Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Malaysia: Religious Politics

Malaysia: Religious Politics PDF Print
Thursday, 04 June 2009 02:52

A row over the use of the word 'Allah' by non-Muslims highlights the need for Malaysia’s political forces to repackage their rhetoric in order to win over a very multi-ethnic population, Simon Roughneen writes for ISN Security Watch.

By Simon Roughneen in Singapore for ISN Security Watch

The latest phase in an ongoing row between the Catholic Herald and the Malaysian authorities took its latest turn last week, with a high court ruling on Thursday effectively upholding the federal government's 2007 ban on non-Muslim's using the word “Allah” to denote God.

Print publications in Malaysia require an annually renewed permit and are subject to conditions set by the government, which has threatened to revoke the Herald's permit if it continued to defy the 2007 ban.

Reacting to the announcement, Herald editor Fr Lawrence Andrew told ISN Security Watch, “The first and initial reaction was disappointment. But reading the State Enactment laws that were used to stall the stay order was itself a revelation [...] to know that there are laws that the ordinary public is not aware of and that they seem to go against the Federal Constitution.

"We have to study the case. We are law abiding citizens. We will accept the rejection of our application and move on eagerly to July 7,” when the court will hear the newspaper's original bid to review the 2007 proscription.

Politicization of religion

While the dispute does not by itself register as a major political issue in Malaysia, it helps shed light on the politicisation of religion in the multi-ethnic, multi-faith country.  Around one-third of Malaysians are ethnic Chinese or Indian, and many of these are Christian.

Malaysia operates a dualistic legal system, comprising common law norms derived from the British colonial era, as well as aspects of sharia law. Malays – who at 60 percent of the total population are the majority and legally defined as Muslims – are subject to sharia law, while non-Muslims are technically exempt. 

However, in an emotive and controversial 2007 case, a woman named Lina Joy was prevented from converting to Christianity by the federal court, who ruled that as she was originally Muslim it had no jurisdiction, referring the matter to the sharia courts.

Bridget Welsh, professor of Southeast Asian Studies at Johns Hopkins University's Paul H Nitze School for Advanced International Studies, told ISN Security Watch that “Malaysian courts are taking away rights and promoting intolerance rather than respecting the multi-ethnic composition of the country.”

PAS is the main Islamist party in Malaysia and is part of the otherwise-secular Pakatan Rakyat (People's Alliance) opposition coalition, which made historic inroads into the Barisan National (BN) governing conglomerate during and since March 2008 elections. That landmark vote saw the BN retain power, but lose its two-thirds majority for the first time since Malaysian independence. Since the elections, PK leader Anwar Ibrahim has sought, unsuccessfully, to bait BN lawmakers into crossing over in sufficient numbers to bring down the government.

BN is dominated by the United Malays National Organisation (UMNO), which is a secular party, along with the various entities in its unwieldy multi-ethnic BN coalition. However, as religious and socio-economic tensions have risen in recent years, UMNO has played its part in fomenting these with dagger-wielding speakers at party conventions pledging to defend Malay rights.

Packaging Islam

Dr Dkulkefly Ahmad, a PAS lawmaker for the Kuala Selangor constituency, told ISN Security Watch after a presentation last week at Singapore's Institute for Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS) that the Catholic Herald issue was "petty."

Dr Ahmad began his talk by suggesting that the recent ruling on the use of “Allah” by non-Muslims is an attempt by UMNO to prove that it is more “Islamic” than PAS. When discussing the issue with ISN Security Watch afterwards, he cited Islamic verses backing Christians’ and Jews’ use of the word “Allah.”

Elsewhere in his presentation, Ahmad outlined PAS' journey to a moderate form of political Islam, with the next crucial step being to find a way to package the PAS message for non-Muslim Malays.

Partly in deference to Malaysia's ethno-religious political bazaar, Ahmad sought to draw a clear line in the sand between PAS and Islamist parties in neighboring Indonesia, as well as Middle Eastern groups/movements such as the transnational Muslim Brotherhood, citing the need for Islamist politics to move beyond a “narrow legalism” to a more telling depiction of “the wisdom of Islamic jurisprudence,” which is “fundamentally about justice.”

