Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Do I owe you anything, Encik Awang?

Do I owe you anything, Encik Awang? PDF Print
Thursday, 04 June 2009 23:09

In an article entitled The Malays are betrayed published on Utusan Malaysia recently, Awang Selamat said Chinese Malaysians were immigrants, and were indebted to the Malays.

By TAY TIAN YAN/Translated by DOMINIC LOH/Sin Chew Daily

I do not know who Awang Selamat is, but he keeps haunting me, claiming that I've owed him something!

Other than banks, I don't think I have owed anyone anything.

All the things I've had, from the birth certificate when I was born, to the car I bought at the age of 22, and my house at 30... have all been acquired in a clean way, including my self respect.

Moreover, because I do not know Awang Selamat at all, as I said earlier, how could I possibly owe him anything?

But in an article entitled The Malays are betrayed published on Utusan Malaysia recently, Awang Selamat said Chinese Malaysians were immigrants, and were indebted to the Malays.

I am a Chinese Malaysian, one in the six million. He said the Chinese owed this and owed that, and as a Chinese, I can't help but ask: "What have I owed you?"

Some more, I am not an immigrant. My birth cert and IC, along with all the documents of my assets point to the fact that I am a rightful Malaysian citizen.

The Constitution protects my status, my rights as well as my properties. If I've done anything against the laws, I will be bound by the Malaysian laws, like anyone else.

Of course, I can say proudly that I have paid my income tax and owes not a cent.

Moreover, I have never betrayed my Malay friends. We treat one another sincerely and fairly.

When my old friend Ghaffar buys me teh tarik, I'll get him nasi lemak in return, even though nasi lemak is twenty cents more expensive than teh tarik.

But that's not because I feel I'm indebted to him; neither do I think he's trying to take advantage of me!

Right, Awang said Chinese Malaysians were getting more and more demanding, and racist, after the general elections last March.

What demands, or should I say what excessive demands, have the Chinese voiced up?

Scholarships? Land titles? Chinese primary schools? Democracy? Equality?

All I know is that these are reasonable requests from each and every citizen. As long as they are eligible, they should possess them.

It has nothing to do with race.

If we are denied of these things because of skin colour, then we must fight for them. This is not racism either.

Although I have no idea who Awang is, I know he is hiding under the protective net of Utusan Malaysia.

He may be an individual, or a group of individuals. And he may have his own hidden agendas for his displeasure with Chinese Malaysians.

A lawyer friend told me, it was an act of sedition just to brand ethnic Chinese Malaysians as immigrants, and that the police should probe the incident.

Or perhaps there should be someone making a police report, in particular those who claim they represent the six million Chinese Malaysians.

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by cheekhiaw, June 04, 2009 23:13:55
Yes, the Chinese are indebted to all the nice Malays that accomodated us but the Chinese will not repay that debt to Malay thieves that steal from even their own Malays!

Get it right, you Malay thieves, liars and murderers!

agree 193
written by RumahPanjai, June 04, 2009 23:19:12
Like other immigrants the four fingers are pointing back at this Awang not so Selamat that he and his race are also immigrants and are indebted to the indigeneous native orang ASLI! A kettle calling the pot black?
agree 161
written by ABU SAYAB, June 04, 2009 23:20:06
MCA & Ong Tee KeaT = where you?? Still sucking UMNO balls ?
agree 193
written by lskong, June 04, 2009 23:29:56

c'mon abu, how can you say that...?
mca is bowing so low, he can't reach the balls, much less suck them.
he probably can't even suck the toes, with his lips glued to the ground that was peed on....
written by Stupid me, June 04, 2009 23:29:59
Can we also say that what that joker said is sedition and why did not anybody who is supposed to be keeping law and order lodge a police report ?
written by malsia1206, June 04, 2009 23:36:48
Put it this simple way. Even if you owe the banks, remember these banks owe their depositors the moneys they had placed in their trust. So nobody owes nobody anything. Let them continue to say what they like if they labour under this inferior complex for losing out to others. Have a good day.
written by joejoe, June 04, 2009 23:38:34
If the MCA claims to champion the rights of Chinese Malaysians, how about lodging a police report over this matter?
written by boeytahan, June 04, 2009 23:41:13
Don't worry, Semi-value is most oblidge to make the 1st police report
written by pelanduk chuan, June 05, 2009 00:01:49
Although I have no idea who Awang is, I know he is hiding under the protective net of Utusan Malaysia.

