Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Dr M : “Malays and Malaysians will be stupid”

Dr M : “Malays and Malaysians will be stupid” PDF Print
Tuesday, 09 June 2009 18:16

The dewan bahasa folks are well connected to the school text book publishing mafia which basically hijacks the direction of the school syllabi in this country. 

By Syed Akbar Ali

From today’s Star (trunc):

Dr M: Don’t forsake English and ruin children’s future

PUTRAJAYA: Parents should think about the future of their children when deciding whether to agree or to oppose the Government’s proposal to make a pass in English compulsory for a student to pass the Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia, said former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

He said, English was a necessary component for students to get good jobs once they leave school or for them to go overseas for further education nowadays.

He said if parents continued to reject the importance of the English language in their children’s education, then the future of the country would be at stake.

He also slammed those who oppose the move saying that these people were less concerned about education than politics.

“It is more like politics than education. They are not interested in education or acquiring knowledge. All they want to see is how many votes they can win. So I am afraid the country will go to the dogs,” he told reporters.

Asked about the possibility that the policy on the teaching of Mathematics and Science in English would be scrapped Dr Mahathir said: “I feel very sorry. In future, all Malays and Malaysians will be stupid.”

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by aeromaverick, June 09, 2009 18:36:21
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Again, strategic alignment with the current PDM I suppose.
Practising Strategic Counterbalance Positioning!?
Of course, he and everyone knows the importance of English.
But again, there was a time political expediency was more important than the future of the nation's children.
It is these very generations of children who are the monsters today.
I suppose, such follies always come with some collateral damages.
Any change for the better will also take atleast two generations to see the results.
"Easy to damage; difficult to repair", dear Tun....
written by aeromaverick, June 09, 2009 18:37:10
Sorry, please read PDM in first line as DPM....
written by talk2stop, June 09, 2009 18:40:28
Malays & Malaysians? I thought Malays are Malaysian. English aside. So you are telling us Malaysians are not Malay. Malays are not Malaysian. Now who is Malays and who is Malaysians here, are we referring to? Can we have it in bahasa?
Maybe that's is why we need bahasa to simplify things.
That's what I call, "Clear as mud".
written by Braino, June 09, 2009 18:49:03
So much damage has been done ever since English took a backseat in the era of Razak, TDM and Anwar that to repair it will take an equal timeframe or even longer. We are in a dire straits situation now.

If "maafkan saya, sila izinkan saya lalu" is utter in English as 'Execute me, may I pass away please!"....we are definitely in deep trouble...TDM is right this time!
written by uxzee, June 09, 2009 18:52:11
So I am afraid the country will go to the dogs
==================================================

The country is already in the docks - the challenge now is to pull out without disrupting too much.from the
written by imanj, June 09, 2009 19:08:49
Tun Dr Mahathir Sir,

I read the article and do say that would be exactly what every individual including the politicians that make up this government should consider and then implement the need of the English Language based on it's said importance ASAP...!!

But Sir,do you not think it a tad too late? Afterall it was in your days of administration that had allowed for such disastrous results due to the childish needs and excuses to mantain the mother-tongue concept.At the same time it had ruined the authencity of the Bahasa Malaysia.Bahasa Malaysia has been made to sound and spell ridiculous using incorporated English words and doing away with lots of original Malay words.What's worst when there is no comprehension of the English Language,how do you end up speaking Bahasa Malaysia or explaining it...??

As such the standard of education overall took a downturn,just cause the need to favour.So let's just be honest.If the need for Malays to rise to par is priority,then make it happen with pride.Let the student earn and gain through fair efforts and high standards.So basically give extra attention to the slower ones and let them be proud of their achievements to meet the standars of non-malays.
But with this rate i would think by now all races are lacking the standards,as the teachers themselves are not at par and a system that fails in its standards....

So instead of stressing this eratic issuse of Education back to the people,parents,chidren or students,you sir have the power to ensure your once surbodinates do the right thing.Stop flooding the education system with the wrong curriculum and subject content.Go back to the drawing board and intergrate the best system from the sixties till date and i'm sure you would make a decent workable Education sytem to cater for all for the progress of the individual and hence for the country.
This isn't about personal needs,power,agendas or personal gains and profits,it shouldn't be,it's about my daughter and all other children who think to tell the Education Ministry..'I have the ability to do better,speak excellent English and be taught English and I would be ever so proud to speak proper dignified authentic Bahasa Malaysia,I am Malaysian and therefore I do not need to be referred as stupid or even hear of my fellow Malay Malaysian be referred to as stupid....!!

