Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow The English language issue

The English language issue PDF Print
Wednesday, 10 June 2009 10:48

Every time something good is in progress somebody has to jump in and make a disaster of the impending progress.

By Dr. Mathew

It is now just about 7 years or so since English was made the medium for Science and Mathematics in schools. That was a well-thought policy by our former Prime Minister, Dr Mahathir Mohammad. Everything was set in place and was running well. The children were doing well and were coping well. This was definitely a step in the right direction for their further education in the universities whether local or foreign.

Now all of a sudden, some language protagonists for what hidden agenda I have no idea whatsoever, have started making noise both in public and private. This has shaken our government so badly so much so they have been thrown off balance. It is all topsy-turvy as far as our children are concerned. It is one thing today and another tomorrow.

Let me remind you about what happened many years ago in Malaysia. We had excellent schools like the La Salle schools and the Convent schools that produced outstanding citizens of all races in this country. These schools excelled in producing the nation’s top students both academically as well as athletically up to Form Six. Nobody could beat the sense of dedication of the teachers of these schools and the sense of pride enjoyed by these students is indeed nostalgia for today. Then, the government of the day found reason to derecognize these schools and decided to abolish and turn them to National-Type schools. The golden era of education ended abruptly to the chagrin of many.

Today, English Language being used to teach Science and Mathematics is being debated and the government is being thrashed to smithereens to discontinue this. It insults my intelligence to listen to some of the rationale being espoused by some of these so-called protagonists. Below are some of them:

1. Malaysians should be loyal to our national language
  2. Rural students are finding it tough to cope with Science and Mathematics being taught in English
  3. Because of this many are finding it hard to seek admission in local universities as they can't get good grades in School. 

Well, what in God’s name has loyalty got to do with education?

The bottom line is knowledge.

If knowledge has to be acquired through education then seek out the knowledge. That knowledge is available from the millions of books all over the world. Most of the best books are available in our own libraries. Let us not kid ourselves by telling ourselves that books can be easily translated into Bahasa Malaysia and therefore it should be taught in Bahasa. If translations are done for the sake of translations then where is the depth of knowledge? Do we have enough bahasa intellectuals to do perfect translations of professional subjects? Even translators would suffer an anathema in the process of translating.

Our children, or rather all children, should have the privilege of the best textbooks available in the world for the acquiring of knowledge. That is how parents can be proud of their children’s education.

Let us look at an example for illustration purposes. Note, this is strictly hypothetical:

You want to send your child to Australia for Medicine or Engineering. The child comes home after 5 years with a medical degree or an engineering degree. Can you imagine the state of his mind and emotions if he comes home with a medical degree where all the medical subjects were taught in the Australian aboriginal language; where all textbooks required to complete the education were translated from English to the aboriginal language!!? We say our Bahasa Malaysia is far superior to their aboriginal language and have been around for the last 40 years. Let us not kid ourselves. The English Language has been around for the last 1000 years or more. Some of the world’s best learning institutions are taught in English and not in the Australian aboriginal language or any other.

English Language is so universal it is spoken by almost every country in the world though in some non-English-speaking countries it is at least spoken by some in mixtures of English and their native language. Many people from non-English-speaking countries like the Arabic and Iranian students used to opt for Indian universities (that teach in English) simply because they wanted to master the language and have done very well in their studies. Furthermore, these are the very same graduates who were given top jobs in their own countries in spite of English remaining a non-spoken language in these countries.

I hope Malaysians can see my point in the correct perspectives. As far as Malaysia is concerned, English is not an unheard of language and almost all people do speak a few words or at least do understand some if not in full. Take a taxi driver for instance. Most can at least start up a conversation or two in English. Almost every working man or woman can at least understand or speak basic English. So it is not an alien language. If one wants to seek knowledge in its entirety then seek them in the English Language textbooks. It is the inherent knowledge that gives you the right intuition, the right intrusion on the subject matter and the ability to develop the right creativity skills on the profession or subject that you have studied.

