Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Guan Eng: PAS must explain unity talks

Guan Eng: PAS must explain unity talks PDF Print
Monday, 08 June 2009 17:25

Written by Regina William, The Edge 

PAS president Datuk Seri Hadi Awang must explain to the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) leadership council about his statement on the unity government talks with Umno.

DAP Secretary-General Lim Guan Eng said the DAP was in the dark and had never been informed about such talks.

"PAS should explain to the PR leadership as the statement is completely untrue," Lim said after the swear-in of the new MPPP president Tan Cheng Chui.

"Unless he has been misquoted, coming from a religious person saying that the issue has been discussed within the PR when it was never raised, he is not only answerable to the other parties in PR but also to God.

"We have never been informed nor has the matter been discussed at the PR leadership council and never once has it been brought up.

"Hence, he must explain his statement that the PR leadership was receptive to these unity talks and that PAS has explained the matter," Lim said.

The unity talk issue was discussed at length during the PAS muktamar with many PAS members openly opposing the idea.

PAS Deputy President Nasharuddin Mat Isa had also reiterated that talks with Umno were on issues that need to be addressed for the benefit of the nation.

He had stressed that it was never done with the intention to join Barisan Nasional (BN) or share power and said the party was open to talks with any party.

Hadi is also expected to explain the unity government issues to its coalition partners at the upcoming presidential meeting.

Earlier in his speech, Lim said the council presidents of both the Seberang Perai and Penang Island would be left to civil servants to helm.

"Let the professions do the job as they are the best qualified to carry out their duties.

"We must put public interest above private benefit," he said clearly hinting at the recent ruckus during the swear-in of MPSP president, former Seberang Perai Utara district officer Mokhtar Mohd Jait, which was boycotted by the PKR councillors who demanded the post be given to the PKR.

Lim thanked the MPPP councillors including those from Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) for not lobbying for the president's post.

written by Arowana, June 08, 2009 17:41:23
Thanks Saudara Guan Eng on your comment on this PAS belot.

We are waiting for Saudara Anwar Ibrahim comments and his stand.
written by Sagaladoola, June 08, 2009 17:47:38
Too bad ... I actually vouched for Husam Musa...

If that Jadi Bawang likes UMNO so fast, he should have joined UMNO instead ....

What kind of unity talks if it involves only 2 parties? Unity talks should include PKR, DAP, MCA, MIC, NGOs .. all and sundry.
written by ladasiber, June 08, 2009 18:32:49
YAB Lim Guan Eng,

Satu persoalan untuk Hadi Awang atau Nasharudin, bersediakan mereka menjalani hukuman penjara kerana mempertahankan maruah seorang gadis bukan Islam atau bukan Melayu? Kerana YAB telah melakukannya. (Siapa yang tak tahu atau buat-buat tak tahu?)
written by Bruce_Lee, June 08, 2009 19:11:45
Clear sign PAS had been infiltrated by gerombolan umno. I dont know if PAS is so naive or having memory lapse. What they are contemplating is not new. It has joined umno previously and only to be discarded by umno like used toilet paper. Maybe the current generation PAS want mercedes, disneyland, go shopping in Harrods, play polo without any effort like what umno sdn bhd does best. What YB Nizar had accomplished since last GE had gone into the drain with this muktamar. The post of PM for PAS if PR wins next election is possible. This had been proved by YB Nizar becoming MB of Perak. Had PAS forgotten :-
- Altantuya
- PKFZ
- dragging of dewan speaker YB Sivakumar
- price of petrol
- Disneyland
- Kugan
- RM 500 juta submarine commission
- Mahathir aka Melayu Celup
- Polis Raja DiMalaysia
- Syarikat VK Linggam dan Hakim2 Sdn Bhd

Hope the good prevail over plain stupidity in PAS.
Unless their objective is free money.
written by Democrats, June 08, 2009 19:34:57
Say all you want about PAS, and be suspicious of them if you want, but track shows none of them have jumped ship, unlike DAP(real unfortunate bitch) and PKR, other than the Ibrahim Ali joker (who is not really PAS in the first place).