written by Tongkat Pak Ali, June 09, 2009 19:09:21
Once, I went for a jungle trekking with my old Iban college’s mate.....We stay in his long house for a week in the heart of Sarawak Jungle’s........Nearby stand a one unit block of wooden school building with 8 classrooms which two classes was converted into the Headmasters office and teachers room..........The student number is about 35 which consist of six student in Primary 6, ten student in Primary 5, and the balance is in the primary 1 to primary 4........From my observation is that.........The headmaster always absent on Friday.........went back to his house in the town I was told............There are five teachers of which three of them is temporary appointed........Mostly Form 5 and Form 6 School leavers........And the subject they teach is.........English, Mathematics and Science.........While another two permanent teacher teach other subjects............And the exams result’s.......almost none score A in PMR exam’s........And almost all can’t understand the Mathematics and Science in English (the teacher use Bahasa language instead)........Because all the children is more proficient in their mother tongue and Bahasa Malaysia.......My tears almost fell when I think about how lucky my children and the others who lived in the town and cities......And how sad for all the children in the rural areas.......They use generator for electricity supply not more than 12 hours daily.....Drinking from river and collected rain water........and their teacher take turn to take personal leave from time to time........either recorded or not recorded..........I’ll never know...........And this type of generations......Is the one whose parent obediently vote for B******N******* years after years........Whose fault is it???..............I guess I’ll never know.
written by cheemengwong, June 09, 2009 19:15:11
Dear Dr. M...

If I were you, I would have committed Harakiri a long time ago for failing to implement English as a medium of instruction in school, university and in the courtroom.

You have to take responsibility and do a public harakiri to let the whole world know that you are a true leader and not a liar..

Najis everywhere!
written by ladasiber, June 09, 2009 19:23:11
In future Dictionary:

Malay - A race possessing the most expensive brain in the world. Never been used, as good as new.

Prove it wrong.
written by 4country, June 09, 2009 20:20:13
Dr M : “Malays and Malaysians will be stupid” because played by Geng Mamamamak
written by Fart Fart Wah, June 09, 2009 20:47:17
how is it that we have a pretender Malay calling others stupid and cannot differentiate the Malaysian and Malay??

During his 22 years he was given enough time to iron out a 2 party system a clean police force a clean civil service, English to be given top priority,and all that he is demanding today could have been now a reality.

Now he is the pretender to be good clever Malay. 22 years he walloped our oil money and did what he wanted with our money like the Agong himself.

He could hve built enough universities for all our children who can go there with a minimum tuition fees and made for every state a core Universty specializing in some subject.SO MUCH MONEY WASTED SENDING STUPID MALAY CHILDREN OVERSEAS WHEN THERE WERE SO MANY OTHER MALAY CHILDREN THAT COULD HAVE BENEFITED LOCALLY...the universities could have been upgraded and good lecturers and professors could have developed this nation with a population of intelligent and competitive citizens...now you put some 1/2 baked Malay professor who cannot speak no Inggeris and no can teach well and you get 1/2 baked Malay children products who cannot get hired....all our children competing fairly and making this nation a great nation like it was once when buggers like him competed with others and spoke English.Universities competing with universities..wah..what a great thought but no...this bugger spoilt Malaysia..this pretender malay.. He is the cause of the Malays now weak in English.

Education was politicized and today we have this bugger talking cock to change it when he was the first cause of it. This bugger is a bloody wily snake and lidah biawak who changes his dondang sayang tune to suit his needs.

podah..give our oil money back..and our children do not have to borrow.dah...
written by ssathia, June 09, 2009 20:52:35
While the writer says Bahasa Melayu is not ready for science and mathematics, the same thing cannot be said of Tamil. Science and mathematics have been taught in Tamil long before even English emerged as a recognisable language and the English emerged as a civilisation. In SriLanka while the British were there, MBBS (yes medical degree) was taught in Tamil that was in later day discontinued under the racist Singhalese government. Imagine in Malaysia where Tamil children who have been to Tamil school do not know how to do basic arithmetic in Tamil or know the names of the common elements in the periodic table. That is totally a disgusting state of affairs. In fact it is little different from the way the present DPM saying that he cannot understand how (in Malaysian schools) one can learn English without learning grammar. A lot of things have gone wrong with the Malaysian Education System as in many government departments and this language issue is merely the tip of the tip of tip of the iceberg. The government should put back teaching of Science and Mathematics in Tamil in Tamil schools immediately. Since no secondary level Tamil schools had ever been allowed in this country, automatically students from Tamil schools will switch to English in Form One onwards. It isn't a big deal to switch to English if properly taught in Secondary Schools. Here lies the actual problem: With the quality of teachers these days, that is like the blind leading the blind. In fact the DPM should pay serious attention to the quality of teachers if he were to harbour any hope of raising educational quality of Malaysians. Otherwise, as Tun Dr Mahathir says, Malaysians will be stupid, as if they are not already stupid. Just look at the state of politics these days and the reputation it is earning for Malaysians in the international arena. It is safe to conclude that it is a direct result of weak minds producing feeble minds under our education system. I shudder to think about the quality of the next generation if nothing is done. We hear horror stories that students far below the mark are being passed and even given high grades: I pray that this is not true. I also pray that the present DPM will make one lasting contribution to the well being of this country where all previous Education Ministers have failed during the last 52 years.
written by Fairminded, June 09, 2009 21:03:41
This freaking D marmite is instrumental in destroying English education in his tenure while sending his sons and daughter overseas to study. Now he turn around and say that it is important. What a hypocrite and opportunist. In his tenure he spend all his effort in destroying the education system with NEP for votes. In fact he played politics with our education to the hilt ignoring the real purpose of education and now he had the gal to blame the new administration?
written by onnetline, June 09, 2009 21:15:25
The rakyat need to remove this corrupted political UMNOs 'lembu', MOOhyddin ! !
written by cheemengwong, June 09, 2009 21:33:02
Our Education minister did went to school afterall...

