Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Friend or foe? The old challenge

Friend or foe? The old challenge PDF Print
Tuesday, 09 June 2009 08:50

(NST) WHEN Pas wants to defend its decisions and policies, the party routinely cites Quranic verses and the experiences of the Prophet and the four revered caliphs.

So when it came to the contentious issue of unity talks with Umno, leaders for and against the scope and objective of the idea used equally compelling stories to justify their positions.

"The Quran says that when your enemies act evilly against you, you must respond by doing good so that they may gradually come around to your side," argued pro-dialogue leader Datuk Harun Taib.

On the other side, Shah Alam member of parliament Khalid Samad warned the party not to fall for Umno's "tricks", pointing to how fourth caliph Ali Abu Talib was back-stabbed by arch-rival Muawiyah Abu Sufyan when the latter proposed his own "unity talks".

The debate was essentially on the conundrum between continuing a destructive fight against an old enemy and constructively engaging it.

Deputy president Nasharuddin Mat Isa rightly said the issue would continue to play on the minds of members and leaders long after the muktamar (assembly) was over.

"This is not the first time we are dealing with this issue and the party has experience managing differing opinions," Nasharuddin said at the end of the assembly.

The wounds of Umno's "betrayal" are kept fresh to this day by leaders like Kota Baru MP Datuk Wan Abdul Rahim Wan Abdullah, who recounted the "dark days" when Umno ruled Kelantan up to 1990.

"They bullied us. They even once kidnapped five of our assemblymen to force them to cross over to Umno," claimed Wan Abdul Rahim.

A group of activists from Hulu Langat at the muktamar was uncomfortable with the idea, given the bad blood between the parties in the fight for control of the Malay community.

"Let's just say that once bitten, twice shy. Also, why do we need Umno? We've come so far as a party.

"Our struggle has gained traction among Muslims and now, non-Muslims are attracted to us because, to them, we don't play racial politics," says a Hulu Langat member in his 40s.

Nasharuddin, however, believes the party cannot close the door on Umno.

"There are still issues we can work on together for the nation's benefit. For instance, they had wanted ideas from us on how to boost the economy and we are working on those suggestions. But there are no plans to share power."

Cynics would dismiss this as yet another example of the adage that there are no permanent friends or enemies in politics.

Forgiveness is an Islamic tenet and, as narrated by Dewan Ulama's Harun, the Prophet had once gone to meet Quraish tribesmen who in the past had wanted him dead.

Though both sides have equally compelling stories, one of the most important is what the party tells the non-Muslims that it plans to court before the 2013 elections.

In the first-ever speech of its kind at a muktamar, Pas Supporters' Club deputy president Vincent Lee offered no stories.

instead warned the leadership that the 20,000 non-Muslim members the fledgling club had signed up were worried about the talk of an olive branch to Umno. As the Hulu Langat activists said, non-Muslim support for Pas arises from their opposition to Umno.

So if Pas somehow manages to find it in its heart to start being friends with the old enemy, to the thousands of new non-Muslim and Muslim fans it had gained, it will feel like a stab in the back.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by Ken Liew, June 09, 2009 09:33:26
Playing Dirty again.....

The pakatan's unity have been tested again and again.... All are just dirty tricks of BNs.

I've had it..... The government should think of a way to UNITE whole Malaysia, NOT BRAKING US APART.
written by Fuminari, June 09, 2009 10:39:03
what the fair minded malaysian want is a social political system whereby there is sufficient check n balance based on a 'two party system'.a unity government would be putting malaysia heading nowhere except back to the same old track of current corrupted to core umno be end's way!!!pas would be paying a high price for that not only inflicting onto themselves after coming all this long way,but destroying what nik aziz n those pas moderates hav achieved thus far.
written by EYFF, June 09, 2009 11:27:25
PAS was formed by Asri who chose a spiritual agenda as his political theme and attraction! Which happily was the right mix to get PAS into power with the more spiritual Malays of the Northern State.

PAS were dislodged from power in the Northern State in the early '70 when Asri "corruption" was exposed by UMNO! He awarded a timber concession to Sharikat Soong Seng and in return were given RM10 millions. He gave RM3 millions to the Sultan and RM2 millions to his party. He pocketed RM5 millions! When this was "leaked" out by UMNO, PAS members fought among themselves over the booty and was TKO at the election!

With the RM5 millions pocketed by Asri, PAS was destroyed!

You do not have such nonsense in UMNO. All the billions in "donations" supposedly for UMNO from the awarding of the various Mega projects had ended up in various UMNO kingpins pockets, but yet UMNO remain solid!

Why?? Well, UMNO is not cheap like PAS, who would fight over candies and banging each other with their Korans over them!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by lawa88, June 09, 2009 12:31:27
hello Nasha & Hadi, diam natang!!!!! tak sedar tak insaf ptui smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by JIVJAGO, June 09, 2009 12:58:44
Even the almighty God have introduced different approach to realize and understand Him according to different time and place.

'Religion without Philosophy is mere Sentiment'.

Throughout history in god realization engagement and debate between different groups or individuals often conducted to conclude certain issues instead of blindly excepting the biased views of individuals without any logic in it.

The Lord have in these context created different approach of religion to different level of people according to the time and place.

You cannot teach middle east people to be a vegetarian when hardly any vegetation grows there.

Humanity in general needs to understand these and allow the different level of individuals to accept the different choices that are made available for them to realize god and be god conscious.
written by AlwaysFair, June 09, 2009 13:21:38
""For instance, they had wanted ideas from us on how to boost the economy and we are working on those suggestions. But there are no plans to share power.""

This is the BIGGEST JOKE of the year.
Don't you think they would have consulted Anwar b4 you??
He got much much more experience than you but why was he not consulted???
You mean to say you two got more experience and intelligence?
If not for Anwar's help you think both of you will be on the stage today??

It would be really funny if not for the sadness of betrayal.

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by Sagaladoola, June 09, 2009 13:34:44
Ok, people.. remember to vote for Khalid Samad in the next election. Read what he said above.

As for Jadi Bawang and Isa, I will not vote for them.
written by burmen, June 09, 2009 20:48:30
L-Chiau nasharuddin, they wanted ideas from us to boost the economy? What they really wanted is for you to tell them how much of the cake you want. Whether they can affort to give it to you after giving crumbs to MCA & MIC. Now PPP also want a piece of the action too.

You are not going to work for a better Malaysia - that's for sure. Your true colours are showing. You just wanted to jump over and grab a piece before the GE13 when UMNO falls and you get nothing. Admit it, bastard.