Let see event unfold without a biased perception or conclusion, but with alert eyes and ears....

written by krising1, June 08, 2009 19:45:55
Will PAS give up its push for a Islamic party and hudud laws when and if it joins UMNO. What is the response of the adek parties - MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP and a host of other mosquitoes parties in BN. Will you support hudud too or walk out on Barisan? Make your stand known now!
written by Fuminari, June 08, 2009 20:00:45
308,2008 is the first time in malaysia political history n landscape we saw the non muslim running away from the tyrant umno be end in exodus embracing nik aziz n pas n of cos later nizar;but hadi n mat isa intent to return them back to umno be end??hav they decided to sell their souls to the devils n save the devils??for what??n why??after coming such a long way themselves.is it for personal gain?greed??
fame for them?NO WAY!! fortune?? maybe!!
written by loosecannon, June 08, 2009 20:34:12
I never trusted PAS and never will. Too many fanatics who believe they are God given gift to mankind. Some are racists and others are religious fanatics. And these are the ones who will feel more comfortable with Umno than with DAP. There may be some moderates in the party but even with a handful of fanatics and zealots there, things can go haywire and the opposition grouping will suffer for it.
written by zanie, June 08, 2009 20:38:40
Pakatan is a newly formed alliance..it has flaws here and just just like a newly wed couple that goes through the process of knowing each other. But please..don't forget our aim, the very reason why the alliance is formed in the first place ; that is to fight the corrupted BN-led regime. Let's focus on that aim and forget about the differences among the parties for once, until the objective is achieved. Shall we? smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by thumb, June 08, 2009 21:16:26
At last Datuk Seri Hadi Awang wants to join the corruption infested government UMNO/Barisan, and yet PAS talk of Islamic principles. Pas is only interested in Islamic principles where sex is concerned, period. I now regret for having voted for PAS.It looks like PKR and DAP have to go on your own.
written by righttruthspeaks, June 08, 2009 21:20:46
Nowadays Pas is quite okay except that a faction led by hadi awang who sees himself as the next pm, is pulling Oas' progress backwards.

In his obsession to be pm (he cannot wait), he doesn'tmind dancing naked with the DEVIL.

He happily becomes a kuda tunggang for umno and stupigly becomes a Trojan Horse for umno to break up the Pakatan Rakyat.

hadi awang has umno laughing all the whole nights through.

What you cannot do if you offer hadi awang just a faint smell of power?

The Pakatan Rakyat willnot break up insyaallah!!

Pas, it is time to get rid of hadi awang, the hypocrit and traitor to the people !!!!
written by fendyoasis, June 08, 2009 21:24:32
Yeaaa...still blame it all on PAS...

I remembered a picture taken by the news when Lim Guan Eng warmly accepted Badawis hand after Penang fell and he hoped that central government will provide assistance to Penang with warm wishes. Hmmm, never would I thought that LGE will join forces with PM and he really didnt eventhough I saw all these actions by him, its just his way saying that he will cooperate if it benefits Penang, I remembered the day when Malays held demonstration in Penang when LGE is in power and saying that Malays have been marginalized becoz of LGE, but I dont believe it of course.. coz I know LGE would never sell out Pakatan,

..but yo and behold, Pas did something for the sake Malaysia and everybody starts condemning them.

Otak kat mane? Kepala lutut? Bodoh betul...Kitorang PAS OK je, we know it wont happen but then MT readers are just being MT readers...racist to the core.

ANd I still remember the frogs who jumped ship..they werent even from PAS. Iyela. MT readers mudah lupe.
written by merchant222, June 08, 2009 21:59:55
PAS apa tu PAS??? 'KENTUT TAK SERUPA TAHI, BUAT TAK SERUPA CAKAP'...itu lah serupa PAS-THE-SHIT around!

This new RUNNING DOG CHOW-KOW of BN has grown, not in strength but in their FART!

written by Milo, June 08, 2009 22:00:13
PAS president Datuk Seri Hadi Awang must explain to the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) leadership council about his statement on the unity government talks with Umno.

----------------------

No need to explain...The message is very clear! It is obvious PAS is using their position as a bargaining chip to pressure Pakatan into giving them the Prime Minister Post (once PR is in power) or they are prepared to sell out the coalition to stay in power.
written by Daryl, June 08, 2009 22:10:29
PAS
It is about providing better government to the rakyat not better benefit for you and your leaders. Get it wrong and you are doom.. maybe even in the by election in Kelantan and which at this moment I wouldn't mind it falls to UMNO just to teach you greedy fellow a lesson not to belittle rakyat's aspiration for change.
written by Proarte, June 08, 2009 22:27:47
All I can say is 'I told you so'.

What a sad day for PAS when it takes a non-Muslim like Guan Eng to expose an Ustad and PAS President as a fraud and scoundrel.

"PAS should explain to the PR leadership as the statement is completely untrue"

"coming from a religious person saying that the issue has been discussed within the PR when it was never raised, he is not only answerable to the other parties in PR but also to God"

It seems that the PAS President feels that he is more answerable to UMNO than Allah. Let him worship his true God. There is freedom of worship in Malaysia!

