Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Unity government set to dominate debate in PAS muktamar

Unity government set to dominate debate in PAS muktamar PDF Print
Wednesday, 03 June 2009 15:55

The unity government talks (often referred to as the muqabalah by PAS members) between the propounder, incumbent deputy president Nasharuddin Mat Isa and Umno leaders,with the endorsement of party president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang, was allegedly done in secrecy.

By Syed Jaymal Zahiid, The Malaysian Insider

The question of an unity government, which PAS has dropped, is set to dominate the debate at its 55th muktamar and could become a crucial factor in the results of the party’s elections and its future.

The proposal has appeared to have split the Islamist party, to the consternation of the leadership, and has been on the tongues of virtually all members with many of them eagerly waiting for the right avenue to seek clarification or give their opinion.

“I think many would want to clear the ambiguity clouding the issue,” a PAS official told The Malaysian Insider, saying there is confusion whether to cooperate with rivals Umno to safeguard Islam and Malays or respect the pledge of loyalty to Pakatan Rakyat.

“Even though it would not be in any of the debate motion approved by the motion committee, the delegates would definitely want to discuss about this,” he added.

The unity government talks (often referred to as the muqabalah by PAS members) between the propounder, incumbent deputy president Nasharuddin Mat Isa and Umno leaders,with the endorsement of party president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang, was allegedly done in secrecy.

The move defied party traditions which believes in getting consent of all the members from its top body, the Dewan Harian or supreme council which consists of top party officials — spiritual leader, president, officer bearers and central committee members.

Even the party’s spiritual leader Datuk Seri Nik Abdul Aziz was left in the dark on the matter and this has prompted waves of anger from the grassroots against Nasharuddin and Hadi

Both faced further humiliation when Nik Aziz openly rejected any form of dialogue let alone cooperation with Umno and this has, apart from Hadi who retain his presidential post uncontested, dented Nasharuddin’s image and popularity among party grassroots.

Nasharuddin will be defending his post against vice president Datuk Husam Musa, the head of the pro-Pakatan faction known as the ‘Erdogan’ group, who has intensified his attacks on the former for his ‘flirts’ with Umno in the run up to the party polls.

Observers now feel that Husam, who is a popular figure among Pakatan supporters especially among the secularist DAP and the moderates of PKR, has a great chance of taking the deputy presidency.

“I’m telling you, you don’t play around with PAS grassroots when it comes to Umno. Their hatred towards them is unparalleled so to hear their own party leaders actually suggesting cooperating with Umno is just unacceptable.

“You will definitely hear the issue being raised even if it is not in any of the motions proposed for debate by party members,” said a party insider.

PAS information chief and head of the motion committee Datuk Mahfuz Omar when contacted said his committee have yet to finalise the motion processing saying that the delegates will only be informed of the debate topics once the mukatamar begins tomorrow.

When asked if the muqabalah issue will be among the motion to be debated, Mahfuz refused to answer saying only that the delegates will find out about the motions tomorrow.

written by Justice Bao, June 03, 2009 16:15:21
IF PAS IS TO JOIN THE UNITY GOVENMENT WITH UMNO, THEN PAS WILL BECOME PAST-TENSE, THEY WILL FALL TO THE HELL JUST LIKE WHAT HAPPENED IN INDONESIA. THE WINNER WILL BE UMNO AS THEY MANAGE TO DESTROY A STRONG PARTY WITH THEIR FAMOUS TRICK.

The worst losers are the poor people especially the majority of Malays, Indians and some chinese. why ONLY SOME chinese ? cos chinese will find a hole in the UMNO's government and siphone the money out of the government, some examples : Berjaya, YTL, Genting group etc.

SO GO AHEAD AND SAFE YOUR KETUANAN MELAYU AND SEE YOU ALL FALL TO THE HELL.
written by clarity, June 03, 2009 16:22:08
My support goes to Husam Musa for what it is worth. The other guy seems to think that since umno is also islam then it must be all right. That is not thinking rationally. One must base his decision on what is right and what is wrong. How can one even think of allying with umno when they are so crooked? How can one even think of allying with umno after having been taken for a ride? It only give rise to the question of whether it's for party interest or self interest.
written by Aizad 234, June 03, 2009 16:35:11
PAS join UMNO = Bodoh. Teramat bodoh. Hadi bodoh. Husam Musa rules!!!. smilies/cool.gif

Tolong la beringat!! Pada UMNO, ..PAS hanyalah talian hayat yg terakhir.Jgn terperangkap. Agaknya UMNO sudah bagi 'hadiah' pada Hadi. Cuba check dalam serban Hadi tu, mesti ada cek rm50 juta.

Marilah melayu.. kita berperang terhadap melayu yg makan melayu.Harap kan pagar,pagar makan padi.UMNO semua kroni.Bukalah matamu Melayu.Korang x bosan ke, asik muka menteri-menteri yg sama aja...damn. If anthing happen to this country, UMNO beruks are the 1st to leave this country.Because they have bilions and houses,properties at all over the world.. Rakyat?. Genocide.

smilies/cry.gif
written by Aizad 234, June 03, 2009 16:41:43
Mana satu? . Bersama dengan kafir (yg amanah,bekerjakuat, tidak rasuah,tidak hipokrit,tidak pilih kasih dan tidak racist) atau bersama UMNO yg Islam ( tetapi ambik rasuah,kroni,tidak adil,pilih kasih,pilih bulu,racist,gila kuasa,suka tunjuk kuasa, pengebom C4)....

