.

I say kawan baik lynn, the Chinese population in Malaysia is around 30% and most of them have taken up appointments in the private sectors or lucratively doing business on their own. Where to find more Chinese to join the Civil Services or to be policemen (Aiya, I hate to mention Police!)?

Commonsense, isn't it?

written by Raja Petra, June 11, 2009 12:42:51
Littlebird, there you go again alleging that Haji was my teacher when he was only 3 years senior to me in school. Aiyah, don't simply talklah! When you talk it just confirms what people suspected.
written by Chuan, June 11, 2009 14:38:03
I am not someone who believes in predictions, but I have read enough about RPK's rantings that his prediction is not merely made up of bunch of random craps.

Pakatan Rakyat government would do well to raise their level of alertness, before all is gone.
written by teo siew chin, June 11, 2009 15:46:06
and having recognised that we are surrounded by wolves, clothed or otherwise - what exactly do we do with them?
it's not like we have to deal with one or two lone wolves - it's packs of em !!!!
in all aspects of society smilies/angry.gif
written by Hakim Joe, June 11, 2009 16:47:50
You can take the man out of the kampong but you can’t take the kampong out of the man. Low quality people can’t suddenly become high quality just because they are now wakil rakyat. They will still remain low quality and will kowtow to money because they have no maruah (dignity). That is, after all, what prostitutes do. They open their legs for money. And many in Pakatan Rakyat are prostitutes while those who manage prostitutes and called pimps.
“What more to say?” - Saturday, 07 February 2009 15:32

written by panca, June 12, 2009 12:15:22
"Minister is fiddling while Rome is burning"

Yes Minister, we hope you will see the brighter side of what has to be done even it means taking a certain crucial decision that what one would normally not willing to take, it is also must always be the best interest of all that you see as the brighter side to be able to also work from other roles outside governmental position and inside PR". This is a good politicians.

Everyone has a past that is how we are in the present and from here as we look forward to the future. There exist every other opportunity when one can see the shortcomings now and arrest the situation yourself while you are in the best position, time and speed. Thank you, YB Sir, your contribution is always welcome.

The Importance of Role Playing IS INDEED CRUCIAL.

WE VOTE PAKATAN RAKYAT TO HELP CORRECT THE IMBALANCES.

DON'T LET THEM GET THERE, WE DIDN'T VOTE THEM.
written by lampard, June 13, 2009 18:11:26
In some strange ways, I am in total agreement with Cruzeiro....! So, what's up Pete? Maybe you can make it a little clearer who screwed your rumps?
written by Joe, June 14, 2009 21:54:47
Hi RPK,

So lets say Tan Sri Khalid has woken up, what actions might he take to secure the "wolves in sheeps clothing" issue as you have highlighted?