Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The Barisan Nasional disease

The Barisan Nasional disease PDF Print
Tuesday, 09 June 2009 15:13

Leave Umno aside. Forget about Mahathir. We must now declare war on Pakatan Rakyat. In just one year Pakatan Rakyat has become what took Barisan Nasional 50 years to transform into. If Khalid can’t manage Selangor then he has to go, and go now.

The Selangor State Government must promote competitive and transparent tenders for public services, and condemn political patronage in the award of such contracts

The DAP views the expose by MBPJ councillor, A Thiruvenggadam, alleging that the state divides Alam Flora's waste management contracts to political parties - 40 percent to PKR, 30 percent to PAS and 30 percent to DAP, as reported in Malaysiakini yesterday, with grave and serious concern.

The Selangor State Executive Council must immediately investigate the veracity of these claims, which poses serious credibility threats to the Pakatan Rakyat state government. We would like to call upon the executive councillor for infrastructure and public amenities, Datuk Dr Hassan Mohd Ali, who is in-charge of Alam Flora waste management services to confirm or deny the allegations.

The allegations, if true, will put us on a slippery slope to become a Government which condones patronage and cronyism, no different from Barisan Nasional.  If the allegations are, however, found to be false or misguided, then Thiruvenggadam must apologise for his allegations.

The DAP strongly condemns any move which condones political patronage where politicians get to decide the contractors who get the jobs for public services contracts.  We are firm in our belief that these contracts must be tendered to all qualified parties in an open, transparent and competitive manner.  Only then will the rakyat receive the best quality services at the lowest possible prices.

The DAP-led Pakatan Rakyat Government in Penang has taken great pains to ensure that politicians are not put in a position to indulge in political patronage, which promotes corruption and nepotism. Even in the face of strong political opposition within the Pakatan Rakyat component parties to reserve plum positions such as MPSP or MPPP president's post, the Penang government has stuck to its guns to promote worthy civil servants instead. This serves to ensure that our policy of competency, accountability and transparency (CAT) is not only preached but practised.

Hence, regardless of the allegations, the Selangor Government must dismiss any lingering suspicions over the manner in which sub-contracts by Alam Flora are “allocated” by announcing implementation of a competitive tender, even if it's limited to Class F contractors, to ensure that corruption and cronyism will not take root under Pakatan's administration, and the rakyat receives the best deal.

Tony Pua

Pakatan Rakyat facing first crisis of confidence since its formation after the March 8 political tsunami last year

Pakatan Rakyat is facing its first crisis of confidence among members, supporters and well-wishers since its formation after the March 8 political tsunami last year.

I had made a short comment to reporters on the theme of the speech of the PAS President, Datuk Seri Hadi Awang after the opening ceremony of the 55th PAS Muktamar in Stadium Melawati, Shah Alam on Friday.

I said that the theme Hadi had chosen for his opening speech, “Islam Memimpin Perubahan”, would be a great challenge for PAS to become a national party capable of representing the rights and interests of all citizens in plural Malaysia at a historic moment in the nation’s history undergoing unprecedented political change.

Some of the speeches of PAS leaders and resolutions at the 55th PAS Muktamar like the focus on Umno-PAS “unity talks” and the call for the ban of Sisters-in-Islam have however an opposite effect, creating a crisis of confidence in the Pakatan Rakyat among members, supporters and well-wishers.

UMNO Youth leader, Khairy Jamaluddin and other UMNO leaders are trying to press home the advantage of using the Umno-PAS “unity talks” to split Pakatan Rakyat and undermine public confidence in Pakatan Rakyat.

This is a test of the wisdom and capability of DAP, PKR and PAS leaders to measure up to the expectations of the people as expressed in the March general election last year to advance the cause of Pakatan Rakyat.

Lim Kit Siang

I do not rear fresh water fish but I was told that if your fish are wiped out by disease then you can’t just go buy new fish fry and put them back into the pond. You have to abandon the pond because the pond would be contaminated and the disease would spread to the new fish fry as well. In other words, it is not just the fish that are diseased but the environment as well. So you need a new environment for the new fish fry.

As I said, I do not rear fish, so I really don’t know if this is so, but this is what I was told by those who are in the business of fish rearing.

I have said this before, many times in the past: PAS, PKR, DAP, and what have you, are political parties. Each of these political parties may have different ideologies but their agendas are all the same. Politics is about the pursuit of power. This is what political parties do -- they seek power. And they will attain power the best way they can.

Do you know why rivers meander and never flow in a straight line? This is because water always finds the path of the least resistance. Water will never flow upstream or up a gradient. It will meander around the gradients and flow downstream. This is the path of the least resistance and this is how water flows and this is why rivers meander and never flow in a straight line.

In politics it is the same. Politicians and political parties too look for the path of the least resistance. Why try to flow upstream and up a hill when you can meander (what the Malays would call putar belit) and look for the easy route? All you want to do is to arrive at your destination. And you will look for the easiest route to that destination. And the destination of politicians and political parties is to get into power. And you do this the easiest way you can, which may not quite be the best or honest way.

A few days after the 8 March 2008 general election I wrote about the Unity Government. I was whacked by the readers good and proper. Many even accused me of being a traitor and said I was selling out. Some even pointed to my association with the pro-Mahathir Umno group, in particular the Blogging community, and offered that as proof that I had switched camps and was now working with the other side.

The debate was of course confined within Malaysia Today. This was not discussed outside the comments section of Malaysia Today. But it was clear I had courted the displeasure of the readers and they made this displeasure very prominent in the manner they attacked me for my suggestion that the future of Malaysian politics would be to eventually see the emergence of some form of Unity Government running this country.

Some leaders in PAS and Umno were actually already talking about this barely hours after the 8 March 2008 general election. The voters may not have known about it as the secret talks were going on behind the scenes and were never made public. Malaysia Today even mentioned the names of some of those involved in the talks.

As usual, however, the readers interpreted this as an effort by Malaysia Today to sabotage the opposition and smear the reputation of certain opposition leaders. They would not accept the fact that maybe there are some opposition leaders who are not committed to the cause but are in politics merely for purposes of attaining power.

But PAS is a political party just like any other political party, opposition or ruling coalition. What PAS wants is what a normal political party wants, political power. So why should PAS not also make secret deals if that is the best route to attaining power?

Malaysia Today revealed that Umno had offered PAS the post of Menteri Besar of Perak. Umno also put icing on the cake by agreeing that Islamic laws be implemented in Perak if PAS agrees to form a new Perak state government with Umno. PAS would be a minority in a Pakatan Rakyat state government. PAS would still be a minority if it formed that government with Umno. But Pakatan Rakyat would not agree to the implementation of Islamic laws in Perak while Umno would. That is the extra PAS would get if it teamed up with Umno instead of DAP and PKR to form the new Perak state government.

Nizar, however, declined the offer. His loyalty is with DAP and PKR even if they can’t implement Islamic laws in Perak. Nizar will not sell out his partners just to gain Islamic laws.

Now, all this is not new information. Malaysia Today has written about it more than once before this. But the comprehension of the readers was so poor and the quality of the debates so low that most, if not all, missed the wood for the trees, as usual.

It has come to a stage that even I no longer read the comments in Malaysia Today. Except for one or two, most of the comments not only miss the point and are out of context but are also emotional raving and ranting that do not add value to the news report or articles.

What many Umno Bloggers and anti-opposition people say about those who comment in Malaysia Today is actually quite true. The comments are not worth reading and are mostly hentam Umno or Barisan Nasional out of hatred and nothing more. There are hardly any constructive suggestions as to how the opposition can improve itself and in that same process improve the situation in this country.

When the issue of the Unity Government first surfaced more than a year ago we should have maturely and rationally debated the matter and tell the political leaders what we thought of the idea. Calling those we dislike names is not quite proposing how this country should move forward. But that is all we do. Until today most comments are name calling like calling Mahathir Mamak and pointing out the 22 years damage he did to this country. But how do we move forward? What are the formulae needed? No one says because no one cares and no one knows and all they want to do is to let off steam by whacking Mahathir and calling him Mamak.

Even if I agree that Mahathir is bad, is he bad because he is bad or because he is Mamak? What has the fact that he is Mamak got to do with it? We used to think that Pak Lah is bad and now we think that Najib is bad. But they are both not Mamak. So does the fact that Mahathir is Mamak have anything to do with the issue? However, reading the comments in Malaysia Today would give anyone the impression that the problem with this country is we had a Mamak as a prime minister and that and only that was the problem. Does this mean if Mahathir had not been Mamak then Malaysia would have faced no problems?

PAS has forgotten the Umno and Barisan Nasional campaign in the run-up to the 8 March 2008 general election. Then, it was not to form the Unity Government with PAS. Then, it was to ensure Pembangkang Sifar (Zero Opposition). The ruling coalition plan was to deny the opposition even a single seat in Parliament and all the State Assemblies.

Malaysia Today predicted otherwise. Malaysia Today said that Barisan Nasional would lose five states and its two-thirds majority in Parliament. In fact, this was the gist of the ceramah I gave at various places during the election campaign. But Umno and Barisan Nasional were confident they would achieve Pembangkang Sifar. They never once said they are thinking of forming Unity Governments with PAS either at Parliament level or in any of the states. They wanted to totally wipe out the opposition and deny it even one seat. But within hours of the results of the 8 March 2008 general election they quickly started talking to PAS to propose the Unity Government idea.

Umno and Barisan Nasional were not thinking of the nation’s interest. They wanted to see how to get back control of the five states, or at least some of the five states, as well as get back its two-thirds majority in Parliament. Barisan Nasional was short of a few seats and if the 23 Members of Parliament from PAS and some of the 31 Members of Parliament from PKR joined the Unity Government then Barisan Nasional gets back it two-thirds majority in Parliament plus probably Kedah, Perak and Selangor and maybe even Kelantan. Then only Penang would remain an opposition state. But Penang too could eventually fall since it was a ‘Chinese’ state government and Malay sentiments could be played up to bring the Penang government down.

