Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Najib’s 1Malaysia VERSUS The People’s Declaration

Najib’s 1Malaysia VERSUS The People’s Declaration PDF Print
Saturday, 06 June 2009 18:14

More than a year ago, the Barisan Rakyat Bloggers launched The People’s Declaration. In case many of you are not aware of this or have forgotten what we said then, you can look at the details below. Read what we had launched and compare it with Najib’s 1Malaysia and you will see that Najib’s idea is not new and that the Barisan Rakyat Bloggers had, in fact, proposed the same thing more than a year ago.

The People’s Declaration

In the name of God, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

The People’s Mission

1. We, Malaysians of all races and of various faiths, are resolute in our desire for change and are determined to give birth to a system of governance, built upon the fundamental, spiritual and ethical values that are part of the teachings of all the great religions, that:

·                        is honest, dynamic and truly accountable;

·                        has a truly democratic parliamentary system that represents the interests of the people;

·                        has truly independent and clean judicial institutions;

·                        has a police force which is professional and executes its duties in a just and fair manner, according to the tenets of law;

·                        has a mass media that is free and not beholden to those in power;

·                         values accountability and transparency as its fundamental elements;

·                        respects differences of views; and

·                        supports a dynamic, resilient and just economy which is also internationally competitive.

2.    We, Malaysians of all races and of various faiths, pledge to uphold at all times the foundational principles of the Malaysian Constitution, namely:

·                        the supremacy of the Constitution over all other laws;

·                        the Yang DiPertuan Agong as the Constitutional monarch;

·                        the separation of the powers of government and in particular the independence of the judiciary;

·                        that fundamental liberties and freedoms guaranteed the rakyat shall not be interfered with, denied, or rendered illusory;

·                        one man, one vote, both of equal value;

·                        that Islam is the religion of the Federation, and all other religions shall be practiced in peace and harmony;

·                        Bahasa Melayu as the national language, whilst safeguarding the unfettered right to use and learn other languages;

·                        the special position of the Malays and the indigenous rakyat of West Malaysia, of Sabah and Sarawak, and the legitimate rights of all other races; and

·                        A federal administrative system that fulfills its responsibilities, and protection and respect for the special position of Sabah and Sarawak.

3.       We, Malaysians of all races and of various faiths, pledge to collectively:

·                        work to create a just and prosperous Malaysian nation based on a truly democratic system of government;

·                        protect and defend the rights and dignity of all the people and guarantee justice for all;

·                        act to enhance economic prosperity through greater productivity, efficiency, and  sound economic management in order to enable the country to face global challenges;

·                        channel the country’s resources not only to meet the basic needs of the people but, more importantly, to ensure that the quality of life and social harmony are enhanced;

·                        distribute wealth and opportunities fairly among all; and

·                        develop quality social infrastructure and a clean and comfortable physical environment; enhance the quality of education, health and other social services; build mosques and other places of worship; build public parks and libraries; build arts and cultural centres; and provide the widest opportunities for information technology and other methods of communication.

(The People's Declaration: http://mt.m2day.org/The_Peoples_Declaration.pdf)

(The People’s Parliament: http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/the-peoples-voice-the-peoples-declaration/)

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by justice6, June 06, 2009 18:23:50
najib hijack the idea
agree 118
written by mob1900, June 06, 2009 18:44:41
1Bolehland = Empty slogans(like Gemilang, Temberang & Kuda Belang).

People's Declaration = WIP(with some already in action, like Selangor's FOI act and prosperity of PR states, except for Perak). Its awareness can only grow from here.
written by onnetline, June 06, 2009 18:45:55
More like Najib's 1Malaysia concept based on bullshit ! ! !
written by Arowana, June 06, 2009 18:50:05
PAS, I believe you have publicly endorse The People’s Declaration before GE12.

Now, it seems your NO 1 and 2 man want to get married with UMNO.

If that is so please also declare publicly that you revoked the declaration because UMNO will never able to adhere with this declaration.
agree 110
written by Alice, June 06, 2009 18:51:44
Dear Mob1,
It is
GEMILANG,CEMERLANG AND TERBILANG (If I am not mistaken ). Such great slogans are all over the country especially in government departments and yet we get 3rd class service.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Najib no originality at all. Cetak rompak . He is trying hard to please the rakyat and failing miserably.I find it so difficult to look at Najib and Rosmah on TV.Excruciatingly painful.
written by gwc, June 06, 2009 18:55:03
hai ya...all PM when they r still hot on their seats will always come out wit a slogan one la, is nothing new. Then at the end, the slogan will remain a slogan for record in malaysia history book. How many of those slogans are really materialised? Enak d dengar saja, ckp kosong saja la, muak mendengar.
written by A MI, June 06, 2009 19:01:52
Najis is just a penceduk.
Brrack Obama called for change and Najis used a synonym "transformation" in his first speech as PeeEM.
Najis is nothing more than a flaky fake!
written by educationist, June 06, 2009 19:34:57
The People's Declaration is something to be held dear to the heart as it symbolises what can be in our nation.
1Malaysia is an empty slogan, a spin by the govt. media specialists to hoodwink the rakyat.
It will not amount to anything substantial!
written by miwaki, June 06, 2009 20:22:54
What is 1Malaysia by the way ? Is Perak's constitutional crisis got to do with 1Malaysia ? Don't just preach,do it at the same time and let us see your caliber.
written by apasalahku, June 06, 2009 20:29:37
Rukunegara, Wawasan 2020, 1Malaysia, People's Declaration; all useless pieces of rhetoric that will never become true. Malaysia is hopeless because Malaysians are a hopeless bunch.

