Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Student: Cops beat me black and blue

Student: Cops beat me black and blue PDF Print
Sunday, 07 June 2009 16:08

RK Anand, Malaysiakini

"I was handcuffed, punched and kicked for several minutes. And when I spat the blood which oozed out from my mouth on the floor, I was beaten again for this."

Little did 20-year-old college student Koh Chon Weng suspect that a night out at a club with friends would pave the way for a horrendous experience which he would never forget.

MCPX

koh chon weng police brutality victim black eye 070609 01The youth, who still bears the scars of his ordeal, claimed that he was arrested and beaten up by policemen for no apparent reason.

"I was handcuffed, punched and kicked for several minutes. And when I spat the blood which oozed out from my mouth on the floor, I was beaten again for this," recalled the soft-spoken accounting student during a press conference at the DAP office in Petaling Jaya.

His friends, who had accompanied Koh, expressed shock over the incident.

"He is not capable of committing any crime. He is such a mild-mannered person. We are so disappointed by this. It can happen to anyone of us," lamented one of them.

On May 24, Koh said he was walking towards his car at the basement of a popular mall in Bandar Sunway at about 3am after patronising an entertainment outlet when he was approached by a personnel from the reserve police unit.

koh chon weng police brutality victim black eye 070609 05"He grabbed me and told me that I was being arrested. I asked him why but he did not answer. I was then taken to the Bandar Sunway police station and handed over to two policemen.

"I refused to enter the police station and kept insisting on the reason for my arrest. The policemen ignored my question and handcuffed me. They then dragged me into the police station," he claimed.

"A struggle ensued and my right foot knocked against the glass door, causing it to shatter," he added.

'Punched and kicked'

In his report lodged at the Brickfields police station on June 3, Koh said the two policemen became enraged and started verbally abusing him.

"They then beat me, including kicking me in the hips and punching my ear. Because of this, my mouth and my lips started to bleed. My right eye, left hand and forehead became swollen.

"Another policeman then challenged me to a fight but I refused," he added.

Koh was later subjected to a urine test by the anti-narcotics department and the results cleared him of any illicit substance.

He was then taken to the Subang Jaya district police headquarters.

At about 11 am, he was brought to the magistrate's court to be remanded. Here, the student said he had complained to the magistrate about the 'beating' but was allegedly told that he could only report it after he was released.

Later that night, he was taken for a medical examination at about 10pm.

Koh said he could not contact his parents to inform them of his whereabouts and his mobile phone was damaged during the alleged assault.

Koh was released on May 26 at about 6pm and still remains in the dark as to why he was arrested and subjected to such treatment.

'Injuries were self-inflicted'

His father, who was also present at the press conference, said a policeman had told him that his son's injuries were self-inflicted.

koh chon weng police brutality victim black eye 070609 03The visibly vexed Koh Teck Youn said he and his wife went looking for their son when he failed to return home.

"We went from one police station to another and finally we found out that he was at the Subang Jaya police station.

"I spoke to the investigating officer and was allowed to see my son at about 5pm. I was shocked by the injuries and pleaded for them to give him medical attention," he said.

"When I asked them why he was arrested, the police officer said that my son had assaulted a policeman and broke the glass door.

"As for his injuries, I was told that my son had knocked himself against the wall," added the 50-year-old mechanic with a look of disbelief etched on his face.

Pursue legal action

Meanwhile, Puchong MP Gobind Singh Deo expressed disappointment over the incident and called for swift action.

He said the police had allegedly violated the law from the onset when they failed to inform Koh of the reason of his arrest.

Secondly, he said the student was handcuffed and therefore should not have been subjected to physical force.

"Although the law permits the use of a certain degree of force to restrain a suspect, in this case, the policemen were bigger than him and he was in handcuffs. So was the use of force necessary?" he added.

Gobind said it was fortunate that Koh was still able to relate his ordeal.

"In the case of Kugan (Ananthan), what was returned to the family was his body. Six months have passed and nothing has happened," he added.

Kugan, 20, had died in police custody five days after he was picked up by the Subang Jaya police in connection with a car theft case.

His death has been classified as murder following the emergence of a video recording which revealed severe lacerations on his body.

A second post-mortem commissioned by the family also revealed that Kugan had endured severe beatings.

Following this, 11 policemen were reassigned to desk duties and the investigation papers are now with the Attorney-General's Chambers.