PAS has not forgotten its earlier marriage to Barisan Nasional almost 40 years ago. But there are some in PAS who are more concerned about their own positions rather than what will happen to their party if they go to bed with Umno. Sure, the party will suffer. But they will benefit, personally. And that is what matters to some of these PAS leaders. They are, after all, politicians, and politics is about attaining power any way you can, foul means or fair.

Malaysia Today
said that Perak is just the first of the five Pakatan Rakyat states that will fall back into the hands of Barisan Nasional. In fact, Malaysia Today appealed for the Perak State Assembly to be dissolved two weeks before the state fell. Kedah and Selangor are next on the list. And Penang and Kelantan are not safe either.

Kelantan will see a serious internal conflict within PAS. The groundwork for that was laid in the recent PAS general assembly. So it will be PAS versus PAS is Kelantan, which will eventually see the state fall. And Penang is headed for a serious DAP versus PKR-PAS ‘racial’ crisis.

Selangor is facing another kind of problem. Selangor’s problem is an incompetent state government and an even more incompetent Menteri Besar. The question that many ask is whether Tan Sri Khalid is just downright incompetent or whether he is a Trojan Horse aimed at bringing down the Pakatan Rakyat state government.

There are some who feel that Khalid has a lot of hidden scandals from his Guthrie days. I too have heard the same thing but have not seen anything concrete thus far. Umno, however, is not dragging all this to the surface -- at least not just yet. Instead, they are said to be using this as a ‘threat’ to force Khalid to cooperate in the move to undermine the Selangor state government.

Is Khalid just plain stupid and not really selling out to Umno in the move to make Selangor the next state to fall back to Barisan Nasional? I would like to believe it is stupidity rather than something more sinister. But whatever it may be it still spells doom for Pakatan Rakyat. And with certain PAS Selangor leaders talking to Umno and harbouring thoughts of a new Selangor Unity Government with Umno -- with the promise that PAS would replace Khalid as the new Menteri Besar -- this means the Pakatan Rakyat state government is living on borrowed time.

The people are beginning to see that the one-year-old Pakatan Rakyat Selangor government is no different from the Barisan Nasional government before this. We are just seeing the same shit, only on different days. I suppose the pond is so contaminated that the new fish fry has been afflicted with the disease of the old and now dead fish. Changing the fish is not enough. The new fish need to be put in a new pond because the old pond is already a total write-off.

Forget about all this name-calling. It has nothing to do with the fact that Mahathir is Mamak. It is all about the Pakatan Rakyat leaders suffering from the Barisan Nasional disease. It is about politics. It is about attaining power the best way they can. And Selangor is rapidly becoming just another state run by people who serve their own interests and not that of the rakyat.

Leave Umno aside. Forget about Mahathir. We must now declare war on Pakatan Rakyat. In just one year Pakatan Rakyat has become what took Barisan Nasional 50 years to transform into. If Khalid can’t manage Selangor then he has to go, and go now. We need to force Pakatan Rakyat to appoint a new Menteri Besar for Selangor while we still have time. If we wait for Selangor to fall like what happened to Perak before acting then it would be too late.

And Penang, Kedah and Kelantan are equally dicey. These states are not out of the woods either. The inter-party and intra-party bickering may see the end of the Pakatan Rakyat government in these states as well.

I have lost patience with those who comment in Malaysia Today a long time ago. In fact, I am even considering closing down the comments section because they add no value to the issues being discussed. Everything about Barisan Nasional is bad. Everything about Pakatan Rakyat is good. Actually, Pakatan Rakyat is no better than Barisan Nasional. And we are finally beginning to see this. But is it too late? Is this already the beginning of the end for Pakatan Rakyat?

I hope not. But unless we grab the bull by the horns Pakatan Rakyat’s days are numbered and it will be only a matter of time before all the states fall back to Barisan Nasional just like what happened to Perak.

Comments (103)Add Comment
written by Fuminari, June 09, 2009 15:23:36
""40 percent to PKR, 30 percent to PAS and 30 percent to DAP""
if this is the case,then pakatan is no different from those ali baba n the forty thieves from umno be end!
tony pua,it is good gracious that u voiced it out,n this nonsense should be throughly checked n investigated.
agree 270
written by tkahyap, June 09, 2009 15:29:30
pete you shouldn't close the comments section. if you do, you just deprive people from an avenue of expression.

isn't this what freedom of expression is? even if it means shooting rubbish from your a$$?

about the mahathir mamak comments - we always harp that mahathir is a mamak because he brought it on himself. he is a malay ultra, and he advocated pro malay policies. however, he is not a pure malay, and we don't see why he should have more privileges than other malaysian citizens. same thing for khir toyo, indonesian malay but now considered a bumiputra.

agree 178
written by SuperShyteStirrer, June 09, 2009 15:34:12
Spot on Pet. Agree with you 100% about PR and the comments generally posted on MT. Hope all is going well for you.
disagree 17
written by rizzku, June 09, 2009 15:34:19
What Malaysia needs is a two-party system. They have to be almost equally strong so that government can change once in several years. This way, they will provide 'check and balance' of each other. With PR and BN now, we are almost there. If PAS want to destroy that possibility and return the monopoly to BN, then I suppose we will just have to do it without them (PAS). As for me, it is not so much that I am 'in love' with PR, but it is how much I want to see BN supremacy to end.
agree 185
written by Littlebird, June 09, 2009 15:37:07
Me to think Selangor should call for snap election immediately.Get rid of Trojan horses and potential kataks. If the fight is going to be PKR DAP against certain PAS member so be it. We want good politicians as an alternative to BN. Period. Also, make them sign statuory declaration and public statement that they will not cross over.
written by malaysianohope, June 09, 2009 15:48:27
Pakatan position changed for the better in large part to the internet and also MT. After coming through thick & thin I don't think we want to give up on the remaining States just because someone is incompetent or fighting each other. Abang just be patient la. All these kinks are part of the growing up process for one year old Pakatan. The important thing is to assist & point out their shortcomings as they grow, macam anak kita la. Jangan marah sangat lo! smilies/grin.gif
written by Kampong, June 09, 2009 15:48:57
I can't stress enough that we can't trust any polictician. Period. What we need is a system of checks and balances like what is being practised in most democratic country. No need to reinvent the wheel, just back to the fundamentals.

Don't buy in all the sweat talk which is bullshit in candy coat, we need to see concrete steps being taken. Keep up the pressure folks, our children future depends on it.
written by lobster, June 09, 2009 15:51:57
RPK, I don't blame you for wanting to shut down the comments section. Sometimes, In fact most of the time, it's rather embarassing, actually.

* even phrases like "pu**mak" and what not are becoming a norm here, oh dear..
written by aryn, June 09, 2009 15:53:55
Educating the public takee a long time.

Let's hope we'll all mature in time and man enough to rise and call a spade a spade so we can have the government that we hope for.

As for closing the comment section...go ahead. It's your website. Though I must say you don't blackout something just because you don't like it. Sounds like MSM action to me. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by hellosunshine, June 09, 2009 15:54:54
RPK, you may have been privy to some insider information which the ordinary folks do not have. If so, your expose on Khalid has raise many eyebrows and your call to take the bulls by the balls horns is commendable but you failed to tell us dumb rakyat, who only knows how to rant and rave and calling names (according to you), to act. What? Riot? Demonstrations? Give a call to our ADUNs/MPs? Mogok in front of CM's office? Stop condemning UMNO and Mahathir and start condemning PR? WHAT???? smilies/tongue.gif
written by Anti Relon, June 09, 2009 15:55:37
Dear YM Raja Petra,
You must under no circumstances disc ontinue with the COMMENTS section. Like tkahyap wrote earlier, the comments section gives everyone the opportunity to freely express their views. Remember you also mentioned 'freedom of expression' and remember The Guardian (UK) supported your right to express views freely without fear.
Of course some commenst are rather vulgar and degrading, but then it has to be accepted. Some commenst do like any reports that critise the oipposition. And you have freely done so. Good for you.
A suggestion. The main report written by you or other bloggers must also have a Agree and Disagree slot so that the report can also be judged. Now it is only for comments itself.
Do not be scared to criticise anyone - the government or the opposition.
Best wishes and good luck.
written by nesen, June 09, 2009 15:59:18
Perhaps we need to write or call our elected reps to make known our frustrations
Merely writing crap and attacking the BN all the time is not going to get us anywhere
Pl do not shut down the comments section
Maybe you can suspend those writing totally unhelpful comments for a period of time..
written by Democrats, June 09, 2009 16:01:02
Many of PKR members consist of many ex UMNO people who banked on Anwar to become PM many years ago to get their rewards and returns. Many were ostricized and cast aside when Anwar was gunned down by MM. Many are still hoping Anwar to helm the country and still expecting to get rewarded by sticking to Anwar. I think this is where the problem lies. That is why the PKR councillors boycott the MPSP YDP's swearing in. Many in PKR too believe in rewards of position being in power rather than what is best for the people, still stuck in the UMNO mindframe.