He may be an individual, or a group of individuals. And he may have his own hidden agendas for his displeasure with Chinese Malaysians.

Awang is just another Paid-Attack-Dog by the Ruling UMNO (since MAMAKtiar era)to continue the Colonials tactics of divide and rule and interacial-hatred to prolong the rotten-lives of the ruling elites. Other similarly paid-dogs who owed their shameless/undignified livings are :

1. Rocky Bru
2. Matthais Chang
3. Chandra Mudzafar
4. Rusdi Mustapha
5. Shafee Abdullah
In their dying years,they will be telling their grandchildren they merely contribute strategies and ideas for UMNO and for their political belief.But the internet will ensure their lies with records in public domain for the next 1000yrs. and So shall be the CURSE of future generations of Malaysia.!
written by Hakim Joe, June 05, 2009 00:11:00
Awang Selamat....Mas Selamat....brothers?
Don't know if the look the same but they sure sound the same!

written by Fuminari, June 05, 2009 00:17:42
mr.tay tian yan,u do not know who the dude awang selamat is...well,he is most probably jus one of najis, umno be end utusan spinners who hav been instructed to do the hooha while the crime minister is visiting china!!u knowlah,the chin peng issue did not cook well with the current malay temperature,the hard core support is still there with PKR as shown in penanti,manek ulai is next on the list n that is a 99.4% rural malay area,n last but not least;his visit to china might get a 'back lash' from somewhere,someone within his own gang of 'ali baba n the forty thieves' n that possible 'back door' must be 'closed' with that usual umno security code the 'racial card'!!this awang hence must come up with another recipe ,to cook another dish n he sure knows what umno's taste is jus all about!!
written by Lim Lim, June 05, 2009 00:29:15
even old lizard mahatahi hav joined in to cook that recipe on chin peng when najis n umno realised that it doesn't cook well with the current atmosphere n manek ulai is drawing near!!!
written by advocatusdiaboli, June 05, 2009 00:30:03
Awang Selamat, I owe you is it? You can come and kiss my ass lah! Bloody parasite! I owe you NOTHING! Did you feed me from birth till to date? Did you put me through my education? Did you provide me with a roof over my head? Did you give me medical attention and nurse me back to health? Then what the fcuk did you do lah? No one owes anyone anything. You are as much a pendatang as I am if you keep on harping on this issue. Go to the mirror and look at your own reflection first. We owe you UMNO malays nothing. Go and learn some honesty and dignity. Tak malu punya manusial. (not manusia)
written by No nonsense, June 05, 2009 00:43:13
Don't worry, Semi-value is most oblidge to make the 1st police report

Aiyoyo!!! you think he dares? He is hiding inside someone's sarong man. Please dont disturb him.
written by Lim Lim, June 05, 2009 00:45:21
awang has been most probably trained jus to collect rental all these years!!
written by onnetline, June 05, 2009 00:48:02
Awang Selamat,

Who the hell are you truly ?
Are you some kind of S hole or shit that was hatched out from a piece of rock or stone in the heartland of Malaysia and then call yourself a ' bumiputra ' complete with a given birth to own this nation ?

What hole did you crawled out from, pariah ? ? ?
written by James Loh, June 05, 2009 00:55:48
We're all fellow Malaysians. I've never heard any non-Malay blaming Malay for all the problems. We've always blame the crooked Malay, Chinese, Indian, etc. We understand the problems were facing is not due to a particular race but a group of corrupted leaders, officials, and businessmen. All Malaysians want fairness. We'll want to help the poor regardless of race or religion. In my hometown, the Chinese donated a lot of money to help Malay for their dialysis payments. We helped them because we sees them as fellow human beings that needs help. Finally, I'm a forth generation Malaysian so don't ever call me pendatang!
written by thegodfather, June 05, 2009 00:58:05
Awang Selamat, if you got balls come out in public and repeat what you wrote. I am 100% sure you are testicularly deficient (in simple English, it means you got no balls). Or if you are retarded in English "kamu tiada telur".
written by Lim Lim, June 05, 2009 01:00:48
mr tay,u do not know awang??well,well...hav u ever met any of those illegal jaga kereta boys??those who might jus tell u if u don't pay up as per their request then they would pock u with one of those HIV niddle??or they would not even let u to move ur car??they would tell u the parking lot belongs to them while the city council is also collecting parking fee during the day??....awang is most probably one of those!!!!
written by wood, June 05, 2009 01:04:17
Awang Selamat, even if the Chinese do owe you , the debt if any should have been settled by now. It is more than 50 years since independence already. Unless you want to behave like the "AH LONG"! Even "Ah Long" will say you do not owe them anymore if you have finished paying what is owing to them! What else have the Chinese and others owe and is there a limit ? Please we must learn to live in harmony ! Enough is enough !
written by orangair, June 05, 2009 01:13:19
To all the chinese here, dont get too excited. Awang has always been an UMNO's running dog, he doesnt care if UMNO has turned into something useless, he'll still defends it. Because thats his bread and butter. Be careful in your comments so as not to implicate non-umno Malays.
written by Arowana, June 05, 2009 02:45:20
****** about him and his writings and books in MPH.

