Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow SIS strongly urge PAS to re-track resolution against SIS

SIS strongly urge PAS to re-track resolution against SIS PDF Print
Sunday, 07 June 2009 23:58

SIS is surprised by and strongly protest against the resolution passed at the PAS National Meeting to call "for a ban by the National Fatwa Council on the Sisters in Islam (SIS). (Malaysiakini, 7 June 2009).

The motion also called for the National Fatwa Council to conduct a study over SIS' approach in its work to reclaim the rights of Muslim women, which PAS claims is confusing Islamic society and also infiltrating the minds of Muslims and which may destroy the Islamic faith, especially among the younger generation.

The move taken by PAS leaders and members is retrogressive and anti-democratic. It contravenes the guarantee of rights to freedom of expression under the Malaysian Federal Constitution. Implicit in the PAS resolution is its intolerance and prejudice against SIS. The resolution was not even debated by the members at the National Meeting. This demonstrates the arrogance and undemocratic practices of PAS and that it had forgotten that the key reason why they were voted in at the March 8 General Elections. People voted against discrimination, undemocratic practices, non-participation and now PAS' actions have turned the table against the peoples' wishes. It also showed up PAS' intolerance for diverse opinions and views and its action is typical of  a totalitarian mindset that brooks no dissent, different views, debate, or dialogue.

SIS reiterates that our work, for the past 20 years, is based on a belief that Islam is a religion that promotes justice and egalitarianism for all humankind. We strongly urge PAS to re-track its resolution, in the spirit of democracy and respect for diverstiy.

Maria Chin Abdullah
Senior Manager
SIS

Comments (5)Add Comment
written by freedom to speak, June 08, 2009 00:28:24
Dear Marina

I fear you statement holds no ground to these much 'learned' Ustaz.
They preach "the Koran", whereas SIS moves to 'revise' it for present times.
I wonder if their actions are out of FEAR of "womanhood in the 21st century".
"Fear makes a man do desperate things".

SIS - fight the good fight. Keep it up.
Woman - You are the cradle of the humankind
written by ylcc, June 08, 2009 06:58:21
Dear Marina, your message is to Hadi Awang/PAS/UMNO or to Nik Aziz/PAS/PKR alliance? PAS is giving out different signals that I am confused.
written by Proarte, June 08, 2009 07:03:12
If the buzzword for PAS these days is to 'reach out' in the interest 'unity', why has PAS chosen to demonise and isolate SIS?

Reasonable people and people with a conscience will find SIS to be courageous in fighting and highlighting the plight of the underprivileged, minority groups and the exploited. If anything, they present Islam as progressive and caring system of belief.

According to Hadi Awang "Islam does not teach Muslims to shun others although they may have opposing views with the Islamic party".

But then how does this square with the motion which was tabled and accepted, but not debated by PAS, to call for the National Fatwa Council to ban SIS?

How can PAS be trusted if the leaders contradict themselves at best or tell bare faces lies at worst?

written by DreamLady, June 08, 2009 08:38:53
PAS, channel your excess energy helping the single mothers, go after the wayward Muslim men who abandon their wives and children in search for lustful appetite, ensure the sinners and irresponsible Muslim men are brought before judgment. Of all the talk during ceramah about helping the helpless, semua cakap kosong sahaja!!!

Belum apa apa lagi, just a little bit of booster from the voters to raise you one rung higher, PAS dah besar kepala, cepatnya naik perasaan riak!!!!

Listen BODOH SOMBONG!!! without unity with DAP AND KEADILAN, you are nowhere close to where you are now. Without the coalition, you will still be sleeping and snoring in the surau, dreaming about the castles you want to possess!!!

Engkau tau tak?? dosa dosa orang yang tak kenang jasa orang, dan dosa dosa orang bersubahat dengan musuh semata-mata nak jatuhkan maruah rakan rakannya!!

PAS, you are worse than the three frogs in Perak. At least we know they are the enemies visible to the eyes, but you!! sneaky scumbags, playing dirty game behind closed doors with the common foe to gain extra ground for POWER!! Shame on you, scumbags!!!

Your intention to destroy SIS, the one and only shelter that houses the victims of injustice, has a reverse effect for all malaysians to realize they are being taken a ride for a ride by opportunists from PAS!!! Come next GE, you shall be buried alive!!!
written by Fairminded, June 08, 2009 09:51:15
Simple solution SIS, just join PKR. I bet all these mullahs use handphones and computers let alone drive in cars, fly in a plane and live in airconditioned houses. Do they know that all these are the creation of kafirs and non Muslims? It is time that they learn that Islam is not an isolatist religion. If muslims do not learn to live with others they will have to go back to live a very primitive life. Tell this mullahs to just turn off their airconditioners and ride a camel (yes, bicycles are also kafir invention) to work and they will know that it is time to widen their views of God's words.