Question is, how will Anwar handle the situation? Is he still promising people rainbows to those who support him? Because the rakyat is general only wants one promise fulfilled : TAKE CARE OF RAKYAT REGARDLESS OF RACE AND RELIGION, STAY CLEAR OF CORRUPTION, BE OPEN IN ALL DEALINGS, AND BRING PLANNED AND PROPER DEVELOPMENT TO THE COUNTRY IN INFRASTRUCTURE, EDUCATION, POSITIVE MINDSET, AND RACIAL HARMONY.
written by JinJangJoe, June 09, 2009 16:02:51
YM, I have to agree with you. After so much sacrifice, are we seeing BN- in PKR, DAP and PAS?
Yes, let us declare war on PAKATAN RAKYAAT. Either it is shape-up OR ship out.
written by MasterYoda, June 09, 2009 16:04:11
if these allegations are true, then it goes to show that:

1. you can get a person out of Barisan Nasional, but can you get Barisan Nasional out of that person?

2. Anwar Ibrahim has to throughly clean up PKR leaders of all their past baggages and silver spoon mentality.

3. It would be better for Anwar to bring in fresh blood and idealistic ppl...

4. DAP & PAS leaders are those who beleive in the ideologies... PKR's ideology was based on the Justice For Anwar... PKR needs to develop and ideology for the people. it is no longer Anwar's fight but the Rakyat's as well.

5. Building a party by pinching disgruntled members from Barisan Nasional wont last long... When BN can soothe them, they will return because of personal gain.

6. Really what was the driving force of BN all these years... thier hidden ideology was "Personal/Idividual Gain" or " something for everyone who becomes part of the group"

7. PKR, DAP & PAS, if they want to survive in this lose coalition need to have driving force... thier ideology should be "Rakyat's Gain" or "Something for All Malaysian"

PKR: you need to change your engine gasket... there's water inside, where there shouldn't be!

PAS: dont play this flirting game with your coalition partners to force them to listen to you demands... You get a bad name with the Rakyat...

DAP: dont lose your ideology.
written by Aizad 234, June 09, 2009 16:08:06
cant wait the next general election!!!!!
written by mick_err_stan, June 09, 2009 16:15:03
I totally agree with Democrats' posting. To have a government that will ......

TAKE CARE OF RAKYAT REGARDLESS OF RACE AND RELIGION, STAY CLEAR OF CORRUPTION, BE OPEN IN ALL DEALINGS, AND BRING PLANNED AND PROPER DEVELOPMENT TO THE COUNTRY IN INFRASTRUCTURE, EDUCATION, POSITIVE MINDSET, AND RACIAL HARMONY.

Today we have no transparency, no good governance, no rule of law,......no hope !
written by cylee, June 09, 2009 16:15:55
"Federal Court Sets Aside Decision In Raja Petra's Case"
Dear Pete, the above sound fishy. The decision just came in the fantastic timing.
Did you just struck a deal with the UMNO?
Its alright to have the deal, any how its survival. How much a principal will value compared.
Maybe just my imagination only...???
written by Just Gan, June 09, 2009 16:19:59
OK, Pakatan Rakyat must go because it is not living up to our expectations. What is the alternative? UMNO/BN? Never, Never, Never, Never, ........... Keep Pakatan Rakyat but change its leaders who are not performing or who are corrupt. That will be a far easier and more prudent task then bringing back UMNO/BN. That would like inviting Satan back. Let us pressure Pakatn to change and deliver. Let us not fall into the trap of Barisan Satan cum UMNO
written by leeum, June 09, 2009 16:21:37
Dear all,

Feel free to disagree with me, but I think RPK has raised some very good points.

I also feel that we should not always bash BN purely for the sake of doing so. Sure, we the people feel indignant at the waste and corruption at almost every level of the machinery of the government, but bashing and calling names will not add value to the discussion. At the very worst, we run the risk of alienating those who are not yet as convinced as we are - it is so easy to dismiss readers of Malaysia Today or any other website as "people who only know how to call names and cause trouble".

Ultimately, I believe we all need to be "mini-RPKs" in our own way. Sure, not all of us can be privy to the sort of private information that so tantalizes the readers of Malaysia Today. But I feel that all of us have a reasonably good grasp of what is going in Malaysia, and the ability to speak convincingly to other people to wake them up from their slumber. This is what we all should be doing. Because, in the worst case scenario, if we lose RPK to the powers that be again, we should not run around like lost sheep and be able to continue the struggle that he started.

Yes, if you ask me, I believe that RPK has consistently raised the issues about the importance of good governance and "government for the people" and constantly encouraged us to have greater expectations of the people we put in power. This should apply not only to BN, but also to the Pakatan Rakyat team! These are also issues that should concern all of us and should be beyond partisan politics and personalities.

All that being said, I still have faith that Pakatan Rakyat is the best choice for the rakyat right now. I know some of these MPs and ADUNs through dealings with them in the past and I have confidence that they are honest and hardworking representatives who got into the politics business because they feel that they can make a difference.
written by liny2k88, June 09, 2009 16:24:55
I was wondering how come BN never have state internal conflict or the conflict never get into the spotlight of the media? Can someone tell me? Like the Terrenganu intra-conflict nothing is happening one?
written by MalaysiaBaru, June 09, 2009 16:26:29
I suppose the pond is so contaminated that the new fish fry has been afflicted with the disease of the old and now dead fish. Changing the fish is not enough. The new fish need to be put in a new pond because the old pond is already a total write-off....You need a new environment.

Yes BOSS! When are we gonna see a new pond with you leading a team of well-qualified and unblemished fish?!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by thelandbanker, June 09, 2009 16:31:01
Yup,

Cut off the cancerous cell quick!

http://www.landbanking.us
written by temenggong, June 09, 2009 16:34:41
Selangor’s problem is an incompetent state government and an even more incompetent Menteri Besar. The question that many ask is whether Tan Sri Khalid is just downright incompetent or whether he is a Trojan Horse aimed at bringing down the Pakatan Rakyat state government.

There you are! This is what I've been saying for a year now.

Khalid is not stupid or a trojan horse. He is retaining the umno installed bureaucracy so as not to try and upset the malays And the little napoleans are thwarting all the Pakatan attempts to clean up. This is what Manicka has been shouting about.

The people are beginning to see that the one-year-old Pakatan Rakyat Selangor government is no different from the Barisan Nasional government before this.

That's right. There has been no change with the Selangor state govt. We need a mover and shaker as an MB. Khalid should move to the parliament. NOW!
written by Knight, June 09, 2009 16:36:47
"40 percent to PKR, 30 percent to PAS and 30 percent to DAP"
??

This is NOT right !!

It should be 33.3 percent to PKR, 33.3 percent to PAS and 33.3 percent to DAP!!

written by jchew, June 09, 2009 16:41:37
UMNO ruled 50 years and RPK expect PR to come out with results in a short period of time!!!!! out of ur mind!
written by Super Admin, June 09, 2009 16:42:20
Irene Yow, you just proved what RPK said about name-calling and poor quality of comments that do not add value to the discussion.
written by Super Admin, June 09, 2009 16:48:14
jchew, PAS and DAP are older than Umno and DSAI has been many years in the govt and TS Khalid was the top man in PNB. They have had enough years experience. RPK is not out of his mind. Would you say that Najib should also not be given 100 days to prove himself and that we should give him at least 5 years before we criticise him?
written by Super Admin, June 09, 2009 16:56:08
Knight, actually DSAI was charged under Ordinance 22, which is an outdated pre-Merdeka law on the way to be repealed. They did not use the Anti-Corruption Act on him. And he is the first person in history to be charged under that law when no monetary gain was involved. And the only witness to DSAI's so-called criminal act said that he would lie under oath if ordered by his superiors to do so.
written by SamYap, June 09, 2009 17:00:49
So, it looks like the GE12, March2008 was a freak event?

IMHO, it will happen again but its a matter of how much larger would be the margin of victory for BN in the next GE. If you view it the other way, its how much Pakatan will lose in GE13. But one thing is sure, the situation will remain fluid even in GE13.

Many comments in m2day.org are of the 'hate' variety but it does not mean they are zero value. One has to ask why there are so many hate messages. It does not take a rocket scientist to know its a reflection of how fed up the rakyat is with the state of the nation.

Such 'hate' comments is also healthy as it allows people to let off steam. Better that they do it here than to take to the streets, throwing stones, setting rubber tyres on fire and fighting running battles with the FRU.

I have been reading Malaysia Today since years ago, a few months after it was started when a friend told me about it. And what is apparent is that over time, the comments have become more brazen. Perhaps that is also a reflection of how, Raja Petra has been tackling some issues, example: Melayu Bodoh or Cina Bodoh etc. Thus its not surprising that since many readers and commentators are your ardent admirers, they would no doubt be influenced into making snide remarks amongst other expletives.

I must confess that I have at times resorted to doing the same. Whether I did that because of your writing or its my alter ego, is a moot point.

A case in point, as raised by your goodself, Raja Petra, is the name calling - "mamak". As one commentator wrote earlier, the term mamak as applied to Tun Mahathir is not about him being a mamak which makes him less of a leader. Its about Tun M himself making it out like he is more Malay than the Melayus who has been living in Tanah Melayu since God knows when. That posturing is what irks the rest of the Malaysians. I am a 3rd generation born here, and why should I still be less of a citizen than that idiot Toyo who is a first generation born here?

What it is all about is simply the racial ploy used by UMNO to divide Malaysians so as to make it easy for UMNO to rule. How could anyone fault others for being angry over this matter?

I wrote about the PAS Unitymen over the past few days and I said that its all about politics and its about power. But I wonder how many people could accept that. I saw quite a few disagreed with my comments. Thats their right to disagree and I respect that. However, its not about agreeing or disagreeing that I am concerned with. I am surprised that the readers can't seem to comprehend that politics, when you distill it, is just that - POWER. Whether one is a ulamak or a professional, the endgame is still the same - pursuit of power. Using religion to leverage your political game is as old as the business of prostitution. Even before the birth of Christ, the Egyptian Pharoahs were using the High Priests of the Sun God (and other Gods) to rule the people.

continued below--
written by SamYap, June 09, 2009 17:01:44
cont'd:

What is tough is that many people don't seem to realize that in this modern age and in a democratic environment, political power comes from the people. We, and not the politicians, should dictate who we want and who we should discard. We, must see through the pious posturing, the race factor, the "sweets" handed out during elections, to make the right decision in selecting the party who would kowtow to wishes of the larger public.

