Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow "Kurup should do serious soul searching"

"Kurup should do serious soul searching" PDF Print
Saturday, 06 June 2009 14:55

By Ronnie Klassen (Putt for Change)

Coffee in my mouth almost burst out on that morning when I read the unsubstantiated, sweeping statement by our learned Tan Sri Joseph Kurup, the Deputy Minister of Natural Resources and Environment and President of Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS), calling the bloggers of Malaysia “an ungrateful lot” and of subversive element.

I felt outraged and insulted by his statement not so much because of the fact that I’m now a blogger myself but, rather due to the fact that such a statement came from one of the ‘greatest icons of ungratefulness’ himself, with all due respect.

I may sound harsh towards Kurup but for those who know him well enough, including his constituents and his ex wife and children (with the ex wife) could probably concur with me on this. I shall save the details of his “past track records”, both personal and official ones, for another occasion.

It was outrageous and unbecoming of such a senior politician and leader like him to label the bloggers in this country as “the ungrateful lot” and simply accused them of instilling hatred against the Government, just simply because some bloggers in the Interior of Sabah had criticized the government for failing to bring much development to the Interior area, which till to-date remains a fact.   

I dare him to substantiate his statement with proofs, failing which he should publicly apologise to bloggers in the country. His statement was not only an insult to the bloggers but also Malaysians at large.

Such a statement shows his sheer ignorant and failure to understand the rationale behind the emergence of the bloggers and, his reluctance to accept their criticism of the government especially when it has done something wrong or made policies that were dubious or not in the best interest of the nation and the people.

The role of the bloggers in the present day’s Malaysia was probably best described by none other than our former PM Tun Dr Mahathir Mohammed recently, when he said "The internet, particularly blogs could be useful for making the truth known, and for individuals to air their views and feelings freely".

This was especially significant when it came from the longest-serving PM of this country who was no fan to “press freedom” when he was in office. Although he himself has now turned to the blogsphere to air his views and even criticism against the government of the day, he still can’t change the fact that he was the ‘engineer’ behind the series of the infamous “Ops Lalang” clamping down on political dissents.

The other significant statement indirectly supporting the blogsphere was made by the former Home Minister, Syed Hamid Albar himself where during his ‘departure interview’ by Bernama two months ago, he called for the liberation of the media in this country. He even said due to the tight control and manipulation of the mainstream media, his own children don’t even bother to read the mainstream papers nowadays but opted to log on to the Internet to find out what’s happening in the country.

I strongly believe if the government do not unnecessarily impose a tight control of the mainstream media in this country, and are always acting in the best interest of the country and the people, there will be nothing for the bloggers to criticize. They certainly just can’t simply fabricate or pluck something out of the thin air. Even if they did, it just won’t hold water. Our people today are much wiser than before.

Therefore, it was absolutely unfair and outrageous for Kurup to make such an unbecoming remark on bloggers of this country who were in fact playing a crucial and critical role as the ‘watchmen’ or ‘whistleblowers’ over the conduct of the government.

I believe Minister in the PM’s Department Tan Sri Koh Tsu Khoon will be very thankful to us for helping him to keep an eye or a close watch of his colleagues in the Federal Cabinet, making it easier for him to evaluate them under the Key Performance Index (KPI).

And my humble advice to Kurup is that he should learn to accept, if not appreciate, the criticism made by bloggers in the Interior of Sabah and to take immediate measures to better improve the livelihood of his constituents, if he is really grateful of their support.

Read more at: http://advocateviews.blogspot.com/2009/06/coffee-in-my-mouth-almost-burst-out-on.html

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by arazak, June 06, 2009 15:15:55
Dear Mr. Joseph Kulup,

It depends from where you are standing. From the people (like you) of the tyrant regime's point of view we are “an ungrateful lot” and of subversive element! From the point of view of our children and future generation we are "liberator and patriots".

And so Mr. Kulup Foreskin, our children's and future generation point of view is far more important than yours!
written by Kaneeneh, June 06, 2009 15:20:32
Grateful you are a dying breed? ehh Mr Kurus?
written by Urangsabah, June 06, 2009 15:24:02
UMNOed Kurupt, apala buli buat.................Court Appointed......
written by cheemengwong, June 06, 2009 15:25:51
I am grateful to the Creator for allowing me to live another day. The ability to eat, shit and sleep. Kurup who? Kulup... culup...? Go pray to your god first before you start talking about gratefulness. You need mercy.
written by Iliyas, June 06, 2009 15:46:40
Nothing that Kurup says is worth listening.Power and money is his God.He will kow-tow to anyone as long as he continues to enjoy all the luxuries bestowed upon him by UMNO,particularly Musa Aman.

"Greatest Icon of Ungratefulness" is the best way to describe this moron.Hello,Mr.Koh Tsu Khoon,your first moron to evaluate,please put an X on Kurup for non-performance,people friendly,ungratefulness,desertion,adultery,conspiracy,c hild abuse,insulting the intelligence of the people and corruption.
written by Susuit, June 06, 2009 16:17:28
Kurap the Bell-Bottom, you only grateful to your BN/SPR & COURT not RAKYAT because they were the one who elected you. You dared not face the Rakyat because you have no ball. Nandoh bunsa, okondo kaili pononga aborok yak....
written by Old Man, June 06, 2009 21:48:06
Joseph Kurup,
Without sincerely wanting your KDM community to be computer savvy you are sort of 'imprisoning' them with Balls and Chains!
You and your buddies continue to 'praise' their farming skills but your ladies continue to end up marrying illegal immigrants! How come???
One of the main reason is laziness! With 'Tuak' they'll even marry off their daughters to Bengali, Mamak, Pakistani, Suluk and what not. Is it not less than the price of a buffalo?
Are you not guilty for selling off your community at such scale? Can your filthy wealth buy you happiness? Do you know what to call the great grandson of your great grandson. Probably someday your great grandson ( if any ) does not even know who is Joseph Kurup!
written by Ahjamal, June 06, 2009 23:41:04
This Kurup was spare from disgrace by the Appeal court. He is in the same class as the Zombee of Perak with thick skins. He should have shut his mouth and pray to the appeal court instead to his GOD if he has one which i doubt he has any that is why he has no shame.