Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow 1T : Roof collapse...everybody seems to know the problem but no action...why?

1T : Roof collapse...everybody seems to know the problem but no action...why? PDF Print
Saturday, 06 June 2009 14:36

1st world facilities, 3rd world maintenance, 4th world action. Do we qualify?

1. Remember about the roof collapse at Stadium Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin? That happened barely a week after the demolition works on Jaya supermarket went awry.
2. As usual, MSM reported on who says what. Almost everybody spoke and gave their version of what happened.
3. One regular jogger who happens to be an Engineer said that he had raised his concerns to the relevant parties because he saw that the space frame is warped.
4. Terengganu MB said that they knew about the defects before SUKMA 12 games which was held in May 2008, one year ago.
5. Latest , the architect responded from Mecca to say that everybody could see the(space) frame was deformed but in the same breath said that the details of the space frame design was never fully supplied to his company and he has voiced out hos concerns to JKR Terengganu.
6. Now that we have the comments from the public, the executive, the consultants where is the response from the Contractor? After all, he is a qualified engineer so he should come out to give his version of the story...
7. Nowadays, the public is trigger (no, it is not trigger but keyboard) happy o post their comments and blame BN for the mishap. Maybe it is right, maybe not. Let us look on the reality side and try to understand what happen and what should have happen...
8. Granted that the project is carried out under BN and used since May 2008. My question to Mr Jogging Engineer are :-

Comments (3)Add Comment
written by Oscar Winner, June 06, 2009 14:48:01
It's all about BN/UMNO corruption. They have earned enough tax payers' money. Now's it's time pass the buck.

written by Jan, June 06, 2009 14:52:29
It's a Barisan National govt project that's why. Look, this is not the first time nor will it be the last. If I were them I will look hard at the crystal mosque again. Should the unfortunate event of the roof of the mosque falling on a Friday afternnon you can bet that's the end of BN/UMNO.
written by cheemengwong, June 06, 2009 15:46:37
The next time you need to another any public gathering you need to ask if the building or premises was constructed by UMNO cronies or not? If the link is close to the top of the UMNO chain, the building/premises must be the weakest! Attend by all means if you have no choice but leave within 2 minutes after the function starts, otherwise you are gambling with your life.

If the building/premises was build by some private entrepreneur your safety is 60 % assured... meaning you can stay throught 3/4 of the function.

If is is a natural enviroment... stay until finish lah.. it is ok.