Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Husam: Maybe my beard is not long enough

Husam: Maybe my beard is not long enough PDF Print
Sunday, 07 June 2009 14:15

(The Star) - Datuk Husam Musa who failed in his bid for the PAS deputy president post has blamed attempts by certain people who sidelined him from the party’s activities for his loss.

He also claimed to be a victim of a smear campaign carried out in the blogosphere.

Nevertheless, Husam said he accepted the decision of the delegates and hoped those who were voted in would continue to reject any overtures from Umno.

“PAS will pay a heavy price if it continues to court Umno,” he told a press conference here yesterday.

Husam said the proposal for a unity government with Umno was vague and he did not understand it.

“Usually in other countries, a unity or coalition government is formed when there is no clear majority between the political parties.

“In Malaysia, Umno or Barisan Nasional has a majority, although it does not have two-thirds majority,” he said, adding that the definition of unity needed to be clarified to avoid confusion.

When asked if his loss was a result of a rejection of what he stood for, Husam quipped: “Maybe my beard is not long enough.”

He congratulated Nasharudin Mat Isa who was returned to the post and said he would keep an open mind about his political future.

Comments (5)Add Comment
written by panca, June 07, 2009 14:32:41
The Malaysian in particular the non-malay/muslim would be much comfortable with fair-minded, those that would keep clear off the umno brand politics well known for and stand against divide and rule, tyranny and bigots.

Husam and Mat Sabu will complement Pas in many ways with PR. Hope they realise that not too late.
written by Arowana, June 07, 2009 14:55:12
Saudara Husam of PAS.

We support your style of liberal politics, just like YB Nizar.

You and NIzar will go far in Malaysian politics and I'm sure many Malaysians accepts your leadership irregardless of race and religion.
written by sydput, June 07, 2009 15:43:38
The reality is that, race and religion will over ride justice and righteousness.
written by kayukuda, June 07, 2009 16:00:38
i m very optimistic take a PAS leader will become a DPM or PM in the next gen. election .

continue your present struggle .

only PAS can clean malaysia deep-shit corrupted country
written by Debbie, June 07, 2009 16:50:03
hey , Husam, go and show these buggers what islam truly means. you have my utmost respect.

BTW..maybe it wasnt the long beard but that white kopi on top of your head and the mens' sarong..i dont know how it works in malaysia but it just wasnt the long beard that was missing.

Shalom my brethren