If a student feels it would be to his disadvantage if he studies in English, then the same excuse can be used in learning the subjects in any other language even in Bahasa Malaysia. A disinterested student can never make the grade in any language.

I remember those days in the sixties when the Remove Class students from the Chinese medium schools entered our English language schools. They did exceptionally well in the Science subjects and more so in Mathematics. It was a pleasure having them around and most have become professionals. Some have even become professors in the local universities.

In short, it is not a question of whether one can manage to follow the teachings in English. It is whether one has the aptitude and the right mind to study and excel. Otherwise, what would happen is that we might as well lower the passing mark to 25%. And are these students and their parents going to feel good and proud about their grades? The bottom line is that we have to get things right in its correct perspective. 

From the video recordings shown on the Internet of the recent protest demonstrations in KL against the teaching of Mathematics and  Science in English, it did look as if most of the demonstrators did not appear to be serious-minded students hell bent on acquiring knowledge but rather more like the Mat Rempits in town causing havoc to residents and the neighborhood. Surely we can't use these chaps as a yardstick to decide on what is best for our younger generation of students who are more interested in bringing pride to themselves and their parents.

If there are people who are hell bent on creating problems for the government, then the solution is simple. Just give them the option of choosing the language of their choice. It can either be in Bahasa or in English. In any event, most teachers do teach Science and Mathematics in a mixture of English and Bahasa. So it does not make any difference. With the choice available on either in the national language or in English, then those wishing to acquire further education, be it in local or foreign universities, would be smooth flowing. However, please do not deprive those who wish to seek knowledge to be ostracized due to language maniacs.   

Finally, I wish to propose to the government that every trade or job be tied up with proper certification. This means that if one wants to be a brick-layer for example, then he should be certified as one. The same goes for food handlers, chefs, masons, electricians, motor mechanics, etc, etc. This is how it is done in Australia or any of the developed nations. Any student who has no aptitude in studies should be advised accordingly and each should be encouraged to take up certificate courses before he /she is allowed to take up a trade. Let them not take up an education that is going have them end up unemployed.

My love for the country is inherent and it is not dependent on the knowledge that I seek.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by Tongkat Pak Ali, June 10, 2009 11:10:25
Once, I went for a jungle trekking with my old Iban college’s mate.....We stay in his long house for a week in the heart of Sarawak Jungle’s........Nearby stand a one unit block of wooden school building with 8 classrooms which two classes was converted into the Headmasters office and teachers room..........The student number is about 35 which consist of six student in Primary 6, ten student in Primary 5, and the balance is in the primary 1 to primary 4........From my observation is that.........The headmaster always absent on Friday.........went back to his house in the town I was told............There are five teachers of which three of them is temporary appointed........Mostly Form 5 and Form 6 School leavers........And the subject they teach is.........English, Mathematics and Science.........While another two permanent teacher teach other subjects............And the exams result’s.......almost none score A in PMR exam’s........And almost all can’t understand the Mathematics and Science in English (the teacher use Bahasa language instead)........Because all the children is more proficient in their mother tongue and Bahasa Malaysia.......My tears almost fell when I think about how lucky my children and the others who lived in the town and cities......And how sad for all the children in the rural areas.......They use generator for electricity supply not more than 12 hours daily.....Drinking from river and collected rain water........and their teacher take turn to take personal leave from time to time........either recorded or not recorded..........I’ll never know...........And this type of generations......Is the one whose parent obediently vote for B******N******* years after years........Whose fault is it???..............I guess I’ll never know.
written by quietguy, June 10, 2009 11:20:40
I went to national schools and studied Maths and Science in Malay. In spite of that, my command of English, as well as Maths and the Sciences, are excellent. I really don't see what the big deal is.
written by Oscar Winner, June 10, 2009 11:23:21
QUESTION FOR THE GOVT:- "IF THE MINISTERS AND THE RICH SEND THEIR CHILDREN TO PRIVATE SCHOOLS OR OVERSEAS TO STUDY, IS IT BECAUSE BACK HOME OUR BM IS NO GOOD AND THEY GET TO LEARN BETTER BM OVERSEAS, OR IS IT BECAUSE THEY KNOW THEY CAN GET BETTER EDUCATION THERE AS THE MEDIUM OF INSTRUCTION IS ENGLISH??"

