Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Another Lesson in PAS History: The Malaysian Public Doesnt Like Extremists

Another Lesson in PAS History: The Malaysian Public Doesnt Like Extremists PDF Print
Wednesday, 10 June 2009 01:38

Farish A. Noor

The repercussions of the somewhat clumsy attempt by some sections of the Pan-Malaysian Islamic Party PAS to call for the investigation, and possibly banning, of the Muslim women’s rights group Sisters in Islam are still being felt today.

Many questions have arisen in the wake of the proposal that was passed without debate at the recent General Assembly of PAS: How and why was the proposal passed as one of the ‘non-debated proposals’ in the first place? Why was it not vetted properly and why was it tabled at all? What does this say about the internal cohesion of PAS and its internal discipline? Does this proposal reflect just a faction of opinion among PAS members, or is it actually representative of the party as a whole? And what does this mean with regards to PAS’s avowed claims to be a modern party that supports the democratisation process and dialogue with others?

It is hard, to say the least, to believe that a party can be supportive of democracy if it starts by calling for the banning of NGOs even before it comes to power…

For now however we are left to watch the internal and external drama of PAS unfold as the party seeks to re-consolidate itself after what was clearly a hectic assembly for all. The lingering question of where PAS really stands, and where it goes from here though will have to be addressed sooner than later.

To help answer this question, we would like to propose a quick re-visit to the history of PAS from the 1980s to the present to illustrate a simple yet important point: Namely, that the Malaysian public has never had much appetite for violent, extreme and exclusive political discourse and behaviour, be it from PAS or UMNO.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by Arowana, June 10, 2009 02:33:02
PAS still has this Extremists tag hanging on their heads in which can only bring them backwards not forward.

They are still practicing religious politics of the 70's and 80's.

They really really need to listen up to the liberal group of members and change.

PAS, PLEASE WAKE UP WILL YOU!!!!
written by Kritz, June 10, 2009 02:50:13
Meanwhile, Selangor Islamic Religious Affairs Department (Jais) director-general Datuk Muhammed Khusrin Munawi was supportive of PAS’ call, noting that the group was too liberal when it came to issues relating to Islamic family law.

He said most of SIS members were not qualified to comment on Islam as they did not have an Islamic studies background.

Selangor Mufti Datuk Mohd Tamyes Abd Wahid agreed, saying SIS’ activities and efforts were contradictory to Islamic teachings.

http://thestar.com.my/news/sto...sec=nation
written by OilMan, June 10, 2009 04:26:21
For all I know certain group of people in PAS are greedy for power and $$$. UMNO will work with PAS for now because UMNO needs all the support it can get. Does PAS really think that UMNO wants to listen to PAS advice or recommendations? Dream on PAS. With all these talks between UMNO and PAS the PR non-Muslims supporters are losing confidence and patience with PAS. smilies/angry.gif
written by born2reign, June 10, 2009 08:16:01
When men turn from worshipping Allah to Money god. History repeats itself.

PAS has serious succession issues, when Nik Aziz is no longer around, the younger PAS devils will be at each others' throats. Power struggle, money and sex rules. Just like UMNO after Mahathir.

When Nik Aziz is history, the true colours of PAS will be displayed for all to see. Have no fear, for those who play religious politics will be proven to be tyrants over and over again, Catholic leaders massacre, Islam leaders massacre, Hindus etc we have our Kelantan monarchy as Malaysian symbol of Islam.

I forsee that PAS will join Be eNd very soon.
written by Tongkat Pak Ali, June 10, 2009 09:42:33
Brother Pete, Allow me to repost back my writings regarding the above topics

“Brother Sheih………allows me to repost what I think about PAS election recently……………….
“Knowing the attitudes most of the Malays old thinking and knowing the attitudes of the Kelantan Malays I can say that it is still unclear direction for the PAS in PKR especially with the group of selected leaders who is not as far sighted with their TGNA point of view…….Sadly that most of the talented, proficient and excellent leaders was sidelined by the old attitude of political thinking by the PAS representatives who made the vote recently……As a Malaysian Malay……I am confident that my way of thinking should be on par if not a bit lower to Datuk Seri Nizar, Datuk Husham and all his groups and supporters……But I can’t say the same to other PAS leaders besides TGNA………..But should PAS remain faithful and could be stand as a reliable partner then PKR should prepared and have the alternatives plan for the coming PRU 13……This is because……..The Malays is getting Smarter, Well Informed, More Educated and More Far Sighted elsewhere in Malaysia……….besides Kelantan alone I mean…….So don’t be too sad either for all the Malaysian Malaysia…..But always be alert and get ready……..Remember…………”When The Going Get Tough………The Tough Get Going”

Brother Sheih,
Saya berharap pemimpin P*S dapat memperjelaskan apakah bentuk kerjasama yang ingin mereka adakan bersama U**O. Saya percaya rakyat Malaysia (terutamanya bukan Melayu) semua ingin tahu tentang pendirian P*S tersebut. Ini mungkin kerana “PRK Manek Urai” akan menyaksikan pendirian orang bukan Melayu sama ada akan terus menyokong P*S atau tidak. Ini juga menjadi penentu kejayaan PRU13 kelak………Saya harap tak ada orang P*S menjadi Munafiq bila “lain di mulut lain di hati” berlaku seperti orang U**O. Bak kata perpatah “Sekali Air Bah, Sekali Pantai Berubah”. Terpulang kepada P*S sama ada parti itu akan kekal relevan kepada rakyat seluruh Malaysia atau cuma sebagai Parti Orang Melayu Kelantan sahaja……..di mana P*S berhasrat untuk memberi kejutan kepada Orang Sarawak dalam Pilihanraya Negeri akan datang sebagai mimpi di siang hari sahaja….”
written by shiokguy, June 10, 2009 10:52:33
Dancing with the WOLF! Sleeping with The enemy

Have you ever learn from the PASSED PAS?http://shiokguy.********.com/2...-wolf.html

written by alarcarte, June 10, 2009 13:47:10
PAS is in danger of imploding if they continue talking KOCK. The reason they lost Trengganu to UMNO is because Hadi was the M.B. in Trengganu and he talk too much KOCK!

These "Numero Uno y Dos" in PAS didn't realized they have been played into UMNO hands right now.