Malaysia, should not be different from any other "developed" democratic country, that generally Malaysians want political stability, an honest government, better welfare and increased wealth for all. If you ask any Malaysian, thats what they want. Have you heard anyone tell you that he is electing a particular party so he would be the first to squeeze through the Gates of Heaven? Or he would be instantly rich because he elected BN-UMNO or Pakatan?

The problem is most Malaysians, having been ruled by BN-UMNO for 50 years, are unable to look beyond race and religion as these are the issues which BN-UMNO had been using, and still is using, to work on the people's minds.

To make my case, just look at the latest statements from the PAS and UMNO leaders. They are talking about Malay unity. What the heck! We should be asking, what rubbish are they talking about? Is that ALL that MALAYSIA is about? Race and religion?

If PAS leaders say: We have a better way to govern the country and this is how we will do it.....blah blah blah...then yes, we will listen. If the public thinks that PAS's plans are better, then we should support them.

I remember when I was up in Permatang Pauh last year, supporting PKR's campaign to get Anwar elected and I was amused with a particular statement from Anwar. He said: " People all over the world and in our country are concerned about the economy but UMNO is concerned about sodomy". See the irony of it? UMNO was making a hooha about the sodomy issue when really, the people want to know what the heck is the government going to do about the economy! Those people standing in the semi-darkness listening to the ceramah, are concerned about their future and their children's future. Some of them were afraid they would be losing their jobs in the electronic factories in Juru and Prai.

So, it looks like it will be a long while yet, before we begin to see a new breed of politicians, whether from Pakatan or BN who will be elected on a platform other than religion and race. And if blogs like Malaysia Today, Anil Netto, AK Sakmongkol etc etc are shut down, it will make the learning process for Malaysians to move beyond race and religion in politics even tougher.
written by chebella, June 09, 2009 17:06:33
lets close down the comment section in mt

we are just jerking ourselves writing here

will look for some other venues to jerk ourselves

better still we can jerk off on those corrupt ****ers
written by Knight, June 09, 2009 17:08:52
Dear Super Admin,

Thanks. (Was trying to be sarcastic, but failed.. hehe). Yes, he was charged under the Emergency Ordinance where a "corrupt act" does not need to be monetary gains. ********* Goh was probably too young (or stupid) to understand this concept.
written by Super Admin, June 09, 2009 17:10:52
No Knight, I detected your sarcasm. It worked.
written by AhSeng, June 09, 2009 17:11:59
Leave Umno aside. Forget about Mahathir. We must now declare war on Pakatan Rakyat. In just one year Pakatan Rakyat has become what took Barisan Nasional 50 years to transform into. - RPK

Rhetoric, at most!
written by Super Admin, June 09, 2009 17:13:55
AhSeng, and how are you proposing this 'rhetoric' be translated into an action plan? I am sure you have a brilliant idea.
written by Knight, June 09, 2009 17:23:34
Ah Seng said "Let Selangor fall! Why are we so afraid Selangor will fall? It is a good thing Selangor if Selangor fall. "

Dear RPK, now I understand why you wrote this article. Malaysians are really cute & wonderful.
written by AhSeng, June 09, 2009 17:27:11
Everything about Barisan Nasional is bad. Everything about Pakatan Rakyat is good. Actually, Pakatan Rakyat is no better than Barisan Nasional. And we are finally beginning to see this. But is it too late? Is this already the beginning of the end for Pakatan Rakyat? - RPK

Face it, you are an Anarchist. And I believe we all should be, but that is not the point! It is you who exposed how ruthless the BN regime can be, and we can all see what BN had done to you and your family, but who are those people who rally behind you, are those not from Pakatan Rakyat? How can you ask us to believe in what you said?
written by Taiping60, June 09, 2009 17:34:54
When we asked for reform, we are not merely asking BN to reform the Federal Government and administration. We are also asking the state to do the same.

If BN and Pakatan do not reform by end of 2009, I suggest RPK and Zaid setup a multi-racial party and invite all honest and serious politicians who want to change Malaysia for the better to join.
written by Fuminari, June 09, 2009 17:53:58
for a start n to lead,RPK why not u join in the comment section n underline whenever u see a constructive comment???malaysia need it especially after 50 years of mentality errosion under the umno be end governance.we hav to be fair to ourselves under the circumstances in this case.
written by Fuminari, June 09, 2009 17:58:45
hav we asked ourselves n really "dick" into it n find out why khalid is considered as bad as umno be end n then make our judgement??what has he done which makes him bad as a leader??but i'm not doubting what RPK writes here,i hav to set it clear.
written by Loh, June 09, 2009 18:00:52
///Even if I agree that Mahathir is bad, is he bad because he is bad or because he is Mamak? What has the fact that he is Mamak got to do with it? We used to think that Pak Lah is bad and now we think that Najib is bad. But they are both not Mamak. So does the fact that Mahathir is Mamak have anything to do with the issue? However, reading the comments in Malaysia Today would give anyone the impression that the problem with this country is we had a Mamak as a prime minister and that and only that was the problem. Does this mean if Mahathir had not been Mamak then Malaysia would have faced no problems?///---RPK

The problems the country face are race, and religion. Over time, because people of the particular race and religion are placed in government institutions, and they ensure that the institutions serve the interests of UMNO, and UMNO alone.

You know very well that the state governments do not have all that much power to act and they are restricted by the law and the implementation thereof, particularly pertaining to law enforcement. State governments controlled by parties opposed to the federal government can hope only to minimize corruption and not much more. By controlling the state governments, they have deprived UMNO the free hand to build the war chests.

Mahathir is bad not solely because he was a mamak, but as a mamak he wanted to be Malay. To be accepted as Malay he showed that he was a racist championing Malay cause. Malaysia was not so racially polarized in the 1960s when he challenged Tunku. He accused Tunku of selling off Malays’ interests that resulted in May 13 which Mahathir knew very well that it was not true. This should be confirmed by the revelation from Tan Sri Abdullah Ahmad that had Razak called Harun half an hour earlier to disperse the crowds at his residence, there would be no May 13. So Mahathir was evil in blaming May 13 on Tunku. That letter provided perfect cover for Razak to cove up UMNO involvement in May 13, and gave him the excuse to implement NEP. Mahathir used NEP to make the government the most legally corruption in ASEAN, if not the world. To this day he can still use Petronas airliner for naything other than making money for Petronas.

In 1991 when he should end NEP, he chose to ignore the deadline and divert people attention by proclaiming bangsa Malaysia in 2020. Bangsa Malaysia should have been proclaimed in 1972 when Article 153 faces the sunset.

The curse on Mahathir is needed to remind him and for generation to come what Mahathir has turned this country which Tunku proclaimed to be the happiest prime Minister because of the strength in diversity to the curse because Mahathir could not tolerate different religions and races. He said as much recently that non-Malays had to suffer discrimination because they did not want to become Malays. One wonders whether that was because Mahathir felt the cost of losing his Indian, or Kerela ancestry to become Malay but others could still continue with calling themselves which they were endowed at birth. Racist cares about their origin, but he had to fight for the race which he pretends to belong. He would be happy in the day to be Malay because of the power the convenience brings him, but he could only revert to Indian in isolation or in his dream.

Politicians have to be reminded that they have to be responsible for the evils they have caused the country, whether they are still alive or dead and cold. This would encourage others to do good. After all what is left after life is reputation. The evil person should not get away scot free.
written by LucidMind, June 09, 2009 18:19:21
One of the best article you've RPK. Bravo.

Its easy to point out others mistake but hard to even look into the mirror.

The sad thing is believe. Few Malaysian genuinely believe in integrity and justice. I am not an idealist but I think the concept of justice and integrity is crucial to our society's well-being. You are right, political parties are just going for power and human aren't flawless. As such, we need a FUNCTIONAL system of check and balances and of transparency.

Sure, I am not saying anything new. But my point is, what are WE doing about that? Talk is cheap.

Do something. Take out your torch of justice and shine its light onto ANY corners of darkness. Everyone has a torch, its deep inside your heart.

Ok, ok... by now you'd think I'm idealistic and naive. Do you?

smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by aeromaverick, June 09, 2009 18:19:36
Dear Readers,
Always remember, it takes two to tango. The analogy about the river is apt here. Political Parties taking the "Path of Least Resistance" means, the people get what the people want.
Dividing out the contracts for garbage collection on a % basis amongst the victors is the only way these parties can survive to fight the next election. Especially while facing a formidable opponent who had 50 years to acquire a matching War Chest!
As for Selangor PKR government, Malaysians are famous for rumour mongering. You will always find absurd claims made in Mamak shops. Even God would not know the origin of these stories.
I agree with RPK. Most of the commentors here are too daft sometimes with their comments. I personally feel their seems to be always a "kiasu" attitude the governs their comments.
As for name calling, again, though I am not a big fan of TDM, why drag in things like Keralites, Mamaks, Indian roots all that here?
Are all the other races too clean at the same time?
Last of all for a suggestion.
1. Make political party donations legal, with Records released at the AGM.
2. Create an independent body (easy to say, difficult to practice smilies/grin.gif) where all businesses, corporations (foreign & domestic), and private citizens can make contributions and or donations. During elections, distribute all the monies equally amongst all Political Parties.
3. EC (once it is trully independent) can make and enforce regulations whereby Parties cannot invest more than say X amount in each constituency.
All these are easily said than implemented. But I am hoping once the PR forms a government, they might start in true earnest some changes.
written by guns head, June 09, 2009 18:25:33
written by LucidMind, June 09, 2009 18:26:30
O yes, one more thing.

