Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Storm in a teacup at Seberang Perai Municipal Council

Storm in a teacup at Seberang Perai Municipal Council PDF Print
Thursday, 04 June 2009 23:03

By Wong Choon Mei, Suara Keadilan

A storm in a teacup has blown up in Penang over the appointment of a civil servant to head the Seberang Perai Municipal Council, rather than a PKR political appointee.

It resulted in eight PKR municipal councillors boycotting this morning’s swearing-in ceremony of new president Mokthar Mohd Jait.

These were Johari Kassim, Che Mat Hashim, Amir Ghazali, Mahamad Hashim, Rynu Shanmugam, Goh Choon Aik, Mohd Kamil Abu Bakar and Zaini Awang.

Their hasty action drew an equally hot-headed reaction from DAP’s Jeff Ooi.

The Jelutong MP has demanded that all eight resign within 24 hours if they could not work with Mokthar as they have claimed.  Jeff is also chief of staff to Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng.

“This is a classic storm in a teacup. There is no reason for both sides to behave as they have done,” Sim Tze Tzin, the Pantai Jerejak assemblyman told Suara Keadilan.

“For example, there was was no need for Johari to lead such a boycott and take it directly to the press. All he had to do was pick up the phone and voice his grouses. In the end, we still have to work on it, there is no shotgun answer.

“As for Jeff, he is an MP. There was no need to be so heavy-handed. Again, there is the telephone. He could have called and arranged a meeting to sort it out. Why demand their resignations in the press?”

The PKR is expected to hold a meeting tomorrow to help the eight sort out the issue.

There has been widespread speculation that Johari, the PKR whip who led the boycott, has been eyeing the MPSP post for himself.

“Whatever it is, there was an agreement that the post should go to a PKR appointee, although it is also true that the situation has evolved because of some unexpected developments,” said Tian Chua, PKR director of strategic affairs, dismissing the talk about Johari.

“Nevertheless, the boycott this morning was just a small gesture and part of the democratic process that we promulgate. There is really no need for the DAP to make a such big fuss. We should all try to resolve the matter amicably and I am sure we will.”

written by malsia1206, June 04, 2009 23:41:17
One simple message to Anwar - rein in your rebellious guys. Plug the hole fast and firm. Period.
written by joeawk, June 04, 2009 23:41:33
As usual, the culprit comes from PKR. Jeff OOi was right to put down these idiots. Happy stay, not happy leave. The Pakatan govt is the peopole's govt and not PKR. Want to enrich yourself, join UMNO/MCA. The few idiots must not be allowed to be reps ever because they have shown that they are self interested.
written by James Loh, June 05, 2009 01:05:33
What the f@#$? Pakatan Rakyat better discipline their folks. It's really sickening to see these ignorant folks to lead the country. Pakatan Rakyat you're our only hope so DAP, PKR and PAS better do a better job selecting your leaders. If you continue to select leaders that self-interest, hot headed, etc we'll go back to BN then.
written by Daryl, June 05, 2009 02:48:52
PKR fellows
You do not behave like the party you tried so hard to replace.... which is BN. So, all civil servant must be qualified people so when you are voted in all your project are completed and safe for rakyat. Do you want something like the stadium in Terengganu to happen? Give this professional a chance to prove himself and make PKR look good.
Please try to stay in power 15 years instead of just five years.
written by mowadoha, June 05, 2009 02:58:34
PKR & DAP leaders, please stop spinning and the in-fighting! Stay united with Penang CM and be firmed with decision made based on meritocracy …. Political appointment of any governmental post must be discouraged at all times if Pakatan Rakyat were to win big in the next general election! Be cautious!

written by Arowana, June 05, 2009 03:16:16
DSAI, you better do something or else we do something. You know what I mean, don't you.
written by Liberian, June 05, 2009 03:16:59
PKR councilors of MBSP, go to hell and if you are really serious, please resign there are others who can take over. Don't waste Public Money.
written by loosecannon, June 05, 2009 07:34:51
Like I said before, some in PKR think that they are in Umno. People are getting tired of them behaving like prima donas. Instead of getting on with their jobs they are entrusted to do, they prefer to play politics. Morons.
written by pengembara, June 05, 2009 07:55:21

There is a significant numbers of PKR folks who are UMNO-rejects or has-beens and hence have "UMNO" mentality and most probably a bit of Ketuanan Melayu.

'You cant get the kampung out of the boy even if you can get the boy out of the kampung'.

we cannot deny that. other than newcomers like ellie, hannah, nurul izzah, etc the rest are the same old geng from UMNO.

peace
written by asiana888, June 05, 2009 08:31:05
Dear DSAI,

It it to PKR's best interest to rid the party of all these ex-UMNO goons who only have self-interest at heart. You have 18-22 months to get PKR on the right footing. Better let these morons go now than later during the GE13 - when they start throwing tantrums (or worst ... frogging over to BN at the right price like in Perak). Also, I am not sure if the rakyat would want to vote these characters in GE13.

Salam.
written by Bigjoe99, June 05, 2009 08:44:19
Ho-hum if you ask me...Lesson for LGE - be careful what you promise. Lesson for PKR warlords - YOU ARE NO LONGER IN UMNO!!!!!
written by chiongguo, June 05, 2009 09:41:01
Declaration : I am not a member of any political party and I do not speak for anyone.

“As for Jeff, he is an MP. There was no need to be so heavy-handed. Again, there is the telephone. He could have called and arranged a meeting to sort it out. Why demand their resignations in the press?”

If an issue is raised in the press than the basic principle of fairness is that it should be addressed in the same arena. So johari's action was described as "no need to lead a boycott" while the action of Jeff was described as "no need to be so heavy handed." One was given a denigrating adjective while the other was defended as "small gesture and part of the democratic process that we promulgate" saith the biting strategist.

“Whatever it is, there was an agreement that the post should go to a PKR appointee, although it is also true that the situation has evolved because of some unexpected developments,” said Tian Chua, PKR director of strategic affairs, dismissing the talk about Johari.

If you are privy to "some unexpected developments" why are you now suggesting that the agreement be adhered to ?

“Nevertheless, the boycott this morning was just a small gesture and part of the democratic process that we promulgate. There is really no need for the DAP to make a such big fuss. We should all try to resolve the matter amicably and I am sure we will.”

It was johari who kicked up a fuss and now it was DAP who were unreasonable.

Geez...great strategy - blame your partner, who btw, is actually doing a very good job.

Bottomline - PKR need to get its act together. Do an honest survey of the rakyat and you will realise that whatever support PR is still enjoying is because of DAP and PAS.
written by macakmy, June 05, 2009 16:16:45

WTF!!! If this is the case, whats the difference between PR and BN??!!! The people did not vote u in so that u can divide the spoils amongst urselves!!! I thought we voted for change but obviously we've been duped. U guys are just as bad if not worst!!!! Hey DAP, its better that u team up with PAS and continue your squabbles while serving the people. We don't need more Joharis and Aminahs. We do need more LGEs, Nik Azizs and Nizars.