Took the Philipinos less than 10 years of Estrada's rule to kick him out; the Indonesians 30 years of Suharto and less than 5 years for the Thais. But Malaysians are masochistic bitches who can withstand 60 yrs of tyranny, oppression and corruption.
written by malgal, June 06, 2009 20:58:10
feeding more consultants than ever-sloganeering masters of fluff - wonder how much rakyat spent paying for 1Malaysia.

meanwhile, the brouhaha is about poor rpk's whereabouts. for the minuscule reason of being charged for sedition!!!
the speck has become bigger than the plank in the eye. hey about the Lingam Scandal? The brevity of this shameless parody of our judiciary is forgotten or sidestepped ? ACA where are you?
written by michaelT, June 06, 2009 22:08:15
Alice you have to remember that it is GEMILANG,CEMERLANG AND TEMBERANG This equates to BN from TDM till now and will be to the next generation
written by SiHangChai, June 06, 2009 23:00:12
Najib punya 1-Malaysia ialah 1-Indah Water Konsortium Logi Pembersihan Kumuh Najis. Tak tahu apa yang dia heboh-heboh sangat 1-Malaysia yang langsung sampai hari ini, tak tahu konsep dan objektif. Makmum-lah orang yang paling pengalaman, Tun Dr. M pun tak faham apa tu 1-Malaysia yang dituhankan oleh Najib.
written by Loh, June 06, 2009 23:12:26
NEP said the right objectives initially, but it was implemented based on race, and later turned racist, particularly in misusing statistis. TDM took it to legalise corruption.

1Malaysia should imply Malaysian Malaysia. But Najib warned that people should not have excessive demand, which he meant that requesting for equality and fair treatmentrepresents excessive demands. 1Malaysia is NEP all over again, and will last until BN is dethroned.
written by kevinD, June 06, 2009 23:24:02
Orang yang tak de akal mana ada modal !!!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by sandokan, June 06, 2009 23:58:09
Look at the list of medals receiver from Agong..... only umnonok and their dogs....pfui
written by Fuminari, June 07, 2009 00:03:31
najis while in china declared his encouragement to more malays in learning the chinese language right infront of the communist,but his deputy mudyiddin had earlier on shut out the chinese schools while meeting with the DJZ back in malaysia!!
one 1malaysia???the two umno goons couldn't even meet in their own umno be end hoodwinking stunts!!!
written by AsamLaksa, June 07, 2009 02:44:12
Not surprised. Najib has not shown any originality except when it came to BN not standing for the Penanti by-elections. Yet to impress.
written by Lim Lim, June 07, 2009 03:05:47
in tok guru nik aziz ,anwar,lim kit siang, kapal singh,nizar,lim guan eng ,azmin,husam we trust!!!not hadi awang,not najis,not nasharuddin,not mudyiddin!!!
written by Chokma, June 07, 2009 04:37:51
Remember these slogan by BN/UMNO?
"Bersih, Cekap, Amanah", "Saya (N)Anti Rashuah", "1Mlayaisia", "Malaysia Boleh", ...
The irony is, we have not seen these in action. In fact, we are seeing the opposite in action.
It really doesn't matter who started the slogans/declarations. What matter is, are we putting them into action. As we have seen, BN/UMNO is only good in talking big but doing none. If Najib wants to hijack the Rakyat's Declaration, let him and see that he does what he says. Otherwise, remove him.
Hmmm.... Looks like it's time to remove him and his gangs.
written by antares, June 07, 2009 04:43:35
Najis...bla...bla..bla..#*@k... cakap tak serupa bikin! All for personal gains!
written by NSTPravda, June 07, 2009 07:20:52
The Najib 1st Declaration

In the name of Allah, whose Qur’an to which I have often sworn

The Inferior People’s Mission

1. We, Malaysians of all races, some more equal than others and of various faiths, that are inferior to our beliefs, are resolute in our desire for change and are determined to give birth to a system of governance, built upon the fundamental, spiritual and ethical values that are part of the UMNO’s proven and UMNO approved teachings of our great religion, that:

• is honest, dynamic and only accountable to those who serve UMNO;

• has a truly democratic parliamentary system that represents the UMNO’s interests;

• has truly independent and clean judicial institutions that will do the biddings of our supreme Leader;

• has a police force which professionally know who their Master is, and executes all others in just a wink of an eye, in manners fair or foul, according to the tenets of any laws as they deemed justifiable and suitable;

• has a mass media thatfreely dispense propaganda and not abashedly beholden to those in power;

• values accountability and transparency as zip, which is its fundamental elements;

• respects differences of views as long as the views conforms to the dictat of KDN; and

• supports a dynamic, resilient and just economy which is also internationally competitive as long as NEP stays untouched as a “sacred cow”.

2. We, Malaysians of all races, some of which are more superior that others, and of various faiths, some of which are more inferior than others, pledge to uphold at all times the foundational principles, including the changes and interpretations thereof, of the Malaysian Constitution, namely:

• the supremacy of UMNO's interpretation of the Constitution over all other laws, provided it doesn’t intrude into the supremacy of UMNO and it’s interests;

• the Yang DiPertuan Agong as the Constitutional monarch to the extent that he is permitted by our supreme Leader and UMNO;

• the separation of the powers of government and in particular the independence of the judiciary, provided the said judges act on free market principles and produce the the best justice that money can buy ;

• that fundamental liberties and freedoms guaranteed the rakyat shall not be interfered with, denied, or rendered illusory, provided that these rakyats do not wake up from these useless dreams and try to interfere with the businesses of UMNO;

• one man, one vote, both of equal value provided these do not interfere with our already fair and gerrymandered system;

• that Islam, as sold by UMNO, is the religion of the Federation, and all other religions shall be practiced in peace and harmony but in subservience to our UMNO approved religion;

• Bahasa Melayu as invented by UMNO as the national language, whilst safeguarding the unfettered right to use and learn other languages as long as these are not used in public, government offices, and outside classes where they are taught as curiosities;

• the special position of the superiority of UMNO Malays and the less superior position of indigenous rakyat of West Malaysia, of Sabah and Sarawak, and the legitimate but mostly inferior rights of all other inferior races; and

• A federal administrative system that fulfills its responsibilities, and protection and respect for the special and superior position of UMNO in Sabah and Sarawak and keep these natives from straying to the subversive and unpatriotic renegade oppositions

3. We, Malaysians of all races, either superior or inferior, and of various faiths, whether recognized or scorned, pledge to collectively:

• work to create a just and prosperous UMNO dictated Malay superior nation based on a truly demoneycreated system of government;

• protect and defend the rights and dignity of all UMNO supporters and guarantee just ice (ayer batu kosong sahaja) for all;

• act to enhance economic prosperity through greater productivity, efficiency, and sound economic management in order to enable Umno to face challenges from all quarters, especially the pesky and loud opposition;

• channel the country’s resources not only to meet the basic needs of our Great Leader and his people but, more importantly, to ensure that the quality of their lives; otherwise social harmony may not be enhanced;

• distribute wealth and opportunities fairly among all UMNO cronies; and

• develop, for all UMNO supporters, quality social infrastructure and a clean and comfortable physical environment; enhance the quality of education, health and other social services; build mosques and other places of worship; build public parks and libraries; build arts and cultural centres; and provide the widest opportunities for information technology and other methods of communication, that is, after our Supreme Leader and UMNO cronies have the first cut. To all others... tough titties.

Dollar akbar!
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by chiongguo, June 07, 2009 11:02:42
GEMILANG,CEMERLANG AND TERBILANG (If I am not mistaken ). Such great slogans are all over the country especially in government departments and yet we get 3rd class service.

Sloganeering as a political and manipulative tool was used very effectively by Hitler. Goebbler should be credited for such a mass manipulation psychological tool. Many people easily take into their mind and accept such slogans and the people who made these slogans appeared more appealing.

One may say, "oh we can think for ourselves and we are not fools". Think again. During the time of Hitler germany was a land bestowed with very intelligent people. It is a country that is technologically advance, philosophically and culturally rich. And yet through a process of subtle messaging the aryans were turned against the jews. Fear and hatred were cultivated.

The mind, if one understands how it works or more accurately if one understands how delusions arise within the mindstream, one could understand why all these simple psychological tools could so easily be used for mass manipulation.

All of us are thinkers but what we use to think with will determine the product of thinking. Anchoring of information or data into the mind will allow the person outside to shape and mould and direct the thinking to the conclusion that the manipulator wants to use. I know of no other person who had documented what anchors that could be used other than that which was stated in kalama sutta. And the author of that sutta warned us to be careful whenever people used those anchors to want us to believe in something. Test everything like a goldsmith test gold was the advice.