RPk,
Regardless if you shut down comments or not, I'd suggests that you have some space for "local hero". People who takes little step and set thing right. (Like reporting police on bribery, use hidden camera to capture wrong doings ...etc.) Sort of like "Young people who rocks" on CNN.

Its good to have positive reinforcement and to share hope among those whom are "helpless". Malaysia Today is a good platform to do so.

my 2cents worth.

ps. Ok, enough talk already. smilies/grin.gif
written by AhSeng, June 09, 2009 18:27:36
I agree and support the call that RPK and Zaid Ibrahim should partner each other to form a new party not align to any coalition.
written by mob1900, June 09, 2009 18:43:48
What RPK is trying to say is:
Scream/Kick/whallup at PAKATAN if they crossed the line, look at the MPSB/MPPP case where PKR and DAP are quarreling over positions! They're NOT fighting for you or me, they're actually fcking each other up over who gets to head a Majilis Perbandaran!

Tony Pua's expose on the 'pie-cutting' on Alam Flora waste contracts deserves the Rakyat's support, infact we should be angry such corrupt practices has started to come out from PAKATAN. If they're smart, they will listen like the early days of MARCH 8. If They don't, and start behaving like Barisan Najis, then PAKATAN will be discarded like used toilet paper. We, the rakyat are the Boss! (well, in PR states anyway!)

p/s: PAKATAN, all these furor for who gets to take out the trash?
C'mon, there are bigger 'rewards' out there, yall just have to aim higher, like taking out the BIGGEST TRASH of all, Barisan Najis!
written by mountainking, June 09, 2009 18:51:37
RPK

I hope you can directly speak to the top leadership in PR and tell them on their face that they need to change. this is not the voting season and those who are voted in will hold office till 2013.
How do we tell Khalid to resign? write an open letter to khalid and tell him "hi, tan sri, since you can't perform, could you graciously vacate your seat?"

and can the sultan of selangor allow a non-bumi to be the MB IF proven that is necessary even though i am equally supportive of any race to become the MB?

we the voter and as active user/reader of internet have done what is necessary and shared with others about the mission of PR. and now there is nothing we can do. please also do not just sit behind your comp and whack your readers, equally send letter/email to LKS, DSAI, Tok Guru to tell them about your concern and what are the plans in place to run the states in a professional and corporate manner.

if you think i am wrong in my comment, please have an open heart to tell us what you want us to do? i am sure when you children run to you to ask for direction, you would be happy to give and to guide them.
written by anakmalaysia777, June 09, 2009 19:11:43
If what is going on with the PR governments continues, all Najib and BN have to do is to wait for the PR governments to fall in their own shit and get thrown out in the next GW.

It must be admitted that the PR itself was not ready to govern, but was carried into power by a flood. Thee is not much depth in the quality of the representatives. PR has not other alternative then to keep going with Khalid for the moment. That is the immediate reality.

If the PR leaders want to really succeed, they need to quickly form a tightly neat Advisory and Oversight Council that can guide the present PR governments to good governance and managment. They should stop public squabbles as these would only lead into the bloody BN hands. These is the only way forward when there is dearth of expertise.

The other action that PR parties need to do is to identify good leaders and start cultivating them towards the next elections.

The only experience to fall back on is to see how the Seenivasagam brothers managed Ipoh with people friendly policies. Also look att how Lim Chnong EU managed Penang during the formative years of Gerakan.

Regardless of its impact, PR should no compromise on accountability and transparency. Call a spade a spade when needed, but take immediate action to rectify problems. That is the only way they can show that they are different from BN and obtain the people's support.

If PR fails, all the fight of the last few years for more open and accountable government would be in vain and Malaysia will be condemned to another 50 years of BN government.

Of course, all these will succeed only so long as PAS works with PKR and DAP on the same music sheet. If PAS has one eye on an UMNO partnership and works on that premise, then we might as well forget any long term success.

written by mob1900, June 09, 2009 20:06:12
Some of the best & constructive comments are coming out from Readers today, let's keep it civilised and keep 'em coming!
smilies/cool.gif
written by James Loh, June 09, 2009 20:20:52
What can we do about Pakatan Rakyat? There is much we can do as fellow citizens. We can voice up our opinion; nonetheless, it’ll not be heard. Certainly, we can replace Khalid from being the MB. Do you have any other suggestion? Who else is fit to lead us in Selangor? For instance, you stated that Ronnie Liu might be involved in corruption dealing with Wifi project. Did we hear any action taken by DAP leaders? I would suggest that Pakatan Rakyat setup an accountability committee. This committee will be responsible on monitoring corruption practices in Pakatan Rakyat state government. The members will involved members from NGO, fellow bloggers, professionals, and lastly it could be lead by TUNKU ABDUL AZIZ. I’m assuming Tunku Abdul Azis should be above politic and not corrupted. Lastly, we can’t do much because a lot of things are behind close door. Only you is able to inform us about sinister dealings.

P/S: I really hope you're wrong about Pakatan Rakyat being another BN. May peace be upon us.
written by Sterilizer, June 09, 2009 21:02:01
RPK wants MT reader's comments to come out with something that will bring M'sia out of the shite state of affairs?
The problem is simple. Everyone must be given a fair trial. That also includes those who have a Tun to his/her name.

This means, the only way to do evil & not get the music is to be like hitler, die before you get hit. One way of dying before you get hit in a nice manner of course is to make sure your party stays as the dominant party while you enjoy the "fruits of your labour". But that don't work if everyone gets a fair trial. & If everyone gets a fair trial means even while u r ruling, you will still get hit. huh? so all this is just catch 22 isn't it?

IT IS!!!

So to make sure that "everyone" "gets a fair trial", we must change government at least once in 2 seasons. But most M'sians are stupid anyway, that's why a Mamak by the name of Mahathir came & played psycho on M'sians & won.
written by talk2stop, June 09, 2009 21:08:11
From a person far away from Malaysia. I hope RPK don't pull the plug on Malaysia Today. Malaysia needs more time to change. You need to understand idiots are everywhere including me at times. There is always a rebel and demon in us all.
The negative responds are good. You can see there are so many people out there are so frustrated with things.
I think it is all caused by displacement.
Whatever you do don't unplug for Malaysia sake.
written by Eskay Lim, June 09, 2009 21:12:06
Politics will be politics.
Politicians are the same everywhere in this world. It's all about having the power to rule a state or country.

So to all us poor innocent voters, the only choice is to be able to choose some lesser devil to be our leaders.
written by lynn, June 09, 2009 21:35:08
Dear RPK

I wish you & Marina safety, good health & happiness always. And the same for your kids & grandkids. Maybe you have been threatened.... so eventually you will have to shut down MT partly because of stupid commentators like me plus others.

Thanks for the ride though. It has been fun & all good times must come to an end. But hope you realise, MT is so popular not because of its content(s) but also because one gets to read comments, stupid or otherwise. You gave us this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to voice out. Am forever grateful & thank you from the bottom of my heart.

I would never subscribe to MalaysiaKini because it is one-sided. But if you would make MT a paying blog, many of us are more than willing to pay to write/comment (with limits drawn of course).

PR is still new at the game, only one year old. Many share your frustrations abt dis and dat regarding PR govt but really, at the end of the day, at least the corruption more or less reduced - so I disagree with you abt Khalid Ibrahim's performance. He inherited a mountain of shit & fcuked-up culture among those who are still in employ. I don't expect much can be done until PR takes over as federal govt. As long as BN is in power, PR must tread with care & caution even at state levels. Perak was lost because of bribery of hoppers. You think that Hee trash walked over to umno because she supported umno? No one believes that. It's all abt the money. Nizar shld have asked for the Perak state assembly to be dissolved earlier. That was a real pity it didn't happen. Whether MT closes down tomorrow or not, by the next elections, Perak will fall to PR again if the state assembly is not dissolved earlier.

Sorry if I sounded stupid again - "Listen to the dull & ignorant, even they have their story".
written by parsona, June 09, 2009 21:46:12
PASOK, Please have some respect for RPK, if you don't like him then don't come to Malaysia Today. No need for vulgarities to someone who has sacrificed so much for us. RPK has and always has been a critic of bad governance be it umno or PR. Perhaps lately he seems to be criticizing PR more but he has every right to voice his opinion. At least these are constructive criticism.

Pete, this is your site, do whatever you believe is warranted. However, do so with a clear mind, free from emotional reactions. Not all Malaysians are well versed in etiquette as many of us still have the kampung mentality evidenced by how we throw rubbish anywhere but our own house. Also, many of us are emotionally incensed by the incredulous wrongdoings of umno that we tend to rant furiously. Among the many senseless emo rants, you have to admit you will find some other comments worthy of the internet space it occupies.

I've never agreed with the constant childish nametwisting of our umno leaders... najis, bodohwi, toyol, roastmah... seriously don't you guys find it bloody stale? It might be funny the first time we hear it, but not the 100th time!