Problematic to some, however, might be his reference to Tariq Ramadan and Sheikh Yusuf al-Qardawi, two prominent international Muslim thinkers, as inspiration. The latter is barred from entry into the US and UK for statements supporting terrorism, while Ramadan has been criticised for his alleged advocacy of taqiyya, which critics believe to be a method whereby politicised Muslims conceal their true intentions with moderate soundbites.

On his website, Ramadan describes taqiyya as “a concept mainly used by the Chi’a tradition. Actually it means that a Muslim can hide his/her religion when she/he is facing oppression. The classical Islamic tradition [...] does not speak or promote taqiyya in anyway. The Islamic tradition, on the contrary, is teaching us to be transparent, honest, and just with all the people, Muslims and non-Muslims alike.”

Just as Ahmad told his Singapore audience that “PAS needs to understand the greater realities of Malaysia,” Fr Andrew told ISN Security Watch, “We live in a multicultural-religious environment and so we have to work towards a friendship that will bring peace to all.”

Moderate views gaining ground

The PAS annual conference is taking place 3-8 June. With the two lead contenders divided over the issue, it is uncertain whether or not the type of Islam advocated by Dr Ahmad  - who invoked Voltaire as much as any of his Islamic sources during his speech – will be adopted as policy by the one-million-member party.

The incumbent to the party's number two post is Nasharudin Mat Isa, who is regarded as conservative and favors close ties with UMNO, and by implication the latter's often crude conflation of Malay and Muslim rights, rather than an all-out backing for Anwar Ibrahim's opposition coalition. Opponent Datuk Husam Musa favors the line expounded by party colleague Ahmad.

Analyzing developments, Welsh told ISN Security Watch: “The party is not cohesive and there are differences within the party. But, yes there is this very moderate view and it has gained ground since March 2008.”

PAS has gained some support among non-Muslims in the aftermath of the elections, seen by many as tactical voting in by-elections to ensure the UMNO or BN incumbent was defeated. The PAS Supporters Club numbers 50,000 non-Muslims, and one item on the conference agenda is whether to allow these associate members to graduate to full participation.

Hu Pang Chow is founder of the PAS Supporters Club for Non-Muslims. He was quoted in Malaysian media as saying the party must woo non-Muslim minorities if it wants to be a force to be reckoned with: “In this multi-racial country, if you focus on one race, you cannot win.”

Simon Roughneen is an ISN Security Watch senior correspondent, currently in Southeast Asia. He previously reported from the region in 2007.

written by Arowana, June 04, 2009 03:35:56
Mr. Simon Roughneen of ISN Security Watch, don't you know our government has an Alladin Lamp, every time they have civil suits, they rub the lamp and have the courts to protect them.

Isn't it astonishing ? This is what we call Malaysia Boleh !

written by Iliyas, June 04, 2009 04:10:30
Isn't it outrages that a court can decide on behalf of God on how God should be address.Read more..http://advocateviews.********.com
written by Liberian, June 04, 2009 04:14:00
Recently the Libyan leader Ghadaffi visit an African country, where a huge rice project is funded by Libya. With, the diplomats from Saudi, Morrocco.and Guinea visited the project. A group of non Muslim consultants were there.We greeted them is Arabic salutations such as 'assalamalikum' insah Allah, and 'malikumsalam'. According to the Ghadaffi religious and spritual advisor who is a schoolar in Islamic Studies told us it is nothing wrong for a non muslim to use these words. Because it was there before Islam came. Then he said to get a guide line, we should refer these to the Grand Mufti in Saudi, whether it is Halal or Haram for Non-Muslim to use these words.I think we should petition the Malay Rulers that we can't sing our State Anthems, has in fact all contain the word 'ALLAH'.See what reply, we get from them. Anyway only UMNO have the Sole Franshise in Malaysia to use the word 'ALLAH'
written by toorikakari, June 04, 2009 04:49:04
Liberian,

Your words hold truth. "It was there before Islam Came" The issue is politicised as they need to have an issue to divide Malaysia, even without substance

I am signing of as Shalom, wondering of the Jews are antagonised.