PAS is clearly split. The vote for the Deputy President confirmed this. But let us make no mistake, the "Erdoganists" in PAS represent the majority - 56% (combined Husam and Sabu share of the vote).

In case PAS supporters did not realise this, 'Erdoganism' is another word for Secular Islam. Erdogan, the Turkish PM comes from a party which has Islamic roots but he has sworn to uphold the secular constitution of Turkey.

I leave true Muslims here to define what type of Islamic governance the other 44% of PAS delegates voted for . The seem to find common ground with UMNO and want to engage in 'unity talks' with them.

All I can say is that if you lie with dogs be prepared to pick up fleas!
written by burmen, June 08, 2009 22:34:55
LGE, PAS no need to explain. I've never trusted them anyway. Asking the female reporters to cover up!!! Why, they can't see hair ah? When see hair their cocks will stand and want to start ****ing. Go **** Hadi Bawang's backside la.

Come 13GE, vote them out. Where they field a candidate, make it a 3 corner fight - even in by-elections. ****ing bastards never appreciate the nons. To hell with them. They can tie up with UNMO for all I care.

Come on, VOTE PAS OUT before they become a HEE.
written by SiHangChai, June 08, 2009 22:49:17
Just drop the double headed snake, PAS. They are the one who caused the PRU 11 disaster to oppositions because of their greed. They never learned. The new teams are bunch of greedy and selfish politicians. I don't think they practice Islam at all. Islam don't discriminate women and power -crazy. Just drop them if they think they are GOD!
written by Lim Lim, June 08, 2009 23:18:34
isn't it jus incredible n ridiculous,pas leaders like hadi n mat isa are willingly going all the way to the extent of tearing the party apart in order to save that sinking devil,umno???????fishy,sound n smell really fishy!!
written by AlwaysFair, June 08, 2009 23:24:46
I think the PAS leaders are the most enlightened gurus of all the politicians . Maybe they alone understood what 1Malaysia means when the rest including mamakty couldn't.

They have reach the level of wisdom that even UMNO have to consult them on how to run the country.HEE-HAW!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Lim Lim, June 08, 2009 23:32:33
jus some how or rather strange irie feeling kind of thing suddenly come up,pas somehow would lose in manek ulai,some how ,some one would be throwing a rope to the devil at that nick of time.......
written by Daryl, June 08, 2009 23:39:36
Come on guys we need them as much as they need us. Why whack PAS when there are only few snakes that we need to vet out and kill. There are two head snakes that we know and I bet there are others let PAS bring them out in the open than together with rakyat we can whack them in the next PRU. We need to be patient to deal with these 'running dogs'. Please be patient and watch your language because this is about the country not your personal agendas.
written by cylee, June 09, 2009 00:01:07
Pas to have unity talk with UMNO behind PR, upama Isteri yang baru khawin berkalwat dengan Ex-boyfriend nya. Inilay Ajaran Islam yang nak disampaikan oleh HADI AWANG??
Amat memalukan Ahli-ahli pas sekalian yang beriman.
written by Commonsenses, June 09, 2009 00:01:22
hey Guys, RPK has already explained in many of his articles that PAS cannot rule Malaysia alone. This politicians in PAS are religious men, haven't all of u heard the cliche "love thy enemy" and "keep ur enemy closed to u". Yes Hadi and Nasha, besides having ambition of their own, cannot as "religious politico scholars" not open to discussion on issues of their own race as their support are primarily from the malays who are muslims and they cannot be seen to betray malay rights.
written by Lim Lim, June 09, 2009 00:07:24
how could hadi tell lie n stabbed his PR comrades on the back without even letting them knew about it???hadi beriman dan seorang ulamak kuat islam????
truth is always too painful to swallow.lets see the truth!
written by Mark C, June 09, 2009 10:20:18
even if PAS cannot rule malaysia on it's own, but the very fact that they are considering cooperating with the devil is enough to spurn and leave a bad taste of just minded people.

The main reason why PR and PAS has been winning more seats is basically to vote anyone and anything that is not the "dacing". Come GE13, it would be advisable to stand as a independent candidate if PAS is still with PR in a 2 way fight with BN and I wont be surprised if the independent wins.
written by JUST, June 09, 2009 10:57:05
YAB LGE,

One Jelapang is enough!
This 'Unity' talk is distasteful!

"A man of principles will resist an evil system with his whole soul.
Non-collaboration with evil is a sacred duty!"

< Mahatma Gandhi >