Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysia is 26th safest place in the world

Malaysia is 26th safest place in the world PDF Print
Wednesday, 03 June 2009 10:44

(The Malaysian Insider) - Malaysia is the 26th safest place in the world, and the third highest Asian ranked country according to the Global Peace Index (GPI), an annual ranking of the world's nations on the basis of how peaceful they are.

Malaysia was placed 38 out of 144 countries last year on the same index.

Despite the much-vaunted progress on security, Iraq remained bottom of the list, below Afghanistan, Somalia and Israel, which found itself listed as more dangerous than Sudan and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. At the top, the usual Nordic suspects clustered below New Zealand: Denmark, Norway and Iceland came second, third and fourth, followed by Austria and then Sweden.

The United States has clawed its way up six places to 83rd — still weighed down by two foreign wars, a high prison population and the general availability of guns. Its slight rise was attributed to the number of years since 9/11 that the country has avoided a terrorist attack, and the relative decline of other countries.

Japan was the safest Asian country, followed by Singapore and Malaysia.

The index was collated by the Economist Intelligence Unit for a new thinktank called the Institute for Economics and Peace. It uses a weighted mix of 23 criteria, including foreign wars, internal conflicts, respect for human rights, the number of murders, the number of people in jail, the arms trade, and degrees of democracy.

This year's results found the economic downturn had made the world a little less peaceful. That, say the authors, "appears to reflect the intensification of violent conflict in some countries and the effects of both the rapidly rising food and fuel prices early in 2008 and the dramatic global economic downturn in the final quarter of the year.

"Rapidly rising unemployment, pay freezes and falls in the value of house prices, savings and pensions is causing popular resentment in many countries, with political repercussions that have been registered by the GPI through various indicators measuring safety and security in society."

The results come from a groundbreaking study, released alongside the 2009 GPI, which estimates the economic impact of lost peace on the global economy at US$7.2 trillion (RM25.2 trillion a year. — Guardian/Global Peace Index

written by Arubin, June 03, 2009 11:02:25
You got to be freaking kidding me...

I don't even feel safe in my own home. All throughout KL and PJ, you can find many residential areas converting into gated communities and hiring security guards at their own expense. Why? Because we do not feel that the police can be trusted.

Pickpockets and snatch thefts are regular occurrences. People are afraid to go out alone at night. Nobody ever leaves their property unguarded less they be stolen. Worse of all - we're all grown suspicious of strangers to the point that we hesitate to help people in need.

Why is this so?
written by tuahjebat, June 03, 2009 11:10:56
Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha. Malaysia is 26th safest place in the world according to my index ( finger ). Whoever did the survey and study must have graduated from UTR (University Tanjung Rambutan). Whoever coined the Economist Intelligence Unit phrase must be a grad from our famous BB Pros Club. Ha ha Ha again. 26th safest place. Ha Ha Ha.
written by Richfyf, June 03, 2009 11:12:08
the 26th safest place in the world to commit corruption, scandle and murder and get away free.

Its also the 5th safest place in Asia to commit traffic offence and never get a summon.
written by Tan Tan, June 03, 2009 11:26:48
Japan was the safest Asian country, followed by Singapore and Malaysia.

Very smart of them to come out with such survey.

However, if they compare cities, we rank no where near. Wanna know why?

China - Hong Kong, Macau included as China and comparing them with the rest of China under develop cities. That is why China cannot make it. Also because Taiwan counter attack of aiming missiles at China to make China not peaceful.

Taiwan - Maybe they included Taiwan under China again. Furthermore, they also consider that China is still aiming 1000 missiles at Taiwan to concluded it is not a safe place.Despite not immediate danger still consider not peaceful.

South Korea - Not included because North Korea always wanna test nuclear bomb and targeting them. Despite not immediate danger still consider not peaceful.

Australia and New Zealand not included as Asia because they are way below and consider as Asia Pacific category.

So dun laugh, they might be "truth" in this report but their "facts" are very selective.

That is all.
written by MalaysiaBaru, June 03, 2009 11:55:54
CORRECTION:

Malaysia is the 26th Safest Place in the World for CROOKS and MURDERERS
written by sukinong, June 03, 2009 12:08:29
Botak says that the Gomen can keep your safety in Kamunting. RPK was safe for awhile until he was released. See what happen? He had to go into hiding to keep himself safe. Get it?
written by fdqn, June 03, 2009 12:24:05
So two red dots is safer then Malaysia,1st Japan with its red dot in their flag,then S'pore,as according to that 'apanama'its just a red dot in the world map. hahaha,maybe we should change our pointed star into a red dot,then we will become the most safest place in Asia.Malaysia bolih!!!!
written by ladasiber, June 03, 2009 12:38:45
Yeah right. Beign blown up with C4 without motive makes one feel safe. Your immigration record being wipe off can make you feel safe. Someone classified as witness disappeared without a trace makes one safe. Etc etc
written by ATSaari, June 03, 2009 13:07:48
Indeed, this is a very safe place for foreigners, but not for Malaysian!
written by concernedinmalaysia, June 03, 2009 13:11:15
BN propaganda working on a global scale?
written by san amin, June 03, 2009 13:14:00
ehhh???!!! only a couple of days ago, i read on one article that Malaysia was among the world most unsafe places.
written by KARMANNGHIA, June 03, 2009 13:24:11
In Malaysia, to keep one safe, we give them ISA

written by EUGTAN, June 03, 2009 14:01:43
I think we are confusing local safety and 'total safety'. Toptal safety includes proximity to mad neighbours like North Korea, piracy in your waters, potential for conflicts, civil disobeience.The other consideration is the difference between cities and the rural areas. I think most of us can agree that it is safe in the kampungs.Using these criteria, Malaysia may be the 3rd safest in Asia and 26 th in the world, although it is hard to beleive that it is safer in Malaysia than Brunei. But perhaps, Brunei countries were excluded from the survey. But if we restrict safety to just protection from crime (robbery, rape, assault), Malaysia would feature very low. Or else the syrveyors never visited JB.
written by AngryTaxpayer, June 03, 2009 14:22:38
Yes...we're relatively safe from terrorist attacks.....(perhaps bcos we've been turned into some form of hide-away hub by a lot of them?) smilies/tongue.gif
written by Kaboda, June 03, 2009 14:23:43
I had a good laugh, well done PDRM there is no crime while your busy creating your on make shift tolls.
written by budakindia, June 03, 2009 14:39:30
Did they take in the figures for human rights abuses committed by our police? Sounds fishy! smilies/wink.gif
written by roadbarra, June 03, 2009 18:08:43
very funny, 'coz I never really felt safe when i'm driving home at night and walking in the streets, not even at home. funny....to have this feeling.