We all know it's all about politics. Only UMNO bigots think we are fools not to know it. Language is politicised for their political agenda. PERIOD
written by HamChak, June 10, 2009 11:45:48
What you saying man?
We Malaysians are very good lor in our English already, ma.
After 22 years under that Kerala Maniac, we can speak
English with a Kerala twang, la.
No need so much English.
Who wants to be Professor in local HalfPastSix Universities now?
You, ahh?
Loktor Mathew, don't la praise that MaMak like this high.
MaMak was the one who wants Malaysians to be BODOH in his early era days.
Remember, his "BUY English Last, LEARN Bahasa and Buy Bahasa First"?
written by Liberace, June 10, 2009 11:50:14
Way to go ajip. I'm sure we all agree that cursing, swearing, and condemning is the intelligent way to argue your case. Thanks for the enlightenment and I can certainly understand why you are so worked up against giving more prominence to English. You can't write a single sentence without destroying the language. I guess you want to make sure nobody else can either.
written by Oscar Winner, June 10, 2009 12:16:52
Hi quietguy,

You are probably just one amongst thousands who has good command of English. But then again don't be over-confident. You are just better than your peers. Comparing your English to those who had to study for LCE MCE and HSC, I doubt your command of English is anywhere near theirs. Pls continue to keep quiet
written by wildbil, June 10, 2009 12:28:14
For those that insist not to learn English are "Kampung Boy" mentality. These folks are just happy to stay in the kampung (Malaysia). They are like the "katak di bawah tempurong", only see the light inside it.

We are in the globalization world now, be it in private or public sectors, one day, we will have to deal with the people outside Malaysia. To master other languages will be the added advantage to us Malaysian.

Look at what happened the last 30 years? The whole generation was wasted by not properly mastering the language. Why the jobless rate for the Malay youth is higher with compare to the Chinese and Indian? Is it the Chinese and Indian acquired more languages and are able to get job in other countries? AND the Malay youth are "forced" to seek few jobs in Malaysia?

Please do not try to ruin the next generation again with your narrow minded view and learn from the last 30 years mistake by not giving our youth to learn the language adopted by most of the nations in the world.

If now is not the time for our youth to move forward and to be able to "marketable" to other countries, when will be the best time? Wait until they are able to speak like a Mat Salleh only then we start to teach them English?

Most Chinese and Indian are able to work in other countries are because they are able to command in good English and in their mother tongue and those are the high paying jobs. Period.

Please tell us you don't wants the Malay youth to do the same?

I am sure in the near future, the professional youth from ASEAN will be able to come to Malaysia to gain employment. If we are not equip, we are we to blame that all the "good job" are taken by them?

Please think for the future and not what is in-front of you.

written by quietguy, June 10, 2009 12:39:26
Oscar Winner, since you don't know me, you have no basis to make assumptions like, "I doubt your command of English is anywhere near theirs.". My English is good enough to get me through 4 years of studies in the UK, and good enough for me to communicate in English with people all over the world in my line of work, and produce reports virtually free of grammatical error.
written by NSTPravda, June 10, 2009 12:41:41
1. Malaysians should be loyal to our national language
2. Rural students are finding it tough to cope with Science and Mathematics being taught in English
3. Because of this many are finding it hard to seek admission in local universities as they can't get good grades in School.