Guess I will buy one of his books, let him autograph it and throw it in the bin in front of him. That's how I intend to insult him.

Bastard SOB.
written by unomalaysia, June 05, 2009 02:49:36
Awang Tak Selamat,
I owe you my fist and you can ask your mouth to collect it anytime.
written by educationist, June 05, 2009 03:56:08
If it be sedition, someone in a position to do so ought to make that police report.
But it will just be another NFA case, no further action.
tHe writer has argued the case against the 'Utusan Melayu' columnist very eloquently!
Yes, pray tell us of the post Merdeka era what and how we owe you anything?
written by JinJangJoe, June 05, 2009 06:47:51
If any of the vernacular news paper ran a article similar to UTUSAN... against the lazy 'rent collectors, muda lupa kaum'- immediately within 24 hours, it would have banned by KDN,

Wake up selamat, scumbags like you, are the ones hastening the demise of BARISAN NAJIS and your UMNO party.

I was not brought by my parents, to call you "RACIST BASTARD", but if the hat fits you, WEAR IT.

BIG THANKS.
written by loosecannon, June 05, 2009 07:41:51
Yes we all own this moronic umno racist Awang shithead something; our middle finger. So let's all give it to him.
written by tino_chan1988, June 05, 2009 07:56:15
So, where is the Home Minister and his Sedition Act to protect public interest???

written by Perak Boy, June 05, 2009 08:00:38
Apalah kena dengan kamu ni Awang ?

Kalau dah nak sangat jadi pejuang/pembela bangsa melayu carilah perkara-perkara yang boleh mendatangkan munafaat/kebaikan kepada anak bangsa melayu dan agama. Bukan mencaci atau mengiris perasaan bangsa lain. Mereka juga adalah anak Adam sepertimana kita dan mempunyai perasaan. Walaupun mereka tidak sebangsa dan seugama dengan kita, tapi mereka juga adalah rakyat Malaysia dan berhak dilayani dengan sopan. Perkara yang lepas adalah sejarah dan kita seharusnya memandang ke hadapan. Janganlah kita terlampau taksub dengan "ketuanan melayu" sehinggakan hilang pedoman. Didiklah anak bangsa kita ke jalan yang betul dan diredhai Allah.

written by Tom n Jerry, June 05, 2009 08:21:16
The overall Chionese share of the *economic Pie* has diminished from pound to penny;eveidence of Vincent tan downgraded from billionaire to millionaire!Just because there are too many*bin Sleamat* around;mind oyu those bin Selamat are not quite selamat after all;they may be wolves in sheep clothing;beware before your rights under the Constitution are takean away without your knowledge!High time for those so called Cinese here in Malaysia to unite under one banner;banner of Justice;certainly not MCA which is ball-licker of Umno;eithe come up with UCA or just join PAS for the basic reason they are more conscientious and have some morals! smilies/grin.gif
written by freerpk, June 05, 2009 08:28:57
How many generations must a person be before he not called an immigrant in this country?? Maybe the government should tell us the exact figure so that at least we have something tangible to go on, e.g if the government says after 3 generations you are no longer considered an immigrant then that is something we can work on. At least we know our grandchildren will no longer be called immigrant...
written by Milo, June 05, 2009 08:35:15
Awang Selamat,

We only recognize that the thieves of the nation's wealth are the real traitors who betayed Malaysians. They traitors could be chinese, indians or malays, doesn't matter. By targeting the other races rather than those whose illegal/immoral actions betrayed Malaysian, YOU have made it obvious that YOU could be one of those thieves and the real betrayer of all honest Malaysians! And those in power who refuse to take actions against you for these seditious remarks are impliedly saying they also belong to your gang.