As for the BN disease... well I believe that no matter how bad PR is, the most important mission Malaysians have now is to kick BN out. Differences among PAS, DAP and PKR can be settled later. BN must be punished for all the atrocities it has committed. Even if PR turns out to be another corrupt bloodsucking party, at least it is a new group that gets rich, not the same, already bloated mosquito we know as BN. We must show that BN is not invulnerable, that it can be brought down. We must humble them, make them learn/realize that the rakyat are the true owners of Malaysia. If PR is in power and starts to be corrupt, only then shall we think of another action plan. If by that time, BN has learned their lesson and shows signs that they can be a good govt, then we can give them a chance.... But for now, WE MUST PUNISH BN. PR is in the best position to do so. Pete, please don't give up hope on PR yet. It is not perfect, it is not always right, but it is definitely the lesser of the two evils.
written by Caretaker_y, June 09, 2009 21:48:16
Hello PASOK, why was the PR voted in this time? To continue the corruption & abuses of the Barisan Nasional OR to clean-up the UMNOBN's corrupt, abuse of power & covering-up of criminal acts by those who walks in the corridors of power?

Irrespective of who the leader is, if he/she cannot be 'Cekap, Bersih dan Teguh' then he/she must go. Well, Penang have produced one such example. As for Perak, it was sad because of the three(3) corrupt stooges, who instead of stepping down, jumped-frog over the the opposition by being friendly to them after being "kidnapped' & sugar-coated.

The same would have to be applied to Selangor, if the leader/head of any team there is not 'Cekap, Bersih & Teguh' then he/she must go for the sake of the maintaining the trust of the Rakyats for the PR.

Let us comment in a mature & sensible terms instead of vulgarity being throw out from our heart & head.

YM RPK in the only one in the millions who has been speaking out of the wrongs & corruption being indulged by the so-called political leaders of our Country, ALL these to his own detriment, being persecuted, ISAed, & the many other consequences to himself & family members.

We are living in a country where the corrupt, abuser of power & coverers of criminal acts by those who walks in the corridors of power seems to be cocksure that they can escape the judgement of their evil deeds & wrongs committed against God & the Rakyats & Country.

Let us watch & see the Day of their reckoning.
written by wahyu9, June 09, 2009 22:15:32
As for the BN disease... well I believe that no matter how bad PR is, the most important mission Malaysians have now is to kick BN out. Differences among PAS, DAP and PKR can be settled later. BN must be punished for all the atrocities it has committed. Even if PR turns out to be another corrupt bloodsucking party, at least it is a new group that gets rich, not the same, already bloated mosquito we know as BN. We must show that BN is not invulnerable, that it can be brought down. We must humble them, make them learn/realize that the rakyat are the true owners of Malaysia.

Exactly. Until then, other issues does not matter; especially as they won't work out. After the politicians know the people's power, and only after that, we the people can dictate terms.

My humble opinion.
written by magickriver, June 09, 2009 22:19:43
Hahahahahahah! Dear, dear Pete, you're probably the only person I know who can have a Bad Hair Day - without hair!
written by Spear Bing, June 09, 2009 22:22:17
"But the comprehension of the readers was so poor and the quality of the debates so low that most, if not all, missed the wood for the trees, as usual."

Told you so..... even PASOK has to come down to his mean level to vent his vulgarities towards RPK.

See.... human beings tend to forget their " BEING " nature.... they act on their inhumane instincts.

Let's close down the MT comments column for the time being. Maybe that would compel serious readers to write their own columns, or send their articles to MT.
written by Rock, June 09, 2009 22:38:57
I cant understand, if we could stand and tolerate umno's led government for 50 years why cant we be a bit patient with a-year-old PR government? I heard that MB Selangor is hindered with all sort of chronic diseases left by his predecessors. He needs more times to prove of his worthiness. Pete, why a drastic swing of opinions and judgement? Is there anything you would like to tell us? or otherwise!
written by Davy McChester, June 09, 2009 22:49:02
You are missing the point.What the country needs is a free ,fair and independant mass media,not one controlled and connected with political parties.All wrong doings need to have full public exposure.Not legislations and acts to muzzle and shut up whistle blowers. UMNO and BN thieves are disasters to Malaysia.
Malaysians are matured and responsible and what they long for is a platform for diverse views and opinions. We know it is an utopia,especially seeing what took place when the bar council was threatened ,worse of all the threat coming from a PKR denigrate But nothing is going to be achieved if matters affecting the people are not allowed to be discussed openly ,and responsibly. It is pretty hard for the ultras to get out of their third world mentality. It is not the twin towers not the longest bridge not the most beautiful bulidings nor the best orator that decides the maturity and civility of a nation.It is not Dr.Mahathir's "tangible" legacy. It is the intangible ones that build an united nation. You can bark the whole day nothing changes unless you put aside the imaginary fear that somebody may overcome you because of your lack of confidence to stand up to scrutiny.
written by bakas, June 09, 2009 22:49:50
Malaysians are light years behind in terms of maturity, ideas or even respect and ability to debate rationally. I am sure many here are PR supporters, but what I would like to know is, do you support PR because they are genuine leaders ot because you have no alternative to BN? If so, then this country is surely going to the dogs. When I said previously that many here have the herd mentality, I really mean it. Anything good aout PR, follow till the ends of the moon. And everyone (and I mean EVERYONE) comes to their defence. Just follow, but unable to think. I wouldn't be surprised if PR takes over the government, it will become even worse!

Remember, the YBs are supposed to work for you and me. If they deviate from their duties as our servants, whack them good, be they from BN or PR. That's what we like to see; a clean and honest goverment for rakyat, not just some blind partisan loyalty from the people who put them into power. Sadly, we can just start to give up now. With these kind of mentality, Malaysia have no hope whatsoever of going forward. And it's all not because RPK wrote this 'stupid' article. It's just that many are just too stupid and blind to understand and see and that's why, after 46 years of independence, Malaysians are still under the yoke of the greatest enemy of all: Selfishness.
written by Ramesh, June 09, 2009 22:55:50
RPK, Thanks for yet again a thought provoking artical. Yes, politics is power and if you are fighting for justice, eqality and fairness you cant do it without a political party backing you. Politic is making some powerful people happy and making the majority think the goverment is on their side. You have written numerous articals on this issue already and I am not going into the details. But I do have a a thing or two to say. First, have you forgotten that this is a revolusion which you have been a major player from the begining? The revolusion to chnage the mind of the people, jihad minda (TDMM). Look at the larger picture, political parties can do anything they want, but the ultimate decision is made by the people, unforfunatly its on 4-5years once. The happening now is a dynamic socio-political events and it will challange people's mind and awearness to the max. At the end people will make decisions, right or wrong. Second, you must take some criticism as its part of life. Mun-mun as DSAI says and you too have acted this way. We the people dont know shit what's happening behind the sceanes. This is the peoblem. And you as well as any politician have this mun-mun attitude to gain political upperhand. I am awrae that's the name of the game, but that puts the people in a very funny situation. Acting witout knowing what's really going on behind the sceanes. Just for eg, you mentiong TS Khalid. Half or more people do not know what he did or did not do. With a small paragraph, you swayed the people to think he may not be the right choice to lead selangor. Is this fair to the people? How about PAS? My support for PAS increased because, one is TG Nik Aziz and the second is you. TGNA because of the way he runs the state and his personal life style. You, bacause of your reasoning behind number game that PAS cannot rule the country alone and your intelec. Now since some variable have changed, can we just jump on people? Have you brought this up earlier to the attension of the people. Yes it stated right after the 8th March, but it was so minor so to say, not even you took to the people. Mun-mun, relex lah. I still belive PAS will make the right desicion and I still believe we will achive our targets as stated in people declaration. Some people make childish comments, but that part of freedom of expression. PR is young, it will take time to make them true leaders. Not all are DSAI, YBLGE, YBLKS, DSHA and TGNA. Take care. Ramesh
written by rajven72, June 09, 2009 22:56:16
well said Sir RPK.

See i'm not a very educated guy but at least i always stand on my own principles
whatever it is.

During the March08 election, i have to spend hours to convince my olders in family, friends and those who don't have access too what damage have this BN govt done for the past 51yrs to the contry regardless of race and i begged them to vote and give
a chance for a change to see what kind of changes they can give this country, BUT
it just can hold for solid 15-16month, it's very shaky and many many people start to loose thier confident to PR govt.

The coalition Govt(PKR,PAS & DAP) does not stick to thier Principle as what they had agreed upon. This is a big advantage for BN to mindle around.

What to do :-
Anwar Ibrahim need to do something on this matter ASAP
before they took advantage of this senario and bury PR without any trace.

PAS need to come out from the bush and declare what is their final STAND for once and for all , do not play peoples heart that confidently give you the mandate for what have you commited upon the GE , if yes PAS do want to have talk with BN/UMNO for unity govt go and get it after all you meet the objective, but don't play dirty mind game with Rakyat,further why worry only non malay will call you traitors not the malays(maybe some will do).

As you said if "putar belit" is what politician's are all about,
i surrender my hope of changes.

GodBless

written by AlwaysFair, June 09, 2009 23:01:31
""In just one year Pakatan Rakyat has become what took Barisan Nasional 50 years to transform into. If Khalid can’t manage Selangor then he has to go.""

This is not true. I think Khalid is trying his best to run Selangor but it is like swimmming upstream so we should be patient. Sometimes mistakes may be made and the culprits responsible should be accountable for it and the appropriate punishment meted out.

I have listened to several Anwar's ceramah's speeches on youtube and the vision of PKR seems to very fair and just treatment for all malaysians, no NEP discrimination,fair and just laws.

If Pakatan have the majority and would actually abolish the unjust laws and give back independance to the various powers then there would be a healthy check and balance system to rid the menace of corruption. Of course to err is human and even the best democratic system can have hiccups. But if Pakatan is committed to fair justice system in this land none who commit crime can escape so Malaysia should actually be on the path to recovery. But this doesn't mean there will be no criminals.

The party's vision and ideology is most important even if the people marr it.

However looking at the Perak debacle Anwar & Co definitely have to seriously size up the situation in every opposition-held state and be more proactive instead of reacting. Any hints of corruption or mismanagement should be promptly dealt with esp. potential party-hoppings.