"The inspector-general of police (Musa Hassan) should be criticised for his lack of enthusiasm in resolving such cases," stressed Gobind, calling on Home Minister Hishammuddin Hussein to take a personal interest in the latest case.

"This is not the first time that a black eye injury has been classified as self-inflicted. We had the famous case of (Opposition Leader) Anwar Ibrahim in 1998," he added.

Gobind also said that he has advised Koh to pursue legal action against the police. "We will not let this go, we want a quick resolution," he added.

He also called on the IGP to order the case to be transferred to the Bukit Aman police headquarters to be probed by a special team.

Set up IPCMC

DAP Subang Jaya assemblyperson Hannah Yeoh said she thought things would improve after the Kugan incident but this has not been the case.

"I hope the police would conduct a thorough probe regarding this matter," she added.

DAP Youth chief Anthony Loke said the latest incident once again underscored the importance of setting up the Independent Police Misconduct and Complaints Commission (IPCMC).

"If Hishammuddin is serious in wanting to reform the police, then he should revive the IPCMC," he added.

Contacted later, Selangor police chief Khalid Abu Bakar asked why Koh had waited so many days before filing a police report on the alleged assault.

Nevertheless, he told Malaysiakini that the matter would be thoroughly investigated.

Commenting on this, Gobind said the delay in filing a police report was due to the family being in fear.

"We must understand that the boy underwent a traumatising experience.

"On June 1, the family met with someone from Suhakam (Human Rights Commission of Malaysia). They were then advised to file a police report," he said when contacted later.

Gobind said the family had also lodged a complaint with Suhakam.

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by sactyr, June 07, 2009 16:24:43
After watching the earlier video where cops beat up a guy, I will not hesitate to believe Koh's story.

And as for the police saying that the injuries were self-inflicted, let me ask you did the guy walk into the police station, assaulted the cop and kicked at the glass door for no reason? And on top of that, as if that absurdity is not enough, Koh knocked himself against the wall? Looking from the injuries, surely Koh must have knocked himself against the wall a few times eh?

Please la police, if you want to lie, could you at least come up with more credible lies than this?

And oh itu Kugan case apa macam? NFA again?
agree 263
written by Iliyas, June 07, 2009 16:25:55
YAB Dato'Sri Najib Tun Razak,is this part of 1Malaysia?If your answer to this question is,"it's an isolated case again",then we demand your immediate resignation.

God bless and protect all Malaysians.
agree 202
written by ylcc, June 07, 2009 16:27:35
Oi IGP! Why lose your temper with RPK over the video? What have you got to say now?
agree 186
written by blackpea, June 07, 2009 16:28:28
I think the time has come to protect ourselves from the UMNO Polis.
agree 145
written by Alice, June 07, 2009 16:30:26
News like this is becoming totally unbearable. The barbaric police force seem to target innocent citizens of the country. The lazy buggers don't seem to be doing any real police work like catching criminals or protecting the citizens of this country. Maybe we should ask international bodies to help us for there seem to be no more human rights in Malaysia. Looking at many policemen in this country, I get the feeling that they are in the job for the uniform and the vehicles they drive and probably the quarters they live in. Now it seems like,abusing innocent citizens seem to be their favourite past time . REAL COWARDS
agree 147
written by Littlebird, June 07, 2009 16:33:56
Thank your genes for not having weak lungs which could lead you to die of liquid in lungs and other related weakness which you find often in post mortem report which are related to custodial death of Malaysian of whom mostly of whose forefathers originated from India. YOu may want to visit Kugan or Francis Udayapan and few others for consolation.
written by NSTPravda, June 07, 2009 16:38:09
Welcome to the PDRM Matrix ...

PaidDogs’ Rich Masters
Dogs’ Rich Masters Paid
Rich Masters Paid Dogs
Masters Paid Dogs Rich