But sir, the above a valid arguments:
1. Our national language is the best indicator or patriotism and loyalty to UMNO. Why? Because UMNO sez so.
2. Precisely, anything taught in English disadvantage our rural students. We want these rural students to be the best rural students in the universe. Teaching them science and mathematics are bad enough. Why should they have to learn a mat saleh language as well? There is no use for them to know science, mathematics and English to succeed in UMNO anyway.
3.Absolutely, it is unfair for to them who are already given good grades in school. Our university are some of the best in the universe because all our students are already first grade and we really mean "first grade" (i.e. having pass standard one). With NEP what more do they need?

so Dr. Mathew, we don't need you here!

Rasuah sayang eh!
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by lskong, June 10, 2009 13:01:02
once my family & i went for a car trip around sabab... near a rural town, the ripening padi fields were very beautiful, and with the intention of showing the kids the padi field and the works of the padi farmers, we stopped our car near a field where we saw people harvesting, we called out to an old farmer for permission to enter the field and he mortioned for us to approach. the old man looked like your typical old farmers in his 60's, with weathered face. we greeted each others and started a chit chat, in bahasa malaysia of course. but soon we realised he was using some english terms, so my wife asked: you speak english? and he said: of course, most old folks around here do. we went to school, before the teaching medium was changed to malay... yet now we are told rural kids cannot handle english in school... what lah...
written by Oscar Winner, June 10, 2009 13:07:27
quiteguy,

Like I said, you are just one amonsgt thousands. You probably have a different family background, rich enough to send you abroad, and while at national school, you already knew you would go to the UK and thus started preparing yourself. Pls think of the rest who are not so fortunate as you were. These people end up with poor English, can't get a proper job. So they continue to suffer while you rich guys continue to enjoy better lifestyle. They are poor and can't go overseas for a better education. They wished they had better command of English and have your kind of job, too.

Remember, I speak for the your peers, thousands of them, who were unlucky.
written by Oscar Winner, June 10, 2009 13:08:10
quiet, not quite. My apologies
written by apa jadi, June 10, 2009 13:38:23
>That was a well-thought policy by our former Prime Minister, Dr Mahathir Mohammad. Everything was set in place and was running well......Now all of a sudden, some language protagonists for what hidden agenda I have no idea whatsoever, have started making noise both in public and private.
----------------------------------

Dr. Mathew,
I have a feeling that you have just woken up from hibernation somewhere (down south?). Please check out how these "protagonists" fought against PPSMI since the day it was proposed.

Your articles resembles someone who was starved to near death, being fed with a plate of fermented food. Anything that can keep the body from hunger is welcomed. Anyone trying to grab the plate in exchange for a well cooked meal is immediately met with a fierce growl from you.

You have missed the whole issue on why these "protagonists" fought against. While I have to agree with you the 3 hilarious arguments some stupid "protagonists" brought up, I would rather you look at the whole education system before you come up with some layman argument(from a Dr., Sigh!) on this topic.

Could you imagine that some of the English language teachers nowadays cannot even pronounce a proper English word, let alone teaching the students English. What would the students' English be, with these kind of teachers. This is the appalling situation with our schools that we should be addressing. Thanks to Mahatail and his UMNO nationalists to "emancipating" our Education system.

Even if I am not in these "protagonists" movement, I as a parent would very much detest such CONTORTED way of teaching a language through maths and science. It is like scratching your nose from behind. Why not just implement a more rigorous English language program. This is what the "protagonists" are fighting for. Do you get it now, Dr. Mathew?
written by cruzeiro, June 10, 2009 13:58:55
Dear Matthew,
What you say is indeed true - that English is today the Lingua Franca of trade, science and technology. From that perspective, I'm in total agreement.
However, that is just one side of the coin.

On the other side of it, one has to look at the dynamics that rule this nation. One has to ask if it is necessary to relegate BM into the language of only the arts, in order to achieve this excellence in English. Should that be the case, what then is going to preserve the language which is the foundation of our Malaysian culture and interaction? Is it to be doomed just as many other languages of the world which are simply "anthropological studies".