Shalom,
written by wongnoball, June 04, 2009 06:17:31
PAS and DAP merge is the Solution to Malaysia and send Shock wave to UMNO-BN & the world!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

Don't Forget this Lina Joy Appeal, Kg Jais Church demolition, Reyathi,....etc When will these Stupid Muslim learn freedom of Religion means FREEDOM. You cry blood when Koran is thrown into Toilet or burnt, but when a child is raped or killed by muslim genocide in Sudan or those in power its a non-issue. We will not accept your 2 face Fruit Loop muslim ideology that seems to NOT understand universal Human Freedom. smilies/angry.gif...treat Women with respect. This Allah thing is about Dhimi.......we WILL NOT YIELD and Be a PRICK to Muslim and ISLAM until You Yield and be a Laughing stock to the Owrld. Foreigners Don't invest in Malaysia!!
written by JinJangJoe, June 04, 2009 07:42:55
In middle east, the JEWS, CHRISTIANS AND MUSLIMS ARE USING THE SACRED WORD, WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM.

UMNO! Please fight the corruption in the NATION. You will be doing a noble deed to Malaysian Rakyaat, which WILL bring 'rains of PAHALA' rather than you committing suicide by your wanton CORRUPTION.

written by freerpk, June 04, 2009 08:14:32
Humans have always been evil & cruel through the ages, today is no exception. God by whatever name you call him has always been forgiving & kind, God actually gave man a choice to do good or evil but unfortunately in many places MAN thinks that he is GOD and decides for GOD. After that he deems that as GOD's command and forced it on others who doesn't think like him. We pray that people like that will be repentant & seek forgiveness from GOD for being so high & mighty. In the meantime we pray that GOD will continue to bless the MEEK for they shall inherit the earth.
written by cheekymate, June 04, 2009 09:09:11
How I wish I could sit down with my Muslim, Hindu, Buddhist and Christian brothers and enjoy a few bottles of toddy, enjoy some wonderful beef rendang with ketupat, smoke a few celup cigars and play a round of cards. Wouldn't that be a beautiful Malaysia? Why let religion separate, segregate and disintegrate us in our Motherland that has brought us together as Malaysians?
written by Melly, June 04, 2009 09:29:48
Fairminded; It's been explained umteen times, that East Malaysian Christians use Bahasa in their bible teaching. Moreover,their command of English is not as good as yours.
written by Admiral Tojo, June 04, 2009 10:35:18

Allah! There is no god but he:-

To refute the Muhammadan assertion that Allah is GOD, the reader should be made aware of the following;

Allah is NOT GOD; Allah is only the NAME of a god. Allah was the name of the supreme pagan god of the Ka'ba centuries before Muhammad and his Quran. In Arabic, GOD is called ILAH, not Allah.

There are numerous verses in different Suras that prove this point. 2:163; 3:18, 216; 4:87; 6:39, 102, 206; 7:65, 73, 85, 158, 159; 9:31, 129; 11: 14, 50, 61, 84; 13: 27, 30; 16:2; 20: 8, 14, 98; 23:3, 32; 24:25; 27:26; 28:70, 88; 35:3; 38:65; 40: 3, 62, 65; 44:8; 47:19; 64:13; 73:9.

2: 163 And your god [ilahakum] is one god [ilahan wahid] ; there is no god [ilah] but He [hooa] Most Gracious Most Merciful [al Rahman al Rahim].

3: 18 There is no god [Ilah] but He: that is the witness of Allah [Allah] His angels and those endued with knowledge standing firm on justice. There is no god [ilah] but He the Exalted in Power the Wise.

27: 26 "Allah [Allah]! there is no god [Ilah] but He! Lord of the Throne Supreme!"

As can be seen from numerous Quranic verses, Allah is NOT GOD but the NAME of a god, just like Jove, Zeus, Venus, etc are names of pagan gods and goddesses in the Greek and Roman pantheon, so was the name Allah who was the supreme deity of the pagan Ka'ba pantheon.