We are the boys in black and blue
We are here to protect the UMNOyus
There is really nothing for us to hide
You all know that we serve the other side
For fun we will beat you black and blue
We'd try our best to change your facial hue
To prevent a beating you need cash to pay
Else we you ensure you are not semua-nya OK
Rasuah kami sayang eh!
Dollar akbar!
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by danchung, June 07, 2009 16:38:34
I dare to stand up as witness that POLIS did use harrament towrard me just because i am at the wrong place at the wrong time... iwas asked to naked in front of the polis women just to proof that i am a guy... Malaysia POLIS is BABI PUKIMAK I NEVER RESPECT THEM THEY ARE CORRUPTED MOTHER ****ER I SWEAR BY MY DAD AND MUM GARVE THAT THIER FAMILY WILL BECOME WHORE AFTER THAT... POLIS OF MALAYSIA IS A COWARD DARE TO DO NEVER DARE TO ADMIT POLIS IS A MOTHER ****ER THIER DAD **** A PIG TO GET THEM BORN BABI POLIS DIRAJA MALAYSIA
written by HamChak, June 07, 2009 16:41:32
Malaysians should NOT be suprised at all that the BodohLand
Police behave worse than Animals. The are a bunch of SAVAGE
and Barbaric Wild BOARS. All these were given "APPROVAL" by that
PARIAH MaMak from Kerala before. To change, we need to SACK the
CHIEF GASTAPO first.
written by Dominic, June 07, 2009 16:49:01
Am damned bloody angry after reading this. Come on, IGP,tell us how do you expect peace loving people to tolerate this nonsense time and again ! Yes,the family must sue and take legal action on the police. There should be a street protest if thats what the police want ! Just imagine, policemen being protector of justice can even inflict such hurt onto a innocent victim. Fcuk the bloody bastard son of a bitch. You want to bend your anger,come on,take on me, lets have it one to one, coward !!!
written by justice, June 07, 2009 16:53:20
agree 136
written by KARMANNGHIA, June 07, 2009 17:09:49
"The policemen ignored my question and handcuffed me. They then dragged me into the police station,"

Using handcuffs, that's how they beat up the Indonesian National Karate coach too.

These Policeman should be investigated, sack and lock up in jail to safeguard the public.
written by KARMANNGHIA, June 07, 2009 17:16:16
Where is Kugan's killers?
written by Fuminari, June 07, 2009 17:20:31
these PDRm dogs are being fed with rakyat hard earned money,but they are not doing what they are supposed to do,instead to serve n protect;they are out to torture n torment without any sense of humanity!!
Police Inspector General musa,what u got to say now??
the only way to eradicate all these police brutality n revamp the corrupted to core PDRm is change the government n put someone up there who believe in IPCMC!!change is what we must!!!
written by Msian Idol3, June 07, 2009 17:20:36
Pariahs in PDRM. What has the IGP & Hisap have to say about such gangsterism in the police force. Where is leadership ? The coppers who did this to the innocent student should be arrested & thrown in jail immediately. Better still appoint me to give each of them a dozen strokes on their arse.
written by onnetline, June 07, 2009 18:00:33
The proud brutality of pariah UMNOs slave dogs in blue ! !
written by onnetline, June 07, 2009 18:03:19
Najis 1Malaysia concept of lies and deceit ! !
written by Catharsis, June 07, 2009 18:11:28
"If Hishammuddin is serious in wanting to reform the police, then he should revive the IPCMC," ..........................this YB shoud be sent for REFORM first and I wonder where he read his law from.........
written by roggon, June 07, 2009 18:35:47
this should how the rakyatfight back: send a suicide bomber to all the police station and blow themselves up simulataneously. I guarantee, najis, keris mudin and musang will then look into this matter.
written by ekt tan, June 07, 2009 19:02:53
PDRM are thugs in their own right. The rakyat is not safe from these thugs. PDRM will continuely deny this incident to cover their own arses and blame it on the victim. Gestapo PDRM is running the country pointing the gun on the rakyat's head.
written by lamakawan, June 07, 2009 19:16:04
A very friendly question to the police force of Malayia, " When are you going to stop your illegal beatings of the rakyat brought into police stations for questioning? " You have not proved that you are not responsible for all beatings of people under police questioning. Where are the results of enquiries of all previous investigations of police brutality? That of the death of Kugan under police custody? And many more that we don't have enough space to insert here? Please come forward with your responses to all allegations of abuse. You cannot continue to hide behind your boss. We are all human beings and there is no reason for you to treat us with brutality.
written by mob1900, June 07, 2009 19:54:49

"To Serve & Protect(My own interest)"
written by mob1900, June 07, 2009 19:57:06
written by smeagrooo, June 07, 2009 19:57:23
Dap, Pkr, Pas,

Why are u wasting ur time in attacking BN? The Thugs are keeping them in power. Go after them first. Do what is necessary to free us Msians.