Fistly, remember that the language of Science & Maths isn't really "English" - it is a language that has been adopted and formulated by the relevant people, and adopted into English. Many great men of science and maths don't speak English.

This brings us then to the question of, how then does one learn the language of English? Through Science and Maths, or is it through the increased quality teaching and utilization of it? Expecting students to learn English from Maths & Science is akin to asking them to learn cooking using the keyboard (from the internet) - not impossible, but unlikely to produce chefs worth their salt.
What happens to those who find English as good as Greek or Tamil? Are we to suggest cook the books so that they are given a false sense of security? Or are we to find a new bogeyman - as our "brilliant" politicos like Mahathir would suggest?

Don't get me wrong ..... I'm very much for the teaching of S & M in English - but not at the price of relegating the use and progress of Malay, which is essential for nation building. The neglect of the use of Malay in this arena, would create much resentment among those who believe that it has the potential for development into something to be reckoned with. This faith/confidence may not seem to be too realistic at present. However, who's to say what the future holds, should the Umno/NEP crutch/patronage formula be abolished and freedom is granted once again to the Malay literati?

What's important here is recognizing the value of choice for the students. The students should be given a choice when making decisions on the path they wish to tread in achieving the excellence you speak of. They should have the options open to them, rather than having the curriculum dictated to them.
This way, neither side is neglected, and are in open and fair competition. This competition, will also challenge the students to push the limits of excellence in their own fields of their choice, so as to make themselves a viable option.

This then allows us brings us to the option of having a dual-streaming system in our mainstream education system, which I feel is the best option, wherein all sides win.

Having said all these, I recollect what Mahathir said - "Malays and Malaysians in the future are going to be stupid".
Well I have some "shocking news" for you, Mahathir Sir - Malaysians have been forced to be progressively stupider, ever since your reign as the Education Minister!!
written by imanj, June 10, 2009 14:16:34
Is it really Dr Matthew that readers should be attacking?? Where were all you guys to protest when it was the Government English Schools,Convents,La Salle, St Michael's etc. There were Malay/Chinese/Tamil schools...

So do statistics of all the kids from back then and see if there were more failures in terms of subjects/language/race/whatever.Do statistics for quality of teachers/teaching methods/curriculum/subject content/standards/fair merit recognition..

You would be the same people form back then who would be more understanding..If not why then complain of the quality of staff you get present day in hotels,the airlines,hospitals,private companies,banks etc...They don't even speak Bahasa Malaysia with class or with high standards.So where is the loyalty or pride..??

Are people saying that all Malaysians irrespective of race/mother-tongues be just cloned to speak one and only one language? We aren't encouraged to progress?
A non-malay child can speak more than one mother-tongue,they can speak english, mandarin and some a foreign language.While a malay child just speaks Bahasa Malaysia.This is the impression and the reality and it will soon be that there will be more non-malays who will speak more languages.It's because parents of non-malay of these children see the need of their chidrens future.I know there are lots of Malays who do speak English,but what is the percentage compared to non-malays??

Look,no disrespect intended,it's just seem so ridiculous for people in Malaysia under the Barisan Nasional government,that does not see how Malysia has detoriated,where there are so many unfairnes in the system,like in the Education System and that the flaws have caused damaged and that we are already in the 21st century..!!

