Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Black = Death? Bad Luck?

Black = Death? Bad Luck? PDF Print
Wednesday, 10 June 2009 15:17

Hilarious! Hundreds of people came to her outlets to enjoy a cup of coffee and she said it was bad for business.

By Khoo Kay Peng (Straight Talk)

All 1Black Malaysia supporters did were to wear black and drink a cup of kopi-o. Suddenly, the colour black is now associated with death and 'bad luck'.

A spokeswoman of Old Town Cafe said it was unfair of protesters to use the chain’s outlets for the protest. “We have loyal patrons who are unhappy with so many people suddenly appearing all wearing black, which we associate with death. This is very bad for business.

Hilarious! Hundreds of people came to her outlets to enjoy a cup of coffee and she said it was bad for business. My good friend, Chin Huat, can bring thousands of his supporters to my shop soon, 1Black Cafe. It sounds like a tempting investment. I will even roll over a black carpet to welcome them.

Pro-democracy NGOs yesterday announced they would repeat the protest tomorrow — at seven Old Town outlets in the capital and Penang. The protesters, who announced the location of the protests via the social networking website Facebook, urged the coffee company not to close the outlets.

Read more at: http://khookaypeng.blogspot.com/2009/06/black-death-bad-luck.html

written by lawa88, June 10, 2009 15:23:46
FUNNY. BLACK IS BAD LUCK. STUPID OWNER. IF IT WERE MY PLACE I WILL ROLL OUT A BLACK CARPET TO WELCOME TO COME AND OFFER THEM BUY TWO GET ONE FREE. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by rajaphillips, June 10, 2009 15:25:40
Now I know why Samy Vellu is bad luck to Maika
written by Garend, June 10, 2009 15:30:29
Please everyone, We must try to read between the lines, what she meant was nvr the "CUSTOMER" wearing black, drinking BLACK coffee, but rather to the "GANGSTER" in uniform standing in front of her SHOP...

If u ask me, if I am a normal civilian, seeing so many "Gangster in UNIFORM" outside a shop.. not knowing if they are going to "Mis-handle" you... of course I won't go anymore...

That is the real reason for the shop to close... smilies/angry.gif
However, she cannot say this, and being polite Malaysian, she divert the attention away to her customer.
written by Mee Udang, June 10, 2009 15:31:50
Bloody hell Old Town Cafe, wat so lansee/arrogant with your cafe?
Kenot wear black ar?! Then dun sell kopi o la!

Anybody who wish to do business with old town cafe better hv ur quotation with kaw kaw terms & condition, their payment very bad! smilies/angry.gif
written by PRman, June 10, 2009 15:37:01
I don't think Old Town Kopitiam understands what's people power. We can really exercise our very rights to boycott its premises should they issue another non sensical statements like that.
written by Oscar Winner, June 10, 2009 15:44:49
All these men/women in black are out in droves to prevent the BN/UMNO kind from further mutations, otherwise our Bolehland will be habitat for monsters only.

Why the men in blue watching men/women in black?? Under a spell by the fat mama who uses black magic??
written by Badrol, June 10, 2009 15:46:14
And the current umno MB of Perak also is bad luck.
written by gotsms, June 10, 2009 15:46:44
Hello aunty, we're supporting your biz. If you ask me, I would rather goto the old chinese kopitiam than old town. FOOD VERY EXPENSIVE and not as ori as the one in old town Ipoh.

BLACK IS SEXY. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Liberian, June 10, 2009 15:46:59
rajaphillips,your comment about Samy Velu is a racist. Sp, tell me how did so many American Companies were screwed up! I don't like MIC, Samy Velu and all Indian linked Barisan Parties.
For the Chinese Black is a Taboo but if the owner thinks that Black is not welcome then we can move to another place and boycott the Old Town Kopitiam. Give them the taste of the "Black'.
written by Mee Udang, June 10, 2009 15:50:06
Boycott Old Town! smilies/angry.gif
written by chanatak, June 10, 2009 15:52:05

Just stop frequenting Old Town White Coffee Outlets. Let them survive on business from the police.

written by joseph81, June 10, 2009 15:54:03
Yes, boycott old town. If you are not welcomed there then switch to other friendly outlets and make sure the boycott is for GOOD
written by Mee Udang, June 10, 2009 16:11:08
Dear aryn,

I dont agree with you....
The protester only wear black & drink black coffee with peace. They didnt shout & yell along their campaign. Their campaign is very symbolic & protest in silent...

aryn, if u want to blame, blame bn/umno/pdrm for their stupidness to arrest ppl who wear black!
written by imanj, June 10, 2009 16:18:10
rajaphillips....OUCH....!!!