YOU and GANG are the reasons why we root for a change of government.

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR MAKING IT OBVIOUS WHY WE NEED THE CHANGE!
written by Fairminded, June 05, 2009 08:35:54
It is the most ridiculous article I have ever read. Assuming that the Chinese are indebted to the Malays, so what do you expect us to do? Forever work at a disadvantage to support the rest of the Malay Malaysians who laze around the sun under the coconit trees and at night race around the roads as mat rempits? The Malay Malaysians are in the majority. No where in the world that the minority can work, at a disadvantage too, to support the majority. It is just untenable. The non Malay Malaysians only owe it to our country - Malaysia and not to part of the population called Malays. So wake up, grow up and do not ask what we owe you but ask yourselves what you owe Malaysia too and start contributing rather than behaving like spoilt kids.
written by Fairminded, June 05, 2009 08:38:48
And in addendum, the biggest liar is Dr. marmite. He is just a second generation of immigrants too and he started all this nonsense to retain in power.
written by Susanna, June 05, 2009 08:56:10
parameswara was an Indian prince whose descendents like Sultan Mansur Shah all later converted to Islam. If any one can claim ownership of the land here being original land settlers, then please say la ... we all owe it to the orang Asli as the name say they are the real asli and bumputeras! Please la... no shame ah..?
written by gorshan, June 05, 2009 08:56:41
Awang Selamat is a by product of the 30% makan free equity policy.he is programmed to think all non Malay Malaysian(squatters) owes him a living(rent) by virtue of these non Malay forefathers being granted instant citizenship in 1957. so who brainwashed him? answer ---->BN.

Vote PKR to destroy this brainwashing machinery called BN smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Naksam, June 05, 2009 09:18:52
Forget about Awang Selamat. Go for the paper that published the article. What can we do to teach them a lesson?

a. Can Merdeka Poll or somebody carryout a survey on the public opinion on this article.

b. What sort of sanction can we, the public, impose on this racist paper. Many of us have long boycotted the Utusan.

c. 'Bookmark' this episode and use it as proof that the current government is bias on such issue. We have more by-elections and the coming GE to be prepared for. To this end I think Awang Selamat is helping the BR.

Si Luncai terjun dengan labu-labunya. Biarkan .... ....

written by Bloodhound, June 05, 2009 09:30:04
My guess on this is that Awang here is a product of NEP aka Ketuanan Melayu living off the generousity of the hard working citizens.

Don't forget who first brought up Chin Peng matters and then this Awang plays up issue on cue and guess who is laughing in the background after creating the whole problem??? Your guess is as good as mine!

UMNO needs to keep these racial issues alive in order that they are able to play up the Malays sentiment. They are in no position and have no concrete achievements to show the Malays in order to gain their support. As the Malays support for the UMNO is slowly ebbing away, the only way they knows best on how to gain more support and popularity is by raising the racial sentiments of the Malays.

Just observe who always starts these racist issues and who plays the good cops after these bad cops have reared their heads? It's all part of a plan to play to the sentiments of the Malays by creating fear and uncertainty regarding the livelihood/ of the Malays where non exists, in order to be able to stay in power and hopefully, maintain power after GE13.

Issues after issues have been raised by interested parties and the "good cops" played their roles respectively. Hopefully enough of the reasonable Malays sees through these sandiwaras and are not taken for a ride by these trouble makers.
written by truthbespoken, June 05, 2009 10:03:09
Awang Tak Selamat is a weakling, maybe a handicapped. He is one of the many who is demanding for crutches from the public as if the public owes them anything. Behaves more like shameless drug addicts or rogue beggars. Mental retards they really are! These weaklings are begging for people to look down on them!

Utusan the toilet paper provides cover for many of these useless bumps! This 3rd rate paper should be banned for constantly being the breeding ground for creating national disunity!
written by chiongguo, June 05, 2009 10:06:47
If the MCA claims to champion the rights of Chinese Malaysians, how about lodging a police report over this matter?