written by CL Lee, June 10, 2009 14:53:21
You see, Malaysian government policies had been one of the most inconsistent that I had come across and the people has been the victim of all these inconsistencies.
The education policies are one of these that had caused major problems and difficulties to the people, in particular our children and their upbringing process.
Take a look at the multiple changes that took place over the last 52 years since our independence. We had started very strongly in education as a new nation, have great policies and good mainstream teaching with English as the main medium of instruction in the 50s & 60s.
Then our education system deteriorated, we experienced multitude changes throughout those decades, changes that lead to deterioration of our educational system instead of improving it.
We saw the abolishment of a good system and in it's place, a new system that causes our children to suffer, our nation to become a laggard country amongst the Asean countries instead of the once leading nation in terms of education.
The teaching of History & Geography were changed to Malay language started from late sixties, the other subjects fell victim to the change later on. All the subjects except English Language were taught in Malay from Std 1 since 1970 and this is the year where teachings in English were starting to be phased out.
By the late 80s, the phasing out of english language in our education system was completed up to the University level. This progressively diminished our command of English, leading to our present predicament.
The result? A university graduate of today could not even command the English language as well as those of FORM 3 levels of the yester years. No? not true? Well, may be we have a few rare ones around......... but those, probably are not the products of our current educational system.
What's worst, it also could have indirectly led to polarization amongst student of the various ethnic groups. Perhaps somebody would like to conduct a study or survey on this.
DR Mahathir was spot on when he decided to give back some glitters that we had lost by "reintroducing" teaching of Science and Mathematics in english. I said "reintroduce" because these subjects including History and Georapghy, Civics and many other used to be taught in English with great success in our early independence years, at least in those missionary schools such as St Marks, Assumption School, Penang Free School, La Salle, Convent, Methodhist School and many more throughout the country.
Then, there was no problem selecting the school that best fit the desire of parents for their child's education and upbringing.
People have free will and options and we can see many Malays, Chinese, Indians, Eurasians and other ethnic communities mixing and studying together in harmony.
Really, this is what I call unity and harmony amongst the various races of the nation. I had many such classmates and school mates. We were so true and sincere towards each other. I find that unity and harmony during those days are in fact very much better than what we had today.
In fact the educational system & policies we had today seems to have created much more polarization than unity.
It's time now for those in authorities to go back to the drawing board, we seriously look into this issues and come up with a long term and "more" permanent blue print and policies to make sure we really progress.
Do not, please do not make adhoc announcements and then sit back and wait for feed backs, not a good practice at all.
As the Minister of one of the most important Ministry that we have, Tan Sri Muyuddin Yasin should take charge of the authority that's accorded to him.
Do set up a proper intellect team, a council, committee or whatever. The sources can comprise of educationist from local and foreign establishments, past & present practitioners, professionals, etc.
This team shall be tasked to study our present educational system, what we had got to now, where is our direction, why are we in the current predicament, what do we want to achieve as a nation, where do we want to go from here.
It has to be comprehensive, we need to pull in all the resources that we have, be objective and not to be blinded by political and racial issues.
Whatever decisions & policies that are taken, there must be ready answers to impending queries and questions from the ground. It must be seen to have taken into consideration the needs of the nation, the sensitivities and the needs of all the people (citizens of Malaysian), fair minded and no discrimination or slanting to any particular ethnic group or political parties.
It has to provide for long term and broad based educational needs, from the lowest level up to the tertiary level.
It has to take into consideration the availability of study materials, text and books in the languages that best suits the nation (not necessarily limited ourselve only to Bahasa Malaysia or English).
Over to you DPM
written by elmo world, June 10, 2009 16:11:55
Oh come on, S-tu-pid Bahasa ..........

Look at the children today, we are the VICTIMS, if not because we learnt hard to master english subject , we barely could speak English.

Look at some of the older generations, even without higher education, they still can speak & understand english....why.? go think about it.

Thank you to the selfish politicians who ruin the people the children by putting the bahasa as a must.
Speak Bahasa for what while English is so so so important.

S-tu-pid politicians with no wisdom!

Wake up people..
written by Running Sardines, June 10, 2009 17:01:21
I say we cannot avoid using English in Malaysia unless we want to close up the whole Malaysia, like a prison whereby only the leaders and authorised people can have dealings with outsiders, in English.