Muhammad's pagan father, after all, was called Abd Allah [Slave of Allah], long before Muhammad's 'revelations' ***

written by hiiijack, June 04, 2009 12:46:02
written by JinJangJoe, June 04, 2009 07:42:55
In middle east, the JEWS, CHRISTIANS AND MUSLIMS ARE USING THE SACRED WORD, WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM.
''NO ONLY THAT, SOME OF THE MIDDLE EAST COUNTRY EVEN ALLOWED MIX MARRIAGE BETWEEN MUSLIM MEN AND NOON MUSLIM WOMEN''.
written by alarcarte, June 04, 2009 13:26:42
...recent ruling on the use of “Allah” by non-Muslims is an attempt by UMNO to prove that it is more “Islamic” than PAS. When discussing the issue with ISN Security Watch afterwards, he cited Islamic verses backing Christians’ and Jews’ use of the word “Allah.”

"Allah-mak", The UMNO ALLAH issue again!

Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad already said lah, UMNO has turn this into political issue hoping to win back more Malay votes, we shall wait and see if their tactics work for or against them in the next election.

written by Anti Relon, June 04, 2009 15:59:46
Freethinker
The voice of atheism since 1881
www.freethinker.co.uk
A date for God’s diary
Barry Duke on June 3rd, 2009

ON July 18, a rag-tag collection of Christian numpties will embark on a “March of Repentance” from London’s Hyde Park, where there is a sizeable population of pigeons, but precious few seagulls.turnsignandcones-small

Good news for Stephen “Birdshit” Green, who, we assume, will be putting in an appearance at the event.

The march, according to Repent UK’s FAQ, will be:

A gathering of humbled believers seriously wanting to join with others in pleading before His throne of Grace.

What won’t it be?

A procession with no meaning, a pious or self-righteous exhibition.

So what will these bozos be repenting of?

We are repenting of our own inactivity and silence, our lack of courage and faith in His word, our unwillingness to speak out ‘in the great congregation’ and our failure to discharge our responsibility to pray and witness with the mind of God into our nation.

An unnamed clergyman flanked by Stephen Green, left, and Steve McCreery

We are not told whether this “inactivity” includes the failure to incinerate heretics and witches, and stone homosexuals.

Will they be repenting on behalf of millions of non-believers like us? Or for the nation as a whole?

No. Only the Queen in Parliament can do that.

Will the media pick it up?

We don’t know if the secular media will, although the Christian media are taking an interest already. But our audience is not the media, it is the Almighty. We believe the Lord will see and hear from heaven, and when He sees us doing what little we can, and hears our cries, we believe He will send a miracle, if not a miracle of repentance, then something equally astounding.

What, like a whopping great expenses claim for providing a listening ear, and the odd bolt of lightning?

So, who exactly is behind the march?

Someone called Steve McCreery, whom we assume is a cohort of Green, because we managed to find him pictured last December at Sermonaudio.com with the unreconstructed misery-guts from Christian Voice, and a man wearing a god collar. Furthermore, we learn from Bartholomew’s Notes on Religion that McCreery’s website is registered to Christian Voice.

The only other picture of McCreery on the net shows only his legs dangling high above the earth. He appears to be in Rapture rehearsal mode in the shot he placed on the Christian networking site, Premier Community.

Apart from that we know absolutely nothing about McCreery, and if anyone can fill in the blanks, we would love to learn more.
Heaven-bound McCreery

Green, meanwhile, has gone suspiciously quiet. There has been nothing new to amuse us on his Christian Voice website for months – not even the results of his “Marriage and Family in the Bible” contest which closed on April 20, 2009.

According to CV:

Your essay can have any title, so you can be as inventive as you wish, but you will need to show to the best of your ability how marriage and the family, based on the union of one man and one woman for life, were the plan of God from the beginning of time and backed up by Jesus Christ Himself.

The essays, if any were ever received, must have been a barrel of laughs, and we really do think they should be made available. Come on, Mr Green, it would be the Christian thing to do.
Christian fundies, General barminess, The Freethinker Comments (2)
reddit button Digg! stumble twitter Email this article