Hope the colour black associated with death and bad luck would not become and offending issue to some...

Gosh i need a new spray on my cars...mmmm driving on black tar road might be not to good either...restaurant/cafes/hotels black furniture or decor or even hotel limousines isn't a good idea....okay wearing all black is the problem,then what about people who go to work wearing black suits,uniforms like some sales or even chefs wear all black??? okay okay just a few is not the problem..is it??

How about the skin colour??? okay everyone has asked this,so it's boring but has anyone answered or probably a handbook on colour codes and usage should come out..

written by hiiijack, June 10, 2009 16:30:15
written by rajaphillips, June 10, 2009 15:25:40
Now I know why Samy Vellu is bad luck to Maika

Hahaha,that was a vely(very) good one ahh...
written by tuahjebat, June 10, 2009 17:10:04
Can somebody check if Old Town coffee has connection with the upper crust BN ppl? Maybe one of the Directors is a BN fellow.
written by neutralsite, June 10, 2009 17:15:36
YES BOYCOTT OLDTOWN. I WILL STOP GOING TO OLDTOWN FROM NOW ON
YES BOYCOTT OLDTOWN YES BOYCOTT OLDTOWN YES BOYCOTT OLDTOWN YES BOYCOTT OLDTOWN YES BOYCOTT OLDTOWN YES BOYCOTT OLDTOWN YES BOYCOTT OLDTOWN YES BOYCOTT OLDTOWN
written by Mee Udang, June 10, 2009 17:24:48
Dear tuahjebat,

I heard from one of the old town branch owner told me, 1 datuk had recently brought a big share of old town cafe. Not sure this datuk is bn/umno dog or not.
written by cllim123, June 10, 2009 17:37:45
Let's be fair to the Old Town proprietors whom some I think are franchise holders only. While we are passionate abot our course for democracy, these people have to do their business and do not wish to attract too much attention not associated with their food and beverages. There is also the fear of repurcusions from the authorities thinking these shops are using their premises for our activities. Our PDRM and like authorites being so shallow and narrow minded may delay their licenses and so on.

And we should also respect other peoples choices and opinions too. That is true democracy.
written by mob1900, June 10, 2009 17:46:43

That's why the poster says "...or any of your favourite Warungs!".
No big deal, it doesn't have to be OTC. This is only a subtle 'protest' and YOUR Fascist regime has alreasy jump up and down. Imagine what would happen if we starting adding milk or coffee-mate into our kopi-o! or start wearing other colors!

When AiGeePee asked INTERPOL to help arrest RPK, they asked if RPK the fugitive was a serial-killer, international terrorist or a notorious drug-lord?

"He, err... he owns a blog..." - AiGeePee.
written by InEffective, June 10, 2009 17:51:50
i'll bet the owner was threatened that her conditional license subject to recurring renewal would not be renewed.

That's how our coercion-based governance control businesses and free enterprise - with their conditional time-bound license and permits.
written by educationist, June 10, 2009 20:01:39
"This time, police will be waiting for them. “We are monitoring the targeted outlets and if necessary will arrest any person wearing black as they approach the outlets,” a police spokesman said."
Come on - is this for real?
They might as well ban the black colour!
written by Abajawi, June 10, 2009 23:55:12
So, black is bad luck, is it? Tell that to the present American President! President Barrack Obama. Racial Bigots these kopitiam goons!Can't even appreciate their own customers. Shhhheessz!!
written by smalluncle, June 11, 2009 01:00:46
soon all food outlet will have a sign that reads:

NO ADMISSION FOR BLACK ATTIRE

I feel sorry for all the YBs who wear black Coat during DUN / Parlimen sitting, NO KOPI FOR YOU SIR / MADAM! smilies/cheesy.gif

So, its time to do the remedial - Black Maria now painted white. Traffic light pole WHITE, NO BLACK INK on official documents, printers that print in Black will be confiscated .............. smilies/grin.gif
written by Wakeupmsia, June 11, 2009 01:53:32
BOYCOTT OLD TOWN CAFE!!!! This WOMAN ought be be sacked!!!!!!!!!!!! C'mon WOMAN, stand up and be counted! Why are you afraid of the 'cops'? You did wrong, didn't you?