Sloganeering uses simple emotional appeal as anchor. One thing that appeal to the mind is jingoism and rhymes. So music together with slogan is a great combination. Advertisers knew this. When you combine slogan, jingoism and a authoritative figure you have a recipe of great manipulation. Look at badawi's campaign in 2004. All BN used was his face, some slogan and played it up.

Such long declaration is great but it is slogans that gets it accepted. The people may not even know what is inside the declaration but they will accept it - much like rumour smilies/wink.gif

written by temanmu, June 07, 2009 13:38:47
A BIG difference:

One is SINCERE the other is HOT AIR!
written by yoboleh, June 07, 2009 16:06:47
1 Malaysia.
Once upon a day I passed by 1 town in Kuala Lumpur.
I saw 1 bunting hanging on 1 tiang letrik with wording '1 SENTUL'.
Are they sharing the same concept or idea?
Not bad! It is very 'GLOCAL'
written by wongnoball, June 07, 2009 18:47:13
I for one like to see the Re-emphasise of FREEDOM OF RELIGION...as the people declaration is a bit Criptic, ambiguous and unclear on this matter.

Remember Freedom of Religion means no interference form judiciary, JAIS, MAIS, NRD, ulama, alqeada, taliban......no need to explain which race gets exicited when freedom to convert is none of your business is invoked. The only race that can born into a Religion of Islam....found only in MALAYsia....

Sorry I am angry today because that Bastard Developer in that Damansara Heights Hill Slope using his connection in this NEW Administration and Judiciary to Threaten all those famalies liviing there with Court action for Defamation. Seems like that Bukit Antarabangsa Hill slide have not woken these SCUMSbags up. Can someone give me a name and face of this Developer. I want to send a team to Terror him, his family and those contractors back!! I choose to terror back because I need to send Clear message the police & Gansters cannot protect you all the time. this is true Robin Hood and Mat Kilau & Zorro style!! smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif...PLease help provide details!!
written by PresleyP, June 08, 2009 00:23:58
It does not really matter whose or what the declaration it is, as long as they can walk the talk. As long as it is beneficial to the people and the country.

We know that this new PM has been corrupting and killing even when he was DPM. Now, sitting in the hot chair, can he be better.

While he went around shaking hands, there has been more police raid than before. If he can C4 a pregnant woman to erase evidence of DNA, then he will be able to do anything for his own personal benefit.

He knows the iron fist technique of Mamak Mahathir. And he will be more cruel than the Mamak.

Mark my words.
written by kukamelon, June 08, 2009 02:00:16
There is a lot of things not right and I want to make it right. Is there really going to be a snap election this September? If yes, please contact me and advise me. I am not a registered voter and have many friends which are not too. Can we vote in September if we register now?
We must topple BN and remove that party together with it's hard core members from Malaysia. BN is a cancer and you will definately die if you do not do anything about it. I am just fed up with the way things are being run by the government departments. It's not being run for the people, but for themselves only. Even the digging/cleaning drain project is given to a lobbyist; and then to a contractor; and then to the bangla's. So, Majlis Perbandaran officer gotta earn some money, then the lobbyist, then the contactor and lastly the bangla. Will the job be done well or the number or times the contract states that they should dig in a month? You tell me! How then the 'dengue' mosquito not breed and then multiply to bite the people if the drains are stagnant with water? Why water retention and flood when it rains heavily?
Many more upsetting things and this is just the tip of the iceberg. Be it this September or coming 2013, we must vote for a party that heads for democracy.
Hope for a better future!
written by Fairminded, June 08, 2009 09:44:01
It is exactly what the book "Animal Farm" had aptly described the pigs in changing their first constitution: " All animals are born equal" to post independence as "all animals are born equal but some are more equal than others". Welcome to Boleh Land - Boleh be unpricipled, boleh lie, boleh abuse power and boleh be corrupted.
written by Loh, June 08, 2009 18:33:06
When UMNO should remove Article 153 in 1972, it introduced NEP in 1970 and made Article 153 untouchable.

When UMNO should end NEP in 1991, it proclaimed Bangsa Malaysia in 2020, while keeping NEP.

Approaching 2020, Najib declares the 1Malaysia concept, but he warned that there should be no 'extreme demand'. He considered a request for equal treatment an extreme demand. Clearly he did not think that Article 153 which provided a 15-year window for helping Malays would still be needed in 2020, 63 years after independence.
written by Davy McChester, June 09, 2009 01:41:58
Not far from the essence of original consitition.Generally ,politicians are low level lifes,they will divide ,instill fear,instil hatred,bring to play the bogeymen enemy.Right now ,you can see they are not sincere;if they are,at least 90 % need to step down immediately in order to give real meaning to the latest slogan