Jadi???????

apa jawapannya?. anda mempunyai 3 talian hayat.

written by ladasiber, June 03, 2009 16:56:50
Kepada pemimpin PAS yang merasakan berpakat dengan UMNO merupakan satu langkah untuk menjaga kepentingan Islam dan Melayu, adalah amat menjijikkan. Apakah muafakat dalam PR menidakkan penganut-penganut Islam untuk melaksanakan amalan yg sepatutnya. Saya yakin YAB Lim Guan Eng lebih memahami ISLAM dari YAB Najis. Betul tak?
written by Aizad 234, June 03, 2009 17:10:53
Jangan ulang kesilapan lalu. PAS pernah join BN dulu (1973 - rebranding Perikatan kepada Barisan Nasional pun ,PAS adalah antara ahli awal!!) kerana demi bangsa Melayu, tetapi ditikam dari belakang selepas UMNO sudah 'selesa' dgn 'menjinakkan' MCA dan MIC serta BN kembali mendapat sokongan dari kaum Cina dan India.
Tuan Guru,tolonglah prevent PAS dari jilat ludah sendiri.Dulupun PAS label UMNO kafirun.
written by bodohland_citizen, June 03, 2009 18:13:43
MIC sama MCA boleh dengar UMNO berhujah, so dia orang boleh disimpan. Mahukah PAS dengar UMNO ber-undang ala UMNO ? Jadi, kena keluaq ler. Lojik sebegini mudah haprak hang tak pahem ? Camne nak buat hangpe pahem ? Camne ?
written by bodohland_citizen, June 03, 2009 18:16:13
Aku takut ler sandiwara begini rupa. Kejap cakap PR mantap, semua bersatu dan teguh, tetap bersama. Tetiba nak join UMNO. Teringat aku kepada amfibia (haiwan dua alam) smilies/cry.gif
written by Wakeupmsia, June 03, 2009 18:25:53
Talk with UMNO after the GE12 led by Hadi, Nasharuddin and his cohorts tantamount to "BETRAYAL TO THE RAKYAT WHO VOTED FOR PAS". This act is equivalent to the 3 FROGS in Perak except that PAS could not/would not/have not jumped yet but the Perak 3 FROGS have jumped............ into NERAKA!

So, PAS - you decide. Either be a Regional Party OR be a National Party (with Pakatan Rakyat). You don't sleep with your Arch Enemy (UMNO)! REMEMBER, what UMNO did to PAS all these years! Yet, you speak of Unity Government with UMNO! Beware of the TROJAN horses in PAS!

written by SamYap, June 03, 2009 18:59:37
Attention Nasharuddin and Hadi Awang! Know what? UMNO is laughing right now, thats what its all about - their plan to sow seeds of discord within PAS is beginning to work and with that idiot Teng Hock Nan in Gerakan fanning racial sentiments with Chin Peng's name seems to be working too...BUT watch it, because the rakyat will screw you.
written by No nonsense, June 03, 2009 19:32:29
Nasharuddin and Hadi Awang!Please do not let us lose our respect for you. See you two fellows want to become (maybe) Ministers I think. You are suppose to fight for the people from the corrupt and wicked but what you are thinking and doing is just the opposite. Come on follow Tok Guru's footsteps. Be the muslim for the muslims.
written by asguard, June 03, 2009 20:17:26
To Pas... listen to grassroot.... they are the ones ... will decide the future of the party directions!
written by righttruthspeaks, June 03, 2009 21:08:45
Those in Pas who want to co-operate with the evil umno, just go and join umno.That's all.
Don't waste our time Hadi Awang.You are obsessed with becoming a minister even if it means embracing SATAN, go ahead. PAS doesn't need your kind, and bring your ilk like nasharuddin along with you.

After all.what did you do when you were MB of Terengganu - you claimed credit for the victory when it was Anwar Ibrahim's credit.

When you took over, you claimed there were lorry loads of evidence of malpractices of the former government.

Yet you could NOT EVEN BRING ONE CASE TO COURT until today.

Don't take advantage od your Islamic qualifications.

You are quite USELESS.

Good Riddance.
written by cheekhiaw, June 03, 2009 23:23:33
Unity government or some thief-like characters just cannot wait any longer?

written by asiana888, June 03, 2009 23:56:11
Hello Hadi & Nasharuddin,

If you so WISH to join to rule Malaysia with UMNO, just quit PAS and bring along all your 'mah-chais' with you. I am sure UMNO will welcome you and all MSM will report for the next 30 days how well a decision you have made. Maybe Najib can even give you guys ministerial posts too! Just do it NOW!

We don't need leaders who 'main belakang' all their faithful followers. You guys are SO STOOOOPID to fall into UMNO's trick of unity government. DO UMNO even want you when they won the 2004 election. Now, PAS members should be thinking hard whether they should vote you guys into office??!!