I still subscribe to Pakatan's concept of democracy since who would be more sincere for changes to judiciary than Anwar who was a victim himself. I think Khalid is struggling to do a good job even though he also has to defend himself from personal attacks many times.
As for Khlid being a potential frog until I see such evidence I still respect the guy.

Malaysia Boleh!
Pakatan Boleh!
Anwar boleh!
Khalid boleh!
written by AlwaysFair, June 09, 2009 23:30:33
"" We must now declare war on Pakatan Rakyat. In just one year Pakatan Rakyat has become what took Barisan Nasional 50 years to transform into. ""

This is not true. Why should we declare war on a party which ideology we also embrace? Just because of a few bad apples? Show me any perfect party on this earth. In China?? In US??

Pakatan which was a hastily scrambled opposition group needs time to adjust. But BN is such a well-oiled machinery tried and tested with plenty of $$$$ at it's disposal.You need time and money to do most things. Mar'08 to now is only about 1 year. So far they are trying their best to root out any corruption.

Another important point to note is that BN was basically able to implement and run the coutry in the direction it chose because the opposition is weak or suppressed.

Since Pakatan's inception Mar'08 it has to fight to stay together (marriage of convenience) as well as fight the might of BN which in 50 years is indeed formidable. It is very evident what they are capable of doing.
The oppsition leaders have to run the state and all the while to defend from attacks, even to the invasion of the bed-room. Some like Nizar seem to attending courts all the time. How to do your job properly?

Imaging you are just a new born baby and everybody want to take you home?

So I think Pakatan deserves our support because they are trying very hard to fight against tyranny and got tripped every now and then. How can you compare BN with PR?
I think PR is very very brave esp Nizar and Siva they could have easily given up ie. flow downstream easily. Through all the trials we do have hope because new heroes are born though some seem to become villians.

Old fish or new fish I still think some "Old" ones like Anwar can change for the better and some "New" ones can become corrupt later on.
The most important is the implementation of a check and balance system and the freeing of the grid-lock of our judiciary and separation of powers.

I still have faith in PKR, DAP. Pas needed to sort out the bad apples and throw them out.

written by BUTEK, June 09, 2009 23:40:49
Declaring war to PR is really a stupid idea just like the idea of unity government...

Remember, we still far away from our common dream to topple the bloody shit UMNO/MCA/MIC (Babi Nasional) government....

unite or we will facing heavy defeat in the next election.....
written by Mickey, June 10, 2009 00:34:06
I have been only reading MT for over 1 year now. MT through RPK has been our information source on a lot of 'revelations' that an ordinary citizen like us would never get to know in the area of the political situation. Through these postings, a lot of readers have been given some form of 'courage' to speak out against the misdeeds of our politicians and their parties they represent only because of the sometimes aggressive nature of the articles. Whilst we have been talking of freedom fo speech, if we only understand and use freedom of speech correctly. The herd mentality rules here and its because of the provocative articles that brings out 'anonymous' replies to provoke opinions further. If we go back 12 years ago, which one of us dare speak out against the authorities; certainly I didn't dare. I would like to think the general public is maturing and malaysian politics is maturing and it's not a bad thing. The public is getting a sense of some freedom of speech, let's not stop the progression, it's probably years of suppression that is the cause. Maybe one day in the near future, the readers here will be more responsible for their comments and also more objective. It's easy to bitch about everything that's not going our way but it's never easy to offer a solution for something.
written by imanj, June 10, 2009 01:37:14
pssst...Pete,
Just being at the bottom of the comments and seeing how you feel,i doubt very much you would read my entry.But here goes...

Read above article and also your sentiments on shuting down comment site.Read all entries and as another comentator in my opinion everyone has a valid entry at least for this article.Why? Only because you have in numerous articles somehow stirred the emotions of people,bringing out the best and worst of them.It's not you directly that make them the way they are,but every individual is capable of reaction to any matter based on circumstances,if they feel the need to react..

So in all sense,there are many things said that can be interpretated to suit oneself.Having a bad or good day,sad or happy day,stress and angry day or even simply just bubbly.MT has allowed many to just be commonly Malaysians,from old school thought to new mindset generation and heck evn just the kind of Malaysian we aren't even aware off....

But my concern is,we are just simply the citizens that in a Democracy,vote our Leaders and parties to support them.They presented themselves to do the job.And would it be now the people who dictates what they ought to do and already know?!
And so when articles and debates are aired on the minor or major setbacks of this Country's political situations and all other issues,is it the general public that is expected to project and provide an Einstein Theory or breakthrough for solutions?!

NO..,what you are going to get is the ala Malaysian drama of emotional rants,bickering,name calling etc..where it suits for some,it's not 'caviar' for others.Is it not then that we test ourselves to choose in which direction we head?

....contd...
written by mowadoha, June 10, 2009 01:47:47
written by imanj, June 10, 2009 01:53:23
....contd...

Let's talk Government and the Opposition.What would be the point of a Unity Government? Can anyone explain on what terms,conditions,settings or senario would BN and any Opposition Party or coliation of parties,engage themselves in,to make a picture for ordinary folks to understand? Cos,there is no such thing as a Unity Government,at least for some people,when these same Leaders in their various parties stood together to fight opposite sides,raving and ranting,name callings,insults and what not.And suddenly,oh so suddenly,they think it wise to join up?! Does it come with joining up gifts,benefits,position and privileges?? Will leaders make way for each other to take charge??

And it's these same people who initiates an issue based solely by their own ideologies,personal agendas,power seeking attitude etc..And when the issue is aired open to comments,they now think to pass remarks on common folks raves and rants??!

I am but just a mother,if i'm given an oppurtunity to speak to the politicians of any party,i would first say...'DO AN HONEST DAY'S JOB'..Fill in the blanks yourself to figure out the positive direction you ought to bring for progression to a nation of a country for all children and adults,where peace,stability, togetherness for is the utmost priority.IF any Leader does not know right from wrong,he/she isn't and shouldn't be a Leader.This isn't a 9 to 5 job to be taken lightly according to whims and fancies and corrupt ways or methods..

.....contd...
written by imanj, June 10, 2009 02:04:01
At this moment the simple basic needs and amenities for all,throughout the country is not met or maintained.And people of Malaysia are expected to come out with brilliant solution/ideas for Government or Opposition Party who incidentally have one too many flaws and setbacks?!

So we could only face the reality for a massive change by totally giving power to the least attractive but most deserving party at the moment,that being Pakatan Rakyat.DSAI needs to spice up his talks and agendas with all Leaders and members of the coliation party,asking each of them to make a firm stance and decision,where they want to be,who they want to be with and what they ought to accomplish for the people.

GET THE COUNTRY OUT OF THE MESS IT ALREADY IS IN ON SO MANY ISSUES....

I hope i've written something worth reading...

written by yuenthiam, June 10, 2009 06:28:57
Superadmin,

Yes, if my memory did not fail me, that witness who said he would lie under oath if ordered by his superiors to do so is no other than the present IGP with his "made-up" affidavit as the evidence against DSAI!
written by jchew, June 10, 2009 06:53:16
Dear superadmin,

Those in powers like UMNO control everything..even the MACC ..unless PR takes over the Government, it will be a different ball game. If case like lingam and c4 can be fixed and ignored..you will know how powerful the current govern. is.
written by Concon, June 10, 2009 09:55:23
We still need to change the present government as told by my old friend. The new and young will work harder. Maybe it take longer way like the river but it would ensure it will reach it destination.
Heard this morning news that we do not have good English teacher now.
This is bad.

written by verifunny, June 10, 2009 10:50:37
I personally find that corruption has many forms, but power and money are always the top two among the list.

It is human nature that we are selfish, but of course there are those who pursuits better, meaningful goals.

A disease can usually be cured if everyone has a common standard and integrity. Comprise is always found in our system because not everyone are alike. However, with integrity and standards, it can be controlled. In order to have a new face, we need to urge the country's pillar movers to be sincere and firm in their beliefs, and take the lead.

In order for the Opposition to win the war and start a revolution within the government, they must understand "a chopstick break easily but not a brunch of them" theory. Constructive conversations among them must always continue in order to strengthen the bond and a mutual understanding must / should have been established along the way. Insincerity and double standard behaviors should be minimize.

Let's pray that the BN disease will be eliminated in the soonest possible time for the sake of the people who have suffered in silence and for such a long time.

written by ROBERTNGTG, June 10, 2009 12:14:11
Leave Umno aside. Forget about Mahathir. We must now declare war on Pakatan Rakyat. In just one year Pakatan Rakyat has become what took Barisan Nasional 50 years to transform into. If Khalid can’t manage Selangor then he has to go, and go now.

RPK, LET THE DSAI/KHALID EXPLAIN FIRST BEFORE WE CRUCIFY THEM. DONT FORGET THE
AGENDA IS TO CLEAR OUR BEEND/AMENO CROOKS FIRST. IF U STOP AND U TURN NOW, THE PEOPLE'S CAUSE AND YR RAISON D^ETRE WILL CEASE TO EXIST AND WE RETURN TO THE DICTATOR'S ERA.
written by Jit Dharma, June 10, 2009 12:48:40
At all cost, only a change in the leadership of this country,
a dismantling of one-party rule, will realign the political
attitudes of both politicians and citizens.The 'bongkak'
attitude of politicians will be replaced by one of a healthy
fear and respect for the Rakyat. The Rakyat too can finally see
that in a democracy it is truly the people that wield the power.
Is this so difficult to understand. This is what the BN is trying
at all cost, to stop. A revolution by ballot. That should be our
motto for the next election, A REVOLUTION BY THE BALLOT.
written by Limang, June 10, 2009 14:08:39
I don't know if you will ever read this comment, Pete, but I hope someone will direct your attention to it.