With Internet and Astro nowadays, I think English for the rural kids should not be a problem. Of course, their parents cannot afford it but then this is where the Government must come in. But I hope the job awarded to those people to supply such services are really worth its money value because I have heard stories such as digital cameras costing about RM600 each being charged for more than RM3000 each !!!!

Of course there must be English teachers of good quality for the rural areas, otherwise it will be failure. So I am all out for English for Maths and Science, unless we think we are living in a 'prison'.
written by justiceseeker, June 10, 2009 17:48:20
Ajip, whoever you are. You took the liberty to comment here. Yet you are unaware that when anyone who participates in a forum or a discussion or even a debate one is expected of some basic courtesies or decency. Your comment itself though is full of idiotic foul mouthed gutter is bereft of any decency or even self respect. Is this how you start a discussion ? Where are your basic courtesies ? You opened filled with vulgarity. You should be banned from participating in any discussion here in MT. Your vulgarity itself reflects your background and your upbringing. You should be ashamed of yourself. In bahasa you are aptly referred to as ‘kurang ajar’. This definitely confirms your educational background and perhaps the school you popped out from. You wasted your entire school life as no one taught you anything. Perhaps you cared not to learn anything. What a shame ! I cant imagine what type of a parent can be of this foul mouthed tongue. Pity you and your children if you have any. I wonder what job you could possibly do in life. Leave alone even trying to puke your irrational thoughts .
written by Rhan, June 10, 2009 18:10:18
If we will to exclude stupid ass hole from Ajib comment and go through his question and comment again, can I conclude that this Dr is a stupid without ass hole?
written by Bloodhound, June 10, 2009 21:58:02
In Malaysia, we like to do things differently.

Normally, when the goings gets tough, the tough gets going.

But in Malaysia, when the going gets tough, they just bring the standards down in order to accomodate the "not so toughs"

When the students cannot excel in English, the authorities change the medium of instructions to Bahasa Malaysia.

When students cannot qualify for places in universities, they just lower the standards for entry.

When the public exposes that the police are unable to control the soaring crime rates, we were told to just change our perception on crimes.

When certain sections of the communities are scoring 13 A's in their exams, the minister of education suggested reducing the number of subjects allowed to be taken to a maximum of 10 subjects.

When we cannot win court cases, we just need to change the judges.

Instead of seeking to improve the lesser abled parties by helping them to overcome their shortcomings or inability, we tend to choose the easy way out by lowering whatever standards or values necessary in order to attain/achieve the required outcomes/results....and in the process, disadvantaged those who had excelled in order to accomodate those who are lesser abled to excel.
written by Fairminded, June 11, 2009 10:38:25
All boils down to the NEP. If those who do not want to learn the English Language are not assisted in their job search and tell to shut up and not to complain about discrimination when companies find them not suitable for international business, I bet my last penny that the next generation of unemployable ultranationalist will quickly change their tune. I am a non Malay proficient in English, Chinese and Malay, on top of the fact that I am also a Chemistry and Chemical Engineering grad. Education in Englsih did not make me any less a Malaysian Chinese at all. And I am marketable in the job market. I am forced to be competitive because of the NEP. So stop being a chauvinist and learn the fact that it will not make any Malay less of a Malay by being fluent in other languages. Otherwise you will be forever kept as a frog in a well. It is UMNO/BN's method of keeping the kampong Malays narrow minded in order to rule over and exploit these very Malays they claim to protect.
written by AlwaysFair, June 11, 2009 22:23:05
Another of Mamak's erroneous legacy!!

He think the Ketuanan Melayu Era was so great he made malay language not only dominant but almost exclusively used in education.
Then they realize malaysia also had to assimilate with others and switch to english in science and maths. This ding-dong really made the teachers crazy. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Luckily I am not a teacher. Now they are arguing again.

The reason is ARROGANCE and a racist attitude!!
I think the people running the education dept are really confused too!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
But never mind, the leaders always send their children overseas.
They "muddy the pond" but won't drink of the water. smilies/cool.gif