Oh no they will not use such crass and ungentlemanly approach. They had claimed that they always champion these rights quietly in the background.

Great strategy. In taking this approach they satisfied the chinese clamouring for their rights to be respected(not snatching or demanding) and at the same time get to "yaks" lick the balls of their polical master.

I couldn't believe I could be so crass and unpolished smilies/grin.gif

written by zanie, June 05, 2009 10:26:06
Yes you do, you owe him BN support! That's what he meant. A debt that never exist! smilies/grin.gif
written by Tongkat Pak Ali, June 05, 2009 10:35:56
Awang Selamat
Kalau saya di tempat anda, dah lama saya berhenti kerja………….
smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by macho, June 05, 2009 10:53:20
Are we still on the Chinese vs Malay debate? This kind of talk is only reserve for the older UMNO folks. They are diehard supporters, meaning they will support UMNO regardless of right and wrong. The younger folks are more concern with the country economy directly or indirectly. over time this old forlk will wither away and we can then herald a new and actual 1Malaysia. Not the 1 black Malaysia that Najib is talking about. Just like death and tax, change is inevitable.
written by miwaki, June 05, 2009 11:00:22
This Awang Selamat owes Ah long money but he wanted somebody else to pay for him.Go to hell Awang Selamat,you can never be Selamat.
written by Zapper, June 05, 2009 11:09:15
To all Malaysians, please do NOT get a heart attack nor upset just because some shallow minded and insecured human made some racist comments. Their only means of survuival is making others insecure. Phew to awang.
written by Dominic, June 05, 2009 11:24:05
Looks like Awang is a `Political` Ah Long who is out to make life miserable for non-bumis. How is he going to explain his boss tag-line `1Malaysia` ? Should we not report him ? If only he dares to say that in person and if I do have a chance...promise you,nothing short of a punch to his bloody face !
written by jstom98, June 05, 2009 12:45:31
It is an undeniable fact as to which community provided for the economic and financial growth of the country over these 50 years. Dr. M himself acknowledged that the Chinese community is the largest group of taxpayers. So who should be grateful to who for the well being of the country? Umnoputras are only good at robbing the cash cow of the Malaysian economy for their personal gain. If the ruling government does not realise the contribution by the non-Malays to the country's economy, our economy will collapse like all the buildings that are collapsing now !!!
written by Xerxes, June 05, 2009 12:59:22
Hey Awang, do you know that the PM is right now in China begging the Chinese to invest in Malaysia? He is saying all kinds of "bodek" words hoping to con the Chinese to come to put their money in Malaysia so idiots like you can have a job and be paid.

But I have a message for you and the PM. The Chinese Embassy here in KL are more than aware of the "pai hwa" hypocrisy of the BN Govt and their racist running dogs like you. Sure they will give face to Najib and make him feel he has accomplished a great deal. But on the ground, the moment any interested Chinese investor checks with the Embassy, you can bet what kind of advice they will receive.

written by Sagaladoola, June 05, 2009 13:05:50
Should the Utusan writer be subjected to Sedition Act or Internal Security Act due to the article?

Anyway these days, my Malay friends don't read Utusan too much anymore. They read Sinar Harian, Harakah, Wasilah ....

Regards .....
written by Urangsabah, June 05, 2009 15:09:29

Wrong - A Money Safe is UMNO.....Numero UNO Racialist Bigots...

it was an act of sedition just to brand ethnic Chinese Malaysians as immigrants, and that the police should probe the incident.
Krismmudin & IGP what say u or because this case have not UMNOed Value and is not clour in balck and is not armed with a dangerous weapon, the Candle, NFA is required...
written by rimaukl, June 05, 2009 17:23:43
Jeez, what's the problem with you people? Everyone in Malaysia IS A PENDATANG! Except for the Orang Asli. What is all this crap about indebted? The only people who should be indebted is the government towards the Rakyak. Their salary is paid by Rakyak's money, they spend Rakyat's money, they BURN Rakyat's money!

Just be focused people, KICK BN OUT!!!
written by 1eyecls, June 06, 2009 09:33:20
BESAR,TEGOH,BERANI?utusan slogan on tv.

what is your comment?

i think should be BODOH,TEMPERANG,BABI,right?