Look, you whack almost everyone you don't like or feel is wrong too and many of your fans support you 100%. I am one of those who don't always agree with you though I don't whack you, because I believe in freedom of expression. To quote you once, I may not agree with you, but I'll defned to the death you right to disagree. Isn't this what makes MT great? And now you are talking bullshit in wanting to close down the comment section. Why not close down MT iself if you can't stand others' comments? Why write in the first place as it will sure invite both sides of the coins, and even unwanted coins? Common, brother, you need to grow up too and receive some whacking to wake up. YOU ARE NOT INFALLIBLE NOR IMMUNE FROM CRTICISIM! I feel that as a result, you have become egoistic and success has gone into your head.

So, in all fairness and in good spirit, allow to whack you once a while, like now, (Don't tell me your wife don't whack you too once a while when you are unreasonable?)

Example: you whack those who dare not put down their real identity. Look,be fair, how many people have connections like you who can escape from the law and police clutches? Also at least you are a bumi, which gives you extra protection even if you are caught. But to a Chinese or an Indian in Malaysia, if he is in the same boat as you, he is dead meat! Let's face reality, this is Malaysia that practises racist favouritism and Malay supremacy! Let's be frank: the Malay authorities don't give a hoot what happens to a Chinese, Indian or other races in Malaysia, but if a Malay were to die, it is as if all the Malays have died!

Now you said let's make war on PR, man, why are you not practising what you preach? In this article, you talk about giving constructive crtiticism, but instead of giving such to PR to improve, you declare war on them! Just after one year? Common, sure they make mistakes, but by and large, many of them are trying to do their best in the face of old UMNO friendly authorities and civil servants, not to mention powerful businessmen and royalties, as well the incompetence, corrupt and inexperienced among their members. Why not give some good suggestions how they can improve over time?

I have some more things to say, but I think this is enough for now, as I beleive you can get what I am talking about.

Best of luck, brother!
written by Limang, June 10, 2009 14:09:36
Typo error: "defend", not defined"
written by Running Sardines, June 10, 2009 16:13:01
I have lost patience with those who comment in Malaysia Today a long time ago. In fact, I am even considering closing down the comments section because they add no value to the issues being discussed. Everything about Barisan Nasional is bad. Everything about Pakatan Rakyat is good. Actually, Pakatan Rakyat is no better than Barisan Nasional. And we are finally beginning to see this. But is it too late? Is this already the beginning of the end for Pakatan Rakyat?

Dear Pete

I totally agree with you on this matter. I have been 'skipping' those name calling comments etc. As I have commented before, the root of problem is ourselves i.e. our values, our beliefs etc. Gone are the days where people are not self-centred like nowadays. As in the police video blog that was posted recently, some 'connected' the people involved to BeEnd, IAmNo and what not but how do we know that fella who practise such brutality is linked to any political party ? For all we know, he might not even registered as a voter !!! And if Pakatan Rakyat took over as Government, I don't think such treatment will cease cuz the 'pond' is contaminated.

As mentioned, water flows by the least resistance path. This is the same thing about our journey on earth. The path where we fill our life with good values is difficult (but not impossible) i.e. no corruption, no injustice, fair to all etc. but the path where we fill our life with wrong values is easy i.e. offering a bribe to the traffic police when in the wrong, greed, injustice, inconsiderate etc.

I just wish there is enough Malaysians to stand up for the right things and not always thinking for their own selves only.

Regards from me and peace be with you.
written by Eskay Lim, June 10, 2009 16:31:59
"In just one year Pakatan Rakyat has become what took Barisan Nasional 50 years to transform into. If Khalid can’t manage Selangor then he has to go."

How can that be true?
After 50 years of corruptive rule, the country has been placed in the "3rd.World Group" with Burma, Zimbabwe, Afganistan & Bangladesh as comrades. How can anyone beat that?
I would give more time to the PR state govt. It's not a very perfect set-up but TS Khalid is giving it his best shot and so far he has done OK. Imperfections are basically due to too many politicians (parties) fighting for power & attention. TIME will be the cure of all these minor hiccups.
written by batsman, June 10, 2009 16:54:28
I beg to disagree. Your own comment - that if the police is corrupt, do we do away with the police completely?

In the UK, both Labour and Tory MPs cheated the taxpayer, but they manage to come up with some sort of checks and balances. The govt in power seems to be the one most confident and most likely to cheat bigger time.

What we need is a 2 party system to provide first level of checks and balances. A second level is need in terms of blogs such as MT and the press as well as NGOs.

After all, if BN and PR collude, who is to protect the taxpayer?

Instead of being idealistic and expect things to turn out correctly in one shot, we need to be realistic and expect a longer term struggle with one objective falling into place one after the other.

The first objective is to have a 2 party system. Only after this is achieved can we try to have a free press and NGOs, blogs which can function without undue intimidation and suppression. To have both at once is too much to ask - I think.
written by Aria, June 10, 2009 20:31:05
PKR must have transparency, openness and be always truthful to the rakyat if it wants to become the next government. Where is PKR's party constitution on how the party is going to be transparent, open and truthful. PKR please state all your parties strategies on how you are going to achieve transparency, openness and truthfulness. Publish it in Malaysia Today and all other media that will publish it. Or you (PKR) can forget being the next government because you are going to be no better then BN.

Will PKR give access to the media on its minsters salaries, expenses and perks? Look at what is happening in Britain. It clearly shows that Britain is a true democracy (open, transparent and truthful). The power of sacking a minister must also be with the rakyat and the party must comply with this request. Every minister that does not behave must be sacked and a bi election held.
written by apanama, June 11, 2009 08:07:21
1. pls close down the comment section. the comments by you and me are just lousy and unintelligent, in other words, bodoh like bodohwi (at least he got TUNship to confirm his highest order of stupidity.) the comments are not read, and not appreciated.

2. i have said many times in the past that KHALID IBRAHIM is useless and stupid. no one heard me.

3. mahathir is mamak. i sometimes call him mamakpuxximak for his 22 years of crxaps, i just enjoy saying in and ranting about it.

4. time to say goodbye here and move on.
written by Susanna, June 11, 2009 12:21:29
The issue was not about Mahathir being Mamak. The issue is about him denying his own roots and want to keep harping about Ketuanan Melayu when he himself is a mix Malay parentage and he has the audacity (and shame?) to hide his own name and to cause racial strife in order to get his own political gain. As for the PR parties and competency. Rome wasn't built in a day. Let them learn from their mistake too. It is just that their mistakes more glaring than BN is because the whole world watching and waiting to pounce on every mistake. As for the stupid and emotional comments from bloggers, they are the same lot having to go through the process of growing and maturing. Why they react and write that manner is because the government has so long suppressed their freedom to talk and voice out so they are just letting out their frustrations and steam. If want to blame, blame it on the system created by the BN government in particular Mahathir's time for causing so much suppresssion that the people are somewhat retarded and when given freedom and release, they behave somewhat uncivilised and uncouth.
written by siburpat, June 11, 2009 13:05:07
Blame. blame, blame is all we can do now. Why can't take action immediately?

But how many of you who expects heaven from politicians are willing to invest RM5,000.00, monthly, yearly or lifetime for a "BETTER FUTURE". If not, blame yourself for not doing enough to give ourselves a chance for a better future. RPK dares to lose his freedom and has to "fly and hide" to avoid further "punishments" for sticking to his principles.

We, active politicians, have to sacrifice our time and money and ready to accept ridicules and put-downs by smart "alecs" who always class us as dishonest, untrustworthy and corrupted. If you are so concerned, then join any political party, sacrifice your time and/or money quietly. Politics needs money, either it comes from "CONTRACTS" or supporters, members or ourselves.

Be an active politicians now. Malaysia needs you now more than ever. Join any party and work to change it to be the Party of your dreams. To get rid of corruption, contribute weekly to your political party Account and demand for receipts. Politics is for your life on earth. Do it like the Christians do weekly but they contribute only for their afterlife. Do it as the Muslims pay for the ZAKAT. Why NOT for the living and your life NOW. Contribute generously and weekly, then we can clean up Malaysia together. Do not leave it just to the Tan Sris and contract hunters alone, please.
written by born2reign, June 11, 2009 13:52:55
Separation of duties and powers.

Isn't this what directors of all companies need to know of and attend annual training for?

Even the deceased former South Korean president had more dignity (though not the suicide part) compared to our most holiest religious parties.

Thanks Tony Pua for your expose. I do hope more of those in authority and in journalism will follow his footsteps.
written by R020998, June 12, 2009 05:41:35
What many Umno Bloggers and anti-opposition people say about those who comment in Malaysia Today is actually quite true. The comments are not worth reading and are mostly hentam Umno or Barisan Nasional out of hatred and nothing more. There are hardly any constructive suggestions as to how the opposition can improve itself and in that same process improve the situation in this country.

I have lost patience with those who comment in Malaysia Today a long time ago. In fact, I am even considering closing down the comments section because they add no value to the issues being discussed. Everything about Barisan Nasional is bad. Everything about Pakatan Rakyat is good.

I've been saying this for months!!!

p/s: The above MT Bloggers are consist of:-
1) Malay - Lower Middle Class (calling or perasan themselves as 'modern malay' which they are not coz the 'modern malays' are all in UMNO)
2) Chinese - Lower & Lower Middle Class
3) Indian - Anybody who can speak English. The moment he can speak English, the name Maniam would be changed to Michael...and he will tell you that he had never fancied chapati with chadni..ever in his life...he will swear this on ghandi....all these while he only eat bread and butter, pasta, etc etc (whatever the mat salleh eat lah)