found in Wikipedia

Muhyiddin was born in Muar, Johor. His father, Muhammad Yassin bin Mohammad, is one of the famous theologian in Bandar Maharani, Muar, Johor. In 1972, he married Puan Sri Noorainee Abdul Rahman with whom they had four children: Fakhri Yassin, Nabilah, Najwa and Farhan Yassin.

He received his primary education at Sekolah Kebangsaan Maharani, Muar, Johor and Sekolah Kebangsaan Ismail, Muar, Johor. After then, he received his secondary education at High School Muar (Sekolah Tinggi Muar), Johor. Subsequently, he attended Universiti Malaya, Kuala Lumpur and received his bachelor's degree in Economics and Malay Studies(1971

Wonder what was his GPA points...?
written by lskong, June 09, 2009 21:54:50

excuse me... "will go to the dogs"?

it has already done to the dogs, and reaped apart, thanks largely to one ex-pm, who ruled by trials & errors... look east, make babies, education in bahasa melayu, bahasa malaysia, er no, bahasa melayu, wait wait back to bahasa malaysia.... msc, crooked bridge, etc. etc.
trace the downward spiral of education in malaysia, and it leads right back to the point razak took power and mahathir stayed on the throne for decades.
he said as much, he is a politician who has problem with sincerity. his words is worth as much as his integrity. or lack thereof.
written by Guess, June 09, 2009 22:30:06
Dr M : “Malays and Malaysians will be stupid”
Dr M: Don’t forsake English and ruin children’s future

HELLO!!! Can recall what you had been done during 1980 ~ 1990 plus in Malaysia education??? how dare you say we ruin our children's future?? YOU RUIN WHOLE MALAYSIAN CHILDREN'S DURING THAT TIME.... I WOULD TO SEND YOU A BIG "F"
written by AsamLaksa, June 09, 2009 22:50:33
Same old same old... nonsense.

TDM is in his usual scaremongering and sophistry. Those who oppose teaching of science and maths in English are not anti-English. My contention remains unmoved, if you want to improve English, then teach it correctly during English lessons. The standard of English in Malaysia at one time was very good and you can still find the older generation who speak very good English. Science and maths are not suitable surrogates for improving English.

What about science and maths standards? Well, as long as you use a language that the student understands, that's all you need. In all my public education till STPM with the BM medium, the biggest factor that decides if I will end up good in science and maths is the quality of the teachers. I had teachers who used BM and English interchangeably and it made little difference. Out of my 3 science subjects during SPM, I scored lowest for physics because I didn't like the lessons even though it was with the teacher who used most English. If you want to improve science and maths, train up quality teachers. Crappy teachers teaching in English gives you no advantage.

Textbook printing is always a money making venture. Makes no difference whether it's printed in whatever language. Every time there's a change in policy or syllabus, it means parents need to spend more on new books and equipment.

BM not a language for science and maths? Correct because Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka has been sitting on their heavy butt and not improving the use of BM. Compare BM with Bahasa Indonesia and you will find that BI is much more dynamic with new terms coming up all the time. The point being... you have to make your language fit to your use. No language started off as a language for science and maths overnight.

The quality in tertiary education plays a part as well. Universities should be the centre for research with sponsorship from the private sector. However as you can see the yearly fall in standards puts off investors. The decline in standards has many causes and too broad to cover in this post.

I think this teaching of science and maths in English was not thought through well. It was too sudden a change causing confusion that makes me suspicious of the real objective of this exercise.

If the government is sincere about improving the national standards of science and maths, it has to tackle the problem from multiple angles including relaxing quotas for public education and scholarship to encourage excellence. There need to be more transparency in business and meritocracy within the civil service. The brain drain has got to stop.