Do we need more Kugans and Ah Kows to die before we realise that these bunch of no good thugs are only serving themselves. Stay with the corrupted govt, no need to work so hard. Terrorise the weak.
written by Ben, June 07, 2009 20:06:28
Boss, I got to hand it to you; nobody can beat you at the poker table for sure! You throw an easy bone in the form of the 50:50 video to igp and he took it like he did by quickly denying polic involvement and then follow up with real case as reported to the police on police brutality. Why is the igp so silent now? Nothing to say? Please resign in shame. We don't need samsengs disguised as policemen.
written by joeawk, June 07, 2009 21:06:38
I used to sympathise with the police when they were victims of criminals. But when they say that complainants injured themselves, I never believe tham anfd I and most peoiple do not believe them either.

For their senior to come out in support of them, it tells us that the police force cannot be depended on to protect us, the people.

How I wish they are in turn hunted down like criminals. I will never ever have any sympathy for any policeman being victims of any kind but I will always say that they desrve it especially when they are victimes of Mat Rempitr and criminals.

Now, like many people, I will be feel sorry for them when they are victims of criminals.
written by Sudahlah tu, June 07, 2009 21:16:46
anjing umno sudah tidak mengenali perlembagaan dan kesusilaan negara .....
sebab mereka diasuh menjadi jentera ikut arahan umno .....
ganjaran mereka ....kuasa , gaya hidup mewah , perempuan , dadah , wang , perjudian , berkereta tanpa sebarang kos , berumah mewah atas nama isteri ataupun orang terdekat ....
mereka tidak lagi bermaruah bangsa Malaysia ...
dalam dunia kezaliman umno , semua anjing - anjing dilatih bertindak kasar terhadap sebarang rakyat yang mereka rasa mereka suka pilih untuk belasah ... kecuali mereka yang berpengaruh ataupun golongan elit dan mereka - mereka dalam kandang umno ..
sampai bila - bila pun .kenyataan ini tidak akan menjadi kebebasan rakyat ..
kezaliman anjing - anjing umno terlalu meluas dan digalakkan oleh ketua mereka agar wang haram mereka berganda dengan cepat .....
beriman itu cuma satu pertunjukan biasa untuk menipu umat Allah ...
berfoya - foya itu menjadi hiburan setiap malam di kelab - kelab kepunyaan ketua mereka ...biasa berdekatan dengan kandang anjing umno ...
perempuan ...terlalu ramai untuk dipilih untuk menjadi hiburan setiap malam ..
kalau suka , boleh tangkap mereka di luar dan membawa mereka untuk dijadikan hidangan satu malam ... tidak menjadi kesalahan ..malahan dapat perhatian daripada ketua untuk dinaikkan pangkat kerana cukup zalim ..... anjing jenis ini sentiasa diberi tumpuan untuk dijadikan benteng umno ..
kalau ketua anjing ... pakar tilam .. dapat menjadi orang kuat nombor satu ... apalagi yang ada pada perkhdmatan keselamatan dalam negara ...
tamak menjadi pedoman hidup anjing umno ....kekayaan ..kuasa ...syurga syaitan menjadi mereka sebagai raja dan kelanunan merupakan tabiat mereka berhibur ..
kita tidak dapat lawan mereka lagi ....
tunggu sahaja .... suatu hari nanti ... anak - anak kita pula menjaid mangsa kezaliman anjing umno ini ...... itu sahaja .... buatlah bising dan menangislah ...sebagai tanda kesedihan anda .... selain daripada itu ... kita hidup kita bagaikan mangsa anjing umno tunggu giliran sahaja ..
itulah ..kita takut kehilangan kebebasan hidup yang sebenarnya tidak pernah kita miliki selepas kemerdekaan Malaysia ..
Seboodh kita daripada dahulu ...sebodohlah kita selamanya ...
Malaysia tidak dapat diselamatkan lagi sebaba rakyat telah biasa bersifat malas dan berangan kosong ... kita cakap tanpa berniat dan bising tanpa pengetahuan dalam ..
kita cuma menunggu masa sahaja ...
anjing - anjing umno ini semua dilatih menjadi buas dan ganas agar dapat berkhidmat berkesan untuk kezaliman umno selama ini ... kita cuma bercakap-cakap dan berbisik-bisik sahaja ...
yang menjadi mangsa bukan kita sendiri ... biarkan ajelah ..
written by Bradcrz, June 07, 2009 21:38:53
WHERE'S CHIEF INSPECTOR PANG MENG TUCK,WHO MADE A POLICE REPORT AGST YB LIM KIT SIANG..?..YOU SHOULD BE SENT TO INVESTIGATE POLICE BRUTALITY INSTEAD OF WASTING TIME MAKING OWN POLICE REPORTS..!!!
written by mob1900, June 07, 2009 21:42:13

'Self-Inflicked Injury' as demonstrated by the PRDM.
written by Caretaker_y, June 07, 2009 22:06:34
Mr IGP, you must be blind or king of the 'bohongs', dirty & crooked cops within the ranks with you, and yet you deny polis brutality against innocent Rakyats.