This teaching of science and maths in English will end up with educated students studying in other countries and not returning to Malaysia. There are so many talented Malaysians who are making good names for themselves internationally... and they are not in Malaysia to invest in the next generation. It is already happening and the government is not serious enough in tackling this issue.

Syed Akbar Ali, I think you miss the whole point. Ain't the language that matters. My reason for having BM as the medium of choice is not because of national pride and what not. I have no business ties to publishers.

My reason is that if you have to choose 1 language, choose one that is most identifiable with the majority in all levels of society and this is almost always the national language. Do not let the language be a barrier for students to pick up knowledge. Only when the majority of Malaysian are fluent enough in English will I support using English to teach science and maths for all. Until then, get cracking on the teaching of English in earnest first.
written by Sinewy, June 09, 2009 23:34:29
Seriouosly speaking, those jokers in the Dewan Bahasa live in a different world, sitting comfortably in the air conditioned offices with no fear of losing their jobs. They only talk about rhetorics and know nuts about the need to survive in the real world.
written by Kritz, June 10, 2009 01:27:40
written by Bruce_Lee, June 10, 2009 04:50:46
I would just like pose these questions this bigot who is also known as mahathir aka melayu celup:-

- why are you so ashamed to tell your fathers name?
- are the people from Kerala so inferior than Malaysians?
- why were you so disgusted when you got to know that two non-malays reached top of mount everest?
- why you never commented on Najibs involvement in Altantuya s murder? Is it because he sweared on Quran? Or you have proof that he is not involved?
- why dont you comment on RM 500 juta submarine deal?

Please dont give us the smart ass answers like (it only make you look stupid like the cendiakwan rais yatim):-

- I am a politician you know
- Oh! its just a technical problem
- Obama was elected because the whites did not like Bush! (Are Mcain and Clinton black too?)

Hope the Malay people chase you away from this country.
And be very afraid and get ready to sail with your 'apanama' boat because Anwar is
coming. I am very sure that the two TRAITORS of chinese and indian community ling liong sik and samy vellu want to sail with you.

What goes around comes around.
God is alive.
written by HamChak, June 10, 2009 11:30:43
Alamak., MaMak,
Malaysians ALREADY Banyak BODOH lah
after 22 years under your era.
Other than, Biggest this, Tallest that,
Crookest what? Smallest Brain?
We got nothing to BOAST about, lor.
Never mind lor, your BN, UMNO can follow you back to Kerala.
written by Wakeupmsia, June 10, 2009 12:59:05
I couldn't agree with you more, Tun. But I think the majority Malays will tend to lose rather than non-Malays Malaysians. My logic is this : Malays speak/learn Bahasa Malaysia at home and in school, Non-Malays speak/learn English/Mandarin at home but while in schools, they speak/learn Bahasa Malaysia. So, the former only learns one language whilst the latter learn at least two languages.

English is the universal language for commerce and technologies. Our Malay brothers/sisters will face a "language barrier" when they are overseas. When they don't comprehend the language, they tend to lose interest in their studies. Whereas this is not so, for the non-Malays.

Yes, it will be a political rather than an educational decision. Yes, the UMNOputras's children and the RICH Malays will not be affected as you and I know very well that they are schooled overseas!

Wakeup, our fellow Malays Malaysians. We want you on board to compete in the world. Together, we can.

Jangan bagi keputusan politik menghalang kejayaan kamu.
written by Limang, June 10, 2009 15:19:03
Well, IT WAS ALL YOUR FAULT, YOU HYPOCRITE TUN! You are the one that destroyed the English language in Malaysia during your 22 years in power and make BM supreme, a useless language that has no practical benefit whatsoever. If not for your ability to speak English, you will never be a doctor, you moron and all your children would be just kampong bumpkins! Are you aware that BM is not even a language, for crying out loud, it is a dialect, as it has no script of its own, and survive by borrowed words here and there. Only the stupid so-called Malay nationalism tries to make a language out of it with billions wasted and is still being wasted. When are the Malays going to wake to the reality and BM is only meant for them and not for anyone elese, except for some conversation needs, BUT DEFINITELY NOT FOR AN ALL-IMPORTANT EDUCATION SYSTEM!

As for our education system, yes it has gone to the dogs long ago as long as you have half-baked professors, teachers,and adminsitrators of only one race who are products of a flawed NEP policy, making all the stupid half-baked decisions which they cant even see. Unless and until you open up and take in the best qualifieed individuals what Malaysia has to offer, irrespective of race and religion, will we have an education system that can compete with rest of the world!

Otherwise, I can only say one clear thing: IT IS THE MALAY KIDS THAT WILL LOSE OUT AND SUFFER IN THE LONG RUN, NOT NON-MALAY KIDS! Serve you right for your short-sightedness, discriminating policies and racial prejudices!

Go on, keep screaming: KETUANAN MELAYU and count your losses!