From YB Anwar Ibrahim, Kugan, and now this student bashed-up by your dogs & cats, you still deny it. What do you mean self inflicted? With YB Anwar, your dogs said the same thing but the reality was your 'doggie boss' of that time was later found guilty of brutality. Now a student got was bashed-up by your legalised samsengs, your dogs said the same old story to the public.

Surely, your time has come. You are not fit for the seat up there. Get Lost! You are long overdued.
written by trublumalaysian, June 07, 2009 22:27:26
Look like Musa's bro, Jal Hassan has been giving him some good acting lessons how to tipu the Malaysian Rakyat.
written by Zym Zym, June 07, 2009 22:39:50
I recently asked an Indonesian construction worker whom would they want to hurt most if Indonesia were to invade M'sia one day, without hesitation, he told me that most Indonesian hate the police so much that they would not hesitate to kick their ass!
written by MalayMail, June 07, 2009 22:41:30
Is PDRM very good in 'beating' suspects? Without using the brain to investigate the actual happening? How about Bala missing and 'M' girl murdered case?
written by roadbarra, June 07, 2009 23:04:05
During my younger school days we were taught to look up to the police with great respect as the upholder of law and justice. Later years have proved my teachers wrong, all wrong. In face we are scared, real scared to be wrongly arrested,beaten,tortured..you name it. Where are citizens rights accorded in the Constituton?
written by johntyc, June 07, 2009 23:13:36
Most law enforcement personnel need psychiatric care, not a joke! Violence and ganja usually related.
written by Tompios, June 07, 2009 23:43:36
Dear readers,

Come and let us unite all together to donate some amount of money to hire the best lawyer but not bias to BN's dogs that we have in this country to sue those blue animal officers.
written by Tok Din, June 08, 2009 00:44:53
If police cannot protect us, do we need to pay taxes?

If police cannot be depended upon for public safety, then perhaps citizens need to organize private militia and pay protection money to these private militia to take care of our safety. In Philippines, Thailand and Indonesia this is normally the case. The emergence of gated community and private militia is a distinct possibility.

written by aliseman, June 08, 2009 04:31:23
This reminds me of 1999. The black eye and the excuse by the police that the injury was self-inflicted.

I remember discussing with relatives, friends and colleagues that this was a sign of the cruelty and unjust BN government. Back then I was trying to convince them that the govt need to be changed through our vote. Alas...not many were convinced,they said that what happened to DSAI was a result of power struggle between DSAI and Dr M. I told them, this was not about whether DSAI or Dr M is right or wrong....Imagine what they could do to you or your children if they could do this to the 2nd most powerful person in the country. Again....those reasons fell on deaf ears, especially to my chinese friends who rationalised that as long as economy is good and we can feed our family, let's not rock the boat.

I told myself that I would never vote for BN again ( and never did since 1999; not in 2004 when BN returned with higher approval rating).I am doing this for my children's future....I told myself, those who did not share my view will surely one day realise their mistake when they or their children will suffer at the hands of the police just like DSAI did.

Fast forward to 2009, my eldest son is now 20, coincidently the same age as the victim above. I am glad that Malaysians have finally wake up. I never thought that I would see any political change in Malaysia during my life. Nevertheless, I told myself that my decision of not giving my vote to BN will slowly but surely bring change to my children's future.

To fellow Malaysians, let's get rid of this corrupted, cruel and unjust government...for the sake of our children's future.
written by siburpat, June 08, 2009 13:53:26
smilies/sad.gif Where are we now? What instigated such an action from the Policeman? Is it jealousy or what?

Is it necessary for the police to be around at 3.00 am? - or we in a dire and critical situation?

Is BN going to bury this matter and buried by it or should BN cleaned up the Police?

Najib, can you do what is right for all Malaysians and get justice done? And no more "self-inflicted black eye".
written by macho, June 08, 2009 16:15:38
This nonsense must be STOP IMMEDIATELY!!! This has gone on too long.